Peace Out (2011) Poster

(2011)

User Reviews

Review this title
23 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
An overview of energy production: Site C dam, Fracking for shale gas, Nuclear plant and the Tar Sands
r_darnal12 November 2011
I saw this documentary in Fort St. John B.C. in a theatre with a sold out crowd on Saturday, November 5, 2011. I very much enjoyed the film. It had excellent photographs with commentary that was easily understood. I sat for the 80 minutes and did not think of the time once. The information on the 4 areas presented made me realize that we are guzzling energy and as a Society we need to curb our addiction. Can we do it in time? We need to protect our precious water that is being used by companies at an enormous rate. What will future generations think? More people need to see this great documentary!!! Since seeing the film, I have been discussing the contents with others and have found myself wondering what I can do personally.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wake up call for anyone who loves their children
DCnorthpeace15 November 2011
Peace Out is the kind of film that makes you want to be a better person - for your kids and your grandkids sake. Not just another industry-bashing documentary about what's wrong with the world, Peace Out forces us to accept our role as the driving force behind energy development. The film basically asks us to choose our poison - major river valleys flooded for large hydro dams, nuclear power plants, expansion of the Alberta tar sands to allow the United States to step back from Middle Eastern oil, shale gas developments that forever remove fresh water from an increasingly thirsty planet. Or maybe there's another way. For the sake of those unborn children we already love, maybe we could just unplug.

Peace Out tells a regional story about a remote area of North America, but it's implications are far-reaching. The film is rich in interviews with well-respected experts in the fields of energy and ecology. It is an absolute must-see for everyone who isn't a card-carrying member of the Flat Earth Society. Watch it with friends, because you are going to need to go out for a drink and talk about it afterwards.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
a documentary that includes interviews with industry and other experts.
meyer-211-7925412 November 2011
This is an important and timely documentary in my opinion. Northeastern BC and northern ALBERTA, CANADA are areas that few people know or care about yet... Our future is threatened by the very real possibility of huge expansions in industry and infrastructure. Understanding that our energy habits affect the world around us in a measurable way is a central theme. Although the focus is on the Peace River, the Peace River Valley, and its people/communities, these discussions have a wider relevance. Therefore, this film really is important to everyone with ears to hear, and eyes to see. This documentary serves as a catalyst to discuss what, where, when and how communities will manage change, and a challenge to watch our overall energy consumption more closely. It has left enough questions unanswered to warrant further investigation... Let's hope that the term 'Peace Out' is not prophetic in being a friendly way of saying goodbye to the remaining beautiful and irreplaceable Peace River and everything that goes with it.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A must watch - it's time we get the word out
bcwoodsy15 November 2011
An informative and interesting documentary with some big players. Interesting interviews, close to home but with a global perspective. As a society, we have not done enough to educate ourselves as our energy craving increases - we are all guilty of enjoying the pleasures. As a person who is concerned for our environmental future but also one who enjoys a "Convenient" and accessible lifestyle, I realize the importance of growth and business. Pulp and Paper and energy sectors have provided me and my family the lifestyle we enjoy - but perhaps at too much of a cost. This film makes you look at both sides of the equation and made me consider the simple changes I could make in my life to reduce my demand on energy. I realize I did not do enough to educate my children - and despite the efforts made by the school system, they are not very green. This film, leaves you a little down - realizing how wasteful we are but it also gives some hope - hope that we do not have to abandon the conveniences but by changing our attitudes and actions, we may just be able to alter our path to ensure sustainability.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Reality check - be a conscious energy consumer or Peace Out
nehlersscience16 November 2011
You should watch this film, no matter where you live in North America. Although it focuses on BC and Alberta the repercussions stretch all across North America (Canada/the States)...and beyond. The message is "our energy consumption is out of control" and there's references to us being addicted to energy literally almost going crazy for our "next hit". Northern Canada is less populated with people, therefore we should exploit it for all the resources that are available right? Watch the movie and think about that, the bigger picture, what's really valuable to you, important to you, WHAT ARE YOU WILLING TO DO OR GIVE UP/CHANGE, where do you stand on the battle of money/food/energy/the environment/social implications/health... Enjoy and be sure to have a few friends to talk to while watching/after the film - you'll need them.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great "Peace" of Work!
lesliewarner2618 November 2011
I just saw 'Peace Out' at a showing at the University of Northern British Columbia. My husband and I left the lecture hall gushing about how great the film was. It succeeded in offering a balanced perspective on the regionally controversial issue of the Site C damn and energy consumption in general. Although I value sustainable living, I am weary of activist/radical environmentalist media- I found this film to be thoughtful in the way in which it allowed many different actors involved in the energy sector in northern BC an opportunity to give their case without demonstrable bias, really allowing the audience to decide for themselves on the issue. This film had not only educational value in its detailed description of energy projects in the Peace Region but also encouraged self reflection on personal energy use. Truly a great experience! I strongly recommend this film!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Everyone should be able to see this movie
michael-214-99533516 November 2011
I recently watched this movie at a screening in Prince George, BC. It made the audience really THINK about energy use and exposed most in the audience for the first time to the linkages between the different energy development projects in the Peace. The tone of the audience discussion with the Director and the Producer following the screening made it obvious that most in the audience had no idea about the degree of energy-related developments that are simultaneously taking place in the Peace Region. Several people in the audience indicated that it changed their opinion about the need for Site C. This movie MUST be made available for everyone to see, particularly Canadians in western Canada.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This should be a mandatory documentary for all to watch.
coryvernon15 November 2011
I also watched the documentary, 'Peace Out' on Nov, 5,2011 in a packed North Peace Cultural Centre. I even brought my 7 year old granddaughter. I found the documentary to be unbiased, truthful, logical, and eyeopening. We hear about environmental issues all the time, but are we really listening. It would be my wish for everyone, not just the Peace Area, not just BC, not just Canada, but the world, to watch this movie - really watch and hear the facts that are happening, what we are doing, what we are 'allowing' to happen. It is my wish that we would all 'wake up' and do what we can to stop this craziness that we have done to this wonderful planet, if it is not too late. My vote is not a ten strictly because it would have hit my emotions more with a couple little changes, because from what i have learned;people remember something more if it touches their emotions. But really everyone, watch this movie!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An amazing documentary that should be shown everywhere!
chels_hal15 November 2011
I went to a free screening of this last night and walked away knowing so much more about not only the issue of 'ripping up our backyard' but also how the corporate mind views it. The steps that this documentary takes in order to have all views understood is phenomenal and being able to speech with the directors during a very open question and answer period was incredible. These are two unbelievably talented people that wanted to share this story that they thought the world needed to hear. This film needs to be seen on television so that all Canadians see what is happening in their north. This area of Canada is beautiful and can yield incredible crops so let's say no to site C and continual oil consumption and yes to new solutions about alternative ways of doing things. This begins at the ground level with shifting the way we see things. This film can help us do this.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic a must see for all who use energy
justfishdamit15 November 2011
We need to get everyone to see this film as it opens our eyes to what our energy use behaviours are doing to the north and our children's future.

This film is one of many out there that try to help us newbies understand how our seemingly insignificant activities can have a effect on our lives and those around us. We need to work on the demand side of the energy equation, rather than take the easy way out and keep increasing the supply.

I don't have anything else to say but that you see the film its important to everyone.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
What's the energy rush in the Peace district of BC all about?
storchs14 November 2011
Excellent movie on the energy rush in the Peace region of BC. Should be a major provincial election issue and hopefully this movie will help make that a reality. Essentially a BC version of an Inconvenient Truth that covers the specific topics of hydroelectric and nuclear power as well as the topic of natural gas fracking.

This movie really makes once think about the energy consumptive lifestyle that we live. And if we are truly able to save the planet for our children and grandchildren we have to take the responsibility for our actions now and not at some later date in the future. It all comes down to the will of the people and this is my one small way to make a difference (in addition to my ongoing commitment to reduce my energy consumption!).

I wish more people would be able to see this movie as it is currently only available through film festivals.

Thanks for creating such an even balanced and thought provoking movie!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Unbiased look at the world we live in
dlayman-211-69579413 November 2011
I watched Peace Out three times last week - once in Dawson Creek, then Fort St. John and again in Grande Prairie. Each time it got more interesting and I picked up more information. A week later, people in FSJ are still talking about what we can/should be doing ourselves.

We are as guilty as industry about wasting electricity so let's get on with doing our part. Peace Out doesn't do any blaming, just makes a person think about what is happening to our world and what we are going to leave behind to our kids and grandkids to we don't act soon.

I love it when the closing words of the documentary "are our kids going to hate us for doing this" and Charles answer is "ya, they are" - and I believe they are too.

This documentary should be shown in all schools, universities, organizations that care about the world we live in.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Factors to consider when developing power for industrial use
GrandmaMary12 November 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This is an excellent film considering the pros and cons of building the Site C dam on the Peace River near Fort St. John. It gives a balanced approach with no firm position for or against the Dam. It asks all of us who use electricity to consider the size of our energy-using foot print. The photography is beautiful and gives a very clear idea of the beauty of the Peace Valley that will be destroyed, and also the loss of quality farmland that might well become drastically important to the Fort St. John area as global warming continues. In its overall position of asking each of us to be more responsible in our use of electricity it suggests tongue-in-cheek that possibly we could begin developing power sources closer to the markets that need the energy. Vancouverites could dam the Frazer at Hell's Gate for example; and the proposed mines and the Tar Sands could be including their own energy generating plants as they build. The underlined message is for each of us to be responsible - consider the land and what we want to leave for the future. I found it a beautiful and thought provoking film.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Peace Out show the incredible story of energy development in the Peace Region
geoff-214-36861615 November 2011
Peace Out takes a very neutral lens and shows you the people and the projects in the Peace Region. Natural gas, nuclear power, oil, and hydro, all are heavily conversed and contested energy courses and they are all examined and displayed for the viewer to make their own decision.

A film like this is needed to be seen by many because of what the implications are and effects that will happen to this area in the coming years.

Energy, profits, people and the environment, how will this all play out? Watch the film to get started.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent Documentary on Energy Extraction in The Peace River Area
michield15 November 2011
This was a very balanced documentary on the energy extraction taking place in the Peace River area in Northern British Columbia. This sparsely populated area receives little attention from the media while experiencing an enormous amount of development. Much of the natural resources of the Peace River area are being consumed at no cost to industry to facilitate the extraction of oil from the Alberta tar sands as well as natural gas extraction in Northeastern BC. The site C dam will be located along the peace river to supply electricity for residential and industrial demands in the south. As global warming becomes an ever increasing threat and our energy demands are also ever increasing this documentary examines the costs associated with energy extraction in one overlooked part of the world. Well worth watching.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thought-provoking film you must see
pveacoordinator17 April 2013
Peace Out has won multiple awards for good reason - you will be captivated by the messaging about energy. It's something we can all relate to...we all use it and we can all, to some degree, control our use of it. Maybe you've never really thought about how much our lives have become dependent on energy and more importantly, maybe you've never really thought about how we GET that energy. That's what this film is about. It makes you THINK...think about what's happening, on-the-ground, to provide that energy for us. Once you realize what's going on, you'll want to start doing things differently in your life, from turning off the lights more often, to paying attention to what's going on politically - what's going on behind the scenes that's leading to an incredible amount of irreversible environmental destruction to respond to our ever increasing demands for power. If you're looking for a film that will fully engage you, that speaks directly to you and that keeps you thinking once it's over, this is for you!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent documentary!
Marj McDougall2 April 2012
I viewed "Peace Out" in Sechelt, BC on Wed. Mar.30th, 2012 where the Director and Producer were available for discussion after the film was presented. I found the film well researched and unbiased in its approach to the subject matter of development in northern Alberta's tar sands and the hydroelectric projects slated for the Peace River Valley in north eastern BC. So often, issues in a rural community such as the Peace River Valley do not get the media attention to the more populated areas in the Lower Mainland of BC where word can spread and solutions developed. I do hope this documentary is able to reach a larger audience throughout Canada.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Superb and honest documentary about energy and BC
georgesmith-212-65657531 March 2012
Peace Out tells the truth about the devastation impacting northeastern British Columbia caused by the oil and gas and hydro power industries. It chronicles the potential impact of the Site C Dam proposal on First Nations, wildlife and farmland. It also tells us about the impact of fracking technology for gas extraction on water and ecosystems. It also addresses the impact of the tar sands and nuclear power in this corner of the world in our era of climate change. A professional and gripping treatment of a complex story. The director and producer approached the issue with what appears to be an open perspective and interviewed people of varying perspectives, including industry, science, resident, opposition and support and left me with a sense of fair treatment and a need to challenge government and industry on their energy activities in northern BC.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
powerful and beautifully filmed
celinvega9 March 2012
I appreciated the number of people from various perspectives that were interviewed, from local farmers and indigenous people being affected to people involved in the industry at the decision making level. I also appreciated Charles' own commentary that personalized the film, hinted at his own views, yet giving enough breadth of perspective from others without getting in the way. A well balanced look at the issues facing the Peace River Valley and the greater world. What speaks to me of the film's impact is the fact that I recall the message every time I go to turn on a tap or plug something in and ask myself if I can do without or use less. Way to go!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful
Radmila Mihajlovic26 January 2012
Went and watched the movie last night at the Bosa Film Centre Theatre at Capilano University.

It was truly engaged, beautiful visually, sounded great.

The film in my humble ordinary viewer's opinion went beyond and above the clichéd questions such as who is guilty for our high energy consumption and damages to the environment - the wealthy, the ruling, the professional, the ordinary... It rather acknowledges our desire to live a certain life style we do enjoy and we do not want to easily give up. It begs for right and sustainable solutions.

It is thought provoking and informative. Beautiful in every sense.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An absolute MUST-SEE movie that affects all of us!
lisagallie29 November 2011
I LOVED this movie...beautifully shot, and completely thought provoking, yet not condescending at all. HIGHLY recommend this as a MUST-SEE movie...I will definitely have my kids watch this movie as well...I believe it is important to know what our decisions mean for the future, especially for our province! I really don't know what else to say except that the hours that went into this movie must be mind-boggling as it seemed so thorough and very easy to follow. (no more technical info than I could handle either) I received the message loud and clear... For days after seeing this film, I made several changes in my own life, but really found myself thinking about what a shame it is that we even consider ruining such a precious spot on our planet....I hope this movie is made available for the masses, people simply do not know what is being proposed...I sure didn't!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A must-see for Canadians
Naira_J19 November 2011
A beautifully-made film that allows the viewer to make their own opinion on the necessity of proposed site-C dam in the Peace Valley Region of BC. With the lack of information available to the general public on the issue of giant energy-creation projects, this film really makes you think about energy consumption in general, and question the direction that we want to take as a country. As citizens, we need to be informed on this issue to make decisions about the energy source we will adopt, because our future generations will be the ones to deal with it. The decision to support environmentally- and socially-destructive carbon-based energy is an issue that Canadians should have the right to vote on - so check out this film and spread the word!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
What are we doing to this planet, its not sustainable
chinookloghomes20 November 2011
This documentary leaves you thinking long after you have seen it. In this case, it leaves one thinking about the impact of everyday use of energy. It makes you question the bigger picture of energy consumption and production and the unsustainability of how we use our natural resources. The measure of a good movie is one that you want to see over and over. I have seen it twice now and know that I could watch it again and still absorb more from it. I find the film has a very balanced and fair approach to it. In the interviews, it is clear that no one is taking out of context, and people have the opportunity to express their views and opinions. They are all given just enough rope! The film is by necessity, fairly interview intense. However it is interlaced with stunning scenes of both industrial sites of immense scale, and beautiful natural settings filmed in superb style. The fact that the film covers the impacts of several different industies all in one area of North America adds an interesting variety to the film. Much of what is portrayed would be out of sight and out of mind to most viewers. I give this film a thumbs up!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed