Jane Fonda & Lily Tomlin: Ladies Night Live (2022) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
11 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
A few funny segments
Calicodreamin14 June 2022
A few of the guest comedians put on a really good show, Tracey Ashley and Iliza Shlesinger killed it. However a few segments weren't funny and all were stuck on the pandemic. Unfortunately all the segments with Jane and Lily were unfunny and bland, which was surprising.
17 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
netflix failed project
activesilver16 June 2022
Watched a view of these shows (bill burr, amy shumer and now Jane and Lily) and they just don't work somehow.

Not even Iliza could save this one, the idea of these shows is nice, but sadly it failed.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Some funny moments
kristinrutkowski18 June 2022
Too many of these comedians hung up on pandemic jokes. It's getting old- try something different. The ones who went in a different direction were actually funny .
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Ugh, I hate to be the one to say it...
bbbalson22 June 2022
This is unfunny from the overly scripted Lilly and Jane bits to the female comedians. Even the ones that are funny cant save that poopshow that this is.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Sorry, but this flopped for me
jobaybe11 July 2022
I absolutely LOVE stand up comedy, but this show was not very good at all. Some of the gals made me slightly giggle at times, but I was getting bored by the political and pandemic jokes. Enough already. Jane and Lily, I'm sorry to say were just plain awful from the get-go. It was all so scripted and awkward and I felt kind of bad and embarrassed for them. They were almost unwatchable. Sorry ladies.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I had hope
AdrienneGrayceMusic20 June 2022
As a female myself, i was really hoping these ladies would be funny. I was also hoping they would stay away from the woke material but nope, they were all as woke as they come. I didn't laugh once. Tomlin and Fonda were awkward on stage and the show itself didn't have a good vibe. I know that women comedians get a bad rap on not being funny and i did have high hopes that i would laugh at 1 female at least, but i turned it off halfway through. There aren't too many funny women comedians anymore and that saddens me.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
sorry to say, but...
isaacmizrahii13 September 2022
I'm old. And as far as 'women's rights' goes, nothing else ever made sense to me, considering that women, if the man was out with the job(which got less and less true over my seventy year span), then the woman was doing most of the parenting. This was obvious to me from the time i was a teener, and i respected their roles and contributions... AND...i consider myself 'woke' and don't like that some people might criticize this way of being/thinking/acting. But who likes having it, or anything else, shoved down their throat?

And aSIDE from any of the above, AND that i've enjoyed Jane and Lily's work for a half a century, i found this comedy special to be cringeworthy... disappointingly bad. Tired and unfunny.

I can understand how Netflix might have thought it would be a good idea... something that would appeal to the 'woke' crowd(myself included) but didn't they watch it after it was done?

I'm sorry to say that i did... i WAS going to give it five stars, but then i read some of the biased 9s and 10s and did the opposite of what i usually do, when a movie has been underrated and deserved a (much) better rating and DOWNrated it a star.

I believe in fairness, after all...and to say that this special was any better than mediocre would be overly generous. No matter HOW much i like the hosts.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hard to watch
juliedupont-7028718 August 2022
As a fan of stand-up comedy as well as Grace and Frankie, I had high hopes for this special. Unfortunately it's so bad, I actually found it painful to watch. I don't think I laughed even once through the whole thing. The bits featuring Jane and Lily are simply awful : poorly written jokes with a very awkward delivery. As for the comedians' sets, they are repetitive and often amount to woke virtue signaling instead of actual comedy.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Bored with the topics
sredick-5636210 July 2022
Lily & Jane were overly praised, yet minimally entertaining. The comics forget that not everyone watching is from Los Angeles or NY... Nor a liberal. I'm a middle of the road Texan woman. I just want to laugh and not think about the pandemic or "being woke". Surely women can still talk and make jokes about a new subject. This offended me more than it entertained. Iliza... Love her but would rather not learn who she voted for during a "comedy show".
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It gets better and better! This reivews seems to be just hate
avatarguille17 June 2022
I started watching it, and it starts a but slow. But it's gets better while keeps going.

Amazing to see so many woman in the stage being open and funny and lovely.

Thank you !! <3.
7 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Representation Matters!
DAPVH18 June 2022
As a Mexican-American college-educated Latina, it was a magical feeling to see other Latinxs killing the stage. Honestly loved and was able to learn and get something out of every single comedian. Amazing and genius! Loved how womxn from all walks of live were able to gather together and be in unity. Beautiful is an understatement.
3 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed