Gold (2016) Poster

(I) (2016)

User Reviews

Review this title
130 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Capitalist adventure movie
rubenm9 April 2017
Essentially, 'Gold' is an old fashioned adventure movie. A hostile environment, changing fortunes, shifting alliances, unexpected adversaries, a seemingly betrayed friendship: it's all there. But the setting is out of the ordinary: it's the financial world with millions of dollars pumped into promising mining stocks. But those millions can just as quickly be withdrawn when the prospects change.

The adventurer in the midst of it all is Kenny Wells, son of a Nevada gold prospector and heir to an almost bankrupt mining company. In an all-or-nothing attempt, he travels to Indonesia for a meeting with a legendary drilling expert. The next step is to find the money required for the drilling. What follows, is a roller-coaster ride of successes and setbacks.

Matthew McConaughey is amazing as Kenny Wells, a raving maniac with a fearless can-do mentality and a complete lack of respect for Wall Street hotshots or mining moguls. This is one of his best roles ever, and it's worth an Oscar. You can see the doubt in the eyes of everyone he meets: is this a madman who doesn't know what he's up to, or a go-getter who doesn't give up until he reaches his goal? Wells is both, and McConaughey makes his complex character completely believable.

There are some extra layers in the story underlining this complexity: the relationship with his wife Kay, and the friendship with his business partner Mike Acosta. The latter is responsible for the spectacular ending of the story, with a really nice surprise in the last seconds.

The whole story is based on the Bre-X scandal, which hit the worldwide headlines in the nineties. Some details are changed, but on the whole the story follows the real events pretty accurate. The scandal was a prime example of excessive capitalist greed, and the film is a nice reminder of it.
49 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A lot of content, not a lot of substance
LordManhattan22 April 2017
First of, Gold is better than its IMDb rating and meta-score. I feel this movie is a victim of the studio going wild with a pair of scissors, trying to make it short(er) (even at 2 hours) to please the mainstream audience, but while doing that, this movie loses a lot of substance. Character development is lacking, apart from our protagonist, so it doesn't really feel like we get to know them. One moment we have a new (seemingly an important) character, and then he or she will either disappear or roam in the background. I guess that happens when you start cutting. I suspect there's a great version of this movie out there, and I'd rather watch a 3 hour version with everything included, than this. The movie also takes place in the late 80's(?) or early 90's, but I don't feel like time was important here, which makes things a little confusing. I have no idea if they've been at something for a week, a month, or five years.

The whole movie also feels a little rushed in the sense that it tries to get to the end as quickly as possible. It lacks the details; Slow down a little, speak to us, breathe. I want to know more, I want to see more, but it ends up being a National Geographic article instead of a book.

It's far from bad though, and it's an enjoyable watch. Just don't go in expecting a masterpiece.
66 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Underrated movie with Matthew McConaughey at his best!
mratynski713 July 2017
I don't know why this movie has been underrated so much. It deserves at least 8. If you liked Blow, or Wolf of Wall Street... this is just as good! Maybe not so deep story, but still, amazing Matthew does what he's supposed to.

Don't follow the ratings and check this out!
77 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Editing issues?
Top_Dawg_Critic11 February 2017
I am shocked at the low IMDb score for this movie as I enjoyed every aspect of it... the acting, directing, cinematography etc 'except' for the editing (sound and cutting room).

The problem started with the very choppy scene changes and the cut- short dialogue. There were too many back and forth timeline changes and they were very poorly transitioned.

What I really question is how the synopsis has much more information than what was in the film. Did that viewer see a different extended version of the movie I just watched? Don't get me wrong, it really filled in a lot of gaps that otherwise wouldn't have been filled in for me to truly understand certain parts and fully enjoy the movie. Every 30 min or so I'd go catch up on the synopsis before continuing the movie and it really did help.

I also had a very difficult time understanding the dialogue as it was either too low or too muffled (or Matthew was whispering too low).

So although I really did enjoy this movie, I felt a lot of key parts ended up on the cutting room floor that thankfully the synopsis filled in, and the sound (dialogue) needed some tweaking to be more understandable.

7.5/10 rounded up to 8 for the current undeserving low score.
29 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Actually a pretty entertaining movie
mwinglunchan21 March 2017
I actually thought this was a pretty good movie, despite the relatively low ratings. Both McConaughey and Ramírez played very well, also good to see Stoll in this movie. The story was entertaining, never a dull moment (unlike Moonlight, sorry, but that was really boring and I believed the rave reviews...). Anyway, it was worth seeing it!
112 out of 135 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
memberberries
SnoopyStyle1 September 2017
Inspired by the Bre-X scandal, it's 1988 Reno. Hard drinking Kenny Wells (Matthew McConaughey) and girlfriend Kay (Bryce Dallas Howard) are struggling. He's a lifelong wildcat prospector working for his respected father until his sudden death. With nothing left in business, he goes to Indonesia and connects with geologist Michael Acosta (Édgar Ramírez) who has a revolutionary theory. They head into the jungle and become gold mining legends.

I do remember Bre-X. Some of it came back to me along with the movie. I remember one of the reporters telling the story of a souvenir core sample. They handed out samples to reporters and investors. As the scandal broke, they went back to test those samples. I think there is a missing character. It needs an investigative reporter who uncovers the scandal. Kenny and Kay's breakup seems abrupt. The second half seems a bit rushed although the two hour running time probably forced some cutting. McConaughey may be trying too hard shooting for an award. There is a compelling character story here if not fully realized as a thriller.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
This film may not be a nugget, but it's worth watching if you don't have to dig too deep Warning: Spoilers
"Gold" is an American movie in the English language from 2016 and the most recent directorial effort by Oscar-winning writer Stephan Gaghan. He was not in charge of the screenplay this time, but the script is by Emmy nominees Massett and Zinman. It runs for pretty much two hours exactly and Oscar-winning actor Matthew McConaughey is basically in every scene during these 120 minutes. I must say I enjoyed the watch pretty much, even if the formula behind the film is more simple than it may seem. It's basically all about the ups and downs of the protagonist. Up#1: He is having a great job at a prestigious prospector mostly thanks to his dad. Down#1: His dad is dead and he is low on money not finding any investors. Up#2: He reunites with a partner in an attempt to find gold. Down#2: He suffers from malaria and the workers leave. Up#3: The workers return, they find gold and he is healthy again. Down#3: A rich company uses its political connections to "steal" all the gold. Up#4: With the help of a politician's son, he manages to get the gold back and also receives a prestigious award. Down#4: It all proves to be a scam and the protagonist is a victim just like everybody else, except his partner. Up#5: The fact that there will be no criminal proceedings apparently and the final letter.

So yeah, it's a roller coaster of emotions for McConaughey's character here and he gives a pretty strong performance that is deserving of awards attention too, though probably not as much as his Oscar-winning turn because the subject is also not really that significant by today's standards. As for the story, there may have been one or two plot twists too many eventually, but it's okay if you don't really look for extremely great depth or so. Not that there isn't any, but the film is at times just a bit for the sake of it and may take itself a tad too seriously. There are some comedy moments too with everything about the protagonist like the yellow roses scene. But McConaughey plays a really likable character I think and especially his private life when it comes to romance depicts him as somebody worth cheering for. He is dedicated, his name means more to him than money and he is also not scared of hard labor to reach his goals. The wrong decisions he makes perhaps really only result from people next to him that have a negative impact on him like the promiscuous journalist woman or Stoll's character. It's maybe accurate to describe the central character as a mix of a raccoon and King Midas in this story. I also think the last shot is really interesting as you can still debate if he was in it the whole time or just got lucky with his former partner sending him half of the money. Of course, he will not give it back, but at that point, if he wasn't in on it all the time, you like the character enough that you won't blame him for it. The film may not make a powerful statement on greed (like TWBB for example) even if it really wants to, but that's fine as it succeeds sufficiently in other areas instead, maybe even some where it did not really try to.

Anyway, after talking so much about McConaughey's character, let's also say a few words about Edgar Ramirez ("Carlos"). I quite like him and I think he did a great job with the character. This was pretty tough as his character makes pretty much the biggest waves when he is visually out of the picture, namely in the last 20 minutes, but I think Ramirez holds his own very well next to McConaughey despite not having great material to work with at all. And that means quite something as McConaughey's transformation from weak cheesy romance movie actor to one of Hollywood's finest is something that cannot be denied. Also some good supporting players in here like Keach and Nelson and even the annoying one from "Veep" was somewhat bearable here. Eventually, I would not say it is one of the best films of the year, but still worth checking out, especially if you like Matthew McConaughey. It is somewhat true that these days you cannot really go wrong with him. Alright, alright, alright, watch it!
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
McCounaghey never stops
PetarNeo4 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
An easy example of how everybody goes mad around gold is this movie that tells a story about massive if can be called fraud but more trick played. Kenny Wells (Matthew McCounaghey) is a successor of company that deals with findings of minerals and making profits outs of it and as time went by they were running deeper and deeper into a hole. After all hopes are lost Kenny decides to take a big risk and travel to Indonesian to meet with Michael Acosta. Michael (Edgar Ramirez) is a geologist that has belief that gold is somewhere in forests in Indonesia so he gets Kenny to turn everything around and help him dig that out. After being sick for many weeks and almost dying and when all hopes seemed lost Edgar bring a happy news. They found gold so now only thing that needs to be done is to find someone to finance that digging and there comes Jeff Jackson (Timothy Simons). He gets so hooked up to idea that there is a massive gold lying somewhere around that he manages to get a lot people in buying stocks of Wells company. Everything was going great but after discovery that it was all set up by Edgar and that he got away with ton of money movie just gets mad. There is everybody being tricked by one guy and story losses it power because of fact that they all forgot to check report and analyse in their greed and belief in him. Including love life of Kenny and his girlfriend Kay in story was something that should not be bigger focus but at times it felt that way. Story seems great and there is some of good dialogue but it lacks in focus on importance of things but feels surreal and silly to even happen. Ending was a huge improvement in story and it probably lift character of Edgar. 2.5/4
20 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
All that shines ... no wait, that's not it
kosmasp5 August 2017
Based on a real story and what a story it is. It's about the pitfalls of working hard for your success, but while focusing on the big picture forgetting about smaller details. And it's being made clear early on in the movie, that something will happen. And still the attention the movie demands is high. It's not like you will outright know where this is going (unless you know the original story that is of course).

Matthew is playing Gold league in this (no pun intended). His performance is central, because you have to feel the urge and determination the character feels. You may not always understand his motives or why he keeps on chasing that dream. But that's character trait for you. Being focused on one thing can easily be called a negative thing. If you can't see anything else around it. Of course, if you are fixated that will happen eventually, but not until you either achieve what you set out to do or crash very badly. Or maybe both? Well that's for you to find out, if you like your drama slow paced and unnerving, but as gripping as it gets
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Finding GOLD in Indonesia.
TxMike7 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
My wife and I watched this at home on DVD, a Redbox rental.

Although this story was strongly inspired by real events it is in fact fictional with fictional characters, sort of composites of several real characters. In the 1990s a small Canadian company really did get with a prospector to find GOLD in the wilds of Indonesia.

In this story Matthew McConaughey is Kenny Wells, more than a bit haphazard in his approach to life and to business. But he is enamoured with GOLD, as he says at one point the money didn't really matter to him, he wanted to mine GOLD, lots of it.

He looks up a prospector, Edgar Ramírez as Michael Acosta. Kenny is a persuasive salesman and with the help of his friends manages to raise several hundred thousand dollars. They start the prospecting, which involved taking a number of core samples in a region where GOLD is sometimes found by panning in the river.

I like McConaughey and he is great here as a man who sometimes made seemingly very irrational decisions. Like turning down a $300Million buy-out because his name would no longer be attached to the mining operation. Interesting movie, well worth a watch, and pretty Bryce Dallas Howard is good as Kay, Kenny's girlfriend and wife.

SPOILERS: The core of the story mirrors what happened in the real world. Assays of core samples continued to show small amounts of GOLD, but enough to estimate 10Million ounces of recoverable gold. That would be $Billions of GOLD. Problem was, Acosta was "seeding" the crushed core samples, using gold shavings from his ring, then some gold he bought from villagers. In fact there was no gold in the ground, it was all a scam. Found out, the Indonesian government had him taken up in a helicopter and dropped out at 1000 feet, his body later found partially eaten by wildlife. When Kenny looked up Kay again, she had some mail for him, one from Acosta included a check for $82Million, drawn on a foreign bank. He had sold much of his stock before the fraud was exposed and as a 50/50 partner sent Kenny his share. Did Kenny get the money? We will never know!
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Another notable McConaughey turn can't save this drama
eddie_baggins14 June 2017
A few years ago a performance like the one Matthew McConaughey delivers here in Stephen Gaghan's based on a true tale Gold would've created quite a stir.

It's a credit to the actor, who resurrected his career from the doldrums of so-so romcoms, Surfer Dudes and other forgettable affairs to all of a sudden become an Oscar winning and HBO headlining legend but with that career revival has come an expectation that McConaughey going method and fully inhabiting his characters is the normal and therefore less of an event that it was, a mere few years ago.

No more so evident than in the fact Gold came and disappeared with very little fanfare in the awards season rush at the end of 2016, McConaughey chewing up the scenery wasn't enough to draw people into the cinemas, as the beer bellied, hair thinning and sweaty thespian found himself being the best thing about a so-so film that never feels completely assured of itself.

Telling the rather complex story of struggling 1980's American prospector/mining magnate Kenny Wells, who found fame and wealth by teaming up with prospecting master Michael Acosta in the jungles of Indonesia, Syriana director and Traffic screenwriter Stephen Gaghan never pieces together the many various elements of Well's story into a satisfactory whole as events come and go and Well's journey takes its twists and turns.

As is with any film in the vein of Gold, it's always a fine balance for a filmmaker to strike the perfect line between pandering to an audience or keeping them in the dark and unfortunately for Gold there ends up being too many times where we're left in the lurch a little by the plights affecting Well's while some scenes in the film that feel hugely important to the whole scheme of things, often feel underutilised or passed over which leaves the trials and adversities of this American mogul emotionally unengaging.

What can't be denied in the film however is the aforementioned work of McConaughey, who's a joy to watch as Wells, the car crash waiting to happen.

In a loaded cast that includes an underused Bryce Dallas Howard as Well's long-suffering girlfriend Kay, Edgar Ramirez as Acosta, Corey Stoll as Wall Street player Brian Woolf and Toby (needs a new agent) Kebbell as FBI investigator Paul Jennings, McConaughey stands head and shoulders above the rest and while its far from his best turn over recent years, it's a quality actor that can deliver such above average performances on cue, as McConaughey does here.

Sometimes clad in nothing more than some worn-out white underpants or looking dishevelled beyond belief, McConaughey's turn as Well's deserves a better film and showcases what might've been for Gold had it managed to match the chaotic nature of its main character and the commitment of its on form leading man.

Final say –

Digging up another memorable McConaughey turn, Gold doesn't strike it rich due to tonal issues and a lack of emotional engagement but Gaghan's slightly disappointing film is still an often intriguing true story made all the better by the work of its leading man.

3 pot bellies out of 5
15 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
So-so crime/treasure hunt movie fails to connect
paul-allaer29 January 2017
"Gold" (2016 release; 118 min.) brings the story of Kenny Wells. As the movie opens, we are "1981, Reno, Nevada", where we get to know Kenny, working at his dad's company, a mining outfit called Washoe Mining. We then move to "Seven Years Later". Kenny is having no luck finding underwriters for his next project. One day, he has a dream to go to Indonesia to find gold. He teams up with geologist Mike Acosta. When Kenny at a certain point is having doubts about their quest, Mike reminds him: "there is no right or wrong, just hits and misses". At this point we are 15 min. into the movie but top tell you more of the plot would spoil your viewing experience, you'll just have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

Couple of comments: the movie is "inspired by true events", we are told. To me that typically means "loosely inspired by true events", and we really have no idea how much of what we see on the big screen really happened or not. If anything, Hollywood takes this artistic license to tighten up the story line and dramatize it for our entertainment purposes. Sadly, director Stephen Gaghan (best known for his Oscar-winning script "Traffic") is not able to deliver on that promise. The movie is essentially a two-in-one: the search for gold (the initial 45 min.) and what happens after gold is found. The first part of the movie is a snoozer. Why? because we know going in that gold will be found! The second part is better, with a couple of nice twists towards the end. But even then, at no point did I feel emotionally interested in any of it, despite an all-out engaged (and chain-smoking) Matthew McConaughey in the lead role. Bryce Dallas Howard plays his on-and-off romantic interest/girlfriend. Keep your eye out for Craig T. Nelson (playing Kenny's dad). The photography (with Thailand standing in for Indonesia) is beautiful. There is also tons of great music in the film, both as tho the original score (composed by Daniel Pemberton), and song placements, both old and new (including a new Iggy Pop tune, "Gold", that plays over the movie's end titles).

"Gold" opened wide this weekend, and the Saturday early evening screening where I saw this at here in Cincinnati was attended okay. I really don't see this playing very long in theaters, but if you are in the mood for a crime/treasure hunt movie, you may want to give this a chance on VOD or eventually on DVD/Blu-ray.
20 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
'Gold' is bronze at best
areatw8 September 2017
The synopsis of this film couldn't be more misleading. This is NOT 'a journey to find gold in the uncharted jungle of Indonesia', like the synopsis suggests. It's more like an office drama set in the big city, with only sporadic scenes of actual gold hunting. It has completely the wrong focus and is told in a way that the viewer can't help but feel detached from everything that's happening on screen.

Part of the problem is that this film is supposed to be based on a true story, yet the whole thing feels like pretentious Hollywood crap. It's dull and emotionless. The entertainment in this film is restricted to only a few scenes, while the rest of the film is just extended scenes of dialogue, which the audience couldn't care less about.

Speaking of the dialogue, a lot of scenes at the start of 'Gold' are mumbled and difficult to understand, which only added to my dissatisfaction.
22 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not very engaging
neil-47615 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Heavy smoker and prospector Kenny Wells teams up with Mike Acosta and when they find gold, Kenny runs the risk of being outsmarted by big business.

Inspired by a true story (it says here), Matthew McConaughey undergoes a physical transformation every bit as comprehensive as the one in his Oscar-winning Dallas Buyers Club performance. I don't think he will be getting an Oscar for this one, though - it is seriously hammy. McConaughey can do subtle, but does not do so here. He appears to be having fun, but in the same way someone playing the villain in panto has fun.

The story is quite a good one - the search for gold, the things in Kenny's make-up which drive him, the scheming and plotting and serial outwitting which goes on once the find is established, and the twisty resolutions to the tale - but the telling of it is dragged out a little too long. It's a bit of a puzzle, because there are some extremely good directorial touches, but something in the telling is distinctly off. The film should have been much better than it is.

The best thing in it, in my view, is Bryce Dallas Howard as Kenny's wife, who doesn't actually want the things which drive Kenny. Hers is a performance of touching and understated emotion, and a likeable character in the middle of a cast of characters who are largely fairly repellent.

There are some good things in this movie, but I can't honestly recommend it.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Entertaining Yet Uninspired.
trublu2151 January 2017
Gold is, by far, the oddest film of the Oscar season. It's not good enough to be featured with some other award-based films yet it is far from being a bad film. It's just a very uninspired piece of filmmaking that had an excellent script and a great cast to it, yet no flavor to the filmmaking here. It is a standardized piece that serves as a lackluster love letter to Martin Scorsese and David O. Russell without ever really admitting it. Majority of this film is spent watching McCounaughey's Kenny Wells as he maneuvers through businessmen that want him to be put down, political groups that want to steal his fortune and friends he can barely trust. It sounds like an amazing film and it could have been had Gaghan not directed this film himself. Every frame that passes, it feels like Gaghan was either worried about feeling too much like Scorsese or worried that it wasn't enough like Scorsese. Either way, we know where his influences lie here. Honestly, you're better off watching The Wolf of Wall Street, if you're hoping for something like that.

Stephen Gaghan is a very talented writer, he's given us very layered stories with very interesting characters but this particular topic feels like it went over his head. It is never engaging enough to sustain lasting power. McConaughey and the rest of the cast do a fine job, nothing outstanding but fine nonetheless. This was probably the most disappointing part of this film. Over the past 5 years, Matthew McConaughey has given us more than enough reason to love his performances. They're layered, they're relate-able and, most of all, they're acted to perfection. This performance, in which he trades in his slim physique for a bloated, overweight and balding man. Right off the bat, this may have been a physically demanding role for McConaughey and he does put his all into his performance but it still doesn't match the caliber of his previous performances. His dedication is clear but it still didn't feel like the great performance we thought he could give in this film which comes back to the issue of Gaghan's direction.

Overall, Gold is far from a bad movie. There are cool scenes in it that are bound to interest you even if it's for a little bit. But this is a film that comes down to a problem with the director. Gaghan, while being a very talented writer, has a hard time determining his own vision for a film that had many chances to be great but failed to really capitalize on any of its strengths. By the end of the film, you won't feel cheated out of your ticket money but I'm sure you won't feel all that good about it either.
65 out of 125 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
loosely based on a true story of unmitigated greed
blanche-227 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Matthew McConaughey, Edward Ramirez and Bryce Dallas Howard star in "Gold" from 2016, based on the Bre-X gold mine scandal in Canada.

After his father dies and the fourth-generation prospecting business goes belly-up, Kenny Wells (McConaughey) does not want to give up on his dream of finding gold in them thar hills.

He approaches a well-known geologist, Michael Acosta (Ramirez) and talks him into partnering with him. Michael hasn't found gold either but thinks he knows where in Indonesia to look.

Wells manages to get a few investors and the two go to work, but without luck. It's looking like another failure, especially when the workers quit. Knowing they need fresh water in their community, Michael lures them back to work by providing purifying systems for them.

Wells contracts malaria and is out of it for weeks. But when he is well, he learns that Michael has found gold. Their subsequent success is enormous.

This is one of those pathetic stories we've seen and heard about a million times - Enron, Madoff, etc., etc., where no one questions anything because -- as Wells says at the end -- everyone is making too much money. This to me was one of the more outrageous stories. It's amazing to me that enormous corporations will buy into anything, no matter how stupid, if they think they can make a few dollars.

The film is entertaining, with McConaughey a vision with his shaved head, 45-pound weight gain and false teeth, giving a fine performance as a man who looks like a loser and kind of acts like one. Ramirez is subtle and underplayed, in good contrast to the bombastic Kenny.

Nice ending.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very good, especially its intrinsic elements
alanpgini28 June 2017
What got me about this flick, was the whole risk element. When your at your very lowest, with nothing left to lose, then risking everything, isn't too difficult. Matthew McConaughey is brilliant as he always is. The mystery of his ability is different from other actors. He looks, talks and seems very much the same in all his roles, yet somehow makes you believe he is that person. Bryce Howard also gives a good performance. Her physical appearance is trans-formative, and you clearly would never recognize her. This movie combined the elements of a treasure hunt, and the allure and adventure of the find, with a corporate thriller. Realism, however, prevents me from going higher. I'm already stretching it with rating it an 8. The strange ups and downs that happened, along with the not so surprise of an ending, is the stretch that leaves it at the 8 point. Nonetheless, its highly entertaining, and I recommend it just as highly.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Dull Gold
bankofmarquis6 February 2017
In recent years, Matthew McConaughey has rehabilitated his career and his reputation by appearing in quality motion picture after quality motion picture with interesting characters and characterizations.  This "McConaissance" (as it was called) was capped by his Academy Award winning performance in THE DALLAS BUYERS CLUB.

With his latest film, GOLD, the bright lights of the McConnaissance have dimmed.

GOLD tells the "inspired by true events" story of Kenny Wells, a prospector, desperately search for the "big score".  When he encounters Geoligist Michael Acosta, he goes "all in" for the big score.

Sound like an interesting premise, right?  Unfortunately, under the misguided direction by Stephen Gaghan (writer of Syriana and Traffic) this premise slogs along for it's 2 hour timeframe and barely lifts above a mild eyebrow raise.  

The movie theater we saw this flick in has recently installed the reclining "comfy" chairs.  My buddy fell asleep for 10 minutes during the dullest part of this dull film.  When he awoke he asked "what did I miss".  I answered "unfortunately, not much".

McConaughey must of sensed this dullness for he tries to go over the top to give this film something interesting at the center to watch.  However, it is not NEARLY enough to rescue things.  Either McConaughey needed to go WAY FURTHER over the top to give it a "Leonardo DiCaprio as Jordan Bellfort" gonzo-ness, or he needed to be reigned WAY in.  Where they settled made McConaughey look like he was just over- acting.

As an aside - to both performer and director - constantly showing McConaughey in his "tighty whities" does not an interesting character trait make.

As for the other performers, Bryce Dallas Howard, as McConaughey's wife, was strong in a role that needed to have more screen time.  Edgar Ramirez, as Geologist Acosta, was bland in a role that needed to be interesting and Corey Stall, Toby Kebbell and Bill Camp all put in "paycheck" performances - professional, but otherwise unremarkable.  Only character actor Adam LeFevre manages to make an impression.

If you are looking for a good nap, check out GOLD in a theater with "comfy seats"  otherwise, you can skip this GOLD strike.

Letter Grade:  C

4 (out of 10) stars and you can take that to the Bank (OfMarquis)
32 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Gold!
madpea24 April 2017
I don't have much to say about the movie as I think a 10 probably says it all. Firstly I'll just say this about Matthew McConaughey...He is an amazing actor..full stop. I would even go further to say, probably one of the best actors of this generation. If this movie was put forward in this year's Oscar's, portraying Gold prospector Kenny Wells, I have no doubt Matthew would have won best actor, hands down! The movie itself was fantastically shot with amazing props and costumes representing the 80's era perfectly. Something else that caught my ears was the amazing soundtrack. Not the normal songs you would hear from an 80's era movie, by a very alternative soundtrack. Artists like Iggy Pop, Joy Division and The Pixies, just to name a few. The movie itself..watching it I had this feeling of gunning for the underdog in the big world of stocks and commodities, however the film never really delved deep into the impact of what these companies have on the smaller communities, which is obviously a deliberate path...definitely worth a watch and if you had any doubt of McConaugheys acting...just watch this.
26 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The Wolf of Boredom (Not Engaging and Pretty Dull)
brankovranjkovic4 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Very loosely based on a true story of a gold miner in the pursuit of striking gold in Indonesia. This film is set in 1988 and stars Matthew McConaughey as the protagonist Kenny Wells, whose driving ambition is to strike gold in a big way.

He has a dream, but not just in terms of determination, he actually has a dream and decides 'I must follow that dream at any cost!' He discovered the largest gold find of the decade, his wealth is unimaginable. Then it all starts going wrong.

It turns out that his geologist partner was 'salting' the extracted rock samples to give the impression of a great gold find. The rock analysis results could not be recreated, and so the FBI is called in.

The FBI extensively question Kenny for fraud over several days, but eventually release him due to lack of evidence. However, you're left wondering whether he was always in on it, especially when he gets a cheque for half the $164,000,000 swindled money. But then you can't help wondering how he's ever going to cash in the enormous cheque with the FBI closely watching his every move!

McConaughey is a great method actor, and for this character he puts on 47lbs around his belly, he's seen constantly drinking, chain smoking, and has very thinning hair. The furthest from his normal superstar heartthrob self that you could imagine.

This film looks like another made for TV drama, I didn't care about the character's or their eventual outcome. Many scenes frequently involve painful episodes of over-acting. Unfortunately this film looks like any other rags to riches and back to rags type of film, think of The Wolf of Wallstreet but nowhere near as good.

Would not watch again and would not recommend.
35 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Gold fever!
deloudelouvain10 April 2017
Story based on true events, that alone makes it more interesting to watch for me. Add on that that my wife is from Reno, Nevada and that she knows a couple of Wells families from when she was young and you get a movie that will get my attention. But that's not a guarantee it will be a good movie. But it was, with strong acting from Matthew McConaughey as Kenny Wells the main character in Gold. Sometimes it gets a bit complicated with all those bank terms but you get the point even if you are like me not interested at all in that kind of business. The story has a couple huge twists that you don't see coming and that's a good thing. If half of this story is true I can imagine the devastation it will have made in some families at that time. Good acting with a solid story, certainly worth a watch.
8 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Gold Currency
MrGoodMovie17 June 2017
If you don't already know the story retold in "Gold", do not research this film before you watch it, and don't read any "spoiler" reviews.

You will find it a far more rewarding journey as you get sucked in to the surreal world of prospecting portrayed in this masterpiece.

Whilst gold is but one of many precious metals prospected for down the ages, it just seems to hold a special place in our hearts, and this film is a perfect illustration of that.

Many modern-day politicians and economists would have us believe that gold is not a currency and is of limited value to us. Look no further than this movie for compelling evidence to the contrary. That the mere potential for discovering a rich seam of the yellow metal beneath our feet has us all a quiver.

There are many different angles from which one could review this film, most of which can't be explored in a review that implores you to watch it unburdened by any prior knowledge of the subject matter.

However, the main angle for me is one that is easily shared either pre or post watching this great movie. It is that gold definitely is a currency in its own right, and always will be, no matter how much the politicians and economists tell us otherwise.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Such a cold finger / Beckons you to enter his web of sin
bombersflyup19 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Gold is a good film, with an engaging real story.

A good story told well. McConaughey and Ramirez both excellent in their roles. Consistently good music throughout, I recall bopping along having never heard any of it before. Perhaps it could of expanded on character depth outside of Kenny. Bryce for example has a pretty limited role, but I have no negatives to say about the film.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Slightly amusing, but also slightly a bore.
Hellmant1 February 2017
'GOLD': Three and a Half Stars (Out of Five)

A crime-drama-adventure about a desperate businessman, who teams with a geologist to find gold in the jungles of Indonesia. It's based on a true story, from 1993. The film was directed by Stephen Gaghan (who also helmed 2005's 'SYRIANA'), and it was written by Patrick Massett and John Zinman (two veteran TV writers). The movie stars Matthew McConaughey, Edgar Ramirez, Bryce Dallas Howard, Corey Stoll, Stacy Keach, Bruce Greenwood and Toby Kebbell. It's received mostly negative reviews from critics, and it's also been a disappointment at the Box Office. I found it to be slightly amusing, but it's also slightly a bore.

Kenny Wells (McConaughey) was an unlucky businessman, who always dreamed of finding gold. He tracked down a geologist, by the name of Michael Acosta (Ramirez), and talked him into going into business with him. The two then traveled deep into the jungles of Borneo, to look for gold together. They're adventure became a huge story in 1993.

The movie starts out interesting, and it ends interesting as well. It's not always involving, or entertaining, in-between though. The performances are all decent, especially McConaughey (who always gives 110 percent), and it's always nice to look at also. I definitely wouldn't say it's a waste of time, or anything like that, but it's also nothing special either. It's not as bad as the bad reviews make it out to be though.

Watch our movie review show 'MOVIE TALK' at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1M9osPwjfbM
7 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
An inconsistent film
jtindahouse11 February 2017
'Gold' has very uneven tone about it. There are periods that are bordering on cringe-worthy, some dialogue that is bland and uninspired, and some pretentious moments where the film acts as if it's Best Picture worthy at the Academy Awards. Conversely, there are some very good scenes at times, and an ending that certainly gives the film a lot more weight. There were two writers for this film and it almost feels like one would write one scene while the other would write another section of the movie altogether, both with varying degrees of quality.

This was an interesting role for Matthew McConaughey. We know he's tried to achieve a make-over of his career, and has done a very good job of it. Gone are the days where he was simply showing up to be the charming guy in a lifeless script and collect a paycheck. Still here, I didn't think he was quite at his best. To be fair some of the dialogue he had to deliver was pretty terribly written and would have been difficult for anyone to pull off. Even still, his performance just felt a little off to me.

It's hard to judge an inconsistent film. Overall I'd say it leans more towards being a badly made film than a good one. There was a story to be told here (it's based on a true story), but I just think the way they structured it left a little to be desired. An enjoyable and clever ending does boost it up a bit in quality, but it's still not enough to entirely save it.
10 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed