All I Need (2016) Poster

(2016)

User Reviews

Review this title
23 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
If you like movies where the victims are dumb as hell, this is the movie for you
yonas5487 February 2017
I wont go into detail of the movie but we all know some of the movies where you sit and yell at your screen.

"Get f*** moving idiot, the killer is right behind you!"

Well if you enjoy stuff like that, this movie will be right up your ally, not only is this movie insanely boring at most times, it might also feature some of the dumbest characters and some of the most outrageous stupid logic I have ever seen in a movie...

You might as well go watch Sharknado. The creator might not believe this himself, but this movie is just as unbelievable and illogical as a tornado full of sharks attacking people while flying over cities in a tornado...
30 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Got to the point it was boring
l_belcher1 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I've seen a lot of low budget attempts at horror films in my life and sometimes they're a secret gem and sometimes they're just not. This film is definitely in the not category.

The first 5 minutes of the movie showed some potential at least, but then you cut to the random man walking being followed by a weird polish guy and you have no idea what relevance it has to the girls in their miraculously matching underwear in this room.

Even Come the end of this film I wasn't 100% sure what that whole side plot was about, why did the lady want to keep all the girls in a shed in her garden? For youth? I mean, no!

And don't even get me started on how annoying our "hero" was. She whimpered and winged her way through the whole movie to the point I didn't care if she made it. Along with that annoying girl who couldn't find the energy to stand even though the killer was taking a very long time to squeeze his way through the door I've never know a bunch of hostages I was least excited about, did I mention they all had matching underwear? Who wears matching underwear these day?!

Oh and don't even get me started on the way she managed to defeat the masked man! Anticlimactic to the end this movie.
27 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Frustrating, yes. Entertaining, no.
SoylentNoMore8 February 2017
There is only one question I ask myself after watching a movie and that is "Was I entertained?". In the case of this movie I was not.

So, is the movie well made technically? I would say yes. There are some nice shots, interesting camera angles, blah blah blah. Does anyone really care about technical details if the story, acting, plot are all awful?

You don't need me to tell you why I personally disliked this movie. All you need to know is that after sitting through it I felt a sudden urge to try and prevent others from the same poor experience. I sacrificed over 85 minutes of my own life to bring you this review. Please don't let it be in vain.

Please note that my 1 out of 10 vote is based solely on entertainment value and does not consider what I feel to be less vital details such as production values, camera work, sound track, etc. After all, the best prepared turd sandwich in the world is still a turd sandwich.
25 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Needs And Wants
shawnblackman8 February 2017
A few girls wake up in a room dressed only in their undergarments with their hands tied. Someone then comes in looking like one of the killers from the Hostel series, then grabs a girl pulling her out of the room to what sounds like her being cut up. Another side story has a father who can't find work and pay his child support, taking a job from a mysterious man on the phone. The money is good so he continues doing random jobs which start increasing in difficulty. The two tales find a way to fuse together by the end I did like the quality of the picture and the score they used was pretty cool but the rest of the film did irk me. This is one of those films where everybody does the wrong thing and when they finally do something it doesn't make sense. In one scene a girl is crawling through the ducts in the ceiling. The killer is underneath her and jams a pitchfork through the duct and into her leg. She then holds her hand over her mouth so as not to scream. I think the killer is going to see the blood on the pitchfork and maybe even the blood dripping down from the duct but that doesn't happen. She does get pierced again in her shoulder and then she jams her fingers all the way into the wound and covers her mouth again. Yes I would apply pressure but I don't know about sticking my fingers all the way into the wound.

They do have long drawn out scenes which get on your nerves after a bit. I don't think any acting awards are going to be handed out for this one either. I did give it two and a half stars because of the way it ended. It was sorted of twisted and happy at the same time.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A near miss.
Random43919 July 2017
The premise is good: a girl wakes up, tied up in a room full of other girls who have also been kidnapped. She's the only one who's conscious, and a killer is dragging them off to die one by one.

But then the movie tangents into some guy and his problems, and although the two stories ultimately merge together after jumping from one to the other, his entire tale is slow-moving enough to sap the energy out of this film almost entirely.

Meanwhile, our heroine is the kind of person who does some smart things... but who fails to think of so many obvious ways to try to help herself that the bad writing kills any sense that she's actually intelligent.

Also, the film-makers seem to have such a lack of understanding of basic physics (not to mention how ventilation shafts work), that it kills a lot of the suspense that they're trying to build, putting a final nail into the coffin of this movie.

While there are some decent moments, I would not watch this film again, and I'd really like to have back the time that I invested in it. If you're bored, and not looking for anything really good, give this one a go... but only if there's nothing else on.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Terrible – Does not Worth to Waste Time Watching
claudio_carvalho19 February 2017
I group of tied and gagged half-naked young women are locked in a room. One of them tries desperately to escape, while the others are brutally murdered by a killer. Meanwhile the loser Andrew (Markus Taylor), who expects to give a better life to his teenage daughter, is hired by the wealthy Elizabeth (Holly Twyford) to perform a weird assignment.

"All I Need" is a terrible film – one of those that does not worth to waste time watching. There is no story, only stupidities. I would be afraid of a viewer that writes that liked this film, unless the review is fake to promote this garbage. My vote is three.

Title (Brazil): Not available
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Wake In Fear
a_baron14 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This had the makings of a good film but it misses in so many ways. It has a slightly unusual format being two stories that are supposed to overlap but never quite do, at least not until after it ends, and then only maybe.

Strand one is a typical horror motif: attractive young girls kidnapped and murdered at leisure; most red-blooded males can think of better things to do with them, but the anonymous character who is doing this, is only a servant. Then there is Andrew, he is recruited by a voice on the phone to simply deliver innocuous packages for premium rates. When his mysterious benefactor decides he can be trusted, he is invited to meet the boss, who happens to be a woman. And if he is up for it, Andrew's remuneration is about to go through the roof.

Meanwhile, the dude who has kidnapped the attractive young women is killing them one by one purposefully, until one damsel gets the better of him, and he is toast. Next we switch back to Andrew, and all you need to know is he is a replacement for the deceased bad guy, and that the woman who wants to shower him with riches in return for his services is named Elizabeth, at least that is her Anglicised name.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It has it's charms
aruiz-938-4511802 December 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Some people will like this and others won't. But, if you like seeing a lot of attractive women hardly dressed and barefoot, this is it. The director quite clearly shows a lot of close up barefoot shots, as some directors do at times. For some, they will enjoy every minute of this movie, all the actresses are gorgeous and very "girl next door". The story is also quite intriguing as it keeps you trying to figure out what is going on and how such beauty could have possibly ended iup in that room. These beauties are unreachable women for the majority of men and that in itself makes you wonder how they could have ended in that position. Worth the watch and enjoy the beauty.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Mercilessly slow
savannahlynnhill30 March 2018
The actresses were conventionally attractive and wearing very little. The violence felt a little like Hostel I suppose, which I enjoyed. It is a stylish movie at times, which I also liked. From the opening (more than 45 seconds of black screen) and on, the whole movie could be condensed into a few minutes, but every movement is drawn out for several actual minutes. However, the main protagonist male character's scenes are set at an almost normal pace and are halfway entertaining because his story is mysterious. He's been given a back story (father who wants to see his daughter, but is having a hard time making child support payments), he's a normal person with human responses to strange things happening to him. He even reads a book at one point. Whenever the movie returns to the female character, the movie comes to a grinding halt and slows down to a snail's pace because her reactions and motions aren't realistic in any way (unless she has brain damage). Poor writing for the females, it's clear they're just included for the eye candy. Though the plot description makes it seem as if the main male and main female characters meet right away, they don't actually connect. Completely misleading, and I wouldn't have watched it if I'd known that from the start.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Totally worth it
ajith-v-m19 December 2016
I had two minds to watch this movie. Thought it might be some low level thriller with shaky camera and stupid sound but I was totally wrong. Don't go much with the story line, just watch it as a thriller and you won't be disappointed. Keep me to the edge of my seat till the very end. Brilliant camera angles, I was twitching and biting my nails at so many scenes. The actors did a great job. I was also impressed with the dialogues, kept me curious. You won't hear any unnecessary loud sounds to make the effects fake but you will certainly have a heart pounding experience just by the camera angles and the action.

This is not a movie for gore lovers or extreme SAW action but more like a 'Hush' thriller with some torture elements. I give it a 8/10 and would recommend this movie to everyone.
15 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Much better than expected.
sssnaky-856-78286110 February 2017
To be honest, I did not expect much from this movie. It does have its flaws but for the most part is pretty great.

The story is very simple but has you guessing from start to finish. Even if you think you have it figured out you are still expecting to be wrong at the end. But the story is not that important. The point of the movie is to put you on edge and on that it really does. If you want gore than this is not the movie for you but if you want suspense and anguish than this is it. The horror is not in the monster/slasher/alien/etc but in the situation.

The acting was great on the main girl but the rest of the cast leaves a little to be desire. Not bad but a little bit off. The camera work was good with a few shot that were so great.

In conclusion, I would say that this is well worth the watch and 1h20ish min was perfect for this movie.

Enjoy
7 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Director Made Best of a Bad Situation...
stsinger13 December 2020
"All I Need" is a slightly schizophrenic film. It seems to have two conflicting threads, but that turns out to be due to a behind the scenes issue.

The main part of the film concerns Chloe, played by Caitlin Stasey. She wakes up bound and gagged in a house with a group of other girls. They are apparently being held there by some weird costumed guy who is killing them. Most of the film concerns Chloe desperately trying to escape and not fall victim to this creep.

The other thread involves an unemployed shlep, Andrew, played by Markus Taylor. Andrew has serious financial issues and begins to get offers for some sort of job. We assume that eventually, these two threads will meet. But do they, and how...

Well, the answer is "sort of" and "not very well." But from the DVD, we learn that the film encountered a real issue. The first 2/3 of the film was Chloe in the house, and then the rest of the film would follow her story. But when they filmed, they took a Christmas break, and Stasey booked a role in the CW's "The Crown" and never came back to finish the film. So the director was stuck with a little less than 2/3 of a movie that seemed to stop in the middle of things and no way to film an ending because the lead actress had left.

So they thought fast and added the unrelated thread to try to get to where they would have gotten to. Because of that, I am giving it a higher rating than I normally would have; because the issues with the film are due to necessity rather than a director thinking, "This is what I wanted to do."
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
stupid, boring and pointless.
Im-SoRRy-ITS-TakEN27 September 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Summary about sums it up. very slow movie and the girls a very unintelligent, guy comes in grabs a girl while a girl hides, she does absolutely nothing till near the end she tries to escape through a vent, trying to help a girl up with her as the killer cant open a door with a long dresser against the door, the ones usually with a mirror.

the girl then gives up on helping the girl and goes down the vent abit, peeks out and see the killer is still struggling with the door, only to go back and try to help her again, in which as soon as shes about pulled up gets dragged right back down and killed.

then a bent pitchfork (looks like) somehow went through the vent with ease every jab, injuring the girls foot and shoulder as shes trying to kick the other side of the vent out. she then uses her finger to poor blood out of her shoulder wound into the holes created,(kinda smart idea but) not that she already had blood coming out of her, pitchfork went right through her foot, plus her shoulder should have bleed enough.

so instead of poking his head up the shaft and checking if the girl is dead like he should have done, he spots the blood and immediately assumes its over. after he leaves the room the girl goes back down and bandages herself. in the shaft she could hardly crawl, but she walked pretty fine.....

then the ending, i already gave it a 1 at this point but the ending makes me want to minus points. she set up a noose connected to the bed-frame and a trip rope made of cloth gags so when the killer runs up to her, he trips and somehow falls into the noose. now keep in mind this noose isn't connected to the ceiling, no a bed on ground level.

so here he is, thick leather mask that cover his neck, being held by cloth tied together.... as he tries to move forward he keeps getting choked and when the bed starts coming off the ground, misses decides to lift two or three girls onto the bed, despite her injuries to even out the weight. however when the killer hit the trap he dropped his sickle and it fell in front of him next to the girl, so again not a smart, logical or believable move moving those girls onto the bed,

all the killer had to do was take the rope from around his neck, stepped backwards, or the rope would have ripped or came apart.... etc... it took him a good ten mins to actually die, that may have been realistic if he didn't have a leather mask blocking his neck against some cloth...

it was pretty obvious who the killer was, and i actually liked his normal scenes more than the whole movie, which i guess isn't a compliment so ya....
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Stupidly SLOW
Egyspirit2 September 2020
Its not even worth writing about, just slow and stupid and pointless
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Really unimpressive
Corky070530 April 2020
Warning: Spoilers
I actually had some sort of expectation going in this and didn't even meet that. Best part of the movie was Caitlin Stasey. I enjoyed her in " All Cheerleaders Die" and "Tommorow when the war began", but I feel she was doomed from the start of this movie by the lack of storyline and overall terrible writing. The cringe worthy pauses make u wonder what the heck they were thinking. You get so frustrated by the pauses, dumb decisions and lack of good decisions by the characters that I caught my self wanting to yell at the screen. Like come on already do something. Why does it take 7 min to figure out what's what and react. Also what did she whisper in the girls ear for 3 min? Never ends up explaining that but yet it legit drew out that scene just to point it out! Just leaves you with more questions then answers. There is super potential here as far as the movie goes, yet fails to deliver. I found myself bored after a while. The two storylines never end up fully coming together and leave you confused and unsatisfied. I was hoping Caitlin Stasey ended up being the guys daughter in like a twist at the end but nope. Just ends. It wasn't the worst movie I've ever seen but it what's good by any means either.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Low-budget Thriller High on Suspense
Taut. Suspenseful. Fun. Well shot. I dig low-budget thrillers, and this one came with a shovel. A few scenes reminded me of Blood Simple in terms of suspense and gimmickry, which is high praise. Is it a perfect film? No. Does it make me anxious to see what this filmmaker does next? Absolutely!
6 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Literally a half finished movie
claysam27 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
95% of this movie is extended sequences of characters gazing drearily into the distance with no dialogue. And just when you think an actual story is finally about to be put together, the movie ends... I literally paused my Roku just to make sure I was really at the end of the movie. Also, dont expect the side character they set up to actually have any sort of backstory or exposition. He won't be relevant to the story, at all.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
You've seen this one before
Leofwine_draca31 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
WAKE IN FEAR is another low-budget horror feature that revolves around young nubile women being captured and chained up by a pervert. There's literally no more plot to the film than that; the entire running time consists of one of the girls attempting to escape from her captor to limited effect. This is a slow, drawn-out and repetitive movie that resorts to padding with an extensive and mundane sub-plot involving the maniac's daily life which really needed excising. I do like Caitlin Stasey and remember her from her NEIGHBOURS days; she's not bad as the lead but the rest of the film is fairly pitiful.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A young woman wakes up bound and gagged in a mysterious bedroom among other unconscious females and must find a way to escape her captor.
christiechaplin25 February 2017
This is one of my favorite horror movies! Caitlin Stasey gives an incredible performance as the strong female lead. This film separates itself from most horror movies because it does not need to rely on jump scares to be frightening. The extended scenes keeps us on our toes and draws us in more so than the average film. I highly recommend to anyone who loves thrill and suspense!
5 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Can I trust you?
nogodnomasters5 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The film runs with a plot and subplot. Young women scantily clad are tied up in a room. The film focuses on one of the victims (Caitlin Stasey) in her effort to get free. The subplot concerns Andrew (Markus Taylor) divorced and behind on his child support. The two subplots come together near the end as this turns out to be a plot not too unfamiliar.

The director did a heck of a job to take a 40 minute film and turn it into 85 minutes. The opening scene of emerging from darkness, the disoriented angle in order to give us the feeling of the victim was subtle and effective. Likewise we see Andrew through the back of a chair, making him look imprisoned in his life. I must say Dylan K. Narang's direction was spot on in framing a scene. The door scene was ridiculously long. We knew where Andrew was going to end up. The reasoning was a bit different, combing two different horror genres, both that had been done before.

Guide: No sex or nudity. No swearing as I recall.
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Boring
ohbebe-658449 April 2019
Another movie that had two different plots and did they have really come together? No. It was confusing. Boring. Could of been a great one but the story was written badly, made little sense and left you asking more questions then entertaining
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Some good moments
vivaveronica-9012413 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I think the movie had some good moments when you were on the edge of your seat waiting to see what was going to happen, but the two separate plot lines were threaded together too sloppily and loosely. I believe the only purpose of the subplot of the down on his luck dad was so that at the end we would see what the girls were there for. If I'm not mistaken, the filmmakers were basing the main plot on the so-called "Blood Countess" Elizabeth Bathory who had young women killed so she could bathe in their blood. She did this in an attempt to reclaim her youthful beauty. That's an interesting, if horrifying story. This movie isn't.

Unfortunately it really didn't translate in a contemporary setting. The end was a let down and even the epiphany was not really that exciting. Instead of AH HAH! I thought....meh.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Tedious, sadly.
stevejeh17 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I really tried to enjoy this film, but frankly it was half an hour padded out. Everything is very competently done, and the score is pretty good, but my god it drags on. It feels like the poor female lead spends half her time laboriously struggling with her injuries, after being thoroughly useless at the beginning of this film. There's a secondary plot line which was really rather ludicrous as well, and the male lead there spends over half his time looking confused. I didn't much care about anyone in this film apart from maybe at certain points the female lead, and the eventual antagonist is thoroughly uninteresting. Would have made an absolutely brilliant episode of the twilight zone or similar, or a short film. A real shame because the idea is a good one. Ah well.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed