Line of Descent (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Wasted effort even after a great cast
rajat_1247 December 2019
When I first saw its trailer in one of the streaming site, I had high hopes of from this movie with ensemble star cast like Ronit, Abhay, Neeraj Kabi and above all Brendan Fresar. 15 minutes into watching and got to know that I was wrong, a great potential got wasted . Narrative of this movie is very patchy, no thrill moment, it's like a family drama. Ronit's role was short, Neeraj and Abhay was ok. I don't know what makers wanted to show - a family issue, a thriller or action. But found nothing. Only good thing was it's running time which typically was less.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not as Bad as Everyone says it is
alteracc347 December 2019
Although there would have been much better use of talent available of starcast and story/script written 1000 times better than this linear narration, this one is not as bad as some people have commented. Its about a Crime syndicate run by Family Partiarch Prem Chopra who's death leads to fight of succession and struggle between brothers, this is linked with International mafia scene. All could have been done in much better way though.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Don't waste your time
iSatchit5 December 2019
I watched this movie because of 02 actors , Abhay and Ronit. 1. I don't understand, what made Abhay do this film. (Talent Wasted) 2. Ronit's performance was great as usual, but i found his role too short. 3. Feels good to see Prem Chopraji on the screen , he looks great. 4. Coming to Neeraj Kabi , he was just below average , I think this role was not meant for him. Again, a piece of advice Ekavali Khanna " what are you doing ??" After Angrezi mein kehte hain , the audience expects something of that caliber and you ruining it with stuff like this and "Out of love"
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
good crime family drama Series
seosanjaysoni13 December 2019
A good crime family drama. Director's view of crime is well noted, screenplay seems to be nice, acting was fairly delivered on the screen. In fact the character of Sidharth was amazing he seems to be fit quite well in Delhi goon image. Dialogues were good. Situations are well placed and applause for director's effort for the film. Very well written as well as adapted on the screen.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not that bad as I was expecting it to be
cseabhi8 August 2020
Well I watched this movie only due to Abhay. A bit disappointed to see he was not given that much screen space in the movie as others. But apart from Abhay, Ronit roy was a treat to watch in this movie. He pulls this kind of role to the perfection. Neeraj Kabi was average. I don't know there was something different about his performance. Maybe it was he didnt suited the character. Coming to Prem Chopra, it was good to watch him after in a movie.

Apart from performances the story was pretty average. Slow paced but not that boring as people are saying the movie is. Very predictible.

Last line, watch this movie if you are a fan of Abhay, Neeraj or Ronit. Other than that there are better crime movies than this one.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
I was impressed.
Kdosda_Hegen10 April 2020
I expected garbage, but this was a pretty good crime movie. The acting was great, the story was generic. Brendan Fraser gave yet another of those over the top performances, I loved it. The ending had too many twists coming one after another, it was weird.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A struggle for supremacy & control within a dysfunctional mafia family
msunando27 January 2021
Written and directed by Rohit Karn Batra, Line of Descent is an umpteenth attempt to remake The Godfather with some twists. Bharat Sinha (Prem Chopra), operates an outfit with his sons Prithvi (Ronit Roy) and Siddharth (Neeraj Kabi), who threaten and usurp prime properties from hapless homeowners against their will, at throwaway prices. The youngest son, Suraj, is a beginner and his heart is not in the dirty business. But the old man is now repentant about his sins and bequeaths all his assets to his eldest son Prithvi and commits suicide.

Whilst Prithvi is determined to make amends and clean things up, Siddharth is adamant about getting a fair share of the family fortune and do more dubious stuff with the backing of Charlie (aka Charu, Brenda Fraser in a peculiar role of a Russian mafia lord). The two brothers also try to win over the youngest sibling to his respective side of doing things. Add to all this, Abhay Deol (Inspector Raghav), a no nonsense, devoted and upright policeman is assigned the responsibility of stopping the family on its tracks of crime and bring the criminals to justice.

Line of Descent has a strong storyline, albeit overused and somewhat stale, as starting with the classic Dharmatma, numerous other titles have been dedicated to The Godfather. Zulm Ki Hukumat, Sarkar / Sarkar Raj, Aatank Hi Aatank and Bhindi Bazar are some titles that I clearly recall. The latest offering has nothing different to offer - it doesn't have production values to boast of, the narrative never takes off to an exciting high, and despite every actor's sincere performance, somehow the film lacks the heart. Neeraj Kabi is perhaps the strongest contender for the top honours, but Line of Descent fails to engage.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
AVERAGE MOVIE
sunildaswaney-6364213 January 2021
At best "Line of Descent"is an average movie with matching direction and acting by everyone, except Brendan Fraser who was an absolute disaster. The production values were very poor and this further reduced the quality of the film.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Meandering story line and so-so acting
unmesh-3690610 December 2020
We decided to watch it because we are big fans of Abhay and to a lesser extent Ronit. It looks like they got Abhay on board with a small role to serve as clickbait for people like us :-( Ronit gave the best performance of the lot so it wasn't a complete loss.

The movie started out with some promise as the story of generations of criminals but then got lost in various side stories. And what was Brendan Fraser doing in the movie?
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pleasant watch of a crime family saga
bajiraopeshwa27 June 2020
The story is about a crime family whose head dies and then succession war starts.The movie isn't as bad as people say. Worth a watch definitely.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed