The Stranger (2014) Poster

(IV) (2014)

User Reviews

Review this title
20 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Not without faults
kosmasp22 February 2015
But still very intriguing and very weird, which I found to be good. It's not really new and you will be able to guess a couple of things coming along the way, but the way it is told and shot respectively (very dark) may be exactly right up your ally. Or you might hate it for that, but you'll be able to know very early on if you like it or not, the mood is set very early on.

It's a slow burner, but there will be blood and action if you are patient enough to wait for those "sparks"/moments to happen. It's not the flashiest of movies or the fanciest in the horror/suspense category, but it does many things right. Are you up for that?
32 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
An original approach but lousy acting ...
peterp-450-29871610 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
"The Stranger" is a typical example of a film with an original approach to an already widely used subject, that initially creates a momentary excitement, which then however is nipped in the bud by a pace that claims some patience, dark settings (although in this case that's quite obviously) and mostly lousy renditions by some members of the cast. In the beginning I had the impression that this story took place somewhere in South America. Afterwards I was quite surprised when it turned out it was situated somewhere in Canada. The Chilean director Guillermo Amoedo sought most of his cast among the Chilean population. Hence the confusion. Besides, the sounding title "Eli Roth presents The Stranger" isn't a reason to get excited immediately. Just as in "Clown" his name is prominently mentioned on the cover. But this isn't an insurance for a high quality end result.

The main character Martin (Cristobal Tapia Montt) appears one evening at the door of a shabby house that's inhabited by Peter (Nicolas Duran) and his mother Monica (Alessandra Guerzoni), asking if they know where his ex-girlfriend is. The simple answer he gets, leads him to the local cemetery where he's looking sadly down at the grave of Ana (Lorenza Izzo). Moments later the local hooligan Caleb (Ariel Levy) and his mindless friends bump into him. Martin doesn't even bother to defend himself while these loafers brutally molest him. It looks like he's sick of life and he's actually left behind for dead. Caleb's father, Police Inspector De Luca (Luis Gnecco), tries to cover up the crime and hides the corpse. Peter, who witnessed the whole thing, takes Martin home to take care of him. Apparently it's not so obvious to kill this stranger and afterwards it seems that his blood, as he declared furiously, is contagious.

The only feeling I had after watching "The Stranger" was an unsatisfied one. The subject was inventive and had potential to make something interesting out of it, but that wasn't realized. The film is painfully slow and in terms of action it's not that impressive. The obvious theme of vampirism shines through the film even though it's not explicitly named. But the fact that Martin is in need of consuming blood and can't stand sunlight clearly points in that direction. His only goal is to get rid of similar people, including himself. Therefore there's this ever-present morbid, depressed and violent atmosphere around him. And then there is the phenomenon of healing blood which really distances this film from all the other movies with blood-sucking creatures of the night. But attempts to differentiate itself from the older movies where Dracula and associates flutter, are nullified because the most common clichés of this genre are still valid. For example, a sun cream with factor 100 is indispensable for Martin.

Cristobal Tapia Montt really was wonderful in his role. The constant inner struggle. The destructive attitude on the one hand and the role as martyr which he appropriates himself. At times I even thought he looked a little bit like Jake Gyllenhaal. Nicolas Duran's contribution was also acceptable on some level. Although I'm still impressed how quickly he managed to overcome his drug addiction. Furthermore, the rest was filled with the familiar, clichéd characters. But also there were some abominable interpretations. At times it seemed as if the dialogs were read directly from the script. Among other Alessandra Guerzoni made use of overacting in general. And Luis Gnecco appeared not to master the English language and it looked as if he was dubbed sometimes. Even Ariel Levy's performance wasn't that impressive from time to time. Although his appearance at the end was fairly successful.

"The Stranger" isn't exactly a masterpiece and has some flaws. Yet Amoedo succeeded in creating an eerie atmosphere with some horror moments and downright brutal, bloody fragments. This film brings nothing new in the familiar horror genre, but it's still worth the effort to give it a try. And although the ever-present darkness isn't exactly an advantage, ultimately this creates a dark and grim atmosphere.

More reviews here : http://bit.ly/1KIdQMT
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Ham-Fisted to Say the Least
shaffer-274298 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
As a previous reviewer pointed out, this is a vampire movie that doesn't seem like a vampire movie at first. It becomes obvious pretty early on but it doesn't feel like even good vampire movies that are out there.

The problem comes from the characters. The writing is a god-awful vomit of words that just seems so fake as to be a parody of itself. The goofy thugs on "the stranger"'s first night were so brazen as to be impossible to believe. The corrupt cop dad showing up... OK, I can buy that. But then he starts acting as if absolutely nobody will do anything to him for not only dragging the body of a murder victim off to hide it for his idiotic son but then he picks up the kid, sets him on fire, pulls him off of a bus in front of dozens of passengers and... How do you write this and not see how insanely goofy this is?

The main characters aren't QUITE as unbelievable but the outright stupidity of some of them can't be believed either.

Conceptually it had potential. The execution was a miserable failure
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
It took me a while to figure out why this movie was annoying me...
venusboys322 June 2015
The movie looks great and the actors seem OK... but as I watched something kept bugging me. Repeatedly taking me out of the story and making me wonder 'what's wrong here?'. It took me a while but it started to dawn on me that none of the voices seem right. Overly precise and just don't go with the faces, if that makes sense. I'm pretty sure now that this was done with the actors speaking English, maybe phonetically, but probably with strong accents... and then later dubbed over with native English speakers. It creates a subtle but jarring effect that really got in the way of my enjoying what otherwise is a pretty good little horror tale. A bad decision, IMO... though a lot of the blame goes to audiences who refuse to watch subtitles.

OK, other than that major complaint... it's not bad. Never scary... not too surprising.... but competent.
22 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Had potential but had off points however
jonnytheshirt21 July 2015
Must admit the trailer looked promising for The Stranger and the movie certainly had some interesting elements. I'll avoid spoilers however from the cover alone you can gleam a hint. It was really strange for me however as it almost seemed like some of the cast had their voices dubbed over, this was very strange as others sounded fine and I don't know why that happened but it was off putting as some of the cast subsequently (whether related or not) just seemed not to be doing a great job acting. So we ended up with a strange movie with a mixed cast of almost amateurs and some pros, very strange. I would have liked to know more of the how and why and less of the rather forced plot devices and characters. A shame as there really were some good elements to this horror movie however it all ended up a bit all over the show despite good efforts.
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good Concept But....
creative-2221 February 2016
This movie had potential. Conceptually it is a solid take on the Vampire genre and it was shot well, but.... But.

It is like the movie was directed and written by a 10 year old. The dialog was just way too simple and I felt like I was watching some dubbed Italian horror flick from the 70's. Not that there is anything wrong with dubbed Italian horror flicks from the 70's. I actually find them to be charming. But, it's 2016 and the fact that I was constantly distracted by these attributes was fairly annoying.

Worth watching on a rainy day, but I wouldn't put it on the must watch bucket list.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Soooo Close to Being Good
view_and_review8 February 2016
This movie was pretty good but it had the potential to be great. Ooooh I'm so bothered. Everything lined up: the story, the camera-work, the directing... then there was one character and his acting. My oh my how terrible was his acting.

Lieutenant De Luca was his name (Luis Gnecco). He was abysmal. A bald, tough guy, rule breaking cop with a loose cannon for a son that he would stick his neck out to protect. Even when his son assaults and terrorizes random people in the small town the lieutenant makes sure to cover up for him. But he was so over the top with his acting and such a caricature.

You know how there are some bad guys that you respect because of their badassness (ala Darth Vader, the Joker, Michael Myers) and there are some bad guys that you loathe because of how wicked and evil they are (Mommy Dearest, Chucky, etc.). Lieutenant De Luca was neither. You just hate him because he's trying to be something he's not. He wants to be the Darth Vader but he is more like Dark Helmet--doesn't look the part of villain and can't act the part of villain.

He romped around his small town doing as he pleased with total disregard of any semblance of laws. And because we've learned that in a small town you can do that, the other police as well as the townsfolk accepted it as commonplace. It wasn't simply his overt flexing of his executive muscle, it was the total lack of tact, guile or cleverness and the absolutely silly pathetic look he displayed when he was supposed to be tough. He was neither tough nor smart as hard as he tried to portray that. His stature and face conveyed "pity me" and the forced nature of his gruff tough guy voice conveyed "Let me make a good impression in this role." None of it worked. His character didn't work for him and he didn't work for his character.

I was so torn. The two main protagonists and the story had me drawn in but I just kept being nagged by that lieutenant. He was like a cut lip when you're trying to enjoy a good meal. The food is so good but the overall enjoyment is ruined by the pain.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Intriguing and mysterious thriller
MarkyMarkNolan26 September 2014
From executive producers Nicolas Lopez and Eli Roth, The Stranger marks the English language debut of writer/director Guillermo Amoedo. The Uruguay native is better known for his Spanish language movies filmed in Chile. With The Stranger, Amoedo and company continue their tradition of working in Chile, but have decided to give this horror/thriller more of an American flavor. The story takes place in a small, normally quiet town where teen misfit Peter (Nicolas Duran) lives with his mother Monica (Alessandra Guerzoni). When a mysterious man (Cristobal Tapia Montt) comes into town seeking Peter and Monica's former friend Ana (Lorenza Izzo), the once quiet municipality undergoes a violent and bloody transformation.

With outstanding acting and solid writing and direction, The Stranger is an intriguing and mysterious thriller that also deliciously serves its audience some horror goods as well. Never going too over-the-top, Amoedo builds up the suspense slowly and effectively and unleashes the wicked and frightening moments sparingly, but effectively. The movie doesn't bring much new to the genre, but still makes an impact with some awe-inspiring moments, and superb performances from the cast. Nicolas Duran, who makes his film debut here, deserves high praise for delivering such an exceptional performance.
25 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Really liked this one
reallyevilboy7 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I'm ticking the spoiler box because I'm going to call this a vampire movie.

Usually I would say, "hey, everyone knows this is a vampire movie, there's no need to tick the box" but this is not an obvious vampire movie.

This is not some teen romp where vampires fall in love with humans because everyone is so very pretty (Thank God!!)

Someone had mentioned "near dark" in a previous review and I can slightly concur. It has that tainted reality feel to it that "Near Dark" has, though it has been literally decades since I saw that movie.

It's gritty and it's violent. When they hit each other, you wince, you really feel it. Actually, this is one of my few gripes for the film, as I'm getting older I'm enjoying less and less violence in movies and the violence in this movie really stands out.

It's a slow moving- half of the people will say "Oh yeah a vampire movie" right from the start while the other half will go *Oh, it's a Vampire movie?" right towards the end. (Unless they read this that is)

I have to say this though, what a horrible place to live. Looks pretty with the mountains and all but everyone is a complete prick.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The Stranger is an interesting but flawed horror film by director Guillermo Amoedo.
ebola1319 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
The log-line for the movie is very simple, a mysterious man shows up at a home in a small Canadian town. Thing promptly go sideways for not only the Stranger but also for just about everyone he encounters, plunging the town into a bloodbath.

The trailer for the movie gave me the impression it was some sort of early outbreak style horror film. The type of movie that tells how patient zero started the end of the world. It certainly could have gone in the direction I suppose but the film turns out to be much smaller in scope than expected, taking a different approach to an old horror trope. Who the Stranger searching for and why he needs to find them are clues that filmmaker Amoedo provides sparingly. The back story is filled in through flashbacks designed to provide the audience with motivation for the Stranger's actions.

The film is engaging to a degree but it's got serious flaws. The mystery is enough to keep you in it to the end and the gore and violence are well handled, if not brutal. The acting is extremely uneven but isn't bad enough to drag the movie down. Where the movie falls short for me is in how Amoedo handles the characters. There isn't really a likable character in the entire film. The old rule of storytelling is give the reader/viewer/listener one character they can root for. Amoedo gives us that…sort of. To start, everyone is damaged. All are worn out or on drugs or lost. The hero(es) are just terrible at standing up for themselves. None of them make good decisions. They're all inconsistent, or weak or just give into terrible situations without pushing back, taking a stand or trying to get help from someone outside of town. This becomes frustrating quickly because the villains are evil… and when I say evil I mean really evil.

They kill, maim, beat, torture, cover-up, intimidate, circumvent, and subdue anyone or anything that appear as a threat to them. They do all this without any compunction or real fear of being detected. The impunity with which the antagonists operate comes across as a bit implausible given the setting of the movie. Corrupt police are easier to swallow in bigger cities, but in a small (nice looking) Canadian town it's harder to accept based on the scope of the nefarious activities our antagonists are engaging in. This has a significant impact on the film's climax. When the final act begins the terrible transition that should push our Big Bad to another level of menace falls flat because we've already seen him be so damned evil it doesn't matter he's now an evil monster.

The Stranger falls squarely in the middle of the spectrum. It's worth seeing once and I enjoyed the unique approach to an old idea, but the execution was sloppy, leaving me less than thrilled when the movie finally came to it's conclusion.

Perhaps my review would best be summed up with one word… Meh.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Strangers in the night? Let the sunshine in!
Coventry16 April 2015
Warning: Spoilers
"Eli Roth presents…" and "from the writer of The Green Inferno" is what the poster of this film loudly and proudly proclaims… Writer/director Guillermo Amoede could perhaps benefit from his professional and personal link with Eli Roth for publicity and marketing reasons, but his very own long-feature "The Stranger" is definitely a lot more ambitious, fascinating and convoluted than anything that Eli Roth ever delivered himself! With "The Stranger", Guillermo Amoede single-handedly attempts to reanimate the sub- genre of vampire movies, complete with imaginative new ideas, profound character drawings and a thoroughly dark and harrowing atmosphere. The film perhaps didn't turn out to be a genuine masterpiece, but it's definitely a more than respectable attempt and one of the most unique and compelling horror efforts that I've seen during the past couple of years. "The Stranger" is also a very demanding film, with a tone that is continuously dead serious, sub plots and background stories that are all depressing and characters that are all melancholic. This surely isn't the type of movie that'll make you merry, especially because it also features a few very painful and 'unfair' death sequences, but it's guaranteed to leave some kind of lasting impression. Late one night in a remote little town, the 17-year- old graffiti vandal Peter receives a visit from a bearded stranger. He asks where he can find a certain Anna, but Anna has been dead and buried since many years. That same night, the stranger is attacked and killed by the local hoodlum Caleb and two of his friends. Peter witnesses the attack and alerts a patrolling police officer, but police officer De Luca is Caleb's dad and helps his son with hiding the body. But then the stranger miraculously turns out to be still alive and he aggressively refuses medical help from Peter and his nurse mother. Meanwhile Officer De Luca and Caleb found out that the body disappeared, so now they head out to kill both the stranger and Peter. This couple of sentences only covers a very small part of the convoluted plot. In fact, I already revealed a fairly major plot twist by stating that "The Stranger" is a vampire movie, since this only becomes apparent after a while. There is a lot more detailed subject matter related to the stranger's search for Anna, the link with Peter and the relationship between Officer De Luca and his troubled son. The scenario isn't always convincing or realistic. For example, I find it rather implausible that a corrupt police officer can sabotage a serious case so intensely and for so long without his colleagues interfering. The pacing is also quite slow, which might put off several viewers, but the slow pace definitely suits the sober ambiance and dark undertones. "The Stranger" also contains a bit of explicit violence and nasty make-up effects, so I won't immediately recommend it to squeamish people. However, if you have the stomach for it, and you're looking for a brutal thriller with a good plot, don't hesitate to check out "The Stranger".
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Bad Blood
scythertitus1 May 2017
While this film has an interesting premise and could have been a really good story, the execution is just so dull, slow and overly- dramatic that it really does suck all the joy and entertainment value out of it.

What's more it takes ages to show the audience what most people will have guessed in the first five minutes. With all the grandstanding and wasted time taken away this really could have just been a solid short rather than a feature film.

Overall it is hard to recommend The Stranger since it doesn't really provide enough entertainment or originality to justify its existence. Only watch if you for some reason enjoy really slow, not- horrorific in any way, horrors that have only the smallest amount of substance to justify their overly-serious tone.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Future vampire classic like Near Dark !
epiceffectss27 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Well well well , what a surprise this was. After the last decade of vampire films (yawn) I've finally seen one that was fantastic and original. Reminded me of the surprise I had with "Let me in".This was superb. Towards the end I felt reminiscent of "Near Dark" and I can see this film gaining cult status. Vampire films are made every decade and then in the following decades you see lists of fave cult ones , I'm going to say this one belongs in the list for this decade. It's very good. OK so now to the quick review with spoilers. A loner enters a small town and gets into trouble with the local bad guys. He has come to the village with the purpose of seeking out his dead wife's son. The bad guys try to murder him yet they fail. For he has the vampire blood. He's very low key about this , no silly special fighting etc , his one ability is that he can heal. There's so many twists and turns in this film I'm not going to list it all as that would spoil it for anyone who watches it. The acting is great , cinematography excellent , script is first class , pacing of the film is good , ending of film is good. Can't really fault this on anything and I'm not a vampire fan , I used to like vampire films but haven't seen a good one since "let me in". If I had to compare it to any other film I would say "Near dark" for this decade. Excellent.
6 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The Best Part Is When The Movie Is Over
destinylives5224 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
A modern, vampire tale: a man (played by Cristobal Tapia Montt) enters a small town looking for a woman. Instead, he finds trouble: a young thug who does what he wants because of who his father is; and the thug's father, a high-ranking police officer who will do anything to protect his son. Father and son commit a heinous crime that they try to cover up, but "The Stranger" has terrible secrets of his own that will threaten to spill the blood of many who live in the town.

My most memorable, movie moment of "The Stranger" was the start of the closing credits. I was so happy that it ended and my suffering was over. Why did I not stop the movie earlier? Because I was watching it with three other people…otherwise this movie would have been stopped at the 20 minute mark.

A badly written script (almost every line has the word "f*@k" or some variant of it, telling me that the writer/director doesn't have the skill to create tense, gripping dialogue without the crutch of curse words; characters who do things that make no sense; pacing that is off), and acting that belongs in high school plays completely wreck a good story. If you're looking for a movie to watch while folding your laundry and playing with your phone and checking out the sale items on the local CVS flier, then this movie is for you! Mannysmemorablemoviemoments
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
More Dreadful Than Dread
LeonLouisRicci18 November 2015
This Indie has Insurmountable Problems from the Get-Go. First, the Dialog Sounds Dubbed and the Ultra-Melodramatic Overacting by Everyone has to be the Fault of the Director.

Also, in almost Every Scene Characters are Told to Do Something and They just Stare, are told to do it Again, more Staring, and in a Louder Voice told to do it Again, and then They Slowly Begin to do what They are Told.

This makes for an Awkward Flow and the Movie Hiccups this way Throughout. Add to that when different Characters Use the Phrase..."You piece of Sh*t"...at least Three Times, all Hope is Lost for this to be anything but Amateur Hour.

The Dark, almost Black Color Template with Bright Red Blood Splattered about calls Attention to itself most of the Time and it Looks quite Silly. The Story attempts to be Ambiguous and Clever but Never is Mysterious or Intriguing.

The Film really Doesn't Manage to do Anything Remarkable but it's Not Awful. The Filmmakers are just Stretching Their Talent Beyond its reach. If there is Such a Thing as Trying to Hard, This is it.
4 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The curse of vampirism torments its victims in a small coastal town.
phil-3744226 December 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Although most critics gave this low ratings in spite of citing some good aspects, I found this movie to be much better than average because of its thoughtful, understated style which is a relief from so many vampire films in which the violence hides the subtler qualities. This film does have its violent moments (I thought the death of Caleb was one of the more interesting ways I have seen one vampire kill another), but they support the storyline instead of overwhelming it.

The best quality I found in "The Stranger" was its way of continually maintaining a haunting, eerie suspense without letting it flag. I never knew exactly what was going to happen next or to where the film was leading me, although this is easier to see in hindsight of course. I also thought its minimalist approach to the portrayal of vampires as average people afflicted with a horrific, contagious disease was a refreshing relief from the clichéd motif of vampires as hyper-erotic, ultra-violent super-humans. The vampires here are average people tormented by an ailment that forces them to kill for blood while constantly threatened by incineration by the sun. The vampires here do not revel in evil and, other than being able to heal very quickly from mortal wounds, do not have supernatural abilities. This allows the viewer to become more sympathetic to their plight and to root for them when threatened by the antagonists.

The plot is not overly innovative, but it manages to be a decent vehicle for the suspense.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I look forward to seeing more from the Roth/Lopez/Amoedo team, in the future!
Hellmant20 October 2015
'THE STRANGER': Three and a Half Stars (Out of Five)

Horror flick from writer/director Guillermo Amoedo, and producers Eli Roth and Nicolas Lopez (the three also worked together on 'AFTERSHOCK', 'THE GREEN INFERNO' and 'KNOCK KNOCK'). This film tells the story of a mysterious stranger, with a deadly disease, who comes to town looking for his wife; but death and chaos follows him. The movie stars Cristobal Tapia Montt, Nicolás Durán, Luis Gnecco, Ariel Levy, Alessandra Guerzoni, Lorenza Izzo and Aaron Burns. It's an interesting and well made vampire drama flick.

Martin (Tapia Montt) comes back home, to a small town, looking for his wife, Ana (Izzo). Instead he finds trouble, in the form of a gang of violent hooligans. Martin is attacked, and left for dead, by the criminals; but a young man, named Peter (Durán), comes to his rescue. A police officer, named Lieutenant De Luca (Gnecco), is the father of one of the gang members; and he's used to covering up his son's crimes. The Lieutenant is extremely troubled by the presence of this mysterious stranger. When the townsfolk learn what Martin's blood can do, things become even more crazy; and violent.

The movie takes it's time getting going, but it's worth the wait. It's not full of excessive gore, like a lot of vampire flicks, but it's got enough action and thrills, to keep most viewers entertained. All of the performances are decent enough, and Amoedo does a more than adequate job directing. I look forward to seeing more from him, and the Roth/Lopez/Amoedo team, in the future!

Watch our movie review show 'MOVIE TALK' at: https://youtu.be/rHh87mlE5WQ
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Spoilers follow ...
parry_na1 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Despite a fairly unimaginative title and promotion, this is a gem of a film. In fact, its unassuming marketing suits the small-town mystery of its story. It concerns the plight of drifter Martin (Cristobal Tapia Montt) who, having finally found that his missing wife is dead, also seems resigned to die at the hands of three local roughnecks who accost him. If only things were that simple.

Co-produced by Eli Roth, this is a bleak affair, but one that moves at such a pace there is no real time to become really mournful. Every rapidly moving occurrence is explained fully and there are no gaping plot-holes. The local Lieutenant De Luca (Luis Gnecco) is probably the least easy to believe in – which is saying something, considering the breed of characters he shares the stage with – because he is so blatantly evil. With his bravado brutality (a trait he seems to have passed onto his son, Ariel Levy's vile Caleb), you would have thought his actions would have been discovered and he would have been drummed out of the force a long time ago.

Due to his nature, Martin is equally brutal in his determination not to let his 'infection' spread, and yet he emerges as a true hero, alongside the faithful young Peter (Nicolás Durán) with whom an unsaid degree of trust has been formed. I am carefully trying to avoid spoilers with this, because there are so many twists and revelations that to reveal any one of them would undermine the experience of watching this hugely enjoyable, rather overlooked film.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Woth Your Time If You Like Gore
redrobin62-321-20731114 December 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I think I might be too generous with awarding good marks to movies that others characterize as being so-so. Perhaps it's the budding filmmaker in me that goes easy on new and unknown directors. One noticeable and annoying weakness in the film is how spineless the kid is. My goodness, they made him as soft as jellyfish. Also, the level of violence that the three thugs initially unleashed on the stranger was a little unrealistic and over the top for such a small town. But, drama being drama, I suppose it was necessary.

Other reviewers here have pointed out how stiff some of the dialog is, and I agree with them. The scriptwriter could've been a little more creative. The lighting and direction was fine however so no complaints in that department. Gore hounds will like this film for sure as it delivers blood in spades. I thought it was interesting how the Stranger-vampire felt enormous pain when being assailed by his antagonists. I don't think I've ever seen that before, at least not with this much conviction anyway.

This raw movie is far from the cheesy Hollywood suburban teen flicks. No buxom lasses strutting around in their underwear, no clichéd jock/nerd/goth kids, no overused "loss of cellphone coverage" in a cabin in the woods shtick and, thankfully, no found footage nonsense. This is a mature horror film and, yes, it might remind you of "Let the Right One In", but it's still worth your while.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Good story, but bad acting!
insane797 July 2017
I never write reviews but this time I had to! The story itself is not bad at all, but the acting is. Only Cristobal Tapia Montt as Martin is saved here. Also, the lines in some cases are really off! The dialogues sometimes really don't deliver. Production company IFC Midnight normally produces good or decent horror movies, but this time is sadly not the case. If you are a horror fan and you have a lot of time, then watch it.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed