Everly (2014) Poster

(2014)

User Reviews

Review this title
88 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Blood and Boobs
peck-summers24 January 2015
I have read some reviews before watching this film and it nearly put me off. I get a lot of people can't stand this kind of movie, but not every movie is meant to target the worldwide audience. Salma Hayek plays her role well and looks unbelievable. There are holes in the plot all over the place and some things just don't make sense at all. If you are after a well constructed storyline then move on and keep looking. However, if you are a red blooded male like myself and can overlook the many flaws in this movie and love action movies, then this is worth a watch. The numerous death scenes are great and Salma spends the movie showing off her fantastic body and thats a win win for all of us. So, in a nutshell, if you like looking at mamacita's like Salma and lots of blood and death then 'give it a go. I don't think this movie was made to be taken seriously.
84 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Perfectly Sadistic Christmas Movie for Your Collection
Nexus Engel9 June 2015
This is officially the most sadistic Christmas movie I've ever seen. ...So far. I mean, I haven't seen Black Christmas yet. So maybe that'll change once I see those movies.

My dad likes to ask me sometimes regarding action movies: "Is there a purpose to all this?" There IS no purpose. The whole movie is one big, fat excuse to slam a bunch of crazy action scenes at you. As an exercise in brutal violence, it succeeds. It's got style, and it's even got some genuinely funny moments of black humour to go along with it. The movie's premise is absolutely ridiculous and stupid, and laughably insane, but it plows through it with an almost completely straight face. In that respect, the movie is a deadpan masterpiece.

Anyway. Salma Hayek's acting, along with Joe Lynch's neat direction, are both too good for this type of movie. This is a modern-day exploitation film at its most blatant. This is Die Hard with Salma Hayek and the Yakuza. It's limited to one floor of an apartment building as a setting, and it's set during Christmas, and the main character is trapped in one room. Only unlike Die Hard, this movie has some truly cruel material to make you squirm in it. I mean wow.

Despite its flaws (and it has a lot of them) it was an entertaining movie. It's shallow, it's not all too smart, and for people with weak stomachs, it's pretty much unwatchable. Its low-budgetness isn't all that obvious unless you REALLY look for it, and most of its effects are refreshingly practical. It's nice to see blood squibs in action movies this day and age, instead of the regular old CGI clouds we're stuck with eighty (or ninety?) percent of the time. Salma Hayek hasn't been this good since Desperado, and that was freaking 1995.

I recommend any action fans to seek it out--unless, of course, you like some brains to go with your bullets, and/or you're not too keen on seeing the effects of swallowing battery acid. The rest of you should have a good time. Good times all around.
19 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
That's a lot of Dead ...
David Ferguson28 January 2015
Greetings again from the darkness. If only drive-in theaters were still the weekend hang-out of choice for teenage boys, this latest from director Joe Lynch would be the perfect second feature after some horror or slasher designed to generate oohs and ahhs through gross-outs (elevators and grenades are not a good mix).

After beginning with its most unsettling scene – gang abuse of a female (fortunately via black screen and sound effects) - the rest of the film plays just like an ultra-violent, hyper-speed video game. The two main distinctions here are that all of the action takes place inside a loft apartment, and the lead character is played by Salma Hayek. Having appeared in Desperado and From Dusk Til Dawn, Ms. Hayek is no stranger to wild action sequences, but here she carries every carnage-filled scene … all while slinking around in a silk slip or her favorite yoga pants.

Gun, knives, swords, grenades, chemicals and various other implements of destruction are brandished by Hayek, masked killers, greedy hookers, a SWAT team, and Hayek's ex-pimp/kidnapper. We even get a character called "The Sadist" (Togo Igawa) in one of the most straight-forward character names in movie history. There is even an attack dog named Bonzai that is well-trained in everything except the difference between a ball and a grenade. And therein lies the saving grace here … the movie has some absurd humor that prevents the ultimate tone of dread by such films as Saw. The humor isn't so much clever as it is outrageous … and it helps offset the gruesome and blood-filled body count (at least 20 in the first 20 minutes!).

Director Joe Lynch is more comfortable with horror films than action films, but it's clear he has a love with B-movies, and he is fortunate enough to have Salma Hayek front and center. The only way to watch this is with your brain shifted to neutral. The level of ridiculous is off the scale and includes too many "that makes no sense" moments to recap here. On top of all that, the action occurs around Christmas, and use of six traditional Christmas songs adds to the twisted humor that will probably keep you tuned in, despite your knowing better.
27 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
escapism at its best
Ransom Tyler26 January 2015
I've read all the reviews and I am not surprised by all the negativity. No frontal nudity, no talent blah blah blah. I watched this film because I wanted to look at Salma Hayek for 90 minutes. I wasn't expecting anything. Yes it was poorly written and some of the acting was cringe worthy but most of that came out funny, not unentertaining. I truly laughed out loud but not in a bad way. If not for the subject matter they could've called this a comedy and I would've been satisfied. The story line was one we could all be sympathetic to. If your a person who just wants to relax and see a movie then see this. I'll continue to be a Salma Hayek fan and I look forward to the time she is offered more meaningful roles. That time will come.
35 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Light, violent entertainment
Lita Hawkins13 August 2018
Entertaining, gritty, funny, violent action packed & gory. Really good film!

Don't take it too seriously or think too much into it. Just sit back and enjoy the ride, as it intends.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The movie is very graphic and intense, much like the original Oldboy, the movie is hard to watch in some parts.
Tony Heck16 March 2015
"I will make sure I die tonight and I don't want to give any of them the satisfaction." After assassins are sent by her ex to kill her, Everly (Hayak) must fight them off alone. After her mother and daughter show up things start to get personal. There are many action movies that start off slow, they have almost a half hour of character development and story to get you invested in the movie, then end with the action to keep you watching. This is one that forgoes all that. It starts off in what seems like the middle of the movie and never lets up. Wall to wall action. The movie is very graphic and intense, much like the original Oldboy, the movie is hard to watch in some parts. Selma Hayak hasn't been in a movie in awhile and its strange that this is the one she came back for. When I think bad ass females she isn't the first name I think of, but she does hold her own. Overall, exciting and full of action but be prepared for what you will experience. I give this a C+.
16 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Smokin' Aces + Kill Bill + Dredd = Everly
Jason Kleeberg26 January 2015
Smokin' Aces + Kill Bill + Dredd = Everly

I found out about Everly late last year because of Fantastic Fest, and I've been pretty excited about it. It's about a woman faces down assassins sent by her ex, a mob boss, while holed up in her apartment - which sounded pretty similar to two movies I loved in 2012 (Dredd and The Raid: Redemption), and the pictures I saw during post made it look like a lot of fun.

Selma Hayek plays the titular Everly, a Mexican prostitute. At 48, she looks great, and I haven't seen her kick ass like this since Desperado. She's the sole focus here, but some of the side characters are pretty interesting. My favorite was a character named Sadist, an old Japanese speaking psycho with some tricks in his bag. It's directed by Joe Lynch, a pretty small time filmmaker best known for directing Wrong Turn 2.

Everly isn't going to win any awards for it's story. It's as one dimensional at best, and still manages to make little sense at times. It often falls into action movie tropes like bad guys hesitating to talk before pulling the trigger (of course leading to their demise), something that disappointed me seeing that Lynch was brought up on a steady diet of B-movies. Everly does bring one thing to the table though, and that is a hell of a lot of fun. There's no skimping on the blood here, people are shot, sliced, and blown up in all it's gory glory. There's a particular shot using an elevator that is amazingly awesome. It really tapped into what I love about action movies at points.

The scope of the movie is as small as the budget, and although the story is pretty "been-there-done-that", if you're looking for some fun action that's not taking itself seriously, you really can't go wrong with Everly.

My final score: B+
31 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
This is a good popcorn movie
twotrybe23 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Fade in and you will see a different perspective as the camera is filming from the top of a room and you see a naked figure stumble into the room. What happened? You hear other voices coming from the other room and Everly seems prepared for something as she fish out a pistol from the toilet tank. And so it begins, the carnage. In this shoot 'em up film, you get just that. It doesn't pretend to be a literal piece but pure action. The gore factor is relative to whatever taste you may have, I didn't find it too gory but justified in the manner of which the person is taken out. What I found interesting is the fact that the scenes were staged in an apartment.

Of course the premise of someone being held against her will is a plausible scenario as this has happened in real life. So, if you can buy the premise, you can buy the bit. Also, the character does not escape without sustaining so spectacular injuries. And with the caged scene, I already had surmised who would come to her rescue. And the masochist was a ridicules bit of stretching, that was my only negative to this bit of escapism, otherwise, just enjoy the ride for what its worth.
22 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Salma Hayek-The reason to watch this film.
osan979 January 2016
My dad likes to ask me sometimes regarding action movies: "Is there a purpose to all this?" There IS no purpose. The whole movie is one big, fat excuse to slam a bunch of crazy action scenes at you. As an exercise in brutal violence, it succeeds. It's got style, and it's even got some genuinely funny moments of black humour to go along with it. The movie's premise is absolutely ridiculous and stupid, and laughably insane, but it plows through it with an almost completely straight face. In that respect, the movie is a deadpan masterpiece.

Anyway. Salma Hayek's acting, along with Joe Lynch's neat direction, are both too good for this type of movie. This is a modern-day exploitation film at its most blatant. This is Die Hard with Salma Hayek and the Yakuza. It's limited to one floor of an apartment building as a setting, and it's set during Christmas, and the main character is trapped in one room. Only unlike Die Hard, this movie has some truly cruel material to make you squirm in it. I mean wow.

Despite its flaws (and it has a lot of them) it was an entertaining movie. It's shallow, it's not all too smart, and for people with weak stomachs, it's pretty much unwatchable. Its low- budgetness isn't all that obvious unless you REALLY look for it, and most of its effects are refreshingly practical. It's nice to see blood squibs in action movies this day and age, instead of the regular old CGI clouds we're stuck with eighty (or ninety?) percent of the time. Salma Hayek hasn't been this good since Desperado, and that was freaking 1995.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Stupid
billcr1231 January 2015
The only reason for the 3/10 rating is for Salma Hayek's body; otherwise it would be a zero. I guess that Selma needed a quick payday and wished to visit Belgrade. Here she is Everly, evidently some mob boss's slave girlfriend. She is trapped in an opulent apartment and a series of men and women enter and attempt to kill her. Somehow even a SWAT team with laser sights are unable to do so. A Japanese man appears along the way and proceeds to torture Every just for his amusement. Her mom and little girl show up and the killings and general mayhem continue. This is bad comic book material; a sort of low grade "Kill Bill" without Tarantino's brilliant dialogue. Do not waste your time on this garbage.
19 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Does Salma get naked? Yes! Is the movie good? No!
chrismackey197223 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I really did not like this. It's a definite shoot 'em up movie, with Salma Hayek in the lead. However, the storyline seemed a bit nonsensical to me. They have a $50,000 bounty on her head, and about every prostitute in the building went to collect. They were stupidly written. Not a single realistic character existed in the entire film. Well, no, that's not true. The little girl was probably the most realistic out of anyone. I think the prostitutes had more guns than Tyco's men.

Hayek's character was certainly talented and lucky enough at the beginning of the film to stand with a gun in a room with 5 or 6 armed men. She shot them all, but only got shot once herself. It was silly and very, very cliché'. I understand you have to suspend belief when you go to see most movies. Nevertheless, this one forced you suspend pretty much all sense of reasoning.

There is nudity. In fact, the very first scene has Salma Hayek stagger into a bathroom completely nude. All you see, however, is her butt.

The badguy is a stereotypical chief villain. You hear his voice throughout the movie, but he doesn't make an appearance until the end. Then, it's fight on. Good vs. evil. Light vs. dark. She's exhausted from fighting several baddies. He's full of energy, not having done anything in the movie but talk. It's a good thing she took that extra dose of Girl Power in order to kick his butt.

I gave this movie a 4-star rating. I considered giving it less, but the kills were interesting...I guess. And a movie where Salma is going to give it her all and get naked deserves a little mercy in the ratings category. I do not recommend, but to those who like silly plots like Sin City and such might appreciate this. I certainly didn't.
22 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Top Notch Mayhem!
Steve Christensen23 April 2015
Warning: Spoilers
If you've seen Knights of Badassdom, then you kind of have an idea of what director Joe Lynch has for you in Everly. Take out the humor of the first film, add a LOT of blood, gore and the ever so sexy Salma Hayek shooting everything in sight and you could call this "Maiden of Badassdom"! OK so the name of the movie is Everly. Everly (Salma Hayek showing her hard action style ala Banditas) is introduced as a prostitute who is being raped and tortured (off screen). How this terrified woman suddenly becomes a female John Mclaine is never explained but once that first bullet is fired it's ON. Just non-stop bullet action with blood and gore flying left and right. In the middle of all the bloodshed and action, lies a somewhat patchy backstory, a reconciliation and a death with honor. The brutal action and gunplay is so predominant that the why's and how's of the story is almost irrelevant because you just want that action to continue. You have whores with guns, Yakuzas with guns, an attack dog, a swat team and then 2 really OTT characters with even more OTT henchmen. All these characters and their situation is so fun to watch that when you are finally introduced to the actual villain who is responsible for all the carnage he's kinda of a let down. He's stiff and well compared to what's been happening he's...boring. I loved this. I haven't had this much fun watching a low-budget action romp since THE TOURNAMENT with Ving Rhames. Similar in style, scope and unrelenting mayhem. Think I need to go watch that one now!
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Completely Boring Poorly Acted
chicagopoetry23 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Presenting 92 minutes of poorly choreographed gun play, unfunny one liners, chicks that are suppose to be sexy but who either die within ten seconds or who speak ruining their attraction with their dim- wittedness, a main character who we know nothing about other than that she has a mother and daughter and that everyone is trying to kill her who doesn't keep surviving because she's just a good aim or such a skilled hand-to-hand fighter but only because everyone who is trying to kill her is just down right stupid, talking on the phone, irritating music that sounds like it was recorded in mono with the base turned completely off, putting high heel shoes on kicking them off putting them on again kicking them off again, cartoonish violence happening so fast that there's no time for the last murder to sink in before the next one happens, all taking place in the same room with the same bumbling fumbling woman who doesn't seem like she could fight here way out of a paper sack let alone take on hordes of assassins rushing at her one by one almost as if they are waiting outside in a single file line awaiting their cue. Presenting Everly. Now put your finger onto the Red Box screen and slide her away so that you can choose a better movie to watch.
19 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ridiculous, gory action fun
Chiller74 August 2018
It's a pretty good movie in the extreme action violence exploitation film genre, where it's bloody to the point where it's more ridiculous than actually realistic. Blood and gore galore. This is for fans of movies like Hobo With a Shotgun or Riki-Oh: The Story of Ricky.

It's a very simple but entertaining premise, where Salma Hayek is stuck in an apartment, while she fights off waves of bad guys coming in trying to kill her. The entertainment comes from the variety in the assassins being sent in to kill her, from gun-toting hookers, to katana-wielding Yakuza guys, to evil SWAT guys, to some bizarre sado-masochists. Ridiculous stuff.

If I had to complain about anything, I'd say I would have liked to see maybe fewer shootout scenes and more martial arts instead, which would have been perfect for a movie like this. Swords and knives do come into play, but not enough for this to be considered a martial arts movie.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
One hell of a ride
shaunl825 June 2017
This is the story of a kidnapped woman who faces down hit men sent by a mob boss/her captor while trying to protect her family from his wrath.

This is pure over the top fun, at times very brutal. It's a film that feels like something that Luc Besson or Robert Rodriguez would of done. Its a crazy ride. Being set mostly in one room it keeps you engaged and captivated through the way it is shot. Selma Hayek returns to her early action film roots and shows she can still kick ass.

There are some scenes that are brutal and some what disturbing. its a crazy wild fun ride that has less plot and more over the top action, true action fans will love this film.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
As An Action-Thriller Film. This Film Should Become A Cult Film.
Vivekmaru451 February 2015
I enjoyed this film immensely. Those persons who are blasting away at this gem don't know a thing about films. For a film to be entertaining it should be (1) solid action scenes (2) have superb background sound-effects (3) interesting characters. This film fulfills all the above. The tempo is also terrific - I didn't even notice the time pass.

Salma Hayek plays a sex slave Everly, who rebels against her owner. The intentions of the owner are revealed gradually during the film.

This film is directed by Joe Lynch who directed a notable horror entry Wrong Turn 2: Dead End. This film could be Joe's most significant film to date along with Wrong Turn 2.

This film portrays scenes of violence which would be unsuitable for family viewing and for persons under the age of 18.

Similar films: Oldboy(2003), I Saw The Devil(2010), The Man From Nowhere(2010), Liam Neeson's Taken Trilogy, Die-hard Trilogy, Rambo Trilogy, Commando, Predator 1-2, Silence Of The Lambs, Red Dragon, Hannibal, Manhunter, Seven, Kiss The Girls, Along Came A Spider.
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Salma Hayek is always worth the watch!
bbickley13-921-586648 March 2015
As if I needed to convince you to see something that the legendary Salma Hayek is in. This woman is so hot, it's fire on the big screen.

The sexy MILF plays a whore who double crossed her pimp who's a Yakuza and sends everything he has after her in order to prevent her from seeing her daughter one last time and making sure she's safe.If you're a fan of Salma Hayek , you'll check it out.

For the two of you who do not like Salma Hayek (can't be more than that) The movie is satire on b-movie camp. It's very action packed and humorous, just filled with total amusement. A lot is happening in such a small space and the pace of the thrills continues throughout the whole movie.

I have to say, my only issue is, the type of genre this movie falls under forces me to think of such directors as Robert Rodriguez and his best mate Quentin Tarantino who's style would have brought something far better to the film. Sorry Joe Lynch, your directing style was OK, but I feel Salma should have made that call to her Desperado director buddy. It's the type of thing they do and your doing it on lesser terms.

Overall, the movie is a surprising action packed thrill ride that's fun to watched increased by the fabulous eye candy of Salma Hayek. worth wild movie going experience.
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Rather boring.
Nemesis4226 January 2015
List in order of great tributes: Excellent music, some good acting. And that is it. Other than this this film is a waste of talent. A rather pointless string of kills. Style but little development or explanations.

Watched to the end to see if the boredom would cease but no, undeveloped characters just kept killing each other. If you like watching people die I suppose you might like it, otherwise you will have wasted your time as I did.

The composer has promise though, I hope he does something meaningful after this.
18 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Gory drivel, Mindless violence. Only for Salma Hayek
Captain386 July 2015
This is extremely gory and mindless. Not nearly as glorious as Kill Bill (of which one can't help but think).

This is just an excuse for lots of blood and shooting and cuts etc.

Can't figure out why the heroin doesn't just kill them all straight out (as she seems so good at it) instead of just waiting for the next team of useless violent jerks to turn up. Scenario-wise this is really poor. Do not expect any real twist, any intelligent decision, any verisimilitude.

For those of you who like stylised violence for the sake of it, you might spend the time, others just go straight to Kill Bill and don't waste any time on this unless you are really a Salma Hayek fan of course...
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Answers the metaphysical question...
A_Different_Drummer23 January 2015
... that has confounded IMDb members since the inception of the site.

Namely, why does the IMDb permit a rating of only "1" if they don't intend anyone to ever choose it? The obvious answer is that, they do indeed intend for this rating to be used, but the challenge is to find a film that justifies it.

And with EVERLY I think we finally hit the jackpot.

Start with (what I am assuming to be a FORMERLY) A-List actress and put her in a film that looks like it was written and produced and directed by a bunch of high schoolers who combined their allowances to produce something that would get them an interview with the Admissions Officer at a third rate film school.

Not actually joking here. The bio of the director, as explained on the IMDb, tells us that he currently has more acting credits than directing credits (think about that for a moment) and that he started his career by taping two cameras together so he could make new films by editing other people's already-made films. Think about that too.

As one might expect from this kind of film, it uses every trick known to keep costs down. Like no dialog for the first 10 minutes. No obvious plot. People enter the scenes randomly and either try to kill the star or are killed themselves.

Strange lighting. Fast cuts. Lots of reaction shots (mainly Selma).

In other words, anything to "work around" the usual ingredients of a film. Like a plot, a story, continuity, and other actors with dialog.

A mainstream review I read (just to sure I was actually watching the finished film and not the dailies, or possibly a workprint) said that it is films like this that make us revere the genius of Tarantino.

I have no comment on that. The line speaks for itself.

I wish I could say the same about Everly.
32 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It's not a ball bonsai!!!!.....
FlashCallahan25 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
It's Christmas time, but all is not well in the world of Everly.

A call girl by trade, not choice, Everly has turned against her gangster boss Ex Taiko, and become a police informant.

Taiko has put out a hit on Everly and her family. Soon, every criminal in town wants to cash in.

Everly's survival instincts quickly kick in as she matches wits and firepower with Taiko and a seemingly endless stream of killers........

Set in one apartment block, Everly is a strange little film, with even stranger, psychedelic characters. Its a mix of Smokin' Aces and that really quirky 'Bruce Lee' movie Game Of Death, and if you think that sounds random, watch the finished product.

It starts off serious enough, Hayek has just been abused by a group of gangsters, and just when you think she is about to take her own life, she let's hell loose on her attackers.

After a visceral opening, I was prepared for thriller about a woman on the run from her gangster ex, but when the shooting stops, there is a knock on the floor, with a voice screaming 'Keep it Down', and all Everly can say is 'Really?'. Then I knew the makers were going down the exploitation route.

And what a route it is. From torturers, to masked assassins, to attack dogs, to psychotic call girls, to limbs being lopped off, it's like the Salma Hayek video game, after she defeats one wave of bad guys, the challenge gets greater, and gorier, hence the Game Of Death reference.

If you like Hayek, its heaven. She's in almost every scene and doesn't look a day older than Wild, Wild West. Between the two, she definitely hold up.

At times it does fell like a Besson produced action movie, but they are usually just straightforward, this has some weird psychotic edge to it, and it really does make the film that little more quaff-able.

Its B-movie hokum for sure, and won't trouble cinemas one bit, but I feel in years to come, because of its blatant bonkers narrative, it'll garner a lot of fans.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Brainless sexy bloodbath with a dash of humour
Andrew Lang12 March 2016
I'd put this movie on the same list as things like, Smoking Aces or Shoot em Up. The effects really aren't too bad, some pretty decent gore effects and more than copious amounts of blood, but all the gun play was surprisingly well done. Throw in a few unexpectedly touching moments, some rather clever lines, and you have a rather enjoyable movie. As long as you don't expect any kind of real plot at least. The most impressive thing about the movie is that 95% of it is all done in the same room, and not many movies can pull that off without having it get boring, but this one did.

As I said in the summary, it's a brainless bloodbath with a strong, sexy female lead. If you don't mind the gore and you just want something to watch, this one isn't a total waste of time.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great movie
xaviergjh12 March 2018
What more can you want from an all out action film with a twist when is Everly 2 coming ? Please
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not bad at all
junfrancistalanrd14 February 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I like action movies that's why maybe i like this movie. Oh man i love the way it is done because maybe Salma is hot and can roll. The numerous death scenes are great and Salma spends the movie showing off her fantastic body and thats a win win for all of us. So, in a nutshell, if you like looking at Mamacita's like Salma and lots of blood and death then 'give it a go. I don't think this movie was made to be taken seriously.Yes its written perfectly and some of the acting are even enough for enjoyment. Honestly i enjoyed and looks entertaining to me. What are movies made for? So accept the way how it is being made. Cheers enjoy!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Yowza
Seth_Rogue_One20 May 2015
I didn't expect much from this movie. And what I got was even less.

I really like Salma Hayek but she can't save this poor excuse for a movie.

Her character is completely unbelievable as is the whole set up of the movie, she's been a slave for 4 years and seemingly very weak and then all of a sudden she's turned into the female Terminator.

Well if the Terminator would mope about what rough life he'd have; which granted she really has surely, considering her back-story but still you never really "feel" her struggle or end up caring too much about her.

I think one of the biggest problems is that even tho in it's ludicrous setting it expects the viewer to take it seriously, where it would have just been better if they made it into a proper exploitation grindhouse like movie instead.

There's not a whole lot to spoil here there's a big number of body-count and it's all filmed conveniently I'm sure for the filmmakers on one hotel floor particularly one room, her so called home, where the baddies line up one after one to get her.

Yeah it's kinda like a shoot em up game in a sense, just less story.

Not a lot of positive things to say about it really; I guess Salma Hayeks boobs bounce very neatly when she's firing a machine gun, there is always that.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed