Not Anymore: A Story of Revolution (2013) - News Poster


'Subconscious Password' Takes Grand Prize at New York International Short Film Fest; Complete List of Winners Announced

'Subconscious Password' Takes Grand Prize at New York International Short Film Fest; Complete List of Winners Announced
The winners of the third annual New York International Short Film Festival have been announced, with the jury deciding that the grand prize go to director Chris Landreth's "Subconscious Password"-- a film that takes a trip down into the unconscious of a single man trying to remember his friend's name. Read More: New York Short Film Fest Announces Lineup Including 'Bingo Night' With Mindy Sterling and 'The Lord of Catan' with Amy Acker This year's festival, which ran from May 27-29 at New York's Landmark Sunshine Cinema, awarded seven prizes in total. The winners are broken down below: Grand Prize:  "Subconscious Password" Dir. Chris Landreth (Canada) Best Documentary "Not Anymore: A Story of Revolution" Dir. Michael VanDyke (USA) Best Drama "La Loteria" Dir. Shahir Daud (USA) Best Foreign Language "A Memory of Last Summer" Dir. Kuba Gryzewski (Poland) Best Comedy "Anthony" Dir. Jonathan van Tulleken (UK) Best Animation "Subconscious Password" Dir.
See full article at Indiewire »

2013 Sliff Film Awards Announced

The 2013 St. Louis International Film Festival concluded Sunday night with a party at the Contemporary Art Museum in St. Louis. Sliff announced the audience-choice and juried-competition awards.

Now in its 22nd year, the Whitaker St. Louis International Film Festival is one of the largest international film festivals in the Midwest. This year’s festival was held Nov. 14-24, 2013.

2013 Sliff Film Awards

Best of Fest Audience Choice Awards

Best Documentary Feature: “Harlem Street Singer” directed by Simeon Hutner

Best International Narrative Feature: “Philomena” directed by Stephen Frears

Best Narrative Feature: “One Chance” directed by David Frankel

New Filmmakers Forum Award

This Is Where We Live” directed by Marc Menchaca and Josh Barrett ($500 cash prize)

St. Louis Film Critics Association Joe Pollack Awards Best Documentary Feature: “Blood Brother” directed by Steve Hoover Special Jury Mention, Documentary Feature: “The Pleasures of Being Out of Step” directed by David Lewis

Best Narrative Feature: “Key
See full article at »

Ida wins at Camerimage

  • ScreenDaily
Ida wins at Camerimage
Other winners at the cinematography festival in Poland included Alfonso Cuaron’s Gravity.Scroll down for full list of winners

Competition winners at Camerimage, the International Film Festival of the Art of Cinematography, were revealed today as the 21st edition came to a close with a gala awards celebration at the Opera Nova in Bydgoszcz, Poland.

The winner of the top prize - the Golden Frog - went to Polish drama Ida, directed by Paweł Pawlikowski, the latest in a string of top awards for the film.

Ida cinematographers Lukasz Zal and Ryszard Lenczewski accepted the award.

The film stars newcomer Agata Trzebuchowska opposite Polish star Agata Kulesza in the story of a young novitiate nun in 1960s Poland who is on the verge of taking her vows when she discovers a dark family secret dating back to the years of the Nazi occupation.

It marks the first Polish-language film for Warsaw-born British filmmaker Pawlikowski, best known for
See full article at ScreenDaily »

Camerimage unveils competition line-up

  • ScreenDaily
Camerimage unveils competition line-up
Sebastian Junger and Andrea Nix Fine among filmmakers screening in competition at the cinematography festival.

Camerimage , the International Film Festival of the Art of Cinematography (Nov 16-23), has revealed its 2013 line-up of films screening in six of the festival’s competition sections.

The 21st edition of Camerimage will screen more than 300 feature and short films, grouped into 24 sections, including 10 competitions. There are films from 50 countries around the world.

Around 30 films will receive their European premieres in Bydgoszcz, and more that 50 will have their Polish premieres.

The Golden Frog, Silver Frog and Bronze Frog awards will be bestowed upon competition titles representing the greatest achievements in cinematography. In the Student Etudes Competition, the Festival awards Golden Tadpole, Silver Tadpole and Bronze Tadpole.

It was previously announced that Oscar-nominated cinematographer Sławomir Idziak (Black Hawk Down, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, Gattaca) will be the recipient of the Festival’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Competing films

See full article at ScreenDaily »

See also

Showtimes | External Sites

Recently Viewed