A Cinderella Story: Once Upon a Song (Video 2011) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
15 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Not Bad
Ahsenb15 December 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I did not expect too much before watching this movie and for me it's not too bad. Actually I like it, especially the songs, they are really good. It may be a little bit cliché, you know two girls fall in love with one boy, a bad step mom, a dead father etc. but the main focus is not that so except that situations the movie was good. Before this movie, I did not know that Lucy Hale can sing but she has a really good voice and I can say that I am surprised :) And Freddie Stroma's accent is re-ally cool! For me, as a musical film lover, this movie is one of the good ones especially after watching The Dream Team:Battle of The Year. If you like watching musical movies/TV series then you're going to love this one too but if you don't, I can't say that you are going to love it. Watch and see ;)
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
good movie, doesn't contain much language
lydiahushmail2129 September 2014
Warning: Spoilers
It is a very fun teen girl movie, but it does have Katie nude you see her stomach and bare legs, while she is naked Luke, stops by and flirts with her. While Katie is naked Luke lends her his jacket, then Katie ask for the pants jokingly . also there is the word "sexy" when Bev is talking to Luke. Also they say "crap" at least a dozen times, and Katie starts out saying bitch but doesn't finish it, and Tony starts of saying that Katie's step mom should go to hell.Also some bad things about it is that the step mom confirmed she didn't want to take in Katie and would have given her up but didn't want to look bad in front of the press, and she threatens Katie if she doesn't do what she wants. Also Tony lies to earn money.at the performance Tony shocks Katie's step mom.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Seriously not bad
ness-cessity9 June 2012
I've probably given it a slightly generous rating and that's probably thanks to the music, I'm so pleased that there is finally a teen musical movie that has kids in it that can act and sing. Not the whiny voices Disney keeps trying to tell us we like but ones you might even consider buying an album of (without 3 weeks of whining from the pre-teen in your life). Admittedly they probably wouldn't win Idol off their own backs but they can sing, just have a listen to Lucy Hale (Pretty Little Liars) in the opening.

The plot and supporting characters can seem a bit flimsy at times but to be honest, who really watches these types of films and expects them to win an Oscar?

Definitely worth 88 minutes of your life. Preferably with a tub of Ben & Jerry's and your most comfortable PJs
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
disappointed...
LiveLoveLead11 February 2012
I taped this on the dvr to watch with my 14-year-old daughter.I thought it looked like a fun Disney movie, but we were both a little disappointed. This could have been so much better. The writing left much to be desired, as well as some of the acting.

The good: Lucy Hale, Freddie Stroma the little brother,and the music.

The bad: Missi Pyle, as the step-mom was acted out way to cheeky. Narayan as Ravi, the meditation guru, was also pretty ridiculous.

To sum it up, cute for the kids and OK for adults, but I just think with more effort, it could have been a lot better...like 'A Cinderella Story' (Hillary Duff) & 'Another Cinderella Story' (Selena Gomez),which were both much better. Feb 2012
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
No Comments...
saadgkhan16 August 2012
A Cinderella Story: Once Upon a Song – TRASH IT/ CATCH IT (Lucy Hale & Freddie Storma fans Only) ( C ) Do I have to tell you what's it's about? The name says it all. The only reason I saw this to watch Lucy Hale and Freddie Storma. And not surprisingly these two are the only good thing in the movie too. Pretty Little Liar's Alum Lucy Hale is not only pretty but can also sings, dance and act well like another Disney' child. Freddie Storma the British lad is a heartthrob. Megan Park is alright being bitchy. Besides that there is nothing interesting or intriguing about watching this movie. This is as expected and as clichéd as it could have been. Waste of time. Only for the Lucy hale and Freddie Storma fans.
7 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Om wil se the movie
julietpmobil-4807912 April 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Im icsidid to se the movie i hav to se it for Long time but now i finalister Can and im so Happy so now i wil se the movie
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Lucy Hale shines!
brookenichole-9805416 March 2020
This movie is honestly really great! Lucy Hale is great at playing her role and has an amazing singing voice. She becomes strong overtime and doesn't obey like most of the other Cinderellas. Jessalyn Wanlim is great as the best friend/fairy godmother role. The others are alright, definitely not the best but still did their part well. I didn't even know Freddie Stroma could sing until I saw this movie. His voice is great too! The songs are fun and catchy, the choreography for the Bollywood dance scene is one of the best I have seen in awhile, and the story is good. The ending is the best part of the whole movie. I loved getting to see Lucy's character have her moment to shine. This movie isn't as good as the others before it. I think they could have done better but this was still really entertaining and fun to watch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Way more related to Little Mermaid than Cinderella
batgirl395218 January 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Think about it, the boy the main character meets in the commercial hears her voice and instantly falls for her. Her sister is like Ursula and "steals" her voice by lip syncing it, making the boy fall for her instead. and we all know in the end the main characters going to reveal that it was actually her voice all along and live happily ever after with the dude. Does she lose a shoe or something and that automatically makes it a Cinderella story? If it was called anything else other then a Cinderella story, people might actually want to watch it and not think "oh my god this has been done a million times. WHEN.THE HELL.WILL.THEY. STOP!"
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Actually not that bad
lisafordeay4 June 2020
Warning: Spoilers
A Cinderella Story: Once Upon A Song is a 2011 film that is part of the A Cinderella Story franchise which started with Hilary Duff back in 2004. This film is about a singer songwriter named Katie Gibbs(Lucy Hale) who dreams of making it big. She catches the attention of an English singer named Jake(Freddie Stoma)who is looking for the next big thing. But when Katie's evil stepmother(Missy Pyle) wants to use her other daughter Brie(Megan Park) to pretend to be the good singer,can Katie prove that she is the actual singer.

Sure this film has nothing got to do with Cinderella,but overall I enjoyed it.

6/10

C+
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Interesting
wyndeeroces30 March 2020
Though the movie was released way back 2011 (not sure), I'd like to put some insights here and I just wondered why Lucy was not that famous in her early years in media. But in this movie, I only watched it because of Lucy and the silky smooth hair of Freddie haha. The songs as well, I really love Make You Believe In Me and Bless Myself because Lucy's voice match the song, and its orgasmic to the ears.

I've seen reviews from parents saying that they watched it with their kids, and had been disappointed. Well I don't get that perspective since I watched this movie alone before, so there's no one to bother me haha.

Aside from that, the evil stepsister looks like an ugly version of Ashley Tisdale and the evil stepmom is okay, not gonna comment so much about her.

All in all, the movie is about the songs as indicated in the title. But now, I'm re-watching it, still my favorite, however its already 2020 and kept wondering why Lucy Hale is not that famous before and until now with Katy Keene. There had been 7 seasons of PLL but beyond that, its like nothing else after that.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Trite, of course, but the music is good
lisafarina13 March 2019
No one should expect anything ground-breaking out of any type of "Cinderella Story" -- so I am not docking points for that.

The antagonists, especially the step-monster, chew the scenery so badly that it's cringe-worthy. I really like Missi Pyle normally, but not here.

Finally, there's something very ironic that the movie blasts lip syncing, and yet, the lip syncing of the main characters is awful. I'm not saying that they aren't singing, but it's clear that they are not singing while acting. Further, the "live" performance at the end is very heavily auto-tuned. It's sad, because I actually like the songs, but those two elements really bother me.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best films I've ever watched.
silvermistvio4 May 2019
It's another film based on the Cinderella story. And also it's directed by the same director who directed Selena Gomez's film, Another Cinderella Story. The difference is that this film is based on the song.

The story is the one we all already know, but when I watch it, I feel like it's the film which I have never watched. Even though I know the story, the film seems to be new.

The songs are so cool. Although it seems like original score a bit, but it still works and very good. I totally love Lucy Hale's voice and her songs.

Overall is that although it doesn't get very high rates, it's one of the best films I've ever watched. Totally worth spending time with.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Average movie
piotr-125-92359326 January 2014
Warning: Spoilers
You know what to expect from the start. Good girl (Cinderella), bad girl, bad boy and their mother. Prince charming that everyone is interested to meet and of course both girls want to have him. Problems - nothing is easy in life so there are some obstacles that a main character has to overcome. As usual - evil almost wins when the situation suddenly changes and good takes over and ... and they lived happily ever after.

The plot as you can see is standard/obvious with musical add-on which make it watchable.

Watchable if you like music, which in this case is good. Can't complain on acting either. The only reason for me to give it 5 stars is music. Easy, nice to watch it late evening in bed.

Do not expect too much and you won't be disappointed. One remark: I am almost 40, for kids it might be much better ;) Enjoy!
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Okay
samantharice25 February 2018
Not my favorite Cinderella Remake but it was okay it wants super duper cliche like a lot of the Cinderella remakes are but it was still cliche. It is probably my least favorite remake so far along with A Cinderella Story: If the Shoe Fits
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
If the voice matches!
Reno-Rangan4 July 2017
So this is the third film in the franchise of modern 'Cinderella' adaptation. It was not like a film series that follows from one film to another. All the films were individual and thematically same at the core, but told from different perspectives with different cast and characters. I have seen the previous two and they were not bad. Maybe you can say I watched it for Lucy, otherwise I was not interested in it.

A decent film, but you know, we know the story how everything's going to happen, which is the negative side of giving it a try. I felt they should have altered a bit with the more it to look like a real Cinderella story from the visual aspect. Like suspense between Cinderella and the prince. Though the step-family part was up to the satisfaction in a simple manner.

Now coming to that magical event, as this takes place in the modern world and without magics, I liked how they showed that part as much as realistically. But in the name of Bollywood/Indianess, they wrongly depicted everything. I mean the costumes, songs, choreography, all were close to Indian style, except the female costumes, which became Arabian nights. Because Indians won't cover their head or face, culturally or religiously. That was a big mistake and if you are a western viewer, this won't be an issue, so you might enjoy the film. I think it's an okay film, one time watchable film, but I would suggest previous films over this.

6/10
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed