Another (TV Series 2012) Poster

(2012)

User Reviews

Review this title
40 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
brilliant!
joelherro27 March 2012
Its been a while since I've seen a good horror anime...'Another' is definitely worthy...

Sakakibara is a new student at a small town high school. He becomes friends with a girl named Mei who wears an eye patch and doesn't have any friends. Eventually she tells him the story of how every year, a strange calamity occurs in class 3 of 9th yr...an 'extra' person is present in the class and things go horribly wrong for everyone unless certain steps are taken in advance. I don't want to spoil it, but I will say that it may seem confusing to begin with, but things become clearer with time...

I liked virtually everything about this show...the characters, the animation, the storyline...maybe it could have had better music (which was a bit too slow for my taste). Also, I saw the censored version where they black out any blood or (apparently excessive) violence, which sux, coz thats half the reason I was watching it! Bring on the uncensored version I say!
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Keep you guessing till the END
Rohb17 August 2012
I was really amaze how they keep the atmosphere so surreal and very spooky.The story is just simply brilliant,it really kept me guessing till the very end. It started with Mei," is she a ghost?"Did she died 15 years ago?? Class 3 counter measures."Counter measures for what?"Koichi "is Dead?" or maybe not "so who is? "What Calamity? stop it? HOW?...etc...Just,list of my many questions and a lot more to list here and keeps coming as the story progressed.YOU will have no idea which direction the story will take you from episodes to episodes.This is one of those times I really wish I can understand Nippon...Iam just gonna have to read the novel.When it's available.This is one good Horror mystery Anime and with a brilliant story to back it.A must see!!!!
18 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great anime
heavenversushell10 March 2012
I usually love Japanese anime for their amazing story telling and visuals and Another is one more master piece. Horror anime are tough to make but if they can make u keep on guessing whats gonna happen next and when your are shown something totally unexpected your hooked. A bit slow at the start but picks up pace from the 3rd episode and waiting for each episode is a pain. Finished 9 episodes now and with only 3 episodes left i don't know in which direction the story is going to go. For all horror or ghost story anime fans its a must watch. The basic premise is that a 9th grade class has a curse upon them in which students every year die. The main characters are trying to find out how the curse started and stop it before more of their friends die. I don't want to reveal much, watch it for yourself and enjoy!!!!!!!!
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Dark and sweet
imuckenschnabl6 December 2019
A dark horror/phantasy anime with a touch of romance. Lots of twists and turns in the gripping plot. Sweet animation and characters. Very enjoyable. No ecchi. 8/10 with a smile.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great Mystery Thriller
Cinematic_Bullshit25 October 2016
Another is labeled as a horror anime, but it really is much more of a mystery thriller. It has several scenes of gore and I guess that's the reason behind the 'horror' label. Anyway, the mystery is handled just right in that it keeps you wondering. You'll want to watch the next episode immediately to find out what is going on in this classroom?

The main character is kept in the dark about the strange events that occurred in his classroom a long time ago and how it affects what's happening now. A mysterious girl with an eye patch is ignored by all the students, yet he is not told why. As the days pass and as people die he begins to unravel the mystery.

Although it doesn't have the most well developed characters, the mystery plot is more than enough to keep you engaged.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Dark, gory and really good!!!
igusramsy11 January 2015
I have a real problem trying to find good anime that has amazing twists and plots. Most of the good ones i have watched already so imagine my delight when a friend recommended Another to me. Firstly, there was a lot of suspense and you kept questioning what was going to happen. You are left in the dark and i like that the show allows you to question things and try to make sense of everything without giving away the story. ( which they eventually do) All the reviews give the basic idea of the story away so i wont bother to say that again. All i can is that this is a good series and its short and quick. I especially liked how dark the show was, and the random shots of dolls faces which was creepy. There are a few wtf moments in the show that could make you angry, especially with Misaki, but hey! everything cant be perfect right? Either way, its a good way to spend a few hours. Enjoy!!
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very good mystery anime!
Irishchatter30 July 2018
It was a pretty good mystery anime, that's all I can say about it. Even though it wasn't that creepy, it was disturbing in its own ways but at the same time, it was all good!

Definitely recommend horror fans to watch this anime!
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Certainly one of the best anime I've ever watched.
premnigamkarpnk3 June 2019
I've got no clue why this is rated so low. I enjoyed every single moment of the anime. It was intense, clever, slick, suspenseful and most importantly unpredictable. I absolutely loved it.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Like a decent horror movie....
marinososfp15 August 2012
Another is an extremely mysterious story about a boy named Sakakibara who just transferred to school in his new city. He is assigned to the "cursed" as everybody calls it class C and meets the mysterious girl Misaki. From there the tragedy begins...

Well, for starters, it was totally worth it, you don't get to see real horror everyday in anime. And it wasn't only the deaths, the gore part. The author of this puts a real trial on the protagonists, destroying them emotionally and putting into real despair, so it is not only about solving the mystery but also about fighting themselves and for themselves. And that's what makes "Another" so special among others. Supernatural and Psychological horror in one mix of beautiful animation art.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A must for the Anime fan
kdv9330 August 2012
It's not too often an Anime keeps me guessing where the story is going, but Another certainly did that. From very early on in the story till the very climax of it all (which should be noted is extremely satisfying) Another never steps in the tracks of the expected, which is quite something for a horror story.

Though progressing somewhat slow in the beginning after the third episode the series boosts away and rarely stops to let you take a breath. As a mixture of true mystery/horror and Final Destination style deaths it's clear that no one is safe. Except for the "Another" off course.

Ki o tsukete!
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Masterpiece
atheshkana18 November 2021
It's creepy and the plot is awesome with the mysterious female protagonist.

I love this one worth watching. And also there are a lot of twists, those are great as hell.

Please watch it 🙏(Suggest:Watch at night with good headphones) The background scores are so great💥 It (literally)gives me goosebumps.

Please watch it 'cuz it is so underrated😢
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Nether watched more infuriating characters in my life
Bright_eyes_176 August 2020
I was really excited to watch this anime. I had had it on my watch list for years and thought today would finally be the day I started it. At first, it began really interestingly, but then the plot became very evident and yet the main character was completely ignoring every word the other characters were saying. He kept just doing the wrong thing and I've never wanted to scream at a screen more than this anime. Really disappointed with the characters in this one. I had to give it up
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A thrill(er) ride from start to finish
masonfewel19 May 2021
It's not horror by any means, but this was a pretty goddamn tense show. I like how they build up the mystery, but they actually give you answers to the mysteries they are building up like halfway through the show. Then, they introduce a new mystery so that you are intrigued the whole time and not bored of the same thing, and the last episode is the big reveal of the second mystery.

The second mystery (the whodunnit type thing, as opposed to the "what the heck is even going on" mystery) was set up really well imo. I kept going back and forth between who I thought it was, and then I landed on someone that I knew for sure that it was and it turned out it was false. Looking back, they gave more than enough info for someone with a keen eye to spot who it was, but I still couldn't figure it out, and I think that makes for the best type of mystery.

The soundtrack is really good, not a masterpiece but it fits the show really well and makes it feel very eerie and tense.

The visuals were also really good, not on the level of say, kyoani, but they were more than enough to make this show enjoyable.

This is my first (2nd if you count erased in the same category as this) time watching an anime like this, and I was thoroughly impressed. I didn't think I liked this type of thriller/mystery thing, but I actually do. I'm not sure why people are saying the story sucks or giving this a bad review, but I'm also don't watch a lot of mystery anime so they could know something I don't. All I know is that I really enjoyed watching this, and I expect you will too if you are into this sort of thing.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boring Inconsistencies
Littleman959 March 2021
Plot: I won't get into details in order to do not spoiler, but this anime has a very weak basement and it does not scary at all. It's just some kind of nonsense splatter. It is also boring, predictable and no suspense.

Animation: nothing to say, it's good.

Drawings: not that good, I didn't like them too much. I use to not like drawings where you can't see who's talking since the mouth is drew too little so notice some changes.

Soundtrack: very good and enjoyable but this characteristic alone can not save the entire anime.

Conclusion: a completely boring fail. Recommend to literally no one. There are tons of better anime out there.
4 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Too many loophole but still good
bdnahian23 June 2021
This anime might highlight horror but it's more like mystery. Though there are many questions left unanswered. Such as how the curse started?why didn't the curse permanently stopped?and so on. But even after this you might still like. It was not so special but still it caught my attention I couldn't stop to watch. So I think you should try it.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
another horror anime
ssuvasmita26 March 2021
It's very nice I love it. In first the episode 1 is not so scary but When the next episode start more and more scary it becomes. The last three episodes means 10,11 and 12 are most scary. In last episode what a shoking truth it was about the extra one. And what a terrible curse of class 3-3 in which each and every student die if it is not solved quickly. It will very scary and sometimes funny but Watch it sure.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Amazing, but can be better.
worldendxdy7 April 2020
Usually I don't watch horror related stuff regardless of it's anime or not, but this anime really break my imagination towrds the general. This anime is amazing, regarding both the plot and animation, but some times I don't like how it purposely remove parts of conversation in reasonable way, however, I can't really accept that the character have more information than the viewer.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A "Must Watch" for fans of the Horror genre
dameon_green9 April 2020
Going in with low expectations after watching "Terra Formars" (how that garbage anime is considered horror is beyond me) I was really surprised.

The first few episodes were wonderfully creepy, creating a perfect amount of doubt and setting the stage for the following half of the series.

The final part of the arc is masterfully done, showing the group insanity that would occur in that kind of situation (seriously, we really do go all "Lord of the Flies" when things get bad enough) and how hard it is to reign in the mass-hysteria.

For those complaining about the ending, and the last minute reveal, I'd suggest reserving judgment until you finish the series. Looking at the characters, their backstory, age, and growth I find it completely reasonable.

I'd suggest tracking down the OVA, it doesn't add to the "End" but does help flush out the main characters a bit.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great plot, Quite intresting
schanzaysohail14 January 2021
This show has a great plot, its quite short but the entire story line was covered in the 13 episodes so i wouldn't ask fro more. The storyline is quite interesting it something you'll get bored of easily, the show just gets better every epiosde. There are a couple of plot twists but the ending is really worth it. all the characters are written and designed very well. I love this show would recommend to anyone who likes horror and short animes.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Spine tingling all the way through
Derekrusselpurvis27 November 2014
From the start, this series waist no time getting you into the heart racing, yet calm and uncomfortable feeling, almost as if you are being watched by someone, or something.... I had hair rise on my back too many times to count watching this series, and often felt myself looking around to see if someone was in the dark room with me. This anime was so well constructed, that it seats you into the classroom of Yomiyama North Middelschool, and invites you into class 3, where some of the most terrifying event await you and your classmates... What happened to classroom 3 over 20 years ago? Who is the person in the photo? And more importantly, who will be next?... But shhhhh we have no business talking about "such things"...
3 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
everything from start is misdirectting
puneetsharma927 August 2018
The story is really strong and the suspense is what nobody can ever guess . first three episode just give for look around and find what you can. But that is not my taste I hate this type of show where too much death involve with the some important character. And after all that they are fine.

And if hate horror and can't handle death of the some of the main or many character then you should skip it I just can't handle what happen here. May be there is people enjoy but I can't.

In simple world if you like movies like final destiny then you can like it but you are other side like me not for you.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very solid horror anime
stilonkostrzyn11 April 2021
A must watch for every mistery and horror anime fan, the story is very interesting and after every episode u feel like u have to watch the next immediately, u will only find out whats really going on in the very last few episodes and thats awsome, the last episodes are also the weak side of the series as a whole, the scenes are very exaggerated and dont really fit with the rest of the show. Also, i dont like the drawing of the characters, its sometimes hard to distinguish them from each other. Imagine this, we got 3 guys, one have dark brown hair, the other brown and the third light brown, all with the same haircut, more or less.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A little bit of terror, a little bit of suspense and a little bit of fantasy
Cafelar4 June 2020
A story is presented, small flashes of not-so-happy images are presented in the middle of the plot, giving atmosphere to the plot. A good performance, some loose ends, but it brings some surprise in the end, without putting heavy scenes and close to the real.

If you like suspense with a touch of horror and fantasy, a great choice.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Another great anime.
snikers-0437517 May 2020
Great and mysteries series, deffinantly worth watching.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
BEST SUSPENSE MYSTERY
vishwanathveerni9 November 2020
I had this on my watch list for a long time The suspense ,twists ,plot and everything i loved it Have to admit had my heart pumping throughout the time A must watch....
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed