Miss You Already (2015) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
46 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
I was impressed and tearful - and I'm a man
rogerdarlington8 October 2015
This is the archetypal woman's film - but there's nothing wrong with that, with far too few opportunities for women in the key roles in movie-making. So women fill the slots of scriptwriter (the British Morwenna Banks), director (American Catherine Hardwicke) and the two top acting positions (Australian Toni Collette and American Drew Barrymore).

And the subject material is feminine too: breast cancer, infertility, and female friendship. Like "The Fault In Our Stars", this is a frank exposition of what it is like to suffer cancer - in this case, with chemotherapy and its attendant sickness, tiredness and hair loss followed by headaches, vision loss, and pain.

It sounds tough and it is - one the saddest film I've seen in a long while - but there is humour and warmth and superior acting which make it worth viewing this real slice of life. After all, most of us of a certain age have had relatives or friends who have suffered one form of cancer or another, some surviving, some not.
45 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Collette shines
SnoopyStyle11 December 2016
Jess (Drew Barrymore) and Milly (Toni Collette) are lifelong friends from childhood. Jess was an American girl fish-out-of-water in England and Milly was the only one who befriended her. Milly's mother Miranda (Jacqueline Bisset) is an often-absent flaky actress. The girls did everything together. Milly has famed rocker husband Kit (Dominic Cooper), a high powered job, and two kids. Jess lives on a boat with Jago (Paddy Considine) desperately trying to get pregnant. The couple's money is drained and Jago has to work on a North Sea oil rig. Then Milly is diagnosed with aggressive breast cancer.

This is solid female friendship material. The breast cancer story has its melodramatic touches but it doesn't go overboard. There are enough surprises to keep it fresh. Director Catherine Hardwicke could have made this tighter. Through it all, Barrymore and Collette create a believable best friends duo. Collette especially shines. In the pantheon of female best friends with cancer, this is one of the better ones.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Heart-felt performance
nicole-4386827 January 2016
The story line and acting was absolutely amazing. I was engaged in the movie from the beginning to the credits. The story line was realistic, coherent and relatable to the struggles some suffer. This movie brings awareness to life issues that are hard to imagine, yet you can feel these in this movie.

All actors did an outstanding job playing their characters. The setting was fantastic as well.

I do not want to spoil the movie so I won't say more details!

I am very picky with the movies I watch and all I can say is that it is worth watching!!!
30 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent film. Funny, sad and uplifting
jamesbuckland-5556029 September 2015
Loved this film. I'm not ashamed to admit it made me cry so much. (Also laugh a lot as well!) The story of the friendship of these two characters was beautiful,sometimes hilarious, to watch. And the story of how one battles with cancer is heartbreaking, particularly in the last scenes. Toni Collette is the stand out star, giving one of the finest performances of her career so far. She gets excellent support from Drew Barrymore and the rest of the cast. Frances de la Tour has a lovely little cameo. It is beautifully shot, the scenes on the moors of Yorkshire being particularly gorgeous. I highly recommend it if you want a heartfelt and moving cinema experience.
33 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Underrated
assassinelena21 January 2016
Greeting my friends. I've rated this movie with an 8. It wasn't a big production, it wasn't fancy, it wasn't based on a biography (at last!), it was based on real life events something that unfortunately many of us have experienced in our own families. Great acting. Greatly approached. Good sense of humor, at the right place at the right time. Cancer is a taboo word, we are afraid to say it we are afraid to think about it and we surely do not know how to cope with it. In my opinion the film industry doesn't appreciate enough good movies like that particular one in fear of upsetting people. As far as Toni Collette is concerned she was great, one of the best female performances of her career and I believe she should have been considered for a nomination for the Oscar awards.

She and Drew Barrymore made a perfect match. Haven't seen something like that since Terms Of Endearment with Debra Winger.
16 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautifully done, uplifting and encouraging
stmpchik5 November 2015
Toni Collete gives a brilliant performance as Milly and really captivates the audience. I personally don't really cry at movies and i wasn't sobbing at the end of this film but there were tear jerker moments that i felt were done beautifully and not bashed over the head. As we know this is a film that involves cancer but its not done in a way that is a PSA for Cancer. It really shows the relationship between two best friends and just lives in general. I really liked the style that it was shot in because so many tear jerker cancer films leave you feeling bad but after this film i really wanted to go out and make more of my life which left me feeling uplifted and encouraged. Id definitely recommend this film to friends and family with and without the disease. definitely one to see and to have in a collection.
20 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Friendship Sickness Loss
ferguson-65 November 2015
Greetings again from the darkness. The theatre was filled with the sounds of sobbing. And by sobbing, I mean bawling … not the typical post-movie sniffles. While I was a little confused on just where my fellow movie watchers thought this story was headed, it's understandable that sometimes a dark theatre is simply the best place to have a good cry. Director Catherine Hardwicke and screenwriter Morwenna Banks deliver an unfettered look at friendship, sickness and loss … and a reason to bring tissues.

Tearjerker movies have quite the history of success. Some of the more popular sob fests include: Love Story, Brian's Song, Terms of Endearment, Beaches, Steel Magnolias, and The Notebook. This latest is probably most similar to Beaches in that the focus is on two lifelong female friends (polar opposites in personality) who ride the roller-coaster of life together – through good times and bad.

Milly (Toni Collette) and Jess (Drew Barrymore) meet in elementary school and experience many of life's "firsts" together. We know this because the film begins with a bit of a clumsy flashback sequence that shoots us through their high school years, heavy partying, and finally picks up after they are married.

There are many mysteries of the female gender that those of us with Y chromosomes will never comprehend. One of those is the close friendship between the vain, center-of-attention type, and the always supportive enabler. Milly is the classic taker, while Jess is a giver. Milly is the high-flying socialite who dresses flashy and draws a crowd, while Jess is the dependable sidekick, always there to make sure Milly is never alone. It's confounding and a bit sad to those of us who view friendship as something much different.

Both Ms. Collette and Ms. Barrymore are strong in their performances, though Collette has the much meatier role. What's impressive about the movie is how it takes head on the horrific travails of those with breast cancer. The emotional and physical and medical aspects are all dealt with no compromise. Some of it is tough to watch, but admirable in its directness. Milly's breast cancer takes center stage, while Jess' struggle to get pregnant is low-keyed. Fitting for their personalities, but each based in real life sagas. Milly's husband Kit (Dominic Cooper), and Jess' husband Jago (Paddy Considine) both provide understandable reactions to the obstacles faced by their spouses. Add in a bleached blonde Jacqueline Bisset as Milly's eccentric mom, and the five lead actors each contribute a relatable element to the story.

Two other actors make an impression: Frances de la Tour as a wise and direct wig-maker, and Tyson Ritter (front man for The All-American Rejects) as a free-spirited bartender who may or may not be a good influence on Milly. Even though Jess is the heart of the story, it's Milly who dominates … just like their friendship. Green vs glamour.

Director Hardwicke will always hold a special place in my movie memories thanks to her sparkling 2003 debut Thirteen. She and writer Banks clearly understand women, and believe it crucial to show the courage required in the fight against breast cancer. Fortunately, their main character is funny and spirited, and pals around with someone we would all be proud to call a friend. And that's nothing to cry about.
15 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Should I stay or should I go
kosmasp18 November 2016
Interesting to see that another reviewer compared this to 50/50. In many regards that is, one of them being that 50/50 does seem to get the recognition it deserves (even only in small degrees). Another interesting this is the German title for this movie: In heaven everyone is wearing high heels. Whatever that is supposed to mean.

Overall the movie is pretty engaging and the main actresses have a good chemistry together. For the subject matter it is kept pretty light, which you'll either appreciate or hate. Judging from the rating more people are on the love side. That doesn't mean it's always easy to watch and some may say this could've been a TV drama of the week kind of thing. But that would be unfair to the people involved, all of whom are doing a good job here.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
One of the many films that demands your attention in a currently crowded marketplace of films we say we want to see but don't actually see
StevePulaski6 November 2015
While the theatrical poster for "Miss You Already" may look suspiciously like "The Fault in Our Stars," I can assure you the former is a much more pleasant and believable affair than the latter. Featuring two actresses that aren't always the first to come to consumers' minds for their wide-variety of roles and breezy charisma, unfairly so in my mind, Catherine Hardwicke's "Miss You Already," another film about the perils of terminal cancer on everyone from the patient to the family, manages to pull just enough strings with its solid cast and melodrama to make you forget it's occasionally pulling your heart strings.

The film follows two best friends, Milly (Toni Collette) and Jess (Drew Barrymore), who have been best friends ever since Jess and her family moved overseas to England when she was a young girl. They've been inseparable since, and even different circumstances plaguing one another - Milly with her husband Kit (Dominic Cooper) and their two young children and Jess with her husband Jago (Paddy Considine) trying to conceive a kid - they still manage to remain as close as they were when they were young.

Life's ultimate challenge hits them hard when Milly reveals she is suffering from potentially terminal cancer. As she undergoes chemotherapy and experiences all of cancer's hardships - weakness, hair loss, fatigue, and emptiness - she looks to her best friend Jess not only as a poll to lean on, but one to assist her and support her in her time of need.

At first, audience members can't help but feel bad for Milly; she seems like a well-meaning soul, one who at least didn't deserve this ugly fate. It isn't until her true colors come out during this fatal bout of sickness that we realize the kind of person she is. For starters, she loves to take advantage of Jess's kindness, to the point where Jago understandably lectures Jess about how Milly is making them "put their marriage on hold" while she attends to the needs of her best friend. Very seldom do we hear a "thank you" come from Milly or a sincere recognition of Jess's persistent kindness, like sitting beside her bed when she vomits or picking out a wig for her. On top of that, Milly also winds up cheating on Kip for a young bartender, which she justifies because Kip doesn't even look at her any more nor has any interest in having sex with her.

Screenwriter Morwenna Banks at least has Milly, herself, and Jess recognize her uglier traits in the film, which is more that could be said about other female characters in film this year that have exhibited seriously contemptible traits, like Amy Schumer's Amy in "Trainwreck" or even Cara Delevingne's Margot in "Paper Towns." If you can overlook how terrible Milly is as a person when her cancer begins to worsen, or at least can appreciate how the film doesn't sweep her more unlikable traits under the rug by supporting her feeble arguments and justifications for cheating, then "Miss You Already" becomes less an anti-character study, as I call them, and more an appreciation for find acting and melodrama.

As imperfect as this film is, it's a serious footnote for film right now because isn't this the kind of film audiences like to say they want? In the mix of a summer filled with blockbusters nine-figure budgets, Marvel franchises starting, rebooting, and continuing, and other bombastic nonsense, don't we hear a cry for adult dramas quite frequently? The end of 2015 has proved to deliver more than enough adult dramas to sustain a calendar year, effectively saturating the marketplace, which is a whole other issue, but this is precisely the kind of film I see people demanding but those same people forgetting to look at the local theater listings to see what is out this weekend. "Miss You Already" may not be a great film, but it's good enough to warrant a recommendation thanks to committed and thoroughly watchable chemistry from Collette and Barrymore, who show us throughout the film why we love watching them in movies. It's also another acceptable cancer drama in a way that doesn't evoke cheap pathos like "Freeheld," despite lacking the political conversation, at the same time doesn't effectively hit the more sentimental notes successfully like the soul-crushing "50/50" did in 2011.

"Miss You Already" is an enjoyable film that grounds itself in humanity and character relations long enough to distract and hinder the on-sight arrival of emotional manipulation. It's the kind of film, again, that we say we want, but rarely see; so in a crowded marketplace that will largely be stomped on by the likes of "Spectre," being seen by the parents, and "The Peanuts Movie," largely being seen by the kids, here's a low-key film that demands your attention just as well.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Chick flick? Disregard that prejudice, and you'll discover a sensitive movie.
peterp-450-29871622 March 2016
"How could the tumor have gotten so big? It's aggressive, like you. Jesus. Well, is it contained? In my body, yes. You should have gone back sooner. Yeah, thanks. Hadn't figured that out. "

I'm not really a fan of tragicomic films with a terminal illness as a main topic. And yet I'm always impressed after accidentally watching such a movie. That was the case with "Philadelphia", starring the overwhelming Tom Hanks who was diagnosed with AIDS. In "Still Alice" Julianne Moore starred as the with Alzheimer stricken Alice. And not so long ago, I praised "Me and Earl and the Dying Girl". Also "Miss you already" kept me captivated. Especially by the stunning interaction between the two protagonists Jess (Drew Barrymore) and Milly (Toni Collette). Two best friends who shared every milestone in their life with each other. An inseparable duo. They know each other thoroughly. Both their negative and their positive sides. And they succeeded as actresses to give me that feeling that they really knew each other since their childhood. A bond they created over the years whereby they intuitively know how the other feels, what she thinks and how she'll react. That's why there's this liberty to respond humorously to dramatic moments.

For me this was the main theme of this dramatic comedy. Even though tragedy hit Milly in a profound and poignant way, it's that undestroyable friendship that emerges every time. The two inseparable friends with each their own personal problems. Milly suffers from something she would be better off without. Jess and her husband are craving for something else. Milly wants to be cured from cancer. Jess has a desire to have children. Of course it's not so obvious to resolve both problems quickly. I was amazed about the fact that both ladies had a problem telling each other about these major events, although they are so close friends and shared everything with each other. And still do. Weird.

Obviously this film will be regarded as a typical chick flick, with lots of unconstrained sniveling and sobbing. The themes are also women-related : giving birth (by the way, that scene was grossly exaggerated), best girlfriends for life, breast cancer, a disturbed positive self-image with the usual sexual problems after wards. It also could have been the opposite, in my opinion. In such a way that the male portion of the world could relate to it. Two male protagonists and real "buddies for life". One of them has testicular cancer and the other one has spermatozoa of poor quality. Same concept. But with less giggles.

The only remark you could have about this film is that the obvious clichés, associated with these emotional issues, aren't avoided very well as in "Me and Earl and the Dying Girl". The two protagonists were sublime, although for me Barrymore will always be that little girl who played along with "E.T.". Perhaps both husbands Jago (Paddy Considine) and Kit (Dominic Cooper) played a minor role, but nonetheless an important one. Especially Considine was brilliant with that sarcastic, dry humor he used sometimes. I never imagined that seeing how someone vomits in a salad bowl, because of chemotherapy, would be sinister and comical at the same time. "Miss you already" isn't exactly a light-hearted film and definitely isn't suitable as entertainment to kill (sorry) a Sunday afternoon, but it still made an overwhelming impression on me. And although I thought I knew how it would end, it still was different than I expected. Women! Always against the grain ...

More reviews here : http://bit.ly/1KIdQMT
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
In a rare case when friendship comes before the family...
Reno-Rangan14 April 2016
This is not like one of those you have already seen cancer themed film, there's two main characters and their two sets of struggles. They both are very close friends since childhood. When they grow up, one settles down comfortably in life, but fall seriously ill and another one struggles to build a family.

I think the film's strength was the development in every scene without wasting a bit. There's always something happens that keeps us alive. I expected the usual, but it gave me a different entertainment. In the movie everything was between two friends, even each had their own family to care about, this story concentrated what came between them and how they fought together.

Great direction, shot in wonderful places, but the actors were decent. They should have been better, especially Toni Collette. To me the sentiments were very weak knowing the theme belong to the tearjerkers. Initially you might think it is a female version of '50/50', almost it was, but tried to be a different with additional story expansion. Overall a good movie, little fun to watch, you might enjoy it, but I can't guarantee.

7/10
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A different kind of tearjerker
macdog1730 September 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Alarm bells start ringing very early on in "Miss You Already". Alarm bells that anyone who has seen "Beaches" will immediately recognise. Like that film it follows two best friends who have known each other since childhood. Their dynamic - one a dominant bohemian personality, the other straight laced and endlessly compliant - is also quite similar but it only takes a short while for the bells to be silenced as the film gradually establishes its own identity.

Milly is a successful P.R. woman who has a gorgeous husband and two adorable kids. Her life has been one of extroversion and adventure. Her best friend Jen has gone along for the ride, always there to help pick up the pieces when things go wrong. After Milly is diagnosed with breast cancer she leans on Jen more than ever before. This creates friction between Jen and her husband Jago who have been trying, for some time, to get pregnant.

When Milly has to go for chemotherapy Jen accompanies her. When she has to shave her head and pick out a wig Jen is there. Even when she starts going off the rails and acting irresponsibly Jen still turns up no matter what else might be going on in her own life. Their bond is beyond simple camaraderie. They are, in a way, the great loves of each other's lives.

What makes the film itself stand out from the crowd is the fact that it eschews the conventional weepie structure in an attempt to fashion something that is genuinely poignant rather than a contrived narrative that overtly tries to jerk tears. The part where Milly tells her kids she has cancer is one such moment. Rather than mine it for every grain of saccharine Milly presents her plight as if she is pitching to a new client thus assuaging her children's fears.

The director Catherine Hardwicke also employs unorthodox framing and camera-work to heighten moments of intimacy and panic. She also treats the subject of cancer differently. Milly is not ennobled by her cancer. It terrifies her and prompts her regression to the darker corners of her egotism until she becomes, as Jen calls her, a "cancer bully". As her life fragments she finds it more and more difficult to cling on to who she was before hearing the diagnosis. She tries to take refuge in alcohol and sex but in doing so only serves to alienate Jen who grows more and more impatient with her.

This impatience as juxtaposed against her concern for her best friend is what gives the film its bite. Disease can turn the person you love into a selfish child and love can sometimes mutate into bitterness in the wake of this transformation.

Toni Collette, as she always does, gives a towering performance here as Milly and while the final act sees the film slightly succumb to the more traditional beats of the weepie it is nonetheless an interesting attempt to do things differently.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the sadness but funniest films I've seen.
abraham3730 September 2015
"Miss You Already." Just from the trailer there is knowledge of sadness in this film. What I didn't expect was the amount of humour! Which doesn't take away from the main point to the film. I thought that this film was going to be all tears, but I was so surprise about how much I enjoy it. This is a heart-warming film that most people could relate to. Being 16yrs old this film is now one of the movies I will remember. The cast seemed to have such a bond it makes the film even better. Please go to see this film as it is amazing. Never thought I would cry in the cinema, but Miss You Already had me in tears of laughter and sadness.
16 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Tears, tears, tears
n-kefala9 November 2015
This is a film made by women and is about women's friendship, but there isn't anything new in this story, which means nothing that we haven't seen before. "Miss You Already" has some important things to say about cancer, and the problems of womanhood, like the arrival of a baby - but there aren't well said. Drew Barrymore and Toni Collette have a great chemistry, and maybe, this is the only reason to watch this movie. OK, if you are super sensitive (or even worst, you are dealing with this serious problems) the tears will flow very easily and that's it. This is a drama, with a little bit of humour, but overall, it's a disappointing effort from director Catherine Hardwicke.
11 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Sad movie, but funny too.
desiree-tehiko927 November 2015
Warning: Spoilers
This is a pretty sad movie, I didn't cry, but the other cinema goers when I went were breaking down. It's a beautiful story, and can be relate able to females, or males I suppose, who have a really best friend that no matter what life throws your friendships way, whether it be relationships, schools, interests, jobs etc, that you will still always find your way back to one another.

I did have a slight problem with this film however, the god damn camera work, WTF Catherine Hardwicke!!! (Director) can you like give us less than twenty thousand close up shots, and more than two establishing shots! Please, and thank you. **These are estimates only** It's like she tried to make this a really indie film where everything was close and intimate, but it was just annoying and shaky and a pain in my ass.

The acting was really well done though, like really well done, and maybe I'm biased because I'm like a really big Drew Barrymore fan, but I thought she was amazing and funny as per usual and Toni Collette? she was amazing too, and dare I say she did a pretty good English accent. They both had a really good chemistry and were believable as best friends.

It's fair to note though, that Milly (Collette) had cancer throughout the movie and was really self- centered and annoying throughout the movie, and Jess (Barrymore) was either pregnant, or trying to get pregnant throughout the movie so that was a random as bit to the movie. The husbands? sod off, most aren't that understanding and amazing at ALL times, so they could have toned that down a little bit.

Otherwise overall it was a good movie and is a touching more light- hearted look at the serious effects of cancer.

*Recommendation: Take a box of tissues if you cry easily.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Miss You Already
jboothmillard1 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
The two leading actresses were getting about on the chat shows and so on to promote this new film, and it was getting positive reviews, I was looking forward to seeing what this film had to offer in the subject tackled, directed by Catherine Hardwicke (Thirteen, Lords of Dogtown, Twilight, Red Riding Hood). Basically Jess (Drew Barrymore) and Milly (Toni Collette) have been best friends ever since childhood, and have shared everything since, from secret, clothes, laughs, substances and even boyfriends, it was their differences that drew them together, they have had to become more mature and develop individual lives as adults, but that does not stop them having fun. Milly has a successful high-flying career and lives in a beautiful townhouse with rock star husband Kit (Dominic Cooper) and their two children, Scarlett (Honor Kneafsey) and Ben (Ryan Lennon); Jess works in a community garden and lives in a houseboat with her boyfriend Jago (The Bourne Ultimatum's Paddy Considine), they desperately want a baby together. The friendship between Jess and Milly is truly tested when Milly is given life changing news, after a checkup with doctors she is told that she has breast cancer, so she needs Jess's support now more than ever, but she has to balance her own life as well. Milly starts to go through chemotherapy, meaning the loss of her hair, and she also has an operation that will hopefully remove the cancerous tumour in her breast and stop it returning, this also means reconstructive surgery for her breast tissue, Jess does support and see Milly as much as she can. Jess is overjoyed when she is finally pregnant, then she is shocked to discover, when travelling with her to a hotel in the mountain countryside, that Milly has been having an affair with waiter Ace (Tyson Ritter), Jess upset storms off, and has a little fall that later may cause complications for her pregnancy. Milly's cancer treatment has been unsuccessful and it is unclear how much longer she has to live, she is able to make it up with Jess, and when it comes time for Jess to give birth to her first child her best friend is determined to get to the hospital to witness it, with the help of her actress mother Miranda (The Deep's Jacqueline Bisset), Jago meanwhile is forced to work on a rig and watch the birth through a live internet feed. In the end Jess is with Milly in her final moments of life in a hospice, she promises her best friend that she will care for her children and to find happiness, Milly dies, but her spirit remains with Jess in the form of her mischievous daughter, and life goes on. Also starring Vicious's Frances de la Tour as Jill and Mem Ferda as Ahmed. Barrymore and Collette are brilliant as the best friends challenged by the highs and lows of life and with one facing a life-threatening illness, the cancer progression is very realistic, but the film is thankfully not full of too much sentimentality and mawkishness, it actually has funny moments along the way as well, all in all it is a great comedy drama. Very good!
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A trashy, even more predictable, version of Beaches
laughing_cat26 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Aside from the obvious chemistry between Toni Collette and Drew Barrymore, there are so many things wrong with this movie. I hung in there until the end--the incredibly predictable end--if only to confirm my predictions.

Apparently, according to this film, being diagnosed with breast cancer is a sudden ticket to be a complete narcissist. For a mother who promised her kids she would always be there for them, she sure has a short memory, even when things were within her control.

What a waste.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A toned down 50/50 for women. Very heartfelt comedy that will leave you feeling happy, which is hard to do with this subject
cosmo_tiger26 February 2016
"I just don't want to rub it in that my life is great right now." Jess (Barrymore) and Milly (Collette) have been friends forever. They have experienced the best and worst life has to offer them. Their strength of their friendship is tested when Milly is diagnosed with cancer and Jess becomes pregnant. This is a very good movie that isn't as depressing as you may think. The chemistry between the two actresses is perfect and you really feel like they have been friends for years and years. The movie is comedy, drama, real and emotional all at the same time without ever becoming sappy or totally clichéd. I think that women will enjoy this more than men, but I did think it was good and I actually do recommend this. A great story about true friendship and being there for each other no matter what happens. It's a toned down 50/50 for women. Overall, a very heartfelt comedy that will leave you feeling happy, which is hard to do with this subject matter. I give this a B.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Maybe I missed the point..... Warning: Spoilers
A film that thinks it's ticking all the boxes but it's trying too hard, it's trying to make people cry without making you like the characters, I love a film with heart but this is rank average and lacking in genuine heart and just annoyed me to a certain extent.

I lost my wife to cancer when she was 28 and I didn't even get close to a tear watching this, if that doesn't tell you the film misses the point then maybe nothing will.

Maybe it's harsh but it comes across as written by someone who is trying to imagine losing their wife or best friend to cancer, self indulgent and cliche, that's not what a cancer diagnosis is. I cry at so many films and this didn't touch the sides emotionally. Casting I thought was poor for the roles.

I've watched lots of films about cancer before and after my wife died and this is the first one that actually annoyed me, lazy filmmaking.

Don't think I've ever written such a negative review but just felt the need to watching it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not Good enough
pennyelenabooks8 May 2019
The problem with this film is that it is not original. That and the way the characters were portraiyed was off. They were just too perfect, too predictable to the point they got annoying. The camera shots were a mess as well.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Splendid piece of work by all cast!
samarthkhandekar6 November 2018
Especially, both Drew Barrymore and Toni Collete brings out all the natural affection into the film. They both show us the great Importance of having a best friend (That no one other can replace)* in our life since the beginning till the last.... The may be dedicated to all bffs around!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A sad, yet funny film
akcenat12 October 2018
"Miss You Already" follows rebellious Milly (Toni Collette) and her struggle with the cancer, supported by best bud Jess (Drew Barrymore). And special mention goes to Milly's mum, Miranda, a high class woman who barely holding it together (as a mother would) - this role was so superbly played by divine Jacqueline Bisset. This is without a doubt a female driven story but men do play a pretty significant part. The film does a great job of depicting and showing how having a disease like breast cancer can change your life as well as those around you. This movie does however fall into a trap of lifetime clichés and the middle section of the film gently touches boredom why it feels like it could have lost 15 minutes or so. "Miss You Already" is not a perfect movie, but few movies are. It handles a hard subject in a noble way with skill. This makes it able to compensate for some of its shortcomings. 8-/10
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Solid 8 Star Movie! Excellent tear-jerker!
huggibear25 May 2018
I'm glad I watched this on Hulu before it expired. It was well worth the time to watch! I cried my heart out though, so be aware if you are a 'softy' or a 'sucker for a heart-warming film', then watch this for sure. I believe you will enjoy it. It's different for Drew Barrymore, but she does very well in this. Check this movie out if you get a chance. I don't believe you'll be disappointed.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Pass
boattop4 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Possible Spoiler : Drew Barrymore and Toni Collette, two of my favourite actors, in a movie together...what could go wrong? Well, the acting was dreadful...it started off well, though. The opening, Drew's narrative. Growing up together, it was fun. But Toni Collette started to act terribly ,too off the top, unbelievably bad. People think it was her best performance to date, nope, not this writer. And Drew? She is just there, like gum on the bottom of your shoe. I really like her, but maybe she should stick behind the camera for awhile. I wanted Millie (Toni) to hurry up and depart this world and leave everyone alone. No tears from us, just want a couple of hours of my life back.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
good acting but rather depressing
hmearns28 September 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Not quite what I was expecting, thought it was rather depressing at times watching someone going through treatment for breast cancer and seeing lots of the realistic detail. There were some funny bits when the girls were younger how they met and how they partied before they had any responsibiltys. The acting was very good, especially by the mum. After leaving the cinema i felt very low, rather than uplifted as I normally like to feel after a good film. Mistake going with my husband if you really want to see the film then go with a girlie friend. Also Think carefully about going to see if you are close to someone going through cancer treatment at the moment.
5 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed