Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
826 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
A Thrilling Sequel that Raises the Bar for Marvel
TyRawrrnosaurus23 March 2014
With Rogers, Fury, and Romanoff previously established, directors Joe and Anthony Russo do a magnificent job at expanding these characters – along with some secondary characters we've seen before – providing more depth to understanding their actions and how they will affect future stories. Sam Jackson has a stronger presence this time around, validating Nick Fury as a main staple in the MCU among the big boys. Captain America is stronger, faster, and a more refined soldier, equipped with better fighting skills and understanding of current technology. Evans plays the earnestness of Captain America's black and white morality with convincing finesse in an age of grey that he has yet to find a comfortable middle. And Johansson progresses the allure of the cunning and multifaceted Black Widow, while bringing a splendid and lively balance to Rogers' straight and narrow.

Amidst such a tight and clever script, The Winter Soldier introduces a band of new characters, all of whom play a significant role, creating a more layered and conceivably real MCU. Frank Grillo brings the swolling mass of muscle known as S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent Brock Rumlow to life. Emily VanCamp surprises with her portrayal of Agent 13, whom I wish had more screen time with Cap than just two quick scenes. Robert Redford plays Alexander Pierce, a superior ranking Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D., friend to Nick Fury, and representative of the World Security Council. Pierce is a wonderful look into the higher ranks at S.H.I.E.L.D., contributing new insights as to how the organization is run outside of Fury, Agent Coulson, and Agent Maria Hill. Anthony Mackie is Sam Wilson aka The Falcon, an ex-military special-ops paratrooper and a welcomed addition recruited by Rogers to help fight the good fight. Mackie fits comfortably among the cast of veteran actors and should play nicely with the other Avengers.

Enhanced for combat and strength, The Winter Soldier's presence is terrifying when it comes to any action scene. Sebastian Stan does an amazing job holding his own against his targets and those who get in his way of his missions. My only gripe is that it is not explained how he obtains the immense power and skills he beholds. The connection between Rogers and The Winter Soldier is dealt with true care and excels the story of Captain America from the first film brilliantly. (Be sure to stay after the credits for a nice button leading into Captain America 3.)

The Winter Soldier is not just a fantastic sequel to Captain America: The First Avenger and The Avengers, it should also be recognized as one of the best sequels ever made. In fact, writers Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely, the duo behind Thor: The Dark World, the Narnia Trilogy, and The First Avenger, have done such a great job shaping Captain America's story that this movie could almost stand on its own. There are many exciting twists and turns in this well-constructed, political action-thriller, but nothing comes as more of a shock than how important the story is at defining the direction of the MCU. What takes place in The Winter Soldier, along with an awesome mid-credits sequence tie-in, will inherently influence Avengers: Age of Ultron as well as Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. – which should make the TV series a lot more interesting and reward fans who have stuck by its side.

Tonally, The Winter Soldier is the darkest story we've come to encounter, raising many deep-seated questions about government and soldiers of war while also taking Rogers on an emotional journey. It also has the best action choreography among all of the MCU movies thus far. Whedon's NYC battle in The Avengers is beautifully shot and written, but cannot compare to the hard-hitting set pieces found in The Winter Soldier, each building up to the bigger whole. The Russo brothers come from a background of directing television comedies such as Arrested Development and Community, and it's extraordinary how well they handle a big budget action blockbuster from cinematography to pacing. They do infuse their own style of comedy with fun references and a cameo other than Stan Lee, functioning properly within the confines of the tone and story. Henry Jackman (Captain Phillips; Wreck-It Ralph; X-Men: First Class) also composes an adrenaline pumping score that sets the right mood every time.

The biggest fault found in The Winter Soldier is that it does not address the whereabouts of other heroes or where we are in terms of the time line of the other movies. Why can't Captain America call on Tony Stark to help him out or even Hawkeye who is a member of S.H.I.E.L.D. himself. This is a recurring problem we have seen throughout Phase 2 of the MCU in Iron Man 3 and Thor: The Dark World. Marvel Studios needs to acknowledge this hiccup if they want us to continue to believe all of these characters live in the same universe together. You cannot exclude these characters once you have opened Pandora's Box.

Marvel Studios has hit this one out of the ball park with yet another gripping adaptation for fans to enjoy for years to come. By and large, Captain America: The Winter Soldier succeeds on all fronts. It is the perfect set up for future films and at the same time it increases the value of its predecessors. There is little to argue against its merits and should be regarded as one of the greatest superhero movies of all time.
316 out of 445 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A wonderful thriller, conspiracy and adventure that delivers a great great film
fear_da_fro_bro21 March 2014
This film is simply exceptional in every way. The edge it has is delivering the best, grittiest action the genre has ever scene and characters that are as complex as the are fun. Why do I say that? Well...

What I love about the character is that Steve Rogers has "I'm-a-man-out- of-time issues" but he's comfortable with the chaos that it brings. In acclimating himself to this century he is at his best. Yes, most people would be overwhelmed but because of who he is and where he's from, he's able to cope and adapt. The serum that gives him his physical edge also gives him a mental boost. It's his emotions that are raw and unaided. Time has passed since Avengers so we don't get to see his day to day amazement and adjustment. I'm glad they skipped that stuff. What we do see is the man who once represented America and has become alien to America and it's slanted values. The passage of time. Add those struggles to a full blown conspiracy film and what results might just be the best film released all year long.

Steve Rogers is basically a John Wayne American. The world shifts to him and it's his job to tell everybody "Here's they way things should be done." We saw that in Avengers and even the first film after he gathered his Howling Commandos. Now, the powers that be are a lot more flexible in terms of loyalties and how they're going to get certain jobs done. How he handles this century's gray morality is at the heart of the film.

Like most men from the 1940's, Steve keeps things to himself and keeps his emotions bottled up. (EX: the first film when he mentions his mother dying of TB and he was even embarrassed when Peggy found him mourning alone for Bucky) So, bringing The Black Widow in to this film gives him someone who is going to draw out his story, because he's never going to offer it up of his own accord. Natasha learns from him. Fury learns from him. Sam Wilson learns from him. Yet, they all give him something in return. Every character used is utilized perfectly and smartly. Falcon for example, is not in awe of the legend of Captain America. This is exactly what Steve wants in a friend and in a fellow soldier, to not have to be Captain America. Everyone fits perfectly in to the plot and allows access to different beats, tones and emotional depth. Yes, conspiracy thrillers need depth and this one has it.

Captain America is probably the only superhero left in this world of the reboot who is singularly heroic. He doesn't have this dark existential quandary like other reinventions. Plugging that resolute goodness into a morally complex story means he doesn't question what he believes, but he questions whether anybody else does anymore. He doesn't question his foundation but he questions where he has ended up and what his role must now be. The conspiracy element and structure of this story helps in that Captain America is not up on a pedestal being self righteous, he's in a corner and that makes you want to root for the guy. He believes in what he's doing and the viewer is along for a great ride sharing that belief.

Marvel movies usually establish character early. This one starts out fast but it's got a lot of character in it. The first act packs a punch but does it laying the groundwork for a remarkable third act. They take time showing the issues and you immediately empathize with Steve. Giving us good character depth means the action delivers more punch. And the action here is beyond great. This movie absolutely punches you in the face in the best way possible. The action has advanced a lot from the first film. How he now operates in the world and kicks butt is all very impressive.

So, this is probably Marvel's grittiest movie and it's also their best sequel to date. There's a dash of humor but there's mostly a wonderful thriller, conspiracy and adventure that delivers a great great film.
391 out of 581 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pure Awesomeness
Sahl_9525 March 2014
Went into the movie not expecting much as I felt that the first Captain America was one of the weaker movies in Phase one of the Avengers. However, this movie was one of the best of the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

First off, the action and fight scenes in the movie are just awesome and there is plenty of action to keep you entertained throughout the entire movie. There is also enough humour to balance all this. The characters all had their own amazing moments and the acting is decent as well. You get to see more of Nick Fury, and he was awesome in this. Black Widow is used much more in this movie and as well as being badass, she brings out more of the Captain's story. Sam Wilson (the Falcon) is great and is involved in some great action scenes. The villains in this movie were awesome as well.

Quite enjoyed the story as well. There were a few twists; some unexpected, some expected. And the reveal of the unexpected twists in the final third were epic. The story is not just about Captain America and the Winter Soldier, there are darker forces at play and causes the Captain to ask dangerous questions.

This movie is very entertaining, the story is decent, the ending is awesome and satisfying and I would recommend watching this. Makes for a decent political thriller as well. This will easily be one of my favourite movies.
323 out of 496 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant film!
doomas1027 March 2014
Now "The winter soldier" is everything a Captain America movie should be. While it maintains some of the humour that now has become the trademark of Marvel films, TWS is way more serious than all of them combined. And this is truly where the film feels so brave and yes different than any other superhero flicks that we have seen.

Which brings me to the most important point, the plot. While of course it is not going to be the most original or complicated film of the century, there is the basic screen writing elements that so much lack from modern day blockbusters. You have the (likable) characters and a mystery they need to solve along with a racing clock. It reminded me the 70's political paranoia thrillers (3 days of the Condor - another Redford link, The parallax view, Z) and it is a welcome tone that makes the WS to differentiate itself from the rest. There are strong scenes regarding political fear, control, and information manipulation but it never feels bloated or overbearing. the purpose is to entertain even if it manages to squeeze through a bit of political views with Rogers replacing the viewer's voice on screen. At one point there is a talk about who is who which results in every man for himself mayhem in one of the most interesting sequences that you may see this year. We do not get this stuff these days!

Besides the charged plot, the introduction of new characters and the mega mayhem in the streets of Washingthon DC, the Russos have found time (and they should bloody do since TWS is 2 and a half hours long!) to inject some sentiments in the proceedings - a visit to Peggy, a confrontation with Fury regarding SHIELDs actions, Bucky's memory recall, Natasha's kissing talk. They could have easily skip these "crap" but instead the extra running time feels adjusted and coherent with a bit of more characterization which results to bring us closer to the on screen counterparts.

However, the action is what took me by surprise. The bar has been set higher now. It is truly unbelievable to think that these two directors (of the "Community" fame) came with such inventive ways of using Cap's shield. Finally, the shield gets to be seen in all of its glory. In addition, all the fist fights (and they are many) are excellent examples and putting the glasses to the school of frantic edit (which I truly despise) with varied and rapid choreography. A terrific elevator fight sequence probably stands out as truly memorable whereas the encounters with the Winter Soldier never feel repetitive. The Russo brothers keep changing the game from stealth and cloak missions, to car chases, to gun fires, to dog fights, to fist fights. There is something for everyone here and it is arguably among the finest I have seen. Impressive considering their credits. Real stunt work (backflips, wrestle moves, somersaults, etc), real fights and it is a pleasing sight to go away from superhero duels of the Avengers, Thor and Iron man. These characters rely on instincts and bullets. No more and no less and most of them do have some brutal moments for a PG-13 film (and blood too).

The actors are absolutely brilliant in their roles. While Evans came out as a bit arrogant in the "Avengers" and the least interesting character, here he truly shines. First time ever, I actually bought what he was bringing on the table. This is a soldier who believed in protecting the people and their freedom. Here though, in the modern era of espionage with multiple intrigues and political events, he finds himself unable to identify which side he is on and for what. At one point he even considers himself Fury's caretaker of terrorist "problems". The other side of the coin is Samuel Jackson's Nick Fury and Robert Redford's Alexander Pierce. It is nice to see Jackson expanding his role from 1 minute cameo in "Iron Man" to a fully supporting actor here. But the real standout is Robert Redford. Kevin Feige (the producer) probably knows how to do casting because so far there has not been a single acting mistake. Bringing heavy-acting-weight Redford to a superhero film is actually a bold move and while most movies do not focus on the talented cast, here the Russo brothers give Redford plenty of close ups and necessary gravitational dialogue that kept surprised me for a "summer" and "mindless" blockbuster. Antony Mackie plays Falcon believably enough and it is very good to see a great supporting turn instead of being the comedic sidekick. The winter soldier now himself is as you would have expected? probably the best villain outside Loki(!) in the marvel films. A truly unstoppable and cool killing machine that shows no remorse or regret considering his complete disregard (and destructive) actions throughout the film. Shaw manages to bring a bit of menace to a generally light hearted series of fantasy films as he has to act more with his eyes rather than sharing any scenes of actual dialogue.

Is it perfect? Of course not but it does not feel that it is drugging forever or raising any boring flags. There is plenty of plot, intelligence and sweet characters moments to keep anyone satisfying. This is blockbuster at its finest, a superhero film with heart, immersive action and subtle touches of humour. Totally recommended.
271 out of 421 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
What should have been a typical superhero film, now becomes a conspiracy-espionage thriller.
YJLcool27 March 2014
Captain America: The Winter Soldier is the third film in Phase 2 of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (after last year's Iron Man 3 and Thor: The Dark World). Compared with the mighty giant green monster, the hammer wielding Norse thunder god or the 'genius, philanthropist, billionaire, playboy' armor man, the Captain was never quite as appealing as the rest of the 'Unusuals'. Steve Rogers is portrayed as an old-fashioned, straightforward, honest, courageous, sincere, patriotic superhero. This makes him a less-interesting, boring character. Moreover, as Tony Stark said it, "Everything special about you came out of a bottle!"

Most film-goers would know that Marvel films are famous for its bright, fun and not-so-serious approach to its storytelling, together with some catchy, witty dialogues. This film is a game changer in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. This time around, Marvel decided to take a different approach on things: To make a Captain America sequel with a more serious, darker plot development and more face-to-face close-range hand combat fights. What should have been a typical superhero film, now becomes a conspiracy-espionage thriller.

Two years after the events that happened in New York city, the Captain still struggles with adjusting himself to the modern world, with no apparent social life or girl friend, which is why Natasha/Black Widow tries to introduce or recommend him some cute girls in S.H.I.E.L.D. for him to date with. He is shocked when he learns that the very governmental organisation he is working for is not what it seems to be, as the Cap said in the trailer, "This isn't freedom. This is fear". Soon, he finds himself entangled in a conspiracy that puts millions of innocent lives at risk.

The film comes with excellent, fast-paced action choreography. Although the cinematography is a bit dodgy due to the shaky-cam techniques used for depicting the chaotic moments, the fight scenes between the Winter Soldier and the Captain is fantastic and serves as one of the film's highlights. The audience finally gets to see how the Captain's shield is utilised effectively in both offensive and defensive combat situations. It also good to see again how Natasha kicks ass in the film.

All actors delivered a pretty decent performance in the film. Once again, Chris Evans and Scarlett Johannson both proved that they fit their roles well, adding more depth to the characters they portray in the film. Sam Wilson/Falcon is a welcome addition to the Marvel franchise and hopefully he will appear again in the Avengers sequel. Unfortunately, despite the film's title, the winter soldier is not a complex villain and doesn't appear much in the film. It's such a shame to just show him as a formidable physical fighter who's capable of challenging the Captain.

The film is well-scripted, filled with suspense while highlighting some important socio-political issues such as government surveillance and control in its storytelling. Although the twists in the film is predictable and fairly easy to guess, the sequel is a marked improvement compared to its predecessor, Captain America: The First Avenger. The story unfolds gradually and comes with huge, surprising developments by the end of the film. Marvel Cinematic Universe is not going to be the same again. What's going to happen next? How the story is going to progress in Avengers: Age of Ultron, after what had happened in this film? Interesting.

Rating: 8.5/10

http://yjcool.blogspot.com/2014/03/movie-review-captain-america- winter.html

Be warned. This is not the typical fun, 'not-so-serious', entertaining Marvel film that you used to watch in the past. You might like it or find it a bore. In order to recognize some of the characters in the film, you need to remember some of Marvel's Phase One films. Most importantly, you need to watch Captain America: The First Avenger before watching this to understand the plot.

Note: Guess you don't need me to remind you to stay for the mid-credit and post-credit scenes. It foreshadows what's going to happen next by introducing a lesser-known supervillain and two new characters, 'Miracles' (another name for 'mutants' because of screen rights issues) which going to be in the Avengers sequel, Age of Ultron. It further confirms that one of weapons depicted in The Avengers is indeed one of the six infinity stones.
150 out of 237 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Marvel makes a bold move!
abhishek-upadhayaya23 March 2014
Marvel showed pretty clearly in Iron Man 3 that they are not afraid to take risk, bend comic stories and venture into unknown territories. I was pleasantly surprised by Captain America : The Winter Soldier because Marvel is able to do surprise audience like never before. This movie has mostly everything a fan could ask for. A political drama, conspiracy theories, Chris Evans portrayal of a "out of his time" superhero who is trying to blend in with the world and thinks that "Internet is helpful", typical Marvel's laugh out loud moments and above all some mesmerizing action sequences. Threat in this movie is not as big as the one in Thor :The Dark World since only our tiny planet is at stake rather than entire 9 realms with imaginative difficult to pronounce names, but thanks to some very smart blend of direction, acting and close to perfect background scores, threat seems to be much bigger and more importantly, real this time. You actually care for the fate of entire planet and characters. You do come face to face with the full potential of SHIELD and its structure, its influence on world politics and when the actual villain is revealed, you just cannot hide your excitement. SHIELD acts as a central character in the movie and shows itself to be far bigger and complex than what we suspected after watching all the Marvel offerings. There is Nick Fury as usual hiding secrets, keeping secrets and digging secrets but watching him vulnerable in this movie is much better than watching him acting all almighty in Avengers. Chris Evans shine in this role and I can imagine he won't be at the bottom of favorite Avengers list after this movie. His portrayal of Captain America is near perfect. Scarlett Johansson is a surprise package in the film portraying Black Widow character. She gets ample screen time presence this time, even in scenes where she is not kicking someone. It is actually the first time we learn something about Black Widow, duplicity in her character just adds tension to the already built suspense in the movie. Sebastian Stan is good in his portrayal of winter soldier. He is a perfect nemesis to Captain America in the movie. I bet you haven't seen such creative combat scenes between these two ever before. Action here is not as loud as Thor movies, it is more real, every bullet which find its target hurts, every punch delivered matters, it is so enjoyable to watch just because it is so real. I wish I could write about some more characters but that will be giving away some key points. Please be assured there are some great character comebacks, some you expected, some you didn't. I was a little let down by the climax of the film by its simplicity after the real motive of the real villain is revealed, but of course you have to remember its a Marvel film, there doesn't exist any situation alien/political/social which can't be solved by few explosions and kicks. Overall it's a highly entertaining film from Marvel, I will put it behind only Avengers and first Iron Man, this movie deserves your weekend. And of course it goes without saying, don't dare to leave your seats until last credits have rolled out, you have probably all heard the rumors about Joss Whedon directing the end credit scene. Yes it is awesome and offers an insight into the next Avengers movie.
175 out of 282 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's smart, intense, well acted and superbly done. AMAZING FILM!
bobochildrunningwild30 March 2014
I'd have to rate Captain America The Winter Soldier as one of the best comic book movies ever made. It is as close to a perfect movie as you can get. Superman has generally held the title as most fondly remembered or nostalgic superhero film even though it has some campy flaws. Spider- Man has generally held the title as most beloved superhero film because of the character. Iron Man has generally held the most grounded and well liked superhero film. The Avengers has generally held the title as most highly rated and best film the genre has seen. Well, Captain America TWS can compete with them all in every category. It is IMO near perfect on every level. It's smart, intense, well acted, fun and superbly done.

The first film delivers a lot of action, a tantalizing and beautiful love interest, many humorous moments, powerful messages about internal fortitude and courage, a classic villain, fine acting and many of the basic essentials of any good action movie. This sequel adds an intriguing plot and does everything the first film did but does it BETTER. Including, incredible stunts, unbelievable feats and, not to be rude, but a climax that plays out like a multiple orgasm. The finish features one wave after another of edge of your seat moments. As fantastic of a movie that's ever been made in the genre and I'm not exaggerating one bit.
79 out of 123 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Solid Thriller
scarinny21 March 2014
I applaud the Russo brothers and the writers Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely on a job well done in this action thriller The action is riveting as are the quite scenes between the characters. There are Good humorous punches in this script also. The returning cast are great and expanding their roles from other movies, I am trying to be vague here as not to ruin the movie. Also there are some great additions to the cast as well. Anthony Mackie does a soaring job as the Falcon (pun intended), he has a very comfortable fit to the cast and no way feel forces in. Robert Redford is a very compelling character and presence on screen. The action scenes were fantastic when I saw the resume of the Russos's movies I was a little worried, now I think they might have to worry about being type cast as action movie directors. There are a few changes from the comic book story line but they are not distracting. The Winter Solider is a movie that greatly expands and shakes the foundation of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Stay for the two end credit sequences. I really enjoyed this movie and recommend it. If it's action you want. Go see the Captain.
137 out of 235 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing Cap, Just Amazing!!!!!
c_razz_y19 March 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Another hit from marvel!!! can they do anything wrong.

With the success of the recent marvel films, this one again is sure to do well at the box office. whats more pleasantly surprising is that this film is probably the best they've made so far, even rivalling the avengers. I'm sure that with these positive reviews this movie will make upwards of 600 million, beating Thor: the dark world, but i doubt that it will beat iron man 3. however with the success of this movie, i feel that many more people with be eagerly waiting for the third instalment so watch out Batman V superman!!

The acting as expected from Scarlett Johansson, Chris Evans and Samuel L. Jackson was excellent. Robert Redford was impeccable in his role and he was worth the effort that Marvel put in to get him on board. The rest of the cast all play their roles extremely well and Marvel have done the right thing by bringing the Falcon in the movie, which was played well by Anthony Mackie.

The movie is a great political thriller and i must admit, even without the bonus of superheroes, the script/story is a great movie. The superheroes is what we pay and want to see but the amazing flow of the movie itself should leave many satisfied. The superheroes and villains were all great and i hope we continue seeing the Falcon in the future along with Black Widow. This movie is the most closely linked with The Avengers and also Avengers Age of Ultron, from the rest of the phase 2 films. This is a great movie and one that i highly recommend watching.

BTW stay for the end credits for an extra bonus!
215 out of 381 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The most exciting this franchise has been in years
TBJCSKCNRRQTreviews27 March 2014
When Fury(L. Jackson, tough as usual, for him and these) is attacked by an unknown enemy, the Captain(Evans, will of steel, heart of gold) and Black Widow(Johansson, sultry and devious – this uses her right, finally) find themselves(they have a great chemistry, with a charming running gag of her wanting to pair him up with a girl, going through a list of ones they both know; and with his straightforward nature, and her relative lack of integrity, they both affect the other towards them, benefiting both) with no one else to trust, except perhaps the veteran Falcon(Mackie, amiable), as they uncover a genuinely devastating truth, while on the run from a considerable force – including the elusive assassin, The Winter Soldier(Stan, terrifying, pure awesome pretty much every second he's on screen).

This is just short of the level of The Avengers. It uses the strong continuity of the cinematic Marvel(as in, their own studio) universe better than any of the others, and does justice to many different elements, most of them set up prior to this. Events occur in this that will have serious consequences for future entries. The plot-driven nature and approach of a 70's political thriller(where some characters, all credible and with something to do, happen to wear a flag or the like) in a contemporary setting and with biting satire(on foreign policy, something not entirely new to these, but never before this sharp… commenting on mass surveillance and executions taking place before any trial against the (supposed) perpetrator) is spot-on. From a 40's war flick, with heroism and defined lines between good and evil, to the modern method of taking on the opposition – with spying, and questionable tactics(compared to one army versus another).

The action all comes about naturally, it's personal, hard-hitting and, on account of next to no CGI, it's "real". Each intense set-piece is varied(fighting, shooting, chasing both on foot and vehicular…), you will remember them, and except for one bit, they feel fresh and original. Among the very few weaknesses are that Sharon(VanCamp, another compelling and strong woman) has nothing to do in this, appearing as if her important scenes were cut, and/or that she was setup for the next one. She is the only one that that goes for, a pleasant surprise considering the seemingly bloated cast of characters. This explores S.H.I.E.L.D., and how the iconic super soldier fits into it …or, whether or not he does, at all. The 3D is unobtrusive, adding depth and atmosphere, similar to Avatar.

There is violence and disturbing content in this. I recommend this to any fan of, well, blockbusters. 10/10
146 out of 255 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
When Captain America throws his mighty Shield !!!!!!!
devanshsharma5022 March 2014
This movie Rocks!!!!!! At first, I wasn't very confident about watching a captain America movie because he looked kind of old-school. But when I watched this movie - BOOM !!!!!!! This movie blew my mind.... It is really AWESOME!!! There are many sequences that will make you jump up in your seats. And though I have not included any spoilers, I would like to recommend you to stay after the credits for two amazing scenes, now this is hardly a spoiler as everyone knows marvel always treats the audience with surprising after credits scenes. I shall say no more here. Marvel has done an excellent job on this movie.

Chris Evans has done some excellent work as Captain America. But Scarlett Johansson as Black widow steals the movie. Her character is evergreen as usual.Others to look forward to are Sebastian Stan as the winter soldier and Anthony Mackie as The Falcon.

I highly recommend this movie. Guys, this movie is really worth your bucks. Moreover, the movie runs for over 136 mins, but never at a single moment during the movie you feel bored. And the ending of the movie leaves you craving for more and more.

The climax is terrific. I haven't seen such an awesome climax of a movie since the Avengers. So guys, go for this movie.... take your kids with you. They'll love it. It is a perfect start of summer blockbuster and one of the best movies of the year without doubt..
208 out of 383 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Superb. This could be the best sequel the genre has seen.
vicvonfate31 March 2014
This film finds Captain America still adjusting to the modern day, while working under the increasingly morally ambiguous government agency S.H.I.E.L.D. The set up is masterfully done. This is the third time we've seen the character and it's by far the most complex. The Avengers film touched bit with his feelings of what it was like to be in the modern era, but besides the deleted scenes, they had no time to dive in to the subject matter in that movie. That's not the case here. This is a wonderful character study to go along with a purely thrilling plot. This was exactly the perfect vehicle to deliver the film the character deserves at this time. What makes Steve/cap interesting isn't his abilities but the man himself. The "man out of time" to be exact. He must come to terms with a past that is long gone and a longing for a better more decent era. Dealing with the shades of grey of the modern era and being part of an organization like S.H.I.E.L.D. is taking its toll on a member of "the greatest generation." As he's finding his way, his past comes back and explodes all throughout his new life.

Enter The Winter Soldier, who is an amoral assassin and an agent of shady government rogues. Saying any more about what is an ultimately cool character would be a spoiler. Fans of the books know who he is and what he's about but movie fans need to find their own way.

I really enjoyed the origin and First Avenger but this movie is darker than the original film. It has a whole new flavor and that;s exactly what was needed. The 1940's romance and even the "Raiders of the Lost Ark" tone fit the first film quite nicely but would have been out of place in this story. Just like Cap, adaptation is a key. Steve is still an unquestioning patriot but he shifts from being an unquestioning soldier. This is where his old-fashioned values pay off. Questioning what is wrong and questioning what is morally cloudy is a test of true character. That is exactly why the character of Steve Rogers is so interesting. He's so much more than a super soldier boy scout. There's depth, angst and pathos to the max. He is out-of-place and he is old- fashioned but proud of that in a way. He also is an enhanced thinker so it's not like modern era gadgets confound him. It's all played just right.

The story itself is a good old fashion action thriller with a ton of intrigue. Honestly, I didn't expect it to be this clever. Everything about this movie is a joy to watch. Tha cast is perfect and everyone is used exceptionally well. This could be the best sequel the genre has seen. It's Marvel's best sequel for sure.
24 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Do not trust anyone but yourself.
BiiivAL13 June 2018
On March 19, Marvel and Disney withdrew a ban on the publication of any reviews and reviews of the over-coming spring blockbuster "The First Avenger: Another War." They were removed because it was on this day that a special, first in Russia closed film was shown at the Oktyabr cinema. Unfortunately, no photographs could be made, since Marvel on similar premieres usually requires to hand over at the entrance to the hall all electronic devices. But, nevertheless, the film itself is important.

After the attempt on the very director of "Shield" Nick Fury, it becomes clear that the traitors are deep inside the organization itself. Captain America is involved in a large-scale villainous action to destroy disagreeable "Hydra" personalities. Moreover, he, like the Black Widow, is wanted as a possible supporter of a secret conspiracy. Now he can trust only himself. In addition to everything, a mysterious masked man appears on the scene, known as the Winter Soldier, who has practically the same powers as Steve Rogers himself.

Nothing more on the subject can not say, since it will necessarily entail spoilers, because the movie is directly packed full of intrigues and incredible plot twists. During the show, the hall repeatedly exploded with applause at the next plot move.

As a person who has watched repeatedly any of the existing Marvel films, I can say that "The First Avenger 2" can rightfully be considered one of the best, filmed by the studio. The fact is that after the plague success of the "Avengers" abounding with colorful characters, you involuntarily begin to compare each next film with them. In my opinion, Thor is the weakest hero in order to play solo. If not for the charismatic Loki, the film in general would be very weak. The first "Captain" also did not differ in any scale and originality of the plot, but in the sequel everything is quite different. To begin with, the second part has grown significantly in terms of special effects. It is understandable - after all, the action takes place already in the modern world, and not during the Second World War. In addition to this company Cap was composed of Nick Fury (Samuel Jackson) and the red-haired beauty of the Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson), as well as the new character Sokol (Anthony Maki). All this ensemble is simply superbly interacting with each other, succeeding and joking, and even add a small share of romance. (No blueness, it's all right). Scarlett Johansson has a lot of time, which allows her character and true intentions to be revealed. It makes no sense to say something about the acting, because these characters are performed by the same actors for the first time.

There are a lot of questions in the film, which remain almost unanswered. Why was the attempt on Nick Fury committed? Who is behind this? Who is this Winter Soldier and where did he come from? Who can be trusted when there are only traitors around? Fortunately, you will certainly know the answers by the end of the film. By the way, it is worth saying that the ending leaves room for trikvela, which, of course, will be.

As I wrote earlier, you involuntarily compare any solo film of heroes from the Avengers with the Avengers themselves. So the "First Avenger" can easily compete with the flagship team of superheroes. The plot is twisted much more seriously, than there, jokes and references also suffice in excess. The only drawback of the film - the absence of the agent Phil Colson, which has long been an integral part of the Marvel blockbuster. If someone does not know, the most charming agent of SHIELD does not actually die in Avengers. This is seen in the series "Agents SHIELD", which also produces now Marvel. The picture was shown to us in the IMAX 3D format. And I must say that it looks really cool. Again, comparing with the scale of the "Avengers", the spectacle here is no worse. And somewhere even better. It can be seen that the creators tried to do without the use of computer graphics in those places where it was possible. Therefore, the natural filming in the film is much more than artificially drawn episodes.

In short, strange as it may sound, "The First Avenger: Another War" is different from any other Marvel movie. At least because of the fact that there is not all tied up on the steep heroes and fatal beauties. Here you will find also a certain hidden subtext, which someone, perhaps, will make you think. After all, Captain America is not just another superhero. This is the most patriotic man in America, her symbol. By the will of fate, he was not in his time and not in his world, but he had to make up for what he had missed in 70 years. He is tormented by a sense of guilt and a feeling that he is not the one who needs this world. But only a real hero is able to find the strength to forget about himself and fight for his friends.

And finally, the remark about the localization of the film's name. Someone will find it funny how our distributors translated this title. But I assure you, they did it for a reason. "Other War" in this case conveys the meaning of the film better than the original name itself.
77 out of 141 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Sequel Surpasses the Original!!!
zardoz-1321 April 2014
Warning: Spoilers
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" gives super-hero sequels a good name. Not only is this $170 million blockbuster far better than its superb 'origins' predecessor, but it also is a real game-changer for the Marvel Universe. Former "Fantastic Four" actor Chris Evans reprises the title role as Steve Rogers, a 90-pound weakling turned 240-pound heavyweight, whose exploits inspired millions in World War II. Remember Rogers spent about 70 years in suspended animation in an iceberg after he contributed to the defeat the Nazis as well as Hydra. Rogers maintains his sense of honor, or naivety, throughout all his trials and tribulations. Evans makes his old-fashioned, nice-guy antics appear both convincing and charming. Meaning, Captain America remains essentially a goody-two-shoes-bachelor-with-a-shield. Our hero takes a licking but keeps on ticking despite whatever adversaries he tangles with in the second, in-name-only theatrical "Captain America" feature.

Co-directors Anthony and Joe Russo of "You, Me and Dupree" let the action coast occasionally in this larger-than-life, two-hour-and-sixteen minute melodrama, but the combat scenes are staged with so much kinetic artistry that you will teeter on the edge of your seat during them. Everything is still appropriately formulaic but entirely outlandish in the gravity-defying Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely screenplay that puts our hero early and often behind the eight ball. My favorite close-quarters combat encounter occurs in the elevator with our hero cornered and outnumbered. Later scraps on the three Helicarriers emerge as no less electrifying. Predictably, everything is business as usual, but the Russo brothers and their scribes provide enough twists and turns to keep you interested in this noisy nonsense. Mind you, one or two things won't register as total surprises because you know some characters cannot perish. Nevertheless, if you enjoyed the first "Captain America" with Chris Evans, you will probably love the second one as much if not more!

In terms of a chronological timeline, "Captain America: The Winter Soldier" takes place two years after the cataclysmic New York showdown, but the action itself covers only three days. Steve Rogers/Captain America (Chris Evans) hasn't totally acclimated himself to the 21st century, but he refuses to let it interfere with his duty. While jogging around Washington, D.C., the fleet-footed Rogers befriends congenial Air Force flyboy Sam Wilson (Anthony Mackie of "Notorious") who counsels veterans suffering from PTSD at the VA Hospital. No sooner have they gotten acquainted than Natasha Romanoff/Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson of "The Avengers") rolls up to whisk Rogers off onto his next dangerous mission. Later, Sam Wilson joins Rogers in his capacity as the winged hero Falcon. The first major action scene in "Captain America: The Winter Soldier" is designed to show how extraordinary our eponymous hero is under fire but also how vulnerable he remains. Terrorists have stormed a S.H.I.E.L.D. surveillance ship, and they are issuing outrageous demands for the release of the hostages. Actually, this predicament reminded me of the first mission that Stallone and company embarked on in the initial "Expendables" epic. Mind you, Captain America and his trusty boomerang shield clear the perimeter so Black Widow and Brock Rumlow (Frank Grillo of "End of Watch") can free the hostages and settle with the terrorists. However, more than meets the eye occurs during this seemingly simple mission, and Captain America confronts his superior, S.H.I.E.L.D. Director Nicholas Fury (Samuel L. Jackson of "Pulp Fiction"), about Black Widow's cyber-exploit. No sooner have Rogers and Fury fussed at each other at the sprawling new island headquarters of S.H.I.E.L.D. than Fury briefs Rogers about the next best thing. Project Insight will link three Helicarriers via spy satellites and to eradicate preemptively any threats either domestic or otherwise. Naturally, Captain America doesn't like Insight. If he is shocked that things have changed so much that such a measure must be taken, he is even more shocked later when Fury shows up at his apartment with blood on his hands and an assassin lurking nearby. Of course, D.C. Police are nowhere to be found when these imposters do everything except blast holes in either the engine block or the tires of his fortified SUV during a tense auto chase through D.C. streets. If this weren't enough for Captain America, he must go toe-to-toe with a mysterious combatant with a "Six Million Dollar Man" arm to save the day.

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" makes several references to the previous film that strengthens its bond with it. We get a glimpse of the girl that Steve loved and we watch as Steve's best friend, Bucky Barnes, contends with amnesia. The filmmakers not only bring us up to date about Bucky, but also we learn more about renegade enemy scientist Dr. Arnim Zola who collaborated with the Red Skull in the first "Captain America." Furthermore, Zola opts to become a 'ghost-in-the machine' like Johnny Depp in "Transcendence." The Russos and their writers keep hurling obstacles into Captain America's path, and our hero doesn't have an easy time conquering the villains. Anthony Mackie gets to play the first African-American Marvel super hero, and he attacks the role with relish. He wears a sophisticated set of mechanical wings that enable him to fly and perform far-fetched feats. Scarlett Johansson is just as tough and sexy as she was in "The Avengers." Meanwhile, the best special effect in this special effects extravaganza isn't a special effect. Actor Robert Redford proves computer graphics stand no chance against the real thing. Redford qualifies as the most distinguished silver-screen good guy to cavort in such a dastardly manner since Henry Fonda in Sergio Leone's western "Once Upon A Time in the West." If you've never seen Redford in action, you owe it to yourself to check him out. By his presence alone, Redford makes this action-adventure opus into a memorable experience. Let's hope that Marvel Studios can keep up with good work with the forthcoming "Avengers: Age of Ultron" in 2015.
17 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An ambush of engaging sequences that leaves you satisfied
sheance11426 March 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Once upon a time there was Iron Man 3 where the hype is on the top of every Marvel movie that I thought wouldn't be surpassed by any other sequels/spin-offs or interconnected movie. The level of Iron Man 3 (not from a fan-boy perspective) was above the top. From the storyline to its action sequences to its comedy was above all commendable (although fan- boys would not agree with me, of course).

Then, there was Captain America.

Although the first movie was a little bit dragging from the beginning up to the end, the storyline was strong and was complementary to the Marvel Cinematic Universe. The tone was sepia-ish due to the timeline of 1940's.

But little did I know that the entire first movie of CapAm was vital for sequel: The Winter Soldier.

It revolves around Steve Rogers (Chris Evans) and the events after the cataclysmic Avengers in New York. In his trial to blend with the modern time and facing another familiar enemy which would destroy the entire empire of S.H.I.E.L.D., also a past that is sinister in the present, naming himself "The Winter Soldier", that will rock Rogers' world. Betrayal and Loyalty are his ultimate struggle on who's who he will give his trust, to win over the first ultimate test in the modern world he and the S.H.I.E.L.D. will ever know.

There's a lot going in the film, but is not distracting, and the pace is just perfect for the two and fifteen minutes run of it. The character build-up was enough for each, especially on Falcon (Anthony Mackie), the ex-military/side kick of Captain America. With Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson), his character was focused from start to finish because he's the focal point of the movie on which the main characters should act upon after his unforeseen demise. But one superstar, aside from Captain America himself, who garnered an applause and bravo credit in the film, was Natasha Romanoff (Scarlett Johansson). Her finesse, sinister moves, unprecedented jokes and sensual aura made it work for the entire movie. She is that one person in a film that would give a cool effect, plus she's a woman, so, it all works. I think its Marvel's way to introduce her because of the rumoured Black Widow movie… and I'm up for the line.

The only character that was little most exposure was Sharon Carter (Emily VanCamp), well, I am biased to this because I just so love her. But I guess it's just a build-up to what's to come for her and Steve Rogers in the future.

The story of The Winter Soldier was really compelling. The ambush to the main characters was believable in the sense of real life situations. The betrayal of some will pose a question on whether a main character will die. And that's exciting and dreading at the same time, not knowing if your favourite character will make it or not.

All the action in the movie was up-beat and so good. Although, I just hoped the camera movements weren't that much moving a lot, but still it works.

What I about Captain America: The Winter Soldier was that from start to end, because of the compelling storyline; it will engage you to focus and love every scene. It's a must watch. I'm kind of in battle to what's better, Iron Man 3 or Captain America: The Winter Soldier, and the latter is a bit revamped on the storyline.

(This review is also seen in my blog onesettingatatime.com)
39 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Marvel Slays it Once Again! Bravo!!!
dreamtakers28 March 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I had a feeling that Captain America: Winter Soldier would be an amazing movie once the trailer was released. Turns out, I couldn't be more accurate. Captain America: The Winter Soldier is not the usual superhero movie, it underlies a dark theme of politics and conspiracy beneath it. Haunting pasts, betrayals and fake deaths all come into play. In this film, we get to see Steve Rogers' full potential in terms of his heroism and leadership. When the leader of S.H.E.I.L.D., Nick Fury, takes the fall, it is up to Steve Rogers to determine the fate of S.H.E.I.L.D and most importantly, the livelihood of mankind. As the stoic and fearless hero that he is, Rogers takes charge and enlists the help of Natasha Romanoff aka The Black Widow as well as a new sidekick, Sam Wilson aka Falcon, to defeat HYDRA. He exuberates skills that we have never seen before with his gravity defying flips, kicks and punches, even single handedly defeating a whole vessel of villains. It is also exciting to see the strong bond between Captain America, Black Widow and Falcon. The trios are as loyal as ever to one another, never once faltering despite near death scenarios and with multitude obstacles being hurled their way like a violent hurricane. They displayed excellent teamwork in the process of defeating the baddies. The movie also sheds some light and heart-warming moments as well. The playful and snarky banter between good friends Natasha and Steve is fun to watch. The escalator scene, anyone? Also, the scene between Steve and his former love, Peggy was priceless. Here, we get to see the vulnerable and raw side of the Captain which he hides so well on a daily basis.

This film is a perfect blend of thrill, action and drama with an intriguing plot. The action sequences are plentiful; there is not just one "special" moment. I was gawking and gripping the edge of my seat throughout the movie. The stunts are top notch and are the best in its genre, perhaps even triumphing the likes of action movies. There are tons of extraordinary fighting combats, insane car chases and fiery explosions that would blow you off your feet. All the actors did a splendid job in portraying their characters convincingly, particularly Chris Evans, Samuel L. Jackson and Scarlett Johansson. Scarlett has a major role and takes up pretty much most of the screen time; so take note of this, fanboys.

Captain America: Winter Soldier has claim its spot as the best Marvel movie ever produced in my list as it exceeds my expectations in every single way. I daresay it is even better than The Avengers (It is a large statement to make as I am a massive Avengers fan). I can't wait to see the next installment of the Captain America sequel and The Avengers: Age of Ultron. Bring it on, Marvel!
31 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great Entertainment
Antoneo-Johnson31 March 2014
Captain America continues where it left off from the first movie and the Avengers.

Chris Evans did a good Johnny Storm in Fantastic Four and does an even better as Steve Rogers.

The movie is fast paced with lots of action that keeps you glued to the screen. New weaponry, spectacular fight scenes, introduction of new characters and possible love interest for Captain America.

Jackson, Evans and Johansson put in some good performances and the chemistry between characters new and old was good, very believable.

There is a strong emphasis on trust in relationship for all the characters and a sprinkle of political interference which was developed throughout the movie.

The film has the customary spectacular ending which does not disappoint. There are some flashback done very well. Good surprises, twist and turns, which you probably wont have anticipated.

This film is a great addition to the Captain American franchise and is vastly superior to the Thor and Iron Man nonsense.

I cant wait for the next installment of Captain America
23 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Redefinition
billygoat107126 March 2014
In the latest era, superhero movies are mostly remembered either for its one-liners, inspirational quotes about heroism, or anything deep, but only rare has been reminded straightly by the action. The set pieces are probably too good and too common to be the landmark of a certain film, thus the genre's grander goal has gone to breaking dramatic grounds while the actual fun is unnoticeably taken for granted by the audience. Captain America: The Winter Soldier returns to the forgotten ambition by simply aiming to be exciting. Clever storyline and frantic action keeps it utterly thrilling, which results a refreshing take to action blockbusters.

The title suggests that it's about The Winter Soldier, but it's mainly about what has happened to the world years after the first movie. We get to see Steve Rogers trying to fit in to the future, and look into a time that betrays the real American way of truth and justice. The film smartly takes the virtuous hero to mysteries by setting the pieces into a revelation that was already conspired from the past. Rogers has become a symbol of the old integrity of the nation, and the story contrasts it to the new government. It's a gripping speculation, and it is strange because only little involves the titular enemy. The Winter Soldier feels like an extended arc for Rogers or another cliffhanger for the next movie. Otherwise it's still well constructed.

The cast is never a doubt. Chris Evans still embraces what we love about Captain America; great character of patriotism and heroism. Scarlett Johansson and Anthony Mackie backs him up adding their team a little more personality. Robert Redford lends some real humanity to his ridiculously suspicious character, and Frank Grillo is just warming up to become the actual Crossbones in the upcoming sequels.

CGI is now everything in action movies and they're not always that compelling. This movie of course has a lot of them, but the best parts are usually the ones that involves stuff getting hit, either by fists or damaged cars. The film has plenty of impressively choreographed fighting scenes and they bring reminiscence to the old school action which reminds the audience that nothing can really beat the basics. The larger action may look kind of stale, but the kinetic of the speed and destruction overpowers the spectacles, moves the audience with genuine thrills. This is the enthusiasm that superhero movies lack nowadays and it is encouraged that they should offer more face punching, knife flipping exhilaration like this.

"Redefinition" is indeed the word. While Captain America the hero represents how true justice works, the film relives why action movies are so awesome. None of the film is groundbreaking whatsoever, but how it is done is terrific and humbly fun without any pretension. It does still need to live up a bit more with the title, but the merits could ignore that fact. Besides, our blockbusters today do need some straightforward thrills like this, plus a consistent plot that explores more of its iconic universe. Some might ask for a little more depth at the intriguing first act and the Winter Soldier mystery, but it would be wiser to just sit back, relax, and enjoy what this genre is meant to be: awesome and loyal to its heroic roots.
24 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Shaky Cam and Rehashed Action Ruins It
Nirgaul6 April 2014
Moviegoers above the age of 13 will recognize most of the action set pieces and plot elements from other films. There's an elevator fight, which we've seen before. Evil cops, evil suits, "big brother" danger, some running from fire and more explosions.

The fundamental problem with these movies is that you never feel like the main characters are in any danger. No matter how much of a beating Captain America takes, he's going to live to make sequels. The same goes for all of the popular cast members. Given the immortality of the good guys, the only question is How they're going to get out of peril. Don't expect anything new here.

The best writing is happening on television, sadly. Film-quality writing is going to HBO and independent networks, and television directors are moving to the big screen.

This one is all washed up. Hail hydra.
80 out of 177 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Definitely one for the die-hard Marvel fans
adam-scrivner30 March 2014
Saturday night. Nothing to do. I know, let's go to the cinema! My friend suggested that we go to see this film.

I recall (dimly) seeing the first Captain America film but for some reason I couldn't make any sense of the beginning of this one. It seems that I must have missed a Captain America film at some point as there were lots of references to plot events of which I was completely unaware. Understandably this significantly detracted from my enjoyment.

There is a lot of action in this film; having said that there was only one point at which this succeeded in engaging my attention. Sadly all of it was fairly formulaic cartoon violence, with indestructible people able to withstand the kind of physical traumas that would leave a normal person either hospitalised or deceased. There is also some acting. Not particularly good acting, mind you; the characters seemed to be paper-thin in many cases and the cast gave the impression that they were not hugely interested in anything other than their pay packet.

A plot was present but at this stage I am not interested enough to comment on it.

In summary, if you are a huge fan of mindless Marvel comic films and in particular Captain America then you will lap this up and rave about it to your adolescent friends over a Big Mac while simultaneously Facebooking on your smart phone. Adults should probably spend their money on something else.
58 out of 125 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Overlong Film Puts Audience to Sleep!
Captain America lacks humor, engaging plot and script, relying solely on special effects and promotions to get box office honors! And to make matters worse, it dragged on forever! It was a silent audience for the entire 2 hours, not a chuckle was heard, and when it was finally over, the audience just walked out the door with not a soul staying for credits or musical score.

From start to end, this was just a mish-mash of unengaging computer imagery, with so many scenes of shoot-em-up violence, shattered glass and chaos that it got boring within the first half hour.

Camera work was shaky, editing poor with overly long scenes, and actors either miscast or just reading their lines without impact.And if there was a music score, I sure don't remember it.

And good acting just wasn't there. The CaptainAmerica actor used a faint persona drawn from Tom Cruise, who, with his intensity and charisma, would have raised the movie to a higher level. His strong woman cohort, played by Scarlett Johanson, was especially lackluster, with her only notable expression being frowning occasionally. And, casting an aged Robert Redford as villain was poor casting extraordinaire! Redford lacked energy, intensity, and physical presence as an actor.

If you enjoy watching a Hollywood-style extravaganza with 90% special effects and actors sleep-walking through their lines, Captain America is for you! Even our 14 year-old for whom this movie was probably made, said "we should have gone to Spiderman!"
77 out of 171 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Captain Americanned
pizzachronic7 April 2014
This movie was absolute garbage. Captain America wouldn't know if he was Arthur or Martha in the modern world. An out of date character given a storyline by writers more concerned with blowing stuff up than adhering to the righteous values held dear by the character they're writing for. Put old Captain America in a pub and have him start a conversation about workplace discrimination with the villain Average Joe. I'd prefer to read a novel written by authors with imagination, rather than watch self indulgent producers, writers and directors more concerned with making the "best" version of whatever character, storyline or dialogue they're ripping off. Enjoy!!!
74 out of 164 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Preposterous, Self Indulgent and a little Boring
nimbusoda30 March 2014
There aren't many films where I think I may actually walk out but after the 20 minutes but I seriously thought about it. It did get a bit better thereafter though. Character development was poor. Did I care much for the characters...a little. A bit of effort is expended in trying to inject some emotion but mostly it falls very flat.

I saw this film in 3D. Why did I pay a premium for this ? In some of the hand to hand fight sequences you can barely see what's happening. The effect being akin to watching clothes going rounds and round in a washing machine. 3D technology appears to be very lacking for fast close action fighting sequences.

The story is weak with action/explosions being the main selling point of this movie.

If you go with very low expectations you may come away feeling it was an OK movie. Unfortunately for me I will lament those 2 hours of wasted time.
56 out of 121 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
seriously?
mgs_girl5 April 2014
we all know that marvel films sometimes lack in plot, but in such cases they usually compensate with: a)humor b)good acting c)creativity and originality. this film - none of that whatsoever. a predictable plot (first 10 minutes and you already know who the bad guy is), shallow characters, disappointing acting, tedious action scenes with only loud noises to keep you awake...simply a tragedy. The few quips here and there are far from enough for a two hour movie, which on top of that presents quite a dull, grayish setting - no eye candy at all (shame on you marvel). and for a character who pretty much makes up the title of the movie, the winter soldier was...just there - no impressive lines, no stable back story. i think that this movie aimed a bit too high, but ended up being illogical, painfully predictable and all in all - laughable. marvel tried serious? well, marvel failed at serious.
92 out of 208 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Yet another boring superhero movie of marvel
aniket021019879 April 2014
I really do not understand why people are liking this movie. Yes it is better than the last CAPTAIN America movie, but it is as boring as THOR 2 or IRON MAN 3. Stupid Plot and unappealing action sequence followed by melodrama at the end.I give up. I don't think marvel movies are worth watching any more. The first half of the movie is a bit intriguing. But the second half of the movie is very boring. Even the end credits scene is boring. The worst thing about the movie is that i had no prior idea about the plot or even the new characters like "the winter soldier" but i could predict most of the things that were going to happen next. the storyline is really weak. As soon as any mystery resolves you feel Man! this is stupid. You feel disappointed on most of the scenes. The only thing worth watching in the movie is Scarlett Johansson(i am not talking about her role. it was boring as well). Her dialogue delivery is impeccable. All in all another disappointing stuff.
52 out of 112 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed