Blue Exorcist (TV Series 2011–2012) Poster

(2011–2012)

User Reviews

Review this title
17 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
you wont get bored
kishoresrk-mhn-355-58017226 December 2012
This is my first review and this is the third anime i watched after death note and code geass. In comparison to them i know this is not up to their level but i enjoyed it a lot and i was so shocked to see that no one wrote a review on it yet. i never got bored watching this soap, every one of the 25 episodes are interesting unlike death note and code geass where due the impact of the previous episodes i got bored in middle episodes which are a little bit slow but they again caught the momentum and ended beautifully although i dint like the ending of code geass or i would say its inconclusive. But with blue exorcist its not like that it got better and better by each episode.

one of the main reason i liked it is that it made me nostalgic for harry potter. there are a lot of things in this soap which are identical to harry potter like the school rin attends which is so identical to Hogwarts and classes and teachers are also so identical to hogwarts. It teaches about friendship like potter and teaches that group effort is always superior to solo effort.

It has got all elements which one may look for in a good anime such as action, fantasy, comedy, drama and a little bit romance. usually i don't like comedy in anime as they some times over react to normal situations to induce comedy and it kills the scene some times but comedy in this soap is appropriate and perfectly placed. They tried avoiding comedy in serious scenes which is good for that reason every scene played well. I stopped watching fairy tale and full metal brotherhood due to such type of comedy. i was surprised to see that they stopped this show after only 1 season. I hope they reprise this how as soon as possible, i am waiting for the sequel so eagerly.

last word: you will never regret watching this show because i didn't
26 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thumbs up for Blue Exorcist!
delaney_stuart26 March 2013
Probably one of the best shows I have ever seen. I watched it because of recommendation from a friend. Finished the whole series after I watched every single episode in a row. Every question you could ask was answered. The only one I have is "what do I do now?" You become instantly attached to Rin and Yukio and every main character. The final episode is very fulfilling and does not leave you angry that the creators left something out. It only leaves you yearning for more. Blue Exorcist epitomizes everyone's desire for adventure, strength, and acceptance, and that's why people of every genre could enjoy Blue Exorcist. If you haven't seen a single episode, I recommend giving the first couple episodes a try. And once you start, you won't be able to stop. Go watch it! Right now!
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Emotions are for chumps, Demons speak with hellfire.... and hugs
declanwolfx15 October 2015
The first two episodes are pretty good and quite intense. It was the kind of thing I would expect to scar people for a long time, if it happened to them. However the main character, Rin, doesn't seem to phased by it and neither should you, because it doesn't remain that intense. Allot of the time it is quite light hearted and hugs solve allot of problems.

Generally the series is very short and as such all of the character's emotional turmoil is dealt with pretty quickly. In fact the main characters main emotions are righteous anger and puppy mode, which you might not realize you will love but you probably will. This doesn't mean there aren't any emotions, just don't expect characters to be discussing their feelings that much. The main struggles characters face are to do with friendship, how they deal with their past and finally understanding others. A good portion of the show is like a high school drama, all about making friends, passing tests and keeping secrets.

The end of the show really speeds up, this is because the anime overtook the manga and rushed to the end. It is not as bad as other endings that are like that but there are some things that are skipped and don't seem to the same.For example I feel weird saying Satan is not such a bad guy.

The demons are appropriately horrifying, excluding ones you are supposed to like. They look like they are part monkey and wag their tales like puppies. If you are watching subtitles hope they aren't in yellow like mine were because allot of the floors are yellowy. The English dub is fine except for the first two episodes where the voice acting is just less intense than what's going on.

In summary I liked it, I liked the characters, they were all pretty bad arse but still lovable. The premise and events were interesting and I thought about them a bit, but I was left thinking some things should have been explored more. Some things were a little freaky but there was plenty of cuteness too.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Dumb, yet entertaining.
invisibleunicornninja9 April 2018
This series is very entertaining. There is a lot of action and interesting concepts. There are a lot of scenes and episodes that are really dumb, but I just find it funny. I know that a lot of people would get frustrated to sit though 5 minutes of backstory for a cat in a semi-filler episode, but I just laugh through it. The animation is pretty good for the most part, and there is a lot of attention to continuity. The story has a lot of plot holes and continuity errors, but the animation is great. I can see how a lot of stuff in this series would make people annoyed, but I just find it funny. Even if you don't like every episode, this show is really entertaining. I would recommend this series.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Great Mix of Horror and Comedy
JudgeChaos27 April 2015
I'll be honest, finding a new anime to watch has always been hard for me. Starting a new anime is like getting into a hot tub, if you jump in too quickly, chances you'll sprint out as quickly as you hopped in. But if you slowly ease yourself in, you'll adjust to it and enjoy the experience. That's how it was when I started watching Blue Exorcist. As a fan of Soul Eater, I enjoy anime that can take themselves seriously, but know when to joke around, and are not heavy on nudity and swearing. And Blue Exorcist fits the bill. I like the characters, I like the set up. I only have two questions. 1: How can some exorcists summon demons when exorcists and demons are suppose to be enemies? And 2: Why do so many anime take place at schools? There's this one, Soul Eater, Kill la Kill, Ouran Host Club, etc. Anyway, I still enjoy this anime, and I highly recommend it if you loved Soul Eater.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
An entertaining series, despite being predictable
BoydudeReviews26 December 2018
I have to admit that I did find this show ok. The plot was pretty much your typical shonun jump series. A boy who is a half demon wants to become an exorcist and take down satin. Together with his brother, they enroll into a excorist school and learn the ropes of being an excorist. I have seen this type of story FAR too many times. But I feel like it is done quite well. The characters are enjoyable and charming, the animation is pretty good and the story is ok. I feel like the final few episodes felt a bit too rushed, but there is a reason. It dis suprise ke when I found out why the laet few episodes were rushed, but I will explain it in my Kyoto Saga review. This was the first anime in a long, LONG time were I actually watched the dub firsr. I do have mixed feelings with it, but not what yoy are thinking. Firsr off, I cannot stand any of the male voice acting, especially the really old characters. Rim's voice actor I think was the guy who voiced Eren Yeager in Attack on Titan and thought he sounded good. The only male character who sounded really good was Yukio. That voice acting waa one of the best male voice actors I have heard in a while. But that's it, all the male's sound AWFUL. On the other hand, all the female characters sound AMAZING, which is ironic. So, all in all, a pretty sub standard show, but if you are getting into anime for the first time, give thos show a watch.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
What a Delightful Series
belldave5026 June 2016
On paper, this show appears to be a number of clichés of the supernatural anime subgenre. Youths going to an exorcist academy to fight demons and the drama and hijinks that occur along the way. 9/10 times I find that type of anime to be very standard and underwhelming, but this series seemed to execute those cliche's in a manner that made this series surprisingly engaging.

I have a family member who went through film school who has told me that you can have the most derived and clichéd story, but it still can be superb, it's all about the execution.

Now this series was not even close to the stand out originality of series such as Cowboy Beebop, Attack on Titan, Trigun, and such but it stands on its own because of an engaging cast of characters, especially the two main characters. The twins.

This series may not go into the depth of some of the above mentioned series but it has great themes of friendship, being an outcast, family and such.

And I'm not much of a fan of the chibi thing, and it didn't at all get on my nerves or unnecessarily break from the drama as I've found in other shonen series with chibi.

Overall, not one of the top animes out there but highly recommend watching for any anime fans out there.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Unique Idea, betwixt some predictable tropes.
TheNameBrand1 June 2018
Season 1 (2011): When an action anime meets Christianity this happens. It's a really unique idea and it has some good scenes and sequences. I thought it could have done better at times and some parts were pretty predictable, but that's to be expected seeing as all the characters are high school age.

There's something for everyone to get out of it, however I wouldn't show it to someone who's never seen anime.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Nothing super deep, but fun to watch
williambendavis-933-21895814 December 2014
Blue Exorcist isn't really that spectacular and it has several problems, but that does not mean it is a terrible watch. You'll enjoy yourself while watching it, there just isn't, much more than pure entertainment. If you're okay with that then, you'll enjoy this show then I recommend it. If you don't like that, then don't watch it. Now on to the problems: I never felt like any of our characters really grew in their abilities throughout the show. In all honesty I felt their skill level was exactly the same from when they were fighting basic demons all the way to when they're fighting Satan. It might be forgivable for the side characters to not show that much growth as the main character is much more important, but our main character, Rin Okumura, doesn't show any advancement either, and I take serious issue with that. Next problem is the pacing. I think they tried to condense too much content onto too few episodes, which makes me wish there were about 50 episodes rather than 25. Towards the end things get really rushed. It's like one second everyone is still basically trainees then they're fighting the most powerful demon out there. I would have liked it to slow down and take its time. As I said before though, it does offer up a pretty decent dose of pure entertainment, so watch it if you have nothing better to watch. 6.8/10
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Smasher of Expectations
thomasjay-522776 March 2019
I first encountered this a few years back when I read a few volumes of the manga but eventually fell off track with the books as a whole, however I can happily say I'm glad I came back to this series. With this, the sequel film and follow up series "The Kyoto Saga" now available on Netflix I've decided to power through them and boy did I make the right choice! This show was truly a fantastic watch and easily up there with some of the best anime I've seen of all time. Fantastic character, deep and thoroughly established world, and an amazing spectacle/scale as the series unfolds it's a masterpiece to be honest. Apparently deviating off book much like Game of Thrones the handover is seemless and has a fitting end after setting the stakes at a ridiculous level, there's so much to say I could be here all day so I'll round it off by saying a few things, note that the final 6/7 episodes are discounted when watching the Kyoto Saga, secondly and finally definitely give this a watch
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An awesome new supernatural anime to watch
ja_kitty_7117 September 2017
I'm always on the look-out for new supernatural anime to watch or manga to read. Then I had come across pictures for this series was curious about it. I had come across the original manga and I thought it was really awesome; I had read up to volume seven. Of course I think both manga and anime series are awesome too.

It has been a long while since I had finished Season One on Netflix, but all I could remember is this: Raised by a priest exorcist named Shiro Fujimoto, Rin and Yukio Okumura are twin brothers living in a monastery. But during a demonic attack and Fujimoto getting possessed by Satan himself, Rin learns that he and his brother are in fact Satan's half-blooded sons. Then Fujimoto kills himself. So fueled by vengeance, Rin decides to become an exorcist himself to defeat Satan, and he enrolls in a cram school along with other would-be exorcists with Yukio as their professor.

You know I'd started to hate Izumo Kamiki for being a total b***h for making a fool out of Shiemi Moriyama (the main lady). Also I had thought Izumo's only friend Noriko Paku left cram school for just not keeping up, but also she the disappointment she has for her for the way she treated Shiemi, when she only wanted their friendship.

All in all, I love every bit of this awesome TV series, and I wish it was on North American DVD.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Blue Exorcist Review
officalfox7 October 2017
Blue exorcist is an anime full of laughs and excitement. It is very well animated and wrote. The issue I have is that it is the same old plot of "guy discovering powers to save the world." But over all it is quite enjoyable. I recommend this for legit fans of anime and people who love comedy. I give it a 8/10.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good enough
pennyelenabooks8 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
It's not easy to review an anime, but, this one can be described with a few words: it was good. The characters were lovable and the universe is interesting and full of action. However, the main key of this anime is the comic element that is all over the place. The main character, especially, is easily likable as he is easy going and funny. In addition, the animation is good, full of colour and fast fight scenes. Finally, the story is okay, kind of complicated towards the end, but I'm hoping that the next season will clear some things up, as the final episode kind of ended a bit short.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
wTF?
ihor-6274219 October 2019
I am atheist, but even i am angry as wolverine because those crazy japanise guys made satan and other demons nice guys. WTF? What next? They gonna make putin saint???? WTF?????
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
AMAZING
lozzad1 May 2019
Not much to say tbh, great plot, great animations great character concept! Rin and Shimi are my faves! Must watch!!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
No words
tomcrew-520935 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Blue Exorcist 2011 to 2012 Japanese anime staring Bryce papenbrook, Jun Fukuyama, Kana Hanazawa, Kazuya Nakai and many more

Story 8/10 Plot. The story revolves around Rin Okumura, who, along with his younger twin Yukio Okumura, was raised by Father Shiro Fujimoto, an Exorcist. One day, Rin learns that he and Yukio are the sons of Satan.

Characters 9/10 The reason why this show is amazing the character are some of the best I have seen in a while, but there is one problem I have is that there is too many of them, we don't need a lot the show is already good but besides that the character are amazing

Overall 10/10 Overall this show is amazing from the characters to the story, this show is original, I haven't seen anything like this before and even through season 3 is postponed due to the low income it doesn't matter but I hope we get it soon I miss this series and so do many fans i reviewed this show is 1080x1920p in English dub I have watched this at netflix But you can find this show at any relative manga websites

Tom crew
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Really good anime based on demon twins wanting to be exorcists!
Irishchatter1 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I really liked this demon based anime, it's the first time I've ever seen twins as the main characters so it was really exciting that they got to work together in order to kick their biological fathers ass lol. I was sad though that their adoptive father was killed by Satan himself and been dragged into "the pit of hell".

It was very interesting that the twin boys were different from each other. Rin is more like an arrogant inpatient dude who's always distracting himself whereas his twin brother Yukio is a focused individual who just wants to save the world and a pure gent! They are both badasses though don't get me wrong!

I even wanna say kudos to all the English dub actors, they were phenomenal in doing their jobs well as their characters! I thought the anime was really entertaining and very well done, I'm giving it a 8/10!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed