Phineas and Ferb the Movie: Across the 2nd Dimension (TV Movie 2011) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
29 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
This should have been released in theaters
ItsACaptainDan6 August 2011
I absolutely love this movie. Phineas and Ferb always reminded me of the Saturday morning cartoons of childhood past. The regular episodes are somewhat silly and hilarious, but this movie is a true summer blockbuster. It's full of well-done action sequences mixed with doses of good humor. The songs are great, ranging from hard rock to disco, compared to some of the ones in regular episodes, which seem forced at times. Plus, the plot isn't too complicated but not your average children's made-for-TV movie plot line. The pacing is a bit fast though, and comedic timing is lost through hurried lines and lack of pauses. The animation, although much better than normal TV episodes, is a bit sloppy at times, is at times sloppy. If you're a long-time or even a short-time fan of this series, the movie will make you laugh at references to previous episodes. In short, I absolutely love this movie. If it was released in theaters, with crisper animation and better comedic timing, it might be one of the best things Disney has released this decade.
28 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Phineas and Ferb Strike Again
catarinaloss6 August 2011
Going into it, I figured this movie would be pretty decent, seeing as it's Phineas and Ferb. But alas, I was wrong. It was GREAT. 'Across the 2nd Dimension' stayed extremely true to the show. It has the same fun, wild, free spirit and takes you for one heck of a ride. You get to experience an entirely new dimension of the Phineas and Ferb world, one where Doofenshmirtz isn't so doofy. At first it seems cool, but the gang later realizes how grateful they are for their own dimension-and their platypus.

Spoil anything I will not, so give this one a watch. Trust me, you won't regret it. It will have been well worth your time.

A must see for die-hard fans and casual fans alike. A solid 10/10.
17 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fantastic Movie!!
saidoudiallo-7308030 March 2019
Excitement, Action and more. Phineas and Ferb finally meet perry. This movie is amazing sorry if this review didn't really explain much
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Phineas and Ferb have done it again!
Spritedude2310 August 2011
Step-brothers Phineas and Ferb have had a lot of great adventures over the course of their summer (ex. Traveling through time (twice) Building a Roller Coaster and going around the world in a single day) but this one seems to take the cake. There's a good helping of action, and enough jokes to keep viewers young and old laughing. I was very impressed by this Disney Channel production, because, not only was it so much better than any of the other original movies but it was even better than a lot of the actual episodes of it's own TV series. Which is saying a lot because the TV series is groundbreaking entertainment with phenomenal writing and animation. I never thought I'd say this but: Bravo Disney Channel!
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Fast-paced, intelligently written
vchimpanzee23 August 2011
At age 50, and too cheap for cable, I have almost no knowledge of today's animated kids' shows. It wasn't all that long ago, though, that I was still watching cartoons on network TV on Saturday morning (of course, I watch cartoons on Sunday evenings on Fox, but that's a totally different matter since those should not be seen by children). Still, I had never seen "Phineas and Ferb" before this movie and knew next to nothing about them.

Still, this movie has enough intelligent writing to make it tolerable for adults, enjoyable characters, and a fun plot involving an alternate dimension. The main villain is enough of a bumbling idiot to be appealing, though his alternate-universe counterpart was plenty scary.

The music was certainly not my taste for the most part, but I don't think it was supposed to be. Actually, like many of the cartoons of my childhood, this movie's music doesn't seem particularly contemporary (Slash was popular 20 years ago, for example), but it's plenty loud.

The kids from our universe are geniuses, and we can be sure that no matter how bad things get, they'll figure out a solution. This sis good for kids to see because maybe it will make them want to study.

I do question the TV-G rating, given the amount of violence. ABC has a tendency to put a TV-PG on squeaky-clean content, so it's nice that they're recognizing this is a clean movie. But this movie has only the cartoon kind of violence, though, and most of it is against robots, and not really enough to justify a TV-PG rating when TV-PG can be given to content that is much worse.

I especially liked the nonsensical but humorous lines given to one of the robots. I don't recall him being given a name, but Irving's voice was Jack McBrayer of "30 Rock", so that was probably him.

It's certainly worth seeing if you're a kid.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
'Phineas and Ferb' bigger than ever before
TheLittleSongbird19 August 2017
Even though some of the later season episodes weren't as funny and imaginative as the earlier ones, 'Phineas and Ferb' became a favourite when first introduced to it in 2009 or so. Eight years on, despite being finished, 'Phineas and Ferb' airs regularly on the Disney Channel and it's still a pleasure and one of their best shows in a long time.

Although starting with an original concept, the stories in terms of structure are based around the same formula mainly. The ideas and situations however have enough variety to avoid it becoming too repetitive, while it looks good, has one of the catchiest theme tunes of any show in recent years, has wonderful, clever and funny writing, interesting and entertaining character relationships and characters that are easy to like. As likable as the two protagonists are and Candace is more than the stereotypical, tell-tale older sister that she seems, the scene stealers are adorable and funny Perry the Platypus (another example of mastery of actions and expressions registering hugely without uttering a word) and hilariously loony and incompetent Doofenschmirtz.

It was inevitable that 'Phineas and Ferb' would get its own feature film, and it richly deserved it with characters and writing strong enough to warrant one. 'Phineas and Ferb the Movie: Across the 2nd Dimension' more than does the show justice and as far as films based on Disney Channel shows not released in theatres it's one of the best there is, proof too that 'Phineas and Ferb' had not lost its mojo at this point.

Maybe the pacing is a little too fast on occasions, especially in the second half, and the finale is rather overblown and descends too much into silliness (something that the rest of the film avoided, so it was a shame). Flaws aside, 'Phineas and Ferb the Movie: Across the 2nd Dimension' is absolutely perfect for existing fans of the show and does a very good job in its attempt to attract a wider audience which shows that the film works on its own too. Children will love it and there is plenty for adults to enjoy, if anything adults or older fans will appreciate the story and humour more most likely.

The animation is good and true to the animation style of the show but with a little more visual invention thanks to having a premise that allows for that to happen. It's simple but never simplistic, it's all vibrant in colour and the attention to detail is often marvellous. The music is catchy with some clever lyric writing, despite loving the infectious music in the show there was the fear that the music wouldn't be to my taste here, having heard polarising opinions on it, but coming from someone raised on classical music and opera it was right up my street.

'Phineas and Ferb the Movie: Across the 2nd Dimension' is particularly good in the writing, characters and character relationships. The writing is remarkably intelligent, witty, inventive and clever with cracking puns and one-liners and references that will delight older audiences. All in the spirit of the show. The characters are both interesting and likable, it has been said that Phineas is out of character, and he is (showing a side to him that has never happened in the show), but one can understand why if anybody knows what its like for someone you love and trust is not who they seem while also understanding Perry's point of view.

The characterisations of Perry and Doofenschmirtz are on point and stay true to their original personalities, and Candace's subplot actually to me was crucial in her development while not being as interesting as the rest of the story. The interactions are a joy all round, especially Phineas/Ferb, Phineas/Perry and Perry/Doofenschmirtz.

Really liked the story. The fast paced energy of the show's story-lines are intact as are the inventiveness, the characterisations and relationships. Even better was how well 'Phineas and Ferb the Movie: Across the 2nd Dimension' did in opening things up with all the ingredients that made the show work so well intact while having the alternate dimension concept that gave the film a darker, bigger and edgier approach. This concept was intriguing and gave a suitable amount of tension and fun. The alternative universe versions of the characters are creepy and entertaining. It even has a touching moment with the reconciliation scene that warmed the heart too.

Voice acting is typically terrific, particularly from Vincent Martella (Phineas), Ashley Tisdale (Candace) and Dan Povenmire (Doofenschmirtz).

Overall, a real pleasure and complements 'Phineas and Ferb' perfectly. 9/10 Bethany Cox
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Disney Channel Original Movie which is actually pretty good
Rectangular_businessman6 September 2011
To be honest, I dislike most of the modern Disney Channel's shows. Especially the live-action shows. I never liked shows as "Hannah Montana", "The Suite Life of Zack & Cody" or "Wizards of Waverly Place".

However, "Phineas and Ferb" was an honorable exception to this, being one of the very few modern cartoons that I actually like. While at first "Phineas and Ferb" seemed like a predictable show (Having the same basic premise played in most of the episodes) I was surprised of how good that show turned out to be, being witty and clever, with lots of likable characters and catchy songs.

So, when this movie was announced, I had very big expectations about it. And I wasn't disappointed. In some ways, "Across the 2nd Dimension" it's like a extended episode of the series, but that's a good thing: Despite the fact that the story is somewhat darker than the original show, this movie still has all the charm and fun of the original series, something that (Just to give an example) "The Simpsons" movie lacked, managing to keep the best elements from "Phineas and Ferb" (The humor, the good music, the interesting and hilarious relationships of the characters) "Across the 2nd Dimension" is a solid TV film, that delivers exactly what it promised and it never disappoints, being quite enjoyable without having to see the original series first. But I would recommend to watch the series too, because it is quite good.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Amazing, fantastic movie!
xxkovu-jonasxx4 August 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Now I know why this movie was and is nominated as "Best Animated TV Film of All Time"! This movie was so, so good! I love the series, and the movie gave me a whole new perspective. There were very few flaws in this movie. This movie is charming, funny, surprising and chock full of action! I recommend this to anyone and everyone who enjoys a good animated film, or any of the Disney movies. This truly compliments the series and the ending is a shocker!

SPOILERS: The whole movie is based upon Doctor Doofenshmirtz new "Inator" and how Phineas and Ferb come to be in the opposite dimension of their own. The movie is very edgy and very entertaining, especially the whole twist they put onto the plot (Phineas and Ferb finding out Perry leads a double life, Isabella kissing Phineas as their minds are about to be wiped, etc.)

Overall I give this film a 10/10. See this on TV, buy it on DVD, view it on Netflix- I don't care! See this film, especially if you have a child.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Surprisingly well made kids-movie
zach-tiefling5 August 2013
Albeit not being a real fan of the TV-Show, I must admit that I watch it (like many other adults, I presume) occasionally for the sole reason of Heinz Doofenshmirtz, who is targeted to older audiences and always manages to get a chuckle out of me.

Keeping in mind, that it is the film-feature based on a kids TV-show (with your mandatory song per episode), I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. The animation is slightly above that of the show, it is cleverly written and the tone more 'serious' than that of the show itself. Because of that it is enjoyable for children as well as their parents.

I can recommend this movie for all fans of the show and assure any parent, that it is a much better rental/buy than many Direct-To-DVD Disney movies.

Addendum: Watching the show prior to the movie is not required, but being familiar with some of the shows themes, might improve your experience of the movie. Due to the nature of the show it is not necessary to watch more than one or two episodes, since the plot is always roughly the same.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Super Fun - The Movie Makes the Show Proud
timothygartin18 November 2019
I loved this movie. I am a huge fan of the TV show and this movie takes everything that the show does well and runs with it. Phineas, Ferb, Candice, and all the rest are wonderfully characterized. The musical numbers are fun and there are just the right number of them.

I liked the story as well and I thought it made good material for a movie-length episode.

I highly recommend this one.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Not quite as great as the show, but still really good.
jogibbson24 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
In the movie the writing is still clever and witty just like the show. The biggest disappointment I had was probably the end fight scene. The rest of the movie was great but I felt like it was a little out of the ordinary. The fight scene was a little too long and a little too cheesy. The end was good but the fight scene is a little disappointing.

The whole concept of Phineas and Ferb is great and the movie follows the usual prospects that the show does. It does vary a little more than I thought it would, but then again most TV show to movie adaptations are awful. The movie was clever, witty, well-paced and fun. The whole -inator/Dr. Doofenshmirtz and Perry segments were the best part. Doofenshmirtz and other dimension Doofenshmirtz had great dialogue with each other and it was really funny. The movie is a bit darker and more serious than the show but it doesn't make you wonder why it's a kid show, it still has good amounts of humor for the kids. It deals with Perry being a secret agent and the boys finding out and it makes it more sad and serious.

I love the movie but it is not quite as good as the show. If this is your first try of the show try the first season. The first season sets up the humor for the rest of the show and it's still funny. The show isn't based around slap-stick humor but a more witty and more intelligent humor. A lot of the humor comes from multiple viewings of the show. If you just watch one episode, you might think its kinda funny but not worth your time. Think again. The show gets funnier after every episode. Some of the inside jokes from the show appear in the movie, which makes it twice as funny. Some people complain that it's the same thing over and over again. That's where the writers derive a lot of their humor from. In almost every episode Ferb says one line of dialogue, but in one of the episodes he has two lines and the other characters in the show make fun of that. Another example, Perry and Dr. Doofenshmirtz. Perry gets captured, Doofenshmirtz tells Perry his plan and why he's doing it, then Perry escapes and blows up Dr. Doofenshmirtz's -inator. In one of the episodes Perry has to help someone else so he rushes in and breaks the -inator and leaves. Dr. Doofenshmirtz is left dumbfounded because Perry didn't wait for Doofenshmirtz to capture him. It's so much funnier in the show. If you don't like the movie, try the show. It's not as bad as the Avatar: Th Last Airbender, TV show to movie transformation but then again what is.

All in all, the movie's really good but the show is better. The movie adaptation, while being quite alike the show, it does have different elements in it. Still highly recommended for Phineas and Ferb lovers.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What I Think About This Amazing Movie
valerita-bella9 October 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I qualify this movie a 10 because I think that is just what you deserve, do not think it's a excessive rating because I love it! In the series, Phineas and Ferb are creative and funny inventions and his sister Candace is accused with his mother, but always fails. Meanwhile, his pet, Perry fights vs the evil Dr. Doof. In the film, Perry recommends the worst comes true when in the second dimension, Phineas and Ferb know his secret, besides they are now trapped in the second dimension, which governs the evil by Doof. Now they have to find ways to prevent back and dominate your dimension Doof too. The movie seemed to me very creative and fun, in my opinion is the best "disney channel original movie" yet. Now it's my movie favorite. Just in case they had curiosity, My favorite character is Perry
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A great film adaptation.
ofpsmith25 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Phineas and Ferb the movie: Across the Second Dimension showcases Phineas Flynn (Vincent Martella) and Ferb Fletcher (Thomas Brodie Sangster) on their biggest adventure to date. The discover what the audience knew all along and it's that their pet platypus Perry (Dee Bradley Baker) is a secret agent fighting everyone's favorite evil scientist loser Dr. Heinz Doofenshmirtz (Dan Povenmire). While discovering this, they get inadvertently transported to an alternate dimension where Doofenshmirtz is supreme leader of the tristate area and not a loser. Candace Flynn (Ashley Tisdale) Phineas and Ferb's inept, boy crazy sister inadvertently goes to the 2cd dimension too. With the help of alternate dimension versions of Phineas and Ferb's friends to get back to their own dimension before alternate dimension Doofenshmirtz takes over the other dimension as well. This film is just always moving and always going and it always seems to work. The characters are all a lot of fun and it's interesting to see how Phineas and Ferb's friends would bee in a totalitarian regime. My sister and I are both big Phineas and Ferb fans, and if you are too, this will not disappoint.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Explores the one place the series hasn't...
eloquent_quill26 June 2012
Warning: Spoilers
(I'll explain my title down below in the 'spoiler' section.) I'm 38 and do not have children. My favorite genres are science fiction and fantasy. I love animation, both American and Japanese, and after watching tens of thousands of shows, I have developed VERY high standards.

Phineas and Ferb: Across the 2nd Dimension meets my standards admirably. It's definitely a thinking person's movie/series, with all kinds of cultural references (remember the show Laverne and Shirley?) and deeper levels of thought than most of today's mindless entertainment, yet kids can watch and enjoy it immensely for the action, quirky humor, songs, and deep bonds of love between family and friends. "Anyone ELSE here leading a bizarre double life? Put your hand down, Ferb."

Honestly, I'd never seen the show before I watched this movie on a whim, and was pulled into their world within minutes! The only time this has happened to me in the past ten years was during the fantastic movie 'Megamind', so I knew I was watching something special. You will CARE about these characters, even the villains.

Right from the beginning, the music swept me up on a glorious ride I have YET to come down from after more than an month. I even bought the 3 CDs (You want the Wal. Mart exclusive Movie CD-it has ten extra songs from the series including fan favorites Spa Day, A-G-L-E-T, Candace Party and Watchin' and Waiting'), bought the Summer Belongs to You Amazn download, and even went looking online for those that aren't on the CDs.

(The music itself really needs a separate review, as there were 261 movie/series songs already as of May 2012, across a huge range of music genres. There's something for everyone, fun, upbeat and catchy as all get-out! Seriously, I watch this show as much for the music as the plots, characters and laughs. The best part is they're written to be easily singable by everyone. I appreciate little details like that.)

For a fascinating, touching look at deeper issues, watch the episode 'Phineas and Ferb Get Busted' It's one of my favorites; actually brought tears to my eyes more than once. Note the nod to the 'chain gang' songs of historical America.

One more thing. I highly approve of the wide range of world-views this show displays, from happy blended families (the two main characters are stepbrothers) to looks at other cultures (supporting characters are of Indian, Mexican-Jewish and Japanese cultures) to the show's central concept-that anything can be accomplished if you use your imagination, work hard, and above all, get out there and DO something!

I'd heard of this show for years but never got around to watching it. Now I wish had, but for those of you who are on the fence, if you have Amazn Prime you get to watch the first two seasons for free, SD or HD. So what are you waiting for? As the song goes, Carpe Diem~ and enjoy the wonderful world you are about to enter. I'll be right there with you.

SPOILERS!!!.....

What I meant by 'explores the one place they haven't gone' I'm not talking about a parallel dimension, although they do that, too. I'm talking about the heart. I'm talking about seeing friendly, beloved characters display enough bravery and self-sacrifice in the face of genuine evil to make your heart swell with pride (Phineas' rare "No" scene stands out), new ways of looking at the world (Candace seeing her brothers through Alternate Candace's eyes as precious treasures to be loved and protected) and even budding love (Phineas' reaction to Isabella's kiss leaves you no doubt about his feelings for HER).

Even better, Phineas fans will be thrilled at the exploration of his character, as the normally calm, even-tempered Phineas is upset, hurt and even angry at Perry's years of deception and worse, letting the boys actually help an evil scientist further his evil plans. It's proof of just how much he loves Perry, since betrayal from those we love always hurts the worst. Their eventual reconciliation is just beautiful to watch, so heartwarming!

I understood why they had to have their memories erased-since Candace's attempts to 'bust' her brothers is one of the main conflicts of the show, so that didn't disappoint me as it did other people. But even though their memories are erased, you'll remember.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Better then the series
WeAreLive29 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Well not that the series was bad it was good (see my review) but this movie was much better.

Phineas and ferbs accidently meet the evil scientist that perry fights every day and windup going into a second dimension where dr d is the ruler of this dimension and the whole world is an apocalypse under his vision. Perry is forced to reveal his ID in front of his owners, this shocks Phineas, though he is annoyed he doesn't realise the consequences for what is to happen when they find out.

My favorite scenes are when they are fighting the norm bots, the summer song, when they are going through dimensions and the very last scene.

In fact I even remember writing a short story to my form tutor about this movie because he tasked me with it every weekend.

Is it as good as the show? yes

My only annoyance is that events of this movie are referred in episodes of phineas and ferb in spite of what happens towards the end.

Other then that it is a good movie.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Perfectly Phineas and Ferb
jmdietz-742675 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I love Phineas and Ferb. I love it's surreal, inventive storytelling and all of the characters, in their warped little groundhog-day lives. And this movie is another great addition to the legacy. The show focuses heavily on the fact that TV shows have a formula. And Phineas and Ferb have a great formula. But what would happen if that formula was somehow disrupted and the daily routine altered? That is what the writers of this flick set their minds to when deciding they needed to incorporate a movie into the fear works of Disneys delightful cartoon. The brainchild that was born is this movie; a gimmick-filled, rip off of parallel universes that makes fun of all the gimmick-filled rip offs with pinprick accuracy and genuinely funny situations. Doofenshmirz shines like never before and Perry must face the inevitable when Ferb and Phineas find out who he really is. This is a great, fun movie worth taking the lazy summer afternoon to sit back and enjoy wholesome and creative entertainment with catchy songs, unforgettable one-liners and clever script-writing. I recommend this film.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Somewhat Darker and More Serious
Athanatos6 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This 77-minute adventure is more like an animated action film with jokes and songs than like a longer episode of the television series.

A typical episode to P&F entails a three-way collision of the child-like genius of Phineas and Ferb, of the childish genius of Heinz Dofenschmirtz, and of the just-plain childishness of Candace Flynn. Phineas and Ferb have great fun, Doofenschmirtz is hoisted on his own petard, Candace is thwarted, and the only one who has any clue as to what has really happened is, well, a platypus.

But this time there's a different three-way collision, and the result is that Phineas and Ferb, oblivious to the sort of fellow that Doofenschmirtz is, help him to create a portal into a parallel universe. Not that big of a deal, perhaps, except that in that next universe, there is a Doofenschmirtz who is more genuinely evil, and with greater practical sense than the familiar Doof. This Doofenschmirtz has conquered his Tri-State Area, and imposed a totalitarian regime, with violent robotic enforcers. This alternate Tri-State Area has its comedic touches; but, for the most part, it isn't written for laughs.

Ultimately, an alliance is formed that draws together Perry, children of two worlds, and finally even the familiar Heinz Doofenschmirtz, to stop a man who has crushed one land and seeks to crush another. In the course of things, various people and at least one aquatic mammal learn what they have really meant one to another.

(And the viewer might also see what some of the characters have come to mean to the writers.)

As an action film for kids, this is pretty well written, Whoever did the story-boards had a very solid understanding of the What, Where, and When of an action film. Even when one knows what is about to be delivered, the delivery is usually very satisfying. There are some coherence issues here and there, but nothing really dreadful; and they would have been hard to resolve without making this film far too strong for some of its intended audience.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Phenomenal
birdfan-1570715 January 2021
Absolutely love it. Way better than Candace Against The Universe IMO. I honestly think this should have been in theaters.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
2nd dimensional fun
legobuilderpro12 November 2020
Rewatching the movie it's as good as "phineas and ferb the movie candace against the universe".

Really funny, lovable characters, and fun action
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the best animated movies I have seen!
taha-shaikh1514 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
If you want to see the best animated movie of 2011.This is it.The Storyline was superb.There is almost no flaw in the movie except the songs the songs where not as catchy as the songs in the animated cartoon.That,s why I rated it as 9/10.If the songs had been better.It would have been 10/10.All the characters played out there roll successfully without any flaws.But Ferb could have been better and they could have made the movie a lot funnier. Ferb had a very unimportant roll in the Film .The other dimension Candice was just plain awesome with the style and everything including Esabella.

This movie is good for adults and kids.Do not underestimate it as a childish movie.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
I was honestly disappointed.
lilproject23 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I love Phineas and Ferb. I saw my first episode a little later than most people have, but ever since I've been pretty obsessed with it. But the problem with making a movie out of a TV show is that it has to be good. Really good. Otherwise it just doesn't work. The one thing that disappointed me most though was that during half the movie, Phineas was acting completely out of character: he was angry. Really angry. Almost to the point of holding a grudge. And he went on and on about it too. I had assumed when I'd heard about the movie's storyline that when Phineas found out that Perry was a secret agent, there'd be a sarcastic, stressful moment and then Phineas would smile and say, "Cool!", with his goody-two-shoes, meek and ambitious personality. His frustration was poorly done as well. Instead of making the viewer think, "Wow! Phineas is mad! He must really care about this!" the way it does in the special, "Summer Belongs to You!", the plot gives the impression of, "This is a completely normal reaction to discovering that your pet platypus has been dueling with a hunchback pharmacist for the past five years." Phineas isn't normal. His having a normal reaction dampers on his characterization. The second thing that drove me bonkers about the movie is that it's actually sad at the end. Phineas and Ferb will never remember their crazy encounter with their pet secret agent, but Perry will. Perry now knows what it's like to be treated like an equal by the boys. After the boys are brainwashed, they will treat Perry like an animal again, seeing him as less of a friend and more of a pet. Darn, I feel sorry for Perry! He's lost a whole side of the relationship with his two best friends. The movie's humor wasn't spectacular, but it was pretty good. The plot wasn't inspiring nor did it contain any greater meaning, but it was definitely thrilling. Overall, however, I thought that this movie was worse than "Summer Belongs to You!". It's good to know that the show will go on as if nothing has happened, but the effects of the adventure on Perry will also be forgotten. My respect for Phineas and Ferb has decreased, but it's not destroyed. If the creators of the show keep up the good work and redeem themselves in the episodes, my obsession may return. :)
5 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Superb kids film.
sinkthecity5 June 2012
Although this film is obviously aimed at a younger audience, I still found it extremely enjoyable and seemed to be to everyone's liking/taste.

The films seemed to drag on with pointless action throughout the middle of the film, but towards the end of the film it started to get climatic and rather entreatingly thrilling. The humour throughout the film was great; classic Phineas and Ferb. Entertaining for children but also for the majority of older viewers too.

Some parts from the film would be better understood if you'd been a viewer of the TV series. For example, Phineas & Isabella's late scene and also the whole 'secret agent' situation with Perry and the boys etc.

Although this is a film aimed at children, I found some parts were very clever, alike with the Isabella/Phineas scene and the Perry scene, was the wonderful scene in which they brought all the inventions together in Danville to fight off the robot army. Obviously yet again, this is better understood if you'd seen the TV series, however I still think its a very clever factor to have in this film.

For anyone that was a fan of the series, this film will not let you down and is definitely a must watch. Have fun.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Mostly Good
sufganiyotmc15 January 2018
Phineas and Ferb: Across the 2nd Dimension was an interesting movie, but I only gave it a 6/10 because Phineas can seem really out of character at times, but overall, it was great!
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Enjoyable Waste of Time
ierenz21 September 2019
I've never seen the show, but the movie was actually kind of fun. Lots of funny references to movies including Red Dawn. It drags on in spots and some of the voices are kind of grating, but overall it's an enjoyable waste of time.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Phineas and Ferb Across the 2nd Dimension
stinkletontriplets2 March 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I'll just say it I hate Phineas and Ferb, this show is nothing but garbage with a weak story, unlikeable characters, horrible animation it's just crap. Now we have their first movie the 2nd dimension. Will it be a really great film, or a giant step backwards? I giant step backwards. Not only do I consider this the worst movie ever but it also tries to do the lier reveal thing and of course. It doesn't work. Alright the story, Phineas and Ferb are doing their normal thing building crap. But when Perry's ship accidentally hits the two brats and they go spinning into Dr. D's lab not knowing he's evil. (Yah how could they miss that EVIL sign?) But once Phineas and Ferb help finish Dr. D's machine (the dimension-nator) Perry comes in and has to tell the truth about his identity. So it's up to the gang to escape the new world, and save Danville in the process. Not only do we have to go through the lier reveal thing which I really don't like, but the story and characters have holes because it's too much. They through in a pointless Candace plot, and Isabella,Baljeet,and Buford were in it because they were in the show. They all should have been kicked out of the movie immediately. Plus the animation, and artwork sucks. If you're looking for a Disney cartoon film I say go see Recess School's Out, but you can definitely skip this one. 1/10 stars
4 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed