The Immigrant (2013) Poster

(2013)

User Reviews

Review this title
73 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Worth a view for Cotillard alone
TheMarwood16 June 2014
James Gray's beautifully shot 1920s New York period drama about the American dream gone to seed for a Polish woman, never stumbles into soap opera melodrama and the film is actually restrained considering the heaps of drama thrown at this woman. Marion Cotillard gives a wonderful performance as the immigrant who finds herself exploited in prostitution and the script wisely never makes her blind to the fact that things will be quickly heading south for her - she's a strong, smart woman who's hostage to a miserable situation. Jeremy Renner makes the most of his small but pivotal role and is the only character who seems to be having a good enough time and he injects some munch needed energy into this story. It's Phoenix, whose shyster character is the most complicated, that never comes across convincing. And while Phoenix is never for a moment boring to watch and for the most part doesn't over act, his acting decisions seem too thought out and theatrical. While Cotillard, Renner and the rest of the cast give performances that feel natural and embody these characters, it always feels like Phoenix is acting. Though locations are minimal and the few exterior shots are usually in a tunnel, the period detail is convincing and it's a nice too see a period film actually shot on film instead of digital. The Immigrant is a good showcase for Cotillard's talents and despite its flaws, definitely worth a watch.
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
An absolute masterclass in filmmaking & acting from all involved.
peacecreep18 April 2014
A complex, nuanced, deeply affecting tale of morality and survival in 1920's New York. This is American cinema at it's finest. Nothing is black/white or good/evil in James Gray's films, instead we see intensely emotional portraits of real people struggling for happiness. Again, religion plays a central role in his work and the message, at least to me, seems to be: there is no god, there is only you.

Somehow Marion Cotillard keeps getting better and better and digging deeper into her characters. She is far and away the best actress out there and continues to work with the finest filmmakers. Her confession scene in this movie was stunning, beautiful- the best shot of the year. When the credits rolled i wasn't sure what i was feeling but i knew it was worthy of deep contemplation. Pure class, pure cinema.
52 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
8/10
very beautiful movie with awesome performances!
colettaberx3 December 2013
What a beautiful story it was, a sad story of that girl Ewa, full of hope arriving in a strange country with the believe that she and her sister will be welcomed by their family! And the desperation and fear when bit by bit her hope and faith gets challenged by the bitterness of "the American dream", the bitterness of being immigrants without money or relatives, connections... Marion is amazing, she acts with her eyes, her face tells it all, she actually doesn't need words... She makes Ewa a very fragile looking "girl" but with an amazing survival-instinct .. Joacquin was charming, frightening, sad, and at the end pitiful..a very dark character, despicable and yet tragic... When Jeremy comes into the story, his character adds a lot of tension with great interaction with Joacquin and Marion; repressed emotions, boyish charm , impulsiveness combined with darkness. He was really really excellent, I loved his performance.. Gray did an awesome job by building up the story the way he did, with very beautiful images, images in those amazing soft yellow ocher colors , that show us a world of those who are "damned " with very rare beacons of light... The end scene, that ending shot , was so amazing, so beautiful ! And I loved the soundtrack.
57 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
Cotillard, Phoenix and Renner in the land of opportunity.
Ser_Stephen_Seaworth25 March 2014
James Gray's latest tale of melancholic woe and spirits in emotional turmoil takes us back to when America was the land of opportunity for the tired, poor, huddled masses. The director's fifth feature is once again centered in New York, where past entries like "Little Odessa" and "Two Lovers" took place, but "The Immigrant" takes us back ninety years, putting a classical spin on his typical tale.

Though it's lensed with a soft focus emphasis that lends the film a dreamlike patina, "The Immigrant" doesn't shy away from scratching below the scabbed surface of the American dream, even in the first scene. The Cybalska sisters, Ewa and Magda, are among the many crowded in line at Ellis Island in 1921, waiting to be welcomed into America (through the rigorous immigration process that shows that getting into the States was just as difficult then as it is now). The elder Ewa (Marion Cotillard, whose haunting beauty and old-school look made her the perfect casting) is a former Polish nurse who tries to advise her sickly younger sister to look well, but unfortunately, Magda is consumptive and kept in isolation from the other immigrants. Ewa herself is corralled when she is suspected of being "a woman of low morals," but before she can be deported, she is "rescued" by a man named Bruno Weiss (Joaquin Phoenix, also perfectly era-appropriate), who trawls the immigration station in hopes of picking up potential new additions to his troupe.

For you see, Weiss runs a burlesque show made almost entirely of young foreign ladies who escaped the ravages of the Great War to seek their fortunes here. But he takes a special kindle to Ewa, who nevertheless finds herself disliking her new livelihood and employer. Despite his rather sad-sack pursuit of Ewa's affections, Bruno still pimps her out to rich patrons. It may seem very von Trier-esque, but indeed this was not uncommon in the Big Apple back then. Yet Ewa refuses to be downtrodden, even though she has convinced herself that she is a condemned woman (referenced in a crucial scene in a Catholic confessional). She even flees from Bruno's employ at one point, only to end up back where she started in Ellis Island . . . and who is waiting to bail her out by Weiss again?

There is, however, a glimmer of hope for Ewa, in the form of a dashing Houdini-esque magician named Orlando. Played with relaxed charm and verve by Jeremy Renner, Orlando makes a perfect foil for Phoenix's Bruno. Orlando would traditionally be the hero of this story who gets the girl in the end, but James Gray is not interested in telling a traditional tale, even if he has taken many tropes from older works. Orlando's presence presents its own problems for Ewa, and the brewing conflict among the three central characters affects her most of all.

And Gray certainly lucked out in casting Cotillard; the actress knows how to convey a soliloquy's worth of emotion with a single glance, and Cotillard's mournful, ethereal presence is used in full force here. Her dialogue is minimal, mainly reactionary save for her confessional, and yet she says more in this performance to express her situation than Cate Blanchett did in "Blue Jasmine" could with all of her broad rhapsodizing (no disrespect meant to Cate). Cotillard has played in this era before, and the fact that she has the throwback beauty that would've made her a star even in the silent days makes her presence in this film all the more soulful. (Also, full props on the French actress mastering the Polish accent, even whilst speaking the language!)

But Cotillard doesn't have to do the heavy lifting alone. Joaquin Phoenix, who's worked with Gray three times before this, continues to show why he may be the premier actor of his generation. Bruno Weiss seems to be a self-loathing man who just can't bring himself to play the hero in the traditional sense, resorting only to the shady and seedy in order to get ahead in life. Phoenix does a fine job of showing that there is a great depth to Bruno, and we sympathize with the schmuck; he works well on the stage, but when the curtains are drawn, he's at sea. Jeremy Renner, who came very close to playing the role that Phoenix made instantly iconic in "The Master", has a fantastic presence and works very well against both Joaquin and Marion. One does hope that Gray works with him in the future, hopefully in a leading part to take full advantage of his talent.

"The Immigrant" may rest mostly on its trinity of actors' shoulders, but it is a rich experience thanks to Gray's operatic direction, which feels like an homage to the days of both Chaplin and Coppola. I do find it to be an almost incomplete film, as I feel its ending felt more like a respite than a true completion. Perhaps it's due to the fact that I feel Gray could do so much more in this era, and tell more of this woman's story. But as it stands, I find "The Immigrant" to be a fine film with a great deal to say, and it acts as a beautiful showcase for Cotillard.
56 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
6/10
Talented cast largely wasted in melodrama that spins its wheels
george.schmidt15 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
THE IMMIGRANT (2014) ** Marion Cotillard, Joaquin Phoenix, Jeremy Renner, Dagmara Dominczyk. Disappointing and one-note period piece set in 1920s NYC where recent Polish émigré Cottilard (emoting up a storm) attempts to keep her rocky citizenship entry to America when her tubercular stricken sister is forced to remain on Ellis Island leaving her to no other alternative than entrusting her fate with shady Phoenix (overacting) as a bureaucrat cum pimp (make your own jokes here) who falls hard for her. Things get worse when his magician cousin (Renner, miscast) enters the picture forming an unlikely lover's triangle in a pot boiling melodrama that goes nowhere fast. Filmmaker James Gray (who co-wrote with Ric Menello) spins his wheels while the immaculate production design by Happy Massee and Darius Khondji's cinematography make up for plodding plotting. Would've been more interesting if the male leads switched roles but too little too late.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
Absolute masterpiece, best movie I've watched in a long time
ahmegy-914-44550927 March 2014
Magnificent performance by the leading actors, and even supporting roles. Incredible set, photography, costumes, script, direction, you name it. A true chef d'oeuvre and a feast for the senses. Cotillard is out of this world in almost every scene she appears in, I would not be surprised at all if she sealed an Oscar next year, or at least a nomination. Phoenix had an outstanding performance in this emotionally charged brilliantly written and directed movie about the very depths of human nature, lust, love, greed, survival, good and evil. Renner was great too, within the frame of his role, with some unexpected events as the story unfolds. This is not a movie where you can predict exactly what will happen next, you just sit back and live this amazing movie experience and thank God such great pictures are still made. A couple of hours of my life very well spent.
62 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
8/10
A Sympathetic Portrait Guided by a Strong Cast and Period Details
Pycs19 July 2014
The opening shot of James Gray's "The Immigrant" is, rather befittingly, the Statue of Liberty, circa 1921. For Lady Liberty, herself of foreign origins, exemplifies the ideals and ambitions millions upon millions of immigrants have sacrificed and labored for in the hopes of one day achieving. The camera then pulls back slowly and the statue disappears into the background, for this is no grand tale of success or prosperity, but of the hardships and struggles associated with the vast majority of immigration experiences.

The title character refers to Ewa Cybulska (Marion Cotillard), a Polish immigrant freshly off the boat at Ellis Island alongside her sister , Magda (Angela Sarafyan). The sisters are hastily separated when Magda is unable to conceal her illness (later discovered to be tuberculosis), and is promptly quarantined. Faced with deportation, Ewa is recruited by Bruno (Joaquin Phoenix), a shady theater promoter, who is able to furnish her with a bed and employment.

Ewa finds her situation anything but ideal, and it is not long before her body becomes her greatest commodity. Feeling exploited by Bruno, she manages to locate her aunt and uncle, earlier immigrants living in the city for some time now. This effort proves futile, and she is once again resigned to operate under Bruno.

Further complications ensue when Emil (Jeremy Renner), a magician and Bruno's cousin, enters the picture and is instantly enraptured by Ewa. Partly seeing it as an infringement of his turf and partly out of envy, Bruno reacts hostilely towards Emil's advances towards Ewa. Ewa, whose justification for her prostitution is a hopeful reunion with her sister, is torn between the two men. Not necessarily out of love, for something so trivial surely has no use in the world of struggles Ewa finds herself in, but she is divided as to whom can properly benefit her, as she has reason to doubt both men's claims.

Showcasing a handsome reproduction of early 1920's New York, Gray's film is a very sympathetic portrait of the burden of immigrant life. As depicted in the film, the processing system dehumanized the migrants, frighteningly close to the same degree as the slave processing in "Goodbye Uncle Tom." If one was lucky enough to make it through customs and into the country, "The Immigrant" pulls no punches in representing the strife of the urban environment at a time where work came cheap and arduous, as was human life.

As one would come to expect by now, Marion Cotillard, who has been nothing less than terrific in various foreign and domestic films in the last couple years, is well cast as Ewa. Able to channel the character's sympathy without falling victim to excessive sentiment, Cotillard's Ewa is a woman who has convinced herself to make the necessary sacrifices, yet cannot help but to bear the guilt. Though Cotillard's Ewa may doubt her methods, her zeal is never up for question. She is absolutely determined to see her sister again from whatever cash she can scrap together, and the end will surely justify the means.

Also notable is Phoenix, who continues his recent career renaissance following 2012's "The Master" and 2013's "Her." Bruno, as played by Phoenix, is undoubtedly taking advantage of Ewa and her situation, yet there is a sense of gentleness and care that Phoenix is able to bring to the character. Under Bruno's wing, Ewa may be compromised, but she is cared for and secure. Bruno never physically abuses her or coerces her into something she isn't prepared for, as her path into prostitution was clearly forged given the situation, whether she came across Bruno or not. Thus Bruno's recruitment was both a blessing and a curse for Ewa. Great credit should go to screenwriters Gray and Ric Menello and actor Phoenix for carving a well-structured and nuanced character out of what could have easily fallen into the ranks of cliché.

As her character states early on, Ewa's only ambition in coming to America is "to be happy," yet she finds her conditions to be anything but. Thus "The Immigrant" is a testament to the trials and tribulations that countless individuals and families have endeavored (and those who continue to do so) at the aspiration of forging a better lives for themselves.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
6/10
The Immigrant isn't bad, but I didn't like it very much
Argemaluco20 January 2015
The Immigrant tells us a devastating story, which simultaneously denounces the fallacy of "American dream" and confirms the indomitable spirit of the immigrants who forged the cultural and economical basis of that country. The performances are excellent, the characters are complex, and the cinematography captures the reality of the historical period with a raw beauty. However, I didn't like this film very much, mainly because it didn't make me feel anything, despite all the drama and personal tragedy it displays. The unfortunate experiences the main character lives are mortifying, and unfortunately, they might have been very common in the time in which this movie is set (also nowadays, thinking it well); but for some reason, The Immigrant isn't made with enough passion for us to plunge into the main character's experiences, and it doesn't have a concrete point besides of being a sample book of human suffering which should have been touching, but it isn't. Having said that, I think my opinion about The Immigrant is in the minority, considering all the acclamation this film has received around the world. However, this doesn't mean I couldn't find positive elements in this film, such as the brilliant performances. Marion Cotillard perfectly transmits vulnerability and resistance at the same time. The great Joaquin Phoenix brings a predictably amazing work as the opportunist Bruno, and Jeremy Renner brings a warm and sensitive attitude which totally adjusts to his character. I think that those three performances are enough reason to make The Immigrant worthy of a slight recommendation, with the hope that other spectators will appreciate the emotions and narrative honesty I wasn't able to find.
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
7/10
'The Immigrant' is definitely worth watching
joshua kit28 March 2014
I just finished this movie and wanted to leave a review, while the credits are still rolling.

I'm one of the harsher critics on IMDb, but I enjoyed The Immigrant. This is a dark film about Prohibition-era New York, and the trials of Eastern European immigrants who have come here in the hopes of a better life.

Like most good films, good and evil are blurred. We aren't asked to judge the characters, but rather to observe them as they are.

The plot is solid and the performances are impressive, particularly Marion Cotillard and Juaquin Phoenix.
41 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
6/10
A melodrama built upon clichés whose good performances can't save from boredom
maria-ricci-198314 February 2016
There is nothing new or surprising in the story: a poor young immigrant girl who is fresh-off-the-boat taken advantage of, and is sexually exploited by another survivor (just one step above in the food chain ladder) in the golden age of immigration in America.

The acting is good, but the script is quite poor and the direction merely goes through the motions of formal correctness without adding depth, or a true reflection, or a new insight on the matter.

The characters lack in complexity and reality; the revealing of social injustice is more a "homework making" of a formal outrage than a truly insightful exploration of human miseries.

It is an average film with minor hits and major misses which, in my opinion, will not make its way through history, even for easy-to-please audiences as the lovers of Hollywood movies.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
8/10
Should have gotten Oscar contention..and Jeremy Renner just kills it!
smiley_b8123 March 2014
"The Immigrant", James Gray's newest film, while retaining some of the gritty dark-crime dramatics of his previous work, feels like a radical departure. Mainly because its an Ellis Island-era period movie set 100 years ago, and because its observed through the eyes of a female protagonist and her struggle against permanent blight and the inherent depression of the situational times.

Fleeing the brutalities of Trotsky's Red Army, Polish Ewa (Marion Cotillard) and her sickly sister arrive in New York cira 1920. When her sister is quarantined and both are threatened with deportation, Ewa is taken notice and saved by the faux-sensitive brothell pimp Bruno (Joaquin Phoenix) and blackmailed into prostitution. Just when Ewa may succumb to the sort of drab, bleak life that she was trying to allude, Bruno's cousin Orlando the Magician (Jeremy Renner) shows up and both men via their own quirky methods try to light a fire in the heart of the pretty foreigner.

In her best part since "Rust and Bone", Cotillard is Oscar worthy in a showy albeit poetic performance (made all the more impressive that she speaks Polish throughout most of it). Phoenix is superb as usual, as the repressed and impotent man who wants to think he's in charge. But Renner steals the show. Right when you think the movie is going to slide under the weight of the misery of its subject, his Orlando appears like a glowing gaslight of fun amongst the dim rooms and crowded corridors. Like his work in "American Hustle", its criminal that his spritely performance here will go unrewarded and under the radar.

Although the universal tale of Gray's film isn't exactly something we haven't seen before (from Kazan's bold "America, America" to Ron Howard's putrid "Far and Away") "The Immigrant" presents a rare and thoughtful experience, one in which we can learn something about the lives of long ago as well as our own.
33 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
Pretty restrained
Red_Identity1 April 2014
When I read the summary for this film, I just expected a sweeping, soaring melodrama. Oh, it's a melodrama, no doubt about it, but surprisingly, it's a pretty restrained effort. I appreciate the fact that it really wasn't overblown in its intentions, in its music, in its acting. The three main actors are all pretty good, Cotillard especially. By now, we know the talent this woman possesses and she's someone that can say so much with just a single facial expression. This is one of her very best performances, and it should, in no way, be discounted. I hope she finally gets that long-due second Oscar nomination. All in all, recommended.
24 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
every frame is a silent love letter
geneva notagain31 March 2014
Warning: Spoilers
The storyline is tragic but light, it's the antithesis of a traditional tears-provoking heavy story. the lightness allows us to feel the intense and paradoxical personalities of cotillard, Joaquin phoenix and Jeremy Renee. Marion simply used her eyes to manifest ewa's vulnerabilities and amazing surviving tenacity, admittedly shes a timid and innocent soul with a face that's probably too beautiful for her own good but enough to save her from the borderline of deportation. The first echelon of her character is a caring sister who will sell her dignity to protect her. Then we see the stubbornness and amazing grace of her in the theater, surving among the jealousy coworkers and even maintaining her christianitybeing a prostitute. But Marion's character development is naturally not as multiple as Joaquin phoenix's. we see a self-loathing scumbag 'gentleman', who is capable of denying his own affection toward ewa to make life ahead, everything that matters seem to do with money and this is not his fault. Exteriorly hes the charming and uncanny businessman drifting between the line of legality, bribing cops to feed his exotic girls business. Interiorly he just cannot evade from his intense possessiveness and madness of ewa, he cannot stand a single moment of ewa being with Orlando, because he knows ewa would never love him back, or he is deeply diffident of his own life and line of work, hes trying but doesn't believe he can provide protection to her. He pictured his cousin, the Orlando magician a bright version of him, casually charming and easygoing, and most importantly, with an overboard career and ewa's love. Without any doubt the self-denying prolixity and growing affection of Marion makes phoenix's role more juicy and expressive and present us the luxurious outbreak(the moment he sent ewa away). With his immaculate deliverance, Bruno Weiss is alive and make us all reminiscent of somebody. The tragic story does not seem to matter that much to me, Im simply more interested in this conflicting figure. But above all, I think the most noticeable merit of this incredible film is its cinematography, every single frame is literally an oil painting with a self explanatory emotion. Sometimes is exotically vintage(scenes in theater) with this pleasant thespian old-school traits, and sometimes its dark boldness give us the synaesthesia of desolation and frigidity of 1920 new york city.in this perspective, the immigrant is an art piece, it makes those films which use background sceneries to escalate emotions and win critic's attention look like drama school boy production.
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
8/10
A strange, twisted relationship of human love and forgiveness
jkbonner126 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
In the opening scene we see a blurred shot of the Statue of Liberty in New York Harbor. Blurred because hope too can be blurred. It is 1921 and Ewa Cybulski (Marion Cotillard) and her sister, Magda (Angela Safaryan), arrive at Ellis Island to enter the United States. They come from Katowice in southwest Poland.

Waiting in line, they excitedly discuss starting a new life. They want to get married to nice men and have lots of children. To get started, they are expecting to meet up with their aunt and uncle who live in New York City and who will provide a base for them to get established. But this happy plan almost immediately goes awry. Magda has a hacking cough. A Public Health doctor pulls her out of the line and orders her to be quarantined in Ellis Island's infirmary for six months where she cannot have visitors.

Because Ewa (pronounced Eva) was a nurse to an English family, she knows English. When she reaches the Ellis Island Customs Officer he informs her the address she has for her aunt and uncle is fake and that there is in fact no such address. The aunt and uncle never show. He accuses Ewa of lewd behavior and tells her women of low morals are not allowed to enter the United States. She is to be deported and must stand in a line with other deportees. She is extremely upset. First her beloved sister is taken away from her. Then she is going to be deported because she has no one to stand up for her. She is in despair. And she is also extremely vulnerable. These facts set the tone and the direction of the entire movie.

Enter Bruno Weiss (Joaquin Phoenix). He approaches Ewa in the line of detainees and offers to give her room and board and a job. Because her aunt and uncle didn't show up and she has no way to contact them―and also because she's completely broke―she feels she has no choice. But she discovers very quickly the boarding house is a whore house and the job is to display her body in front of male patrons in a small burlesque theater in Lower Manhattan. Later she is expected to sleep with them. Bruno is an expert manipulator of people who can easily ferret out their psychological weaknesses and use them to his own advantage. This is the way he keeps his girls (his "doves") in line.

With seemingly no other choice Ewa is pulled into the life that Bruno has defined for her. As the ultimate bait Bruno tells Ewa that with the right amount of money he can get Magda off Ellis Island. Although she is thoroughly disgusted by making a living this way (she's a devout Roman Catholic), because of her circumstances she is forced to become a prostitute. Bruno uses guile and psychological manipulation to keep things in line. But he does not beat the women. And also he does not sexually abuse them, but this was left a little murky.

Bruno is not a simple, one-dimensional villain. Bits and pieces of his life are revealed. He caustically relates to Ewa a short description of himself as a young boy dancing in the streets of Manhattan for money with a tin cup strapped to his leg so that people can conveniently toss coins into it. He remarks, "What we won't do to survive." He too started off in life dirt-poor. The world is hard. And the world is cruel. Unless you have some kind of safety net, either through family or through society, you can easily slide down the slippery slope and lose your humanity. This is true whether it's 20th century bc Babylon or 20th century ad New York City. It's part and parcel of the human condition.

Bruno develops a soft spot for Ewa. While Ewa is saying her confession to a priest, Bruno has entered the church and is listening in. He knows what he's done to her but hearing it from her lips to a stranger makes it even worse. The aunt is found and gives Ewa money to pay for Magda's freedom, which is arranged through Bruno's contacts on Ellis Island. He gives Ewa one-way tickets for her and Magda to go to California to start a new life. He confesses he's the one who purposefully set her up so she'd fall into his clutches. He tells her because of what he's done to her he is nothing. She replies softly, "No, you are not nothing." In her way Ewa loves Bruno and forgives him for what he's done to her.

One reason I give this movie an 8 rather than a 10 is what I consider one major flaw, which is the character of Orlando (Jeremy Renner), a magician whose real name is Emil and who is Bruno's cousin. Renner does a good job acting the part, but Orlando/Emil's role is chiefly as Bruno's nemesis rather than an actual flesh-and-blood person in his own right. He and Bruno have had previous run-ins and it's clear from other comments that Orlando/Emil is a very argumentative character. He's also embarrassed Bruno before and caused him to lose the first girl he truly loved. In summary Orlando/Emil seems more driven to free Ewa from Bruno's grip because he wants to thwart Bruno than from any deep feelings he has for her. They fight and Bruno kills him with a knife.

The settings and costumes are outstanding and convincingly capture 1921 Lower Manhattan. Joaquin Phoenix and Marion Cotillard and the other cast actors are very good.

Although Ewa and Magda can start a new life in California, the ending leaves murky Bruno's ultimate fate. This is another reason I give the movie an 8 rather than a 10. But I highly recommend this movie. It's far better than the habitual slop Hollywood spews out.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
2/10
Bad in so many ways
jvanderkay6 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
...that I almost walked out, something I have never ever done. I am amazed that most of the posted reviews are so favorable! Much too long, much too melodramatic, no character development, no motivations, really, riddled with anachronisms and remarkably unlikely happenings -- shallow and sensationalist. At the beginning, I had hopes for Joaquin Phoenix's character, and the story arc of Ewa and Magda, but those just petered out into emotionality. Plot twists that could have added depth to our perception of the characters and events were hidden until near the end, when they were just lost in the climactic excess of emotion and aforesaid melodrama.

I have now had a lifetime's surfeit of Marion Cotillard looking angelic and tearful or fearful -- why couldn't they give her something more to do? Also, though Phoenix turned in a predictable tour-de-force performance, I believe he is capable of more/better, but alas I think it would have to be with a different director.

I guess it's a good thing that there was so much Polish spoken, but it really didn't add anything to the movie -- just to the director's ego, I suppose. They could have used those efforts better in making sure the English was appropriate for the time and place.

I suggest you not spend your money on this one. Watch it if they put it on TV -- it's colorful, and maybe they will cut its run time a little and that will improve it, I'm sure. I'm giving it a 2 instead of a 1 because it is still professionally executed -- it's the material that's the problem.
15 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
7/10
...great period piece movie with underdeveloped characters
bcheng9322 March 2014
i cannot believe this movie got no Oscar consideration this year. both Joaquin phoenix and Marion cottilard deserved Oscar nominations for best actor and actress. i like this movie over " American hustle " and Joaquin's performance was brutally good, especially the last few moments of the movie where it was not sappy but i wanted to cry anyway. it is a f*ucked-up world we live in an its very hard not to desensitize ourselves, which to a degree everybody does.

OK, this movie probably had a lot of production problems, like one of the reviewers said that he caught the 95 min. version and i actually watched the 2 hr. version and that was to short of a running time. this has the feel of an epic movie and the actors and actresses were superb in this movie. i think someone needs to hang or shoot the scriptwriter cause everything else about the movie was awesome.

the basic story is set in early 1920's new york city,and its about 2 sisters from Poland( how good is Marion's polish? ) immigrating to America and arriving on Ellis island. her younger sister is sick and quarantine and waiting to recover and be deported. she is about to be deported also because her sponsors( aunt and uncle )never arrived to pick them up. in swoops Joaquin phoenix to rescue the day and get her out of Ellis island and to downtown Manhattan. oh...BTW, did i mention that he is a pimp and hustler and finds a lot of the girls fresh of the boat who are in dire situations by bribing the guards.

...that is as far as i want to go with the story, it really is a must see movie but make sure you get the longest version possible not the 95 min. one. this movie dwells on the darker side of immigrant life and that America is not the utopia everybody makes it out to be. the streets ain't paved with gold and life was often very hard.

i want to give a shout-out for jeremy renner, he looks very debonaire and suave with the short-cut and the pencil moustache. he played the lovable loser cousin of phoenix and was a delight.

why no Oscar consideration for this movie this year??????. this movie had 3 a-list actors who gave very good performances, set production was gorgeous( everything looked dreary and old like its suppose to ). i don't know if there was cgi involved for the Ellis island scenes, but it was very well done and even new york city in the 1920's was well done.

the last scene between Marion and Joaquin is worth the price of admission alone and i just wish this bittersweet movie was at least a 1/2 hr. longer.

maybe it'll make next years Oscars as it has not officially been released here in the states yet and they can fix it up before then, it just needs a little touching-up here and there thats all.

wanna watch a really good movie? well this is one of the best of the year in my opinion. enjoy!
17 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
6/10
A flat ride
Imdbidia25 April 2017
The Immigrant has all the ingredients to be a blockbuster and an excellent movie: great actors, fantastic production, great atmosphere, historical settings, and a touching story about the harshness of immigration in the USA after the WW1 without sugar-coated BS. Yet, for whatever reason, the movie felt flat most of the time to me, and not touching despite the story being a priori very touching.

Phoenix is always great in whatever he does, and he's the only actor whose character I felt and believed to be real in this film. Marion Cotillard is really sweet but, despite the role being written for her, the dramatic coloratura of the script, speaking in Polish, and shedding the perfect tear, her acting feels flat, as if she had taken a muscular relaxant during the film; unfortunately, I didn't think her acting was coming from the heart and it didn't touch mine. I found Jeremy Renner miscast in his role, he has no chemistry with Cotillard on camera and he was never meant to be a rival of the always powerful Phoenix.

The script has no tempo, unfortunately, so it dragged me alone on a two-hour flat ride. You know, the movie is really sad and emotional, but it rarely moved me, intrigued me, or kept me waiting for what was coming next. The movie felt, depending of the times, clichéd, phony, overly melodramatic, a bit frigid, but mostly unfocused and confused, and that's always the director's fault.

Overall, this is a nice film to watch, but it deflates before it gets fully inflated. There are many things I liked about this film, truly, but nothing I really loved, unfortunately.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
Escaping Hell...Twice
AudioFileZ26 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This movie has a looming darkness and it follows the central character Ewa, played by the talented French Academy Award winning actress Marion Cotillard, as she and her sister escape one nightmare to fall into another. Immigrating from war torn Poland, where both their parents were massacred in front of them, the sisters encounter more problems on their journey across the ocean compounded more upon their arrival at Ellis Island. What should be their salvation turns into pure corrupt indenture. Ewa is quite unwittingly used by a man who basically bribes immigration officials into his own crooked purpose as her sister is sequestered due to suspicion of having TB. This is the fast unfolding story of Ewa and her sole hope to avoid deportation, Bruno Weiss.

The story may be too predictable for some, but nonetheless it is a believable tale of how corruption leads to a confluence of events more harrowing and accidental. It definitely engages the viewer, but the two leads are so immensely strong that they carry the movie. Joquin Phoenix gives an utterly fantastic conflicted man who has managed to survive and prosper until he, sinks to a level even he has trouble living with. His portrayal of Bruno Weiss makes this movie which is a lot because it is against Cottilard's Ewa character who brings an almost unbearable amount of quiet suffering which permeates everything. There's a doomed love story playing out as well to which Jeremy Renner's performance accentuates. Renner's role adds tremendously as a catalyst to greater levels of both hope and despair.

The Immigrant is an extremely well crafted movie with great period cinematography. It looks dark and old blending despair and beauty expertly. Easily recommended for the performances of Marion Cotillard and Joquin Phoenix which are extremely strong.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
The lie
chaos-rampant4 June 2014
A woman appears in a new world (it's New York in the 20s) that should be rife with possibility, she has the address of relatives where she's going to live, she could get a job, marry, leave the misery behind. But a showman arranges to take her in as part of his cabaret show - she doesn't know this but is little by little swept in, as we are, into sex, despair, drama. The questions are about the extent of the manipulation in this world - was the customs officer bribed to report a false address, is the sister sick as reported?

But we see everything in the same passive yellow light. The filmmaking itself is unimaginative, but more, the filmmaker isn't trying to sculpt possibility, only arranges the story that will take us into his show.

How much more bold and difficult it would be to have the woman herself manipulate, actively try to carve her own fate? Was the incident on the ship during the voyage really a lie? And would we judge her if it wasn't? And if we did, would we be any different from the bigot uncle?

But see, for the filmmaker this won't be an important lesson unless she's just stood there, pure, tossed about, as two rival men watch her and scheme for her, and we watch them, and there's only a postcard importance between the levels of watching.
12 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
A must see
Birdie_DL23 January 2014
Warning: Spoilers
The whole movie was, in my eyes, poetry.

Gray has done a wonderful job in keeping the tone of the movie within the right amount of drama, without going overboard and making it one of those insufferable heavy bricks which seat on your stomach like a bad lunch.

I had never seen Marion in action before, and she was very, very good! I loved her strength, the will to do whatever it took to reach her goal, even with the awful price she was asked to pay, you feel sorry for her but she's not totally a victim, she choose to pursuit that path. And she has also the strength to forgive herself. She's one step above everybody else given the period she lived in.

The real victim here I think is Bruno. He's just a product of his times, not better or worse than anybody else. He has deep feelings, mislead as they may be, both for Ewe and the other girls in general.

I couldn't help but feeling sorry for him at the end because he put himself on the line of fire and willingly lost when he decided to let her go and have a new life

Renner. His part wasn't one of the best I have seen, but at the same time it was perfect for the story. And he was perfect for it. His character comes across to me as a kind of flirtatious, not really deep as feelings go,I think he was serious in his being taken with Ewe but in the long run, if she had gone with him when he asked, he would have left her sooner or later. Emile struck me as someone lost, who was going through life with very little involvement both in his professional life and personal But, and this is the stroke of genius from Gray, Emile being so light make Bruno's feelings stand out, he gives them a depth which they would not have otherwise.

All in all, a movie worth see, and probably the kind of movie which reveals something more about itself when watching it again.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
5/10
"The Immigrant" is a mediocre film that at least attempts to make a statement about good, evil, holiness, sainthood, and sinning.
texshelters22 June 2014
"The Immigrant" Fails to find a Home

"The Immigrant" is film about an immigrant who leaves Poland to escape the Great War. Along the way, the immigrant faces some of the tragedies we have seen in films about immigrants before: loss in their home country and poverty, usury, abuse, and corruption in their new home. The film fails to cover new territory, nor does it present the challenges of immigration in a way that is worth watching. It would have been more entertaining to watch a documentary about immigration of the era.

The immigrant, Ewa Cybulska played by Marion Cotillard, goes through a traumatic journey to get to Ellis Island, or so she tell us. However, we don't see it on film. The benefit of film is you can visually enact the traumas and emotions with flash backs or shadowy memories. Other than lovely Ewa's face and Cotillard's lack of depth as an actress, all we can go on are her words, "I have suffered." Perhaps a more adept actress could have pulled off the portrayal of trauma or perhaps if they had spent a few thousand dollars on a flashback, we may have been able to feel it ourselves. The film fails to get us to fully empathize with Ewa despite their efforts.

Other than the pretty and shallow acting of Cotillard, the film features Joaquin Phoenix as Bruno Weiss. Mr. Phoenix seems more concerned about winning his first Oscar by playing a morally questionable character than actually embodying the role of a man who preys on immigrants. Jeremy Renner plays a magician and suitor to Ewa, Emil. He is more charming and adept, but has little to work with in terms of plot and dialogue.

And that brings us the major problem with this and many other films. Both men are in love with Ewa, but we don't know why. Other than being pretty and speaking English, there is nothing to recommend her. She is not talented, smart, endearing, personable, nothing. A film that hinges on romantic attraction better make it clear why people are so taken with the object of their desire. I know that for many film-goers a character's attractiveness is enough. But attractiveness is not enough for a partner in real life, so why should it be so in film? Somebody so obviously under the affects of PTSD, Ewa, would be a real turn off to most people.

Rating: Rent it. The film is not a disaster, and it is certainly better than much of the superhero films, teen dramas or drunken adult films available in theaters currently, but it is not a great movie. "The Immigrant" is a mediocre film that at least attempts to make a statement about good, evil, holiness, sainthood, and sinning.

Peace, Tex Shelters
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
Beautiful and powerful film
wlk6824 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Just got back from seeing this and I thought it was excellent. The cinematography was gorgeous and the performances were very powerful. I'm sure that what happened to Eva happened to a lot of young women. Bruno was a very Fagin-like character, drawing her in and putting her in more and more desperate situations, taking full advantage of the fact that she would do anything to get her sister off of Ellis Island. And making it seem like it was her decision to boot! When all of your options suck what do you do? If you have a strong will to survive, you do what Eva did.

I know that Eva was charmed by Orlando/Emile (Jeremy Renner) but if she'd gone with him I think she would've ultimately regretted it. While well meaning, he came across as something of a flighty dilettante who would've dropped her the moment something shinier and newer came along. His character was all élan and dash with very little substance, purposely so.

The final scene between Eva and Bruno was perfect and I hope that come Oscar season this movie gets some recognition.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
4/10
Shipworn
jadepietro26 July 2014
This film is not recommended.

The Immigrant tells the story of the long and arduous journey many had to take in search of a better life. Unfortunately for moviegoers, the film is a long and arduous journey as well, in search of a better script.

Writer/director James Grey fashions an old-fashion melodramatic tale of an innocent young woman on hard times, trying to survive amid many hardships. Ewa (Marion Cotillard) and her sickly sister, Magda, are coming to America. Magda has one cough too many and is immediately quarantined while Ewa faces deportation. Befriended by a kind stranger named Bruno (Joaquin Phoenix), Ewa becomes his beautiful pawn and is thrown into the world of human trafficking. The plot resembles a cheap dime-store novel, especially when Bruno's cousin, Emil a.k.a. Orlando the Magician (Jeremy Renner), enters the scene to whisk Ewa away from the sinful life of prostitution and lead her to the road of redemption. Yes, magic is certainly needed to make one believe this claptrap.

The actors try to make the story convincing but they are adrift with one clichéd scene after another. Phoenix has his moments, but he tends to over emote and Renner is simply wasted as a one-dimensional love interest. The only redeeming quality in the film is Ms. Cotillard's performance. Even if one never believes in the stilted dialog and predictable outcome of the story, the actress has that rare quality due to her nuanced acting choices and her innate beauty. She radiates as the camera goes in for its many close-ups. (There once were actresses that had that instant photographic allure...Swanson, Garbo, Dietrich come to mind. Cotillard has that screen essence. Let's hope she has better film properties in the future.

Grey's film may have been a labor of love, with an emphasis on the word "labor", Production values are strong, especially so with this independent film's limited budget. But the end result, while admirable, is a muddle. The Immigrant may give us the tired and the poor, but it is the huddled masses sitting in the movie theater that are yearning to be free as they clamor for the nearest exit. GRADE: C

Visit my blog at: www.dearmoviegoer.com

ANY COMMENTS: Please contact me at: jadepietro@rcn.com
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
6/10
Strong performances, disappointing film
estebangonzalez1030 April 2014
"Don't give up the faith, don't give up the hope. The American dream is waiting for you."

The Immigrant is Joaquin Phoenix's fourth collaboration with James Gray in the director's chair, although this time the lead role went to the beautiful and talented Marion Cotillard who gives a subtle melodramatic performance without going over the top. She always delivers great work and watching her alongside Joaquin Phoenix was near perfection. The major problem I had with this film was that the story really didn't engage me despite the potential it had. The Immigrant takes the American dream premise and turns it upside down by focusing on characters who were much less fortunate during that time. Despite the great performances I never warmed up to the characters and found the melodrama a bit tedious. I'm on the minority when I say this because critics have fallen in love with Gray's work, whose fan base has been growing over the years. I still prefer his earlier film, We Own the Night, but this is the film he will probably be remembered for from now on. It was a bit disappointing for me, although I did enjoy a couple of scenes (especially Phoenix's revelation near the end) and the talented actors who were cast in this film. The 20's atmosphere created by Gray didn't really impress me either, but there is enough here to give it a mild recommendation.

The screenplay co-written by Gray and Ric Menello (who also collaborated with Gray in Two Lovers) begins by introducing us to two polish sisters, Ewa (Marion Cotillard) and Magda (Angela Sarafyan), who have just arrived at Ellis Island from Poland. Their dreams of a better life are shattered when the officials take Magda away because they discover she has tuberculosis. Ewa isn't allowed entrance either because the officials claim that the address where they were supposed to stay (their aunt and uncle's home) doesn't exist and that no one from their family is here to account for her. A man named Bruno (Joaquin Phoenix) happens to be there at the right time and offers her an opportunity to stay with him. Having no other option she accepts. Bruno takes advantage of the situation and tricks the innocent Ewa into working for him as a prostitute. Wanting to save her sister, she will do what it takes but Bruno is a deceiving man who has fallen for her. When Bruno's charming and charismatic cousin, Orlando (Jeremy Renner), arrives he teaches her not to lose hope and have faith that she will be able to meet her sister again. But Bruno isn't too happy with Orlando's arrival and sees him as a potential threat so a jealous rivalry ensues and so the plot thickens.

Jeremy Renner was perhaps my favorite character in this film and I enjoyed his performance. Perhaps it helped that he had a likable character and was the less restrained of the actors, but I thought he was the highlight of this film. I really enjoyed Phoenix and Cotillard, but Renner was the one that helped me get engaged with the story. The scene near the end is perhaps my favorite moment and by far Phoenix's best performance in the film. Phoenix is such a talented actor and he has made a lot of great films so this performance might be forgotten over time, but Cotillard does shine in her first English language lead performance. The scene where she is confessing her sins to a priest is the one that audiences will remember her for. It would have been very tempting and easy for her to be more melodramatic in a harsh film like this, but she gives a restrained performance that allowed the story to feel more real and believable. I still think she is better in the roles she gets in foreign films, but this was a great opportunity for her. The Immigrant has a pretty straightforward narrative with melodramatic moments that would have failed tremendously if it wasn't for the cast who managed to pull off believable performances.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
2/10
So contrived it hurts
jlgAltman1 June 2014
The immigrant experience, like the story of the founding fathers and slavery, is a central defining element of America--with a capital A. How is it that no one has been able to capture the awe and wonder of what those who traveled here really accomplished and risked? THE IMMIGRANT is one more example, and possibly the worst, of how the immigrant experience becomes mired in the personal. THE IMMIGRANT is so contrived and so sepia it hurts. In every way this film is a mess from the cinematography to the dialogue, plot points and performances. But there is hope! The luminous and extraordinary Marion Cotillard delivers a performance of such complexity, humanity, and subtlety it nearly saves THE IMMIGRANT from itself.
7 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews