Born to Race (Video 2011) Poster

(2011 Video)

User Reviews

Review this title
27 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Excellent for small budget film
SeanDean23 September 2011
Better researched and more authentic than the first couple F&F movies, just less action.

I don't know where I found this movie, but I was expecting it to be terrible after reading the summary, yet it was surprisingly good. The acting was better than you get from half of the big studio releases lately, and despite the made-for-TV feel, and fairly predictable story, it all came together well didn't feel hokey or anything.

Even someone who knows a lot about cars can enjoy it because they apparently had some tech people involved who weren't idiots.

I gave it an 8 because it was way better than any attempt in this genre with a limited budget.
39 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Movie but already done
Slow-023 September 2011
I saw this movie on the cable video store and it caught my eye. I'm a car guy and have seen the Fast & Furious franchise movies amongst others. The movie starts off like F&F movie, in particular Tokyo Drift, with the LA Street Race scene. The kid ruins his life and makes a turn around, I'll leave it at that and you can get more from the synopsis.

What makes this movie great is they do use a mixture of Domestic and Import cars. The opening credits have one race with a late model mustang and late model Monte Carlo, which then has your imports. There are more scenes like that including a new 5.0, the last generation camaro, and some oldies, including a street race with a Belair and a Grand National. This Definitely something that does stand out from the other movies by not having just imports or having one single American muscle car.

Also another plus is the final scenes of the movie take place at the race strip, which in my opinion and through out this movie, is trying to get the underlying message that knuckleheads need to start taking this race scene back to the track instead of the streets.

Another point which no one has pointed out is the use of the 2011 Mustang in this movie. Older car buffs might see this. 20 yrs ago the, the competition was the Late Model 5.0 and the Buick Grand National, which are seen in this movie. The director does show that this rival lives on with the new 5.0 Mustang and now with the WRX Subaru. Just a little something to note, nothing to write home about.

Overall this movie is definitely worth renting or buying whether your a fan of the illegal race scene or fan of the F&F franchise. The movie holds its own and is not a let down like the Asylum movies "Street Racer" and "200 MPH"
25 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Born to race, but does it get a podium finish?
dan_miller8887 May 2012
Ever since the mainstream success of 2001's "The Fast and the Furious", street racing movies have been a recurring subject for big and small film studios alike. Despite the relative popularity of movies in this vein, they tend to draw the ire of "gearheads" (or petrolheads, for those across the pond) due to their questionable representation of cars, car culture, racing, and automotive technology. Whether it be nonsensical techno-babble, or impossible-to-reconcile vehicle physics, there tends to be a deluge of blind idiot errors or silly oversights that annoy those of us whose hearts pump synthetic oil rather than blood.

No movie is wholly immune to such things, but thankfully, "Born to Race" averts the aforementioned TFATF-esque ludicrousness. The research has clearly been done when it comes to the techno-babble strewn throughout the film. Moreover, car culture and drag racing is more or less accurately represented where other movies fall flat. The American muscle cars shown aren't the typical triumvirate of Mustang, Camaro, and Charger/Challenger (though these are certainly featured within). A Buick Grand National plays a significant role in the film, and is a recurring sight throughout, and there are scenes exhibiting an Oldsmobile 442, Chevrolet Bel Air and Nova, and even the Lil' Red Express 1979 Dodge D150 drag truck. In summation, the cars, car jargon, and car culture has a greater, more accurate representation than most Hollywood racer films.

The other large failing of many street racing-genre films is the catastrophically canned acting the leads and support dole out. While the script is nothing short of generic high school hero stuff, the acting is of an unusually high caliber. Lead Joseph Cross, of "Running With Scissors" fame, delivers a solid, if slightly weedy performance, and the big bad bully, played by Brando Eaton, does well with what he's given to work with. My personal favorite character, the father of the protagonist, played by veteran John Pyper-Ferguson, puts forth an excellent effort, managing to be lovable, despicable, and humorous all at once.

Where other street racer movies are a complete mess of poor acting and Wikipedia knowledge, Born to Race manages a solid cinema experience for a fraction of the cost of the big boys. I would recommend this film to any street racing/drag racing aficionados, as well as anyone who likes a decent high school hero drama-type story.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A movie I was able to enjoy
jjmonns27 May 2012
I have a hard time watching movies and TV shows anymore because of the facts are invented and the actors don't act like real people. I hated the Fast N furious movies because they weren't realistic at all. This movie might not have all the splash and dash but it still has a lot of good stuff that (as a person who has driven a WRX STI) I can see really happening. It is low budget and there is evidence of this, it also follows the same formula that nearly all movies follow but it is better than most. You can tell they went into great depths to keep the technical parts accurate and the details of sounds matching the cars were done well too. Many cars, such as the mustang and STI have VERY distinctive sounds and it was good to see that they matched them correctly. The story is good and the characters act like real human beings. For a "B" movie its better than most "A" movies.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
OMG It's Diet Fast N Furious
felixismyname16 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I've just finished watching this film and I am now going to put FnF5 on to purge my system of this Disney channel style film.

The plot takes hints of FnF - Toyko Drift , Kid gets caught racing by the cop's , mum's had enough and sends him off to live with his father , who he just happens to have not have seen for the last five years. The father is in this case an ex racer who blew it all and now sees his younger self in his son.

You then have your stereotype American high school with the cliché "bad guy" and his loyal goons. As per usual there is a girl who was with the bad guy and ends up with our hero ( Who is no Brian Walker no matter how hard they try ). A few twists and turns , an accident caused by sabotage and some self discovery mixed in with bonding with the father.

I'm going to stop there with the story and get into what these films should be about , and that's the cars and the racing. Now the race scenes are OK , but they lack the style and edge we have come to love with the FnF films. The hero's car , a very lovely 2004 Subaru Impreza "Hawk eye" is pretty cool and praise the lord the have the correct engine sound for it! The bad guy has a black 2011 Mustang , I mean common is this what they think as new and original?? It's the whole import v American V8 card being thrown down and played again "yawn".

To sum this film up , it lacks the depth and edge that FnF has been giving us for nearly 10 years , the actors are really B Movie standard , the script has come from a template from night school , so to sum it up , it's Diet Fast n Furious because all the good bits have been taken out and what we end up having is a disappointment and it tastes funny.
29 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
None of this far fetched stuff!
Tyson Smith28 September 2011
Very good movie, read a lot of intriguing predicaments about how bad it was going to be, But decided to watch it anyway. Less action then Fast and Furious movies, but none of this far fetched stuff, It's pure Japanese vs classic muscle, Acting is surprisingly good, Cars are decent, I highly recommend this film, Gave it a 9 due its lack of some racing. Hope to see a sequel of some sort! Set in a high school environment, really good for Teenagers to young adults. The movie has a few thrilling street racing moments, but for a film with a significantly small budget, it's quite good. If you loved Fast and Furious franchise, you'll love this. The Tuner vs Muscle climax is very exciting!
17 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
movie is quite enjoyable although predictable
ibebriguy18 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
You won't regret seeing this movie if you enjoy car racing and seeing bullies get their just due. I must admit I enjoyed this movie, although it followed the usual template of obnoxious young bullies, father who is "mean" in his son's eyes for not giving in to every little whim of his son,and teenage romance. The acting was not first rate, but passable. I would have liked to see more hard core car racing beyond mountainside twists and turns and drag strip straightaways. For example, the "drifting" in the parking garages in "Tokyo Drift" was amazing, and not seen in this movie. Although the movie was not a great love story, not a great car movie, and not a great revenge movie against bullies, it somehow worked in the end , and I thoroughly enjoyed it.
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Lame Fast & Furious Ripoff
jonsefcik8 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Half the reviews are like "this is a great movie" and I can't help but wonder why so many people think this is good. I'll admit, considering that it probably had a budget of a penny and a piece of string, the production value is okay, and the screenwriter clearly knows his car jargon.

The story is where things fall apart for me. Its like the first 5 minutes of Tokyo Drift (but even stupider) stretched out to 90 minutes. Who would want to watch that? A lot of the characters are unlikable and don't act logically. Why would Danny risk ruining his image with a sponsored racing company and his professional future by intentionally bringing their car to an illegal street race knowing there's a risk of wrecking it? I guess the movie wouldn't have a plot if he didn't. Jake is an egotistical jerk with an asshole father. Why would Danny's father let him compete in the drag race if he was caught street racing and he said earlier that he wouldn't sign him up for the race if he was caught street racing?

There are some technical flaws, too. In one scene a 2011 car is shown about to crash, but the car in the actual crash is a 2004-06 car of the same model (and its pretty obvious, too). I guess they couldn't afford a newer one or even a bodykit for the crash car. There's also a shot of Danny's Subaru at a stop sign with his turn signal on and you hear the clicking of the turn signal even though we're outside of the car. Why would they put that in?

There are other Fast & Furious ripoffs out there like Redline (which is also terrible) but those movies are at least fun popcorn entertainment with characters you can route for. I'm giving Born To Race such a low rating because it plays up this dumb high school drama with characters I want to punch in the face (played by actors who all look like they're 25) and tries to make it more serious than it is.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Read some poor reviews and.....
deryckbryan2 September 2012
Some of you are just ignorant and don't know what your talking about, its sad.

This is a pretty dang good movie for having next to no budget. And there are cars in this movie that are actually awesome, built rides unlike another street racing movie series....

I need to write more, so ill just let you know that a few of you posted some very untrue statements, which was awesome. I wont call you out because it must be nice living in your ignorant bliss. Wish i could do that.

So if your reading these, just watch the movie, give it a chance, there are no big names, but there are some recognizable faces.
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not too bad
ecliptic-vpn17 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This movie pulled me in. I won't say "It's not too bad", I'll say "It's pretty good".

The movie targets teenagers. That said, don't compare it to the Fast and Furious movies. Take the Fast and Furious crew and go back 10 to 15 years to when they were in high school and living under mom and dad's roof... then, you have Born to Race.

The cast is not Hollywood's hottest stars, but they give a good performance. The script and car knowledge is accurate. The only negative I have is: it's predictable. The kid gets in trouble with the police, mom sends him off to live with his father, the kid and his dad don't get along, now there's trouble at the new school... Now for my spoiler: Why did the mother let the kid take his car with him to his father's house? Bad parenting!
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Great movie, way better than Fast & Furious
cyguration11 May 2012
Gearheads may have been given a lot of trash-worthy action-racing titles lately, mostly all trying to rip and copy on Vin Diesel's Fast & Furious franchise. But the stupid part about it is that it seems like each one of those "street racing" movies get dumber by the sequel and stupider by the spin-off, except for this movie...Born to Race.

I loved this movie because it stays completely true to itself. One of the dumbest parts about Tokyo Drift was how many cars that kid burned through, there was no respect for the vehicles they way they respected the cars, the tuning and the performance in this movie. Now, if you're not a gear-head a lot of the lingo will go over your head, but if you're not really into cars or racing movies then I don't see why you would be reading reviews for a movie about cars and racing(?) Anyways, the writing is actually several times better than most Hollywood flicks. They don't have "easy answers" for everything and most scenes fade out instead trying to drag on and force characters to resolve things. Mostly because in real life we don't always resolve things in one sitting.

I also liked that the movie stayed true to the character direction, even with its clichés...It was easy to both hate and root for the protagonist in this film because you could understand why he did the things he did, but at the same time, he was a young idiot, so the director and writer did a job of balancing it out.

Also, I just have to say, that 2011 Black Mustang was a freaking beast and the Subaru was a true standout star. I'm glad they also kept the races realistic with real cars and not all that crappy CG stuff.

This was a good low-budget film for car enthusiasts and racing fans.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The catastrophic offspring of Never Back Down and Fast and Furious
Josh Hopkins29 January 2014
Terrible film. The whole thing couldn't be more of a cliché if it tried. You have the rebellious teenager who doesn't like his step dad, truants school and who can't control his anger getting kicked out by his mother who's at wits end to go live with his distant and coincidentally alcoholic father who has a troubled past due to racing. He gets sent to a high school where he begins dating the girl who only became popular by dating the cocky and arrogant alpha racer. Big surprise this popular jerk comes into conflict with our protagonist. At a party (as if it wasn't clichéd enough)You also have the socially rejected nerds who excel at performance modifying and are befriended by the rebellious teen to everyone's surprise I'm sure.

The protagonist is played by Joseph Cross who was twenty five at the time this film was released and who looks nothing like a seventeen year old.

This film is like Never Back Down and Fast and Furious came together to produce a terrible mutant off spring that only just isn't ugly enough to be chained up in the basement.

The one redeemable factor about this film is the cars. As an avid car enthusiast I was pleased with the fairly vast variety of cars. However, I would have preferred to have seen more time spent showing the viewers the engine and inner workings of the cars the way the Fast and Furious franchise tends to.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Lame and dumb with no redeeming story value
Trev Deer28 June 2012
Almost as interesting as flies crawling up a wall. The main character is whining and has all the acting ability of a walnut.

The movie is aspiring to be 2nd rate, the racing artificial and the love interest tween. We can neglect the fact that it glorifies teen stupidity at its finest. And when has ANY sanctioned competition in drag racing ever taken place without helmets, flameproof gear and other essential race safety gear. The story glorifies the lack of thought given by teens to anything beyond their own hedonistic pursuits.

The value of this movie is as an object lesson in abject stupidity. Irresponsible and forced are the best words to describe this farce.
10 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Very predictable, Born to Suck!
topdany15 October 2011
Since the beginning you know how the movie will be end. Is not at all original, the movie just takes things (a lot of them) from other movies. Bad acting, poor dialogs, anodyne characters. The hero, the guy that looks like a young Quentin Tarantino is boring, and at the end, who cares if he wins or not? Like other reviewer said, the film is full of clichés: the High School bad guy, his girlfriend who fall in love with the new kid in town, the rich dad, the drunk/loser dad, etc, etc. Nothing new. If you want to waste 94 minutes of your life, go ahead and watch it. There's a movie much better than this, even better than Tokyo Drift. Is called "Initial D". I assure you, you won't be disappointed with Initial D. You won't regret using 107 minutes from your life to watch it.
13 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pretty good movie for an evening
apundzius20 September 2011
Firstly, I consider myself a tuner so i'm giving 10 out of 10 just because we totally lack films like these nowadays.

The movie was pretty much good to watch. The plot may not be top grade, but it was OK, even through for me pretty much predictable. I had no problems with acting and sound effects. Still somehow the film lacks the spirit of racing. I also didn't find any stupid logical mistakes which ussualy occur in films like these. If i would try to review the film without myself taking part in racing, i would point out that the film had enough things for usual watchers who don't take part in racing. Looking from a casual watcher's point of view I would give this film a strong 7.
13 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A movie for car geeks
tony-clifton14 September 2012
.. and that's not a bad thing. Most car movies out there are entertainment-only movies for the general audience, so they are full of hammy dialog, hammy acting, hammy directing and inaccuracies about cars.

This is fairly accurate about cars (not perfect, but not outrageous either), has some hammy dialog but the acting and directing are quite competent compared with the Fast and the Furious.

I highly recommend this film for lovers of cars and drag racing in particular. It's also good to see street racers take it to the track like they should; although there are scenes of irresponsible driving, those scenes don't go well for the main character and the movie leads the audience morally in the right direction: to the track.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Great Movie To Watch Warning: Spoilers
My late teens were all about import street racing. I have been a consultant for the media on Illegal Street racing so I really know the ins and outs of the culture.

I saw this on Netflix and thought I'd give it a whirl. I've seen a ton of cheesy racing / drift videos before so I did not expect much. The racing scenes were actually pretty realistic. There was only one goofy line after the first race where some guy boast what's under his hood about his turbo and exhaust. That was the only unrealistic part in the movie.

Other than that I though the story line was decent, the racing was a lot of fun and the cars seemed realistic as well. Mostly everyone is on NOS so you can expect to see that but this movie had a nice touch to it. So if you like racing check it out. I'm sure you'll enjoy it.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Born To Race
Slavik Lungu5 March 2012
One of the best movies out there! Great acting, plot, and story! Very entertaining and at the same time has a great point to life! Very nice movie! Information in mentioned in the movie is very accurate. Ending was very nice, which was a little bit unexpected. Very large veriety of cars in the movie! It had just enough action, romance and all that. I watched all the Fast and the Furious movies, and this one is becoming a favorite! I love that they partnered with subaru. This movie didn't contain any inappropriate seens which is very nice, and does not contain swearing. Literally the best movie, I ever watched! Hope they make a sequel! 10/10!!!
7 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This film is a Gem
Terry Williams13 May 2018
I was lucky enough to catch this movie at the video store a few years back. I liked it so much that I actually bought it when it went on sale.

Some of the reviews on here compared this film to Fast and Furious, which doesn't hold water as far as I'm concerned. Sure there were fast cars and racing. However, Born to Race was done on a lower budget but was as equally enjoyable and stands on its own merits.

Just taking the time here to recommend this film. It was very good by all accounts and pleasurable watch.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not a bad film by any means
earthrocker315104 November 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This film really drives home how good low budget films can be. Watching this movie, and then looking at the garbage that the ScyFy channel makes, it's really a no-brainer. For starters, the story, while not very original works very well, and even the borderline cliché characters are pretty likable and even realistic. You find yourself understand how the characters feel, rather than them having a larger than life element. The dialogues does fall on its face a few times, but no film is perfect. There's plenty of action, which is clearly where most of this film's budget went. Plenty of car crashes, maybe an explosion or two. The real thing that drives this movie home is the cars - rather you're an import or tuner guy, or even if you like old school muscle, there's plenty of eye candy in this film. The racing itself is also pretty realistic, unlike The Fast and the Furious (TFATF) films which often feature shifting through 17 gears in a 5 speed car during a drag race. There's real car talk, that real car guys will get.

Go into this movie open minded and you'll enjoy it. It tries to steal some of TFATF franchise's lightning in a bottle, but it does well standing on its own. I didn't have very high expectations, but even if I did, this film wouldn't have disappointed me. A great film for guys who like cars. I wouldn't mind watching it again.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
One of the better "car" movies
alexbrannon8527 July 2012
Saw this movie on Netflix and didn't think it would be that great of a movie. I was thinking low budget, horrible acting/dialogue, straight to DVD type of movie...The movie surprised me. Didn't go over the top on the flashy cars and the racing wasn't over the top movie style(Fast and Furious movies..honestly, how many times can you shift racing a quarter mile?) The movie kept me wondering what is going to happen next and how he is gonna get out of this one or how he is going to make it work. Its definitely worth a watch if you enjoy cars. They acting is good, camera work is good, plot-line is good. Give the movie a chance!!! It seems like the people that didn't like the movie were thinking it would be just like F&F.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Born to Race
Phil Hubbs21 March 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I only found out about this film after a fellow reviewer reviewed it. Did this even get a cinematic release? anyway I liked the poster and it seemed to centre around import racers so that's me in. Yep as you may have guessed after what I just typed, I'm a Jap car fan, so be weary that I will most definitely be biased in my review of the automobiles on display here (broad grin).

OK so the plot...well lets just skip this shall we, I think we all know very well this type of film is not gonna have a deep plot. No one goes to see a film about boy racers expecting a solid story line, they go to see sweet super saloons melting tarmac. But if you really must know, a young tearaway teen who just happens to own a super turbo charged Subaru Impreza WRX STi, goes to live with his divorced dad because his mum can't handle his dangerous driving antics. He must content with a new school, new bullies, new temptations and his poor relationship with his father. So naturally he ends up getting into more trouble racing and causing much friction, but at the end of the day he overcomes all adversities with an all round happy ending. Yep its the standard 'Karate Kid' plot with cars.

OK I won't linger on the story much but the one thing that always makes me laugh with these car racer flicks is the fact the characters have easy access to these super cars. In the Fast n Furious franchise there is literately a never ending stream of them, here the main character is 17 years old and still goes to school!. How the hell can he afford to run a Subaru with no job??. The fact he's a whiz kid with mechanics helps of course because he can mod his own car but he still needs money to pay for equipment and parts. The other thing that kinda surprised me was the fact his high school has a high performance car modification class? and a fully equipped garage to host it? is this an American thing?. Oh and this class encourages pupils to take part in a highly dangerous drag racing competition?...wut?! do they need permission slips from their parents for this death ride?.

This leads me to the fact that the main character (a really sulky po- faced ugly little creep) is trying to get his life on track and stay away from dangerous driving. His father, mother and teachers are trying to help him, yet one teacher wants him to race in this competition. Doesn't that present a conflict of interests? surely getting the kid involved in a drag race competition will surely get him more involved in street racing or taking risks, the temptation will be high no?.

Moving on...the cars, the competition, the street racing...it does the job well. Yes believe it or not this film is solid in terms of actual racing just like the first and third Fast n Furious films. The visuals aren't quite as slick as said franchise, you can tell the cars aren't going at genuine speeds in some sequences and the actors aren't really driving. But the cars on show are lovely and they do get shown off well.

The finale competition is also quite well done, again expect the typical 'Karate Kid' scenario I'm afraid, no surprises here, you know who's gonna win. That aside the cars get good cam time and you get a really nice range of models. The film is basically import vs American muscle which I find amusing really. The race commentator refers to the Subaru as 'the little Subaru', just like they referred to the VW Beetle in the Herbie franchise, because its the underdog of the competition. Dear oh dear they have no clue.

Half of the American cars on show are old battle-axes in my opinion, they look like they just rolled off the set of Happy Days. Most of these cars look like bricks and probably handle like it too, all show and no go, noise before power, in my humble opinion any properly modded 370Z, Skyline or Evo would kill all of them quite easily...let alone the Subaru. There's even one race where the young protagonist must race a flippin' pickup truck! looks like some hick hay bale carrier, laughable.

So basically if you like fast cars, slutty bitchy cheerleader types, a good stereotypical asshole bully and a good stereotypical brooding hero...or if you just wanna see fast cars, then you will like this. I think its holds its own against the Fast n Furious brand because its more grounded and a little more believable, kinda. 'FnF' has lost its way recently and become a comicbook superhero flick in my eyes, its no longer about the cars.

Yes this story is unbelievably predictable, unbelievably clichéd and generally poor, but it does what it sets out to do which is provide good racing action with a nice explosive final crash stunt at the end. No big stars and not many big flashy show off stunts or effects, its basic racing and it works pretty well.

6.5/10
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great movie!
drax-844-42448212 September 2012
Personally, I like really much racing movies, but for some reason it is very hard for me to find good racing movie and I can name them: F&F, F&F2, F&F:Tokyo Drift, Initial D Drift Racer, and now I can count this one too. Rest of them either are not so into racing (like more focusing on shooting etc.) or they aren't done well (like Red Line - don't misunderstand me, it is fairly good movie, but still I feel that is missing racing spirit).

This movies reminds me to Fast & Furious (1st part only) where you have all the racing going with good story background. Latest F&F serials are not so much about racing, instead they do some shooting and similar action.

Even that story is somewhat predictable, it was still interesting for me to watch it.

Overall, I would say that everything is very good done (story, acting..., but I don't want to reveal parts, I'm leaving that to you :) ).

I totally enjoyed watching it, and yeah, it is more than I expected - 10 stars from me :)
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It is a great movie!
benjaminkinney2511 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Born 2 Race has realistic character personalities. You can really feel what the characters feel. No green screens, no fake engine noise or speed. Real engines, pure racing.Some other films are based mainly on the cars. Not this film. There is a story and, as I said earlier, character personalities and development. Recommend to any car guy; race car drivers, ricers, muscle car guys or even exotic car guys. It is hard to believe that this was a budget film. It is superb. The parts installed actually were installed and as seen in the credits, the sponsors for them are shown and that was a real drag strip for those high school students. 10/10
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good Popcorn Racing Flick
Thom Sirveaux9 April 2014
This movie was a pleasant surprise. I went in expecting a dumb car movie that's a knockoff of any number of other dumb car movies and was treated to a well-executed thoroughly enjoyable fun dumb car movie.

I say dumb because the teen drama part of the film is really predictable. It's a paint-by-numbers movie that hits all the required tropes and stereotypical characters, but it's very well done.

You know the tropes when you see them, the actors know them, the movie is conscious of them, but it plays it well and moves on.

Dumb things the movie does (including dumb character actions) are forgivable, because it's a fun movie.

On to the cars...

I'll preface this by saying I'm more of a fan of older generation car movies (Vanishing Point, Dirty Mary & Crazy Larry, etc.), and tend to be an American car guy who finds imports dull. Chipping a car doesn't have the same appeal to me as wrenching on one, so I'm a viewer with a bias. BUT...

That said, I was very pleasantly surprised. There were plenty of new and old cars to look at, some less common, some more common, some domestic, some import. One of the people I watched the movie with was a huge import buff, and enjoyed it for the imports that were highlighted. I enjoyed it for some of the less-common domestics in the film.

The good racing scenes are done well, and the speed of the races is done well also. There's not a huge amount of time distortion done to most of them during drag racing sequences, just good editing to add to the feel of the movie. The road racing sequences are done pretty well, edited well, and are engaging (and even if one or two may fall in the "dumb" category, it's still a fun movie, so you can forgive it).

The car tech-speak I'm familiar with (non-import stuff) struck me as showing the movie hired at technical adviser at least, and also elevated itself a bit. So it wasn't completely dumb.

Overall, it's a well-executed, thoroughly enjoyable fun mostly-dumb car movie that left me smiling.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed