The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (2014) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
1,355 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
The Amazing Spider-Man 2
JoBloTheMovieCritic22 December 2021
8/10 - I know I am definitely in the minority on this one, but I for one feel that this 2014 sequel is not only not the "worst Spider-Man movie," but actually improves on its predecessor by doubling down on heart, the swoon-worthy chemistry between Garfield and Stone, and jaw-dropping visual effects.
31 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
"Hey, I think I know that guy!"
classicsoncall10 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I knew there was a reason for all those TV commercials for the U.S. Post Office featuring Spider-Man and Stan Lee; Spidey goes absolutely postal in this Andrew Garfield sequel. The action is high flying and if it weren't over the top, I think fans wouldn't be as impressed. Not having followed Spidey very much in the comics however, I didn't quite get the idea that he was somehow invulnerable like Superman considering the pasting he took from Electro (Jamie Foxx) and Green Goblin (Dane DeHaan). I'm aware of the proportional spider strength so to speak, but seeing Spider-Man crash into buildings and pavement the way he did made it a wonder he kept coming back for more.

Peter Parker fans also get their fill here with the angst in his relationship with Gwen Stacy (Emma Stone). Garfield displays a whole lot more emotion in this follow up to ASM1, but hey, there were a whole bunch of college football players crying this week during the NFL draft picks so it goes with the times. Half way through the movie my mind wandered back to the comic book story of Gwen Stacy's death, so I began to wonder if that's what would happen here. The finale will absolutely crush anyone who's not expecting it.

As usual, it was great to see Spider-Man co-creator Stan Lee (along with Steve Ditko) cameo once again in a Marvel flick. He was present at the high school graduation early in the picture, and is the guy who says "That's amaaaaazing" in the commercial.
23 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I had a friend once. It didn't work out.
nogodnomasters8 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Every super hero needs a super villain. This episode introduces us to Electro (Jamie Foxx) and the Green Goblin (Dane DeHaan). If that wasn't enough Peter (Andrew Garfield) must deal with his on again/off again relationship with Gwen Stacy (Emma Stone) and he discovers the truth about his father (Campbell Scott) and Oscorp.

I love these modern superhero blockbuster updates...except for maybe that "Green Hornet" thing. What the heck was that about?

I will also say I disapprove of the character send off, but I'll get over it. The film contains drama and heart as well as good action scenes. If anything Spiderman was able to take care of his foes a little too easy.

The film sets up for a crazy action sequel. Break out the popcorn.
37 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Underrated but not the best
harrypup-2843630 August 2021
Warning: Spoilers
This film is a good movie with good chemistry between Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone but it was not the best film with some dodgy bits of dialogue and the Green Goblin wasn't very good in this movie.

I loved Electro which is quite an unpopular opinion and his soundtracks and action sequences were immense. Jamie Foxx did a good job at portraying him. I love villains that have good powers like electricity and Electro is just that.

The Rhino was a bit pointless because he was only in the film for 10 minutes but I think they were setting him up to be a villain for the third movie which never came out.

Andrew Garfield was great in this film and he is my favourite Spider-Man. I think this is an underrated film but there has been better.
46 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
"Let's go catch a spider."
estebangonzalez1025 April 2014
"Let's go catch a spider."

Marc Webb's first feature film, 500 Days of Summer, was a successful small indie romantic film with a lot of heart. He went from that to the huge production of the Spider-Man franchise which I thought didn't necessarily need a reboot so soon. However the film did work thanks to Andrew Garfield's portrayal of Peter Parker. His natural charisma and confidence translated really well to the character and his sense of humor makes him the perfect candidate to play Spier-Man. I began my review by mentioning that Webb directed 500 Days of Summer because for me the heart and soul of this film is the love story between Gwen and Peter. I can't think of any other superhero film with such a great love story and believable chemistry than this one. Garfield and Emma Stone are incredible together and I loved their scenes. Webb knows a thing or two about young romance and it is the film's strongest asset. The sequel is entertaining and has some great action scenes, but I could've watched this film for the romance alone. The flaws are actually the villains in this film. They don't crowd the film like the trailers led me to believe, but they really don't seem to menacing until we reach the final third act. For a film that runs at 140 minutes it went by really quick and that is always a good sign. Spider-Man 2 might not be as good as this year's Captain America, but it does have its solid moments and clever one-liners. At times the CGI took me out of the film as it looked more like a video game, but there were some interesting shots as we got to follow Spider-Man swing across the New York City landscape. The film works better as a romantic comedy than an actual superhero movie but that was fine with me because it was a really good one. It makes most other recent rom-coms look ridiculous and unbelievable.

After a short flashback where we see what happened with Peter's parents, the camera follows Spider-Man (Andrew Garfield) swinging across NYC as he tries to stop a Russian mob criminal, Aleksei Sytsevich (Paul Giamatti), who has stolen something from OsCorp. In the midst of all the action he receives a call from his girlfriend, Gwen (Emma Stone), who is reminding him that he's going to be late for their graduation. Somehow Spider-Man manages to take care of business and arrives in the nick of time to receive his degree as Peter Parker. His Aunt May (Sally Field) is the only family he has left, but she's there for him like she's always been. Peter however has been having visions of Gwen's father reminding him of the promise he made to not date his daughter in order to keep her out of danger. Apparently it has been a conflict they've dealt with over the last few months and Gwen decides it's time for the two to break up. Gwen continues to work at OsCorp which is now managed by Norman's son, Harry (Dane DeHaan), after his passing. Harry seems to suffer from the same degenerative disease of his father and wants to continue researching for a cure in OsCorp. Peter is glad to see his childhood friend back, but when he realizes what he's up to things get complicated. When an employee from OsCorp suffers a freak accident he becomes Electro (Jamie Foxx), a dangerous foe for Spider-Man and the city.

The Amazing Spider-Man has some flaws but it still entertains thanks to the great chemistry between Stone and Garfield. They are perfect together. DeHaan is also great as Harry and he does look like a believable threat for Spider-Man. I had a problem with Foxx's clumsy performance as Max but once he becomes Electro he does look menacing. I didn't care too much about the villains or the action set pieces despite the fact that they were well crafted. The inner struggles that Peter Parker faces with his family drama and relationship with Gwen is at the heart of this film. The final act is more than just a gigantic action face-off, there is actually a lot of emotional elements at stake and that is what lifted this movie as it finished on a high note. There was a very emotional scene scene near the end of the film that left the entire theater in silence. The best thing about this sequel is that it was much more emotionally involving than the original and it banks its strength from Andrew Garfield's charismatic and spot on performance as Peter Parker.
45 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
"Down came the rain . . . "
pixrox112 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
" . . . and washed this spider up." One pretty much expects Bond Girls to die. Every time Agent 007 gets hitched, his bride catches a bullet almost before the wedding bouquet is tossed. But when a movie's heroes are perky high school kids, movie goers expect more longevity than that enjoyed by Bond Gals. It's depressing enough when teens turn out to have their whole lives BEHIND them on Graduation Day in real life. Film escapism demands that trailers or previews must provide at least a kernel of truth-in-advertising. You expect teens to die in CARRIE, because the previews explicitly show that it's a horror flick. (Even Harry Potter's hapless "Cedric Diggory" character is a pretty minor plot sacrifice, thus no exception to this rule.) Teens are the number one demographic for movie multiplexes, so responsible exhibitors should refrain from biting the hand that feeds them. High schoolers also are the most easily influenced film fans. Ever since the rash of suicides and suicides-by-cop inspired by the 1950s film REBEL WITHOUT A CAUSE, Hollywood studios have made an implicit pact with parents NOT to blindside them with another wolf in sheep's clothing like REBEL. However, AMAZING SPIDERMAN 2 is in clear violation of this understanding. Therefore, it can be rated "8" for college kids, but deserves a cautionary 4-out-of-10 for your impressionable high schoolers.
33 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Impressive spectacle but overstuffed and empty
TheLittleSongbird30 July 2014
Both Amazing Spider-Man films get a lot of hate, and while for me they weren't as bad as all that(if anything personally they were moderately enjoyable films) I do agree with a lot of the criticisms for both. Some say the sequel is better, personally the first while being very over-familiar and unevenly paced and with a severely underdeveloped villain the first was a little better but still fell far short. There are good things about the sequel. Once again it is very stylishly made and the special effects are better this time round, while the action sequences provide some thrills. The chemistry between Peter and Gwen is still sweet, Peter at the grave is actually quite moving and the closest the film ever gets to having any emotional impact and some of the acting is good. Andrew Garfield's performance is much better here, he doesn't ever quite capture Spider-Man's vulnerability but he is much less smug and tones down the quirkiness. Emma Stone is a charming and very likable Gwen, Sally Field gives seasoned support as Aunt May although she doesn't have much to do and Dane DeHaan does a great job showing Harry Osborn's slow descent into fear and loneliness. However, Jamie Foxx despite looking really cool doesn't do anything with Electro and looks lost and Paul Giamatti is completely wasted and gives a rare bad performance. The script and the way the characters are written don't help, the script is very thinly sketched and tries to balance comedy and pathos and does so awkwardly, to the extent the comedy feels overly-broad and out of place and the pathos apart from one part is non-existent literally. And the film does suffer from too many characters and most of them with little development, with the two leads the most interesting characters. There are two too many villains(the same problem that Spider-Man 3 had) and none of them developed very well, Osborn/Green Goblin just about musters due to DeHaan but his development still feels rushed and some of his actions out of the blue, the villain also deserved a much better resurrection which was cheaply done. Like Lizard in the first film Electro is very one-dimensional with no motivation, or shall we say no obvious one, and Rhino feels like a just-there-for-the-sake-of-it character. The story doesn't suffer from being over-familiar like the first Amazing Spider-Man but it does suffer from a very sprawling structure and a lot of it feels over-stuffed and plodding. The music has its moments and does fit better than James Horner's for the first Amazing Spider Man but it does lack pace and one of those pleasant-to-listen-to-but-easily-forgettable scores, three composers are credited and the score sometimes sounds like that is the case. All in all, moderately enjoyable and visually impressive, and Garfield is much more at ease here, but it does suffer from trying to do too much and feels empty and emotionally-lacking. 5/10 Bethany
35 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
OK, let's talk about HOPE.. Warning: Spoilers
.... and, to be fair, this was not my idea but the screenwriter's, since the last few minutes of the film reveal that this was a topic very much on his mind when he penned this script.

OK OK, I get that the transition from comic book (graphic novel) to feature film is not easy, but art never is, really. And it has been done successfully. Look at Superman 2 with Chris Reeves. Look at Spiderman 2 with Toby MaGuire. More recently look at Superman Returns (flawed but still brilliant in parts) and even more recently than that, Captain America 2.

What do all these films have in common? Humanity. Hope. Decency. That difficult blending of superpowers with those same quirks and oddities which make us human.

What they lack -- every film above-named lacks -- is brutality for its own sake, gratuitous violence directed against the star (and, by analogy, the viewing audience) just to make them feel the pain.

Yet, astonishingly, this trend is becoming the "new normal" in superhero films and no one seems to care, the fans just keep lapping it up. MAN OF STEEL was an abomination, as if the intent was to see how many office buildings you can bang to bits with Superman's head. Ditto Thor 2, ditto The Wolverine (borders on torture porn, that one); and finally, this "re-imagining" of Spidey where everything that can possibly go wrong in his day ... does go wrong. Including saving his gf.

Is this entertainment?

Seriously. C'mon folks, wake up and smell the stupid before all superhero films end up like this.
94 out of 176 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Much Better Than People Would Lead You To Believe
dfa12037418 February 2015
So much negativity for a film that is far, far superior to the Raimi cheese-fest astounds me that it's a kin to praising Pearl Harbour over Saving Private Ryan in my opinion.

This version, like it's prequel, is so much better than any of the Raimi films in all aspects from action, story, and CGI that it's no contest for me. In saying that though, I think the only part of this version I didn't really like was the way the Green Goblin was portrayed. He actually looked like a cross between Wolverine and a leprechaun and he was more laughable than menacing. Other than that however, this is a much more enjoyable film than any of the others.

The story for the film, while being pretty predictable, is very decent for a super hero movie. I mean, how many super hero movies can have an Award-winning story that is NOT original or predictable? They are all the same in one way or another so for this story to be criticised more over others is a bit laughable. There is more of a "love story" with this sequel as well between Stacy and Parker, but unlike the way the annoying relationship between Peter Parker and Mary Jane Watson was portrayed in the Raimi films, this one is not insufferable. And that's coming from a guy who hates any sort of romance in movies.

The main cast done a stand-up job once again with Garfield and Stone doing well with their continuation of Parker/Spider-man and Gwen Stacy. Jamie Foxx and Dane DeHaan were excellent in their roles as Electro/Max Dillon and Green Goblin/Harry Osborn respectively, especially DeHaan as Harry Osborn who brought a sly, sneaky, and very snake-like menace to the character. I also liked the Stan Lee cameo again in this one....it wasn't as good as his cameo in the 1st film, but it was still a nice touch.

Sam Raimi may have brought us a more up-to-date take on Spider-man but Marc Webb has made the franchise more enjoyable with less cheese. Ignore the hate and judge for yourself....you may just enjoy it as much as I did.
63 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wow
bevo-136786 August 2021
The amazing Spider-Man 2. This time with double the amazement.
20 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Intense, charming and electric
kunalkhandwala13 May 2014
Great power doesn't just come with great responsibility but also at a great cost. Heroes deal with their painful pasts and yet rise to face the evil that can threaten the present day. It is their ability to overcome those personal battles in times when darkness looms over society, that makes them superheroes. In the follow-up to the reboot of Raimi's Spiderman trilogy, director Marc Webb (!) massively improvises upon the story's technological rendering and the human element of it that delineates the challenges of being a superhero for an ordinary man. Peter Parker's ability to overcome his fears, his childhood loss, his financial instability and relationship's complication is what really makes him the Amazing Spiderman and in its 2nd installment, his portrayal by Andrew Garfield outclasses any prior attempt. At the burden-heavy core of his responsibility web is Emma Stone's charming Gwen Stacy who is perhaps the most lovable superhero girlfriend yet.

As Spiderman busies himself with crime prevention in the city, thus gaining popularity among its citizens, Peter Parker's personal struggles mount. Devoting time for his girlfriend and being there for her big moments is one challenge but visions of her deceased father warning him to keep her out of his harm's way is a decision that is taken by his destiny and not him. Meanwhile, Harry Osborne (Dan DeHaan) returns to his ailing father's death-bed to take over a device containing his life's work and his empire of OsCorp. The same illness however is detected in Harry and his only solution to a cure is blood transfusion from Spiderman. The hero's woes aren't over just yet. In a freak accident in a lab, Max Dillon (Jamie Foxx) is submerged in a tank of genetically modified Eels that mutate him into 'Electro' – a living electric station that has the power to cause a massive blackout and use that energy against Spiderman. Parker soon realizes that all of his challenges have OsCorp in common and it is his father's hidden video feed that clarifies Norman Osborn's true intentions about the biogenetic projects. Spiderman must now face all his demons, take high volts of electricity thrown at him by Electro, combat the wrath of the goblin-glide rider Harry Osborn and keep Gwen away from imminent danger. A hero's strength will become his weakness and he will pay a price to be the savior of the city that he must protect.

The action is frenetic at times and draws parallels with 'Man of Steel' where each sequence isn't elaborately explained but is delivered in its intense form directly. We all know the powers of Spiderman so the director doesn't waste time in how he goes about the action. The swinging scenes are better than ever at engaging the audience, the action is bigger and Spiderman's powers seem enhanced. The special effects truly come into play when portraying the destruction by Electro and yet, they simply aid the story and characters. The plot balances well between being a Superhero's struggle story and an all-out action duel.

Dane DeHaan plays a sinister Harry Osborn with evil emanating from his expressions. Jamie Foxx 's innocent Max Dillon is then transformed into the CGI version that is Electro and Foxx is excellent in his powerful villain's character. As secrets that are buried in the past are revealed, Peter understands his purpose better and overcomes his challenges. Garfield's quirkiness works in his friendship with Harry, his vulnerability works with Aunt May and his ambivalence works with Gwen. In an all round performance, Garfield manages to out-swing The Amazing Spiderman's curse of being the 5th movie about the superhero in 12 years. Emma Stone's Gwen Stacy is the reason this film stands out beyond all the action and effects. Her charming portrayal of the young, ambitious and intelligent individual is such a far cry from Kirsten Dunst's Mary Jane. Peter's fears raise complications between them while Gwen's confidence and charm bring them closer. The scene when they establish 'ground rules' after a break up can just make one fall in love with her as Peter did. Gwen's science degree makes her more of an understanding partner rather than just a romantic one and such chemistry makes them the best couple in a superhero film.

Faced with an enemy far superior in powers, a complicated relationship shrouded in fear and a past remembered for its losses, the friendly neighborhood Spiderman must rise to live up to a role that every superhero embraces. Through the dark days that took over the city and through days he felt alone, what made our hero 'The Amazing Spiderman' was his ability to give hope to people...... and of course, how he can free fall from the tallest building's top and make us spend all that money on its 3D effect.

  • 8.234 on a scale of 1-10.
38 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not bad at all
cthirlby13 December 2021
Warning: Spoilers
The opening scene is perfect. Some amazing cinematic swinging scenes which also show off the city of which Peter loves and protects. Peter and Aunt Mays relationship really shines in the movie especially when they play off so naturally as family members in the laundry scene. A scene which I love and just find really funny is the chimney scene "I was cleaning the chimney" "we have no chimney" "whaaaaaat?!" I just love that. Gwen and Peter are perfect for each other too, they both have a love for Science and Gwen loves the man Peter is and what he stands for. Peter also doesn't want Gwen to get hurt like her father but can't completely cut her off as he loves her too much so he keeps an eye on her so he knows she is safe. Max before he was Electro was a classic nerdy villain who just wanted the attention and for people to see him and when he did become Electro people still didn't take notice of him and ignore his cries for help as Spider-Man took that spotlight so he resents him for making him feel that way. Then there is Harry Osborn, a kind of side story of the movie but Harry let's us look at how corrupt Oscorp has become and how much damage they have done to people, he is a good actor as I've seen him in Chronicle but I don't like how Green Goblin looks in the face and hair although the suit idea that keeps him alive is cool. Spider-Man's blood is found to be dangerous to everyone if they aren't in his bloodline and so he has to protect Harry from that. Peter learns more about his father making him feel a connection he never had before with him knowing he also had a responsibility to protect people. Harry coming to Electro made Electro feel needed and like he was being a hero to someone like he was his own idea of Spider-Man. The music in the movie is obviously great as it's Hans Zimmer and fits Electro when the dubstep/EDM is playing as the music is electric. The final battle has some good visuals and then you have the famous Gwen Stacy death which destroys Peter for months but she holds onto hope which Peter inspired her to be hopeful. The movie has some great messages about being hopeful especially the ending with the kid and Rhino standing up showing Spider-Man inspires people to do good and leaving something behind for generations to come. I will forever defend this movie as a good movie, thank you Andrew!
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Lots of fun, a good continuation of the genre
Figgy66-915-59847017 April 2014
17 April 2014 Film of Choice at The Plaza, Dorchester Tonight - The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (3D) - Marvellous Marvel does it again. If nothing else a Marvel film is entertaining, but this film was definitely better than just entertaining. A mix of superhero, ordinary folk, internal struggles and battles against the bad guys, this film also had quite a few laugh out loud moments too. One of the most telling story lines yet this episode deals with the internal struggles that Peter Parker goes through to balance his everyday life, with family, love of his girl and his obligation to save the general population. I know as the audience we are privy to all the secrets on the good side and the bad side, but it never ceases to amaze me that the person closest to him, his Aunt May, has never discovered the spider suit which is just sitting in a heap in his closet, open your eyes lady, the guy you raised from a small boy is one of the coolest super heroes around. I quite like Andrew Garfield as Spider Man, he balances his fun side with the angst needed to capture this story line to perfection. 3D gets better and better by the way!!!!
33 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
🕷 Plot issue: It's very unconvincing that...
Top_Dawg_Critic18 April 2020
...Jamie Foxx would have blue eyes as a bad guy, when his eyes are actually brown, and that the space between his teeth would vanish.

Just kidding. A lot going on in this sequel, but still exciting to use the big budget to its full capacity.

Great S/VFX, cinematography and directing. Enjoyable. 🕷
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I hate that song....
FlashCallahan22 April 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Having the inclusion of three villains in this sequel really had me concerned for the movie, especially seeing that the Goblin was being reintroduced so soon after the Raimi version (I know it's been 12 years, but it's really not that long ago if your at a certain age).

Plus it doesn't really help having the slightly fresh taste of the monstrosity that was Spider- Man 3.

But hey, its a new franchise, with a new spin on the web slinger, and thank heavens that the majority of people who have commented on the poorness of the film are wrong, plain wrong, but all opinions are respected.

The film focuses more on Peter and his demons, coming to terms with his promise that he made to captain Stacy, and the mysterious events that led to his parents murders. And then this seamlessly melds into the prerogatives of the main villain, Osborn, looking like a cross between DiCaprio, Basketball Diaries Era, and Adolf Hitler.

Dehaans Osborn is a more sinister, gloomier version than Franco's Jock like take, and he owns the film when he is on screen. His story is the bulk of the sub plot, and he is fascinating.

Foxx is the weak point here, like a cross between Gus Gorman in Superman III, and the electric gremlin from The New batch. He is nothing more than a stooge for Osborn, but he does garner the greatest set piece in the film.

Garfield and Stone are as wonderful as expected, and his Spider-Man is just like the one from all those great cartoons of the eighties, sarcastic, human, and funny.

The film is a lot darker in tone, than other Marvel movies, and at sometimes, it's very touching, especially during the final showdown with Rhino.

The script and characterisation could have down with a little tweaking, but we are watching a film about a man who has been bitten by a radioactive spider, fighting a man made of electric, an trying to get the girl, so it's pretty much forgiven.

All in all, its a wonderful popcorn flick, really setting up the mood for the whole sinister six part of the franchise, and the score is brilliant, really brilliant in some places, just could of done without the Max Dillon comic relief music.

See it and enjoy it. It's going to be one of the biggest movies of the year.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A Hero without Principles
tinulthin10 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
The Amazing Spider-Man 2 has technical merits. However, these merits are impossible to enjoy in a film drowned from beginning to end in the sickening narcissism of both its purported hero and supposedly tragic villains.

I give you The Amazing Spider-Man: a hero with no principles and no goals. He sometimes cares about a girl and sometimes wants to know what happened to his parents, but day-to-day he really only cares about doing what he wants to do--which happens to be helping people, it seems, because it gives them "hope." And what luck! He gives them this just by being himself. Not by being a better person. Not by sacrificing anything else in his life for the greater good. Just by being strong and smart and doing exactly what he feels like doing because that's how he feels. And look: by being himself, other people want to be like him. What a wonderful message for a self-obsessed age. And watching the box office dollars roll in, it would seem that this is just what everyone wants to hear.

Ah, but lovable doe-eyed Petey gives up Gwen for the greater good, right? No he doesn't. He gives her up because he can't face the guilt of having contributed to her father's death--his guilt, and his unquestioned inability to give up being a famous public figure, lead to his need to break up (And his principled stand on this issue is so strong that he will renege on it whenever he feels randy). We never see Peter torn between helping people and helping himself. We see him torn between two paths to self-gratification: the adulation of public heroism (and public vilification, which is a kind of adulation) and the love of a single woman. What about Aunt May? No, not her--she's just in the way of Spidey laundry.

This is the major problem with the reboot: The overshadowing death isn't Uncle Ben's. It's Captain Stacy's. And Captain Stacy didn't die because Peter was self-absorbed. Captain Stacy died because Peter existed. So the standard for Peter being a good person or bad person has nothing to do with his character--it has only to do with his presence. During an over-the-top car chase in the first act, rather than stop a massive truck from smashing through a set of cars (which Sam Raimi has shown us he could have done, assuming equivalence between a truck and a train), Spidey ducks out of the way only to come back after the carnage. This is a hero who says, "I'm here for you--until it's inconvenient for me, then you're on your own."

The long and short of it is that this Spider-Man is in no way heroic. Superheroes are heroic because, while they could decide that they are unconcerned with our struggles, they still feel a moral obligation to help the average Joe. This Spider-Man seems to feel obliged to help only because, as someone superior to everyone else, the world's problems must naturally fall on his shoulders. Not because someone died due to his inaction--because he's exceptional. And helping inferior people is what exceptional people do. Sometimes. When they're not busy dealing with exceptional-person stuff. Like obsessing about parents who unjustly abandoned them while feeling no responsibility whatsoever for the uncle they themselves abandoned.

Add to this a pair of villains who go from being apparently well-meaning if somewhat imbalanced individuals to homicidal maniacs due to a single rejection episode, and you have a two-hour cesspool of poorly justified destructive self-obsession.

Electro could have been a tragic Frankenstein villain. Instead, because a group of random people roots for Spider-Man over him in his first public appearance, he decides everyone should die. Yup--that's his motivation. You don't love me because I'm me? Well, I'll kill you all. Thank you, Columbine.

Harry's the same. After a five-minute meeting in which Spider-Man refuses give him his blood--which he truly believes, based on a single night's research on a single computer file, is the only thing that can save him from a horrible death that won't happen for another 40 years--Harry decides that Spider-Man needs to die right now. And everyone who dies in the process of saving his own old-age skin is perfectly okay. This despite Harry having been Peter's best friend only 48 hours before--though not because they have a long history together, but because they talked for a few hours and remembered how they were friends eight years ago. And it's not like either of them developed any other close relationships over their entire time in high school and college. (Let that be the only mention I will make of this film's preposterous set of causes and effects--and its Attack-of-the-Clones-inspired need to intellectually dictate emotional importance rather than meaningfully display it.)

The original Spider-Man had a single moment of narcissism. Count 'em: one. Only once did Peter Parker step up for glory, himself, and his own objectives, and he immediately paid for it with the death of one of the only three people he loved. This new Peter Parker steps up for himself every day as a part of his playground vision of a hero, and not a single screenwriter or billion-dollar audience member seems to care. This Spider-Man says the world should glorify you for being you, and if that doesn't happen, it's the world that needs to change, not you. And that is what truly terrifies me.
479 out of 759 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good action packed movie
osj250715 March 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I really like spiderman as a series, and I think Andrew Garfield does take on this more gloomy and dark version of spidey/peter parker, it works quite well and I hope that they make many more in the series.

Very nice action packed movie, if you haven't seen it or know what is coming in it, maybe you should not read on **spoiler alert**.

I am not a big fan of these villains or heroes for that matter that gets weird powers that is not at all plausible, spiderman well yes maybe a mutated spider could bit and transfer powers, that is okay for me, but Electro come on, he should have died in that fish tank and not become this electrical super freak evil bad guy. Give me the two other evil enemies at the end, Dane DeHaan really fits his part both as Harry Osborne, but also as the Goblin it is really good. The Rhino that we briefly see in the end is really fitting in my universe of spiderman and the evil fiends he has to battle, so for my sake those are the one they should go for.

Really good and action packed, maybe a bit to long, but it keeps you entertained all the way.
30 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
8.5/10
James_De_Bello21 October 2014
Lets give a disclaimer here: I am a comic book nerd-geek and Spider-Man is one of my favorite fictional characters ever, so maybe I am inclined to be fully absorbed by this movie very easily, yet this doesn't take away from my film nerd-fan side that genuinely thought very highly of this film from a simple filmaking point of view. As storytelling goes I was very-pleasantly surprised to find a really strong grip: it never commits the Spider-Man 3 mistake of being over-crowded and maintains a brilliant balance on all the characters flowing naturally with a story that feels perfectly fine despite the pressure it had from Sony. It never tries to be over intricate but manages to pull of multiple inter-twining story lines in a magnificent way. Never does it leave loose ends and that is something I hadn't seen in a comic-book movie for a couple of years. Furthermore it isn't a banal plot, there of course are some clichéd moments but as much as they don't get me in 90% of movies they got me here (credit to director/actors for making those few feel very spontaneous), it has valid originality and keeps a core fidelity to the source material that deserves high praise. Just as good is the way in which this sequel builds on its predecessor tying up loose ends, proceeding with minor story lines of the first movie and adding great parts in it. As a director Webb proves to be amazing. The action scenes are complexly put together, with visual brilliance and continuity in them. Great improvement from the first movie. They really were breathtaking, nail-biting sequences that found me on the edge of my seat continuously. Another visual aspect that is stunning is the swinging sequences of Spider-Man: this is what I always wanted to see but never fully experienced with the other Spider-Man movies; the shots there were fantastic. Yet what I most admire Webb for is the talent he has for character development and coherence, we have seen this in his previous two movies and here it is firing once again in all cylinders. There just isn't one character in whom I did not believe, I never spotted the stereotypical comic-book person in here. Everybody had there chance to shine. Sure a couple of characters have minor short-comings and I understand if somebody doesn't believe in Electro's personality, but I found that it walked the line between movie acceptability and comic-book campyness in the perfect dose. To this I also have to give credit to the soundtrack which blew me totally away when Electro is introduced to the public: that was some serious use of music and sounds for storytelling, brilliant, intelligent! Adding to this is a really powerful score from Hans Zimmer, one of the better ones I have heard from him and generally in recent years. Our introduction to Harry Osborn/Green Goblin was positive on the character part (indeed there was no need for him to be green goblin in this one but I honestly did not mind him), yet from an acting point of view I think Dane Dehaan overacted in some scenes, nevertheless he was good enough. There have been many criticisms of this movie in regards to messy tone, unoriginality and rushed villains and as much as I see where people are coming from and I would indeed have appreciated a more untraditional villain(s) introduction and story I just never thought of that during the movie: there are many movies in which I simply cannot be taken in because of originality issues, but for some reason this one felt to me so fluent I never had any problems with this and actually felt it kept a consistent tone throughout. Yet I must address the fact that watching it twice I could feel the studio putting too much of its hand in the movie: they were way to manipulative of this and I think that by leaving Marc Webb just some more creative power this movie could have been enormously better. The CGI wasn't always seamless but great in many moments and anyways it never bothered me because the story was always the driving force behind it and what I was most interested in: this also speaks to the fact that the action was used to propel the plot so it never felt out of place, that is something really hard to pull off. There is lots of humor in the film and I can safely say that it actually is very funny and very faithful to who Spider-Man is and how he acts and to expand on this the humor fits both the tone of the movie and the storytelling, speaking again to the fact that, just like the action, it is used appropriately for the character development or the story, it is never gratuitous. I was excepting more fan service, but I can't really fault the movie for not satisfying my unsatisfiable thirst for it, that was nevertheless kept at bay. "The Amazing Spiderman 2" truly was a comic book movie. It took the best aspects of the two world and combined them in what I always figured in my head when I read Spider-Man comics. Yet, I have been holding back this for all my review and here it is: what truly is the best part of the movie, the most riveting element, the thing that Webb does best in a really majestical way, the driving force behind this film, the main reason and thing that kept me most absorbed in the drama and what gives it honest emotional depth is the relationship between Gwen Stacy and Peter Parker. honestly do not know how Webb is so amazingly good with romance and character interaction but what we have here (and in the previous movie) is something really special.
47 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good but not great
tinovalkki3 June 2014
Once again a good example about movie that critics don't like, but I enjoy to watch. Of course this isn't greatest movie of history, but as a comic book filming it is very entertaining. Spider-Man's leaps between skyscrapers are beautiful to watch especially in 3D experience is like sitting on a roller coaster. Andrew Garfield is great as a Spider-Man, Emma Stone succeed well as Spider-Man's girl friend despite the tragical end. Sally Field is always great actress. Only Jamie Foxx don't convince in his role as a nerd. Luckily he act nerd only half of the film and the rest of the movie he is digitally enhanced Electro. Story is entertaining and pretentious comic book adaption and that is the way it should been watch. Albeit the dialogue is quite childish at time to time it doesn't bother too much. Lots of popcorn and enough of soda is all you need to enjoy this movie. If you want to say something bad about the movie you could say it has been inflate to so big that it will be a hard to surpass on next movie. Movies massive budget (200 million dollars) is hard to cross over. On the other hand if movie makes enough profit as theatrical release couple of more millions should not be any infeasible to approve.

http://tinovalkki.blogaaja.fi/
34 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Seriously underrated
lincolnpjones22 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I really don't understand the hatred this movie gets. Let me start out by saying that I'm not really a Spiderman fan. My experience of Spidey came from the awesome PS1 Spiderman games, the 1994 Spiderman animated series and the Raimi movies. With that being said, Rise of Electro is one of the best superhero movies I've ever seen. I'd put it up there with Winter Soldier, the First Avenger, Blade and even the Raimi Spider-Man films.

Andrew Garfield does a pretty good performance as Spidey, balancing emotion with excellent comedic timing. Emma Stone is wonderful as Gwen Stacy. Jamie Foxx is an excellent and quite sympathetic villain, even if he is pushed to the sidelines a little by Harry Osborn. The movie actually makes you care for all the characters, even Harry Osborn. And I'd be lying if I said Gwen's death didn't knock me on my ass, because of how shockingly gruesome it is for a PG-13 movie and because I would've thought they'd let her live.

I really liked what they did with the source material, updating concepts like The Rhino and Electro without taking out too much. Plus, I genuinely feel that this movie pulls off the 'hero rises from the ashes' storyline much better than Dark Knight Rises.

Is it perfect? No. But is it a good superhero movie? Hell yeah, it is.
154 out of 234 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Why the hate?
Everymoviegetsa1020 February 2019
I don't get the hate for this movie. Was it the ending? the death scene? green goblin? TASM1 I can understand that one was bland.

Fans just love to nitpick and don't know what they want.

Its a sad, fun movie all the way. Like all spiderman movies , shows, comics. Peter is trying to figure stuff out while nothing goes right. He fights crime, gets a big baddy and wins.

Same thing happened in this movie, but for a price.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Always along for the ride
TBJCSKCNRRQTreviews27 April 2014
Keeping New York safe is no easy task, and with Gwen(Stone, sweet and her own person) possibly on a different path than him with an Oxford scholarship, Peter(Garfield, a lovable, quipping nerd that we can relate to) faces possibly losing her, in spite of how much they love each other, and this continued strong romance keeps us engaged. Worse still, as much as he desperately wants to fix everything, keep everyone safe, not everything will work out that well – there is tragedy in the air. This takes the form of the return after a decade of his troubled childhood friend, Harry Osborn(DeHaan, lost between a psychotic determination and a charming accessibility, doing justice to both), and the deadly new face, Electro(Foxx, obsessed fan turned dangerous villain, compelling as both, and largely sympathetic).

Boring origin retread out of the way, this can go into the nature of our protagonist, and deliver on the sad, "chin-up" aspect of him. This is the Spider-Man I grew up reading. The best aspects of this are the drama and character dynamics. Real people with actual problems that don't have easy solutions. There are troubles from the attempts to Avengers this franchise, with a lot of setup for the Sinister Six to appear down the line. Do not get me started on the disappointing reveal to the conspiracy/mystery parents plot, which should have been resolved in the first, not to mention never introduced in the first place. This adds up to too much going on, taking away time for the better elements. We get a fast pace that both helps and hurts the whole.

Production is, indeed, amazing. Truly captivating is the musical theme, synthesize-voice-enhancement and chilling look of our genuinely lethal electric baddie. Swooping, intense and fun action keeps us entertained throughout, and the 3D is fantastic for it – even if it is the only place that visual effect is applied. The tonal shifts can almost lead to whiplash. Humor is great, with ad-libbed dialog, tons of small gags, none of it forced.

There is some violence and disturbing content in this. I recommend this to any fan of everyone's favorite web-slinger. 8/10
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
my opinion
Ahmedfadil0010 September 2021
Best Spider-Man movie. The ending made me so sad.. Emma Stone. Her acting is great, and so is Andrew. You are absolutely gorgeous. Love and appreciation.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Better than what I thought, but not as wonderful as possible.
verndougall18 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I went into this movie not knowing what to expect, only assuming the commercials had been far to revealing. Anyways...safe to say that assumption wasn't very far off. Anyways, now to speak of this in a more revealing light.

Fascinating visuals, wonderful eye opening colors. It felt almost like a comic book jumping onto the page. The portrayal of Peter Parker and Gwen Stacy were amazing. Needless to say there's a connection felt between them. However rocky it forms most of the movie though. this isn't much of a qualm, but it was one of the more enjoyable elements. Now, onto something a little distasteful. The villains as they were developing had me hooked. Drawn into them (At least the ones shown mostly,only spoiler here). One character in this is shown to be around more in the commercials, it was more an illusion. You hope for more and it comes up short. The villains when they fully descended failed to keep what was making them enjoyable before the transition.

Anyways, I hope you find this insightful. Through less of a bias side (Love Spider-man). I'd give this movie around more of a 7, or 6.7, give or take between them. Go see it and see what you think, it's worth the ticket.
72 out of 114 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Terrible Story and Villains
claudio_carvalho6 September 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" is the worst movie of this hero, with terrible story and villains and boring romance. Max Dillon, a.k.a. Electro, is a needy moronic lonely engineer that worships the Spider-Man and after an accident, he becomes a powerful stupid enemy that destroys part of New York. Harry Osborn, a.k.a. Green Goblin, is poorly developed; when his father is on the death bed, he learns that he has the same disease that is killing him and becomes CEO of the corporation without any experience. Soon he makes a quick research, has a short dialog with the Spider–Man and becomes his enemy after an announced accident. The romance between Peter Parker and Gwen Stacy is boring and repetitive. There is an importance in Peter Parker's parents and Uncle Ben is practically forgotten. There are good action scenes and special effects but that is all. My vote is five.

Title (Brazil): "O Espetacular Homem-Aranha 2: A Ameaça de Electro" ("The Amazing Spider-Man 2 – The Threaten of Electro")
39 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed