The Marked Heart (TV Series 2022– ) Poster

(2022– )

User Reviews

Review this title
25 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Easy to watch South American Soap Opera
agro_sydney27 April 2022
Easy to watch South American Soap Opera with with a beautiful cast of mostly Colombian Actors. Beautiful cinematography and locations look good in contrast to other series such as Narcos.

Interesting organ trafficking romance told in a glitzy Soap Opera style.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Heavy subject translated into a soapy drama
marszipan24 April 2022
I chose to watch this show because I do think the concept is interesting, will our heart really live on if it were in another persons body?will it feel the same love? Is the love in your heart something that remains? So there I go binge watching the show as I really couldnt stop.

It was interesting and it is also very dramatic which makes me decide that it is a telenovela( thankfully only 14 eps) .The show also brings light to organ trafficking which is a really heavy and dark subject. Though I have to say I did become a bit bored of the crime scenes.

Ultimately the show was quite heavy to watch. Try putting yourself in Camillas shoes, thats a lot of stuff to deal with isnt it? Realising that the heart that was given to you was a result of a murder of an innocent woman. I feel that the heavy subject interwoven with the drama feels a bit messy towards the end.

Though i have to say theyre all good actors and i like the chemistry between the main leads particularly Simon and Camila.

Give it a watch if you are looking for a short soapy show (theres not a lot of it is there?)
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A wild ride
supergye22 April 2022
I thought the acting was strong, and the story compellling. Enjoyable drama about a very serious topic. Well casted. Surprising twists and turns throughout. Some of the issues that can only be touched on in a one episode movie, are developed deeper with this story.
17 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
For the sake of goofing off. Flimsy script
manugw30 April 2022
Fast paced with enticing cliffhangers at the end of every episode. Thrilling but with the softening cooling of soap opera dialogues. I cannot condone gruesome mistakes in the script complemented with contrived coincidences. Old cliches typical of Latin America productions. Good looking actors and actresses portraying main characters as a resource to keep you engaged with the screen all the way to the end. Secondary actors, "the ruthless bad guys" have lousy grotesque performances, they seem to be acting in a school play stage . Could be watched to have some fun. Some moral questioning arising from the plot spray bright spots in this one more run of the mill series. Some twists in final episode offered . Fine. Colombia producers have exhibited in streaming, better products.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Must see
atorresmercadeo26 April 2022
This series illustrates a cruel reality; human trafficking. The protagonists did an excellent job and I hope they announce a second season. Highly recommended.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good. Thriller
carolyn-404-26365215 May 2022
Do not be put off by the low IMDb rating. This was worth a binge. If you like crime drama with the good the bad and the ugly this has it all. The lush setting takes you into the grime and plenty of murder and mayhem and love and sensibility.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Omg
Headturner127 April 2022
Horrific soap opera. Bad music, acting etc. I used to love foreign films etc but Netflix has the worst offerings and seems a ton of foreign stuff. I couldn't take more than an episode of this horrendous show. I like soap opera type shows from the UK and Australia ( EastEnders, Offspring , Neighbours ) but this is just, just. I'm over Netflix. They don't even air recent seasons and call things new.
16 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Interesting and thrilling story.
kashasrk26 April 2022
Some people here said that the tv series is unrealistic.

Well, most tv series are unrealistic and their main goal is to entertain you.

You will be definitely entertained here. I am on episode 8 and cant wait to watch further tonight.

None of the episodes are boring, the actors really play well, the emotional aspect of the series will get you hooked and it make you wish that justice will be served and the characters will be able to find peace of mind at the end.

A very good show.

I highly recommend to watch.
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An endless rollercoaster ride
twobalzz25 April 2022
Wow! Simply impacting and relentless ! Tour de force acting from the entire cast ! Anyone who gives this a bad review is probably a disgruntled extra ! This is superb.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Typical Latin American over acted soap opera
arjunafederico27 April 2022
Typical Latin American over acted soap opera. Some people love this genre, but if what you are looking is for an acting that looks real, and not exaggerated characters then you should go for this one. There are some scenes that look just horrible and extremely artificial, to a point that cuts your connection to the script, as you can clearly feel its disconnection with reality.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
WTH!!
pree_star2 May 2022
I usually don't do reviews but this one is soooo badly scripted and poor performances, specially Valeria's husband is over the top annoying. How the hell this made to Netflix; no wonder they are loosing subscribers!!
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Starts good then goes downhill
joe-5795028 April 2022
Terrible show, nonsense, bad acting bad writing everything possible is bad here. It starts good but then it goes off rail even faster and harder. A toodler could have written a better show. Not worth your time.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The Marked Heart
Tweekums4 May 2022
As this Colombian series opens we see a couple, Simón and Valeria, driving at night time; something happens and they crash. We then flash back and see Valeria finishing a marathon, as she crosses the line she is photographed by Camilla. Camilla is engaged to Zacarías, a powerful man, and has a weak heart. When she gets a call saying she can get a transplant she is surprised as she was low on the list. It turns out Zacarías has arranged to have Valeria kidnapped and murdered for her heart! When he learns what happened to his wife Simón is determined to find out who was behind the murder. Camilla has no idea where her heart came from but events bring her and Simón together and when she learns the details of Valeria's murder she starts to question where her heart came from. The search for the truth will make dangerous enemies. If this weren't enough Zacarías is working for the man who could be the next president of Colombia... making a man who dates young twins, dubbed 'Fast' and 'Furious', appear family friendly might not be easy.

If you are after something gritty this might sound just the thing; however that might lead to disappointment even though there are some good tense scenes. If you enjoy a bit of melodrama this is a lot of fun. There are plenty of convenient coincidences, delightfully over the top villains and more than a touch of romance. There is no real mystery; from the start we know who killed Valeria and why. The drama is seeing how the search for the truth will affect those trying to discover the truth and expose it as well as Camilla's moral dilemma when she learns she has Valeria's heart. The acting is solid enough; occasionally it feels like overacting but that isn't too out of place in something this melodramatic. Many plot threads are wrapped up at the end of the first season but enough are left open for the promised second season.

These comments are based on watching the series in Spanish with English subtitles.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Crime thriller-wannabe is a poor soap opera instead
paul-allaer7 May 2022
As Episode 1 of "The Marked Heart" (2022 release from Colombia; 14 episodes of about 40-45 min each) opens, we are introduced to a married couple who are in the car, enjoying Colombian singer Carlos Vives. Then the car suffers a flat tire and wipes out against a tree. Somehow "bad" guys show up and instead of helping the couple, they kidnap the woman... At this point we are 10 min into Episode 1.

Couple of comments: let me admit that I literally knew nothing about this series. Netflix "suggested" it to me based on my viewing preferences. The fact that this was a non-US series piqued my interest, so I happily gave this series a try. The series is super plot-heavy so I can't and won't say much about that. What I will say is this: it is intended to be a rough-and-tough crime drama set in Colombia's dark underbelly of organ trafficking. Alas, it became very quickly apparent that instead this is a soap opera with plot holes the size of Manhattan and correlating plot developments that were completely over the top and frankly utterly unbelievable.

"The Marked Heart" premiered on Netflix a few weeks ago in late April. I'll be honest: I gave it 4 episodes, and when I asked myself if I really had the appetite for 10 more episodes of this, I instantly knew the answer and I quit. Of course don't take my word for it, so I encourage you to check it out, and draw your own conclusion. Just don't say you weren't warned.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is one of the best.....
princehuddy28 April 2022
This is one of the best Netflix originals I have ever taken the time to binge watch.

From the moment of the transplant you knew that this was going to be a soapy good ride and it was until the very end.

We know that there were other stolen goods (organs) but im so happy you focused on the impact that the one had on an entire community all the way to an election year.

And im really hoping season 2 stays the course.
3 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Much better than expected...
Design883 July 2022
I wasn't prepared for such an enjoyable and well-acted series based on the reviews. I preferred to watch it in Spanish with English subtitles and I think that helped a lot.

There were some major plot holes to overlook but others were explained at the end.

Each episode ended with a pretty good cliff hanger and the end tied up just enough to satisfy but to also leave the door open for a season 2.

It also helped that the lead actors were very attractive. Simon reminded me of a young Mel Gibson, Camile Geena Davis, and her husband shared the same 3 facial expressions and stares as Andrew McCarthy.

It had a strong storyline and the subplots were all evenly paced, had exciting twists and turns and good production values. Well shot and directed. Great chemistry between all the cast. Well-written and delivered dialog made the characters believable.

I'm ready for season 2....
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Voor serie
kurniagusti30 April 2022
Watch this serie and it was good. Can happend nowadays also with donor busines. I don't watch South American movie often but this was a good serie to watch. I have watched this within two days.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Highly underrated on IMDb
lakshyarajkhatri1 May 2022
Show is very nice and intersting. It bounds you till last episode. I liked it from first episode itself. Good acting by all the actors. Nice music and good intense scene. It worth a try.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Interesting theme gone awry
hanno-3500030 May 2022
A man falls in love with a woman who now owns the heart of his late wife, who was murdered for her heart. Now if there's an interesting and relevant theme, here you have one. Unfortunately the Colombian filmmakers turn it into a hard to swallow soap opera. The script is unnecessarily protracted and unrealistic. The acting is soooooo bad, it felt like watching a high school drama. The president-to-be character never transcends the caricature level. The murdered woman plays the trumpet but never fills her cheeks with air. Come on, do some research.

I've learnt two things from this series: First: ALL Colombian women are good looking.

Second: colombians only have sex with their clothes on.

For short: a missed opportunity. Organ trafficking is a relevant issue. It would have deserved a professional approach. This one clearly isn't.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The "acting" is SO bad...but I couldn't stop watching!!!!!
tracysponsler12 May 2022
There was a very good story line from episode one with so much potential. But was like a bad car wreck...you can't NOT look. We just had to know how it ended. I don't know if it was just the dubbing or what. Kinda like a Lifetime movie or bad soap opera. My only spoiler is that there's going to be a Season 2.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad acting, bad story line
marloeshonig-5527717 May 2022
It feels like watching The Bold & The Beatiful. Very bad acting, bad story line and it takes to long. Having knowledge from the medical world, this is complete nonsense. After watching some episodes, I've skipped to the last episode and I've didn't missed anything. Really a loss of your time watching this....
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Cliche telenovela absurdity
TAoUZOne8 June 2022
Really good premise with the heart swap thing, where are the feelings in the brain or in the marked heart etc but quickly descends into absurdity and pantomime.

Obviously everyone is dark (not black), moody sexy and foreboding being stereotypical Columbian so there is plenty of eye candy. As stated dark as in moody as in this version of Colmbia black people or anything other than white doesn't exist.

What is super annoying and completely makes the unbelievable ludicrous is the photography and I don't mean in a cinematic sense.

One of the characters is a photographer and it is important that we see her snapping away however somebody went to lazy foley sound library and selected "cheap camera sound deal". When she presses the shutter we hear the mirror click and the film wind forward however she is using a mirrorless DSLR. There is no mirror or film so every time I heard her taking a picture it bugged the living daylights out of me and jolted me out of an already thin reality.

Pretty people, latin bodice ripping silliness - and loud digital cameras.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of best Netflix must see series !!!
verikiosagelos27 April 2022
Hope to renew season 2 very soon !!!

Very good acting ,strange plot ,interesting scenario !!!

I like spanish series and the marked heart is one of my favorite in Netflix...
3 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Probably a little too much
juacuri15 May 2022
Was really interested on this show... But couldn't get pass the second episode... Some parts were absolutely ridiculous... You are late to your own wedding because you are taking pictures of a marathon? I mean... The heart recipient had a partially naked photo shoot right before her surgery?? And is devouring french fries around her office right after the operation? Not realistic at all.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing movie, very original. It's a 10/10 movie. I can't wait for the next series.
simmona210128 April 2022
First 3 episodes look like a soap opera, but it's not. Psyhological, drama, passion, an amazing plot. Very good actors. It's a 10/10 movie, very original, and i can't wait for the next series.
2 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed