Ricky Gervais: SuperNature (2022) Poster

(2022 TV Special)

User Reviews

Review this title
260 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
I laughed so hard
MovieCriticOnline27 May 2022
I laughed so hard and I haven't laughed in a while at a standup. Ricky just doesn't gaf and it's great. He pokes fun of everything as he should.

And I love his energy and pacing. Not a dull moment.
89 out of 103 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Unapologetic
akira-hideyo26 May 2022
I had expectations prior to watching and they were all exceeded. He dealt each punch effortlessly without taking a pause and never missing a beat. That's masterclass. It's clear many jokes that would deem very politically incorrect or offensive were easily muck dispersed by understanding that all were in actuality true human observations and realities. He minces no words nor imposes bias. He merely reminds what a spade is. What I took away from this immensely enjoyable, almost 65 minutes of comic stand up, was the sheer brilliance of his intelligence, deductions, logic and detached neutral empathy, wicked passive aggressive humor and subtle surrender of how eventually all humanity is fudged at the current trajectory. So just drink, eat....be merry and poofed from existence. Can't agree more Ricky.
74 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thank you Ricky
XTheXXTruthX24 May 2022
For fighting for comedy.

Superb and fearless show that I'm certain his fellow comedians will appreciate. Take a bow Ricky. You are no doubt going to get some flack for this one, but it will be worth it.
230 out of 278 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
He doesn't care, and that's a good thing!
rws_2024 May 2022
I like Ricky's comedy because he's one of the only ones left today who will just tear into anything - he doesn't care, and that's what's great about his stand-up.

I look forward to seeing all the fragiles that will be crying over this and screaming for his cancellation ... you know it's coming.

I'm just glad people like this still exist, I can't watch any of the sellouts that stand there spitting out boring, humourless, carefully-worded material that only the woke could ever laugh at.

It was a funny special, some good jokes in there. Not as good as some of his previous in my opinion, but still a funny watch nonetheless.
168 out of 203 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Finally a good comedy special on Netflix again
backup-5036224 May 2022
I've been waiting for this, Netflix's had a looong dry spell on comedy and good stuff overall.

Ricky's as funny and edgy as ever, probably the only comedian who never caved at all.

I don't agree on his clearly pandering abortion "stance" (not even sure why that's a topic in comedy nowadays) but there's this shocking thing where we can disagree on a thing and still like the comedy and the comedian.

His cat bit was spot on, I've been saying to cat people forever that if their dumb cat was huge it'd kill 'em without remorse. Dogs rule, lol.

Yeah. If you've seen his previous special Humanity this is kind of more of the same, even the set and his clothes are pretty much the same, but I guess not everyone has to make each special look and feel radically different when there's a good tried and tested formula behind it.

It's a fun special, that's the most important bit. It's not your average propped-up Netflix comedian telling far-left statements for applause, it's a comedian doing daring jokes. Tell me that's not refreshing.
119 out of 149 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Return comeback for Gervais
AdrenalinDragon24 May 2022
Welcome back Ricky! Just what I needed a good laugh and for you to not give a crap about who you offend to entertain. Thanks for calling out all the stupidity and hypocrisy. Just what we need in today's crazy world of what we live in.

7/10.
80 out of 98 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious as always
yvesdemaria27 May 2022
The world is so big and so full of people if you are offended and woke simply don't watch it ; the only reason you know him is because he is famous but there are millions and millions of people who have the same humor and love of irony and sarcasm as him.

Hilarious

10/10.
68 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant, Funny, Intelligent. Thank You.
UltraMaximal24 May 2022
Ricky goes for the throat in this one. Nothing at all is sacred and he does it with intelligence! Those that are offended should be offended because they didn't watch the whole thing to see the brilliance.

When you accept and approve of yourself you won't need anyone else's.
119 out of 145 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Classic Gervais
dongillette124 May 2022
Hilarious, rapid-fire, and exactly what I expected. I especially liked the true stories of his school days and the parts short bit about Eddie Izzard (because Gervais borrows from Izzard's style quite a bit.) ALMOST as good as his Golden Globe appearances.
102 out of 123 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Phew
Tom5473524 May 2022
Something actually decent to watch on Netflix. Refreshing light in the darkness.

There is so much brainwashing content around these days it's nice to hear something different.
148 out of 180 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ricky Gervais is the pillar on which free speech rests.
Movie_Reviews28 May 2022
As is so much from this man: This is great and potent stuff. First of all I laughed my head off watching it and secondly I would like to humbly thank Ricky Gervais for being such a stand up guy, doing stand-up like this. We are all in your debt!
54 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent
degrees-3336529 May 2022
About time someone stands up there and makes the jokes and the comments that we have about people these days. I found it to be brilliant and pity the haters that doesn't have a sense of humor.
38 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thank heavens for Ricky Gervais
sandra-9424924 May 2022
We need more people like RG to stand up to the 'woke' brigade and this will get their knickers in a proper twist. I just love the fact that he doesn't care who he upsets, I no longer watch any off the main stream comedians with all their woke views.

Loved it, hilarious 😂
102 out of 126 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Jokes are funny
kaseymoore-3615324 May 2022
His best special to date imo. Nothing off-limits and the fact he has to repeatedly explain what a joke is throughout makes you realise why we're in such a hostile society right now.
145 out of 176 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Refreshing
adventureceb24 May 2022
Luckily Ricky Gervais is around to remind everyone that comedy should be free from restraints and should absolutely challenge the topics which are pressing matters of the day. You'll either like it or you won't, thats whats great about comedy, horses for different courses and freedom of expression.
122 out of 141 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely hilarious!!
cscott233125 May 2022
I swear he makes me laugh so hard! He is so inappropriate and so damn funny!! If you don't appreciate his humor then don't watch. If you get your little feeling hurt then don't watch. If you take yourself way to seriously then don't watch.

If you have a stick up your arse then don't watch!!

If you like some inappropriate, suggestive, awful, sometimes gross but ALWAYS funny humor, well Ricky is your man.
45 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Says the unsayable
hazzaboombatty26 May 2022
In today's culture many are scared to challenge the newest ideas for fear of being ex communicated. This is a fact because those who do challenge constantly get told "I agree with you but I can't say so publicly".

Nobody is truly cancelled, but they have a good go. You can lose jobs and you can lose friends for having (currently) incorrect opinions. We should not be in this position, as a culture, and the fact we are means we are outliers, which tells us something useful.

So Ricky says what needs to be said and yes, it is very provocative and I didn't laugh at everything he said, but I would fight for his right to say it. And I'm glad he did.

We are living in crazy times where the opinions people have now didn't exist 3 years ago. And those who resist these opinions are being told they are bigots and transphobes. And only because for the first time the rights of a minority group are now impinging on the hard won rights of biological women.

Where does this end? For example it may lead to women just giving up on sport because they know they can't beat a person who grew up male. So we need a trans league alongside male and female?

My view is that we need open debate and we don't have that, not really. In the UK the lack of debate about immigration led to Brexit - probably a bad outcome for all.

What Ricky does is he mocks the ideology, not the individuals. He knocks the hypocrisy and the vitriol with which advocates of this ideology speak. Especially to women who they label terfs. And let's not forget that these are often men who haven't transitioned who are essentially being incredibly misogynistic. We all know this is lunacy.

He's saying things people might think but are too scared to say. But some people can't take it and feel threatened because they can't back up their views with any facts or evidence because their views are based on feelings and emotions. And that's why they won't debate the issues so Ricky is forced to put it in his comedy to draw attention to something we aren't addressing.

Thank god for comedy.
56 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What you actually watched
bethanyprior25 May 2022
This guy is the funniest living comedian we have, he knows it, and he is unafraid of being canceled. I think he may actually be un-cancelable. He's incredibly clever, and literally every joke hits (some hits are more groan than laugh, but I'm here for the absurdism.)

Ricky is so clever that if you made it to the end, consider yourself coached. He set the special up by essentially saying, I'm going to reëducate you and remind you what funny is. Then he proceeded to deliver a set of irreverent bits that remind us why we love to laugh.
79 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thanks for existing Ricky Gervais
namenbasil125 May 2022
Hilarious and most importantly happy that one of the most sincere and logical views of te world has a voice and lets some of us feel we're not alone. Nowadays, few people with his influence, approach things the way he does which in my opinion is an approach we should all listen to and live by.
83 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Finally something funny
kol238824 May 2022
This was brilliant, funny and finally something hilarious a stand up special that is actually funny, I honestly thought I wouldn't see that especially on Netflix but here it is.

If you never seen Ricky Gervais before, you definitely should, this is a great show to start with his work. But on the other hand if you are easily offended then this is definitely not for you. This is like his Emmy hosting but even better no restraint whatsoever just him talking whatever is on his mind and most of time it is so funny that you will burst out laughing. Finally something worth watching in stand up comedy section of Netflix. Recommendation for anyone who likes stand up.
79 out of 96 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Just human
kosmasp25 May 2022
Ricky Gervais - when Will Smith got physical with Chris Rock at the Oscars ... many asked themselves: what would Ricky have done? Now he answered that himself. He said, he probably wouldn't have done the joke, but he also said there is no reason to react for Will Smith the way he did. That alone may or may not be triggering for some. Having an opinion or just having a different point of view can be enough to get people riled up.

Can imagine what it is like making jokes? That are not woke! That may offend people - now Ricky sets up the stage beautifully. He tells us what he is going to do and that he hopes and thinks the audience will get it. He may have been too optimistic .. at least when it comes to the audience at home. Because the other day he was trending on twitter ... not in a good sense. Although to be fair, just the fact that he was trending probably made more people watch this, then if he hadn't. So there is that too - and had the opposite effect of what some people tried to achieve.

There are some really crazy jokes here - but as a friend of mine already said: he has done "worse". He has been more offensive. And considering he is explaining jokes or what he actually means ... and that he thinks everyone is equal and so forth. Still not enough for those who want to be offended. Who want to be triggered, who want to have something to be mad about. I think it is necessary for some to have that kind of ... stage themselves. To portray themselves as victims and to have that place to vent.

Certain things are more than a reality. But as a joke Ricky makes is also clear: he does not do or condone actual violence against anyone. That is why he cut that bit ... if you missed that joke. There are quite a few puns and it is obvious he doesn't take himself too serious. Or his own standing: see him constructing and putting himself in a "minority" group of people ... you can be mad that he says what he is. Is he proud of it? It is just a fact that he is rich - innit? A nod to his british roots, in case you are wondering.

A comedy special that might offend you - but it is and will not be Rickys fault if that is the case. He is not promoting hate or anger - he wants people to have a good time. To make them laugh - because they know that certain things are wrong. Reflecting and all that. If you thought Dave Chappelle was had an offensive show - you probably did not watch all of it but even if you did: this will be even ... worse for you. And it is not meant to be that way at all.
56 out of 79 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Antedote
mikeyboy2625 May 2022
To our often humourless, virtue signalling and identity political world we are sliding into...........also very very funny and full of joyous anecdotes!
48 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Supernatural humor
danielcereto25 May 2022
I've enjoyed the show. I know how to differenceciate a stand up comedy show vs real life. Dark humor can't be censored because someone is offended somewhere. Humor should not to be considered real life.

By the way, I'm really offended and sad by children dead by guns and crooked politicians. Can someone cancel that too?

To add, if you don't like this kind of shows, just don't watch it. Easy.
25 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Humanity was better
flare228 May 2022
This special was alright but humanity is still better. A lot of edgy jokes which sometimes feel a little bit too forced. Also I hate it that nowadays every comic has to explain himself. "I dont really mean that. Its a joke." Yeah, thanks mate. I know what comedy is. If someone doesnt get it then screw them.
31 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Old-school comedy when we needed it the most
mrshyguy-4942324 May 2022
Fantastic special, lots of great moments and jokes! Wroth buying Netflix just for this. Lots of humorless twitter-people hate it so you know its golden.
81 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed