Moriah's Lighthouse (TV Movie 2022) Poster

(2022 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
30 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
It's Just Not Very Good
spikeluvr19 June 2022
I love Luke MacFarland and Rachelle LeFevre. And he was his usual charming self. She was not at all believable. Her fake accent was grating and seeing her "working" on an antique wooden chest wearing a shoulder less blue sweater and a leather apron was laughable. I struggled to stay interested in spite of the beautiful scenery and architecture. They just weren't enough to compensate for the lousy storyline and fake accents.
21 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
fake accent
SnoopyStyle19 June 2022
Wood worker Moriah (Rachelle Lefevre) dreams of restoring the old lighthouse in her small seaside French town. Ben (Luke Macfarlane) arrives in town with plans of his own. She hits him with her bicycle. I like the French location. The story is fine for a Hallmark romance. This could be a nice romance but one thing keeps bugging me. Lefevre is playing a French girl. She may be well-skilled in French but the audience have seen her speak perfect English. In this, she's speaking English with that fake French accent and it's weird. My brain keeps telling me that she's faking this. The last thing I want from my brain is it telling me that it's all fake. Everything else is secondary.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Very good but a couple of significant irritations
Jackbv12319 June 2022
Good dialogue. There are a lot of funny lines. Luke Macfarlane is good as the foil for a lot of jokes.

Macfarlane and Rachelle Lefevre have great chemistry. They connect both in comedic moments and serious ones.

The early part of the story revolves around a crazy assumption that a property would just sit empty until Moriah saves enough money to buy it. It generates a lot emotional energy which in my mind is wasted because it is so unreasonable. This is too bad because otherwise, the story and the movie have so much going for them. The rest of the story is quite good, although the ending is a bit cheesy.

The font for translations of French lines is ridiculously small and sometimes lost in the background.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Hallmark's excessive use of plot devices destroys romance
shobbs-8608119 June 2022
Warning: Spoilers
Hallmark went to a lot of trouble and spent tons of money to make this "romance", but as beautiful as the scenery and the actors are, there just isn't enough credibility here to make a love story. Sure, the leads work together and seem compatible and want to get together, but the fake separation/reunion at the end of the show cancels out any good wishes I might have had for their success. I think this was one show that might have worked if the usual plot twists and dilemmas keeping our heroes apart had just been dropped, allowing their warm relationship to simply flower and shine in a normal way. And they almost did...
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Rachelle's accent is wrong
karens-windsong20 June 2022
She may have grown up in Montreal and perhaps even spoke French however her accent comes & goes throughout the film. I love this actor so I'm disappointed that she didn't carry off the correct accent or keep the poor accent consistently. But the scenery is lovely.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Huge disappointment
caseybones20 June 2022
I had high hopes for this because it was written by Paul Campbell and he is normally quite good. But, man, he blew it.

I don't know why they would bother to name the movie after a book when the plot contains ony a couple of similarities. The book is decidednly not a comedy which I think this was supposed to be albeit it fails there as well.

The "French" residents slip back and forth between speaking accented English and then English without an accent.

The scenery is beautiful but otherwise it was a slog to get through the entire movie. The ending is predictable and a snooze.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Beautiful location.
drbreakwell20 June 2022
An OK Hallmark movie. A bit of a better story line than the other Hallmark movies The only drawback was the "French" accent, or lack thereof. The female lead sounds like a transplanted American.

One of the reviewers complained about Luke MacFarlane's acting as he is gay and acting a romantic goofy guy in love with a woman isn't plausible. The reviewer is probably too young to remember Rock Hudson, who played a goofy romantic. That is what makes Luke a good actor.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Regarding the "Beautiful Location" Review
lance-lee3 July 2022
I'm ok with the actresses French accent, which worked ok for me. The actress, R. L., is at least from the Quebec, Canada, so maybe she has some French Canadian accent exposure.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Beautiful scenery but a disappointment
jpk-8464119 June 2022
Had high hopes for this one. There are some funny moments but the storyline is unrealistic, requiring a stretch of the imagination to make the story remotely believable. The lead actress bouncing between a French accent and English with no accent was distracting. Hallmark movies of late are using the same plot devices over and over. Too formulaic, and lacking in originality despite beautiful locations and some wonderful actors.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Worth watching
dsklodginski19 June 2022
Could've been an 8 if Rachelle Lefvre's accent hadn't been so bothersome and inconsistent. The secondary characters were French and it showed in the dialogue. Otherwise I liked the leads a lot enjoyed the story well enough and loved the beautiful scenery. So nice to see a movie that reflects the actual location.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Wonderful setting - impossible, implausible premises and miscasting
gadfeal20 June 2022
Warning: Spoilers
For someone who have lived in France for decades, the premise of this "romance" is impossible. You just can't arrive in France and work without a work permit. Secondly, if you can't speak French, you will be incapable of calling upon the multiple tradesmen and services needed. Finally, the lighthouse may be subject to stringent building codes, especially if it has been designated as a historical entity.

It would have made more sense to cast the interior architect as a Frenchman, or even another European (who can work in France). If you wish to cast an American, it should be one who is binational, or at least bilingual with decades of working in France; they do exist. There are many fine trained English-competent actors in France besides Gilles Marini in the chosen age group.

Even Moriah's decision to be an artisan in France, a country with one of the oldest training guilds in craft, the Compagnons du Devoir, which is a rotational apprenticeship program of several years with Master Craftsmen around France. I doubt that anyone could compete with a Compagnon in any specific craft in terms of technique, historical context and even accreditation. When the Statue of Liberty required some metal recladding and repair, metal craftsmen Compagnons were recruited as one of the few craftsmen worldwide who work with such materials. The same when the Ante Bellum Colonial buildings were damaged by hurricane Hugo; only the Compagnons had the craftsmen who could repair and reproduced architectural elements long lost in N. America.

Basically, the premise is so far-fetched that it destroyed the real potential for a good romance in a magical setting. What's next, setting the Beauty and the Beast in skyscraper?
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful Scenery
donna_kusch19 June 2022
Loved this little Hallmark Movie. It's fun when they are different and this was, especially featuring the gorgeous scenery from the Brittany France area where it was filmed. Peope are questioning Rachelle Lefevre's accent. She may not be from France, but she was born and raised in Montreal Quebec, so is very french, albeit Canadian French. Gorgeous lady. Luke MacFarlane is one of the most handsome leading men Hallmark has.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Beautiful, fun & sweet.
scainiprod19 June 2022
Perfect escapism. Gorgeous locations, lovely cast and a charming story. Rachelle Lefevre and Luke Macfarlane are wonderful together. Loved the authenticity of the supporting cast which are clearly French. Definitely worth watching.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Oh the accent!
cindyrpaul25 June 2022
Good story, good scenery, liked the actors but the in and out of the fake French accent ruined it for me. Would've rated it higher if not for the terrible accent.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Slow and bad chemistry
mschuler-5516822 June 2022
Very slow story line and zero chemistry between the two leads. Not a convincing relationship and even missed on having the cinematography shine. I like Luke as an actor, but this is one to skip.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
French light
splashpont22 June 2022
This movie did not follow the customary hallmark romcom, thankfully. Beautiful scenery, wonderful leads and supporting actors, lots of French (though tiny translations), a surprise subplot, with a possibility for a sequel: this is a town that would be very involved in the couple's wedding, should they decide. ("They" could be the town!)
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not good.
lancemdonnelly22 June 2022
It's not even worth going through a complete review. I've always been a big fan of Hallmark movies over the years but this one I turned off after about 10 minutes. The fake French accent was a huge bomb. What was the director thinking. I don't blame the actors, I blame the producers and directors for, what should have been, a good movie. You should have known better.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
No chemistry
LtlHippo25 June 2022
Just didn't see any chemistry with the two main characters. I love seeing Luke but he will always be Scotty from Brothers and Sisters to me. He played a gay man and is gay in his real life, it was very believable. It's hard in my mind to imagine him romancing the women. And the lead actress was all wrong. The accents were all wrong. The scenery was nice.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Seriously
jksweeney-235-24132419 June 2022
Woodworking wearing pristine white trousers ? The movie and the plot carry along nicely, the chemistry betwixt the actors is plausible. But the wardrobe selection is jarring.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not memorable at all
teepack-7531228 June 2022
This one misses the mark on almost every occasion. The actors' didn't maintain their French accents consistently. The attempts at comedy fell flat. The main conflict (Moriah getting upset that a house she doesn't own is being renovated) is lame. The French Resistance storyline shoehorned in made no sense. I sensed zero chemistry between Luke and Rachel. Just a mess of a movie, unfortunately.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
If you are an OCD kind of person don't watch
chuckles_f23 June 2022
I only watched about 22 minutes in, including commercial time. I couldn't go any further and believe me, I tried. The woman character was not believable as being French. I am OCD about some things. In the past when I have watched some of the winter Hallmark movies I notice the folded fabric that is supposed to be snow. I can get passed that but I couldn't get passed the on again off again french accent. The actress is beautiful, she can act and she can speak french but acting like she was French was a hard one for her. They should have changed the story line to American born and moved to France in early teens or French born but raise in America until her teens. That would have made this a better watch for me but instead it drove me crazy insane and I mentally cringed with the changing of of her accent from French to English.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
TERRIBLE Accents
canuckfan-1911627 June 2022
The fact that when the lead lady is screaming and crying her "French English" accent literally doesn't exist is hilarious. The chemistry isn't believable. If the location is France, why is everyone speaking English with the French accent? I know they are doing it just for the movie, and it's only Hallmark, but it's still frustrating.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Moriah Bufort (Rachelle Lefevre)
aab87412 July 2022
Warning: Spoilers
Favorite scene with

Moriah Bufort (Rachelle Lefevre) - She and Ben talking about the Love Letters, having been In Love - or not - before, and Kissing in front of a Fire. Very Romantic. BTW #1, So Dang Cool that Paul Campbell Co-Wrote this movie! BTW #2, I Loved this movie!

Set in France.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Enjoyed it but....
bmiller5919 July 2022
The scenery was incredible. I had to check that indeed it was filmed in France, and not somewhere in Canada. I was relieved it was.

I like these two, two of my favorites but they didn't sell this very well. It seemed forced. Her French accent was horrible. At one time she was painting furniture with a brush and I was thinking that should be stained, with a rag. And then in another scene, she WAS staining it with a rag. The production wasn't the best.

But, I enjoyed it, wish I could have rewarded it with higher rating.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Beautiful scenery!
hallmarkmov3 July 2022
Warning: Spoilers
Loved the location! What a beautiful setting for the movie to take place. It was a nice story with deeper characters and plots that actually went somewhere. I found it confusing that there was a smaller house next to the light house that is never discussed and I'm guessing that it's not in the novel and was on site. The fake French accent was a bit annoying but I liked that they kept the male lead as an American.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed