The Money Masters (1996) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
13 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
The Money Masters
a_baron29 July 2014
This is a lengthy documentary that traces the history of the money changers from the Roman Empire pre-Christ to the Federal Reserve.

If the word conspiracy runs through it, it is with good reason; thirty and definitely fifty years ago the contents of this film would have been dismissed as conspiracy theories, fantasy, or worse. Now thanks primarily to the Internet vast tranches of the public the world over have woken up to the racket of the money changers, or the banksters as they are usually known.

This film does not make the mistake so beloved of Libertarians, calling for a return to the gold standard. It recognises rightly that there is absolutely nothing wrong with fiat money, and that the value of money is purely psychological.

Having said that, there are one or two things here that are questionable at best; there is that infamous Rothschild quote for one; has anyone ever come up with a contemporary citation for that? And did that infamous bank circular really say what is claimed here, in fact did it ever exist?

There is a lot about the Jekyl Island plot and related matters that will be familiar to anyone who has read the standard works like "None Dare Call It Conspiracy" and its precursors, including of course Professor Quigley's massive study "Tragedy & Hope". In fact, presenter William T. Still quotes directly from Gary Allen and like-minded authors.

You don't have to swallow all the conspiriology in this film, but if you approach it with an open mind it will confirm what most ordinary people and even those who have a vested interest in helping prop up the current corrupt debt-based money system are coming to suspect, that there are two governments, the one that ostensibly rules, us, and the invisible government of finance – to paraphrase Dan Smoot.

Towards the end of the film, Still proposes a simple solution to our current malaise, the one mooted by Milton Friedman, who died ten years after it was released. Although Still argues from an American perspective, it is clear he means for the rest of the world to follow suit. He also visits Guernsey; you might like to check out "The Guernsey Experiment" for yourself.

Although dated 1996, this video appears to have been updated in 2005. The past few years have seen not only a greater awareness of the money issue but the emergence of digital currencies, which although far from the panacea their proponents claim them to be are something else for the banksters to worry about.

Although the presenter's voice tends to drone a bit, this is a film that was motivated by pure idealism; it has also inspired many others, so there may be hope for us yet.
29 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the most important things you will ever watch.
ryanmair8 February 2013
This documentary is quite a long haul at over 3 and a 1/2 hours, but it is worth it.

I have never seen a more detailed account of history than this, and it paints a very frightening picture. I do not understand how so few people have heard of this.

it would be hard for even the most naive of people to shrug off these facts.

although it's a bit dated now, its all relevant and still taking place. you need to make time to watch it as soon as possible, you will not regret it.
42 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Solution
deejones_222 January 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Honestly, very well put together. Just very long. This doc clearly Demonstrates the machinations of the U.S. Banking system and much more. Goes from the history of tally sticks in mid-evil England under King Henry 1st, to the Bank of England purchase by the Rothschild family in 1694. The doc also covers the central banks of the United States and various currencies throughout our nations history, including Colonial Scrip, and the original Greenback printed by Lincoln. Needless to say, the historical aspects of this doc are unmatched in my opinion. Still even comes to modern day and discusses the 'fractional reserve lending' system and demonstrates mathematically how it is creating money out of thin air and in effect debasing our currency's value. Over the last few years has been charged with some fake quotes, but doesn't diminish from the quality or overall fact of the doc. I recommend watching this several times and paying close attention, there is a lot to learn from this doc. If you are interested in monetary reform do some research! Monetary reform may be the most important cause of our time! Watch the film, get educated, and join the cause.
29 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Impressive documentary...more useful than you'd think
liviuanutian1 February 2012
I have an exam on economics tomorrow and after studying I still felt unsatisfied.

This documentary is extraordinary for showing you why educating yourself ( in the area of economics in this case ) is more important than about anything else.

I'm sincere...and I appreciate how the rawness of this video makes it stick to the point.

The history of economics...a true and enlightening one.

It's worth watching more times to digest all the particular events and notions.
43 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You'll thank yourself for watching this
smartiewriter4 December 2013
I'm not exaggerating to say that this is the most important film that I have ever watched.

It's long and it has no Hollywood special effects, but it presents factual information that is vital for every citizen to know.

I was skeptical, but after 20 minutes of watching I was totally hooked and blown away by the truth.

The world needs to know the truth, I believe that this video should be shown to every American citizen.

I will now tell you a few things that you can find out from watching this film:

The secret truth about the US Federal Reserve.

Why the US Dollar is decreasing in value and so are your savings.

What leaders like Abe Lincoln, Andrew Jackson, and Thomas Jefferson thought about the idea of the Federal Reserve.

A well-planned way in which we can pay off the national debt in a few short years.

How to provide enough money for all citizens and remove most cases of poverty.
27 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Best 3 1/2 hrs on TV!
wjcharliee-918-5472478 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
A perfect (comprehensive and exhaustive) review of how to fix our National Debt-- Reform the Banking System.

For the 3 hours, he explains the history of Money from ancient Rome to USA history from 1700's to now,and the last hours provides the Solution. It goes into detail how Caesar and Abraham Lincoln fixed major Government debt without inflation, recessions, or depressions.

Every Concerned American who loves his country needs to see this and petition it for the powers that be to fix our country BEFORE a final Depression that will bankrupt the Republic.

I never understood what money is and should be until this Documentary.

:-)
15 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Gold Information You Won't Find Anywhere
Douran28 June 2019
Such a rich and deep documentary exploring every aspect of the money and how it works. Historical explanation of the birth of currency and how it was bond, how the bank's profits over money that doesn't exist as a fractional reservoir system, how the system protects itself around a central bank and who own the system and control everything (the secrets owners societies which rules the World). This doc clarifies the deep secrets of capitalism, best ever to understand with clarity things you won't supposed to know!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Oldschool but important in 2020, 2021 and beyond. Underground masterpiece.
rettercritical10 May 2020
If you like James Corbet's documentary on the same subject, I think this is a more in-depth examination of the the history and an underground epic that shouldnt be missed.

You should always do you own research and search widely. But I found this film to be solid as a rock and with pure intentions.

Yes the film is old-school.. Probably distributed on VHS back in the day .. But like the Yuri Besmenov lectures, sometimes its more powerful to watch people talk from the past and predict the future because it proves they are right and credible.

This would be a great double feature with a Yuri Besmenov lecture.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
quotes not so bad
oliverthered25 May 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I shan't cover the whole documentary, but as with any documentary verifying details is always worth while.

What I will cover is some of the criticism in another review posted, for instance at the start of the documentary is a quote from Jefferson about the banks being worse than standing armies. While the quote used isn't exactly what Jefferson said, it's exepionally close to a closing sentence in Jefferson's 28 may 1886 letter to John Taylor, "I sincerely believe with you the banking establishments are more dangerous than standing armies"

So although it's true that some of the sources used in this documentary aren't spot on accurate, it can also be said that some of them are very very close.

This documentary certainly makes a very good starting point for further research on the subject, but as with anything, always cross reference and never take at face value.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Encyclopedia on Money
adilgro27 February 2021
An eye opener.A must watch if you are interested in understanding money .
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
"The Money Masters was Terrible" - Benjamin Franklin
fryfat27 October 2012
This was the worst documentary I've ever seen. 3 and a half hours - ugh. I wasn't even able to enjoy it ironically.

Here are the main issues against my enjoyment:

*)There's no production value, no creativity in the scenes.

*)There's no music.

*)There is one, skinny-faced man talking at you for 3 and 1/2 hours.

To make things worse, it seems the film was either researched from conspiracy newsgroups in the 1990's, or it was all a delusional dream from the filmmaker.

The thesis reminds me of Scientology. Like Dianetics, there are bits of truth scattered about to suck you in - for example, the Federal Reserve isn't a purely public institution. Moneyed people have power. Alright, keep going! Then it hits you with a whopper: the fed is 100% private and owned by the Illuminati (which they call the Money Masters), Fort Knox is empty, and this international evil cabal wants to create a "one world currency" to enslave us foreverrrr!!!!

As evidence for the more outlandish claims, the film features some hilariously bad quotes. For example,

"If the American people ever allow private banks to control the issue of their currency, first by inflation, then by deflation, the banks and the corporations which grow up around them will deprive the people of all property until their children wake up homeless on the continent their fathers conquered." - Thomas Jefferson

If you've read any Thomas Jefferson, or any writing from people in the early 19th century, this doesn't pass the smell test. Deflation wasn't even a word at the time.

"Money has no motherland; financiers are without patriotism and without decency: their sole object is gain." - Napoleon Bonaparte

WHAT?! Again, this doesn't even sound like Napoleon. It's actually from a book printed in the 30's.

"The Government should create, issue, and circulate all the currency and credit needed to satisfy the spending power of the Government and the buying power of consumers. The privilege of creating and issuing money is not only the supreme prerogative of Government, but it is the Government's greatest creative opportunity. By the adoption of these principles ... the taxpayers will be saved immense sums of interest. Money will cease to be master and become the servant of humanity." - Abraham Lincoln.

Again, not even close. This is from a book in the 1930's.

I could do more quotes, but you get the point. Every other one I looked up was entirely false or taken out of context.

A scholar reads first-hand sources. If they quote Napoleon or Thomas Jefferson, it's because they read Napoleon or Thomas Jefferson.

Nobody involved with this film was a scholar.

"This was the worst movie ever made" - Benjamin Franklin
17 out of 89 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
My Review of The Money Masters
jonshaber24 June 2016
Not since Battlefield Earth has a movie greatly tested my patience. This "movie" is so f*cking boring beyond belief. The entire thing is literally a giant info dump, that there's no point of it even being a movie. Why bother making use of the cinematic medium? How about instead, have the filmmaker clobber us for 3.5 hours with exposition of his one-sided beliefs. Never does he consider the full argument of his beliefs. Only what aligns with his views are presented to us in the dullest way imaginable. As for the info that's presented, a lot of it can be seen as speculative due to the filmmaker choosing to lecture the viewers about it rather than show actual proof of it. No, the selected quotes that serves as the filmmaker's confirmation bias don't count as proof, because that's what they are, selective. The movie doesn't let you think for yourself, rather instead, it just throws it's viewpoints at you and expects you to believe them. There's so much info that could've been cut out of this movie and still have the filmmaker's main point come across. For anyone reading this, don't waste your time on this movie, it's garbage.
5 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Home Movie by Looney Conspiracy Theorist
junk.mail.only22 April 2019
This looks like a 3 1/2 hour home movie by a looney conspiracy theorist who is obviously completely ignorant of both economics and history. I bet he was home-schooled. The mistakes, misinformation, and outright falsehoods here are too numerous to recount, and it's just painful to watch. Not worth your time.
2 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed