Man of Tai Chi (2013) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
122 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
The One is finally back!
kennysiuu6 August 2013
I saw the trailer and had my expectations set pretty high. In many ways I felt like this movie was more of a test run for Keanu. The story line was very generic but I love the big name Hong Kong actors. I wish he utilized them more but I guess for a kung fu movie cops can only have a minor sub- plot.

The movie's greatest strength was the amazing cinematography of each action sequence. I love how I can identify each style of fighting and enjoyed the clarity of each strike, grab and throw. Too bad Keanu can't pull out his matrix-self and show us he still got it.

I enjoyed this movie very much even with its flaws it is a solid kung fu movie. Kung fu movies are released fewer and fewer each year, and I hope Keanu can turn into a great kung-fu movie director and still continue his acting.
60 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Slow burning but satisfying first try
alde_benjie14 August 2013
Man of Tai Chi may not be one of the best martial arts movie made, but i would say, its a good first attempt at directing by one of my more favored actor and an all-around good human being, Keannu Reeves. Though the acting might slightly be bland for the most part (all right then, all through out except for Karen Mok who i adore), but then again you have to admit though it's not exactly Shakespeare we're watching here. Its a pound for pound martial arts movie for action flick aficionados, too much acting or show of emotions would've made it too soft for me or pretentious. I think this movie might as well be Mr. Reeves' love letter to Chinese cinema which apparently influenced him a lot. I'm quite impressed as well that Mr. Reeves has set his Hollywood superstar status aside to make way for the little guy behind all the fancy stunts and high kicks that makes all those Hollywood action movies enjoyable. Kudos to Tiger Chen for the amazing action sequences in this film as well in the other movies he had been in as stunt coordinator and the like. Mr. Chen, is the real thing here. And in conclusion, i would like to say that i know that not all may come to appreciate this movie, only a few will, but i say its an acquired taste. Its entertaining for the most part. I'm glad its not deep which is what i like in an action flick, because i don't want to work that hard when i'm already too exhausted just following the punches thrown in this film. But its a joyride and a spectacle to savor from beginning to end. Again, congratulations Mr. Anderson... the Matrix will be proud.
43 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Excellent directorial début by Reeves
sean-cowan110 August 2013
I liked what I saw in the trailer, but was still not sure what Keanu Reeves would do as a director. I have heard from him in many interviews how he is a 'kung-fu film nut' but you can never be sure if actors are serious in interview or not. Once you see this movie, you can tell just how much of a kung-fu film nut he actually is. He used the camera very well in every single fight scene, none of the shaky-cam stuff we see in most action and kung-fu movies today - where the speed of the camera makes the pacing of the fight. On the contrary in Man of Tai Chi Reeves keeps the camera stationary, or only slowly panning in the fight scenes, he also used a lot fewer quick-camera cuts. Essentially he allowed the impressiveness of the moves and styles themselves to shine through. If you choreograph the fights well enough the camera does not need to be moving fast, in fact it could sit in one place and not move at all and the fight is still impressive. He still need to work a bit on his dramatic direction but he has fight scenes down pat. If he somehow reads this, or someone who knows him does - don't change a thing with your fight direction.
76 out of 96 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
I think I just found myself a new favorite director
taifunu14 July 2013
It wasn't exactly a surprise, though. To paraphrase a character from the movie, I knew he had it in him. But knowing and actually seeing are two different things. The movie has an old school feel to it - and yet not. It builds slowly, maybe too slowly for most people's taste. Slowly, subtly, steadily; like the bass line of a Foo Fighters song. Like a lazy snake that uncoils in the sun. Like Chi in meditation. It picks up its pace only after 40 minutes or so. But until then, the audience is given plenty of details, hints and reference to work with - if so inclined. And when things do start happening, it's beautiful to watch. Yes, it does have a few stiff and/or formulaic moments but given the genre and it being a directorial debut, this was inevitable ;) Also, in spite of the genre and the references/homages to other movies,Reeves' directing style is original.He might have been inspired by the masters, but he doesn't borrow from any of them. Like Tiger, Reeves created his own style: ironic,realistic, minimalist, sharp, punctual, complex,subtle, multi-layered. Although being promoted as a 'kung-fu movie', Man of Tai Chi is much more than that. It's a meditation on many aspects and trappings of today's life. But none of them are spelled out in neon letters; it's up to the audience to recognize them. All in all, it's like... a Chinese menu: there's something in it for everyone, but some of the dishes are not everyone's favorites...

If there's one thing the movie fan in me wanted more of, it's real interaction between Reeves' and Karen Mok's characters. I would have wanted to see the sparks fly ;) But the more I think about it, the more I realize that by not including that element, the team made the right artistic decision which served the story, not the sheer entertainment factor. And that's a bold thing to do.

Well done, Mr.Reeves. very well done. Looking forward to the next one :)
117 out of 161 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A Valuable Lesson.
Michel Blouin13 July 2013
Man of Tai Chi. I must say, this movie portrays everything Tai Chi teaches us about ourselves, our inner demons, and how easy it is to loose yourself once you achieve Power. How Control is even more important then simply having great power. After Watching it I must admit, IMDb's review by davidvdb2 (Belgium) Signifies that Movie Critics do not know jack when it comes to the Spirit of Martial Arts and its Many uses. I urge you to see this movie, its not the greatest; But it has a valuable lesson that we must all learn while walking upon our own path to becoming a better Person, not just in Body, but in Spirit. Yin & Yang. Inner & Outer Form. Keanu Reeves Did his Homework and thus deserves an A+!
129 out of 181 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
fantastic cinematography, fantastic job by Keanu
citizenyes9 August 2013
I saw this film and was blown away by it as a total package. As a first time director, Keanu was very sure of himself, stylistically. he didn't try to bite off too much story wise, allowing him to keep a very tight narrative; no wasted drama or superfluous frames. many more experienced directors, that everyone considers "great" can't do that. most movies ramble and unconsciously divert and subvert their story lines, and ultimately what they want to say. i think this movie can stand several viewings because it operates on many levels, between drama and action, overlaid with a layer Taoism/Buddhism, which i think he found necessary to use as a reference to measure the state of modern reality. another way to look at this is that the whole film is a metaphor for the struggles in modern china: the old vs the new, and when they clash, the conditions that are created have to be dealt with or there can can be enormous consequences. i can tell that he put a lot of thought into the content and the style that complements it. i don't know the relationship that he has with his cinematographer, Elliot Davis, but it must be a very complementary and conscious one. they turned out, not only a meaningful film in a genre that most people write off as pure entertainment but a total package. make no mistake about it, the fight sequences are astonishing, too, some of which i think are unique in Kung Fu annals. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT
59 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
I was entertained
Ron Lester25 July 2013
I didn't really know anything about Man of Tai Chi when I watched it. I was in a mood for something; I just didn't know what. I was stunned to discover Keanu Reeves in the film and even more stunned to learn it was his directorial debut.

I've always liked Keanu Reeves films, because I was almost always entertained. Everyone has a few flubs here and there; so his few are easily forgiven.

I, myself, am a big fan of foreign films. In many cases, it's because the story lines are fresher and morals are deeper.

That being said, if you're looking for an award winning film this isn't it and it's not meant to be. I was looking to be entertained, in that aspect, Reeves delivered.

I've seen the complaints about the performances, choreography, etc. As a director he had a full plate, especially for a debut. The language barrier alone would have been difficult enough to adapt to.

I'm not going to give any details about the film. I will say that this is a film you have to have a taste for. I do like the message behind the film though, which is for you to decide on your own. Everyone can come to their own conclusion, because we can find different meanings in everything.
58 out of 79 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Don't know about you, But this was awesome!
rish-patel909 August 2013
This was a great movie, I am not sure what the others are whining about saying it is the worst movie in Hollywood. Clearly you do not know what bad movies are. This was a great flick! If you enjoy Ip Man or you are one of those guys who watches Chinese movies with English subtitles. You will enjoy this movie. There a clear progressiveness to the movie, nothing too cheesy or corny. Actions scenes were great! Decent story line. The main actor was good for someone who I have not seen before. Overall good flick to watch at home. Do not be discouraged to watch this movie because some "idiot" wrote that it was the worst movie. I would recommend this movie if you like Donnie Yen or Jet li.
49 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
How is it possible
JuiceZee12 July 2013
Warning: Spoilers
that a martial arts movie is not full of melodrama gratuitous violence and/or an unbelievable plot? I had no problem following the storyline even with 2 out of 3 languages I know nothing about (Mandarin & Cantonese). Due to the careful use of dialog I could easily read the subtitles of this tale of a sweet and gifted martial artist (Tiger Chen) who gets sucked into the dark side to financially help his family and his temple. The plot has some interesting twists and a good deal of eastern philosophy about managing chi and the necessity of meditation and use or abuse of power. I recognized the wealthy people as decadent and callus. The female police officer, (Karen Mok) following her instinct to hunt down a killer, was depicted as strong and capable. Qing Ye is the love interest and she has a great line that will make women everywhere smile. I have heard that Reeves allowed no stunt double for Tiger Chen and that adds to the believability. There were some very Matrix like moments. The showy part of the movie is in the fight scenes and there are a lot of them. Martial artists in all their male physicality with a limited amount of blood and gore. The careful use of blood highlights the storyline and does not drown it out especially the final fight that is pretty damn cool with Keanu Reeves as the baddest of the bad guys ever. It is surprising to see him so evil! I will be seeing this movie again. Hoping for a blu-ray DVD with lots of extras. PLEASE. Don't even tell me about any limited release in the US. This movie might attract more than just the usual Kung Fu fans.
37 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
An interesting twist on the normal martial arts films
jjali6912 July 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Well after waiting ages to see what Mr Reeves has come up with i was pleasantly surprised! The acting was good the story a little different and the fight scenes were great. Using Tai Chi in the form of a martial art and together with some great philosophy this turned out to be a solid performance all round. Both Keanu and Chen Lin-Hu gave it their all and it was great to see Keanu using his old skills again not quite the Matrix but he still kicks ass. Some of the fight scenes were a little short but amazing styles were used to try to break Tai Chi. Fight clubs have been done to death so i was hoping to see something original in that respect but alas they stuck to the same formula. All in all a good film with amazing fighting and nice to see Keanu and Chen back together!! come on Chen we need to see more of you!!
14 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Very good Tai Chi Kung Fu movie with moral fiber inside.
Ernie Mink14 July 2013
I read the reviews from regular users. I feel some missed the point here in this movie. I happen to be experienced at what is taught inside secret societies and underground fighting. Tai Chi is a foundation and a central skill of fighting and meaning. The fight with Tiger Chen and his master is definitely the most impressive. I gave it 7 out of 10 because the lesson he learned that self-control, meditation and humbling yourself makes you more of a winner and better fighter. He learned that finally. His master cared about him deeply and you can tell when he was so concerned about him using his skills for the wrong reasons. Many of the users that would give this a lower score due to the fact of Keanu Reeves and his first directing debut were taking a side trip and missing the movie. Whatever director you have you cannot foil the skills and charisma of Tiger Chen and his master, plus the moral lessons in this film. It was not a perfect film, but you have to notice how incredibly fluid and fast this guy is and in which proves Tai Chi is more than just a style of meditation and moves. However, this also comes with learning control and not letting yourself be moved by possessed anger. I will tell you the moves were authentic, real and had little wire work, barely any. They were real masters of Tai Chi Kung Fu, both Tiger and his master I can tell you that. Anyone that cannot see that has not been in front of this going on outside of a movie like I have. Remember his teacher said he had to slow down and empty himself. It is not all about fighting and speed. It is about using your Katas, focus for your entire movements and being able to transfer and use your Chi instead of just your physical body. In all of this and the lessons, it was a ten score.
34 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A kung-fu movie
Jakov Jerkovic13 July 2013
It's a kung-fu movie. If approached in that manner the movie is awesome experience, the only thing i could maybe be a critic of is directing and placement of Keanu and the role he played (was a bit stiff) but all in all its a 10/10 for kung-fu old school title very glad they are still made.

Considering that Keanu him self is a kung-fu nut it was expected to see him doing something like this.

I applaud you sir, and support. (MA fan myself)

If you would look at it as a movie in whole, its not good, don't even go there why it's not just not designed to be a "good" movie.
40 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Not convincing
doddu11 August 2013
Chen Lin-Hu was very good in this role, convincing technique and acting ability, I hope he gets more roles in the future. As for Keanu, I was very disappointed at how shallow and unconvincing he was. His lines were at times laughable. I know he is not known for his academy award winning performances, but these were on a new level of cheesiness. The fight scenes were all great, great martial art choreography, except for the last one, did they change choreographers? It was terrible! The over use of "wire-fu' was so obvious in the last scene it ruined it for me. It seems like such a wasted opportunity to bring martial art movies to newer audiences, as the concept (although not new) was solid, but i doubt it will entice them.
35 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Excellent first film by "Director" Keanu Reeves.
skot-2125 December 2013
Personally I found this movie to be excellent! Here's why. Growing up In the late 70', early 80's I watched just about every Martial Arts movie I could get my hands on. I've seen the full spectrum of awful to awesome that this genres has to offer.

2 things immediately got my attention, the first was how much the film reminded me of the films I grew up on. Not from a plot or story stand point, but from a cinematic and general vibe. It felt like the martial arts films from my childhood. It felt like a seasoned Hong Kong martial arts director had made this picture. It felt like an authentic martial arts classic action film with some modern touches. Authentic, not just someone trying to copy one. That was impressive to me pretty much immediately.

The second thing was, Keanu Reeves. I found myself wondering, "Why the Hell is Keanu in this? It's not a huge Hollywood film and why on earth is he playing the bad guy?" I'm not a fan of Keanu, I don't hate him or anything like that, but I don't rush out to see his latest film ether. He's just another actor to me. When the end credits rolled, I was shocked he had directed it, I had no idea. I was impressed to say the least, so much so I checked IMDb to see if he had ever directed anything else. I was shocked again to see this was his first directorial effort! Hands down, in my opinion, Man of Tai Chi is the most impressive first full length directorial effort since Neill Blomkamp's District 9. Keep in mind Blomkamp had directed many shorts before that, so he had a huge leg up on Reeves.

People are ether going to love or hate this movie, it comes down to 2 things, knowledge and expectations. Man of Tai Chi isn't the Matrix, it ain't Crouching Tiger. It's a solid first directorial effort by Keanu Reeves that shows a long standing love/understanding for the martial arts films both he and I grew up watching.

I may not be a fan of Keanu as an actor, but I'm excited to see what his next directs effort will be.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Yet another movie about a wealthy financier of illegal underground fights --to the death.
Boloxxxi23 November 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Let's see....

I'm rich, bored, arrogant, maybe "a little crazy", and think I'm a "warrior". What to do? --I got it! I'll hold underground fights to the death! And to make it really interesting, I'll seduce a mild-mannered Tai Chi guy with money and trick him into fights until he's no longer a nice guy; until he turns into a vicious killer. "Why", you ask? I refer you back to the line after "arrogant".

The Tai Chi guy delivers packages for a living and fights in championship matches when they are held. He fights using "Tai Chi" which I personally (and perhaps you) always thought old Asian people did to get some exercise. You've seen it, right? The slow-motion movements? Well the Tai Chi guy (a young guy) has decided to speed things up a bit to great success in his championship matches. His master, an old guy (it figures), is not happy about it. He wants the Tai Chi guy to "meditate" and "direct his chi someplace"....I dunno. Well, like I said, the Tai Chi guy is young and doesn't have time for that sh!t. He enjoys speed and power.

I suppose it's possible to pass the time with this without feeling you wasted it. Myself: I was not too impressed. I thought the choreography was bad as it did not cleanly and creatively show fighting action and techniques as I would have liked. I understand that real-life fighting can be messy, arms and legs flying all over the place doing God-knows-what. But these were supposed to be "experts" and importantly "artists". So I would have expected a bit more finesse instead of the loud yelling and the pedestrian use of arms and legs. Keanu Reeves fought much better in his Matrix movies than in this (better choreography and a younger, more inspired Reeves, I guess). Even the lesser fighters who the Tai Chi guy was able to beat fought better than him and yet when he fought the Tai Chi guy in the grand final he gave the Tai Chi guy trouble which was not at all credible to me. Love, Boloxxxi.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
very honourable to help an 'old friend' but ...
titan_ice11 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Keanu keanu keanu ... silly silly movie .. tried hard to like it .. but it's just really a painful to watch & terribly awful directing debut! Fight scenes are nothing spectacular.. storyline was very predictable and acting-wise? don't even go there! :o)) .. should stick in front of the camera, not behind, just for the sake of helping old friend (Tiger Chen) ...hope they'll reboot the next Matrix! the end credits scenery & soundtrack is really soothing though ... 1 star of 10 (that's being a generous Matrix big fan) (spoiler) and that 'screaming' on the camera thing ... please!! ... not sure what was he thinking when he decided to include that! very cringe-worthy seconds!
22 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Man Of Cli Chè (how to destroy a career)
cablooie1 October 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Just awful. Boring, predictable and overall less original than popcorn itself.

Was there a real need for a random clone of Asian B movies from the 70's? Not at all. Peculiar martial arts choreography probably arranged by Eddie Izzard, silly story, Reeves' acting is pitiful, disrespectful towards the audience and more annoying than funny (trying to look terrible growling at the camera? Are you nuts?).

No excuses, he directed this crock of manure. Sorry, I really wanted to like this one but simply could not.

*growls at the screen*
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Good .. Could Have Been Great
A_Different_Drummer10 August 2013
One of the most promising martial arts films in recent memory ultimately stumbles and falls, but remains moderately entertaining nonetheless. First, the notion of a lost, 600 year old school of "active" Tai Chi is brilliant, and could have led to a marvellous film. Unfortunately this is not that film. This film is flawed by uneven fight scenes (some excellent, some just silly) and a sudden U-turn about half-way through where the film becomes less about the art of fighting and more about the evil millionaire broadcasting fights on cable (a theme beaten to death in dozens of other films, unworthy of this premise, and starring a somewhat haggard looking-for-work Keaneau Reeves). The final fight scene is simply an embarrassment and one wonders where this would have gone with a better writer? >>>Great line of dialogue: >>>> (Bad guy getting arrested by pretty female cop) In my next life I'll be your boss >>>>(Female Cop as bad guy is dragged off in cuffs) Why not be my mother?
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
One of the worst martial art movie ever
ron_capuccino15 August 2013
Warning: Spoilers
The scenario/plot is similar to any cheesy and tasteless 80s action movie (can't include martial ART in the description here) with a bit of modern visual/camera style and music. Below average actors all along the movie (especially the fighters, the police team) and a very very very stereotyped and ridiculous performance from Reeves into a silent evil "master".

The sole purpose of this movie seems to give a chance to Keanu to be into a martial/art movie again, with a badass role while almost everything else around that has been done just in a stylish but without soul way.

As per the philosophical aspect, it's about a 13/14 years old level with ultra basic concept which was NOT developed as such.

A ridiculous result and a shame to include Tai Chi in its name.
12 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Tai Chi works
kwstasna14 July 2013
i saw bad and good reviews... i'm going to tell you my opinion about this movie.

Tai Chi is not well knowned for its movies... i mean... who has seen another tai chi movie with a well known actor like keanu reeves.

The battles were great, it shows what tai chi can do about relaxation and when you are in danger.

in addition with other raw movies like undisputed etc. this one shows that what you do, can make good to yourself and to your people who are close to you :)

Gave 9/10 cause i like tai chi and the way it transfered to me some things i didn't know about it :)
14 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Nice Action Flick including Keanu Reeves
Xitij Thool31 July 2013
Man of Tai chi is a action flick which was anticipated by many factors including Keanu Reeves back in action after the Matrix Trilogy after many years and his dark side.

Indeed we all know what is the real action tournament movies climax ,no need to mention it here, but regardless to say about the story line film is impressive In terms of the Story line , New character development and most of all the Martial arts action scene which is full of makes watching a great pleasure for viewers.

In other words if you are one of Martial arts fan looking for great action packed movie in these few years then this is definitely a great choice for you and wanted to watch it over and over again. This movie will earn it's place with the action packed movies like Ip Man and others.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
An interesting take on the American kung-fu genre
crimsonandsilver17 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This little movie skipped under the radar of most people when it released in November 2013. I don't think it ever showed in the theaters in my city, but it popped onto my Netflix radar this afternoon. To set the stage for this movie, it's Keanu Reeves' first stint as director; he also plays bad guy Donaka. It's set in Hong Kong and features some big names in the Hong Kong film industry. Although, these actors are relatively unknown in the US.

I loved the use of Tai Chi in this movie, when it was used by Yang. I liked Tiger's style, but Yang's was so calm and fluid, almost like watching water fall from a cup. The movie also managed to showcase some of the other styles in the fighting world without taking away from the story of Tiger. Granted, Tai Chi is usually used as an exercise method, not a fighting style. The cinematography for the fight scenes was excellent (with a few exceptions) and gave a good impression of the many moves each fighter displayed.

The story itself is pretty common; it's the Dorian Grey archetype. A young student wants to rebel against the strict teachings of his master, and a dark shadowy figure leads him down a path of more and more dangerous pastimes. The story also takes the traditional American kung- fu movie and tips it by making the American the bad guy and the foreigner the hero. It actually felt more like a foreign film than I expected from Keanu Reeves.

Acting wise, I liked everyone except the English speakers. I felt Keanu was a bit stiff, but pulling the job of both actor and director can sometimes do that. Also, the female announcer annoyed me whenever she spoke because it felt like she was reading off a cue card. Tiger Chen (played by Tiger Chen) was very expressive and I liked how he often conveyed more with his eyes than anything else.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Great Martial Arts Plus Buddhism 101
McCamyTaylor25 December 2013
This one came and went in the theater so fast that I blinked and missed it. So, this is a review of the DVD. Excellent martial arts (which is what we watch martial arts for, right?) It never dragged for even a moment, since about 99% of the screen time was full of fighting. Well, maybe that is an exaggeration. When the young hero, Tiger was not battling with his fists and feet, he was battling his inner demons. Which, if you are Buddhist, is the same thing. ALL martial arts movies made in the orient are Buddhist parables, but this one is especially nice for westerners who are not familiar with the religion, since it lays it all out nice and neatly the way Alan Watts does in his books.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Tai Chi Feely
afhick7 October 2013
Warning: Spoilers
"Man of Tai Chi" arrived with a great deal of fanfare in my present city of employment this weekend, and I rushed to see it. Is it any good? Well, it plays like an unlikely blend of "Fight Club" and "The Wizard of Oz," but if you like chopsocky, this is for you. The action sequences feature a minimum of wire-Fu, and the fight scenes are shot in such a way that you see all the kicks and blows. There's a minimum of blood, but I didn't mind that, especially given that the last film I saw (the abysmal "No One Lives") was awash in it. In addition to being kickass, "Man" is also a meditation on old and new Hong Kong, and traditional versus contemporary values, especially as they apply to the gentle art of Tai Chi--and did I mention that it's kickass?

Star Keanu Reeves has been toying with this project since he first met stuntman Tiger Chen on the set of "The Matrix," and the film was five years in development, with a budget of $25 million. Keanu not only stars in but also directs "Man of Tai Chi," and he acquits himself admirably on both counts. He plays a reclusive billionaire (is there any other kind?), who collects Lamborghinis and Bugattis (not to mention a Bentley or two), but who is lacking the one thing in life that would make him happy: a soulless fighter who doesn't object to killing his defeated opponents.

Enter the Tiger!

Actually, Tiger is a sweet young man, with a sweetheart who works as a Building Inspector, who is still looking for his Tai Chi Master's approval and suffering abuse at his job, where he works as a mail carrier (of some kind). He's often late to work, and, worse still, he can't seem to deliver his packages on time. When his Master's temple is threatened by building inspectors who claim it's a fire trap (have you ever seen a temple that wasn't?), Tiger accepts a mysterious offer from a security firm owned by Donaka Mark (cleverly disguised for box office purposes as Keanu Reeves), to work as a security guard.

Did I mention that Master Yang looks like a watery-eyed cross between Mr. Miyagi and Jim Beavers? It's all part of his charm campaign to keep Tiger on the right path, which put simply is, "Don't Kill Anyone!" But Tiger can't seem to control his chi.

Meanwhile, Tiger's girlfriend is working to save the Temple (did I mention that she's a building inspector?), and Tiger is mopping the floor with his opponents, first at the local championships at what looks like a YMCA and later at Donaka's fight club. At one club, he fights a tag team that looks like the Hong Kong equivalent of Jedward. Most of these guys are much bigger than our boy Tiger, but he has little trouble taking them out. In fact, he's kind of got a thing for ultra-violence.

Well, I don't want to give the game away, but some of you have probably already guessed that Good and Bad will eventually have to duke it out. And Keanu and Tiger do not disappoint. It's great seeing Keanu play evil. He's played nerdy ("Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure"), and he's played sad (see youtube)-heck, he's even played a Shakespearean-inspired call boy ("My Own Private Idaho")—but the last time he got to play pure D evil was in "The Watcher" (we knew he was evil because he danced every time he made a kill), and he's more than overdue. Like Alain Delon before him, he may divide the critics on his acting, but you've got to admit that Keanu is a wonder to behold. Never mind that he's pushing 50, his ruthless take on Donaka Mark is riveting, and reason alone to see "Man of Tai Chi."

Tiger Chen (who plays Tiger Chen) is a bit more problematic. He's a good actor, but he seems to be playing a part that was written for a younger man. Most of the time, it works, but his age and his stature work against him. He has nowhere near the charisma of a Bruce Lee, but, then, who does? As a stuntman, he's mastered the martial arts, and one sees that he's up to all the heavy-lifting in the action department. The only other character who makes an impression is Karen Mok, who plays a police officer intent on bringing Donaka Mark to justice. Most of the other actors manage to grunt on cue and look menacing, although up-and-comer Iko Uwais stands out, in what amounts to a walk-on, as a comely combatant. Perhaps Keanu will make a film with him some day.

Great locations in Beijing, Hong Kong, and Macau. Great score by Hong Kong film veteran Chan Kwong-wing. Keanu has done the genre proud.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
dynamic effort, even better if you practice tai chi.....(i imagine)
neilzao29 September 2013
here's an opinion, take it for what you will. i think Man of Tai Chi is a dynamic effort, even better if you practice tai chi.....(i imagine).....i don't. its got a good pace, good editing, action, its visually stunning and somewhat gratifying for a 'mainstream' movie. it seems it demonstrates some principles of tai chi into an accessible form without preaching to the audience or straying from the storyline (at least from what little i know about it). maybe the movie lacks an edge, a subplot, a twist and it did go for some of the obvious and over-the-top stylization, but highly watchable nonetheless.

i gather its a passion project of Keanu Reeve's. I'd certainly see his next directing effort before i'd go see him in a romantic flick.

Man of Tai Chi is worth viewing for sure.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews