Rage (2014) Poster

(2014)

User Reviews

Review this title
158 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
You could do better than this one...
MartinHafer29 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I am not usually the sort of person to watch ultra-violent movies, so you might want to keep this in mind as you read my review of "Rage". However, I am not against these sorts of films and sometimes like them if they are intelligently written and engaging. But in the case of this film, unfortunately, it is neither well written nor engaging.

When the story begins, Paul Maguire (Nicholas Cage) is a very successful and respectable businessman. However, out of the blue, his teenage daughter disappears--and her battered friends tell the police that some masked men kidnapped her. Soon you learn that Paul was, at one time, a really nasty sort of underworld character--and he is not about to sit back and wait for a ransom demand--especially when his hot young wife insists that he do something. So, he assembles a small posse of old 'associates' and together the three of them are going to kick butt and get some answers. Unfortunately, soon the daughter turns up dead...and there really are no leads about what happened to her. This latter part is a serious problem with the movie. There really isn't any sort of credible lead and yet Cage and company go out on a Rambo-like rampage--killing and maiming with reckless abandon. Herein lies another problem- -the violence is so non-stop that there really isn't a whole lot of plot development or intrigue. Plus, the police rarely seem to notice or care that the carnage is occurring. Plus, the three seem indestructible through much of the film!

The cop in charge of investigating the daughter's murder inexplicably seems to care little about ANYTHING that is going on and often his dialog is VERY limp. I actually felt sorry for Danny Glover taking such an unforgiving role. However, he wasn't the only character that didn't always behave or talk consistently or realistically. Top this off with some serious overacting (Cage has clearly done much better work than this and his crying scene is actually unintentionally funny), lots of macho posturing, a police car that explodes for no logical reason (cars do not just explode when they are in traffic accidents...except in films like this) as well as too much slow motion and you have a recipe for a movie that never engages nor does the ultimate solution to the plot feel satisfying. It just feels sloppy and nasty. I could complain more, but frankly I think you get the idea. You could do much better than with this one.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A certain blandness
Leofwine_draca7 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
TOKAREV is a typical crime thriller with a few good ideas and concepts lost amid a listless screenplay and a whole lot of cliches designed to bore the most patient of viewers. Nicolas Cage, in one of his more restrained performances, plays a father and family man whose teenage daughter is kidnapped. It turns out that our protagonist has a prior career as a gangster, so he wages a war on the Russian mob in retaliation. The film features extremely obvious twists and routine action sequences, but the characters are bland and the whole thing rather forgettable.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Take it away
Prismark1019 July 2015
Nicolas Cage is 50 years old but looks odd for his age. His hair looks unnatural, he really needs to take it back to the shop and ask for an exchange.

His post Oscar winning glory days are well behind him when for a few years he had that knack of making blockbuster action films and more offbeat art films that gained critical acclaim. Mired with tax demands he now makes straight to DVD films solely for money to keep the tax authorities satisfied.

In Tokarev, Nicolas Cage plays a reformed gangster who has to go back to his bad old ways and get his former crew together when his daughter gets kidnapped. When she is found dead killed by a Russian pistol they go after some Russian gangsters thinking its retaliation for past events.

Danny Glover (who seriously is too old for this s**t) plays the oldest detective in town trying to stop Cage from having his vengeance.

This is just a low rent version of Taken but Cage lacks the special skills that Neeson had apart from the moral that your past sins will come to haunt you, this is a derisory film.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Imbecile Story, Non-Likable Characters, Dumb Plot Point: Only Rachel Nichols Worth in This Terrible Movie
claudio_carvalho3 January 2015
The regenerated criminal Paul Maguire (Nicolas Cage) is a businessman in the construction business and happily married with Vanessa Maguire (Rachel Nichols). His sixteen year-old daughter Caitlin Maguire (Aubrey Peeples) is his pride and joy. One night, Paul and Vanessa go to a dinner party and leave Caitlin with her friends Mike (Max Fowler) and Evan (Jack Falahee) at home. During the night, his dinner is interrupted by Detective Peter St. John (Danny Glover) that tells that Caitlin had been kidnapped and her friends are wounded. Paul learns that three criminals had invaded his house and abducted his daughter.

Paul meets his friends and former crew, Kane (Max Ryan) and Danny Doherty (Michael McGrady), and they unsuccessfully press the smalltime criminals expecting to have news from Caitlin. Soon she is found dead in a park and they see the result of the ballistics indicating that a Russian Tokarev pistol killed Caitlin. Now Paul is haunted by his past and believes that the Russians are seeking revenge. Paul, Kane and Danny start a war against the Russians but no mobster knows any connection of the Russian Mafia with Caitlin. Who did kill Paul's daughter?

"Tokarev" is a terrible movie with an imbecile story, non-likable characters and dumb plot point. Only Rachel Nichols makes this movie worth. Nicholas Cage is weird, with a black hair that does not fit with his age and has an awful performance. Danny Glover cameo is shameful and does not add anything to this turkey. My vote is three.

Title (Brazil): "Fúria" ("Rage")
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
THE DIE IS CAST
nogodnomasters28 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Pauli (Nicolas Cage) is a former gangster who has gone straight and keeps Grecian Formula 14 in business. His daughter (Aubrey Peeples) goes missing and is later found dead. She was killed by a Russian Tokarev. In an attempt to find the killer the retired Pauli and two friends turn the town upside down, causing havoc to the Russian mafia.

Danny Glover has a small role as the policeman investigating the case. Rachel Nichols plays the part of his young second wife who loves the daughter as her own.

The location appears to be a small city, one where you wouldn't expect such a heavy influence of Russian mafia. There are numerous flashbacks to an event they believe is somehow connected to the present. The film had scenes that worked well, but the overall plot felt uneven, with an ending that made me feel I wasted my time watching the film.

Will have camp value second time through knowing the ending.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Wrong
kosmasp2 August 2014
Ghosts of our past can haunt us even today. Yes we don't need it to be Christmas to understand the concept of that or watch a classic movie about it (not talking about this one obviously). But Cage tries his best (feel free to shake your head about the character) to deliver a story that is so simple, you wonder why nobody figures it out way earlier. I can understand that our main character does not get it immediately (pain and such things can dilute ones mind), but after a while it should not only be apparent, but outright obvious.

It's tough to follow the whole thing through if you have figured out what is going on, so I cannot tell you how it might feel, if you are completely oblivious. Still the movie lacks a couple of things and gets pretty cliché. An extended ending (on the disc) would actually be almost a caricature and sort of funny, if they went the whole nine yards with it - take it even further, if you catch my drift - but as it is, this is below average at best
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The die is cast
Tweekums12 May 2018
Paul Maguire used to be a dangerous criminal but he has been going straight for many years... then one day his daughter is kidnapped. Either those who did it have no idea who they are messing with or his past is coming back to haunt him. Fearing the latter he gets together with a couple of friends from the old days and starts asking questions. Then her body is found with a bullet from a Soviet Tokarev pistol in her head. He had crossed paths with members of the Russian Mafia before but this time he is going to war. The body count rapidly rises but nobody will admit to knowing anything about his daughter's death.

It must be admitted that this film has some obvious flaws; most notably certain details about the weapon which when revealed make one wonder why nobody thought about it earlier... it is impossible to go into too much detail about this as that would spoil the film. There is plenty of action, some of it is fairly brutal, often meted out by the 'good guys'. This action is pretty exciting and should satisfy fans of the genre. Nicolas Cage is pretty solid as Maguire even if he does get a little over the top when he confronts those he feels are responsible for his daughter's death. The rest of the cast were pretty good although I was somewhat surprised to see Danny Glover playing a police officer... wasn't he 'too old for this stuff' back in the 1980s?! Overall I'd say this is fun if you can overlook certain details.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A violent and twisted film about a relentless vengeance , professionally directed by Spanish filmmaker Paco Cabezas
ma-cortes4 February 2019
When the daughter of a reformed criminal (Nicolas Cage happily married to Rachel Nichols ) is abducted , he rounds up his old team (Max Ryan , Michael McGrady) and attempts to solve the kidnap , at the same time he seeks vendetta against the kidnappers . As he and his crew face off criminal bosses and henchmen employing drastic tortures and pains including crude punishment , physical abuse , panic attack and brutal violence . The past never stays dead.

This is a thrilling and bleak film with high doses of suspense , intrigue , plot twists , blood , and violence . This stirring story is compellingly filmed , following a violent and dark style similar to Paco Cabezas' former successful films . And sadly showing quite a few amoral roles , corruption , badness and despicable acts of pure evil carried out by the violent protagonists as well as the ruthless contenders . While the look is suitable sinister and intriguing, the plot spreads to the surprising breaking point , including an unexpected final that turns out to be extremely stirring . There stands out Nicolas Cage giving his usual but acceptable interpretation as a relentless avenger father who broken by pain , rage and impotence attempts to seek the nasty agressors and exact a merciless vendetta by using terrible and cruel tortures . As the reformed ex-delinquent seeks his own brand of justice , as he acts as revenger judge , jury and executioner , Charles Bronson-alike . Nicolas Cage hired filmmaker Paco Cabezas , because being a huge fan of Carne de neón (2010), Paco Cabezas' second movie and the one who caught the attention of Hollywood . Here the veteran Nicolas Cage is well accompanied by a fine support cast , such as : Rachel Nichols as his wife , Max Ryan , Michael McGrady , Peter Stormare , Pasha Lychnikoff and special mention for the forgotten Danny Glover as Det. Peter St. John .

It packs an atmospheric and adequate cinematography by Andrzej Sekula , who has also shot some fims ,being filmed in Mobile, Alabama . As well as a moving and sensitive musical score by Laurent Eyquem . This decent production is a thriller/revenge competently directed by Pablo Cabezas . His first feature length Project was ¨Aparecidos¨ (2007) a terror Spanish/Argentina film . Paco is a good screen-writer such as ¨Bon Appetit¨ (2010) , ¨Spanish movie¨(2009) , ¨Sexy killer¨(2008) and a notorious filmmaker , especially known for Carne Neón (2010), , being subsequently hired by Hollywood/Nicolas Cage , where directed Tokarev (2014) . Furthermore , he is filmmaking ¨Men with No Fear¨ and ¨Mr. Right¨ in post-production . And shooting some episodes of popular series as Penny Dreadful (TV Series) , Fear of walking dead , The strain , Into the badlands , among others .Rating : 6.5/10 . Acceptable and passable . The motion picture will appeal to Nicolas Cage fans and thriller buffs .
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The die has been cast numerous times before...
paul_haakonsen27 June 2016
If you have seen any kind of action thriller within the last twenty years, then chances are that you have already seen a movie with a storyline very similar to that which is presented in "Tokarev". Yep, it is one of those movies where the director played it safe and put all money on a formula that has been used countless times and bled dried many times over.

The story told in "Tokarev" is about former criminal Paul Maguire (played by Nicolas Cage) who is now turned legit. But when his beloved daughter is kidnapped, then all bets are off and Paul turn to his former associates in order to track down whomever responsible. And Paul Maguire knows only one kind of justice; vigilante justice.

Right, well this was essentially the movie summarized. And yes, the movie is that generic and mundane. It follows a very strict blueprint and doesn't deviate one inch. There was only a single attempt at throwing the audience a surprise, but it didn't work out that well, because if you have any sense of foresight, then you will see it coming a mile away.

And I must admit that I sat down to watch "Tokarev" with no expectations at all. After all, this is a Nicolas Cage movie, and the synopsis of the story sounded unoriginal and very generic. Which it also turned out to be.

The acting in "Tokarev" was as to be expected from a movie such as this. So don't get your hopes up here, and don't expect a Shakespearian experience in any way. You know what you get with Nicolas Cage, and this 2014 movie is no exception.

I am rating "Tokarev" a mere three out of ten stars, because director Paco Cabezas went in a direction that countless other directors in the action thriller genre has ventured down before him. And the director offers no mental challenges to the audience of this movie. Just simply switch to autopilot if you plan to sit down and watch "Tokarev".
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Just like waking and walking into a nightmare.
michaelRokeefe7 March 2015
Warning: Spoilers
When Nicolas Cage wants to play mean...he can play mean! Paul Maguire(Cage)is a well respected businessman, owning a construction company and with no second thoughts about his generosity to local charities. Family man with a beautiful wife Vanessa(Rachel Nichols)and popular daughter Caitlin(Aubrey Peeples). Peel back enough layers and you find a man with a very violent past. During a fancy dinner out, Paul is informed that his daughter had been kidnapped and a couple of her friends left beaten. Maguire wants info on who would have done this. He reaches out to a couple of his old crew to find her, by any means necessary. When Caitlin's body is found, Paul goes ballistic trying to find who is responsible. Just how many faces can you re-arrange? How many knees can you put bullets in to find information? Far from boring, and definitely brutal. Not just rage, but rage in overdrive. And it appears that Cage is paying homage to his idol, Elvis Presley, because his hair has obviously been died blacker than black on black.

Maguire's two thugs are played by Michael McGrady and Max Ryan. Also in the cast: Danny Glover, Pasha D. Lychnikoff, Patrice Cols, Michael Papajohn and Max Fowler.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Ooh look, it's another revenge thriller.
hitchcockthelegend27 August 2016
Nicolas Cage stars as a reformed mobster who is forced to go back to his violent ways when his daughter is kidnapped by baddies.

It is what it is really, a Nic Cage starrer that does exactly what the plot synopsis suggests. Does it bring anything new to the revenge formula of genre film making? Absolutely not. But on reflection there are very few that have improved upon originals from as far back as Fritz Lang's Fury in 1936. Sure there is more blood now, more gruesome deaths to put bums on theatre seats, but the majority of them remain soulless, existing only for the point of existing. The market is there for those who either enjoy such genre splatters, or for those who like me just merely wanted a brainless pic to pass the time away with - which of course means leaving said brain at the door.

It's all very preposterous, even insulting at times, but this is actually no worse than some of the more praised revenge thrillers of recent times - but that just makes the point that ultimately the bar hasn't been set high for a considerable time now. So wake up film makers! Give us something new! 5/10
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Amateur rage from Cage
CinemaSerf6 May 2020
This is really just a way too convoluted tale about a reformed criminal (Cage) who goes out to dinner one night with his wife leaving his teenage daughter with friends at home. Whilst out, he is advised by the police that there has been a break in at his home and that daughter "Caitlin" has been kidnapped. Soon afterwards, she is discovered dead and he believes that this is the work of the Russian mafia with whom he and his two friends (Max Ryan & Michael McGrady) engage in some fairly brutal revenge antics. There are a couple of really distracting sub-plots which do rob the overall film of pace, and Cage is not at all convincing when the rather over-the-top violence kicks in. Danny Glover shows up now and again, but to no real purpose and the rest of the cast add nothing accept as fodder for the beatings. Maybe would have been a better proposition for Jason Statham?
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The Futility of Crime
zardoz-1319 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Paco Cabezas' crime thriller "Rage" depicts the futility of violence. The irony at the heart of this gritty, unsavory yarn is that violence doomed the life of a young, 17-year old girl. Cage is cast as Paul Maguire, a gangster-turned-legit-businessman, in Mobile, Alabama. He has been walking the straight and narrow since he gave up his life of crime. Maguire's first wife died from breast cancer, and he has married a younger woman. Maguire dotes on his only daughter, Caitlin (Aubrey Peeples), and he surprised and saddened to learn that she has been kidnapped. Mobile Police Detective Peter St. John (Danny Glover of "Lethal Weapon") advises Maguire to stay out of the matter and let the police handle the investigation. Maguire listens to a similar lecture from his former mob boss, Francis O'Connell (Peter Stormare of "The Big Lebowski"), to steer clear of the investigation. Maguire's grieving wife, Vanessa (Rachel Nichols of "Charlie Wilson's War"), urges him to do whatever he must to get Caitlin back. Imagine Maguire's grief when he learns that Caitlin's body has been discovered in a drain by a jogger! The autopsy indicates that a Russian-made automatic pistol, a Tokarev, was used to snuff out Caitlin. Meanwhile, the only witnesses to Caitlin's kidnapping were two teenagers who were spending the evening with her at Maquire's residence. Once Maguire learns about the murder weapon, he believes that the Russian mob killed his daughter. Maguire and two of his old buddies arm themselves and go after the Russians with blood in their eyes. There is a last-minute surprise for both Maguire and the Russians that will stun audiences. Indeed, this surprise comes out of nowhere. "Rage" ties this surprise to the theme of the futility of violence. Nicolas Cage doesn't play a nice guy in this melodrama. At one point, he wields a knife on an adversary and uses it to pin the man's left hand to his back. Furthermore, our protagonist has no qualms about killing. The violence is bleak, sudden, and grueling. Nobody, least of all the protagonist, gets off easy in this splendidly lensed underworld epic. Clocking in at 98 minutes, "Rage" doesn't wear out its welcome, but audiences may not care for the ending.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not Cage's worst, but...
Wizard-829 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Dear Nicolas Cage: I know that you have managed to build a considerable tax debt, and for the past few years you have been working steadily in quick cash grabs that only get token theatrical releases before being released to DVD in order to pay your debt. But surely, even under these circumstances, you could find better projects than this one! Now, I will say that for a low budget production it has some okay production values. And the script has a twist near the end that I admit that I didn't see coming. However, the script up to that point is for the most part a big bore. There simply isn't that much story here, and scene after scene goes by with little to nothing of significance happening. The action - the few times there *is* action - comes across as flat and not the least bit exciting. As for your personal efforts on this project, I think that your performance was almost entirely without enthusiasm or passion. I don't know if it was because your character was written to be largely unlikable, but you seemed downright bored and uninterested at times. Nick, you have talent, but your career for the last few years has been tarnished by bad quickie efforts like this. Please look a little harder for worthy projects, especially those that might fill you with passion. Sincerely, Wizard-8
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst Nicholas Cage movie - don't watch it
phd_travel7 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Even if you are a Nicholas Cage fan and think there is something redeemable in all his movies, you will be sorely disappointed here. The story is pointless irritating ugly and a complete waste of time.

Tempting you with a Taken like scenario a father goes after his daughters abductors. Having her die just ruins the rest of the story. And the ending makes the whole thing a waste of time. What unsympathetic characters going after the wrong people. All the violence for nothing. There is no entertainment value in violence like that.

Rachel Nichols is wasted here. Please Nicholas Cage don't do movies like this anymore even to pay those huge bills!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The Rage in Cage.....
FlashCallahan22 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Within fifteen minutes of the film being on, you will instantly think that you are watching another Taken clone. Man with a shady past has now gone straight, doing alright for himself, and has a daughter who looks up to him (and a wife who looks like Bridget Fonda circa 1993).

The daughter gets kidnapped, so Cage enlists the help of two old buddies, who have a connection with Cages past....

This didn't bode well for me, as I am a huge Cage fan, and the last time he made a Taken clone was Stolen, which was his career low, and a blooming awful movie.

But then something happens in the film that you wouldn't expect from a standard movie in this sub-genre, and turns the film on its head.

Saying that there is nothing new on offer here is an understatement, it ticks the cliché book in all the perfunctory places, people get tortured, people get double crossed, there is a cop on Cages side, you know the drill.

But Cage puts in a very good performance, and doesn't just phone it in, as you'd expect from a movie like this, I guess Joe taught him a few lessons.

He's restraint for the majority of the movie, but if you are looking for the mad eyed Cage we all know and love from Wild At Heart, and Deadfall, you get a glimpse of him here.

Its a film that isn't going to win him any new fans, people who mock his hat instead of his performances will balk at this, but if you always look forward to seeing the actors next movie, you'll enjoy it.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Cage isn't good, Glover is just awful...
deloudelouvain11 May 2015
I saw this movie while sitting on a plane from Madrid to Miami. It's for sure not the best place to watch a movie but when you have nothing else to do it's just the best solution to kill time. I thought this movie was bad. And it wasn't because I was sitting uncomfortable nor because of the crappy sound in my earphones. Nicolas Cage made for sure better movies then this one. It's all gone downhill for him with this movie. And what to say about Danny Glover? I still don't get what he did in this movie. And the little he did was just extremely awful. The story itself is so cliché it's painful to watch. But like I said, I was on an airplane and had to kill time. Would I watch it again? Certainly not!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great idea for a movie. Violentus interruptus.
siderite1 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I had just seen 3 Days to Kill and I said I would just watch another action film. I have expected something like it, or like Taken or some other typical revenge emotional catharsis thing. Tokarev is not that, though. It is filled with action, but the moral of the story is completely different, it is about actions having consequences, real ones, for everything that is done.

I understand why some reviewers didn't like it. They had expected something else and, filled with anticipation of the righteous release of anger and violence, were let down by the ending. Like having to stop right before sexual release. But that is the value and power of the film. Do watch it. It is deeper than one might think.
16 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Decent Enough Mystery With A Nice Twist At The End
sddavis6310 October 2014
One thing this movie does well is point out the potentially tragic costs of revenge. Paul Maguire is a former gangster who has reformed and become a leader in his city's business community. Then one night, his daughter is kidnapped and later found shot to death. The movie is a bit of a whodunit, with Maguire and some of his former henchmen seeking out the killer, with all signs pointing to the Russian mafia.

Maguire was played by Nicolas Cage. Cage is an unpredictable actor. He's done some very good work, and he's done some very bad work. This was a middling kind of performance. He wasn't bad, but I also found it hard to take him seriously as a former notorious gangster.

The mystery of who killed Caitlin was pretty good, and included a twist at the end that I for one didn't see coming. What was sometimes lacking was a consistency or flow to the story, and it was excessively violent and bloody, often for no apparent purpose other than being violent and bloody.

Still, it held my interest, and the twist as the identity of Caitlyn's killer was revealed was a good one. This really isn't as bad as some reviewers make it out to be. (6/10)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
This stinker belongs straight to video and straight to forgotten
Robert_duder16 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Nicholas Cage used to be a Hollywood heavyweight and I thought he still had some of that clout but it seems like lately he has been churning out a few straight to video movies although they also have significant budgets. Also most of them are pretty entertaining too if you like Nicholas Cage. They are mindless, silly action thrillers but I thought Rage would at least be entertaining. Another IMDb reviewer said it best...why did they bother? Rage is ferociously predictable, carbon copied from far better thrillers like Taken or Death Wish and the plot is a complete and utter mess. It starts out okay and you realize very quickly that you've seen this all before but if you're like me you're still willing to be entertained and go for the ride but then the film takes you on this completely non-sensical ride through plot points that have nothing to do with the film and a completely unintelligent attempt at "shocking" the audience with a "twist" that makes no sense and is laughable at best. At every turn they try to shock with you with violence or a stupid plot twist and some of the violent scenes are almost shocking but everything else about it is so slapped together that nothing impresses you.

Nicholas Cage is infamous for being campy. Even his "good" films, he is still Nicholas Cage being Nicholas Cage. His infamous charisma that makes fans love him is absent in this. He's bizarre, annoying and the character is simply awful. He isn't a hero or even an anti-hero and the entire background of this character is so painfully overdone in Hollywood that you will find yourself rolling your eyes more than watching the action. Making sure we fully understand the ridiculousness of this film they give Cage a 30 year old wife that doesn't suit him at all. Rachel Nichols spends most of the film looking afraid of him and they're sexual encounters are completely and utterly awkward. And yet we are supposed to believe they are madly in love. She's terrible but the script is bad so its only partially her fault. The supporting cast have a lot of talent between them but again this script is so bad that they are all reduced to nothing. Danny Glover looks almost lost and that's convenient because his character is atrocious. Peter Stormare, Pasha D. Lychnikoff, Patrice Cols, Aubrey Peeples, Jack Falahee and Max Ryan all do their best but the script gives them nothing. Stormare and Lychnikoff could be great villains but then they also do their share of B-Movies and this was definitely B. Perhaps the one exception was that of Michael McGrady who I thought had the only supporting role that was almost redeemable.

I feel like Rage was made in hopes of strictly appealing to Cage fans but they don't even manage to do that. Director Paco Cabezas was plucked from obscurity to do this gem and both writers of the film have nothing but B-Movie credits to their names. If I had done some investigating before going into this I wouldn't have even bothered. It has so many strikes against that its actually a miracle I made it to the end. However, all of that being said I am giving it a few points. The beginning of the film is seemingly entertaining, some of the violent torture scenes made me cringe, and there was a fleeting moment where I thought everything was coming together. In the end Rage's biggest drawback is that everything that happens in the middle of the film is literally utterly pointless. It has nothing to do with the overall plot and the ending is simply stupid. This is easily one of Cage's worst films and that is really saying something. Skip this even if you are a huge Cage fan. 3/10
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
'Taken' it is not
bowmanblue14 November 2014
If you know your recent action movies then you'll probably have seen Liam Neeson in 'Taken' he's a former killer of one description or another and his daughter gets kidnapped, so he must utilise his skills and avenge her. I guess Nicholas Cage' films haven't exactly been setting the Box Office alight lately (anyone remember the remake of 'The Wicker Man' and that one when he and Ron Perlman were in medieval times? No? You're not the only one!) so he must have figured that, being an 'elder statesman' of the action genre, he could try his hand at a bit of parental retribution.

The trouble is... the 'avenge your daughter' story has already been done by Liam Neeson (very well!) therefore when another film comes along that is basically the same, it just gives off the feeling that we've seen it all before.

Whereas Liam Neeson was CIA, Nicholas Cage was a former gangster. Now, after he's 'gone straight' someone kidnaps his daughter and he has to take matters into his own hands to find out the perpetrators etc. If you're a huge fan of Cage then you'll probably get more out of this than most. However, even from a die-hard fan's perspective, this is hardly his 'finest hour.' He's simply going through the motions. Danny Glover is also in it, but he's basically a side-plot to the main story and his character could probably have been written out of the story completely, as he doesn't really have much to work with and therefore doesn't add much to the overall story.

Expect punch-ups, car chases and shoot outs – pretty much what you'd expect from any other 'straight-to-DVD' action flick. It's okay, but nothing that memorable.

The best part comes near the end. I won't spoil it for you, but I actually enjoyed the final 'reveal' – if you watch the film you'll understand what I mean. However, a nice ending doesn't really mask the fact that 'Tokarev' is mediocre at best.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Lets start with the good news..
A_Different_Drummer1 February 2015
Which is that Cage, a unique actor who rocket-launched to fame in Peggy Sue Got Married (great movie!) is in his 50s and is still in great shape.

He has the potential to do more hit movies.

This is not one of them.

One of the reasons I endured this film (you don't "watch" this film, you "edure" it) is because, although the viewer in me wanted to do something more important (like the laundry) the reviewer in me kept trying to answer the question, "What were they thinking?" I mean, technically the movie not bad, sometime spent more than the price of a Prius on this. So the question is, why? After a lot of thought, it appears to me that young Director Paco Cabezas may possibly been influenced in his childhood by B-level British gangster films, which is the closest analog I can find to this film.

SO, for reasons which shall forever remain a mystery, he decided to do one in America, with American sensibilities, including the mandatory car chase, and starring an American, Nick Cage.

(No mystery why Cage is here, they paid him.) In fairness, Cage does not give a bad performance. It is simply that, based on the script alone, this project should never have been greenlighted.

Aside from dialog that sounds like it was written by a fifth grader, the story offers absolutely nothing in the way of connection or entertainment. In fact, it should come with a warning than anyone already suffering from even mild Depression can only see it with a note from his doctor.

Ugh.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Generic but had a few twists to keep it interesting enough to keep you watching. Cage fans will probably enjoy this more then me.
cosmo_tiger17 July 2014
"No child should have to pay for their father's sins." Paul Maguire (Cage) lived a life of crime and violence but has since reformed and is straight. He is doing everything he can to make a life free of violence and his past and just raise his daughter the right way. One night when he is out he is told that there was a break-in in his house and his daughter was taken. The police begin to investigate but to Paul they aren't doing enough, so he takes it upon himself to find who did this and make them pay. It's no surprise by now that you know how I feel about Nicolas Cage. I do have to say though that this is one of the better ones he has come out with lately (for me at least). I'm not exactly sure why I think this was a good one because the movie was a little generic and the idea has been redone a million times. There are some twists in this to make it seem fresh and they do work but again this is nothing all that original. It could be because of my dislike for Cage and my very low expectations for this but it was better then I expected it to be. The fact that it's so overdone makes it hard to review but I will say that if you are a fan of Nicolas Cage you will probably enjoy this more then me. Overall, generic but had a few twists to keep it interesting enough to keep you watching. I give this a B-.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Starkly Dense Dark Crime Thriller
tabuno16 January 2019
27 September 2014. This almost anti-establishment, anti-mainstream crime thriller seems to defy the traditional script set up. For much of the movie, it avoids a fast pace, quick editing, simple stereotypical good-bad guy set up. The plot unfolds in an unpredictable way, characters are not who they are usually portrayed to be, people die the audience doesn't usually expect. This is no hero-worship show.

There is definitely a deliberate cerebral quality underlying the theme of this movie. The movie sets up with an overly typical, average family of upper middle class, but without the flair and extravagance often portrayed in the movies. This realism layout is almost too boring and unbelievable because of its believability reflecting real life. Unlike A History of Violence (2005), the focus of the story is on the mystery, not the idiosyncrasy of the characters and it is in the plainness that the major twist in the movie comes at the end. There is a tangible echo of the serious tone of The Cooler (2003).

Except of a confusing inclusion of a motorcycle chase scene, the movie offers up a slow, thoughtful, sometimes raw and graphic brutality as well as the wrenching of human emotional struggle and suffering. Depending on what one expects from this movie, it is probably best not to have any except that this movie is about past deeds, about love, betrayal, about awful physical violence, about making assumptions. In the end, this is an experiential movie that offers up a mood, an experience, that perhaps for most of us, we are lucky to not have been given the knife.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Uhmm, no...
paulclaassen3 October 2019
The last good movie Nicolas Cage made, was 'Knowing' in 2009 (although 'Season of the Witch' in 2011 also wasn't too bad). I enjoy Cage, though, and like to give him the benefit of the doubt, hence decided to watch 'Tokarev' despite negative reviews.

I hate to say, I agree with the reviews. The film doesn't start off too bad and got my attention. As the film progressed, though, it became rather weird - as did Cage's acting (which seems to the the norm as of late). There are way too many credibility issues here. I completely understand Paul Maguire (Cage)'s character development - from a 'clean', ordinary guy, to a man filled with vengeance and hate. I enjoyed that aspect of the film.

The film then dishes up more back stories than it can handle and starts falling apart, until it completely crashes with the twist ending, which rendered most of the movie (if not the entire film) pointless...
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed