Tru Love (2013) Poster

(2013)

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Widow discovers new love with young woman
maurice_yacowar3 April 2015
Warning: Spoilers
In the opening image a surge of water smashes through shards of ice. That's the emblem of the three central women's growth in his drama.

Alice Beacon (Kate Trotter) first appears as a hard, frozen face in a cab, behind black glasses, under her husband's ghost's cold hand. (The workaholic lawyer pops round to give her advice — but still smokes in bed.) When she leaves Toronto to return to (frigid) North Bay Alice is in another cab, but now radiant and ebullient.

The Beacon she provides is summarized in her advice to her daughter, Suzanne (Christine Horne): "Life slips away so quickly…. Most people are too asleep to notice." And in their last scene: "Lose myself, find myself. It's all the same in the end…. If your heart breaks I hope it breaks wide open."

What lit up Alice is the Wonderland she discovers through Suzanne's lesbian friend Tru (Shauna MacDonald, who with Kate Johnston also wrote and directed his fine, sensitive film). In Tru's world a waitress wears a "Pussy Whisperer" t-shirt. The love that gradually grows between the 60-year-old widow and the 30-ish Tru (nee Gertrude, Hamlet's randy mom) does break Alice wide open. She dies of an aneurism on the train home. But she dies at last alive, in her first throes of passionate love — that was missing in her shotgun marriage — and on a new level of understanding both of herself and with her daughter.

Though Suzanne compulsively tries to "protect" her mother from that grand passion, the experience breaks through her carapace against her own emotion. Alice forces her to confront the mysterious feelings she has preferred to evade through work. The experience brings Suzanne as well as Alice out of the shadow of the father's death.

Though Tru is apparently the worldliest of the three women, Alice lights her way anew too. Tru has been compulsively untrue to her lovers, too self-absorbed wholly to commit to them — or even to remember their name — and too cowardly to confront the superficiality of her engagement. She lives on an island. Her joy with Alice and her tension with Suzanne discover a new depth of feeling and an openness that enable her to resume and correct the last relationship she'd fled. The spiked shirt she wears in her melancholy is an emblem of her earlier defence against vulnerability.

Two pictures distinguish Suzanne's and Tru's lives. Chez Suzanne an androgynous face wears a muffled mouth, an emblem of the boyish woman whose life is strictly her law career. In Tru's kitchen, where she indulges her zest for food, French music and brightness the pic is of brilliant flowers. Alice has lived Suzanne's life — sandwiched between two generations of neglectful lawyers — but Tru brings her into joy. It proves contagious.

With a crisp script, first-class direction and superb performances, this film clearly deserves wider audience.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Wonderful film about true love
Red-12524 October 2014
True Luv (2013) was co-directed by Kate Johnson and Shauna MacDonald. It's an interesting, unusual film about love between two women of different generations. Tru, played by director MacDonald, is a free-spirited lesbian who helps out a friend, Suzanne, played by Christine Home, when Suzanne's mother Alice, played by Kate Trotter, comes to visit. Suzanne makes the word "workaholic" really sound inadequate. She's beyond that.

That leaves Tru, who doesn't appear to have a job, and Kate, who rarely sees Suzanne, with time to be together. Suzanne may be too busy to see her mother, but she's still not happy about Tru seeing her mother. The rest of the movie moves forward from there.

We saw this film at the Little Theatre as part of the outstanding Rochester ImageOut LGBT Film Festival. It will work well on DVD.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic exploration of relationships, love and life!
ksdtrotter23 January 2015
So, I am biased because my mom stars in the movie, but she has been in lots of movies and I have not reviewed them on IMDb :-) This movie deserves my positive review. I respect that it is about three woman (three female leads is not the norm) and it was written and directed by two wonderful and talented women (again, two women in the driver's seat is not the norm).

It explores the lives of three women - how they evolve and grow, create bonds and learn how to not simply exist, but impact the world that they live in. Life passes in an instant - we all have to make our instant meaningful. It is not enough to simply exist - we have to love and feel life!

All the performances are outstanding, but I have to say I burst with pride when I watch my mom. I have seen EVERYTHING my mother has done so I am actually the best person to say that her performance is outstanding! My mom is always amazing, but she really hits it out of the park this time.

Watch the movie - you will enjoy it!
20 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A realistic and tender love story
kathy-lowinger23 January 2015
Most movies treat the notion of love and age as a laughable combination. Tru Love does not. It treats its characters with dignity and tenderness, and the result is a fine exploration of love and connection. Alice, recently widowed, comes to Toronto to visit her daughter Suzanne. Suzanne is cold and distant, and uses her job as a reason to avoid engaging with everyone, including Alice. Even her house is impersonal. Alice, on the other hand, is of an age when she has nothing to lose. She breaks our hearts as she tentatively allows herself to follow her unexpected attraction to a rudderless young woman, a friend of her daughter's. None of this sinks into mawkishness or cheap shocks. The writers and the director clearly love each character for her strengths and weaknesses. Each of the actresses, especially Kate Trotter, is marvellous. And for once, Toronto is presented as Toronto. Don't miss this movie!
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Beautiful and thought provoking film
moten2002 September 2020
This film took me on an unexpected plot and ending. The characters well developed and interesting.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
It's OK ... but predictable
cekadah26 March 2017
Why only 4 stars?

Because I got bored watching scene after scene over acted and stretched out too long. It's an easy story to guess where it's going.

Don't get me wrong. The actresses were fine in their roles but the story went lacking. Who couldn't guess where the girls friendship was going and who couldn't guess the ending?

Photography is beautiful, especially the snowy beach scenes - wonderful composition and color - and the mother sitting on the bathtub - beautiful!
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A May-December romance beyond the usual.
drohmark1 April 2022
I am usually put-off when one person stars, writes, and directs-or other multiple roles-in a film however, this is the example that proves it can become a worthwhile effort. Thank you Canada, love is not only found on tropical settings with skimpy bikinis and oiled torsos. At its heart, this is a romance that could have driven itself off the cliff into a soapy film that is only trite. Given the story lines of age, sexuality, loss, and family conflict, the result is an honest product that I think the cast and crew as well as most viewers will find rewarding. If you are looking for an LGBTQ+ salacious tease, you will be disappointed. It is an honest effort with high production values and I feel it is worth your time to watch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Brings you up, and then lets you down.
MyMovieTVRomance19 December 2021
Warning: Spoilers
I was ready to LOVE this movie. And then the end came and spoiled EVERYTHING! It came out of nowhere, just when you think everything is about to work in the couple's favor!

Thanks a lot, writers! Now I can't be a fan!
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Average drama aided by snowy Toronto setting
ardala27 October 2019
A not-bad but not-great little personal drama film about a mother and daughter discovering their sexuality set against a wintery Canadian city backdrop. The three main actresses are good enough in their roles, though you can tell Trotter is by far the most experienced and gives the project some weight. The low budget and small scale works fine for such a feature, which is the first (and, to date, only) full length film from co-writer/producer/director team Kate Johnston and Shauna MacDonald. For the most part the film is competently made, despite occasional lapses in logic and interest. However, it often comes across as a vanity project for MacDonald, who also stars as the title character Tru, and who is more than once described as a "young woman" (MacDonald was in her 40s when she made the film) whom every other woman in the film, gay or otherwise, seems to find utterly irresistible. I'm not saying she isn't pretty or doesn't have any charm, but there are less desperate ways for actors to deal with the onset of middle age. However, the main thing that just screams "amateur hour" here is the number of times she and Johnston receive a screen credit. Including her actor billing, MacDonald is credited FOUR TIMES within two and a half minutes during the opening sequence alone. And not only do she and Johnston get credited as "Producers" but then as the end credits roll, they are credited again as "Executive Producers". MacDonald then gets additional credits in the end cast list and for "locations provided by..." making her name appear onscreen a total of SEVEN TIMES. Ladies, please....credit where credit's due, but there is such a thing as overkill. It's ridiculous and makes you look like giddy teenaged film students. The production (and your reputations as budding serious filmmakers) would have been better served by a simple all-in-one "Written, Produced and Directed by" credit and nothing more, with a single additional credit for MacDonald as cast member. The audience will not get nearly as excited as you do about your names constantly flashing up onscreen.

All in all, a noble though not essential entry into the LGBT film subgenre, but it could have been better had the creative duo it came from exhibited a little more finesse and a little less ego.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
This film is a complete abortion.
davimarinhayes26 July 2021
No passion between these actresses, the plot takes too long to develop with almost no resolution whatsoever. There should have been more of an explanation in terms of what happened between Tru and Suzanne; instead we're left wondering for most of the movie. Very strange. Do not recommend.
0 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed