Jannat 2 (2012) Poster

(2012)

User Reviews

Review this title
26 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Not A Sequel..
ranjanjktyr8 May 2012
One Thing is For Sure, Mahesh Bhatt Always Hits the Bulls Eye. After Normal Success Of A Mediocre film Like Blood Money, He has filled his accounts with Jannat 2, Taking the name of a Successful Blockbuster of 2008 ,Planting a Good Music and Imran Hashmi. These three factors are enough to make a film successful . But there is more in Jannat 2 , Randeep Hooda's Best Performance till date, like he was born for a role like this. The chemistry between Imran and Esha is faded because of the camaradeie shared between Hooda And Imran.They have created spark in every scene they are together.Just love them . Also supporting cast have played their part well, whether it be Mangal Singh , Dadda or Imran's Friend. Their are also twists here and there and two good chase sequences. Hence to wrap up . Jannat 2 may not have a good romantic story like Jannat.But its a good crime thriller.Good acts by the cast except newcomer Esha Gupta she is dull. Otherwise Movie is worth a Watch..
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pleasantly Surprised.....!!!!!!
koustav_net8 May 2012
Jannat 2....Going by the trailers, did not have much expectations from it barring the songs....but was pleasantly surprised with what unfolded on the screen.... Started on a rather sluggish note, but did not waste much time to come to the point and from there onwards, it was one helluva ride with some really unexpected and sudden twists and some heavy mouthed "seeti maar" dialogues....if the Interval hits u like a thundering bolt, wait for the climax (never seen such a climax in any movie thus far, hence bound get mixed reactions) And after a point, the drama gets so intense, that few of the really nice songs in the post interval portion seems to be a hindrance to the fast-edgy narrative.... Though promoted as an Emraan Hashmi movie, do watch out for Randeep Hooda....TERRIFIC and it is this Hashmi-Hooda chemistry that took the movie to an altogether different level....LOVED their camaraderie....!!!!! The climax-personally I loved such an unconventional and "never seen before" climax, but still it is bound to get mixed response.... Overall, its surely worth a watch, overlooking few of the blemishes....
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
surprisingly entertaining.
thegreatnolanfan7 May 2012
Saw Jannat2 few days back. Actually we were planning to go to Vicky Donor but it was not playing in nearby theaters so i thought we ll go to jannat2. I had not seen trailers and not listened the songs even. I thought it would suck but i just wanted to go to cinema for a break.

Well the film started off well with witty dialogs from two main characters Randeep Hooda and Emraan. Both have performed well and take the movie forward on their shoulders. Vulgarity is slowly finding its place in bollywood. The usage of bad language is interesting in the beginning but becomes unrealistic and forced in latter parts of the movie. The lead actress should have been different. She looks like Angelina Jolie at times. Her acting skills are OK. The part where Emran rises in his position and becomes more rich and successful is shown better in Jannat.

The plot is very very interesting, story, very well scripted with twists( some we can guess, others are mind blowing), dialogs are well written. So the writers of the movie did an excellent job. Coming to direction, Kunal Deshmukh has shown his talent in Jannat and Tum Mile. He has improved and refined himself with Jannat2. This is by far his best effort as a director. Some scenes are very interesting like revealing the twists and the conversation between Randeep Hooda and Manish Choudary(Mangal Singh). There is no dull moment even if there are they don't last long.

The ending part of the movie is very touching. I will not spoil it for you, go check it out for yourself. I had low expectations from the movie maybe that s the reason I liked it a lot. If you want to enjoy the movie go with low expectations. But I would definitely recommend it to everyone. Its not a family entertainer so go watch it with friends and you will enjoy it. Bollywood is changing and making serious films, which is a good sign.

P. S: Music is awesome too you will be singing the song "jannate kahan" on your way home.
20 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good movie.. watch it.. It wont disappoint you.
rjrenju18 May 2012
I watched Jannat 2 on second day in theater. Its a good movie, fast moving, entertaining, and believe me Imran hashmi has matured as a very good actor. I have always been a fan of Imran as he did some fantastic job in Awarapan, Gangster, Jannat etc. And talking about Jannat 2, If you are going to watch an Imran hashmi movie, watch out for Randeep Hooda, I must say that Randeep Hooda rocks in this movie. I think Randeep is the Hero and Imran is doing the supporting role. Jannat 2 is having a good story, Imran performs as a gun dealer who later becomes police's informer. Imran and Randeep became a good pair on screen, and Isha gupta was average, although she looks cute in the movie. Anyways, i liked the movie very much and giving 8/10. Don't think twice, go and watch it.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
An Entertaining, Well-Acted Film!
namashi_116 June 2012
The Second Installment in the Jannat Series of films, 'Jannat 2' is An Entertaining, Well-Acted Film, that deserves a viewing on its true merits. A Fast-Paced, Edgy Crime-Thriller!

'Jannat 2' Synopsis: A smuggler who deals in illegal guns, joins hands with a sincere police offer, in order to demolish the gun smuggling business.

'Jannat 2' is Entertaining, Fast-Paced & Edgy. The Narrative is absorbing in most parts & the twists & turns only act as a bonus. Shagufta Rafique's Screenplay is entertaining & well-written. Kunal Deshmukh's Direction is efficient. Cinematography & Editing are decent. Music by Pritam, is top-notch!

Performance-Wise: Emraan Hashmi is excellent in the lead role. The Talented Actor scores from start to end. Randeep Hooda is terrific in a strong supporting role. Esha Gupta has screen presence & does fairly well. Manish Chaudhary is menacing. Mohammed Zeeshan Ayyub & Brijendra Kala are fantastic in their respective parts.

On the whole, 'Jannat 2' is a winner.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Really good performances and story has a grip through out!
wisegal13 May 2012
To begin with it is quite nice Jannat can become a genre by itself in Bollywood. I really liked way the characters are built up. Movie has a grip through out and you are not bored every time Hooda and Hashmi are on screen together you feel the excitement where is the plot going to move next. Sure enough the story might be a lift from another movie but the dynamics between the characters is handled very adeptly and makes for a pleasant viewing. Am not a Hashmi fan but after seeing this movie I have to say hats off to him being so faithful to the character and his simple no nonsense acting makes him really likable.

Final verdict: Definitely entertaining and worth a watch!
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
will keep you engaged...
achraj14 May 2012
The story of a gun-seller who is coerced by a harsh cop to become a police informer, this is an oddly uninteresting film predictable right from the moment the main characters are introduced, each more asinine than the next. Hashmi's Sonu Dilli is an insipid fellow who keeps crowing about how the world calls him a dog, Esha Gupta plays a doctor who apparently runs a free 'hospital' without knowing how to pay the bills, and Randeep Hooda. god bless his soul -- keeps a straight face even while playing a whiskey- loving cop bitterly waging war on gunrunners because his wife was shot. Yes, that's right.

Randeep Hooda Overshadows Emraan Hasmi.. Esha Gupta Has no role. Movie- Its a really good movie…but has gone wrong in many ways…watch this movie. u wont be disappointed at the same time you wont be satisfied too.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Timeless, Emraan, Randeep at best
abhishek_sucks27 July 2019
The trailer looked cheap, but the movie is timeless and Emraan and Randeep prove every worth of their money. I revisit this movie every now and then, and still route for Randeep and Hashmi;s comeback
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A 3 on 5. Decent.
vaibhav-ietdavv26 November 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Was it a story or a series of events leading to the end? I still don't know what KKC Sonu Dilli's jannat was about. 'Jannat-2' missed a thing or two when compared the previous 'Jannat'. Here we had an obvious storyline. The 'love story' was just there with nothing very special about it.

The casting was something that held my attention well for some time and made me appreciate what the casting director did with it. Specially Manish Chaudhary as the villain Mangal Singh Tomar and 'phas gaye re Obama' fame Brijendra Kala as his right hand Sarfaraaz were a very nice choice for the roles they played. Now, it was about repeating what he has done in a number of movies like 'Once upon a time in Mumbai'- 'Justice', Randeep Hooda seriously impresses as ACP Pratap Raghuvanshi. Emraan Hashmi was as he is seen in all the other movies of the same production house. He takes such roles with a subtle ease and makes you feel that acting this way isn't tough at all but then you remember him in 'Dil to bachcha hai ji' where he did steal the show with a similar performance among other artists. So he's good and so is his chemistry with Randeep. Finally, Esha Gupta is a surprise. She is brilliant (mind you I'm not talking of her acting at all).

Talking of surprises, there were a few things that surprised me in the film. The end of the film for one, I had a mixed feeling. The end made the story seem incomplete and at the same time the way Emraan's character dies and asks for 'the' promise from Randeep to not to reveal his true identity to his love, so as to avoid her pain; I wasn't expecting that so I liked it. As far as the expectations are concerned, everything else happened in the movie as expected- even the suspense. Hence as mentioned before it didn't seem like a story but a series of events leading to a known ending.

Among the few other things, the overuse of the 'B' word at times seemed unnecessary. The scenes having Randeep calling over to listen to his dead wife's voice over an answering machine at different instances are likable. Also, the scene with Esha and Emraan standing in Garden in between a song under a self created shower out of the water pipe was romantic and caught my eye. The music is better than the story off course. The film could have helped itself a little better editing though. The songs in the soulful voices of KK, Mohit Chauhan, Rahat Fateh Ali Khan and others are melodious and will be hummed for some time.

Though nothing very special about it, overall the movie is an 'OK' entertainer. With a star for the music, and a half for Esha (again not for her acting) and another half for the brilliant chemistry between Emraan and Randeep, and one full star to Randeep's performance; the film for me earns a decent 3 stars out of 5. Though I was thinking of a 2.5 but the half star for the lady for being noticed even without 'acting', it's OK. 

~Vaibhav Shrivastava NOTE: After watching the movie a friend set his FB status as "Esha gupta...u made my nights!!! :D N.B: Just came back aftr watching Jannat 2."

All I can say is..... – I agree dude!!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Film Well Above Average
Parulsc21 August 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Jannat 2 is a wonderful movie. I think people have begun to expect too much out of the film industry. This movie has moments of action, romance, comedy, and even sorrow. Jannat 2 is a movie that calls upon emotions without limits and is therefore a very different type of movie.

The music is one of the best aspects of this movie. As with almost all films in this cinema, music plays a large role. In the promotion of the movie, the music had a very prominent role. In some cases, the music keeps the movie alive and full of emotion. There really isn't more you could ask for, unless you were looking for some kind of song that can be played at will and sound nice in any situation. The music is tailored specifically to tell the story and it does a very exceptional job at it.

The story begins very late in the life of the main character, Sonu Dilli KKC (Emraan Hashmi) and therefore leaves very little time for the relationship between him and his best friend. This may be the ONLY aspect that this movie lacks. However, regardless of this fact, the movie kept me at the edge of my seat through the entire two hours. I can say this is much better than a dreadful extra hour added in order to maintain this one aspect.

Regardless of that one flaw, which really can't be fixed, there isn't much wrong with the movie. The romance in the movie is sweet, but different. It's Original. That's what a film should contain. There are too many movies neglecting originality in the relationship between the main character and his love interest. This brings a whole new way to look at a relationship and makes a huge effect on someone that can understand it.

The comedy, however vulgar it may be, is nonetheless funny. Sure, there is a lot of language in the movie, but honestly it is how people talk. Also, the vulgarity played a very important role in the film's story, it was to show how the main characters could never fit in to a high class lifestyle, that they had something that related to their former selves. There are other parts of the movie that seem simply hysterical, however serious they may have been intended to be. Such as (***SPOILER ALERT***) when Sonu is describing ACP Pratap as a crazy dog that won't leave him alone.

The action is almost top notch. It beats mediocre graphical effects that aren't fine tuned such as in movies like Ra. One. Graphical effects, unless perfect, have a negative effect. However, the movie does fine with very few of them. The action seems almost real in most circumstances, and it is very enjoyable to watch.

The emotions that flood at the end of the movie are like no other. (***SPOILER ALERT*** For the rest of the Paragraph) As the almost identical ending to Jannat, Jannat 2 shows another way for the main character to die in which he does in fact give up on doing the wrong thing for the right reasons, but instead does the right thing for the wrong reasons. The effect caused by the death of the main character is phenomenal and is very ORIGINAL. There are very few tragedies in Bollywood today. The greatest (of which I can recall of the top of my head) being Kal Ho Na Ho, by Karan Johar, and had become a big hit because of the emotions tied to the death of the main character.

In short, if you're looking for a different and original movie that can be funny, violent, romantic, and sad, this is the movie for you.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Jannat 2- Good and Nice Movie
arvind-bharatula11 May 2012
Movie is entirely good, its not sequel - they just made the movie as jannat 2 as they made murder 2 . so we cannot compare with jannat.

about the movie : Emraan is developing the bollywood movie strategy, Kunal did a wonderful job again. songs are excellent, Emraan - Bhai ko karne ki mokha nahi diya. Emraan he acted as the character requires - good job - all the best for up-coming films. but heroine is the back drop for the entire movie - esha is only for item songs. Rest supporting cast did a good job.

All the Best Emraan Bhai - Movie is excellent . worth watching in cinemas rather than waiting for rips to download.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not bad
waqar_917 May 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Jannat 2 tells the story of Sonu Dilli KKC (Kutti Kameeni Cheez). He's a small-time gun dealer in Delhi. Together with his friend, Balli (Zeeshan Ayub), Sonu is doing just fine in the illegal arms trade selling and even renting weapons to people. His life takes a turn when he is interrogated by tough cop ACP Raghuvanshi (Randeep Hooda) and eventually he becomes informer for the latter.

During this, Sonu meets Jhanvi (Esha Gupta), a doctor, and falls for her. Sonu decides to leave his life of crime and wants to settle down with Jhanvi. But Raghuvanshi wants to find the leader of the illegal arms racket and coaxes Sonu into joining the big-time arms mafia so that he can provide the ACP with valuable information about the gang and their dealings. The leader of the arms business is Mangal Singh Tomar (Manish Choudhary), who is co-incidentally Jhanvi's estranged father.

I will not be giving out the ending though.

The movie, for me, didn't lose its pace. Some songs just come out of nowhere and aren't as good as Jannat 1.

Acting wise, Hashmi gives a good performance as a street-smart, fast- taking Delhi-wallah. He has matured as an actor and is consistently delivering hits. Esha Gupta is stunning in the film, however she still needs to polish her acting skills a lot. The performance by Randeep Hooda as the tough cop, who is dealing with the loss of her wife, is exceptional. Everything from his voice, the rugged look, his dialog delivery was just perfect. He is a contender for the Best Supporting Actor award, most definitely. I remember his performance in Once Upon a time in Mumbai as ACP Agnel Wilson was also just perfect.

Overall the film is not bad and is worth a watch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good movie
tusharsingh-7783812 November 2020
Good movie to watch, Emraan hashmi and randeep hodda are doing great job in term of acting, dialogue delivery and emotions.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Failed attempt to cash on first part's popularity
kundan_cnmc28 April 2013
After success of Jannat, Kunal Deshmukh brings you Jannat 2, first dealt with match fixing in cricket while second part deal with illegal arm racket. Jannat 1 being not a great piece of work but was successful due to controversy around match fixing generated in 2008.

Problems with this film are plenty. Film borrows its story from first part but failed miserably to develop characters. Whole film look like a forced attempt to cash on popularity of first part.

Emraan Hashmi plays Sonu dilli, an illegal arm racketeer in this film who love a independent, gorgeous, doctor player by Esha Gupta who besides treating patients for free, reaches everywhere emraan is already present for their love to blossom. What a coincidence !

Love story run side by side with attempt of sonu dilli to rectify life's mistakes & lead good life by exposing illegal arms syndicate with the help of ACP Pratap Raghuvanshi (randeep hooda) & this makes the rest of story. Chemistry between lead pair looks very artificial. All sequences of the film have a great degree of coincidence as we already saw in 80's films. Newcomer esha gupta is only an eye candy. Randeep hooda gave a good performance notwithstanding a lackluster script. All other characters plays their part well. Music is pathetic, all songs in the film are forcefully introduced which slow down our torture to end.

Overall a boring, nonsense avoidable film & please note that there are lots of unnecessary cuss words are used.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Based on the same old Bhatt formula of music, sex and crime but this time along with heavy use of silly abusive dialogues.
bobbysing28 May 2012
To start with this is not at all a sequel from any angle. It neither has the characters nor the storyline in any way related to the first Jannat. Apparently some fine songs are here too but as far as content is concerned, it ranges from all repeated & predictable to mostly uninteresting and even boring. In fact this is a perfect example of how production houses have now started making fool of the viewers with these so called sequels which have nothing to do with their part one.

JANNAT 2 is strictly made on the fixed format of film-making followed by Vishesh Films. In this set format, the movie begins with the leading man and a sequence showing him involved in a certain (novel)kind of crime. Then they introduce the charming heroine and the love plot starts between the lead pair making way for few good songs. The first half mostly deals with the love angle along with showing the crime working in the background. Around the intermission the lead couple marries and enters their new phase of life. Post interval certain twists are introduced with some fresh characters and the girl comes to know about her husband's connection with the crime world. This leads to few emotional confrontation scenes resulting in the hero's heart transformation who then fights back to get away from the underworld. And then it all ends on a tragic note with a shocking kind of climax.

Now if you can remember then the above mentioned format is exactly followed in Vishesh films 3 ventures namely, Jannat (2008), Blood Money (2012), Jannat 2(2012) and to some extent in also Crook (2009). The only difference between these films are the kinds of Crime world, the hero is caught in, which changes the whole look of the film giving it a different feel. Like in Jannat – the hero is a Cricket betting bookie, in Blood Money – he is involved in International Diamond smuggling, in Crook - he is a lawbreaker who gets related with the racial attacks abroad and in the present Jannat 2- he is dealing in Arms Selling also known as Gunrunning in the underworld.

Continuing with their passion of making inspired films, this time the crime-plot is taken from Nicholas Cage's Lord of War (2005) and one of its posters takes its inspiration from The Mechanic (2011). No doubt the plot was a novel and interesting one for the Indian audience but sadly it never gets exploited on the screen in the much required manner. The film stars off pretty well with the sequences of Emraan selling the guns and making fool of another crook. But then just after a few minutes, it falls back on the usual track, giving you a severe shock of some heavy abuses repeatedly used in the dialogues, which can easily be rated as disgusting coming from this reputed banner.

As I see it, the Bhatts from their experience in the film-trade, very well knew that they didn't have anything great in the storyline of their over-publicized sequel. So to add an extra attraction, they decided to use this heavy foul language in the dialogues of almost all the lead actors, in the name of "demand of the script talking about north-Indian characters". But while watching the film one can easily judge that these were all included deliberately to gain the applause and seeties from a particular section of viewers, especially in the smaller centers.

Music, being the strongest part of all Bhatt films works here too with few good, hummable songs from Pritam. In fact the Soundtrack can easily be called the only good thing in this so called sequel. Background score is OK but Cinematography adds a lot in the criminal backdrop of the film, including a well shot chase scene at The Dargah. As an actor Emraan Hashmi, takes away the applauses just for his cuss words spoken loudly and not for his acting. Randeep Hooda looks like the same in his all types of scenes but still leaves a mark in few. Regarding the debutant heroine Esha Gupta I would only like to say that Bhatts can easily make any gorgeous girl the heroine of their film as she only has to look pretty in her steamy scenes or kisses and has to do very less of acting on the screen in these kinds of scripts. So that should easily give you a hint that what she has done in the film.

In the supporting cast both Brijendra Kala and Mohd. Zeeshan Ayyub are great but Arif Zakaria gives you nothing new. Another point which needs to be written here is about the writers and their weird kind of sequences related with the heroine's hospital. She is strangely running a Big Free Hospital single handedly without any staff, doesn't has the money to pay all the Hospital bills and also has some amount to payback to few criminal looking people who keep barging into the hospital for their recovery. Now how on earth Mahesh Bhatt, didn't point out such silly writing in the script remains questionable? Also J2 is yet another film which once again reveals the faulty working style of our Censor Boards who have no problem with all the cuss words spoken in a big banner's film, but force to use a beep in place of them in a low budget project "Life Ki Toh Lag Gayi" released just last week.

In all, this is one of those desperate movies of Vishesh films which is too eager to become a HIT through an easy way of few good songs, steamy kisses and all un-required abusive words spoken loudly by their Hero. So if you are really interested in these three ingredients then you may opt for it at your own risk.
3 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Entertaining
junaidpro7 May 2012
Drugs and match fixing... Now its time for Guns in the Bollywood.

I will say overall the film is entertaining though there are a few loopholes in the story.

The film drags up a bit (not much) in the middle (one song might have been unnecessary).

But the story line is good and its worth a single watch.

Emran Hashmi & Randeep are good in acting however the actress (Esha Gupta) need some polishing.

Repeated hearing of the word KKC (Kutti Kameeni Cheez) sounded a bit cheap.

The music is OK, not much in them.

If you are free go for it... Else wait for the DVD....
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Gun Runners and a Sashaying Lady Doctor
pcsarkar13 May 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Firstly, this film is not a sequel to the original Jannat. It would have been interesting if it had been. Since Hashmi's character was bumped off at the end of the first Jannat, his son growing up in penury and becoming KKC in Jannat 2 would have been an interesting premise - and also provided the necessary continuity. However, the Bhatt camp has taken Hashmi, the title of the former film, and the tune of the hit song 'Zara Si Dil', made a mish-mash (mismatch?) and presented it to the audience as Jannat 2. Sad.

Hashmi is in his element: stubble, swagger, tight jacket, together with a brief kissing scene. But no motor cycle riding here. An admirer of Randip Hooda, I felt his underplaying the tragic ACP was OTP.. The Jat villains: Manish Chaudhary (Mangal Singh Tomar) and his sidekick (un-credited) are fearsome and manage to dominate over Hooda and Hashmi any day. The sole female lead, Esha Gupta, who looks like a cross between Lara Dutta and Isha Koppikar, can't act for nuts, sashays throughout the film - more like a ramp model, than like a self-made doctor attending to the poor. Arif Zakaria looks malnourished (more suited for a horror film he appeared in recently), quite unsuited for the role of a senior police officer. One doesn't get to see many malnourished police officers for real. Such is life, dearies.

Of course, since the story is set in Delhi, some mandatory shots of heritage areas and buildings like India Gate, Chandni Chowk, Purana Quila, the Qutub Complex and (surprisingly), Nizamuddin, are present. And the ubiquitous Metro. Seems that Bollywood has take to Delhi's Metro Rail in a big way. With its thin plot line, however, the film could have been based anywhere, though.

OK for sitting in a swank multiplex, escaping the summer heat for a while and seeing Hashmi's and Hooda's antics. No great shakes, however.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Horrible!
sredsha18 May 2012
Warning: Spoilers
This is a horrendous attempt at cinema. The only good thing about this movie was Randeep Hooda's performance, the way Dehli was captured cinematicaly and the song Tera Deedar Hua (ruined by bad choreography).

Emraan Hashmi has become type cast in his various roles. I can't take him seriously anymore. I couldn't help cracking up when he was dying in the end. The female lead was pathetic. I'm sorry but exposing your breasts does not constitute as talent. The supporting cast was just as bad.

The pace of the story was slow. A few songs could have been left out of the mix. The script and the dialogs were weak. In short the narrative was a big, predictable, convoluted mess.

You expect something better from Vishesh Films. Extremely disappointed.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Old, predictable story with High Drama
vashist_arun6 May 2012
Well, as this movie was expected to be matching the success of Jannat 1 but turn out to be a disappoint specially in second half. This is not a sequel of Jannat 1 so there is no connection between two stories.

A predictable story with good cinematography and great background score, but lacks logic in most of the cases. Anything impressive about the movie was performance of Randeep Hooda and screen presence of Esha Gupta, however she get very little footage to show any acting skills. Imran Hashmi as usual was fun to watch, and played a overrated character of Sonu Delhi KKC (Kuti, Kamini Cheez)

Music is great and songs are beautifully picturized, dialogues are punchy and creatively abusive.
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Jannat 2 : Not Really A Heavenly Experience
They say over-confidence kills a man, in this case it kills the movie.

Banking on the success of Jannat, Jannat 2 first of all is not a sequel at all and director Kunal Deshmukh's third attempt at direction failed to impress me.

Starring Imran Hashmi as Sonu Dilli KKC(kutti kamini cheez) who as described is shown as a shrewd arms dealer and ACP Pratap Rachuvanshi(Randeep Hooda) is the tough cop who wants to bring an end to the arms dealing racket. Esha Gupta plays Imran's love interest.

The first half of the movie is disappointing as the story goes no where and even though I personally love it when some high octane swearing is involved clearly in Jannat 2 there's too much unnecessary involvement of Behen*** and Ch**** which is irritating.

The second half has a good pace to it, the story opens up more but it is again the very predictable end that leaves you wondering why did they make the movie when they didn't have a good script considering Jannat was pretty good.

The music is pretty good and even though some songs just start from nowhere you still enjoy them.

Imran Hashmi does his best tp save the film, Esha Gupta looks simply stunning but falters in the one scene where she could have actually shown her acting skills and Randeep Hooda is for me brilliant. He surely would have been a contender for the supporting role award had the movie been a little better. Still since the movie is a sure hit there might be some hope.

Watch it only for Esha beauty or for Hooda's performance

1.5/5
1 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Arms dealer
mohammedsulemanbalwar20 September 2019
Sonu (Emraan Hashmi) deals in illegal arms but later joins forces with ACP Pratap Raghuvanshi, who is keen on putting an end to this criminal activity. Their biggest enemy is Mangal (His father in law), a major gangster and arms dealer.

The last scene is emotionally as the Sonu died but he told the ACP not to tell his wife that he works with him and now he died as it impossible for her to forget the memory of him.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not very entertaining
sam_smithreview9 June 2016
Only watched this movie as it said it was remake of The Departed. Started watching, has nothing to do with it, but being a critic still watched it regardless. This is a movie about Sonu Dilli KKC, who is another small gun supplier in the horrible streets of Delhi. Sonu Dilli is offered a so called Jannat by an officer in exchange of information related to illegal gun deals going on. The script is not so good, the direction is not up to the mark, and the songs are all right. The movie barely keeps you interested! especially the first half was quite boring. The movie is very predictable as we all know that what can an officer of Delhi provide an criminal which he calls Jannat. The movie is nothing special, I won't really recommend it watching in a theater, but hey it's the summer so you can try, but believe me the movie has nothing under it's sleeves, that can surprise you. If you are another Delhi belly fan who is easily impressed by some curses and a little Bahama bag, then this is for you, but if you are like me, who understands good movies, then don't bother watching this. In fact, it doesn't even deserve the title Janet according to me. Jannat, in search of heaven was the real Janet. This is another Imraan Hashmi movie which is trying to make big bucks with the same name.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A one time watch!
subhashkumaru219 September 2012
Jannat 2 did not live up to its expectation.Emraan Hashmi is good so is Ranveer Hooda.Esha Gupta had not much scenes to prove her caliber but she is good and glamorous.The story was nothing new and every scene was a bit predictable. Music and songs have once again proved to be a huge plus point of the movie,as expected in all of Emraan Hashmi movies.It could have been better had the storyline been a bit different.Jannat was much better than this though had the same concept.All in all a one time watch and a bit entertaining due to the good performance by Emraan and Ranveer.And one thing I would like to say is if a sequel of this is made again,please don't kill Emraan.He is a good entertainer and so the movie should have ended on a positive note.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Jannat - I thought it meant heaven
maneckk-414-2096585 July 2012
For all my friends who have seen "Jannat 2" (Heaven part 2) - why didn't you K.K.C's warn me that I should stay away from it - for those who have not, you can watch it for the following 5 reasons,

1. You want to know what the acronym K.K.C. stand for 2. You are in love with Emran Hashmi 3. You want to see a third rate adaptation of "The Departed" 4. You want to experience the new female actor called Esha Gupta who thinks every walk is a cat-walk & every word spoken should seem as if you are answering the Ms. India International pageant's final question (she actually won it) 5. If you wanna do Dilli Darshan through the eyes of Sonu Dilli - KKC

I still enjoyed it ;-)
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Jannat? Not really!!
spectacular-sunny17 May 2012
This is a movie about Sonu Dilli KKC, who is another small gun supplier in the horrible streets of Delhi. Sonu Dilli is offered a so called Jannat by an officer in exchange of information related to illegal gun deals going on. The script is not so good, the direction is not up to the mark, and the songs are all right. The movie barely keeps you interested! especially the first half was quite boring. The movie is very predictable as we all know that what can an officer of Delhi provide an criminal which he calls Jannat. The movie is nothing special, I won't really recommend it watching in a theater, but hey it's the summer so you can try, but believe me the movie has nothing under it's sleeves, that can surprise you. If you are another Delhi belly fan who is easily impressed by some curses and a little bhagam bhag, then this is for you, but if you are like me, who understands good movies, then don't bother watching this. In fact, it doesn't even deserve the title jannat according to me. Jannat, in search of heaven was the real jannat. This is another Imraan Hashmi movie which is trying to make big bucks with the same name.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed