Burnt (2015) Poster

(I) (2015)

User Reviews

Review this title
216 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
An under-cooked recipe that never reaches the boil let alone burns
TheLittleSongbird20 March 2018
People are probably tired of hearing me say what is going to be said now, being not the first time it's been said. Only because it is applicable to more than one film. 'Burnt' had an interesting idea that indicated a good story if done right, a talented cast deserving of material worthy of them and it would certainly entice anybody who enjoys their food and likes fine dining.

'Burnt' is not an awful film by any stretch and certainly is not a film with no redeeming values, but it is not hard to see why reviews were lukewarm to negative. There was a good film somewhere in 'Burnt', sadly despite such great promise it never emerges. Essentially it was a lukewarm bland film that would have basically fared better with less ingredients and cooked the remaining elements all the way through.

There are things that work in 'Burnt's' favour and stops it from being completely raw. Sorry for the food/cooking references, can't resist. The best thing about it is Bradley Cooper, an excellent performance that burns with intensity regardless of the one-dimensional and trying-too-hard-to-be-a-demon-chef way his character is written. Daniel Bruhl also rises above the material.

Sienna Miller gives 'Burnt' some heart and charm, a very competent performance actually considering what was given to her (which generally was not a whole lot to write home about) and her personal life, while very clichéd, is somewhat identifiable and just about avoids the over-sentimentality route. It's competently filmed, the soundtrack while not unforgettable is nice enough and the food is delicious-looking and how the ways it's cooked is portrayed makes one want to cook something in your own privacy.

Not all the cast come off well, well actually the rest of the cast. They all try their best, but they are either wasted (Emma Thompson), useless (Alicia Vikander, her character and writing rather than her) or forgettable (Uma Thurman). They are undone by a half-baked script that not even the excessive swearing can give heat to, apart from the odd witty line, and sketchy characterisation where any attempts at development is generally vague.

Its portrayal of how kitchen life works came over as over-heated, as fulfilling and exciting it can be it is also very stressful but not to an extent that feels like a wannabe version of 'Hell's Kitchen', if nowhere near as fake or staged but without the savage and hilarious one-liners and insults (at least on that show Gordon Ramsay has a reason to act that way, the main character's behaviour was far too extreme and out of order regardless of his struggles to atone). It certainly does not make one seriously consider going into cooking as a profession, have dealt with my fair share of pressure but this amount shown here would see me quit within hours.

Even with the presence of food, it could have featured more and 'Burnt' never feels like a celebration of it and lacks any kind of joy or colour. Its attempts at dissecting the chef's mind never goes deep enough or explored properly, it just feels vague and under-done. The underworld debt subplot never catches fire and lacks tension completely, wouldn't have said no to it being left out and the film finding another way of the main character starting afresh. The film and its messaging may have been identifiable and relevant, if it rang true, had subtlety, had a main character worth rooting for and didn't override itself in clichés. 'Burnt' is a failure at all four (though the third point has no bearing on Cooper), big missed opportunity.

At the end of the day, 'Burnt' was an at times digestible but empty experience, an under-cooked recipe that never reaches the boil let alone burns. 4/10 Bethany Cox
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
formulaic but good enough
SnoopyStyle25 April 2016
Adam Jones (Bradley Cooper) had a meltdown as a two-star Michelin chef in Paris. He was addicted to drugs, alcohol, and women. He burnt down all his bridges, and spent the last couple of years shucking a million oysters in New Orleans. Now clean and sober, he decides to achieve the third star in London. He convinces maître d' Tony to get him started. He recruits many of the old mates and some new ones including sous-chef Helene (Sienna Miller).

Bradley Cooper is doing an angry brat looking for salvation. This movie crystallizes when his character tells the therapist that he's gathering a team like the Seven Samurai. Most of these characters become story constructs. There are still good stuff here. I like Sienna Miller and her character. The longer she held out against the inevitable romance, the better her character is. I like the switch with the villain of the movie. I'm always up for some food porn. Overall, it's too formulaic, too much flash, but is good enough of a watch.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Cooking does not get any tougher
Prismark1014 August 2016
Top star chefs tend come over as spoilt brats who treat their staff like dirt. Maybe their is an interesting film to be made about a chef at an employment tribunal justifying why treating grown up human being's who happen to be their employees in a humiliating fashion is fine and legal.

Burnt centres on Adam Jones (Bradley Cooper) a top chef who went haywire with his addiction issues while working for a high end restaurant in Paris under a prestigious Michelin ranked chef.

Adam does not want to make fine cuisine that you eat, he wants to make orgasmic food. A one of a kind experience. After bumming round for a bit he comes to London with an aim of creating a three Michelin star restaurant and tries to get his old crew together some of whom were burnt by him in the past with his drug, drink and sex addiction issues and he still has people chasing him for all debts.

Whether Adam has truly reformed is a thorny issue. When something goes wrong in the kitchen he throws tantrums and plates including insulting his sous chef Helene (Sienna Miller) a single parent who he had head hunted from a rival restaurant.

The film makes great fun of passing cooking fads such as the recent trend of boil in a bag food or boiled in a condom food as Adam calls it which is presented as haute-cuisine as it seals in the flavours.

The story is not very original, the characters are sketchy than fully cooked. Cooper injects enough passion to produce something edible but it is more disposable fast food than gourmet.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not as good a(s) Chef
kosmasp25 July 2016
The other movie that is, where we followed a Chef trying to get back on his feet. But Favreau had other issues than Bradley Cooper has in this one. Favreau was "burnt" too in a way, but it was a different kind. He also didn't have the luxury of a budget, someone backing him up who loves him (more than some would like, though through all his flaws and faults that's the one thing that never bothers Coopers character).

And talking about downfalls, there is a lot of animosity and rivalry going on. There is also a scene that is a bit too sweet for my taste where things get resolved too quickly. But having the acting talent at hand (even in smaller roles), gives the movie the credibility and the gravitas to go places and succeed in the end nevertheless. Will the Chef succeed though?
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Bad-boy chef seeks redemption in London.
TxMike30 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
We watched this on DVD from our public library.

In spite of his being a "pretty boy" Bradley Cooper, about 40 here, is truly a fine actor. He is Chef Adam Jones, classically trained and fine- tuned under a prestigious French Chef, he messed it all up with his boozing, drugs, women, and bad temper. As the movie starts he is working in New Orleans as an oyster shucker. He keeps a small diary, it only has one type of entry, the cumulative number of oysters he has shucked. The day he reached 1,000,000 he puts his tools down, and walks out the door, ignoring all the "where are you going" questions.

It seems Adam has made a pact with himself. He was a 2 Star chef, which is great, but he wants to achieve the ultimate, 3 stars. Reaching his symbolic goal he heads to London with a plan. He will take over a famous restaurant there, make it one of the best anywhere, and in the process get his 3 Star rating.

Even though Adam has given up drugs and booze, he still is far from being a "people person." He is arrogant and demanding and the first night of the new opening yells at all his staff and throws all the food in the garbage. It isn't "perfect."

Of course a movie like this has to have a love interest and it is played very well by Sienna Miller as Chef Helene who Adam gets fired from her job so that she has no choice to go work for him.

The other key character is fine actor Daniel Brühl as Tony, who runs the restaurant for his ailing dad. Adam knows the big secret, Tony is a homosexual and is in love with Adam, so in essence he will do anything for Adam.

Overall this is a really entertaining movie with a good story, that of a lost man, Adam, trying to achieve what he wants but having to do it through building a cooperative team, rather than through intimidation. My only complaint is how bad his behavior was in the kitchen, it seems hardly believable that someone could be that difficult and that destructive and still make it. But maybe they thought they had to go to that extreme to show his transformation.

SPOILERS: As things are running smoothly the staff recognizes the "M.O." of two patrons who are sure to be from the Michelin group to eat and assign a rating. Adam gets intimately involved and makes sure everything is perfect. But they send the food back, they say it is too seasoned, and one of the cooks shows Adam lots of red pepper in his hand, it was payback for something Adam had done to his restaurant some years earlier. All Adam could do is chuckle and the cook walked out. But it turns out they were not from Michelin, and the experience gets Adam to realize that he really needed a complete cooperative crew and began to go that route. Soon Michelin raters actually did come in, Adam said "Let's just do what we normally do". In a final scene on the Thames Adam smiles as Helene indicates to him that he got the 3 Star rating.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Bradley Cooper, Master Chef
blanche-213 May 2017
The film Burnt came out in 2015 and won six awards here and there. Nevertheless, it did not do particularly well at the box office.

It must have been badly marketed, because I found it delightful and well acted by Bradley Cooper, Sienna Miller, Daniel Bruhl, Matthew Rhys, Emma Thompson, and Uma Thurman.

Cooper plays Adam Jones, a highly successful chef in France who wrecked his life with drugs, booze, and women. He comes to London to reinvent himself as a premiere chef and wants a third star from Michelin. He looks up people he worked with in Paris and attempts to convince them to work for him, and he also looks for new people. He's impressed with a sous chef (Sienna Miller), who doesn't like him at first.

Adam decides to take over his friend Tony's (Daniel Bruhl) restaurant by showing up the night that Michelin is in the restaurant. With his reputation on the line, Tony has no choice but to let him cook.

With a team in place, Adam shows himself to be a complete perfectionist who yells, screams, and breaks dishes when the food isn't the way he wants it. One night, after what he thinks is a complete disaster, he shows up wasted at the restaurant of a rival (Matthew Rhys) who tries to help.

Such a fun and interesting film, and who minds looking at Bradley Cooper? We get to see some of what goes on in the kitchen of a top restaurant - the film used top people as consultants - and learn just enough to make us curious about what is a truly fine art.

Highly recommended.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Burnt was a pretty good film about a recovering chef trying a comeback
tavm3 November 2015
This was the only one of the current movies playing at the cinema my friend works at that I hadn't seen yet that I was willing to watch. It was quite entertaining as it went along the narrative. Bradley Cooper plays a once-disgraced chef trying a comeback. So he goes to England where his former boss from France has another restaurant operating there and attempts to work for him again. He also gets some of his former crew back. Then there's a female chef (Sienna Miller) who also reluctantly agrees to work for him. That's because despite his recovery from various vices, he's still quite a jerk as my friend pointed out in the middle of the film. In summary, Burnt took a while but I was pretty entertained as was my friend. Oh, and nice reunion between Cooper and Miller from American Sniper.
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
***1/2
edwagreen29 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The portions might be small, but the food and film seemed delicious.

Having been the master chef, but losing everything due to his lifestyle, Bradley Cooper sets out to rebuild his reputation in this film.

A perfectionist to the core, part of the film is devoted for him attempting to assemble a group to work with. He proves impossible to work with. He is a visionary, and against consistency in food. Something variable or different must be on the menu and he instills his love for the culinary among his workers.

Other parts of the film are dedicated to pleasing the food critics.

I wonder how much weight was gained by Cooper and others while filming took place. With the relatively small portions, probably not that much.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Enjoyable
Gordon-1122 December 2015
This film tells the story of a famous chef who has to get back to his feet after recovering from drug addiction. He is determined to get the elusive Michelin three stars in a hotel restaurant in London.

"Burnt" is such a delight to watch because the food is beautiful and artistically presented. The characters are well portrayed as well, I care for them a lot. The subplot of Daniel Bruhl's character loving the chef is an interesting touch, but it is not developed well enough to make viewers care about the two. The romantic subplot is still predominantly between Adam Jones and Helene. The rivalry between chefs is quite intensely portrayed, providing a bit of tension in the film. I'm impressed by the number of big stars in this as well. I enjoyed watching "Burnt" a lot, I think it's entertaining.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Slightly Interesting, but a High-Brow Decadent World Hardly Worth Exploring
LeonLouisRicci24 February 2016
Inconsistent Character Study that is all over the place and Never Attains a Tone for the Viewer to Settle in and become fully Involved in the Slightly Interesting Story and Offbeat Setting.

There are Few Movies About Chefs and the "Type A" Personality it takes to attain a Three Star Rating, and it is a Good Attempt, but the Execution leaves Something to be Desired. The Montage is Clunky and Awkward and the Presentation is Rough the Way the Film never Quite Latches on to anything approaching Verisimilitude.

Bradley Cooper and the rest of the Cast give it a Good Try but the Film is Never fully Engaging and Interest Wavers. Worth a Watch but is Disappointing and delivers a Frustrating but sometimes Beautiful Display of what passes for a Dinner and a Night out for Snobs and People that have Money to "Throw Away" (just like a dish that isn't picture perfect) to Look at Food on a Plate presented as Art, that Ironically Hardly Resembles Food.

This Whole World is Foreign to most Folks and when Viewed from a Distance it Reveals Just How Ridiculous, Decadent, and Wasteful it is.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Though the racist BURNT isn't the best Foodie flick of all time . . .
oscaralbert5 November 2015
Warning: Spoilers
. . . it constitutes a partially palatable snack if you can stomach its anti-Black racial bias. Would Andrew Lloyd Webber cast the title character of JEZUS CHR1ST, SUPERSTAR--along with all His disciples--as a Lily White crew, EXCEPT for the betrayer's role (Judas Iscariot), filled by a Black face?! That's exactly what the Weinstein Co. people have done with BURNT, as the only Black character with a speaking part, Michel, turns out to be a sneaky Iago-type biding his time, waiting to gain vengeance against all White People for some perceived wrong in the distant past (maybe his great granddad times nine was kidnapped to Europe in the 1600s). The title for this racist flick seems to single out Michel, referencing his skin tone and intentions toward everyone else, while portraying Blacks as untrustworthy, back-stabbing ticking time bombs. At a Real Life juncture when half of European Whites are engaged in a War against their current influx of darker-skinned refugees, Weintein's Co.'s schedule for releasing a flick set and shot in Europe such as this racist BURNT is tantamount to throwing gasoline on a theater fire!
10 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Why are people saying this is a comedy?
neil-47612 November 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Chef Adam Jones burnt himself out on drink, drugs and sex by way of achieving too much too young and, in so doing, made some enemies and stored up some problems. Now clean, he is seeking to re-establish himself: but does he still have what it takes, because his people skills are sadly lacking.

For some baffling reason, this is labelled as a comedy: I have no idea why, because it is almost devoid of any element of amusement at all. It is a straightforward drama which blends Adam's gradual character development (by virtue of friends who, frankly, he doesn't deserve to have) with very generous helpings of what, I believe, is called "food porn" – teasingly lingering shots of exotic foodstuffs being prepared and served.

Bradley Cooper as Adam is rather good, and his development arc is believable. The food porn does nothing for me, other than make me think that I would never for a second consider eating at a restaurant which charges an arm and a leg for a minuscule helping of pretentious food on a silly shaped plate which would look more at home in the Museum Of Modern Art. Food fans will have their own views, of course. There is some nice London location work.

Cooper gets to show off a bit, the support cast are enjoyable (especially Daniel Bruhl as the restaurateur/hotelier who really shouldn't let Adam through the front door) and the story moves along efficiently, if rather inconsequentially. I didn't actually care very much, though, apart from on short sequence which, to my surprise, moved me immensely (I'll just say "birthday cake).

This is one for London-based foodies.
15 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Lightly crusted
ferguson-630 October 2015
Greetings again from the darkness. This one is not just for all you foodies out there – though there is plenty to digest for those who fancy themselves as some hoity-toity chef to the rich and famous. Don't go in expecting a "How to Cook" seminar. Instead, simmer down and prep yourself for a serving of massive ego topped with arrogance and a side of narcissism. Blend those ingredients into one character, and this chef somehow remains likable … when played by Bradley Cooper.

Enough with the cooking terms, but let's heap more praise on Mr. Cooper. When first we meet his character Adam Jones, he is readying himself to bounce back after self-destructing his career as a two-star Michelin chef in Paris. He simply walks out the door of the Louisiana diner where he has been serving his self-imposed penance … shelling 1 million raw oysters, each one recorded in his pocket notebook. This provides our first glimpse into the obsessive-compulsive personality of Adam, and helps explain how he has managed to kick his drug, alcohol, and women addictions. Feeling refreshed and on a mission to garner that rarified third Michelin star, Adam begins assembling his team in London and encouraging his old co-worker Tony (Daniel Bruhl, Rush) to entrust him with his restaurant.

We can't actually taste the magnificent food that's served on screen, but the colors and textures are a kaleidoscope to our eyes. The movie is beautiful to look at. The restaurant dining rooms are showplaces, the kitchens are pristine, and the customers are mostly dressed like runway models. On top of that, Bradley Cooper and Alicia Vikander (in a small role) are two of the grand champions in the gene pool sweepstakes. All of that beauty is balanced out by the quest for perfection and lack of interpersonal skills displayed by Chef Adam. It's not until his star pupil Helene (Sienna Miller) shows him another way, does Adam even start to resemble a human being.

Drug dealers, old flames, a therapist (Emma Thompson), an arch rival (Matthew Rhys, "The Americans"), an unrequited one-way love, a deceased mentor, a ridiculously cute kid (Lexi Benbow-Hart, sporting hair that would make Julia Roberts envious), and a wronged co-worker (Omar Sy) combine to add plenty of action. Even the quick cut shots in the kitchen manage to make grilling onions and carving a fish interesting.

Never digging too deep, director John Wells (August: Osage County) delivers an entertaining movie with wide appeal, and a message of teamwork and family. The story is from Michael Kalesniko and the script from Steven Knight (who also wrote last year's Michelin star-centered The Hundred-Foot Journey). The dialogue is sharp enough to deliver some laughs, though the element of danger doesn't really work, and a couple of times it teeters on gooey melodrama. It doesn't reach the level of Mostly Martha (2002), and is a tick behind last year's Chef (Jon Favreau), but it may offer the most creative lesson yet in how best to serve a dish of revenge. It's a tasty enough treat for those in the mood for an entertaining movie and an endless stream of pretty things to look at.
7 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Well Cooked Entertainment.
anaconda-4065825 December 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Burnt (2015): Dir: John Wells / Cast: Bradley Cooper, Sienna Miller, Daniel Bruhl, Omar Sy, Matthew Rhys: John Wells presents a realistic view of the hectic work in a kitchen as well as a professional so good at his job that all he can do is sink in despair in hopes of regaining success again. Bradley Cooper plays chef Adam Jones who walked out on a job in a restaurant in Paris thus creating enemies out of former co-workers and employers whose business suffered as a result. He owes money to heavies and struggles with drugs. Now he desires to return to the restaurant business but his dominating personality and his forceful desire to succeed creates divisions with everyone. Cooper plays off the anxiety of someone aiming to be the best yet struggling to erase mistakes. Sienna Miller plays single mother Helene, an accomplished chef in her own right who is reluctantly enlisted by Jones. Conflict follows allowing these two actors a better platform than what American Sniper gave them. Daniel Bruhl plays the homosexual manager of the restaurant that employs Jones. He is frustrated with Jones and his fitful antics but comes to terms with the fact that it comes with dealing with the best in the business. There is great supporting roles that form the core people whom Jones had screwed earlier in Paris. One ends up getting revenge at a pivotal moment, while another ends up demonstrating surprise grace when Jones attempts to suffocate himself inside his restaurant. This is a film about second chances and giving chances to those around us that can prevent us from burning ourselves out and further assisting us in our goals. Score: 9 / 10
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Ignore the silly story just watch the food
phd_travel2 November 2015
Warning: Spoilers
If you don't pay attention to the overblown melodrama of the tantrums and shouting and druggie background and loan shark nonsense, ie ignore the story then this is a mouth watering movie about a gourmet chef trying to make a restaurant get 3 Michelin Stars.

It does make you understand somewhat why they charge so ridiculously high prices for food in these fancy restaurants, there is a lot going into it. But the movie could have shown more dazzling creations course by course and identified them clearly. For example this is whatever dish and show it's preparation and serving. In the end the silly story overwhelmed the food and that's why this movie has flopped.

The likable cast can't save this movie. Sienna Miller made to look less glam is still very appealing (and too skinny for a chef). She can act anything. Bradley looks a bit plump still from Sniper days I guess but suited to a chef. The supporting cast is likable from Emma Thompson who looks very old to Daniel Bruhl as the Maitre'd. Even Matthew Rhys speaking in a British accent.

Compared to the other great food movie of recent years 'Julie and Julia' this movie isn't half as delightful. Despite it's faults there's something that still makes it watchable.
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
'People eat because they are hungry; I want to make food that makes people stop eating.'
gradyharp7 February 2016
One of the many memorable lines in this rather odd film is 'If it's not perfect, you throw it away... regardless of time.' Somehow that rather tidily sums up this film. Steven Knight adapted Michael Kalesniko's story in to an overindulgent whine of a movie that despite the presence of some very fine actors, the influence of John Wells' direction (Shameless, ER, etc) shines darkly through.

Adam Jones (Bradley Cooper) is a chef who destroyed his career with drugs and diva behavior. He cleans up and returns to London, determined to redeem himself by spearheading a top restaurant that can gain three Michelin stars – a restaurant whose maître'd is Daniel Brühl. Apparently Adam was the former infant terrible of the Paris restaurant scene had earned two Michelin stars and only ever cared about the thrill of creating explosions of taste. To land his own kitchen and that third elusive star though, Jones will need to leave his bad habits behind and get the best of the best on his side, including the beautiful Helene (Sienna Miller). Other cooks fill the endless kitchen screaming tantrums and such fine actors as Alicia Vikander, Emma Thompson, Uma Thurman and Omar Sy try to make it work, but the film just gets tedious – unless you are studying to be a chef. Yawn….Grady Harp, February 16
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Boring kitchen movie about a wannabe Nazi chef
deloudelouvain15 January 2016
First of all I would like to ask why IMDb puts this movie in the category Comedy? Can anybody enlighten me on this? There is absolutely nothing to laugh in Burnt. It is not a comedy. The first one that tells me it is has to explain me exactly which part he thought was funny. Now back to the actual movie. It's very easy for me to rate this movie because I absolutely hated it. And that's maybe because I hate Gordon Ramsay. Because the whole movie is Bradley Cooper acting like that asshole Gordon Ramsay. If I had to work with a wannabe Nazi like those two they should watch out very carefully because a kitchen has big knives and I might use it to slit their throat. I don't get why people would put up with that kind of behavior? So basically, if you like to watch a chef acting like a petulant child and arguing in the kitchen for almost two hours then you are going to like this movie. If you, like me thinks this is very boring to watch just avoid this movie.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Aprons Up!!!
lavatch5 February 2016
Warning: Spoilers
"Burnt" is primarily a film about food and cooking at the highest level of sybaritic and gourmet style. There is a wonderful moment when the energetic kitchen staff moves into action in their hotel restaurant and begins the preparation of their orders: "Aprons up!", they shout.

Bradley Cooper leads an excellent cast in this film. Copper's chef is a perfectionist and seeks to instill this degree of commitment in the other members of his staff. The ultimate goal is to receive a three-star Michelin rating for their restaurant.

Beyond the food, the film layers in what director John Wellls calls "a redemption story" about Cooper's character of Adam Jones, whose obsessive personality led to drug addiction and ruined the careers of others when was working in Paris. The action of the film now shifts to London where Jones tries to redeem himself. In this personal drama of the film that is disappointing in its melodramatic and predictable plotting.

Some of the standouts in the cast include Sienna Miller as Jones's assistant chef, Emma Thompson as a psychiatrist, and Daniel Brühl as the restaurant maître d', whose father is dying of cancer. Brühl is actually more successful than Cooper in developing the film's redemption theme.

In the lengthy bonus segment of the DVD, director Wells discussed the importance of authenticity in the film, including bringing in a superstar chef to ensure accuracy in the preparation of the food. The film is successful in evoking the verisimilitude of a professional restaurant.

Viewers must decide for themselves whether the film is primarily a drama about a talented chef seeking a second chance in life is as effective as a pseudo-documentary on the culinary arts.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A fast food restaurant in five-star clothing
StevePulaski2 November 2015
John Wells' Burnt asks us to suspend our disbelief of characters and their actions as if we're watching one of the multitude of Marvel films that have graced the multiplexes in the last few years. It's a film that gives us a contemptible lead character, who is contemptible without merit. He doesn't have the swagger and intelligence of Jordan Belfort in The Wolf of Wall Street and he doesn't have the charisma or the troubled qualities of your average anti-hero. He's a miserable, nasty human being, who manages to make everyone around him think so irrationally that they serve him despite their ability to find more appealing and admirable work elsewhere. I'm only reminded, yet again, of comedian/political pundit Bill Maher's comments on the new Steve Jobs film, in which he said that film is definitive proof that Americans love movies about a**holes.

The character in question is Adam Jones (Bradley Cooper), a chef who strives to make "orgasmic" cuisines for his customers and create an experience where they do not come to expect the same kind of meal each time they go out to eat. Unlike most chefs, he fears consistency and rote process, so he meticulously chops, stirs, cooks, and prepares food in different ways in effort to accentuate different flavors. A recovering drug addict, Jones lost the restaurant he once owned and is now looking to rebuild his empire by hiring people like Michel ("The Intouchables"' Omar Sy), somebody he screwed over at his old restaurant, and Helene (Sienna Miller), a renowned chef he implores to quit her job in order to work for him. His ultimate goal is to earn three Michelin stars, which will, in turn, make him one of the most credible and highly rated restaurants in Paris.

Jones' relationship with Helene is the first problematic one, simply because Helene is less a character and more an object for Jones to fire insults at like he's Gordon Ramsay and this is a film adaptation of "Kitchen Nightmares." To see Jones physically and mentally abuse Helene is bad enough, mainly because it's so caustically handled and unwarranted, but the coffin-sealing nail is that Helene continues to work for him, despite having a better option. The same goes for Michel, who doesn't need to work for the guy who back-stabbed him. Both characters are blindsided by this faux-idea of greatness that Jones apparently exudes with every sentence he says and motion he mistakes. He's an empty vessel that strives to be "the best" in his field, and those are less character traits in this film than reasons alone to justify abuse, betrayal, arrogance, and cruel violence throughout the course of the film.

It's as if Jones is a God and his actions make all the other characters act irrationally. This also wouldn't be so bad if we were supposed to take characters like Helene seriously. Helene is yet another character so ill-conceived that it shortchanges Sienna Miller's ability to captivate. Much like in American Sniper, where we usually saw her character on the phone with, surprise, Bradley Cooper's, crying and pleading for him to come home, here we see her in tears again being at the mercy of Cooper's own self-absorption.

And yet, I could forgive all of this if Jones wasn't such a flat, static character that lacks any kind of dynamic qualities. He's a faceless brute, so cheerless and witless, that I shivered at the thought that I was supposed to watch a one-hundred minute film with him. If he had some insight, some charisma, or even a shred of intelligence, like, once again, Steve Jobs in Danny Boyle's new film, then he'd be at least a fascinating and layered presence. Instead, he's an empty coward that abuses in the name of "good food" and that's enough to make you lose your appetite.

One of the only merits of the film is the ability to showcase the hustle of a restaurant kitchen that doesn't feel like a reality show or an over-dramatized rendition of Hell's Kitchen. The energy in the kitchen scenes slowly rises like a flame in a pan of vegetables, and the results, especially during the scene when two restaurant critics are presumed to have arrived, work in the film's favor and almost effectively take us out of the emptiness of this entire experience.

Wells directed both The Company Men and August: Osage County, two dramas I hold in high regard because of their conflicted, interesting characters and their biting dialog and social commentary. Burnt is the result of what happens when a film is robbed of all three of those features and leaves us with nothing substantial to chew on other than characters that are either miserable and bitter or void of any of characterization.

Starring: Bradley Cooper, Sienna Miller, and Omar Sy. Directed by: John Wells.
10 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
There are a lot of movies with very unlikable heroes, and heroins, this is one of the good ones!
Hellmant11 November 2015
'BURNT': Four Stars (Out of Five)

Another movie about an amazing chef; this one stars Bradley Cooper, as an arrogant has-been, trying to have a comeback in the cooking world. It was directed by John Wells (who also helmed 2013's outstanding 'AUGUST: OSAGE COUNTY' and 2010's 'THE COMPANY MEN') and it was written by Michael Kalesniko and Steven Knight (who also wrote the 2014 chef flick 'THE HUNDRED-FOOT JOURNEY'). The film also stars Sienna Miller (who also costarred with Cooper in last year's 'AMERICAN SNIPER'), Daniel Brühl, Omar Sy, Matthew Rhys, Sam Keeley, Alicia Vikander, Lily James, Uma Thurman and Emma Thompson. The movie is flawed, but very entertaining!

Cooper plays Adam Jones, a very successful chef, who lost it all; due to drugs, sex and alcohol (of course). After disappearing for three years, he decides to make a comeback; by opening his own restaurant. He's now sober, from drugs and women, and enlists all of his old friends to help him; including several he betrayed. His dream is to dazzle his customers, with tastes they've never experienced before, and gain his third Michelin star!

The cast is amazing, the directing is top-notch and the screenplay is clever and witty! There's not a lot to dislike about this movie, except it's main character; he's just too immoral and unlikable. He does grow, and learn compassion, throughout the film (of course); and Cooper is spectacular in the role. There are a lot of movies with very unlikable heroes, and heroins ('STEVE JOBS' to name one recently), this is one of the good ones; despite what the critics say.

Watch our movie review show 'MOVIE TALK' at: https://youtu.be/wb45jfQumZ0
17 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Kitchen nightmare
Lejink14 February 2016
With cooking the new rock and roll, I suppose it was almost inevitable that Hollywood would get round to giving us a movie like this, with its main character a burn-out superstar chef, previously the talk of the town in Paris, now down and out in London, looking to get back on top. Enter Bradley Cooper, as the handsome but petulant, talented but temperamental "name-above-the-title" chef who is now ready to put his hell-raising past behind him and achieve the elusive third Michelin star to complete his comeback.

Quite how the viewer is meant to be on-side with this boorish, washed-up diva is anyone's guess unless it's down to the pardonable excuse of mad genius. So we get to see him beaten up by debt-collecting heavies from his past, insult his boss - patron and get away with it, throw spectacular tantrums in his kitchen, abusing his terrified staff, break about a million plates in the process and worst of all, he won't let the pretty young single mother chef in his kitchen have the day off to be with her daughter on her birthday, the absolute swine!

As for characterisation and plot development, the clichés just keep on coming. From his gay employer who has a crush on him, to his deadly head-chef rival across town, his old French chef colleague who clearly hasn't forgotten Paris, believing that revenge is a dish served hot and as for that pretty young single mother, whose bed do you think she ends up in?

Of course it all ends up happily for our super-hero man-in-whites but really this ridiculous, empty, patronising movie proved completely indigestible to me and left a sour but thankfully brief after-taste.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
No, Chef
ThomasDrufke29 October 2015
After just reading that David Fincher was originally supposed to helm the project with Keanu Reeves attached to star I became instantly more ticked off at this movie. I have no doubt that proposed film would have been a whole lot more interesting than this mess of a film.

Burnt's biggest issue is it's poor directing and writing. For the first 20 minutes I had pretty much no clue what was going on. Each scene would last a minute or two and each with an entirely new character meeting Bradley Cooper's character. Everything was rushed into a few scenes and chopped together. The editing, which is probably partially the director's fault as well, is horrendous. Food is something we all want to enjoy for as long as possible, but the editing style is exactly the opposite. Each shot is so quick you would think you were watching a Bourne fight.

Perhaps I'm being too harsh on the film. Perhaps I'm in the minority, although Rotten Tomatoes seems to agree with me. It's just that I really didn't find anything to like about this movie. In fact, I was constantly checking my phone through my pocket for the time to see if we were nearing the end. For a film that is merely 100 minutes, that's sad.

The reality is that there's a good film in there somewhere. The performances are fine. But considering the entire cast's history, it's surprising that nobody stood out. I never really bought into Cooper and Miller's chemistry or why they would be together. I was constantly thrown off by character's decisions because there was no development whatsoever. I feel like this film went through a ton of rewrites and there's likely a bunch of deleted or extended scenes. Man I really disliked this film.

-Choppy editing

-No character development

-Too many characters with no real purpose

-Character decisions didn't make sense

3.8/10
24 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Bland, Flavourless & Unsavoury Cuisine!
CinemaClown3 January 2016
An absolutely dry, flavourless & unsavoury meal that exhibits not an ounce of love for culinary arts despite the spectacular looking meals it keeps putting on the screen, Burnt lacks the craft, passion & dedication that goes into creating a great product and is only about an arrogant man's obsession with culinary fame & perfection without ever illustrating his love for what he does.

Burnt tells the story of Adam Jones who was once an up-and-coming chef in a Parisian restaurant before his drug habits screwed his career, following which he disappeared from the scene for few years to sober up, but finally returns to reclaim his lost glory. But plenty has changed in the world of cooking during his absence and to redeem himself, Jones has to either adapt or perish.

Directed by John Wells, the story of Burnt is simple, predictable & boring plus its lead character is uninteresting & unlikable. Written by Steven Knight, it's evident that it is inspired from the works of volatile chefs like Gordon Ramsay & Marco Pierre White but while it infuses their notorious kitchen rants, it fails to include the heart & love those chefs put in every cuisine they bring on the table.

Production design team does a marvellous job in recreating the sumptuous atmosphere of premier restaurants. Cinematography aims for the elegant look of those exquisite dishes but misses out by some fraction. Editing keeps the story on the same level with no excitement or escalation. Music is forgettable. And as far as performances go, the entire cast gives off the feeling that none of them wanted to be in it.

On an overall scale, Burnt fails to make its mark and is a dull, monotonous tale with tiny glimpses of mesmerising moments that don't amount to much in the end. Lacking the necessary prepping plus culinary skills & controlled cooking, it's astonishing how Burnt ends up being a burnt mess despite never switching on the stove at any given time for all it attempts to do is to serve its audience an unappetising, inedible picture that looks elegant only because of its fine garnishing.
21 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A Good movie and worth seeing but nothing amazing and I thought Chef was much better.
cosmo_tiger22 January 2016
"I want people to sit at that table and be sick with longing." Adam Jones (Cooper) is one of the best chefs in the world, but has an attitude that gets him fired from one of the most elite restaurants in the world. Now, looking to once again be on top he moves to London, but once again his attitude is the obstacle that stands in his way. For some reason I have always been a fan of watching people cook. I love the food network and its calming for me to just watch food being made. Even though I am a little tired of Bradley Cooper being in every other movie made I was looking forward to watching this. I will admit that I did like this movie and was entertained by it, but Cooper played a version of Gordon Ramsey and was just a little too unlikable to root for. On the other hand, it was a really good character choice. As for the movie itself, it is worth seeing and I enjoyed it enough, but when compared to other movies like Chef it wasn't as good. Overall, good movie and worth seeing but nothing amazing and I though Chef was much better. I give this a B-.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Delicious
85122217 January 2016
Greetings from Lithuania.

"Burnt" (2015) is another very solid movie in so called "food movies" like "Chef" (2014) - there aren't many of them, both loved them both. They are very different actually. That said "Burnt" isn't just about the creating of food, it is a about a very flawed character, who tries to put together his life back on track as well as receiving a 3rd Michelin star - which would make him a "Yoda" of chefs as one character puts it.

"Burnt" is very well paced, and although it's editing might distract someone (very quick cuts a la Michael Bay style), it fits very well into showing what is happening in the kitchen while you are waiting for your order. It's very nicely acted, especially by Sienna Miller who is becoming one of hardest to recognize people in movies these days - she is always looks and sounds different - she might pick up Oscar nomination one day (not for this movie though).

Overall, "Burnt" is very good movie, and it has lots of action... in the kitchen. If you like these kind of movies, you will probably enjoy this picture as well.
23 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed