Bbuddah... Hoga Terra Baap (2011) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
24 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Movie Review
Anish Misra24 August 2011
STORY:- Don Kabir(Prakash Raj) wrecks havoc in Mumbai. ACP Karan Malhotra(Sonu Sood) is given the case. He promises to clean the city within 2 months. Now Don Kabir wants him dead. Viju(Amitabh Bachchan) who stays in Paris is appointed by Kabir to kill him. The rest of the story follows on Viju trying to kill Karan.

WRITING:-Puri takes another very interesting story that has lots of action, comedy and twists just like WANTED. The story keep you engaged(2.5).

MUSIC:- The music of the film rocks. Kudos to Vishal Shekahr for bringing such good music(2.5).

ACTING:- Amitabh Bachchan is the Baap of the film. Sonu SOOD and Prakash Raj also have done a great job. Hema Malini and Raveena Tandon were also good despite their small role(2.5).

ACTION:- Most of the action involves gun fights. Inspite of that they keep you engaged and look quite interesting(2.5)

BEST SCENE:- It would be Viju's entry when he tells the inspector the famous line from the film KAALIA.

OVERALL:- It is a tribute to Amitji and his image of the angry young man. I would give it 10/10
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
No One Dare Call Him 'Bbuddah'
Chrysanthepop8 August 2011
Puri Jagannath's 'Bbuddah Hoga Tera Baap' is a celebration of Amitabh Bachchan's iconic status, particularly of his angry young man image that was immensely popular in the 80s. As much I disliked most of those movies from the 80s, I thoroughly enjoyed this film from the start. Furthermore, even though it's a tribute to Bachchan and pays homage, none of it is overdone or thrown in your face. It is all done in an entertaining and amusing fashion. The action scenes are over the top and silly but also very funny immediately reminding the viewer of those silly Bachchan films. Shot with style and colour, the film looks 'cool'. Think of this as a remake of an 80s Bachchan flick that is well updated and funny. The humour works very well. The dialogues are hilarious as they parody the 80s masala flicks.

Amitabh Bachchan delivers a completely laidback performance. Even though 'Bbuddah Hoga Tera Baap' is a celebration of his angry young man image, he appears completely relaxed and delivers a natural performance and reminding the viewer again of his flair for comedy. Sonu Sood is well cast as he very much resembles a young Amitabh and is competent. Even though she has a tiny role, Ravishing Raveena Tandon is superb as the hot sexy mom who is completely nuts about Bachchan's Vijju. She provides some laugh out loud comic relief. Elegant Hema Malini adds grace and class. The two young actresses are passable and Prakash Raj is brilliant as the over-the-top villain.

Overall, this isn't a film to be taken seriously. The title already suggests that. It's easily watchable with the family, as a date movie or a rainy day flick with a glass of fresh drinks. The references also give it nostalgic value. Just sit back, relax and let the film start as its maker welcomes you to share this celebration of an actor who has made a solid place for himself in the history of Bollywood.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Total time pass
aaaa aaa2 July 2011
We were like 6 people who went and watched this movie and to be honest, while we had zero expectations on the movie, the movie was pleasantly entertaining. Everyone one of us enjoyed it a lot. Its a breezy timepass movie without any heavy stuff. Amitabh looks absolutely stunning and is a treat to watch. Not only his attires cool, it is also breezy, and the lines he speaks are witty too. The storyline is thin which we knew before we entered the movie hall. But the surprising thing is the story at the climax is gripping and sure impressed us a lot. Amitabh is in full form and shows why he was a one man industry for a long time, i am sure you will like him in that role.. Go and enjoy it, i am sure you will not regret it at all...!
14 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
At the age of 69,he is Shahrukh Khan,Salman Khan,Akshay Kumar all rolled one
GaneshKSalian12 February 2012
Bbbuddah Hoga Terra Baap directed by Puri Jagannath is surely a treat for Amitabh Bachchan fans.This is a one big tribute to the great star.

Amitabh Bachchan truly is the King of Bollywood.I wish if people stop on spending their money to all those hyped actor's senseless movies and watch what a great actor like Amitabh Bachchan has the caliber to do.

I feel that the writers should have concentrated more on Amitabh Bachchan rather than the love story between Sonu Sood and Sonal Chauhan,which is half-baked.Even the love story between Raveen Tandon and Amitabh Bachchan could have been crisp but unfortunately fails.

Story:- Viju(Amitabh Bachchan),a hit-man from Paris has come to Mumbai to do is one last job.

The direction is good.

The story is okay

The dialogs are okay.

The music is plain average.

The action scenes are nice.

Performances Amitabh Bachchan rocks the show.Watch how carries of the action sequences and you would be left spell-bound.Hema Malini is fine.Sonu Sood is subtle.Prakash Raj is terrific.In fact,its great to see Bachchan and Raj together.Sonal Chauhan is waste.Ditto for Charmie Kaur and Raveena Tandon.

On the whole Bbuddah Hoga Terra Baap should be watched only for Amitabh Bachchan!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Amitabh saves the day
amitshetty736 October 2011
Bbuddah Hoga Terra Baap is an average action movie but it has got one thing which other average movies don't have - the baap of all entertainers.Big B.

Direction by Puri Jagannadh is okay. Story is nothing great. Music is okay.Performance wise,Amitabh rules this movie.He simply rocks man. Hema Malini does great in her role. Sonu Sood looks like son of big b and does well. The two heroines are horrible. Raveena is also horrible. Prakash Raj shines as villain. Rest are okay.

In other words, a average movie which is given life by spirited performance of Big B
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Fantastic
KongKongAGAIN5 July 2011
"Bbuddah... Hoga Tera Baap" is of the class of cinema that asks you to check your brain at the door: "masala," through and through. If you're looking for sanity and realism in your experience, move quickly on, but if you know what this sort of Indian entertainment is all about, "Bbuddah..." should anything but disappoint you.

Although, in the end, the film completely relies on the able shoulders of Amitabh Bachchan to succeed as it does, it doesn't throw him a load of crap to carry, either. The songs, the scenes, the dialogues — everything is top-notch. As for others' performances, they're always more than adequate (no one's ever out-of-place or annoying), but, really, it isn't about anyone else. "Bbuddah..." is a one-man show, and that's just perfect.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Amitabh Rules.......
moviemania-6411 July 2011
There are some funny moments and overall film moves at brisk pace with a few and far fetched well executed Action scenes but overall the film fails to make the required impact and scores just a notch above the run of the mill. There is no freshness in narrative as audience has seen all this in last couple of years. The idea might have some potential but is not given a shape of a proper story and therefore is not exploited properly. The director seems to have lost in the bargain and piece together some action, comic scenes & songs with famous dialogs from Superstar's earlier film rather than putting it in a fresh perspective and make something interesting from it.We went watching this film with family and everyone had a great time.Amitabh is the one who still rules the industry....
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Amitabh is the best
jennlevy123 November 2011
The movie itself is a little goofy and over-the-top, but it's a spectacular tribute to and performance by the Big B. I am absolutely crazy about the "remix" dance number combining several of AB's old hits -- and I do believe that AB is the playback singer on this, as well as Abishek, who does the rap bits. At 68, AB may not have the same moves he once had, but he hasn't lost a drop of charisma. He is still mad sexy. Even though Sonu Sood didn't have that much to do, I liked him and found him very good-looking. Hema is very beautiful in an old-fashioned way, and lent a lovely, classic presence. This movie reminded me a little of the last James Bond movie Sean Connery did, where he was kind of playing himself playing James Bond. Amitabh is Amitabh playing all of the old Vijays, with a wink and a smile. Someone mentioned that only a few actors, like AB, Sean Connery, and Clint Eastwood, can carry a movie when aged 65+...but what I always think when people compare Indian actors to American ones: the Indian actors also have to dance (and some sing, too). The only American actor I can think of who can play comedy, drama, action, and also dance is Christopher Walken, and he doesn't get to dance nearly often enough. The best examples of his dancing are in Roseland and Pennies From Heaven. But Indian actors dance in all their movies! Case closed! There is no American Amitabh, and no one else in the world like him.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Ode to "Amitabh Bachchan" by die-hard fan for Big B fans
Avinash Patalay8 August 2011
Clint Eastwood, Sean Connery - next to that its only Amitabh Bachchan who can still carry the weight of the entire movie on the shoulder even at the age of near 70.

What works...

Big B in a angry old-man mode. Plus the clever tongue-in-cheek lines in the 70's/80's format.

What doesn't work....

There are too many tracks running in concurrence. Romantic track of Sonu Sood + Sonal Chauhan, marital discord Amitabh + Hema, relief moments by Amitabh + Raveena. Sadly the flow of the movie is hampered with each track butting in. Additionally the editing is far too crisp, not letting the moment stamp an impact.

I fail to gather why was Sonu Sood was left out in the promo's post Dabbangg success? PR guys, shame! Charmi was very loud and carried forced plastic expressions. Makrand was full-on. Prakash Raj is his usual self. Without a doubt, he has what is takes to strike gold in Bollywood.

Songs linger on for quite a while.

The penultimate moments at its glorious best for Big B fans. Puri Jagganath has clearly sent out a message to the recent directors who failed to translate the persona of Big B on screen. The lines said by Big B at the end of the movie seemed to be a message to all the Big B fans.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
better than random Hindi movies
seshasaisrivatsav2 July 2011
I intend not to give any spoilers..

I was not expecting much when I got in to the movie hall But at the end i was satisfied ,

and lot of Telugu appearances in the movie , fights , item songs , and garage scenes where they threaten to kill each other . Its just some fine action by the 60 year old and , borrowed Telugu direction..

the cinematography and screen play were just below the threshold limit and didn't appeal that much But the actors performance is good to watch

enjoy with your pop corn or GF :)

enjoy the rains or watch this flick
12 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
C'mon People .....!!!
Lord Aragon21 July 2011
I am writing this review after reading some of the bad reviews in IMDb. I guess most of them have given it low points as they have failed to understand that this is not Deewar, Sholay, Agneepath or even Aks. It is a tribute to the greatest actor in The Indian film industry. It reflects what Mr. Bachchan is and the place he occupies in the acting department. I did not have the fortune to watch the above quoted classic movies when they were released as they came much before my time but re- runs on TV channels have ensured that we understand his greatness.

This film is a through entertainer, even reignites the chemistry which Mr. Bachchan shared with the "Dream Girl" Hema Malini.Charmee does well in her small role and so does Sonu Sood. Never a dull moment and King Bachchan again reaffirms that the Lion in winter is still the supreme compared to all the pulp princes together in their prime.

Watch it guys, you will love it.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Sit back, and watch The Man go to work!
sshogben14 July 2011
"Bbuddah Hoga Tera Baap" is -- first, last, and altogether -- an Amitabh Bachchan vehicle. And how!

The Man may be, bless him, all of 68 years old (69 in October, apparently) but he hasn't lost a step. Charming, witty, even sexy, he's still an effective action hero in a role that, honestly, I don't think ANYONE else could have pulled off.

For a film sporting the tagline 'Big B Is Back' ... (where had he gone? an actor who shoots as many films as HE does every year?) ... this completely character-driven action comedy about a supposedly retired hit-man showcases all the full range of qualities Amitabh Bachchan can bring to the screen. Drama. Romance. Action. Comedy. What doesn't The Man do? Here he even sings -- in his uniquely growly, gnarly voice -- every song in the film.

Absolutely delicious!

The character, if not the story or scenario, is fresh and original.

Most of the supporting cast take a back seat, here. Sonu Sood, for instance, merely had to look butch and hit the gym, for his undemanding role here as an honest policeman. But who really cares?

And, to give credit where credit is definitely due, two Actors-Not-Called-Bachchan also brought particularly good work.

Prakash Raj -- the South Indian veteran lead actor from such disparate films as charming Telugu comedy, 2009's "Aakasamantha" and classic Tamil political drama, 1997's "Iruvar" -- matches Mr Bachchan shot for shot, as the evil mafialord Kabir. Their final confrontation delights.

Special credit, though, to a lesser known actor who proves anew that old saw about 'no small parts, only small actors'. Makrand Deshpande, whom I last saw beating up Mr Bachchan's real-life daughter-in-law (Aishwarya Rai) in last year's brilliant "Guzaarish", here converts a small but much more sympathetic part as a would-be bad guy into someone the audience unexpectedly enjoys and connects with.

Bottom Line, though: Amitabh Bachchan, Amitabh Bachchan, Amitabh Bachchan.

Savour while ye can!
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
the magic is there
sameera-6919 July 2011
Yes, the magic is there, the charisma is still visible, his first appearance on the screen still gives you goose bumps all over the body and his dialogues in that world famous baritone voice still remain impeccable and incomparable even after almost 5 long decades of his colourful film career. But where is the story, where is the script, where are the clap worthy dialogues, where is the emotion, where is the comedy and where is that VIJAY which was publicized all over in the print and T.V. media before the release of the film?

If you are a fan of THE MAN then its fine but the director Puri Jagannadh just makes his film remaining a fan and never gives you any glimpses of an intelligent film-maker throughout the film. He just keeps working with a larger than life character on the screen with everyone else moving around him as puppets. Neither there are lines which can make you go wild, nor the comedy is such which reminds you of all those Live comic scenes in Bachchan's famous movies shot in sync sound. In short, the film is like a Tribute given to the actor by his avid fan who by chance happens to be a film-maker too.

The whole project has a South stamp all over it, having fast edit cuts and inter-changing scenes with an abrupt kind of sequence. I fact I was highly disappointed with the very first scene of the film introducing Amitabh. The confrontation between him and a police officer at the airport gave the clear indications that the film is not going to be as expected. As it progresses one can easily notice that the characters are just behaving in a silly manner in the awe of Amitabh's powerful presence, which doesn't seem to be convincing at all. Especially the sub-plot of Raveena and her daughter's relation with Bachchan which visibly looks deliberately added for an extra spice in the storyline and nothing else. May be Raveena was added later on at a friendly request but sadly she is completely wasted. In the opposition department, the expressions on the face of villains keep hanging between terror and comedy. As a result they all fall flat including the well known Prakash Raj.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A must watch for all Big B Fans!
imdb_gunner25 July 2011
Big B proves once more that he is a God of all Actors! At his age he's still the best in the business. Perhaps the best there ever will be. Who else could act, dance, do action sequences and even sing all remarkably well at the age of almost 70?

On several occasions this movie pays tribute to his illustrious career and his immense contribution to Cinema most of which is humorous and enjoyable!

However as for the Movie itself it could have been better .. especially the final third which was contrived and this should have been avoided. But its a must watch for all Big B fans nonetheless!

The supporting cast all do justice to their roles and overall its an entertaining movie that pays tribute to this charismatic legend in its own chic and witty way!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Its print ads and visual promos were much better and interesting than the movie itself.....but the BAAP is still there.
bobbysing17 July 2011
After a gap of almost two decades (when Amitabh' solo films used to come and flop), today I felt exactly the same while watching BBuddha Hoga Terra Baap. Exactly after 30 minutes into the movie I again had the same decades old feeling that this also is not going to work and is not capable of becoming a Big Hit at the box office in any case. It was really nostalgic to feel that but at the same time was also painful for a Amitabh fan to know that his favourite star's film is frankly not as great as expected and is actually quite below the mark.

So as a true fan of His, I will not go on praising the film un-necessary by just writing great lines spun around the on-screen magnetic persona of the one & only 69 years old Icon of Indian Cinema.

Yes, the magic is there, the charisma is still visible, his first appearance on the screen still gives you goose bumps all over the body and his dialogues in that world famous baritone voice still remain impeccable and incomparable even after almost 5 long decades of his colourful film career. But where is the story, where is the script, where are the clap worthy dialogues, where is the emotion, where is the comedy and where is that VIJAY which was publicized all over in the print and T.V. media before the release of the film?

If you are a fan of THE MAN then its fine but the director Puri Jagannadh just makes his film remaining a fan and never gives you any glimpses of an intelligent film-maker throughout the film. He just keeps working with a larger than life character on the screen with everyone else moving around him as puppets. Neither there are lines which can make you go wild, nor the comedy is such which reminds you of all those Live comic scenes in Bachchan's famous movies shot in sync sound. In short, the film is like a Tribute given to the actor by his avid fan who by chance happens to be a film-maker too.

The whole project has a South stamp all over it, having fast edit cuts and inter-changing scenes with an abrupt kind of sequence. I fact I was highly disappointed with the very first scene of the film introducing Amitabh. The confrontation between him and a police officer at the airport gave the clear indications that the film is not going to be as expected. As it progresses one can easily notice that the characters are just behaving in a silly manner in the awe of Amitabh's powerful presence, which doesn't seem to be convincing at all. Especially the sub-plot of Raveena and her daughter's relation with Bachchan which visibly looks deliberately added for an extra spice in the storyline and nothing else. May be Raveena was added later on at a friendly request but sadly she is completely wasted. In the opposition department, the expressions on the face of villains keep hanging between terror and comedy. As a result they all fall flat including the well known Prakash Raj.

In the supporting cast, Hema Mailini is cool and elegant as ever and Sonal Chauhan is only there to look pretty. Charmee Kaur is energetic and Sonu Sood puts all his efforts to give an impressive performance and he even stands tall in front of Big B. Prakash Raj is just OK but Makrand Deshpande feels like enjoying his small appearance with the Man himself.

Technically the film is perfect with some great cinematography and brilliant action. Vishal Shekhar may sound good in the promos, but while watching the film, I was not very much impressed with the songs. It was really shocking to see that the title song sung by Amitabh himself in the Accapela form, wasted in the opening credits with no excitement and visuals to highlight the effort. Even the medley of all Bachchan super hit songs of the past was not anything great. So whats there in BHTB to watch?

Its Amitabh, Amitabh & Amitabh alone. If you love the man and his enigma on the screen then you must watch it without expecting anything else from the movie. Just watch the 69 years old Angry Young Man, walking, loving, kicking, whistling and dancing on the screen as he doesn't really know of his own age. The body language, the smile, the laughter, the anger and him riding a Harley, really surprises you as we all have our grandfathers in our homes of that age only.

Go for it, if you want to see probably the Last larger than life Hero on the screen of Indian Cinema still the same at 69. Because I don't think that anybody of the current era would be able to carry his old age with such grace and elegance as the one and only AMITABH BACHCHAN. Go for it, if you want to see why there used to be Real Temples of Stars in our country in the past where the fans used to worship their Hero's like GODS.

Truly speaking, as a film, BHTB has not got much but what it has got is the BAAP OF ENTERTAINMENT, who deserves to be saluted with respect and love for such an effort made at this age.

So, Go for it, just to experience the Man and his Power on the screen because I am absolutely sure that there will be no Amitabh Bachchan ever again in our Hindi Film Industry, since the Man up above has simply lost the dye of making such phenomenon.

But as an honest reviewer I would like to end with the statement that "Its print ads and visual promos were much better and interesting than the movie itself….., but the BAAP is still there."
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Relies only on Big B
silvan-desouza18 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I am a big fan of Big B since 70s and 80s but still I don't like a lot of his films. Buddha Hoga Tera Baap was like a homage to Amitabh who tries to show how sexy he looks, how active he is at 70.Well we already know that Do we need an excuse of a film to showreel Amitabh? The first half is more on Amitabh showreel, his entry scene fails to leave a mark, but yet some scenes are okay, the romantic scenes between Sonu Sood are not too great but the interval does surprise you There are some well handled scenes like Sonu Sood getting shot and then Amitabh seeking revenge, we also have some south style scenes and a scene lifted from Puri Jaganand's Pokiri(2006), even a song from Naseeb plays in one scene between AB and Hema

Direction by Puri is okay not too great Music is okay, the title song sung by Big B is okay, Go meera Go is a medley of Amitabh hit songs from 70s with rap by Small B.

Amitabh Bachchan walks, talks in swagger, he is superb but he looks too old(of course at 70) he is superb in dramatic/emotional scenes Hema Malini is good in a small role, Sonu Sood resembles old Amitabh and does superb in his role, Charmy Kaur is good, Sonal Sehgal fails to impress, Prakash Raj is as usual rest are all okay.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Are you Mr. Bachhan fans than choice is yours...
wagadresorav8 September 2011
Frankly speaking, I am not a Big Fan of Mr. Bachhan but ya when the matter comes every Indian certain proud of some persons like Sachin, Lataji and Mr. Bachhan also one of them... The Director told that he is a die hard Fan of Amit Sir, but such a fan should know how to give tribute to a legend like HIM. Coming to the movie, its just an another ordinary story which is truly carried by Mr. Bachhan's charismatic performance, when He is on 70mm you Hardly gets time to think about other stuffs, its a complete performance all in all... but when it comes about story, screenplay, direction... its below average... Most of the guys haven't seen this movie just as it comes with Amir's much hyped Delly Belly...but believe me this movie is equally good with that without even using such cheep-cheep publicity stunts...as in Delly Belly we have seen... Sonu Sood grows in recent times, Hemaji is always graceful, Sonal looks pretty but still she has to learn acting... Prakash Sir done as usual great job, Makrand sir and Raveena mam plays a cameo... all in all its only Amitabh Bachhan's Movie...if still you haven't seen this movie, you can watch it at any free Time when you have nothing such urgent things to do... Thanks for reading folks...please comment if you like it...

Regards, Saurabha
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Good Speed of storyline and Lack of creativity
mohan-rajender14 August 2011
Its an action contained(not packed) good performance well directed movie

The writer should have avoided dialogs like

"Ye Aaj Kala Kai baccha log apnea copy karat Ha, apnea Jase dance apnea Jase style"

"itna Gali dong K sensor board Bi So..... Odey"

Such dialogs makes an image of the movie specially when its a major portion of TV publicity, even the name does not suit the movie, its like Salman khan starer Wanted with title of "Bhaijaan".

Such things made "Bbudah" an under estimated (earned by TV Ads and title) movie by audiences and audience just could not took it seriously as it should have been. Puri should come out from his favourite subjects (Police , Gangsters and same like stories)and develop some other good taste stories Puri has good sense of story writing and direction which is shown in his films.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
For fathers only
sandhirflora3 July 2011
Warning: Spoilers
One can expect at least half a decent stylish action and a racy thriller from South import Puri Jaganndh, who is real brain behind super hit WANTED (2009) but what one get to see is a film which is again heavily borrowed or rather influenced from his earlier film minus the chutzpah and energy. There are some funny moments and overall film moves at brisk pace with a few and far fetched well executed Action scenes but overall the film fails to make the required impact and scores just a notch above the run of the mill. There is no freshness in narrative as audience has seen all this in last couple of years. The idea might have some potential but is not given a shape of a proper story and therefore is not exploited properly. The director seems to have lost in the bargain and piece together some action, comic scenes & songs with famous dialogs from Superstar's earlier film rather than putting it in a fresh perspective and make something interesting from it. Bachchan Sr. has played the character of "Angry Old Man" better and with much restraint in 2004 film Khakee. Here the whole effort appears like a half baked attempt between a spoof film and an action-thriller. Overall Below Average i.e. weak.
5 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
My first review !
madhusudan0124 July 2011
IMDb is a great site. I have got lot of information from this site. I wish to contribute little to it by this review.

I recently saw BHTB and i found it totally awful. Thought Amitabh Ji is a legend, this movie sucks big time. I could not watch more than 30 mins of it... i stayed long enough expecting some good plot or scene would come by. Alas it never came! Amitabh Ji is a hero and not an actor here. It has many unrealistic scenes and vulgar jokes that can spoil an Indian's mood. Flashy dresses, overacting and bad editing can bring this movie down.

The story line feels like it is been written by a kid. The target audience must have been the illiterate working class.

It is the director who has failed miserably here.
3 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
enjoyed watching and reading some of the nice review comments
Ram Amancha28 July 2011
especially this one--- – See all my reviews Hindi cinema has a big influence over millions of people and I admire all the filmmakers who make films like Buddha Hoga Tera Baap. Its an amazing story of a gangster who was a robin hood in his early days and still has potential carry the legacy of Robin Hood. Amitabh Bacchan Rocked it. I cant even imagine any other actor in this world I mean literally in this world including Hollywood and any other cinema who would look as good as Amitabh Bacchan in this role.I don't have to say any thing about his performance, He is one of the finest Actor of the century.

This Movie moved me. I had never written any review but I couldn't wait to write my feelings about this movie. It's a must see movie for any body who is a lover of Hindi Cinema and those who want to understand Hindi Cinema.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Piece of Crap!
shailensukul8 July 2011
A nonsensical piece of crap not worth your time. Devoid of any script, acting and anything bordering logic. Not much more to say, avoid unless you need an excuse to see Amitabh Bachchan on screen. But even then you need to be a really hardcore fan to sit through this mindless dribble.

The story fluctuates without any sense of direction, Amitabh Bachchan is a mere shadow of his former self, the direction is incredibly lousy, feels like the director left the camera on and just left. I am amazed at all the good reviews coming out of India, in particular a reviewer called Taran Adarsh who seems to lack the balls to be objective now days. The pressure on critics to give a positive review must be incredible for movies from these older actors who have a lot of pull in town.

I really hope Mr Bachchan gets better scripts in the future as he still has some good years left. Unfortunately, with Bollywood's one track obsession with "love stories" there is not much scope for mature actors to showcase their talents.
3 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Pathetic Pic.
Herag Halli15 July 2011
Warning: Spoilers
You can expect trash films from lowlifes, the likes of, Aaamir Khan (Delhi Belly & Three Idiots) Farah Khan (Tees Mar Khan) Salman Khan (Dabaang,) since they lack any class, style or stature in Mumbai. They live in filth so the films they produce are filth. The Mumbai Media who are mostly chamachas with no integrity worship these scums. These no talent scums, are there to hoard the money as fast they can from the unsuspecting youth who lack the taste to tell filth from non filth since they are brain washed by these maggots. But to expect this from someone in the caliber of Bachchan is a disgrace. It was painful, pitiful and pathetic to watch this movie. What was this man thinking when he opted to produce and star in this movie? The story is contrived, the screenplay non existent, the characters are loosely sketched and the acting atrocious. It's fine if he wants to produce and star in a junk movie. but it is insulting to have actors the caliber of Hema Malini ("Baghban") to be part of this movie. Is this man losing his marbles? as he getting to be a BBuddha in reel and real life?
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Something went wrong...
Enigmatic Quasar13 July 2011
I'm sorry, but since when is this kind of tripe called cinema? Whatever happened to the serious evocation of issues, the gut wrenching drama and the passion for storytelling? Hell, where is the "nice" time I'm promised in return for the money I pay for my ticket?

Another week goes by and I'm forced to accept that another movie has once again dug beneath the bottom of the barrel. And this time, it's BBudha Hoga Tera Baap. The double B helps with the numerology, apparently.

I still don't know what the genre of this movie is. I don't know how much Mr. Bacchan was paid to star in this. Or what he was doing in there except gracefully accepting this "tribute" to his 70 years of PURE AWESOME.

The "heroine" does nothing but look pretty. I think she had a total of 20 lines in the whole movie. Sonu Sood is Mr. "can't keep it in his pants" Chunky reincarnate of Inspector Vijay of yore. Delivers beautifully ham fisted lines. Raveena Tandon should've stopped gracing the screen when the flab got a little too much to get her into item numbers.

There's no story or screenplay to speak of. The "twist" in the movie makes you go "It's BRILLIANT that they would they hire a writer on drugs." The punchlines are off by miles. You could drive a car through some plot holes. I still don't know where Banksy is. I could go on but that worries me somewhat.

All in all, to like this movie, you need to be a rabid, frothing-at- the-mouth Amitabh fan, OR a career front bencher who's in the hall for the AC.

2 out of 10. 1 because the AC was working.
2 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews