High School 911 (2016) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
22 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Extraordinary, thought provoking and inspiring
holdtvictoria22 June 2017
I had no idea that this movie would have such an impact on me! Growing up in Darien and having friends on Post 53, I already knew that Post had been invaluable for decades. From the start of High School 911, I was immediately drawn into the lives of the students and the individual stories as well as enticed by the big picture in every frame of the film. The story was about empowering capable, intelligent, dedicated, young adults who are passionate about what they are doing. In addition to the extensive training and field work these students undergo, they are helping those in need in their town as well as surrounding communities, and in many cases saving lives. The director was able to capture unique moments that many will never witness, filming perspectives and angles which would captivate any audience. It's an inside look into the lives and souls of the people who started, cultivated and continued unparalleled service of an emergency response system, run by teenagers. The compilation of students, patients, adult supervisors and family of Post 53 was seamlessly produced in this engaging, thought provoking film about a town who saw a need for something and legitimized teenagers to effectuate their intent. I hope this movie will inspire other towns to follow Darien's lead with innovative thinking and steadfast, extraordinary citizens.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great film
wdcswc15 April 2017
Anyone who doubts the abilities of young adults when given responsibility will have there minds changed after watching this. It definitely is not your typical documentary, engaging from start to finish. I think this would be an excellent film to be shown to middle and high school students. It just goes to show you When given opportunities and resources young people will rise to the challenge!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
wyattfishbusiness11 April 2017
Most documentaries bore me, but this one was a roller coaster of emotions. It didn't always stay on one topic or person, but explored the lives, challenges, and work the people in this film faced.

This film shows the potential teens or "young adults" have if they are given the opportunity. People can do amazing things and these young adults help prove this.

The amount of time, effort, and skill put into the making of this film is outstanding from talking to Producer Kelli Bennett at the Kansas City Film Festival.

This is truly a must watch documentary that anyone can enjoy!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Informative and inspirational
bubbaokie6 April 2017
An outstanding documentary which shows what young people can achieve when they are challenged, given opportunity and training. The film show that they are just as capable of being outstanding EMTs as an adult.

Real 9-1-1 calls are shown--everything from an intoxicated person to a cardiac arrest. The high school students handle everything with skill and poise, providing a critical service for their town.

I highly recommend this unique film.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A very solid and inspiring documentary.
fablew18 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I was lucky enough to go to a screening of the film with a Q&A with the director and producer at the NYFA in LA. The documentary is incredibly interesting and informs you of something incredible that you would probably never have heard of unless you lived in Darien, Connecticut. This film is highly inspirational and well worth watching. One thing that I won't forget from the screening is when Martin got elected for treasurer because everybody cheered and one guy got up in celebration. The Q&A was very informative, the director actually told us that he was in Outpost 53 when he was in high school. Overall a fantastic film that more people should see and be inspired from.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Outstanding Film!
jthobson-425907 March 2018
I am a Police Explorer for the City of Lawrence, IN. This film had a major impact on my post and I. It really opened our eyes to what any of us are capable of at our age. "Kids" are awesome! Wonderful film.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
T4 "Touching Tribute to Teenagers!"
paul-710927 March 2018
An inspiring documentary about the power of the teen. This films give compelling evidence that we underestimate our teenagers. My 16-year was inspired and motived to live up to a higher standard after watching High School 9-1-1. Thanks Tim Warren for a great movie!

Paul Lushin
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Great Film That Taught Me A Lot
glcv-0618131 January 2018
I am in 6th grade and I thought this film was great. I can't believe that this EMS program is run entirely by kids. This film showed me that really anything is possible.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
PTO/PTA meeting..Win!!!
czchilds31 January 2018
Our PTO recently hosted a screening of High School 911. Our audience ranged from age 10-80 years old. Not a dry eye in the meeting. This film is inspiring,motivating,empowering and provoking. As a school, we are now creating situations where our children can be empowered and make a difference in our school and community. This is a wonderful screening for a PTO/PTA meeting. Thank you..Tim Warren and Kelli Joan Bennett.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Relatable
mindywusoccer11 January 2018
This film was relatable and empowering for young people everywhere
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Completely opened my eyes
godfreydf27 December 2017
I was lucky enough to recently see this movie at the Darien library through an event our elementary school set up. I was blown away by it. I have lived in Darien for 7 years and I never truly knew what Post 53 was all about. This movie opened my eyes to that and that extraordinary teenagers that are involved in it. I was in tears with some of the stories that inspired these kids to become part of Post 53 and the lives they saved. As a dance studio owner myself I believe in empowering children to make a difference in this world and this movie just reinforced that kids are capable of incredible things.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
High School 911 will take your breath away
rekoch-611493 December 2017
This movie is just outstanding. Riveting. A message of hope and belief in youth. This program dates back almost 50 years and has grown from just being a Boy Scout first aid tent to operating three ambulances around the clock. The kids in the organization are such an inspiration and have all gone on to do great things in their lives. The organization is amazing.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
High School 911 opens eyes and hearts.
hoppinjohns-6821029 November 2017
I cannot overstate how impressed I am with High School 911. Full of life and heart and soul, it was inspiring to see teenagers so turned on to playing a vital role in their community. Really fabulous job. An emotional roller coaster. Great flow to the action and emotional arcs. People underestimate teenagers and their desire to make a difference. Definitely think this movie would speak to young adults and encourage them to think outside the box about their lives. High School 911 opens eyes and hearts. Really happy we got to see it with an audience. I think it's the kind of movie that's made even better by sharing it with an audience that is equally moved.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Much Needed, Well Done
nashobaems21 November 2017
This film not only documents the incredibly unique story of Post 53, but opens eyes to the reality of what High School students truly are capable of. Having worked with numerous health care providers of all ages, it is clear that these Students and EMTs are as professional and efficient, if not more than others out there. Age is simply a number. The organization itself is set up in such a way that it nurtures and empowers these young individuals through accountability and self-leadership. The organization appears to instill that it is a privilege, not a right to be a part of it, and because of that the students rise to the challenges. Coupled with the incredible support of the school, the Police Department, the Fire Department, the parents, supervisors, and others... these EMTs are championed and lead by example. Hats off to all involved, and all who made/continue to make this possible. Post 53 is a light for others to follow. The film overall is well put together, highlighting some of the most important and eventful moments. One can only imagine the countless hours shot, but to be honest, I could have watched it for days. Thank you for creating this, it was much needed.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The film was enjoyable and I recommend it.
jordan_tepoel29 October 2017
The film was very enjoyable, intriguing, and entertaining. Seeing how this group of high school students went through their daily lives as EMTs and how they dealt with things like being unable to save the life of a person was interesting. And knowing that they also have to attend school while doing this work is amazing; not to mention that they do not even get paid. I would recommend this film to most people. It's very good and really makes you think about the sacrifices made by these kids to help their community.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Empowering Youth
audleypaul24 October 2017
High School 911 is a tremendous testament to the importance of EMS in a community. But it is so much more! The film can be used to inspire young people to reach goals that may seem out of reach. And should inspire adult leaders to empower and trust the potential of our youth. A well conceived and beautifully filmed documentary.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
simply an unforgettable movie.
kire19754 September 2017
A documentary crew spends a year following the only EMS post in the world made up entirely of High School Students.

This is really sort of a miracle that this exists. I'm glowing, I think. I knew it was going to be great when early on they interviewed the elderly founder of the post, who put so much of everything in context. Apparently, the history of the EMS responder program didn't start until after the Vietnam War? Who knew that? Not me. This particular EMS post started at the same time.

This is a film that simply needs to be seen. Especially by high school students.

The only complaints I have are in the production value. The music choices and the camera quality are quite low. It doesn't feel like a feature film half the time. The ride along scenes seem like an episode of COPs from the 1980's. I really hope that they are able to invest in a few little tweaks to the soundtrack before it gets a wider release, otherwise it will be relegated to a ghetto. It will probably get picked up in the back catalog of Amazon Prime or some other lower end streaming service. It's a shame. With a few minor improvements to the production value, this could be a real viral hit on Netflix or maybe one of the Cable channels like Spike or FX or A&E. Anyway, it is a really admirable and honorable thing these kids are doing. We should definitely be giving it a chance. I give it my highest unreserved recommendation. Thank you for the privilege.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Epic film
cjc-3327228 August 2017
Great documentary!! With everything that's wrong in the world today, this movie is a refreshing documentary showcasing every day kids doing something extraordinary. If you ever think 'kids' aren't capable of dealing with life and death situations as well or better than adults, this is a must see. Communities around the US should take note.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Highly recommended!
racheleleanor4 June 2017
Go see High School 9-1-1, a brilliant documentary by Tim Warren and powerful antidote to the unstable times we're living in. Empowering young adults to reach their potential as responsible, thoughtful and caring citizens of the world, through community medical service. Can't recommend it more highly.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Exceptional Documentary
sweyant3 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This is one of the best documentaries I've ever seen. It's about the ambulance service in Darien, Connecticut dating back 40 years run entirely by high school students.

The way the stories are interwoven - the history of the program, the teens' sacrifices, their families and day-to-day lives, finding a balance, emergency calls - keep you fully and deeply engaged, and rooting for them all. The subject matter itself is fascinating and inspiring, and the steady message - that hard work and purpose are its own reward - are some of the greatest tools we can give our younger generations to succeed in life. Relatable, honest, and makes me want to campaign for this program in every city. Excellent work!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent documentary!
drbennett-5713826 April 2017
This was such a captivating story of amazing kids and adults who allow them to live up to their full potential. I really enjoyed the quality of this documentary! This is a story about what makes our country great and all young adults should watch it to see that they can do anything they choose to do. Loved it!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Changed my mind about teens.
brpoll17 April 2017
This compelling documentary will change your mind if you think that the youth of America are lazy and non-motivated. What these kids put themselves through is simply amazing. They go through some very vigorous training. I would trust these fine young adults with my life. They are an asset to the world. This is a very well put together story of these kids and some of their challenges.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed