7.2/10
19,652
38 user 103 critic

Department Q: The Keeper of Lost Causes (2013)

Kvinden i buret (original title)
Not Rated | | Crime, Mystery, Thriller | 17 June 2016 (USA)
Trailer
1:39 | Trailer

Watch Now

From $3.99 (SD) on Prime Video

Police inspector Carl Mørck is put in charge of a department of cold cases, joined only by his assistant, Assad. They dig into a case about a disappeared woman.

Director:

Mikkel Nørgaard
3 wins & 21 nominations. See more awards »

Videos

Photos

Learn more

More Like This 

Crime | Mystery | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.1/10 X  

The murder of young twins initially implicates a group of upper class students as the killers, though the case takes a turn or two from its starting point.

Director: Mikkel Nørgaard
Stars: Nikolaj Lie Kaas, Fares Fares, Pilou Asbæk
Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7/10 X  

Two intertwined cases linking the past with the present will require the aid of Department Q to catch an elusive serial killer, while time is running out.

Director: Hans Petter Moland
Stars: Nikolaj Lie Kaas, Fares Fares, Pål Sverre Hagen
Journal 64 (2018)
Crime | Mystery | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.7/10 X  

A series of mysterious disappearances in 1987 are all eerily connected to the same person.

Director: Christoffer Boe
Stars: Nikolaj Lie Kaas, Nicolas Bro, Fares Fares
Mystery | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.2/10 X  

Inspector Nick Cafmeyer seems to have it all - looks, brains and a successful career. But a dark cloud hangs over his life: since the age of nine, he has been haunted by the unsolved ... See full summary »

Director: Hans Herbots
Stars: Geert Van Rampelberg, Ina Geerts, Johan van Assche
Mørke (2005)
Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.8/10 X  

The psychological thriller "Murk" tells the story of Jacob, who is investigating into the circumstances surrounding his sister's death on her wedding night.

Director: Jannik Johansen
Stars: Nikolaj Lie Kaas, Nicolas Bro, Laura Drasbæk
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
Nikolaj Lie Kaas ... Carl Mørck
Per Scheel Krüger Per Scheel Krüger ... Anker
Troels Lyby ... Hardy Henningsen
Øyvind B. Fabricius Holm Øyvind B. Fabricius Holm ... Død mand
Søren Pilmark ... Marcus Jacobsen
Divya Das Divya Das ... Nyhedsvært
Anne Bærskog Hauger Anne Bærskog Hauger ... Viggas Rasmussen (voice) (as Anne Hauger)
Fares Fares ... Assad
Sonja Richter ... Merete Lynggaard
Rasmus Botoft ... Tage Baggesen
Patricia Schumann ... Søs Norup
Marie Mondrup Marie Mondrup ... Helle Andersen
Mikkel Boe Følsgaard ... Uffe Lynggaard
Kenneth Carmohn Kenneth Carmohn ... Mand på færge
Michael Brostrup Michael Brostrup ... Børge Bak
Edit

Storyline

Chief detective Carl Mørck and his assistant Assad become involved in a five-year-old case concerning the mystery of politician Merete Lynggaard's disappearance - a journey that takes them deep into the undercurrent of abuse and malice that lurks beneath the polished surface of Scandinavia. Written by Zentropa Productions

Plot Summary | Plot Synopsis

Taglines:

Based on the First Department Q Best Selling Novel See more »


Certificate:

Not Rated | See all certifications »

Parents Guide:

View content advisory »
Edit

Details

Country:

Denmark | Germany | Sweden | Norway

Language:

Danish | Swedish | Arabic

Release Date:

17 June 2016 (USA) See more »

Also Known As:

Department Q: The Keeper of Lost Causes See more »

Edit

Box Office

Budget:

€5,000,000 (estimated)
See more on IMDbPro »

Company Credits

Show more on IMDbPro »

Technical Specs

Runtime:

Color:

Color

Aspect Ratio:

2.35 : 1
See full technical specs »
Edit

Did You Know?

Trivia

Fares Fares, who lives in Sweden, had to learn Danish for the role of Assad. See more »

Goofs

The main villain, Lars, is sent to the orphanage in 1991. Before this he set in the care of foster parents. In the living room these foster parents there is a combination VHS-DVD machine, which did not appear at least 15 years later. See more »

Quotes

Carl Mørck: Do me a favour... if I get murdered... don't investigate my case
Tage Baggesen: Fuck You
See more »

Connections

Features Prop og Berta (2000) See more »

Soundtracks

I Was Not to You
(aka "I Was Not To You What You Were To Me")
Written by Andi Almqvist (as Andi Almquist)
See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
Gripping n decent Scandinavian noir.
26 March 2017 | by Fella_shibbySee all my reviews

I saw this on a rented DVD in 2014. Felt like writing a review before i watch two of its sequels. The plot - After a raid gone wrong that resulted in the death of one of his team and the paralysis of another, a homicide cop Nikolaj Lie Kaas has been kicked to the basement aka Department Q to tie off five years of unresolved cases along with an inexperienced assistant called Faras Faras. They wind up pursuing the case of a high-ranking female politician, a supposed suicide whose body was never found. In short this is Scandinavian Noir. The acting of the two leading detectives is assured and the cinematography is compelling. It is a perfectly adequate crime thriller that will appeal to fans of this genre. The Keeper of Lost Causes is genuinely gripping, even though the direction is fairly standard and the main plot elements are predictable. Fans of The Treatment, Marshland, Memories of murder, Headhunters, Insomnia, True Detectives - S1 will definitely enjoy this.


21 of 21 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you? | Report this
Review this title | See all 38 user reviews »

Contribute to This Page

Stream Trending Movies With Prime Video

Enjoy a night in with these popular movies available to stream now with Prime Video.

Start your free trial



Recently Viewed