Sharp Objects (TV Series 2018– ) Poster

(2018– )

User Reviews

Review this title
145 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Recommend 100%
filomena_giordano12 August 2018
Is it slow? Yes, it is! But it's also beautifully made. The characters are amazing, the acting is even better and the story is catchy. It's a mystery-drama series...it supposed to be slow, to give you time to grow with the characters, to understand every detail. It's not advertised as being the avengers...it's not an action movie...
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hauntingly beautiful
rhythmoriented9 July 2018
Haunting first episode of a show that had me and my wife entranced for the full hour. The editing, cinematography (particularly the framing), mixture of original score and Led Zep songs, casting and performances were all 10/10. It's interesting that Amy Adams, the best working actress without an Oscar, might win an Emmy first if the rest of the series is any indication.
113 out of 168 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Utterly hooked by episode 5
korereviews9 July 2018
Great atmosphere and soundtrack, very similar in tone and style to Big Little Lies - also by director Jean-Marc Vallée. Amy Adams brings class and subtlety to what is not an especially original storyline (Camille, a journalist haunted by ghosts of her past returns to home town to solve murder). But excellence of execution makes this shine. Patricia Clarkson's portrayal of Camille's narcissistic, self-absorbed mother is equally effective: you'll find yourself wanting to choke her in every episode. Also so refreshing to see women's lives and stories portrayed in a non-exploitative way. Camille's struggle with alcoholism and self-harm is depicted with unblinking realism and is something many women can unfortunately relate to. Looking forward to the rest of this series, which is shaping up to be as good as season 1 of True Detective.
69 out of 111 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Masterful
BobNoOneHundred9 July 2018
Masterful in every single frame. If you liked True Detective this might appeal to you as well. If you are looking for something to restore your faith in humanity you might want to watch something else.
62 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best series of 2018
mahnaz-hadizadeh14 August 2018
This series has the nerve of season 1 of True Detective, the cinematography of Inception, the clipping of the Blade Runner, the grit of The Wire and the family dysfunction of Six Feet Under. It's all the good things of cinematography in one series. Great acting, suspense in every episode and a loss for it only being a miniseries.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thank You
afinuc10 July 2018
I love Gillian Flynn because she writes about real women. Fully fleshed out, gritty, strong, good bad and ugly, real women. I love Amy Adams and Patricia Clarkson because they convey that beautifully. I was really looking forward to the start of this miniseries because I so loved the book, and so far I am not disappointed. The cinematography and score are fantastic, and the acting is superb. It is a slow burn, as it should be, and it is in equal measure tense, taught, and hauntingly beautiful. I cannot wait to watch the rest of this story unfold.
61 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Can't take it anymore.
clamfu-610-10892810 August 2018
Watched the first episode with hope. I like a slow burner with a plot build up and twist but I had to take a week off at episode three. Came back and persevered, but now smack in the middle of episode 5, I am bailing, regretting my time lost. Current over 8 rating is a joke. All four and a half episodes could have fit into one hour with time to spare. The atmosphere is charged, Amy's depression is palpable, the names flying around are lamentable and the story will just not lift off. Why? A million words and moments trying to re-mire you in the angst, neurosis and fatality over and over so much so that you end up not caring who is doing the murdering or what triggers lay in her past.
33 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Feels like a real bad 'True Detective'
dscl083 August 2018
It's so slow, so boring and tries to hard. It's supposed to be Sourhern Gothic, but can't quite make it there. Don't waste your time
24 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Dull, depressing, pretentious
ThatDoesntMatter13 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The lead character is messed up, her family is messed up, the town seems a bit messed up. Not the kind of messed-up you want to delve into, or even see if there is a solution or development of any kind. It is simply and only depressing and boring.

The lady is damaged, drinking, cutting herself, smart I guess, rude - snappy comments / sarcastic remarks do not alone an interesting character make, especially when drunk and not caring for anything. If she doesn't care why should I? So it seems on top of her sister dying there was a girlfriend that killed herself? (just my take of the flashback in St. Louis and the second, broken cellphone) For some inexplicable reason she stays in her childhood home and its hostile, dysfunctional, crazy, unhealthy atmosphere. Surely her newspaper can afford a motel room? Then she sneaks out and falls asleep drunk in her car... yawn Her teenage half-sister is not a real teenager, I hate when they do this, yeah yeah she outsmarts the crazy mother and is all cool and snappy.... Didn't like her, not interested in her. The mother has some real aspects in her nastiness, but the dress and high heels just make her look all crazy, cartoonish, it takes away from the character. The only sane people so far are her boss and the detective. The pictures are nice, the acting is okay with what they have to work with. But it is Dull, she is depressed, we follow her everywhere, and it is nowhere, because she would rather be dead. Great job if that was the aim.

Too much not explained, gritty surroundings that want to show gritty realism but for me the show just brought across the TRY of doing a kind of True Detective with a very broken female lead. Would have been more interesting with a male (not to slag Amy, I like Amy), it reeked a bit of stereotype, despite the blues music, and the smoking, and all that massive drinking.... Or maybe because of it.

Depressing, disappointing, dysfunctional in a repulsive way. Not recommended.
89 out of 167 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
One of the biggest disappointments
ivanshaposhnik8 August 2018
Watched: 5 episodes. That's a half, right? Result: zero plot development and wasted time. ZERO. More than that, there are no new clues or new suspicions, with every episode characters irritate more and more. In this case I don't even want to finish this because these series are the winner in the boredom tournament. All the people that rate 4/10 and higher must be blind or watching series for the first time in their life.
34 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A real snoozefest
StephenRCrider7 August 2018
I love Amy Adams but this series is a real snoozefest which is what I end up doing with each episode. I keep watching hoping something worth watching is going to happen but it never does. I guess I'll stick it out to the end since I've come this far. It has to get better, doesn't it?
19 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Dark and haunting
chill-ch13 August 2018
This show is a slow burn but once it picks up, you won't be able to stop watching. The mysterious and grittiness of the show keeps you on the edge of your seat and wanting more. Amy Adams and Patricia Clarkson are phenomenal and do an amazing job. Highly recommend if you like slow burn mystery thrillers that get you thinking.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Sick, dull, angry and ugly
jim-yarnold8 August 2018
Lasted to episode 4 and couldn't swallow it anymore. The direction style is annoying with short pointless flashbacks, shaky camera, too many dark scenes. Conversations are all too clever and sarcastic, everyone is a smartarse in this series.

The story itself, sick and morbid as it is, seems to be going nowhere and the overacting is tiresome. Many characters seem schizophrenic as their personalities keep changing.

I've always liked Adams but she's trying too hard to be cool and mysterious in this one and it comes off as confusing yet boring at the same time.
23 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Watch Sharp Objects!
almostmelody9 July 2018
Totally obsessed with Sharp Objects! I believe it's an eight part series so I already know it's not enough! Chris Messina is a sight for sore eyes. He always transforms every scene & his chemistry with Amy Adams is palpable. Am is just perfect! Elizabeth Perkins is always a welcome treat! I don't get to see enough of her. Patricia Clarkson is so talented, so twisted. She should get awards for everything she does! I can't wait to see more. It's dark & suspenseful, rich in Wind Gap atmosphere. I'm so excited!
56 out of 106 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amy Adams Shows Once Again Why She's The Best Actress in Hollywood
tomas-842-81725823 July 2018
If you've seen any of Adam's earlier works, this one will shock you. Her character is not charming, glowing, sweet and innocent. Her Camille is broken, confused, and in deep pain.

She has to return to her home town to cover a murder for her newspaper. In doing so, she must confront her own past, which is full of abuse, neglect, addiction, murder....

Camille has never properly confronted her past. She has drowned it through work, alcohol, and sexual obsession. Adam's performance is so nuanced, so perfect. She conveys with a glance what most actors cannot with a soliloquy.

The production is spot-on - especially the editing. Camille's past and present collide in quite breathtaking turns - moments sometimes so brief as to seem fleeting.

You'll want to give this multiple viewings... it will take you time to decipher the story, but you will love every minute of it.
34 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Next big series
millardelijah10 July 2018
Amy Adams plays the perfect functioning alcoholic with a repressed and haunting past. Her hometown feels barren and out of date, which provides a fitting eerie undertone for the plot that is unfolding. If the next few episodes capture the feel of the first one, HBO has another gem in their hands.
45 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Terrific premiere to a very promising adaptation.
Tempest79 July 2018
I'm a huge fan of Gillian Flynn and really enjoyed her debut novel Sharp Objects (though not quite as much as her other two books). That being said, I think this story works better as a mini-series. Sharp Objects the novel is captivatingly erie and atmospheric, achieving the southern gothic style perfectly. The disturbing mystery at it's center is unraveled in an increasingly unsettling fashion, which I loved, though the ending gets just a little too unhinged to be entirely believable IMO (this is pretty much the only real criticism I have of the book).

Now on to the show. Based solely off the pilot episode it appears to be a very close adaptation, and, as I said, I think it will be the rare exception to the rule where the film/show surpasses it's source material. The novel itself isn't very long. A seven part mini-series almost by necessity will have to expand on the story and flesh out more of the characters. That looks to be exactly what they've done but with the added benefit of superb directorial style and unique music and sound design that really lend a feeling of vitality and unease to the experience.

Jean-Marc Vallee skillfully blends the flashbacks into the story in a super creative and compelling way, adding to the mystery with transitions that put you in a trance and create a constant dreamlike feeling. This technique is particularly good for immersion, as it helps the audience relate to Camille. It evokes the feeling that these memories are flooding back to her as she is forced to return to her hometown and uncover past demons, the likes of which appear destined to further haunt her. In the first episode it seems they are barely scratching the surface of the mystery, and the impression is given that much more startling revelations await just around the corner. The pacing is remarkably restrained and does a terrific job keeping you intrigued despite not being in a hurry to provide answers. The masterful direction gives it exactly what it needs to really resonate in a truly haunting way. To top it all off Amy Adams' performance is phenomenal and I'd consider it easily on par with her best work.

I'm glad to say that Sharp Objects does a great job continuing the recent tradition of excellent mini-series from HBO a la The Night Of, Big Little Lies, etc, and I can even see this reaching the level of True Detective's stellar first season if it continues the same vain as this terrific premiere. Go and watch it if you haven't and ignore all the complainers saying it's too slow. It is slow but in the best kind of way.
46 out of 89 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Very slow very boring
confidential-6789710 July 2018
Am I missing something here, loads of positive reviews being written? Did I watch the same episode as they did. This show is just really slow and boring, lots of weird flashbacks that make no sense, lots of Amy Adams being miserable and looking at walls. Won't watch the 2nd episode as i would rather watch paint dry.
123 out of 261 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very Slow Burn, I'm Willing To See Where It Goes
neener37079 July 2018
So it was heavily advertised that its from some of the people behind "Big Little Lies", which was a masterful show, and its very apparent that this one is from the same people It has a very similar style, but only more sexually and violently graphic. While a couple times there was unnecessary gratuity, pornography and such, it didn't stop me from watching or make me less interested. Some will be upset much like some folks who were upset with the gratuity of The Tale. But for me it didn't turn me off too bad. So its VERY slow burn, so some people will not like it, it seems many people these days can't wait and must be instantly pleased, like people who didn't like The Witch and others like it. But personally I'm willing to see where this goes, because like "Big Little Lies", it took me a couple episodes to be fully engulfed, so I'm going to give it more time.
44 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Slow, boring, Wierd.
zmd-3699016 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
What could have been a good mystery has turned into a dissection of mental ill and emotionally damaged characters. Where is the action, thrills, and excitement? The investigation has been slow, no drama, and boring. Sharp objects uses flash backs to provide background information on the lead character without providing context to let the viewers understand them. Amy Adams character had a difficult childhood , lost a sister, and had a bad haircut. Where is the story? We've seen two dead bodies without knowing why, how, or who is responsible. This is after 2 episodes!
58 out of 117 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Slow, boring, tedious and shaky camera all the way.
hmkunzmann9 July 2018
The acting is best thing about this. The story is very slow and boring. Constant flashbacks with no context are hard to interpret, make no sense. The camera is constantly shaking which gets more and more noticeable as the episode progresses. At the time of writing this has an 8.8 score, which simply cannot be true. I gave it a try but I definitely will not waste any more time on this.
99 out of 213 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Wake me up when it's over
jaimemedina-3628816 July 2018
Masterful? Hardly. Authentic? Yes but not in a good way. Suspenseful? Only if you're intrigued by paint drying. How do you manage suck all the tension and suspense out of a good premise? By trying to fit a two hour movie into a series.
51 out of 106 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Like watching paint dry
mlindseybrier15 July 2018
Just because you have a great actress in your show doesn't mean the show is worthwhile. Boring, predictable, slow as molasses. Fire the director and then you might be able to salvage this self absorbed melodrama.
59 out of 125 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Forgettable Showcase for Amy Adams
GerryofNorVA14 July 2018
I typically love the characters Amy Adams portrays but not in this slow-paced murder mystery. She plays Camille Preaker, a nearly washed up, alcoholic, cigarette addicted newshound in St Louis running down a missing girl report in tiny (pop: 2000) Wind Gap, her hometown. So we're off to a bad start already. When she reluctantly arrives in town, she immediately pisses off the beat down police chief, then the next day comes across three teen girls in a park where she's going to join a search. She acknowledges the teens' impressive rumor machine that they already knew who she was but she whiffs the opportunity to pump the gossiping teens for any backstory on the recent young girl murder or the missing girl. That's just poor writing, poor storytelling, and all this is only in episode one, ep two hasn't even played yet. There's all these cutaways, flashbacks, too, to her childhood there and that's irritating. The atmospherics are dark, moody, seedy, backwoodsy with little accompanying/transitioning music which is 1940s-ish when it's there at all. Such an environment is going to appeal to very, very few people. I expected so much more from Marti Noxon who brought us the edgy, fast-paced "UnREAL" series, oh well, one less show to follow.
49 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hooked
Gwen Lyn18 July 2018
This show has got me hooked from the start. Great characters! Weird, creepy, mysterious, sick. Can't wait for it to continue.
19 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed