Classroom 6 (2015) Poster

(2015)

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Sad piece of film
missypat24 October 2015
I'm usually quite patient with bad movies, but this one was painful. I think a creative child with an Iphone probably would have done better camera work than this crew. Sure camera POV is efficient in general to set an atmosphere "à la Blair Witch", but this time it's mostly bad camera work, bad lighting. It's incessantly shaky with too many scenes where the only thing visible are the actor's crotches and off voices which aren't clear at all. The best camera work was with the camera on tripod from the scenes in the hall and haunted bathroom. The sound was bad, the actor's all spoke at the same time rendering dialogue quasi-inaudible.

As for the acting, it's a miss. The interviewer girl is annoying, and continues to be more so until the end. The psychic is probably the better "actor" amongst them, but the script is deficient. The result is just sad. It is not scary but merely uninteresting and unoriginal.

If you want to spend 1h16min watching people sitting around a banal looking classroom screaming and freaking themselves out, this is the movie for you. Otherwise, stay away from Classroom 6, where boredom is the true killer.
14 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrendous in every sense of the word
manuelasaez2 November 2015
I am usually a fan of found-footage for a few key reasons; 1. The acting is usually on par to many big-time Hollywood productions.

2. The use of practical effects over CGI makes things look more realistic.

This movie has nothing, and I mean NOTHING, redeemable, to the point where I am wondering if I should contact the creators and ask for my time back from watching their abortion. The actors are not competent enough to carry the film, and end up being more annoying than you would care to admit. Seriously, I wanted the whole cast dead within the first 35 minutes.

The story has been done ad nauseam, and so much better by more talented individuals. There are no special effects to speak of, and the few moments where anything happens are so few and far between that you begin to wonder if this movie was just an excuse for some people to be seen some twisted vanity project.

The worst offender is the neck-beard holding the camera; he was just an insufferable tool, and the constant shaking of his Tourette's like camera work actually made me nauseous, to the point of vomiting. Very rarely have I had this sensation of physically being ill from the movement of the camera in a film, and this a$$hole succeeded in that respect.

The moral of this travesty; some people are not cut out to write, direct or star in a film, and the public should make it their duty to constantly remind them of the fact. DO NOT give this movie your precious time. You will regret every grueling moment of it.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Back to School! (see what I did there?)
inertiia23 October 2015
I'll start by openly admitting that I'm one of those people who actually enjoy found footage movies, even this type of Grave Encounters mimicry, but this was not an enjoyable experience. The set up had promise but didn't manage to deliver anything but the worst of the genre. Too many characters confused what little plot there was and the scares (even jump scares) were non existent. The atmosphere was okay and i did like the way they chopped in forward flashes of things to come but overall it failed. It failed to follow story lines through, it failed to answer any of the questions it asked, it failed to make me care about the people and it failed to scare.

It is short but when there are so many movies out there that do it right (or at least to a satisfactory standard) there's just no point in watching this one, it will disappoint.
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Muddled, Overacted Found Footage Dud
fatfil-414-45179730 October 2015
I must confess to initially being quite fond of found footage movies, and the odd gem occasionally still pops up. Unfortunately this isn't one of them and joins growing list of misfires in the genre. The premise is quite interesting, but the execution fails to deliver. Even at a relatively short 76 minutes, it seemed too long. When the back story is outlined at the beginning of the movie I really was expecting something above average. However there was very little in the rest of the film that capitalised, or even referred to, this back story. There is basically just a lot of running around screaming and extremely annoying shaky, out of focus hand held shots. Some mostly unexplained arguments and confrontation between the main characters, but very little in the way of actual action. The ending is predictable, and has been done so much better in other movies. There really is nothing new to see here. Next.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Turn out the light. The film is over.
nogodnomasters10 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Santa Maria College in Bakersfield, California is haunted and "ground zero" is classroom 6. We discover that they taught "Witchcraft and Ancient Symbols" and that is background we get as to the cause of of two disappearances. News reporter Annie Monroe (Valentina Kolaric) assembles a team to spend the night which includes the world's worst news camera man who insists on filming everything at a 10-15 degree angle and he frequently cuts off heads. Special effects include the closing door, power loses, film shake, messed up lip stick, noise, screams, and oooooh the tennis ball. Bad acting too, but to be fair, the script gave them no chance.

Worth a hall pass.

Guide: F-word. No sex or nudity.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Omg So Terrible
twilght200279 May 2020
If I could leave no stars I would. The camera man must have never held a camera in his life. No idea how to handle nor work a camera. I got a migraine from attempting to watch the constant shakey, bad angles. Constant extreme close ups and then pans out then back in. Odd angles of up nose shots, crotch shots, arm shots. Nothing happens for more than half the movie, pointless recordings of conversations about nothing. Only entertaining actor was the hispanic guy who gave spurts of comical comments. A whole movie with bad acting, worse camera man ever in the world, story line just dragged on and on. No imagination what so ever put into this. An actual documentary would have been way more interesting than this garbage. Please who ever created this whole movie continue working a regular 9-5 and don't ever attempt making a movie again. Spare us your lack of talent.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
To little too late.
parry_na10 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Setting a found-footage horror film in a creepy school overnight is an idea with promise. There's something about the school arena, buzzing with life and mischief during the day, being unimaginably eerie during the night. The actors employed here are refreshingly dynamic without seeming stagey and have a naturalistic way about them. Unfortunately the seemingly improvised nature of their scenes often results in them standing around talking over each other, with little to distinguish them and little to distinguish their voices. That none of them seem to be saying much of any importance isn't terribly reassuring.

When all cell phones suddenly run out of power at the same time their watches stop, it becomes clear we are on familiar genre territory here. The camera spluttering and the image distorting allows you to know that something frightening is about to happen, just as it has in other - frankly, better - films of this nature; but 'something frightening' doesn't happen for a very long time. Just more chatting and discussing with no great onset of fear - and little (other than an omnipresent tennis ball) to get worked up about.

With a group dynamic, conflict can be an important and successful way of displaying tension. Such moments here arrive out of nowhere and are then forgotten, meaning anything built up by this dissipates almost immediately.

The finale, when loud noises and disorientation becomes all-encompassing, is effective. And yet, it isn't terribly well done and 'Classroom 6' emerges more as a series of found-footage box-ticking than anything else. It genuinely saddens me to say all that because there's a lot of love and enthusiasm that seems to have gone into director/writer Jonas Odenheimer's project. The assorted actors give it their all, without ever the characters becoming too arrogant and dis-likeable. The end result is just not very satisfying.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Middle-grade amateur effort
Larry-1151 December 2015
Typical amateur effort of a found footage film. The production values are not terrible, though little is asked of them. The acting is not great, so there's no suspension of the sense of disbelief and as a result you feel the whole time like you're watching a college film. You don't get lost in the story like you would in a better FF film like Blair Witch or Paranormal Activity. It feels false throughout.

Another problem is it relies on the same old tired tropes that were once interesting in FF, but no longer are: the rumbling sound when something supernatural is about to happen, accompanied by the video blurring and skipping; infighting between the trapped victims; the evil spirit using the voices of already-dead victims and other people to trick the trapped victims; the tearful sign-off right before the last girl is killed. Sound familiar?

The film feels forced, is badly acted and has nothing new to say, so I wouldn't pay for it if I were you. Even if it's free it doesn't have much to say.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Had potential
akd-974-77408124 April 2020
Ok it isn't a new idea with handheld found footage but I was still game. The "camera guys" need to zoom in and out constantly was ridiculous. The participants fear when nothing had actually happened was silly and unbelievable. The wanna be fued with the two guys was out of nowhere and pointless. Also the lack of camera focus was irritating as well as the countless crotch shots. Like, why?
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Classroom 6 gets an F
devils_neighbor_66711 February 2020
A rather dull, mediocre acted horror, with lack of scares... seemed like it had Potential at the start... but didn't get where it was going
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Creepy but hard to watch
shadowfax737 September 2019
I like low budget horror movies where they tend to cut to the chase and don't mess around with family type stuff or waste time making characters people you care about. It's a horror movie for Christos' sake. Classroom 6 is another one of those found footage movies where everyone disappears and there's just the footage left. I know they've been done hundreds of times it seems but creepy is creepy so I enjoy most of them. This one I have only watched about a third of and that is not because it is necessarily poor but because the guy with the camera must have Parkinsons disease as the camera seems to be moving in a haphazard way almost constantly and it gets pretty nauseating. When it isn't waving around like the cameraman has Parkinsons and is on acid, its POV is about 3 feet off the ground. Cheap movies can be cheerful but this one is really hard going due to the garden gnome cameraman on a bad acid trip.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
THIS WAS A SUPRISE FOR ME
caseyholloway-7564230 January 2021
THIS STARTED OFF AS ONE OF THOSE MOVIES THAT I THOUGHT OK I WILL WATCH A FEW MORE MINUTES BEFORE I GET SO BORED THAT I WILL HAVE TO FIND SOMETHING ELSE TO WATCH! ALL I CAN SAY, I WAS VERY SUPRISED, CAUSE I WAS HOOKED! THE REST OF THE MOVIE HAS SOME GOOD JUMP SCARES BUT ALSO HAS A GREAT PLOT THAT ACTUALLY MAKES SENSE! ALL IN ALL, I LOVED THIS MOVIE!!!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
It was ok but it doesn't make sense
killersparta25 January 2021
Warning: Spoilers
The idea was a good one but the movie at a whole doesn't make sense. It goes along the normal horror pattern of don't think smart or logically but the building in itself for being a used high school for the film is omg a joke. All schools have fire exits that open regardless that is common requirement in case of emergency exits needed and there was many times I saw them pass a fire alarm they could have pulled to get someone to come since missing people and death. Now if they had pulled the alarms or found an exit and it didn't open or set off cuz the entity used its energy then ok but seriously. And the cameraman blaming the psychic and not having any emphasis to that plot of saying it was the news girls fault cuz the psychic told her they should leave earlier was horrendous.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
not great
jamiegates-2847113 December 2020
If this was a college project or an exercise in copying the Blair witch for uni then for an amateur its not a bad attempt. If its a commercial release then shame on you. Its a poor mans rip-off of the original blair witch project. the acting is poor, the casting is poor and the scares are a really rubbish attempt at hiding the fact you are copying other better films. Wouldn't waste my hour and half if i were you
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
If you love found footage horror like me..
brandonsmuxx30 August 2020
You'll still think this is below average, at best. Positives: The acting was good, especially the actor playing the psychic. Decent premise. Negatives: Incredibly boring. Not remotely scary and not even a jump scare. The extent of the "scares" are the ghost/demon/whatever it's supposed to be (because we never see it) tossing back a tennis ball and yanking a couple desks around. I've seen hundreds of these movies, many of which I imagine had a similar budget to this. At least these other movies attempted (though likely failed) to scare you. This doesn't even bother. I found myself thinking, ok so here we have a crew member tossing a ball into the hallway and here we have some other crew members yanking desks that they tied a rope to. Neat.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Special Case #2
isobellefox11 September 2017
To date I have rated 1,026 movies on IMDb, but I have only written one review.

I save them. I save the reviews for special cases.

I also watch a lot of found footage. I have seen and rated 56 of them at the present time. I feel they help me work out my karma through intense self-inflicted suffering.

This is my second review on IMDb.

I know there are worse movies. There are. But this one is terrible. Everything about it is utterly terrible. It is an extraordinarily terrible movie.

I feel that, because I endured it in its entirety, my karma is drastically closer to being expunged. This dreadful experience has brought me one step closer to Nirvana.

So, if you enjoy terrible, terrible writing, terrible, terrible acting, and terrible, terrible camera work (even for a found footage "film"), or, if you feel that you need to have your astral body scoured clean by pure suffering, then this is for you.

Otherwise, I recommend anything else. Anything.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
An unpopular opinion, apparently
mfgabrielc15 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
In contrast with all the other reviews, I found this movie good. I am not a movies critic nor I have eye for the issues the others pointed out, I just look for an atmosphere that makes me feel tense and scared. I did have one moment or two I had goosebumps, and that is what I look for too. In this aspect, this movie is indeed good.

What I judge on a good paranormal movie is how simple the activities are. For instance, the tennis balls being thrown back at the guys, a camera falling and the weird malfunctioning of them as well. A yell, a bump, a noise, a door slamming, and so on. This movie has plenty of those and I like it. Mixing all of them with the atmosphere of that school and I have a good result. Along with these the creepy moments when people are staring at the nowhere and hitting their heads against the blackboard complements all this by giving the sensation of imminent danger.

What came as a bit of a bummer for me was the opposite of these "simple" activities. The "Amanda" written in the mirror and the guy being dragged to below the bathroom door and simply disappearing is simply nonsense, ir should be at least dead with his head in the toilet like when they found the medium guy hanged, at least he was still there. But I believe it's only these. The rest are good enough for me.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A 6 pack
alphahumphrey-548479 March 2020
Warning: Spoilers
To be based on real events. This movie takes classic haunted schools to another level with handheld cameras, and of course the reuse of loudly arguing people, camera glitches and lesser known actors. If you want something else than Mainstream Universal horror stream this.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed