Walk with Me (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
11 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Eh
richcpl15 September 2017
I loved the music, especially the solo violin during what looked like a visitor orientation session. If anyone knows the title and composer of the piece, I'd love to know. The movie itself was kind of a letdown. It didn't seem especially illuminating, deep or even meditative. Just some monks and monastery guests going through their routines. Lots of shots of TNH, but he didn't seem to have many moving words of wisdom beyond the regular fare of "the clouds become your tea, so don't mourn your dog."
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Film makers too close to their subject?
notmicro22 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This is being touted sometimes as a documentary, which it absolutely is not. Its mainly just a series of fragmentary and unexplained glimpses of life in Plum Village (located in rural SW France), involving both monastic residents and temporary visitors, plus some scenes of monks and nuns traveling abroad. There isn't much dialog, and virtually no "teaching".

I kind of enjoyed it; but this was possibly ONLY because I've experienced silent Buddhist meditation retreats and thus have some idea of what's going on, and I already know who Thich Nhat Hanh is and what Plum Village is about. Viewers without any basic foreknowledge are going to be totally lost from the get-go.

Thich Nhat Hanh is of course legendary, and in the past I have enjoyed listening to recordings of a few of his Dharma talks which I find rewarding. This presentation does not provide anything remotely like that.

I think that the main thing I came away with was a reconfirmation that I'm not a likely candidate for strict monkhood!
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
yet another aimless documentary
bwyg15 September 2017
Zen Buddhism is a really interesting way to look at the world, and Thich Nhat Hanh is arguably one of its great teachers. But neither comes through in this well meant but pointless film.

The film fails to tell you much of anything. You don't learn who Thich Nhat Hanh is, what he's doing, where he's doing it (beyond somewhere in France), or why he's doing it. There's no history, no context. It's mostly just following a guy around, and I mean that literally, there are minutes on screen of the back of a guy's head as he walks about.

You won't learn much of anything about Zen Buddhism. The five core precepts aren't mentioned, nor the 14 mindfulness teachings. You'll have to look them up because IMDb won't let me post a link here.

You'd think that any film about Thich Nhat Hanh would at least mention what he's known for. If you think that, this film will disappoint you.

And I have to say the camera work played against what little message there was. For example, there were way, way, way too many extreme closeups, which emphasizes the individual and downplays the connections between all things that Thich Nhat Hanh teaches.

Thich Nhat Hanh and the Zen Buddhism he teaches deserve a better film than this.
22 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Nothing exists beyond the present moment
howard.schumann20 May 2018
"When you can hold the pain of the world in your heart without losing sight of the vastness of the Great Eastern Sun, then you will be able to make a proper cup of tea" - Chogyam Trungpa

Chinese Zen master Wumen Huikai said "You do not define the truth, you simply enter into it." That could be a metaphor for Walk with Me, a joyous documentary about Zen Buddhist teacher, writer, and spiritual leader Thich Nhát Hanh who was called "an apostle of peace and nonviolence" by Martin Luther King Jr. who also nominated him for the Nobel Peace Prize. Written and directed by Marc J. Francis and Max Pugh and three years in the making, Walk with Me was filmed at the Plum Village monastery in Southwest France established by Hanh in 1982 after being exiled from his native Vietnam for his campaign of nonviolence protesting the Vietnam War.

The film is not a traditional documentary containing interviews with colleagues or academics offering a historical perspective, but rather an immersive and meditative experience that erases the line between observer and participant. It captures the life of the monastic community as they prepare meals, perform sitting and walking meditation, pray, and participate in chanting and singing. The monks and nuns have surrendered all of their personal possessions, and needless to say, there are no distractions such as cars, smart phones, smart reporters, tourists, or television. Aside from the daily rituals and chores, there is in fact nothing to do, there is only to be.

Employing an unhurried pace that may challenge some viewers, the film invites us to slow down and practice "mindfulness," the central core of Thich Nhát Hanh's teaching which refers to being present to each moment. According to Hanh, nothing exists beyond the present moment. Space and time are concepts of the mind and reminiscing about the past or speculating about the future does not bring us any closer to discovering who we really are. To make sure that no one forgets, a bell rings every fifteen minutes to remind everyone to stay focused on the moment and not perform tasks automatically. So that we know that enlightenment is always a work in progress, a young man standing in a line of monks in silent contemplation, fidgets, yawns, and rubs his head in a way suggesting he would rather be somewhere else.

Though there is little actual teaching in the film, there is a touching sequence where a little girl tells the Zen master that her little dog has died and she wants to know how to stop feeling sad. Thich Nhát Hanh tells her to look at the cloud above her and to see that when it passes, it turns into rain and that nothing ever dies. It just changes form. Providing an illuminating context, British actor Benedict Cumberbatch ("Doctor Strange") narrates portions of Thich Nhát Hanh's journal Fragrant Palm Leaves: Journals 1962-66 with a background of stunning images of the vineyards in the Dordogne Valley as choreographed by Francis and Pugh. The power of the music composed by Germaine Franco and performed by Sister Trai Nghiêm is deeply moving and I cried when a visitor to the monastery is triggered by the overwhelming beauty of the music and breaks down in tears.

Surprisingly, the film shifts gears, moving from the solitude of Plum Village to the honking taxicabs and street preachers of downtown Manhattan as the monks prepare for a talk by Thich Nhát Hanh during a promotional tour. The visit to New York gives some monks the opportunity to visit their families that they only see every couple of years. While in New York, they visit a women's prison where inmates ask questions about how they handle the absence of money and the lack of sexual intimacy in their lives. There is also an unexpected reunion when an old friend recognizes a monk that he knew many years ago in the city in which they grew up.

One of the most inspiring moments is a nun's visit with her elderly father in a nursing home, leading him in prayer and breathing exercises. Although Walk with Me does not probe very deeply beneath the surface, it is nonetheless a fitting tribute to a man revered by millions who is now in his nineties and recovering from a debilitating stroke.

Quaker mystic Thomas Kelly talks about "a whisper, a faint call, a premonition of richer living which we know we are passing by. We have hints," he says, "that there is a way of life vastly richer and deeper than all this hurried existence, a life of unhurried serenity and peace and power." In these days when hope and despair are constant companions, Walk with Me brings us closer to the experience of our true nature, allowing us to access, if only briefly, that unhurried serenity and the inner silence that, in Kelly's phrase, is "the source of all sound."
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A beautiful immersive introduction to mindfulness and Buddhism
jtshiner3 June 2017
This film immerses the viewer into Thich Nhat Hanh's practice of mindfulness and approach to life. It sets a beautiful mood while showing the life at a Buddhist monastery. The viewer experiences Thich Nhat Hanh teaching, children asking difficult questions, monks and nuns playing calming classical music - interrupted by a bell after which everyone pauses to contemplate the present moment.
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
If you are aindfulness practitioner of any kind, Watch this
zinamon25 November 2018
As someone who has been studying buddhism and trying to practice meditation on a regular basis, this film is inspirational. It does not have a typical story line as you may expect from a film; however, there's so much teachings lie beneath every shots, every scene, and every quotes that was selected from The journal. Beautiful.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I feel safe watching it
anhkietqn3 April 2018
She is very sad to be away from a loving dog that can not be seen again, the teacher knows that what she wants most now is to see the dog again, how? He mentioned the clouds, when they gradually stopped growing into rain drops and fell to the ground, those drops of rain, it is the water to make tea, when the tea is again met clouds, though. is in the state of water but actually still the clouds of that time :))
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Mind-blown
saphinagranger20 February 2018
Warning: If your soul is not well-prepared for this journey, don't watch it. There's a lot of tissues involved Yes, I started crying right after the first 5 minutes. Everything. Just so beautiful. So mesmerizing. The light. The sound. The people. My 2 most favorite humans in the world: Thich Nhat Hanh and Benedict Cumberbatch? Well I'm in. Ok, I think I've run out of tissues.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
The subject had so much more to offer
Horst_In_Translation19 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
"Walk with Me" is a 1.5-hour documentary movie from this year, a very new release, and a combined effort by writers and directors Marc J. Francis and Max Pugh. The focus here is on Buddhism, in particular on Thich Nhát Hanh. If I am correct, this one is not a contender at the Oscars this year, which fits the film's anti-mainstream message. But it could be as the film brings British Hollywood heavyweight Benedict Cumberbatch as narrator, even if he is not used too frequently here. I personally am not a fan of his acting at all and as a narrator he did an equally bad job as his take on the subject gives the film a fairly pretentious note at times and the worst moment is probably when there is a pretty beautiful scenery that truly spoke for itself and then B.C. enters in and destroys the moment. This is especially disappointing as the film did not come even close to offering as many beautiful moments as I hoped it would and when there finally is one, they manage to botch it. Anyway, the film loses itself at times in random stories of Buddhists showing us how they meet old friends, family members or what their plans were and how differently they were before they picked the path of Buddhism. And shockingly, these moments were still the better parts the film had to offer. I sure did not expect a film that would be as informative and engaging on a level where I would join immediately, but I did expect more significance than we were offered in here. All in all, I was disappointed, even if it is somewhat honorable the film occasionally also talks about the negative aspects, i.e. the sacrifice. A very mediocre work that is not positively memorable whatsoever and occasionally hits rock-bottom even due to the narration/narrator being so full of it-/himself. I kinda wish I could have seen a German dub. So yes my suggestion here is to skip this one. Go for something else instead. The subject, no matter if you are referring to Thich Nhát Hanh or Buddhism itself, deserves way better than it is depicted in here. Maybe you actually needed to be already a Buddhist yourself to appreciate this one? But than could hardly have been the filmmakers' goal. It was also not as soothing as I hoped it would be. Sorry I can't walk with you this time.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Interesting glimpse of Buddhism, if a bit slow
jamesononline29 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I think I was expecting more from this film than I actually got, which is probably a reflection of why I was drawn to the film, attachment and expectations being the root of suffering and all. :)

Stillness and a very slow development punctuated by a couple memorable nuggets - doggy story (he is not dead - he is just in a new form), you can only enjoy the treasures of the world in the present (the past is gone, the future has not happened), mindful eating - be present with each bite.

I think I personally need to dive more deeply into stillness and contemplation to rate this more highly, but it was an interesting glimpse at what Buddhism really means in practice.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Such a profound film
odthang16 March 2018
I really like this kind of documentary movie which is filmed seemingly close to their real life. The sound and the quotes are beautiful. The film makes me wanting to know more about Buddhism and the meaning of living.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed