Arrow (TV Series 2012– ) Poster

(2012– )

User Reviews

Review this title
671 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Given up
petragreen10 October 2017
The first 2 seasons of the show was amazing however after that it got stale and boring. I decided to give up less than half way through season 5. The flashbacks become uninteresting. The villains after 2 seasons are boring. Love story is soap opera material. Season 4 made the show unrealistic with the sci-fi magic. Arrow was more interesting when he was working alone without any sidekicks.
151 out of 198 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great show, even if you're not into comics
terbo55910 October 2016
This show started off great from season 1, onto season 2, then it began to slow down a bit in season 3 and 4, but it picks up again with action in season 5. There are many story line build ups, and great flashbacks, and it also compliments with the action and fight scenes. One major critic of the show will be how the writers will often attempt to put in too many love sequences in a super hero show, another will be how the story doesn't follow up as well with the Green Arrow comics. If the show sticks to its action first and love story later, it will stay more consistent to what fans would love to see, and this will keep the show alive for a longer number of seasons. The best part of this show is that it provides its viewers with crossover episodes, and team ups with other super hero shows such as the Flash. These crossover episodes provides more action and delivers a comic book genre type of team up for fans or even non comic book fans to enjoy. On a side note, season 2 of this show is by far the best TV show season I have ever watched. Even if you do not have time watching this show, just watch season 2, you won't regret it.
17 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Finally Stopped Watching the Show
aryamanshady26 January 2018
After episodes of trying and trying I have fainlly stopped watching Arrow, Left it Midway season 6. Season 1 and 2 of the show were pure GOLD. Season 3 the show got a little sloppy. Season 4 was just terrible. Season 5 went surprisingly good and season 6 is just very boring and and terrible. The show lost its spark after season 3 and Arrow 's new "team" is just unbearable. If you compare it with Team Flash. The show lost its Billionaire Playboy Charm and the Dark cool Arrow long back, even Felicity and Diggle are annoying now. It feels like Greg Berlanti just lost his focus from the show. I hope they gain back the Season 1 spark.
52 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Arrow is becoming so boring.
chicodutep23 March 2017
It's becoming so boring that every bad guy in the series has more brains, more skills and more bravery than Oliver Queen. It has failed the fans making the Arrow a weak, troublesome individual that really anybody can defeat. Start making him more astute, more strong, and wiser than his enemies. The series is plagued with Oliver's failures to succeed. You have a great potential for the series do not waste it on stupid writing. We want to see a strong Arrow not a weak one defeated by everybody. Make him a winner again.
58 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
You have failed this show!
MyNameIsFelicitySmoak19 June 2016
You have failed this show! The first two seasons were brilliant. -meaningful flashbacks -great villains -good pacing -fitting dark tone

Season 3 had a drop in quality, and season 4 completely butchered a fantastic show. In season 4: -horrible meaningless flashbacks -worse acting -terrible villains -unfitting lighter tone -illogical story lines with many plot holes -more like a soap opera than a superhero/crime drama TV show

-butchering of major story lines like Andy Diggle, Oliver's child, HIVE

Rating for season 1 and 2: 8.7/10 Rating for season 3: 7.5/10 Rating for season 4: 5/10
23 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Soap Opera-Very little Super anything.
laura-638-9139513 March 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Any one who read DC comics will tell you Green Arrow is a poor mans Batman so to speak... That being said. With all the copy-write garbage I am sure it is easier to get rights to make a green arrow show rather than a new batman show... This still doesn't excuse how horrible this thing is. A friend referred it to me as a great show with the Flash in it. They don't cover the Flash at all really. Just a short cameo with normal Barry Allen. I would encourage you to watch a daytime soap opera then watch this garbage and tell me the difference. The acting is horrible. The writing is so awful that it must be done by drunken monkeys. They randomly put a villain in the clock tower and Arrows crew wonders where he is. They should just move their headquarters there. If they ask Laural one more time IS SOMETHING WRONG i will punch my TV.
159 out of 237 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Superhero series? More like Sex & The City
hypersonic899920 November 2012
Warning: Spoilers
(This review is written after having seen episodes 1-6 only) Who the hell decided to give the green light for this series in this state? Honestly, the people who made this must have never read a comic book in their lives.

First off, let's get the good things out of the way: the plot is very promising and so far it's the only thing that keeps me going, and the cinematography/effects are not bad, but they could use a little polish here and there, especially the choreography of some fight scenes. (2 stars from here) Now what is wrong with this series? They failed on every level to deliver us a show about a superhero. They took the idea of the Green Arrow and crapped all over it.

Firstly, the Green Arrow is supposed to be an incredibly stoic and cynical character when he is monologuing, with a witty tongue reserved for his foes. Someone who used to be a very naive young man once, but who was slapped in the face with the realization that the society around him is rotten to the core. So he sets off in a crusade to even the balance between the poor and the rich and bring some justice to his corner of the world with only his excellent archery skills as a weapon, as a modern-day Robin Hood. Now, the background story the series shows about him being stranded on the island shows this very good. However, his monologues are not as thought-provoking, philosophizing or caustically cynical as they appear in the comic books. I will give the actor though another star because after watching the first couple episodes, he is honestly trying to improve his character and deliver his poorly-written lines in an Arrow-like manner. Kudos to you sir for actually caring! Secondly, alas the efforts of one person are overshadowed by the failures of the rest of the acting crew. Plastic dolls posing in shop windows have better acting skills than this lot. First and foremost is the annoying ex-girlfriend Laurel whatever-her-name who delivers her lines in the most crude way possible. I can see her thinking trying to remember what she's supposed to say or what emotion to show in her face. It's like watching a baboon school play. The writing of her character doesn't help either. We are supposed to accept that AFTER 5 YEARS she is still in love with the guy who cheated on her WITH HER FRIGGIN SISTER, and who is responsible for her death? And how about his mother that apparently killed her husband, but threatens to raise hell if a hair of one of her family is even touched.

And then we come to the third and most crucial failing of this series. This is supposed to be a series about a superhero. I don't care at all about the sex life of his ex-girlfriend, I don't care about the sister's drinking problem, I don't care about the social life of anyone. Partly, because they fail as characters, but mostly because this is a series about a SUPERHERO. This isn't the Days of Our Lives, or Sex & The City. I'm not expecting to watch romantic crap about women on their period. I'm expecting to watch a superhero kick ass, bring justice to the wicked and perform some general pwnage. Don't get me wrong, I can understand showing how his actions to hide his alter ego affect those around him and how in turn he is affected himself, I like to see some inner conflict in my super heroes. What I don't like is the Green Arrow being a supporting actor in his own series. An average episode goes about 40 minutes and 30 of those are spent showing us uninteresting flirting between his friends and family, then the Green Arrow steps in the room and says he has to go (to fight bad guys) but instead of following him, we are stuck for another 4-5 minutes to witness the constant crying of his friends and family of how he never spends time with them.

I DON'T CARE!!!! Seriously, imagine watching a series about Batman, that all it does is show Catwoman talk to her girlfriends about how she is in love with a really cute guy called Clark Kent (yes Clark Kent, that's how messed up Arrow is).

A terrible effort and an outright insult, don't waste your time, at least for now.

It's still pretty early in the production (only 6 episodes so far) and as I said the plot seems interesting. Perhaps the CW network will come around to realizing how much more they could do with this series and improve it later on in the season. One can only hope.
185 out of 280 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Sorry if I sound like a smug, pretentious a-hole.
emanuelcoffeyrosell5 March 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Most overrated show I've seen, ever.

I know that a lot of TV is awful, but gets swallowed up because people do not venture far from the mainstream, dumbed down, hypnotic crap which constantly flows through the screen like a sewage pipe. However, I did not know that the amount of people, who are this uncultured and blind to any critical thought was this huge.

IMDb used to be (still is in many cases, it's a good site either way) a reliable source for figuring out whether a show/film was worth looking into, put seeing the high ratings of Arrow (which is 8.2 at the time of this being written) and the latest Hunger Games movie, I've lost hope.

The spoiler free premise: Rich brat kid goes on a boat trip with his dad, he's got a coke problem and lacks moral and discipline.

Boat sinks, everyone dies except him. He manages to maroon himself on an island, during this time he somehow manages to survive without any food nor drinking water (and probably with some bad coke withdrawal symptoms). He makes a bow out of what he can find on the island, gets really good at hunting animals and survives long enough for another ship to find him.

Well, this doesn't seem too bad, leaving out some of the back-story and other revelations of course.

But for some reason, he is now a parkour master, with martial arts skills, hacking skills (did he practice on a homemade computer he built out of wood and bear skin or something, maybe he powered it by putting a propeller in a tube and farting really hard to make a wind-turbine?).

Now, what he should have done on that island, is trained on his damn acting. Because it blows. If I was an actor in LA trying to make a name for myself, I would of bought the box-set and hit myself in the head repeatedly until I died from head trauma.

But if that isn't horrible enough, the entire cast share the most stale, unnatural, awful, awful acting abilities as the lead. It wouldn't have surprised me if the director got blown by every, single, member of the cast to be on this god forsaken show.

It's just so sad to see resources which could have fed starving children go to waste on this melodrama of an "action-show". Too bad dramas require acting, which the cast does not suffice to provide. It should be called "bags of skin who might actually be robots reciting the terrible writing of a talentless person on camera held by another talentless person who somehow managed to get payed and recognized in a extremely tough business" instead of acting in this case.

The style of this series is extremely similar to Smalville, with a lot of bright light and water drops in the eyes of the pretty female actresses to make them look better (which is the one thing they actually can do, for the most part), with the oily 80's pornflick filter and the half-arsed special effects. Though, Smallville actually being a half- decent show, gets a pass.

There was one scene I laughed out loud at (it wasn't actually the scenes where the director/writer intended it to be funny, because those scenes were so try-hard funny that I literally cringed), it was a scene where Mr. Arrow shoots an arrow next to this generic "bad guy's" head, the "bad guy" says: "Hah, you missed!" whereas Mr. Arrow replies "I didn't LOL.".

Apparently, he shot the the arrow (which actually had a flashdrive instead of a tip!) into the usb slot behind the "bad guy", which also contained a virus (which Mr. Arrow had taught himself to program on the island... or something?) which brought down the evil database, epic!

Haha!

Great writing indeed, no clichés included! I actually dislike this series so much, I feel good writing how awful it is, maybe I can discourage a single person to watch this lobotomy of a show and that would be enough to make me feel glad.

TL;DR:

Horrendous acting. Cliché-ridden, awful, hole-ridden, unoriginal and uninspiring writing. Horrendous acting. Overrated by people who would drink the kool-aid as long as the trailer had explosions in it. Directing and special effects on high school film project standards (that's actually insulting to high schoolers, since they actually have creativity, sorry). Acting, horrendous. Terrible makeup. Jokes and humour about as hilarious as reading obituaries.

Acting; horrendous.
135 out of 203 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
8.1????!!!!!!
russelene132 November 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I'm not sure why Arrow has an 8.1 rating, pretty high for an overly boring, almost laughable show.

First of all, why does Oliver always seem to feel the need to have sex with every woman he encounters? Second, why does everyone come back from the dead? And third, why does every villain they come across somehow related to the island Oliver was stranded in for five years?

Don't get me wrong. I do like the concept. I'm sure this would have been an amazing show if the script, or the plot, or the actors weren't so horrible. I find myself always laughing at the dumb things the characters say/do. The plot doesn't make sense at all, there's nothing remotely interesting or not ridiculous in it. And the characters are just as laughable. How did they cast these actors exactly? Was there even an audition or were they just going for the prettiest faces that came their way?

This used to be a good show, the first few episodes were good, that is. Somehow, it took a turn for the absolute worst.
68 out of 99 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Marc Guggenheim strikes again
dandrewbarlow10 May 2016
Season 3 was mediocre, but season 4 has a huge drop in quality (shoutout to Marc "Franchise Slaughterer" Guggenheim). If you are a fan of the series, do yourself a favor and stop watching. The Flash is really hitting it's stride if you're desperate for CW superhero shows. This season of Arrow is just a crudely stitched together collection of tumblr fanfics.

The characters have lost any real personality, and just serve to move the plot forward (this season is plagued by writers using half- baked concepts to push the "plot" forward by brute force). They frequently make decisions that defy any form of logic as well as any character traits of note. Any development that the characters have made in the past seasons has just disappeared, seemingly because they oppose Guggenheim's Mary Sue couple. Also it would be a misconception to think that the villain is the basis of any overarching plot. He's just a side note to said couple. Really this season seems to lack any direction whatsoever. It's like the writers are giving up on trying to provide any cohesive story. And to make it worse, while they could look back to some of the source material for some good ideas, they spit in its face in favor of their own rambling mess.

As a side-note, I feel that the length of this show has been a huge detractor from the start. Even in it's glory days, the seasons probably could have been trimmed in half or lower and tell the same story. A lot of the time on this show is wasted on silly stuff, and could it could be a huge improvement to trim down the story to something more concise and save more for the effects budget.

But honestly, is nobody in the studio checking up on them? Was this really looked at and approved by real people in the entertainment business? It boggles my mind that this could make it to air on such a well known show.

The CW's superhero shows have always been aimed at a more "teeny" audience, but at the levels that Guggenheim has taken it to, it seems like he would be better off writing those fanfics and letting someone with moderate respect for the story's integrity take over. I love the actors in this and wish them the best, but the only hope I can see for this show is to retcon this season and get a fresh team of writers because this may be the biggest train wreck I have ever witnessed make the air.
80 out of 119 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Painful
pjred22 April 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Save yourself the time with this one unless your less than about 12 years old or have a very low IQ.

It's like the ideas been pieced together from other shows. It's stupid, inconsistent, hypocritical, ridiculous, and most of the acting is terrible.

It's a pity because the underlying story with the mother and her associates is the shows only redemption. You just have to sit through the agony of the rest of the show to get this. Maybe they should save us all the heartache and just tell us what happens with that story line.
269 out of 427 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great show ... if not for the Flashbacks from Hell
A_Different_Drummer8 November 2013
Let's take a moment of mourning for the TV plot arcs of yore. Back when shows prioritized the characterizations above the action and, if indeed there was action, it took place precisely in the last 7 minutes of the episode, and was all done with before the close, giving the characters a chance to make light comic banter, close down the storyline, and give the audience a chance to go to the toilet. How many TV shows followed that formula I cannot say, but the number was in the 100s. Now all that has changed. You can now have action many times in the body of a show, it is permitted, even encouraged. And you have action even before the characterizations are fully developed. All this is positive evolution I think. But here the catch. There are no more "closed" story-lines. In the multi-band, multi-channel, multi-device electronic age, where viewers tend to have attention span of a hummingbird, nighttime TV has astonishingly borrowed the Rule Book of daytime soap operas and, lo!, plots never actually resolve, they just become more complex. ARROW is one of the best exponents of the new type of comic-book-derived drama, arguably as good as or even better than SMALLVILLE (which was, thematically, all over the map). Amell is great. He has a whispery kind of delivery which oddly makes what he says that much more interesting. The supporting cast is great. In fact the only thing that prevented me from giving this a "10" are the flashbacks. They are terrible. They are like some silent Hell the viewers must go through to get back to the actual episodes. It is almost as if the lead writer, as a small child, was locked in a closet with a DVD looping KUNG FU, and grew up to believe that you cannot advance 10 minutes of plot in the present, without 2 minutes of flashback to fortify it.
30 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Used to be Great
vazgav10 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This was one of the best TV shows you watch for comic book genre, It started of great well lit up scenes with loads of action, suspense and a good story-line, suddenly all of that was thrown out and made a weak series in which the main character reveals himself all the time and the action is terrible to watch, no suspense, no general direction of the character, in almost every episode its the same dialogue "Oliver if you want them to trust you, you should let them know who you are, and Oliver takes of his eye piece and says "I am the Green Arrow" L.O.L What Dafuq.

The show is just going down hill, specially that now the main character is now Felicity (sleeps with all the Billionaires and take their fortune and keeps them under her payroll) worst character, Thea Queen 2nd billionaire famous line "I am out".

Just keep the group small and the action hardcore like 1st season, identity reveal yeah stop that, let the character start killing again, and please don't bring dead people back to make their own show.

Season 1 - Great.

Season 2 - Just OK.

Season 3 - What is happening.

Season 4 - Why are you killing the show.

Season 5 - I give up, cant watch anymore.

Season 6 - Stopped watching.
17 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Bad bad bad
dparan2 June 2013
Warning: Spoilers
This show is bad, period. The only reason is watched it is so that I can bitch about it. It has characters and scenes ripped out of Batman Begins. Come on, with all that budget, you could have at least made an effort. Batman and Robin with Adam West was more entertaining and one could argue, more genuine. They had the formula, they knew they were being cheesy and they knew they were making it for kids. Sold. But Arrow is as lame as they come.

Stephen Amell, dude, nice work with the body building but you could have shaved off some of that hard jaw gritting internalizing stuff. He looked like he was constipated most of the time and the man was simply trying too hard to portray Oliver Queen as a conflicted, damaged and deeply hurt. It was simply not believable. Laurel Lance, oh, Laurel, couldn't one of those arrows accidentally misfired and killed her in episode 1? Laurel's character is a bimbo who wants to save the world and expects to be fed the truth by everyone she has a relationship with. The audience of course wonders why anyone would be truthful to this girl if she simply is not about to handle the truth.

The saving grace of this entire waste of money comes in the form of David Ramsey who plays Diggle and Paul Blackthorne who plays Quentin Lance. Brilliant actors who do it well. If Stephen Amell did not have Davd Ramsey to bounce off a lot of scenes off, he'd be a dead fish floating on the river Nile for all one would care.

I could go on but in all fairness, the actors worked hard. I give em that. The fault really lies with the writing and direction. It's movie making at it's worst. The show is forgettable. Or maybe to be more accurate, this show will be remembered only because it is so bad.

I'm giving it two stars - one star for David Ramsey and one for Paul Blackthorne.
65 out of 98 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Refreshing Take On The Vigilante Story
zack_wall11 October 2012
I was kind of sketchy when I first heard about this series, considering the terrible job that was done with 'The Cape'. I'm pleased to say that all of my doubts were unfounded. Arrow is a darn good show, and the first Pilot episode is very strong and leaves little confusion behind this vigilante's origins. I felt that the main actor properly conveys a somber and mature attitude in contrast to the description we receive of him as a partying playboy before the shipwreck. The action is intense and not over the top or completely unbelievable. What we're presented with is a young man whose 5 years spent on an island have shaped him up into an agile warrior tasked with cleaning up his city from corruption. I can't wait to see what lies in store through future episodes, and I certainly hope this show delivers the goods. So far, I believe we're in store for some quality television this fall.
338 out of 562 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful
zocicrni20 May 2016
Warning: Spoilers
What started as a promising show years ago, is now complete garbage. They all died and they all come back to life. Its like watching a Spanish tevenovela. And the flashbacks from the island, oh man. So bad i wanna cry. The Oliver Queen character is progressing same atm and on the island. And it doesn't even make sense. The parts with magic are so confusing, they tried to fill the gap with flashbacks from the island but its just so f bad. Also the magic effects look like something from a kids show like power rangers. I really cant find a good aspect of this show. And i tried so much to do so. This season will be my last, cause id be taking this show of my list. For the end sorry that my garbage English has the same quality as this show.
43 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Very Entertaining but Flawed Show
Fanboy21816 July 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I have seen all 23 episodes of Arrow, and honestly I'm pretty impressed. I believe this is inspired by Nolan's Dark Knight trilogy, but I don't think that it's a ripoff. For me, the show is never boring. It is like the combination between teen drama and the Dark Knight trilogy. Speaking of realism, this show is not realistic at all. Oliver with Diggle and Felicity seem to have any solution to every kind of problems, well it doesn't matter at all since this is a comic book adaptation.

As much as I love this show, I still think the show is so flawed. The cast aren't that good, well they are okay. Sometimes what really bothers me is the dialogs, it is so f-in cliché. The dialog is so fake that's filled with cheesy words that we'd NEVER say in real life. What I like most about the show are the action and the plot. The plot is very good, the crimes never seem to end, and I loved every episode in the series.

As much as how flawed the show is, it's pretty darn entertaining. It's obviously not Breaking Bad or game of Thrones, but it's one of the most entertaining shows in TV today.!
158 out of 258 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
a soap opera with a comic hero in it
impious11 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
hahahahhahahah! this is the most original thing i've seen in the past years! if only it were a comedy/parody ...

thinking of it, actually it's funnier this way so nvm the comedy/parody statement.

before i go on, i have to say that i've never read 'Green Arrow' but this is not the case here, at all.

why it's funny? for starters, look at the review title. this series is actually a soap opera, everything about it is, well, with the exception that Green Arrow stars in it. the directing is horrid, so is the acting and the character lines. the story looks OK and i'd really like to know how it unravels. there's also hot women in it (not something one wouldn't expect). those last two facts are not enough for one to sit and watch it but they're the reason why i rated with 3/10 and not 1/10.

what i will do, i propose you do the same, is start reading the 'Green Arrow' comic books and google for hot women instead of wasting my time watching this thing. it was really fun (hilarious tbh) watching the first couple of episodes (might be three, can't recall) but enough is enough.

next!
72 out of 112 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A Total Waste of Time
m_crossfox4 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Do yourself a favor and avoid this sh.. show. Everything about Arrow is bad. Acting, directing, story, dialogs, writing, Katie Cassidy, Katie Cassidy and her half expressions and Katie Cassidy. Ah, I almost forgot to tell how bad Katie Cassidy is. She really sucks at acting. Or she is super talented at acting like a girl who cannot act. But it's a fact that she makes this show more painful to watch.

Story is simple. An über- rich-spoiled-handsome-playboy trapped in an island -for 5 years and came back as a superhero who wants payback. And he uses only supa-duba-suga-baby arrows while his journey continues.

"Look, there's a locked door!" Bah! No need to be worry, next arrow he picks "randomly" will blast that door. But same arrow will do nothing to Dark Arrow's hand. Because, frak logic.

All bad guys are ex-stormtroopers I suppose. They always aim bad and shoot last. Shoot sky. Shoot wall. I mean, you gals have a machine gun and that guy has only arrows. You are like 10 guys at there. Just frakking shoot already! But no.

His mom, sister, lover, best friend won't recognize him because of the hood. Yeah. Probably the best cover since superman's s-shaped-hair.

No one will ever notice that Arrow and Oliver Queen show up and disappear always the same time. Oliver leaves town, Green Arrow leaves town. Oliver comes back, well, you got the point.

He has the most annoying sister. She makes you want to slap her in the mouth every time she speaks. And what was the scene at Glades with Roy? Town is about to explode and they made out. Oh god! Gosh! OH MY OH MY! Well writers, congrats, you used every possible cliché. Except saving the city at last second.

Katie Cassidy... Her body is at there you can say that easily but her face looks like a mask. You can't tell if she's crying or smiling or terrified or happy or about to die or or or or or. She has only a half expression and that's called "open-eyes-and-glare-to-the-person-you-are-facing". I can't believe how bad she is. I liked her in Supernatural. She's not that bad at Harper's Island either. But in Arrow, she kills pixels on your screen.

And I'm not overreacting, she is really that bad.

If you have lots and lots free time, go ahead, this could be your time passer. While you are playing solitaire, this show could be your background sound. But if you want to watch something serious, avoid this.
53 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Dumb
drshores10 October 2015
So disappointed and I used to love this show. My husband and I would anxiously await the new episode each week. Now, he is on his phone and I am on my kindle. The sexual tension between Oliver and Felicity was great. The series was at it's best when it was just Oliver, Diggle and Felicity on the team. Ever since the first time the Arrow joined with the Flash, the series has taken a nosedive. The writing has become eye rolling dumb and the lines just plain cheesy. The Arrow wears a costume to hide his identity, yet everyone and their brother now know his secret. Plus, all of his remaining friends and family think they are crime fighters now too. The acting is well done given the script that the actors have to work with. Please go back to the old formula and make this show great again.
128 out of 211 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Surprising and entertaining
aljaz_kerc11 October 2012
OK, just seen the first episode and I think it was amazing. I am not the biggest fan of comics or very knowledgeable about Green Arrow in general, so I feel I can be very objective in reviewing this show like I would any regular one, without fan-love ideas or huge expectations. The characters seem very believable so far, few minor doubts here and there but nothing crucial; acting also up to part. Story is realistic, without that fantastical loop holes that comic adaptations usually have (was told Green Arrow was like that in comics too, so I respect the decision to stay with that). CGI was decent, compliments to stunt collection and fighting choreography (well done, sir, well done), and quite good screenplay for this episode. The makers opened quite a few questions, made room for many ways show can stream to; I can say without a doubt, that this show is one of the surprises of this fall and I can only hope that the whole season lives up to this great pilot.
316 out of 545 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Awful and messy story
mands324 April 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Yesterday I turned off Arrow, Season 3 episode 20, before finishing it. I couldn't bear it any more. The horrible storyline has no end. What could have been such a good show, has been ruined by extremely bad writing, which also in turn makes the actors look bad. The story is so unbelievably stupid, and I don't get why it can attract so many viewers each week. The first season of arrow was quite alright. The 2nd started to introduce some strange sh*t, which didn't really make sense, and it was like they were already running out of ideas (But at least they killed of Sarah, which was a horrible character). This 3rd season has just been nothing short of a nightmare. They are just ruining the show, and I wouldn't be surprised if it gets canned. This Rha's al Ghul bullsh*t, has been going on for far too long. Also, How can they keep going back to that sh*tty Island, it's beyond me. And please, why does every person in the show needs to be a vigilante and a master kung fu fighter?

The only reason to watch this show, is if you like watching the flash, and you don't wanna miss any character progression. If you like these kind of shows, go watch the new Daredevil series. Really good story, Excellent acting and master-level fighting scenes.
33 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Good idea but really bad script.
utkarshonly25 April 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I was pretty excited about this and it started off well. However, soon there were loose ends which grew so much that it took the fun out of it.

It doesn't take a genius to tell that this series doesn't have a good script. Yes, there is a good past, a decent present and a hopeful future but nothing ties them together. Some scenes are so obvious that it makes me angry.

It looks to me that Stephen Amell didn't really understand his role which is again a turnoff. His acting is bland. He doesn't really exude a personality one would expect out of the "Arrow" in the script.

It has a similarity to batman with billionaire in disguise and all. But, Batman was really nice, this is not. The playboy setups up camp in his father's abandoned factory. The masked vigilante appears as soon as he gets back and no one doubts him. Not even his mother. Like I said a lot of loop holes.

I stopped watching after the fifth episode so, if they have improved which I am pretty sure that they haven't, then I wouldn't know.
43 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Another comic book hero poorly rendered on television
rwburkhardt18 October 2012
Warning: Spoilers
The writing for this series is beyond simplistic, and is heavy handed- which coincidentally aligns perfectly with the amateurish direction and phenomenally bad acting. David Ramsey puts in the best performances, which should speak volumes about the stink quality of the other actors. The CGI quality is laughable- video games have better effects for Pete's sake. The editing of the fight sequences at times look as if a live actor is fighting a blue screen and the foes are edited in later, and rather poorly at that. Then it looks as if frames are removed to make the action appear faster; The result is the "Arrow" is fighting a bit out of phase with the other combatants, and the action looks choppy as well. Two episodes in, and I can't imagine this hopeless dreck surviving a complete season- even on a two-bit channel like the CW.
210 out of 363 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed