Scooby-Doo! Legend of the Phantosaur (Video 2011) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Another solid Scooby Doo mystery
TheLittleSongbird18 September 2011
Coming from a big Scooby Doo fan, I enjoyed Scooby Doo! Legend of the Phantosaur. If there is anything that stopped the film from being truly great, it would be a longer length by about 5 or so minutes to give way to a little more clue-solving and as sweet as it was the romance felt rather thrown in. Otherwise, the animation once again full of colour, vibrancy and fluidity with a mix of What's New Scooby Doo and the original classic series is great, the music is fitting and doesn't detract from the mood, the writing is very funny with its fair share of thrills and scares, the story is interesting and well paced with some nice action pieces the best being the motorcycle race and an unexpected and very decent final solution, the monster is believable and the voice acting is solid. Overall, a nice, diverting mystery. 8/10 Bethany Cox
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Jurassic Park references possible inspiration
educatorscott22 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I grew up watching Scooby Doo. I can hear the theme song in my head while I'm typing this! My teen-aged daughter decided to pick this movie to watch and we literally rolled on the floor laughing! Without saying much (don't want to spoil it for others!) there were so many Jurassic Park references from the first two JP movies and there was one scene that coincidentally mirrors a scene in Jurassic World. If you are a fan of the JP franchise like I am, you will recognize them when you see them. YOU HAVE TO WATCH this movie!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An Honest Review
generationofswine1 April 2017
Let me get this out of the way right now, this is one of the scarce few Scooby Doo movies where the ending is a decent pay off. One of the very few that doesn't end with a "meh." And, to boot, the start is totally hysterical. The premise that gets the gang to the location of the mystery is almost too funny for words.

Darn spoiler rules...

I can only assure you that the start, the premise, the reason for the whole movie just out does Shaggy in personality and philosophy in one of the funniest possible ways.

the only downside is that as a big bad, Phantosaur is sort of lame and takes away from the movie.

It's worth ignoring the faults. The jokes, the humor, it's all top notch and for once the ending actually works. The ending is something that will be remembered after viewing.

This is one of the better Scooby movies in the catalogue.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I liked it!
brookenichole-9805427 May 2020
I really liked this movie! The voice acting was on point, especially with the new characters. The new characters didn't add much but the voice acting definitely did. The story was fun and never felt boring. And the jokes were hilarious. I found myself laughing a lot more than I usually do. The animation was terrific and never disappoints. Overall, this movie was great and I found nothing bad to say.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Stands the Test of Time
Aegelis4 October 2020
One of the better Scooby movies that holds tight to the classic elements of the original series. Sometimes you have to go back in time to see the future. These movies have better animation and should present plenty of entertainment for young and old alike. Punchy, fun, and a bit of mystery all in one.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
One of the worst "Scooby-Doo!" movies I have ever watched.
j-jessie-weaver24 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This is THE movie where Scooby Doo and the gang basically prove they have run out of mysteries to solve. I would like to point out this came out a year after the atrocity that is "Mystery Incorporated." There comes a time where you ask, "Will it ever stop?" Scooby Doo has become Warner Bros.' cash cow, and it shows in this horrible installment, "Scooby-Doo: Legend of the Phantosaur." I don't remember when I watched this and I'm glad I don't. This movie was so bad, I couldn't even finish it.

Shaggy ends up having severe panic attacks during a mystery. You'd think that'd be normal for him, but here's the real kicker; HE IS LIKE THIS THROUGHOUT 95% OF THIS DARN MOVIE. I am dead serious. The first scene literally has him screaming at the top of his lungs for over an hour. At that point, I wanted to scream, "SHUT UP!" at my computer screen. It doesn't even matter if he gets hypnotized in the middle of this film to be brave, you know he'll just go back to being the cowardly crybaby he is.

Now, onto Fred, Daphne, Velma and Scooby. Cheese and rice, what've they done to them? Were the writers even remotely trying? Fred and Daphne are as dull as dishwater in here and the same goes for Scooby. Velma gets a crush on a boy who looks and acts exactly like her. She completely forgets she has to solve a mystery. Just great. Velma has gone from a smart aleck brat in "MI," to a girl who only cares about a crush than her friends. What a wonderful message to the kids of this generation.

The animation and story are utter bull crap. It's the same lifeless animation from "MI," except ten times worse. The overall nature of the plot is forced and shoved down the audience's throats and the climax gets rushed in the span of five minutes. That is where I stopped on this movie. I couldn't take the stupidity, anymore.

If you're a long time "Scooby" fan, like myself, stay away from "Legend of the Phantosaur." It doesn't deserve to be looked at, let alone watched. I thought these movies couldn't get any worse and can just imagine Don Messick, Casey Kasem and Jean Vander Pyl spinning in their graves at this one.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
As if a haunt isn't bad enough, then imagine a prehistoric haunt...
paul_haakonsen3 May 2017
I watched "Scooby-Doo! Legend of the Phantosaur" with my seven year old son, as he enjoys the adventures of Scooby-Doo and the gang quite a lot. I grew up with these cartoons, so I know basically every story and how it will turn out, as they all follow the same formula.

With that being said, don't get me wrong, because the storyline in "Scooby-Doo! Legend of the Phantosaur" was actually quite good, albeit it still follows the same blueprint for a Scooby-Doo story; that being the gang coming across a mystery, being chased about, finding clues, and then unveiling the people behind it all. Yep, another one of those. But the storyline was actually still fun and enjoyable.

You pretty much know what you are getting when you sit down to watch an animated movie such as "Scooby-Doo! Legend of the Phantosaur", or any other Scooby-Doo movie for that matter.

The

The voice acting in the movie was quite good, as it usually is in the Scooby-Doo animated movies. And it is always a treat to have Frank Welker and Matthew Lillard to do the voices for Shaggy and Scooby-Doo.

If you enjoy the Scooby-Doo cartoons and animated movies, then you will most definitely also like "Scooby-Doo! Legend of the Phantosaur". It is an enjoyable animated movie, but still does suffer from that repetitive build up of storyline used time and time again. But this is actually an enjoyable movie for fans of Scooby-Doo and the Mystery Gang.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Pretty Rough Around the Edges, but it Has Some Highlights
carologletree2 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
My feelings are kind of mixed about this entry in the Scooby-Doo franchise. I feel that it had potential, but there are many things about it that weren't really executed well.

The storyline revolving around Shaggy and this fear disorder was pretty exaggerated and annoying and took up too much of the movie. The scenes where he turned into a tough guy were actually fun to watch. However, I hated that they shoved it down our throats that the keyword is "bad" and that the gang were too stupid to figure it out.

The general plot felt unfocused. The mystery and stuff about the Phantosaur was kind of interesting, but it felt a little underdeveloped with how at times the story would completely stop to focus on Shaggy's problems.

The climax of the film was trying to tell a compelling story about how Shaggy doesn't need the hypnotism and how he really did have bravery in him all along. It certainly had potential, and managed to be an exciting sequence, even if it could have been a little longer.

The animation is good, the CGI for the dinosaurs is neat, and the film is reasonably cinematic for a Scooby-Doo movie. However, the supporting characters were kind of bland. I really didn't care for Velma's love interest. Their romance felt very "been-there-done-that."

The humorous scenes are hit-or-miss. The joke ending with everyone turning into Shaggy, however, is horrible. HORRIBLE!

It has things to enjoy from it, but it's too uneven and flawed for me to fully recommend it. It's not the worst Scooby-Doo movie, but it certainly isn't one I'd watch again and again. Worth checking out mainly for Scooby-Doo fans.

RATING: C+
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed