The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (2014) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
1,126 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
A Hero without Principles
tinulthin10 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
The Amazing Spider-Man 2 has technical merits. However, these merits are impossible to enjoy in a film drowned from beginning to end in the sickening narcissism of both its purported hero and supposedly tragic villains.

I give you The Amazing Spider-Man: a hero with no principles and no goals. He sometimes cares about a girl and sometimes wants to know what happened to his parents, but day-to-day he really only cares about doing what he wants to do--which happens to be helping people, it seems, because it gives them "hope." And what luck! He gives them this just by being himself. Not by being a better person. Not by sacrificing anything else in his life for the greater good. Just by being strong and smart and doing exactly what he feels like doing because that's how he feels. And look: by being himself, other people want to be like him. What a wonderful message for a self-obsessed age. And watching the box office dollars roll in, it would seem that this is just what everyone wants to hear.

Ah, but lovable doe-eyed Petey gives up Gwen for the greater good, right? No he doesn't. He gives her up because he can't face the guilt of having contributed to her father's death--his guilt, and his unquestioned inability to give up being a famous public figure, lead to his need to break up (And his principled stand on this issue is so strong that he will renege on it whenever he feels randy). We never see Peter torn between helping people and helping himself. We see him torn between two paths to self-gratification: the adulation of public heroism (and public vilification, which is a kind of adulation) and the love of a single woman. What about Aunt May? No, not her--she's just in the way of Spidey laundry.

This is the major problem with the reboot: The overshadowing death isn't Uncle Ben's. It's Captain Stacy's. And Captain Stacy didn't die because Peter was self-absorbed. Captain Stacy died because Peter existed. So the standard for Peter being a good person or bad person has nothing to do with his character--it has only to do with his presence. During an over-the-top car chase in the first act, rather than stop a massive truck from smashing through a set of cars (which Sam Raimi has shown us he could have done, assuming equivalence between a truck and a train), Spidey ducks out of the way only to come back after the carnage. This is a hero who says, "I'm here for you--until it's inconvenient for me, then you're on your own."

The long and short of it is that this Spider-Man is in no way heroic. Superheroes are heroic because, while they could decide that they are unconcerned with our struggles, they still feel a moral obligation to help the average Joe. This Spider-Man seems to feel obliged to help only because, as someone superior to everyone else, the world's problems must naturally fall on his shoulders. Not because someone died due to his inaction--because he's exceptional. And helping inferior people is what exceptional people do. Sometimes. When they're not busy dealing with exceptional-person stuff. Like obsessing about parents who unjustly abandoned them while feeling no responsibility whatsoever for the uncle they themselves abandoned.

Add to this a pair of villains who go from being apparently well-meaning if somewhat imbalanced individuals to homicidal maniacs due to a single rejection episode, and you have a two-hour cesspool of poorly justified destructive self-obsession.

Electro could have been a tragic Frankenstein villain. Instead, because a group of random people roots for Spider-Man over him in his first public appearance, he decides everyone should die. Yup--that's his motivation. You don't love me because I'm me? Well, I'll kill you all. Thank you, Columbine.

Harry's the same. After a five-minute meeting in which Spider-Man refuses give him his blood--which he truly believes, based on a single night's research on a single computer file, is the only thing that can save him from a horrible death that won't happen for another 40 years--Harry decides that Spider-Man needs to die right now. And everyone who dies in the process of saving his own old-age skin is perfectly okay. This despite Harry having been Peter's best friend only 48 hours before--though not because they have a long history together, but because they talked for a few hours and remembered how they were friends eight years ago. And it's not like either of them developed any other close relationships over their entire time in high school and college. (Let that be the only mention I will make of this film's preposterous set of causes and effects--and its Attack-of-the-Clones-inspired need to intellectually dictate emotional importance rather than meaningfully display it.)

The original Spider-Man had a single moment of narcissism. Count 'em: one. Only once did Peter Parker step up for glory, himself, and his own objectives, and he immediately paid for it with the death of one of the only three people he loved. This new Peter Parker steps up for himself every day as a part of his playground vision of a hero, and not a single screenwriter or billion-dollar audience member seems to care. This Spider-Man says the world should glorify you for being you, and if that doesn't happen, it's the world that needs to change, not you. And that is what truly terrifies me.
361 out of 505 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Too much, too unbalanced and a waste of talent
MartinOnMovies25 April 2014
I can't say I went in to the theater with high hopes. I did enjoy the first installment of this unnecessary reboot, almost anything seemed like a step up from "Spiderman 3", and Garfield felt way more natural than Maguire, and Emma Stone is always welcome. But after seeing the first trailer I thought it seemed like a total mess, and I wasn't convinced by Electro one bit. Unfortunately I was spot on, I hoped to at least get an enjoyable time at the cinema with my friends, but ended up feeling quite uncomfortable and laughing throughout most of the film.

Garfield and Stone has their chemistry and does their best with the incredibly thin script and cheesy one-liners, but their potential quite beautiful scenes together gets lost in the over-full and messy plot. I can't buy an emotional scene that is interrupted by heavy dub-step and a blue electric guy.

Oh Jamie Foxx, how did you go from Django to this? Before he goes all CGI-Electro he tries to play the nerdy unseen scientist (with a worse comb-over than Christian Bale's 'Hustle'-look). As Electro it's hard to say how much is his fault, and what can be blamed on the rest, I'd go with the rest. You don't sympathize with him nor do you believe how fast he becomes this super-villain.

Everything that Dane DeHaan did so well in "Chronicle" just feels unnatural and (maybe not misplaced, but wrong) here. And his character development is way too rushed and quite unnecessary for this film, it just becomes another sub-plot standing in the way of what really matters.

Sally Field does good work as Aunt May, but leaves no lasting mark. Paul Giamatti's Russian criminal is just in the way and only gives a couple of dreadful and laughable scenes. And then there's the mad German scientist named Kafka and I rest my case.

The action and visuals isn't bad, but still doesn't make up for the low "trying to be Marvel"-comedy and horrific soundtrack, a soundtrack that almost itself destroys the film throughout the exhausting 142 minutes. And sometimes it feels like the movie is taking us as an audience to be stupid, with pointers to what is going to happen. I would like to say that you might enjoy it if you just try and see it for what it is, but it's hard, but hopefully possible! It had an interesting start, with a glimpse inside the past and Peter's parents, but it's left underdeveloped, as is almost everything else, to make room for all its action and villains.

It's amazing how the difference between two big-budget superhero-movies can be so huge, if you put this against "Captain America: The Winter Soldier", a great and, opposed to this one, original film.

Oh how I wish that Marc Webb could have continued with a "(500) Days of Summer"-esque movie instead, he could keep the sub-plots starring Garfield, Stone and DeHaan, and it could very well be a great film, and probably not such a waste of talent.
596 out of 955 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Reason for Hope
hunterhayes4912 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I was a pretty big fan of Raimi's original series when they were released, and the first two films still hold high among my favorite superhero movies. When the reboot was announced I was naturally skeptical; despite Spider-Man 3 and its flaws, I had confidence that Raimi could right the ship. Deep into production I began seeing trailers and clips from ASM, and it gave me some hope. After seeing the film in its entirety, I became a big fan. The story was similar to most origin takes on Spider-Man, but with some small changes to try and separate itself from the original film trilogy. Admittedly, a few of those decisions might've been less than stellar, but Raimi's version nailed the origin and that was hard to top for the new film. With the tale of how the hero came to be out of the way, the sequel could really decide where this series was going to go. It seems to be an exciting direction.

I was skeptical when the cast was announced and we met our new Spider-Man, which is a feeling I no longer have. Don't get me wrong, I thought Tobey Maguire played a great Peter Parker. For my money, he was a solid Spider-Man as well. But Garfield feels truly at home in the role. It isn't to say one performance is more accurate to the comic Spidey than the other; with as many different takes on the character as we have seen in comic book lore, both performances reflect different qualities in different versions of the character. However, Garfield's Spider-Man feels like the version of the character I grew up with. He's humble and soft-spoken at the right times and confident in others. I thought his performance in this film was one of the more defining performances of any Marvel film character alongside Downey Jr.'s Tony Stark.

Spidey's love interest, Gwen Stacy, is portrayed perfectly in not only this film, but in the first as well. I've been a fan of Emma Stone since she hit with Superbad, and she really gives Gwen some life. Her dynamic with Garfield is surprisingly one of the strongest portions of the film. They have such great chemistry that it's impossible not to feel like you're in the moment with them, and Marc Webb knows it. Dane DeHaan shines as well, giving Harry a unique sense of frustration and abandonment. He's dark and brooding, but also sly and cunning when necessary. Jamie Foxx holds well in the film as well. Admittedly the Electro/Max Dillon character is goofy and strange, but I like his motivation. In a world of so many it's easy to feel neglected, and it's clear he has a lot of problems that motivate his transition from bumbling Max to the powerful Electro.

As far as the plot is concerned, there is a lot going on. However, I felt this film did a markedly improved job on balancing the numerous subplots. I never felt as if the characters were fighting for screen time or that any of the plot points were necessarily rushed. Between Peter's parents and his love life and the growing problems arising from Oscorp, it would seem like there's too much happening. But Webb never lets the story lines stray too far before reeling them back in; each plot point directly connects to the finale and ultimate message of the film: Hope. Peter often tells others Spider-Man gives those around him hope, but the ultimate test of the film is how well Peter Parker can maintain that hope himself. Indeed being a hero has a cost, which results in one of the most powerful comic book moments in history coming to fruition on the big screen. Gwen's death is the turning point for our titular character, and one that will certainly drive his actions in future installments.

Ultimately, ASM2 is an ambitious film that does attempt to do a lot in just one film. However, Marc Webb keeps the story moving with enough confidence to tie the plot points together in one swift finale that will change Spider-Man forever. Amazing Spider-Man 2 ****1/2
22 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Spider-Man more on his plate than he can handle in this sequel
JohnnyPHreak28 July 2014
I'm an unabashed die hard fan boy for Spider-Man. There I said it. You can call me a homer for anything Spider-Man. I wasn't a happy camper when I heard they were rebooting the films that I fell in love with. The first two Raimi films for me were great. The sequel still holding up today as one of the best superhero movies of all time. The first Amazing Spider-Man was a bit jarring for me. I walked out of the film not knowing what I thought about it. I enjoyed Andrew Garfield's Spider-Man but his Peter Parker didn't click with me. I also had some nit picky things about the film as a whole (Gwen instead of Mary Jane, lackluster villain). But watching the film a few more times I realized that I liked it.

I do research on films that I'm excited for. This film came out weeks earlier in the UK and Europe. And the reviews were mixed which was sinking my high hopes. I didn't like the fact that there were three villains (More on that later). But it seemed like they were choosing the right actors for parts and surrounding the film in talent. After much heart and headache reading people thoughts and reviews for me, I'm okay with saying I liked much of this second Spider-Man film.

Andrew Garfield is Spider-Man and it seems he's embraced the part much more this time than in the first film. His Spider-Man is having fun being the savior of the city. He's making the quips, the jokes and the all around energy of his Spider-Man feels directly out of the comic book. I am finally sold on his Peter Parker. Director Marc Webb finally lets the smart but dorky Parker shine in a few scenes that are hilarious and engaging.

I'm still not an Emma Stone fan but she is a good counter to Garfield's Parker. They have excellent chemistry. You can tell that these may be Webb's favorite scenes to shoot. When they are on screen this huge summer tent pole film because a small drama about two people with a unique love story.

The villains, there are three of them but not really. Let me explain. Rhino played basically as a cameo by Paul Giamatti is really only on screen to show Spider-Man in action at the beginning and end of the film. His main adversaries are Jamie Foxx's Electro who starts off as a man who is saved by Spider-Man. He then becomes a obsessed fan only to in perfect comic book fashion have a horrible accident that grants him superpowers. Foxx is okay, I wouldn't say he is awful. He has some good moments and contrary to what has been written I think he only has one cringe worthy line.

Dane DeHaan is one of if not my favorite actor working this moment. His method style works so well in many of the films he's in and here it's perfect. His Harry Osborn is less cartoon-y than James Franco's from previous films. He's creepy, spoiled, arrogant but dealt with a lot of adversity. His chemistry with Garfield feels genuine. It doesn't feel forced like it could have been. They are long time friends who have been distant but because of new circumstances are forced back together.

The action is fun, fast and so Spider-Man if that means anything. The way they use his spider sense was very cool. I want to see more of that. The small nods to the comic book are fantastic. There are nods here and there to the upcoming sinister six film which doesn't cloud the film. It's just there in the story that this is apart of a large story in the future. I was trying to count the nods to the comic books. The only issues I had with the film was Peter's search for what happen to his father was kind of just there to fill time. Also the great Sally Field as Aunt May got only a few scenes. She was great on screen but mostly wasted.

Because this film is dividing fans I think I've pinpointed the problem. I'm a fan of the comic books and this film feel like a few issues of the comic books aka a mini-series. There are multiple stories, with multiple villains and a lot going on. I'm okay with the finally product and eager to see the film again. For Garfield's performance, the chemistry with Stone and the action scenes this film is a fun ride for any fan of the neighborhood web shooter.
32 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
OK, let's talk about HOPE.. Warning: Spoilers
.... and, to be fair, this was not my idea but the screenwriter's, since the last few minutes of the film reveal that this was a topic very much on his mind when he penned this script.

OK OK, I get that the transition from comic book (graphic novel) to feature film is not easy, but art never is, really. And it has been done successfully. Look at Superman 2 with Chris Reeves. Look at Spiderman 2 with Toby MaGuire. More recently look at Superman Returns (flawed but still brilliant in parts) and even more recently than that, Captain America 2.

What do all these films have in common? Humanity. Hope. Decency. That difficult blending of superpowers with those same quirks and oddities which make us human.

What they lack -- every film above-named lacks -- is brutality for its own sake, gratuitous violence directed against the star (and, by analogy, the viewing audience) just to make them feel the pain.

Yet, astonishingly, this trend is becoming the "new normal" in superhero films and no one seems to care, the fans just keep lapping it up. MAN OF STEEL was an abomination, as if the intent was to see how many office buildings you can bang to bits with Superman's head. Ditto Thor 2, ditto The Wolverine (borders on torture porn, that one); and finally, this "re-imagining" of Spidey where everything that can possibly go wrong in his day ... does go wrong. Including saving his gf.

Is this entertainment?

Seriously. C'mon folks, wake up and smell the stupid before all superhero films end up like this.
91 out of 158 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Whoa...nice story and potential
cadadmail17 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Excellent addition to the Spiderman lore. Great to see the additional details of being Peter Parker, and Spiderman. Loved hearing the smartass Spidey as in the comics.

The continuation of the mayhem from Ozcorp looks amazing.

Well worth watching.

really.

Peace :) Oh, not new, now but weird add on at end.

What more can I say ...need 10 lines of text... It's Spidey so you already know, and will nod as story flows along. Would like the film companies add cameos of all the other heroes that live in NYNY as Spidey works in city, regardless of contracts and film company copyrights. We all know Spidey knows all the teams and solo heroes in area. So to one day seeing the Torch and Spidey talking on a roof, or DD knowing by his heartbeat as Pete shoots pictures.. be a true believer!
27 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Amazing Spider Man 2
iconic-sr13 September 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Initial Review: The Amazing Spider Man 2 is definitely one of the best movies of the year! I also believe that it is the best Spider Man film to date. Marc Webb masterfully fuses action, romance and comedy into a film that is fun and moving for everyone.

The Positives: I liked the first "Amazing" that was released, but there were some problems I had with it. I think this film took these challenges head on. I felt like there wasn't much fighting in the first movie, but this was vastly improved. The romance was top-notch much like the first film, and the special effects went above my expectations. *(Spoiler)* I may be hated for this, but I thought it was a good move to kill off Gwen Stacy this go around for two reasons: it needed to follow the comics and it set a much darker tone for the rest of the franchise (which will be needed for future films like "Venom Carnage" and "The Sinister Six." Towards the middle of the movie I was really getting the vibe that this was mostly a kid-directed movie, but the death of Gwen brought it back to the tragic feeling of Spider Man that was so popular in the comics (God I'm going to miss her). I really enjoyed the villains which added to the fun of the movie.

The Negatives: Now this film wasn't all roses but it was exceptional. One problem I had was the little screen time provided for the Green Goblin (after transformation) and the Rhino. Critics often referred to the film as having three villains, but it really felt like one with two side battles to tease the next film. The character who dons the rhino suit has all but 12 minutes and the Green Goblin (once again, after transformation has like six minutes of screen time (approximately). However, I do agree with the critics that the back story for Harry Osborn felt awkward, and there was one two many story lines running through this movie.

Conclusion: I gave this movie 9 out of 10, due to the facts that it has so many positive aspects and with minimal negative issues (that are really more of a nuisance than anything else. I highly recommend this film for everyone.
20 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Better than what I thought, but not as wonderful as possible.
verndougall18 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I went into this movie not knowing what to expect, only assuming the commercials had been far to revealing. Anyways...safe to say that assumption wasn't very far off. Anyways, now to speak of this in a more revealing light.

Fascinating visuals, wonderful eye opening colors. It felt almost like a comic book jumping onto the page. The portrayal of Peter Parker and Gwen Stacy were amazing. Needless to say there's a connection felt between them. However rocky it forms most of the movie though. this isn't much of a qualm, but it was one of the more enjoyable elements. Now, onto something a little distasteful. The villains as they were developing had me hooked. Drawn into them (At least the ones shown mostly,only spoiler here). One character in this is shown to be around more in the commercials, it was more an illusion. You hope for more and it comes up short. The villains when they fully descended failed to keep what was making them enjoyable before the transition.

Anyways, I hope you find this insightful. Through less of a bias side (Love Spider-man). I'd give this movie around more of a 7, or 6.7, give or take between them. Go see it and see what you think, it's worth the ticket.
29 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A unique Spidey movie!
anirudhshiji27 September 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I thought this movie would be like a normal Spidey movie. But surprisingly ,a unique movie.The movie has a great story never told before.Some people complain that the story doesn't make sense.But look through it carefully.It makes complete sense.Like the fact that the spider which bit Parker was made of his father's DNA ,gives us a scientific explanation of why did the spider bite work on him.

Talking about VFX ,the movie's effects are great,especially the Times Square scene with Electro. And in the clock tower scene ,Green Goblin looked very real,and Gwen falling to her death was another example of realistic animation.

Overall, a great movie with a unique story.Hats off for Marc Webb and Sony!
25 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
From A Fan
broncojameson28 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
My first memory is of my dad taking me to a basketball court near our townhouse, and watching me throw around my first Spider-Man action figure, which came with a parachute. I would toss him up countless times and watch him fly down and I was so overjoyed. I still have that toy to this day. That was the day I fell in love with my favorite superhero. Spider-Man was such a huge part of my dad's childhood, and he shared this with me, and it has become a big part of me as the years go by. I watched the nineties cartoon religiously, I read whatever comic book I could find, and I got as many action figures as I could and created my own adventures, and would draw my own comic books too.

When the original Sam Raimi film was announced, that was an exciting time. I would watch the movie trailers over and over again, and once the movie came out (my dad and I were there on opening day), it was like a dream come true. Not too long after that, Spider-Man 2 came out and is still to this day the best time I've ever had at the movies. This was the true realization of the Spidey character in film, and had a villain in Doc Ock that was absolutely unforgettable. Cannot forget to mention the fight on the train, it's one of the best fight scenes in film ever. It seemed like this franchise was going nowhere but up. Then, Spider-Man 3… Personally, I don't think Spider-Man 3 is a bad film, but it's certainly not a good one. It's a solid mix of some great things, and some horrendous things, there's really no in between. The disco dance crap still haunts me to this day. Anyways, after that failure, Sony decided to reboot the franchise. I remember being really upset by this, but was willing to give it a shot because it was Spider-Man. I actually consider The Amazing Spider-Man to be the biggest low-point for the franchise. Why? There was a complete lack of fresh ideas and an abundance of underwhelming ideas. Andrew Garfield was great (better than Maguire), and his chemistry with Emma Stone as Gwen was the best part, but I couldn't get past the "been there, done that" feeling. Everything had been done better before. I pretty much forgot about the movie after I saw it, and was actually starting to stop caring. Honestly, my expectations for the sequel were very, very low.

When The Amazing Spider-Man 2 opened to mixed reviews, it seemed like my predictions were coming true; that the movie was a mess. Still, my dad and I went and continued our tradition of seeing every Spider-Man movie on opening day. As I watched it, I wondered what other people had been watching. When the credits rolled, my dad and I sat in silence for a few moments, and then turned to each other, and both agreed that we had just seen a great movie.

I complained that the first Amazing Spider-Man was an abundance of underwhelming ideas, but the very beginning of the sequel is powerful, and absolutely unforgettable. I could already tell that director Marc Webb had become more comfortable and experienced with filming action sequences; his inexperience sometimes painfully showed in the first film. It doesn't let up from there, with an energetic action sequence with Spidey against a really over-the-top (sometimes maybe too much so) Paul Giammatti, and again, much more entertaining than anything in the previous installment. There were complaints about it not being well shot, unfunny, and other stuff that clearly contradicts the truth of the end product. Then, we get more of the wonderful chemistry between Peter and Gwen that absolutely energizes this movie. Universally, this is a praised component to the new movies. Peter and Gwen will make you smile, laugh, cry, and then cry some more. Rarely do we see chemistry so strong on screen, and a love story we believe in so much.

Some people have said they don't care about the Peter-Harry friendship and think it's uninteresting. Huh? If you know these characters and know their history, it's not only well-done and believable, but also nice to see again, despite the always depressing spin that seems to happen to almost all of Peter's relationships. Dane DeHaan makes for a much better Harry Osborn than James Franco. He's more of the awkward and troubled Harry we saw in the comics, and carries the role well, and I can say I was truly terrified by his portrayal of the Green Goblin. When it came to Jamie Foxx as Max Dillon, aka Electro, I really did feel sympathetic towards his character, kind of like how I felt towards Doc Ock in Spider-Man 2.

Speaking of emotional depth, The Amazing Spider-Man 2 is packed with it. It's bookended by two incredibly powerful scenes, the last scene very moving, and has a lot of emotional force in between. It's this emotional depth that makes the movie work and rise above the little blemishes, and what makes it stand out compared to the other films. Gwen's death is unexpected and heartbreaking, and oh so well done. Peter's discovery of the truth about his parents was wonderful. There's so much to be emotionally invested in. The story is not perfect but engaging. Personally, I haven't actually met a person yet that doesn't like this movie. I've only come across people on the internet who have given it condemnation. I just don't see it as a franchise filler; it's so much more. I loved this movie, and can't understand the hate.I could be wrong (and I often am), but The Amazing Spider-Man 2 is great. It brought me back to the joys of playing with Spider-Man at the basketball court, and the joys of experiencing Spider-Man at the movies. Thanks to Marc Webb and the team! Sincerely, A Fan
25 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved It!
jessie-lou-68-44464731 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I know there have been so many bad reviews of this movie, but I found it to be a wonderful movie. The thing I love the most about this Spider-Man series is that it isn't afraid to deal with the emotional aspects of the Spider-Man series. Anyway, I will rate each aspect of the movie below.

1) Andrew Garfield: I find Mr. Garfield to be a wonderful Spider-Man. He grasps the cockiness and nerdiness that matches the comics well. He was great in this movie, carrying the emotional and action scenes like a pro.

2) Peter Parker and Gwen Stacy: I absolutely love Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone as Peter Parker and Gwen Stacey. Their chemistry is so real (love that they're together in real life), and the scenes between the two of them are my favorite. They are what make this Spider-Man series so special.

3) Villains: I did feel that although the villains in this movie were played well, that there were too many. Jamie Foxx played a good Electro, and Dane DeHann was a creepy Green Goblin. But, I found some of the fights scenes long. Overall, villains were played well.

4) Soundtrack: The soundtrack was OK. I was disappointed that James Horner didn't return to score this one, but Mr. Zimmer did an OK job. Some of it sounded too dub-steppy and I just found it a little too loud.

5) *major spoiler* Gwen's Death: I knew it was coming, but I still cried my eyes out. I cried for a solid 15 minutes. From how aggravatingly close Peter was to saving her, to his hauntingly realistic reaction to her death, it was heartbreaking. I am still in mourning.

6) Other things I loved about this movie: the costumes, some of the sarcastic Peter Parker humor, the adorable Peter-Gwen pictures hanging in Peter's room, and finally getting an explanation as to why Peter's parents died.

I was sad that it didn't get better reviews, because I loved it. Spider-Man is my favorite superhero, and even though I thought the ending was heartbreaking, I will definitely come see the next Amazing Spider-Man.
25 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great film but room for improvement
angus-manu3 September 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Although i thought the film was great, i did feel the ending let it down slightly. the death of Gwen ruined it for me. it made the fact of her going to oxford in england irrelevant. they gave you false hope of spider-man going to england and maybe continuing his adventure there. the death of Gwen was a little to full on for my liking. following the death of Gwen makes the next spider-man film less exciting for me.

their relationship is a huge part to the spider-man films and now thats gone the films will never be the same.

apart from that i thought the acting was brilliant and spider-man/peter parker is played amazingly.
17 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Enjoyable Film
wileyb957116 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
SPOILERS!!! DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVEN'T SEEN THE FILM! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!! I have Never really critiqued film before but I have seen really nothing but terrible reviews for this movie and I thought that I would do it a Solid and give it a good review. Yes it does have its flaws and a lot of them, you can't just focus on its flaws because if you watch a movie for the flaws, then what is the point of watching that certain movie? Because I could not tell you that answer.

You can do this movie a solid with the Chemistry between Gwen and Peter, which I think is a ton better than Tobey Maguire and Kristen Dunst's Chemistry, In all honesty I never really cared for the original trilogy, Well the second one is good. Third is atrocious. But anyway.

The acting is halfway decent in this film, Dialogue is terrible at points but I can forgive that. Because of the such fun time I had in the theaters.

Downs of The Film: 1.) Jamie Foxx's characters dialog was complete Ass. 2.) Harry is not the goblin or shouldn't be the goblin but they waste potential with Chris Coopers acting capability with that one scene. 3.) They Kill Gwen. Look I knew that they were gonna kill her because I frequently read the comics and read the particular comic at which I was not disappointed in. But when they put it into film it sucked terribly I wanted to punch the screen. One it happened on a bridge not in the clock tower. PS: if you have seen the trailer it does spoil you by literally showing you that Gwen Is dead! I'm pretty sure that Aunt May didn't fall down the clock tower. 4.) They use Paul for literally 6 to 7 minutes through this film. Which I don't Get, why not just put him in the Sequel or introduce him in the "Sinister Six" Film that will be released when the 3rd installment was supposed to come out. 5.) No ending credits scene. With all of marvels films there's either a scene thats after the credits, such as, The Avengers, X-men franchise. There isn't a ending scene on this film or there was originally one at which they cut out. I would have rather gotten nothing than the X-men Days of Future Past Scene (Great Flick) Ups of the Film: 1.) Great popcorn fun. 2.) The Humor Works in my book. 3.) I thought this was the best roll Andrew Garfield has ever taken. its a great movie all and all. 4.) The ending Scene I thought was okay, it had moments, but in terms of a fight scene you really didn't get much as a viewer. 5.) Hans Zimmer's score of the film was magnificent. 6.) It made me leave the theater with a smile on my face and I am ready for the next two sequels.
21 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great Blend of Comedy,Action and Roamance
ankitsin18 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is amazing! Acting is very fabulous and character were well portrayed by all the actors. And I must say that the ending is awesome. The Amazing Spider-Man 2 is an enjoyable film for Spiderman's fan, or just someone who wants to see a fun and action movie. You will laugh, you will get emotional, it has it all and at the right moment. The romance exceeds the action in the movie and it is a great blend of action and romance with comedy. The movie tells the story of Spiderman(Andrew Garfield) and Max(Jamie Foxx). Max is a person with friends and nobody cares about him. He works at Oscorp(which is an electricity generating company) as electrical engineer, which is also where Peter Parker's (Spiderman's) girlfriend Gwen Stacy(Emma Stone) works. The CEO of Oscorp dies and Peter's old friend Harry Osborn(Dane DeHaan) who later on turn into Green Goblin becomes CEO of the Oscorp. He finds out he has a disease which can only be cured by Spiderman's blood. Peter worries that using his blood may kill him. At the same time, Max is involved in an accident, and turns him into Electro which is negative character in the movie. Max(Electro) wanted to be good person and help the city but misunderstood himself due to his appearance. The first fight between Spiderman and Electro, which is a memorable scene of the movie. To get the blood of Spiderman, Harry convinced the Electro to come with him which is also turning part of the movie. The design of Electro was not so good but green goblin was well made. I recommend this film to anyone else looking for an action, comedy and romantic film. To sum up, I think it is an overall excellent movie and I give The Amazing Spiderman 2,Eight out of Ten.
23 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Amazing but....
mukesh_hit12313 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I LOVED the first installment of this series (more than the second) and most beautiful part about the two parts is the love story. It was a SHOCK that they had to kill the character of Gwen Stacy specially when it is Emma Stone playing it. It left me in a sad sad feeling.

Another thing I could not digest was how EASILY Peter Parker moved on from her after her death (I Know the inspiration came from her own speech, but if it were myself, I could never move on). I was expecting to be shown as the spiderman officially retired, for the next installment to have even more vicious villain forcing him to return. (Kinda like The Dark Knight Rises)

I mean leaving all this aside, I LOVED it!
23 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Generally good, but I had one big problem
Andyvplus1111 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
As the title says, I thought this was a generally good movie, not Oscar quality, but entertaining. I walked out of this movie satisfied with all aspects of this movie except for one.

Throughout the movie max/electro is portrayed as a sympathetic villain that you're supposed to feel bad for. We see his ideas stolen, his accident covered up, and then after the accident he is held and experimented on. After all this, I felt genuinely bad for the character, and was hoping for a Spider-Man 3-like ending in which the sympathetic villain is given redemption in the end (just to be clear I recognize how terrible and ridiculous Spider-Man 3 was.)

However, in the end of this movie electro is killed without redemption, which, in my opinion made the whole "sympathetic villain" aspect of this movie kinda redundant.

All that being said however, I did thoroughly enjoy this movie, and am looking forward to future sequels. 9/10
24 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Another Amazing Spiderman movie, but...
chaz_merida3 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
THE AMAZING SPIDERMAN 2 !!!!!SPOILERS ALERT!!!! This new chapter of the Spiderman comic book character, Amazing Spiderman 2, is a solid good movie. The movie contains a considerable amount of information that is released in sequential order concerning Oscorp, the Green Goblin, and the Sinister Six.

The death of Gwen Stacy was simply tragic and drew tears everywhere in the theater. This moment was well crafted and executed. The dramatic ride from the beginning of Green Goblin's appearance to the ending moment was awesome! But that alone I cannot give the movie higher than a B.

The beginning of the movie spent nearly a full 15 minutes on characters that were dead and too easily referenced by a line or two to warrant such a waste of time.

The villain Electro's storyline was exactly parallel to the Ridler's story from Batman Forever, and the character similarities before the birth of the villain was so intentional – that I could have played the Batman movie side by side and not seen any difference whatsoever.

When Electro was born, he became unlike the comic book villain and yes more powerful, but the villain wasn't actually an evil villain, he was a confused, psychologically unbalanced character that had passionate hate towards Spiderman that wasn't actually justified. The end of Electro was a good thing, this villain couldn't possibly work for another movie.

The Green Goblin, aka Harry Osborn – not Norman, was an interesting plot twist; however the introduction of Harry Osborn was a serious problem within the story plot. In the previous movie, Amazing Spiderman, Harry was not introduced at all and now this guy is Peter Parker's best friend. Anyone who read the book knows they were but if you didn't read the book and just came to see the sequel, you are surprised to see Peter's non best / best friend comes out of nowhere and not so much as a back story of the story of the two characters. Yes, that 15 minutes about Peter's parents would have done nicely to introduce Harry the right way. But nope, they didn't.

The Rhino at the very end was not a surprise or twist at all. It was more like throwing the last egg at the house where 11 other eggs could be seen dripping. The movie ended with Spiderman and the Rhino fighting in the street. The scene before that with the child was awesome and the Re-Introduction of Spiderman was damn good. This scene still doesn't reduce the deliberate shock of the movie ending with not so much a hint at MaryJane Watson.

I like the movie, and will buy it when it becomes available. The action scenes are great and the characters are real. Andrew Garfield in my opinion is a much better Spiderman than Tobey Maguire by far. And Gwen Stacy will always, as before, be missed!
25 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
spidey 2 - surprisingly good.
dale717111 April 2014
Being not a fan of the spiderman movies - for me aimed at at kids and teenagers of which i am not - I found this movie to be a bit of an unexpected treat.

Viewed it last night at a 3d preview in edinburgh and what i worried might be a bum numbing 2 and a half hours actually flew by.

Don't want to give any spoilers or ruin any story but the whole pace of this film is much tighter than previous efforts and the tone can be quite dark at times. There is of course love interest but this added to the story and I actually bought into it and found myself caring for the characters, no mean feat for a cynic like me. Thankfully it didn't come across all teen/twilighty which seems to be the norm these days.

The villains are very good, Dane DeHaan in particular is exceptional (is it me or does he remind you of a young Leo di Caprio?) and gives a fantastically unnerving performance - big things beckon for him no mistake.

If you liked the previous Spiderman movies you'll still love this, If you didn't put any misgivings aside and give it a whirl (as i did). Either way definitely go and see this film, words I never thought I'd utter about a Spiderman movie. You Won't be disappointed.

As I said - no plot details and no spoilers, just an honest opinion of my film experience.
315 out of 619 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A really, really good film
themorar9516 April 2014
I personally thought this was an excellent film. It had a good amount of comedy, truly deep emotions, and brilliant action. A great, cohesive film to lead on from the first one.

The relationship between the two main characters are brilliant, and you can really understand what's going on between them as both actors portray their characters very well.

Also, what I like from these movies are that they are more relative to the Spider-man comic books, compared to the Spider-man Trilogy (and let's be honest, they were terrible.) If you have read the comic books, then you'll understand where I'm coming from when you see this movie.

The only downside/s I feel this movie has is that Jamie Foxx, in my opinion, doesn't really fit his character and I felt that he didn't really have a massive say in the whole film, it was more about the other villain - but what I did like is that having two villains didn't make it feel like there was too much going on; it was very understandable and a pleasurable viewing experience, so the director receives points in my book for his story telling.

This review is really brief as I don't want to sway your opinion on the film before you've watched it, but rather to change your opinion on whether you should watch it, and I believe that you definitely should.
268 out of 524 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This is what Comic Book Movies are supposed to be like
jackgradis5 July 2014
For starters, let me say that this is not a perfect movie. The first act is rushed, and the plot loosens as the movie progresses. But this is what comic book movies should be like. Fun, action-packed, and believable performances are what make this movie good. It is not trying to be The Dark Knight, which I enjoyed. There are a few darker moments, but the overall feel of the movie is light and fun. That tone is perfect for Spidey movies, and that is where I think Sam Raimi went wrong with his Spider-Man trilogy. He wanted to make a good film, not a good Spider-Man film. Mark Webb is making good Spider-Man films, so critics are not liking it because they view it the same as they would Shawshank Redemption. And fans aren't on board because they want all superhero movies to be "darker". Ask Man Of Steel how that worked out. So just sit back and enjoy a fun ride with beautiful visuals and outstanding acting.
34 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not perfect, but doesn't deserve the sheer amount of hatred
jakeanderson120615 August 2014
Alright, I know I'm not the populist opinion here, so I'll go ahead and say what I think and try to articulate why I think this movie is probably the best Spider-man movie to date.

First off, I don't like the Raimi films, I tried my absolute best to tolerate the ridiculous cheese, underacting (McGuire and Dunst) and overacting (Pretty much everyone else) the hoaky writing, the plot holes, the weird character motivations, but I couldn't. I feel that everyone who compares the new Amazing flicks to the Raimi trilogy misses the point of a reboot, its not supposed to be like the old movies, that's the idea.

First off, its undeniable that Garfield far outshines McGuire as an actor, and as Spider-man. Not only that, but even without the comparison, he manages to play a likable and natural High-Schooler (Despite the fact that he looks like he's in college) Emma Stone, well, she almost makes the movie. Marc Webb can definitely write chemistry between characters well, and with Gwen and Peter, it really shines. I genuinely cared about the romance in both movies, which I could not say for the old films.

The other actors are all solid, Jamie Foxx is a great actor, and while his part is not original, it is entertaining and well acted. Props also to Dane Dehaan, who is a great actor and a fantastic Harry Osbourne.

Is this movie the mess of a plot everyone says it is? Not really. I was never confused or befuddled by the absurdity of the plot or situation at hand. However, the only thing I can honestly fault on the film can be Sony's marketing. Putting the Rhino in the trailers was idiotic considering he's in two scenes, and yes, the film feels like its fulfilling a quota of things to do with its plot, but here's the catch: its entertaining. The characters are fun to watch, the story keeps true to the Ultimate Spiderman mythos, and it genuinely makes you care for everyone you are supposed to care for. This, in my opinion is the best Spiderman movie we've had, its enjoyable, exciting, heartfelt, and a very well-written film, but Sony's meddling is very evident.
27 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The movie presented the adventurous life of Spiderman.Swinging between buildings, taking down criminals and saving the day, he is the hero every kid aspires to be.
shishir-kmathur18 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
The movie presented the adventurous life of Peter Parker better known to us as Spiderman.Swinging between buildings, taking down criminals and saving the day, he is the hero every kid aspires to be. Though his life seems so awesome, he faces his dilemma in his relationship with Gwen Stacy. But his life takes a dark turn when his old friend Harry Osborn the sole heir of the Oscorp Industries returns back. Facing an incurable disease Harry requires the blood of the Spiderman, who could mutate the spider serum to cure Harry.Spiderman also faces Electro a normal electrician who transforms after being bitten by mutated electric eels having an inner grudge against Spiderman .Apart from his personal relationship problems with Gwen and his guilt of not being able to help his best friend, Peter parker faces his past demons in understanding why his parents left him so suddenly without any explanation.

The film has good CGI work with amazing 3D visuals.The storyline is gripping and fast paced keeping the audiences on the edge of their seats.Andrew Garfield brings life to the character of Peter Parker by portraying his eternal dilemmas and his difficulties living a double life.Emma Stone is amazing as always in the role of Gwen Stacy, Parker's love interest.The viewers though looking for action were also absorbed in Peter's quest to find answers to his personal problems.The adrenaline filled, epic final fight sequences of Spiderman vs Electro and Green Goblin is one of the finest application of CGI and 3D effects making it a must go for all comic book and movie lovers. The fast paced cinematography and special effects made this one of the best movie of the year winning a number of awards. Making its own mark in the superhero genre The Amazing Spiderman series may just give a strong competition to The Avengers series.
17 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Brilliant film Must See
pyrolaptop26 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Having multiple villains was a good idea. And linking in with the original spider man films due to the special projects area. Such as professor Octopuses arms.

Most of the film focuses on Elector or Sparky according to spider man. Then near the end there is the green goblin(Harry Osborn)then at the end the guy in the rhino robot. Not seeing the end of the fight was a good touch.

I expect that the next film will probably have like a documentary playing on the TV showing spider mans previous saves. And maybe someone getting close to spider mans identity. Since Gwen shouted "Peter" when she was webbed to the police car.
23 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Seriously underrated
lincolnpjones22 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I really don't understand the hatred this movie gets. Let me start out by saying that I'm not really a Spiderman fan. My experience of Spidey came from the awesome PS1 Spiderman games, the 1994 Spiderman animated series and the Raimi movies. With that being said, Rise of Electro is one of the best superhero movies I've ever seen. I'd put it up there with Winter Soldier, the First Avenger, Blade and even the Raimi Spider-Man films.

Andrew Garfield does a pretty good performance as Spidey, balancing emotion with excellent comedic timing. Emma Stone is wonderful as Gwen Stacy. Jamie Foxx is an excellent and quite sympathetic villain, even if he is pushed to the sidelines a little by Harry Osborn. The movie actually makes you care for all the characters, even Harry Osborn. And I'd be lying if I said Gwen's death didn't knock me on my ass, because of how shockingly gruesome it is for a PG-13 movie and because I would've thought they'd let her live.

I really liked what they did with the source material, updating concepts like The Rhino and Electro without taking out too much. Plus, I genuinely feel that this movie pulls off the 'hero rises from the ashes' storyline much better than Dark Knight Rises.

Is it perfect? No. But is it a good superhero movie? Hell yeah, it is.
23 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A film which illustrated the comicality and empathetical nature of Marvel comics
othepantha29 May 2014
With much speculation about the success of this film, it surprisingly, yet thankfully, lived up to the billing! With expectation high despite the seemingly mediocre Amazing Spiderman it seemed impractical and implausible to believe this film would be any different. Yet with promises of a better script and storyline, it seemed as if the series was about to live up to its initially thought potential. This was already hyped up more so by the pretext of a more intricate storyline which was implied by the previous film's ending. So it proved. The storyline was better, and the bonus of empathy with villains really did not hurt its compelling case. All in all, a film that delivered what it promised...
24 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed