Shark Night (2011) Poster

(2011)

User Reviews

Review this title
113 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
It started alright, then it went downhill...
paul_haakonsen14 November 2011
This movie started out so great, it had that whole "Jaws"-theme going on, and it really looked like it was going to be a movie that would pay homage to the classic "Jaws" movies, then it all came crashing down hard and went downhill.

"Shark Night" is without a doubt one of the stupidest story lines I have ever seen in a shark movie. The whole plot was just so far-fetched that it didn't even come off remotely plausible. That whole "oh-you-hurt-me-years-ago-and-now-it-is-payback-time" plot didn't work at all! It was ludicrous and it really made the movie bad.

Another thing that the movie had working against it was the darkness. Most of the movie was shot at night with little or no lighting at all, and you couldn't really see what was going on at times. That was so lame. When you sit down to watch movies you don't want to be kept in the dark and have little chance to see what's going on. Had they kept the movie in daylight it would have worked so much better.

As for the characters in the movie, well you hardly got to immerse yourself in any of the characters, aside from Sara (played by Sara Paxton) and to some extend Dennis (played by Chris Carmack). The rest of the characters were nothing more than bystanders with shallow stories to contribute to the plot.

The cast themselves were good, though. The people they had cast for the various roles actually did good jobs, and that was the main thing that "Shark Night" had working for it.

Having seen "Shark Night" now I feel very disappointed and cheated out of my time, because this movie was disappointing on so many levels. It is only once in awhile that there is a really nice shark movie to hit the market, "Shark Night" however, wasn't one of them.

And the ending of the movie, are you kidding me? Come on! I am not going to spoil it here by revealing it, but wow, that was an ending you saw coming a mile away, and it was just so anti-climatic.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No so bad it's good here, this is just plain bad.
JimmyCollins18 November 2011
My god this movie is horrible, I am quite a fan of shark movies and all that jazz do I looked forward to this new installment in the genre, however I must say that this movie is just ridiculous. For these movies to work I think they need to have some humor thrown in to the mix, films such as Piranha 3d know what they are and play with it but Shark Night just takes itself far too seriously and in the end it's just bad bad bad.

Even Sara Paxton and Chris Zylka, two young actors who I quite enjoy couldn't save this film. The fact that you barely even see any sharks is dumb too, basically all you see us fin and that's it, and the scenes when you do see a shark the special effects are so cheaply done that I felt like I was having a joke played on me, the special effects are not much better than the ones that you see in the SyFy TV movies like Sharktopus, but even those films are better than this garbage.

One scene when a shark literally flies out of the water and attacks a man who is hanging on to a tree is just ridiculous, these people can't be really taking it serious I hope. I strongly urge everyone to save their money and go and rent either The Reef or a SyFy film, anything is better than this. I hope Sara Paxton is able to recover.
42 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Terrible but lightly entertaining
estebangonzalez107 November 2011
¨Terror runs deep¨

Shark Night is a terrible movie, I have to admit it, but somehow I ended up having a fun time with it. The performances are low key, the script borderlines in the ridiculous, and the story is really predictable, but in the mist of all the disaster I found myself having an enjoyable experience. Shark Night is a movie that takes its subject matter very lightly, it doesn't try to be a serious horror film, or even try to show a lot of gore or being scary. It's a movie that recognizes its limitations and plays along with it. What makes this bad movie stand out from the rest is that it ends up being bad in a good way, in other words it makes you laugh because it's so bad. The plot is so bad that it seems that director David R. Ellis decided to just play along with the audience and let us have a good time without having to make the film gory or extremely violent. He gives us a lot of sharks, a lot of kills, and if taken lightly like the producers want you to you might end up having a good time like I did. If you are expecting a scary movie with a lot of gore than I warn you stay away from Shark Night because it's just a light comedy with some bad acting and bad special effects. If you go into this movie expecting nothing else than that, just like I did, then you might end up having a decent time. One thing is for sure: screenwriters Will Hayes and Jesse Studenberg won't be winning any awards for their dumbed down script.

It's time to explain my least favorite part of the film: the plot. Shark Night takes place in a lake near the Louisiana Gulf coast (yes you read right, there are sharks in a lake and there is a perfectly good reason for that). A group of teenagers decide to go to Sara's (Sara Paxton) lake house to celebrate Malik's (Sinqua Walls) recent success in an exam that will allow him to enter college. His friends Nick (Dustin Milligan) and Gordon (Joel David Morse) were the ones who helped him study so in order to thank them he brings them along although they aren't part of the cool group. At the house Malik plans to propose to his girlfriend Maya (Alyssa Diaz). Beth (Katharine McPhee) and Blake (Chris Zylka) also decide to go along with the rest of the gang and have some fun at the lake. Before arriving to the house however they have a small quarrel with a pair of local hillbillies Red (Joshua Leonard) and Dennis (Chris Carmack) with whom Sara is acquainted with, but everything goes on as normal. At the lake they meet the Sheriff, Sabin (Donal Logue), who greets them warmly and even has a couple of drinks with them. The kids are ready to have a great time and begin enjoying the lake, but what they don't know is that the lake is infested with sharks. What begins as innocent fun, ends up being a nightmare for Sara and her friends.

The actors are all relatively unknown and there is a good reason for that (they aren't exactly great actors), but you can't have a shark film without hot young teens. The movie really works better as a comedy than as a horror film because the plot is just ridiculous, but I did have a fun time with how the shark attacks were exaggerated. There was one scene were a shark jumps several feet over the water and eats one of the kids that is riding a motorbike. These sharks were just so exaggerated that you couldn't help but laugh at the silliness of each scene. There are several more death scenes like this which are hugely exaggerated and I found quite funny. There is no gore because Shark Attack had a PG-13 rating so don't expect much of the death scenes from the Final Destination producers. I haven't seen the Piranhas film so I can't make comparisons with it, but I heard this is nothing like the gore that film had, so if you want a stronger film or expect something like Piranhas then skip this film because you will be disappointed. Shark Night has nothing memorable to it, but I did have a surprisingly good time with it so I got to give it a passing grade, although the lowest possible one.

http://estebueno10.blogspot.com/
18 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Lame and tame.
juiceman107124 September 2011
I was not expecting something as enjoyable or over the top as last year's Piranha 3D but I was at least expecting some time killing shark attack fun. It seems however that they couldn't even pull that off.

The script is horrific and the plot is ho-hum but more importantly, takes way too long to get going. Every character is dull and hollow and the stale acting doesn't help. But in all honesty this could be forgiven had the film actually delivered on what was expected. There's surprisingly very little in the way of shark carnage. The PG13 rating means death scenes mostly consist of some flailing in red water. Other death scenes are almost completely off-screen. I'm not a gore fanatic but when the film has nothing else going for it, this could have easily saved it to a degree. They don't even capitalize on the 3D. There were a few genuinely creepy moments in the film that actually made me want to cover my eyes (something I haven't wanted to do in over 15 years)but these are so few and far between. I longed for more of these but the film seems to be too interested in silly melodramatic plot. The film also just takes itself way too seriously to the point where it just isn't fun to watch... which is all you'd be wanting going into a 3D horror movie about sharks.

It's a cheap attempt to cash in on the success of 'Piranha 3D' but without the tongue-in-cheek self-awareness or over the top gory thrills, there's very little to recommend in 'Shark Night 3D'. It could have worked as a campy throwback or It could have even worked as a more serious horror movie because I did feel uneasy at times but it really doesn't do either any justice.
38 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A crushing and soulless disappointment
DonFishies2 October 2011
Seven young and pretty undergraduates head to a secluded lakeside cottage in Louisiana to take a load off and enjoy a wild and crazy weekend away. But things take a turn for the worst when a member of the group is attacked by a shark. Isolated with no cell service and no help in sight, the group quickly realizes they are on their own, but the water around them is not safe.

I wanted Shark Night 3D to be as fun as Piranha 3D was last year. Despite the PG-13 rating, I held onto a desperate hope that it would somehow manage to live up to that level of gleeful insanity and absolutely ridiculous trashiness. I knew deep down it would never be anywhere near comparable, but everything about the film suggested it would be an enjoyable ride.

Sadly, this is not the case.

Instead of getting a ridiculous movie about sharks mauling pretty 20- somethings that embraces the sheer silliness of the very idea, we get a deadly serious, high-concept slasher film that seems to have no concept of what fun is. Sure we get the typical horror movie wise ass quips sprinkled here and there, and some rather intriguing reasoning as to why the attacks are occurring. But in-between these moments, we get stilted dialogue, wooden performances, characters with next to no dimensionality whatsoever, and just about nothing else. Despite it being 2011, the film feels like it belongs to a different era – one where it has not realized how outrageous and frivolous the genre has become. It offers nothing new by way of ideas or story, and somehow thinks an ode to Jaws at the beginning of the film is appropriate. I initially wanted to criticize Shark Night for cribbing from Piranha. But in watching the film, it is obvious they learned absolutely nothing from Alexandre Aja and his crew.

But while the bad story and worse acting are to be expected, what is really disappointing is just how much of a grand tease the whole movie is. The rating may be a contributing factor, but the only thing it seems to cut out is gratuitous nudity. The T and A is still plentiful, and the film is actually surprisingly graphic in some instances. But the majority of deaths, the best part of any slasher film, are merely hinted at. We see characters get pulled underwater, and just when you think we will see their grisly end, the film inexplicably cuts to the next scene. Hell, we do not even get the obligatory shot confirming that a character did indeed die. How do we know they did not manage to fight off the shark and survive to fight another day? And since there are about ten people in the entire cast, most of which meet an untimely end, that is a whole lot of teasing and not a lot of pay off. I can only think of one that is explicitly shown, and even that seemed like it was pushing it based on what happens during the rest of the film. It is all very arbitrary, but it seems like a rather obscene faux pas on the part of the filmmakers.

Remember how comically bad and exaggerated the piranha looked in Piranha 3D? Somehow, the sharks in Shark Night 3D look even worse. There is nothing realistic about them. They look more cartoonish than anything, standing out as not even attempting to look like they belong in any of the scenes. They make memories of the shark from Jaws appear more frighteningly authentic than I thought possible. But this is only when the sharks are swimming around underwater, looking menacing and hungry . When they actually interact with the characters, they look absolutely absurd and preposterous. A shot involving a shark leaping out of the water to attack one of the characters as he zips by on a jet-ski looks even worse than those ludicrously awful effects you may have seen from Shark Attack 3: Megalodon. They may actually qualify for some of the worst effects in the past decade. Surely the special effects team realized they were working on an actual movie with a budget, and not some straight-to-DVD Asylum knockoff. So what could possibly be there excuse for such a terrible job?

I think the only thing I remotely enjoyed was how impressive the underwater shots looked in 3D. They were clearly shot with the format in mind, and look absolutely stunning even with a fake shark in the background. They frequently took me entirely out of the film, as they look like they belong in a significantly better project. The shots are just so tranquil and so beautiful that they may make you forget what an awful movie you are sitting through. With the exception of an over-the- top explosion, this is just about the only thing that sizzles in 3D. There are no other elements that even attempt to take advantage of the format.

When I tell you that Shark Night 3D is one of the worst films of the year, with next to no redeeming qualities, you better believe I am not lying. I was hoping it would be somewhat fun, but instead it was one of the most annoying and agonizing films I have ever put myself through. The film is too serious to be enjoyable, and fails to deliver in almost every respect. The filmmakers and cast should be ashamed of themselves. When the credits rolled, I could not leave the theatre fast enough because I was ashamed to have actually watched it. Apparently there is a rap music video after the credits conclude, featuring the entire cast. Somehow, I still do not think this could make up for the travesty you have to put yourself through to get to it.

3/10.

(An extended review also appeared on http://www.geekspeakmagazine.com).
36 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Silly and Absurd Jaws Rip-off
claudio_carvalho15 June 2012
The college friends Nick (Dustin Milligan), Beth (Katharine McPhee), Malik (Sinqua Walls), Maya (Alyssa Diaz), Blake (Chris Zylka) and Gordon (Joel David Moore) are invited by their friend Sara Palski (Sara Paxton) to spend the weekend at her saltwater lake house in Louisiana. They stop at a bar to buy supplies and Malik has a friction with the rednecks Red (Joshua Leonard) and Dennis Crim (Chris Carmack), but Sara resolves the situation since Dennis is her ex-boyfriend. Then the group meets another friend of Sara, Sheriff Greg Sabin (Donal Logue).

When Malik is skiing in the lake, he has a severed arm by a shark and his friends seek for help. But sooner they learn that the lake is infested of different species of sharks and they have a more dangerous problem threatening them.

"Shark Night 3D" is a silly and absurd rip-off "Jaws" with the storyline that recalls "Texas Chainsaw Massacre", with a group of youngsters that travels to the countryside and are slaughtered by sharks. They are actually victims of a gang of psychopaths that make money in a website with snuff movies showing the sharks attacking and killing people. Chris Carmack is scary with his psychotic behavior but the film is dull, ridiculous and the special effects are very poor. But maybe the greatest problem is that "Shark Night 3D" is a B-movie with the pretension of being a serious movie. My vote is four.

Title (Brazil): "Terror na Água 3D" ("Terror in the Water 3D")
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A Bad Combination of Jaws and Teen Slasher
rgkarim2 September 2011
Despite the sheer diversity in species that inhabit this world, Hollywood seems to have an obsession with making movies about hungry, killer sharks. Ever since Jaws debuted nearly 40 years ago, the flood gates for shark movies seemed to have been permanently forced open, allowing countless films to be made, most of which fail to come even close to Spielberg's classic. Today the latest shark disaster, Shark Night, hits the screens in all of its gore filled glory.

For those who haven't seen the overplayed trailer, Shark Night revolves around a group of Jersey Shore like teenagers taking a vacation out to an island mansion for a weekend getaway from their college studies. What starts out as a fun filled trip soon turns into chaos as Malik (Sinqua Walls) has a rough encounter with a bull shark. However this first attack is only a mild beginning as the sharks become more aggressive and fear begins to take its toll on the teenagers.

I'm going to come right out and say it, this movie is essentially Jaw meeting a teenage slasher film. Unlike Jaws, Shark night has traded plot for gore filled, teenager devouring, and CGI shark action. The acting of the victims is pretty weak for the most part, essentially focusing on incredibly shallow characters that have no morals and eventually evolved into hyperventilating chickens, with the exception of a few characters willing to tread the waters. Despite their best intentions, a majority of the scenes in this movie amounted to nothing more than a predictable sequence of chases, pointless swimming, and eventually scream filled death that is classic of a Scy-Fy original movie.

Although the plot had a little more character than what I had gotten from the trailers, it still wasn't enough to save the movie. One major weakness to the plot was how predictable the series of events was. From the moment we were introduced to the characters, I was able to predict who was going to die, and essentially how each one was going to meet their end, that is how each one was going to get eaten. You may be asking, "Well was the explanation for why the sharks were there in the first place good?" The answer to that question is no. In fact I believe the explanation to the sharks was one of the worst plot twists I have ever seen, more laughable than respectable. Again I wasn't expecting much of a plot, but to throw in such a twist was just pathetic to me.

Now there are some positive aspects to this movie, but I'll admit now that they are incredibly shallow positives. One positive is that the CGI work, albeit not the even close to being the greatest captures the shark movement quite well. The facts that the characters spout out about the sharks are also accurate as well and can teach the audience a few things about sharks, if they actually care. The soundtrack for this film had some catchy beats that are sure to please most modern audiences today, mainly fans of rap and hip-hop. Fans of blood will also be happy with this film as the bayou waters become stained in red by the various attacks. Finally, although the acting is weak, both male and female audience members will be happy with the eye candy most of the cast provides, as they parade around in their bikinis bathing suits. Yeah I told you these positives were pretty shallow.

To wrap this review up, Shark Night is a movie meant to kill time and provide some very cheap entertainment. Fans of constant shark attack violence will not be disappointed by this generic film, but those looking for a seemingly decent plot and suspense filled survival should avoid this film at all costs. Shark attack films may be getting old, but surely the modern movie industry can do better than this. Overall I give Shark Night, which should not be seen in 3D, a 2.0-2.5, and recommend waiting for it to come out on the Scy-Fy channel. As always provide me with some feedback and let me know your opinions and criticism for becoming a better writer.
36 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Shark Night 3D has no guts, figuratively and literally
scarletheels12 December 2011
Sara (Sara Paxton) and her college friends travel to her lake house on the Louisiana Gulf for a wild weekend of beer pong, sunbathing, and death by shark. Be mindful of the PG-13 rating because, if you go into this expecting the finned version of Aja's silicon laden Piranha 3D, you'll be sorely disappointed. The most you're going to get to feast your eyes on is a brief shot of Katharine McPhee's and Alyssa Diaz's side boobs.

It's light on the carnage and heavy on the sentimental and often over-dramatic monologues. The gore is pretty watered down for the teen/tween audience. This is neither a good thing nor a bad thing - it's a boring thing. While there are quite a few deaths, the attacks are short cut scenes that end with the camera lingering over pools of red coloring dye to signify, yep, they're dead.

What's missing from this humdinger is good ol' fashioned fun. Most of its ilk celebrate the B-movie campiness with richly funny dialog, revel in the opportunity to mock its genre, or totally go off the deep end with exaggerated kills and/or gratuitous nudity. I realize Shark Night 3D wasn't made to be an in-your-face exploitation film but it's not Open Water either. It falls to the wayside because it has no guts, literally and figuratively.
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not too bad IF you enjoy these types of films
jennifer-25-9652316 September 2011
I went into this movie thinking I was going to be bored to death. The only reason why we saw this was because it was a holiday, hardly anything was open and we were going stir crazy at home. I've said this before and I will say this again… I love my gore, I love my violence and I love my crazy horror movies. Once you put a PG rating on something I instantly loose my interest.

After all that being said it turned out that I really enjoyed this movie. Of course I should have known this. For one I LOVE shark movies, I love teen screams, I love those goofy Sci-Fi channel horror movies with the cheese graphics. My Fiancée on the other hand did not like this movie but he never did like these sort of teeny bop things.

This movie is extremely teeny boppy, the lingo, the acting, the drama. The characters are the same hollow but hot bunch of college kids we see in all of these types of movies. So I wouldn't go in expecting anything deep from the characters or script. There was a lot of blood but it was mostly just someone being pulled under the water and buckets of blood being shown floating around them. You never actually see any gore or any attack close up.

The sharks for the most part were silly. I thought it was cool but it was very unrealistic which sort of killed it for me as well. We kept thinking the storyline would explain why these sharks were super ninja sharks. They were ridiculously fast, jumped way too high and there teeth were almost like metal'ish spikes. Apparently it was only part of the movie as they never explain anything as to why they were super sharks.

This movie was not bad IF you like this sort of thing. It wasn't particularly funny, or deep, the graphics sucked, it was rated PG… but if like me you love the things I listed in the second paragraph, you may enjoy this.

Zombiesteak.com - Discover a new world of horror films, designed just for you.
29 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
More like Shark Dumb 3D!
TheLittleSongbird15 October 2011
I know that sounds harsh, but although the trailer made Shark Night 3D made it look like another SyFy movie I wanted to see what it was like, as I like films like these when they are done right. However, Shark Night 3D was just a mess.

There are only two good things for me. The underwater sequences do look stunning. Also, the lead Sara Paxton is good, the only actress who connects with her character and the only engaging character.

Everything else? What can I say? The cinematography and editing were good in the underwater sequences, but haphazard in the attacks. The sharks really looked terribly clunky, and there is no suspense or realism here or in the build ups.

Shark Night 3D isn't much fun either. The dialogue is cheesy in an eye rolling sense and the story is the personification of dumb especially in the final third where the film completely falls apart in its credibility and did I mention how contrived it was. The characters are stereotypical and I didn't care for any of them by the end, the direction is unfocused pretty much throughout and the acting apart from Paxton was either overplayed or bland.

In conclusion, dumb, contrived, badly acted, cheesy, stereotypical, with badly done sharks and a complete suspense lack of suspense and fun. Paxton and the underwater sequences are its only worthwhile assets. 2/10 Bethany Cox
19 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
It seems like the only folks who can still produce good monster flicks are the Japanese.
TheUnknown837-17 September 2011
About this time last year, I saw a movie called "Piranha." It was a loose remake of a 1978 cult favorite produced by Roger Corman; the sort of cheesy B-movie that was so laughably bad that it ascended to being good fun. That was, of course, the original film, not the remake, which made it onto my list of the worst movies of 2010. Now, exactly one year later, my hopes for seeing a good creature-feature on the silver screen have once again been crushed by what was, essentially, the exact same picture I saw last fall. The only difference is, now the obnoxious, hard-to-endure stick-figure characters are being munched on by big fake CGI sharks instead of big fake CGI piranhas.

But it's really the same scenario. Some brainless young adults are frolicking about on a big, freshwater lake when all of a sudden, people are being tossed about and pulled under by unseen attackers. About thirty minutes in, it's revealed (as if we didn't already know) that the lake has been infested by sharks. And not just great whites, either. No, there are hammerheads, tiger sharks, bulls, and even cookie-cutters. How are all of these oceanic species ending up in a freshwater lake? Well, the movie gives an explanation, but it's one of the most outrageously bad plot twists in recent years. And remember, I'm an aficionado on the junk monster movies that pop up on the SyFy Channel every weekend. Now, I do not go to a monster movie looking for great character study or plot logistics. I go there looking for good old-fashioned, escapist fun. Only when a B-movie becomes so incredibly empty and devoid of joy do I start nitpicking on things I might otherwise overlook until after the credits have rolled. But the writing and directing of "Shark Night" (which by the way, mostly takes place under a bright sunny sky) is so bland, so unenthusiastic, so absent-minded that it left me looking at my watch after about twenty minutes. After the first attack sequence, which starts with a predictable twist and then becomes a practical shot-for-shot knock-off from the all-more-effective opening scene in "Jaws," the only thing that ran through my mind was wondering how long it would be before Steven Spielberg and Universal decided to pitch out a lawsuit for copyright infringement.

The whole movie looks and feels very much like it was made directly for a television release, giving it a sort of schizophrenic, out-of-place feeling. The fact that the performances are beneath comment does not help any, since they are on screen far more often than the cartoony, computer-generated sharks who can twist their necks as flexibly as a human arm and snarl like lions. In addition, there is the other big problem that I also had with "Piranha": dopey exploitation. The movie's far more interested in ogling at the hindquarters and torsos of partially-naked models-turned-'actors' than it is in developing plausible attack scenarios or engaging the audience in the way only a good B-movie can.

Well, at least there weren't any underwater lesbian scenes this time. No chewed up, sex organs either. Thank heaven.

If the writers had realized that they were making a movie for the big screen and not for television, "Shark Night" might have proved to be a solid, lighthearted matinée. Instead, it fails to recognize what it ought to have been and pretends to be a grade-A exploitation flick, falling flat from the beginning. In regards to its 3D: it's thoroughly unimpressive. Granted, I am not the biggest fan of 3D; I think it's a cheap, unengaging gimmick. But half the time, you wouldn't know this were a 3D movie if it weren't for the bulky glasses sitting on your nose. It's still murky and nothing jumps out from the screen except for a few pieces from a motorboat and some seaweeds. Not scary, not entertaining, not even remotely interesting, "Shark Night" was one of the more unhappy times I've had at the movies.

It seems like the only folks who can still produce good monster flicks are the Japanese. Their contemporary rubber monsters smashing miniature Tokyos and Osakas are far more interesting than any monster mayhem I've seen on the big screen in a long while.
28 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Rather problematic and quite heavily flawed effort
kannibalcorpsegrinder21 November 2013
Trying to have a relaxing weekend trip on a freshwater lake, a group of friends finds the festivities ruined by the repeated attacks by a group of sharks placed in the lake by exploitative fishermen and must try to get out alive.

Frankly, this is one of the more disappointing and frustrating efforts to come along since there's so much here that could've been made great that instead turns this into a rather pedestrian affair. One of the biggest lapses of all is the complete and utter stupidity and lameness regarding the plot which has several humongous holes in it. Besides the fact that most of the species chosen pose no threat to man and don't eat meat in their diet yet do so here, one of the biggest is the fact that the sharks featured are all fresh-water creatures and can't survive in fresh-water, of which we're told repeatedly that it is, yet there's nothing that states why the sharks are able to thrive as long as this one states as the operation is evidently running smoothly for quite a while. As for why it's gone so long unnoticed manages to uncover it's biggest non-surprise plot-twist later on almost right from the beginning with the surprise helper in the operation uncovered right from the moment this is found out, and thereby forces the film to go on far longer than it should with scenes clearly shown simply to beef up the running time and keep the group in danger beyond all sense of realism since the first gimmick part to this clearly isn't strong enough to support a full-length film without a lot of extra help in order to keep them in the water, and because they're being forced into the water by others rather than faced with no alternative and must be there to begin with, it really takes the fear out of the sharks because they're only the lapdogs of someone else and don't have a mind of their own, making for a rather piddly sense of fear from them. On top of that, we're faced with utterly atrocious CGI for the sharks that don't in the slightest portray any sense of realism or hide this computerized nature, and the 3D effects are pretty much the same exact gag repeated over and over of the shark swimming open-mouthed at someone from out of nowhere which really wears thin after a while. While there's some fine attack scenes in here, including a marina explosion, a frantic race to get to a safety dock in the water and a water-ski chase through a lagoon providing both action and some suspense that proved it could've handled some fun scenes here and there, overall this one was a terrible disappointment.

Rated PG-13: Graphic Violence, Language, Brief Nudity, drug use and animals-in-danger.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Shark Night is one fishy night I shall not be remembering anytime soon.
TheMovieDiorama23 May 2019
You may remember in previous reviews for 'Piranha 3D' and 'Sharknado' that I have acquired a sort of dislike/hate relationship with B-movies centred around fishy fiends. Well, today I just witnessed the worst of the bunch. Shark Night. In glorious 3D! And I kid you not, as soon as the film finished I turned my lounge upside down in a fit of unattended rage. This was awful. In fact, awful seems like a compliment. Imagine sharks mating with characterless college youths and giving birth to atrocious CGI monstrosities and involve them in a story that has the stupidity and boredom level of watching a Brexit debate. Yeah...that! Seven college friends from the University of "I don't care" spend a weekend together in a swampy Louisiana lake, when all of sudden...! Shark Night! In 3D!

The best shark films are those that know they are incomprehensible dumb shark films and just go with it. Maybe not to the absurd levels that 'Sharknado' took, but grounded with some realism like 'Deep Blue Sea'. Shark Night takes itself seriously. Intentionally or not, this plot lacks humour, characters and humorous characters which essentially sets itself up for one heck of a serious movie about salt-water sharks in a lake. Never mind the token black guy getting chomped first and required to, and I kid you not, hold a spear so that he can kill the sharks.

Ellis' last directorial efforts before his death had the unfortunate issue of acquiring a low certification. This meant no nudity, gore or profanity. Y'know, all the things that make B-movies fun. It's so horrifically executed, terrible CGI and obvious green screens included, that as soon as the ridiculously good-looking friends reach the lake you'll want to turn the film off. No bite, no swimming, no acting, no characters, no souls, no fun and I've realised I have no life. So yeah. Shark Night. In 3 frickin' D.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just don't. No really Don't watch this
I have seen some bad movies in my time. The worst of all being Skyline. After watching Skyline i remember thinking, "wow this movie is the worst thing I've ever watched". Intill i watched Shark Night 3D. I have to give it to the people who made this, thy out did them self's by making the worst film EVER. You maybe thinking well it cant be that bad. But you would be wrong. Please don't waste your time or money on this. I don't do reviews as i think everyone has there own movies that thy love and others hate. But for this i had to put it out there and save you a lot of time by watching this.... Movie? If you can even call it that.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad
alex-crosswell7 June 2012
Don't watch this film it is nothing more than a predictable teen slash movie. Bad acting, bad story (with no actual reasoning) and just simply ridiculous plot. I for one think that since the iconic jaws films were released, too many people have tried to replicate the success of said films. The problem is that these shark films try to be something they aren't. How this film passes as a horror I'll never know, not once was I startled, jumped or scared. The posters built expectations which could not be met. I wanted this film to end long before it did and, in general was a mix of both happy and frustrated to see the credits. Happy because this lame film was over and frustrated because I then realised that watching this film was an utter waste of time. It's not very often that you watch a shark film and wish for less action and more development but, that's what happened with this film. Overall to put it simply, I spent more time gazing off into the distance than I spent watching the screen on the edge of my seat.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Shark Night is simply soulless and lacks fun
Screen_Blitz29 December 2015
This shark attack thriller directed by David R. Ellis follows a group of Tulane University students who head off to spend their spring break at a lake house at the Louisiana Gulf. What starts off as a relaxing vacation turns into a nightmare when one of their friends trails out of the water with one of his arms torn off by what they first believe to be an injury from a skiing accident. It quickly turns out to be a result of a shark attack. With a large group of sharks lurking around the lake and no signal for help available, these seven college kids are faced with unimaginable terror as they fight to survive against the massacre of hungry sharks and authorities who reveal to be who they appear to be. Featuring the cast of Sara Paxton, Katharine McPhee, Dustin Milligan, Chris Carmack, Joel David Moore, Chris Zylka, Alyssa Diaz, Donal Logue, Sinqua Walls, and Joshua Leonard; this creature thriller borrow elements from movies like 'Jaws' and uses him with poor execution and sloppy direction.

This creature feature was already targeted with criticism before its release when it first received its PG-13 rating, much to the dismay of horror fans who were expecting to experience the blood and gory fun that creature films are often known for. As a result, the film is neutered down to gore-less shark attacks. Jaws received a PG rating at the time of its release, but that is only because the PG- 13 rating was not available at the time. The blood and gore displayed in that 1975 classic would definitely be slapped with a PG-13 today, if not an R. Suffering from lazy execution, this film is not only depraved of its blood and gory fun and solid written characters, but it completely empty of any sort of suspense. The movie is never scary nor is manage to be suspenseful, and instead treats viewers with dirt cheap thrills that fall of the horror aspect. When a character is attacked by a shark, all that is seen blood filling up the water with the character's offscreen demise, no suspense associated with these scenes.

Now lets discuss the plot and the characters. With the lazing writing by Will Hayes and Jesse Studenberg, the characters feel so wooden and underdeveloped that you don't really care for any of them, and the plot doesn't do much to redeem this. The first half focuses on the teenagers trying to fight against the sharks after one of them is attacked and another one gets eaten. Then the second the half deals with the characters being taken hostage by men played by Chris Carmack and Jimmy Lee Jr. who reveal to be mindless savages trying to feed them to the sharks. From there on, the plot falls into extreme inconsistency and ceases to make sense.

Shark Night is a terrible excuse of a horror film, and is way too watered down for its own good. The thin characters, poor plot, and overall sloppy script make this film far too difficult to recommend thanks to its PG-13 rating.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Decent, as far as shark-movies go
Coventry18 January 2012
The reviews I encountered on "Shark Night 3D" around here, whether coming from die-hard horror fanatics or not, are not at all favorable and I honestly don't fully understand why. Alright, obviously the film is heavily flawed and occasionally quite dumb, but as far as shark movies of the past two (or even three) decades go, this one definitely ranks amongst the most adequate ones! I'm a big shark fanatic and try to watch everything that comes out on the subject, regardless of how awful they sometimes are. Now I don't know about you, but the latest shark flicks I've seen are either lame melodramas based on true stories ("Open Water", "The Reef") OR taking place at the most ludicrous of locations (in Venice or in Tsunami-struck areas) OR dealing with imbecilic hybrid creatures and/or genetically altered species ("Dinoshark", "Sharktopus"…) So yes, call me soft and gentle perhaps, but I was reasonably pleased with the straightforward shark action and relatively refreshing plot of this "Shark Night 3D".

"Shark Night" opens like any other clichéd horror flick, namely with a bunch of teenagers heading off to a sunny lake house for a holiday full of water sports, alcohol and hormones in overdrive. One of the party teens, the hot blond Sarah Palski, grew up in the offbeat Louisianan beach community across the lake and knows that the local boys – including her ex – are often involved in delinquent affairs. Soon after their arrival, the teens fall victim to deadly accidents caused by various species of … sharks! Why there are tiger sharks, hammerheads and even great whites in a freshwater lake? The explanation is grotesque and slightly preposterous, but most definitely entertaining. The teen protagonists are your typical gathering of stereotypes (black macho, geek, hot Latina, etc…) and the dialogs are of abominable quality, but again, if you're expecting sheer poetry or intelligent intrigues, then you only have yourself to blame for the disappointment. The killings are fairly innovative, some more than others of course, with a more than impressive jet-ski jump moment as a highlight. The special effects aren't too shocking, presumably due to the PG-13 certificate, and the film doesn't necessarily benefice a lot from the 3D treatment. Just fun, preferably in combination with beer and buddies.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No
devinbrown-1909130 November 2019
Bad acting, unrealistic as all get out. The character development is basic as crap, it's horrible.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not quite trashy enough.
BA_Harrison17 May 2013
Judging from the movie's poster, which features a terrified young woman in a bikini being pursued by a massive shark, I'm guessing that Shark Night 3D was rushed into production to cash in on the success of the recent Piranha movies, which proved surprisingly entertaining thanks to an excess of nudity and gore. However, it soon becomes apparent that, in order to gain a 15 certificate (PG13 in the states) and thereby increase its potential audience, this one is missing all the 'good stuff' that made the Piranha films so entertaining.

The first sign that this film ISN'T going to be as anywhere near as demented as either Piranha flick is when the first victim, a hot blonde in a tiny swimming costume, gets topless but fails to flash her goods and is then eaten by a shark in remarkably lame fashion. This unfulfilled promise of nudity and gore continues with the introduction of a group of college kids who take time out from studying to party at a lakeside villa, unaware that the water is teeming with voracious man-eaters (the reason for which is suitably daft); the girls (Sara Paxton, Katharine McPhee, and Alyssa Diaz) are all extremely fit, but apart from a brief bit of side-boob, there is no nekkidness, and the carnage is mostly limited to lots of blood in the water.

The result is a reasonably entertaining piece of popcorn fodder aimed squarely at a teen audience—mindless, logic-free fun for the duration, but instantly forgettable.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Laughably bad
Calicodreamin6 November 2019
Some of the moments in this movie were so bad they made me laugh out loud. Sharks full body leaping out of the water to eat people. A one armed man taking on a hammerhead with a spear. It was all so ridiculous. The script was terrible, the plot was weak, and the acting was subpar. The lead up was okay, and the first few shark attacks were okay, but then they introduce the plot twist and the whole storyline collapses. I would suggest avoiding this movie.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Well... what are you expecting?
bowmanblue14 May 2014
After watching Shark Night, I was totally disgusted - NO character development, NO story, NO deep and meaningful inner message designed to enrich the soul and really make you think.

Only kidding.

If you haven't already figured it out, Shark Night is about sharks - sharks that eat people. And, if that's all you're looking for, you shouldn't feel too short-changed.

Shark Night starts off with a couple of carefree, randy American teenagers, frolicking around in a salt water lake - guess what happens to them? Anyway, cut to the local collage where a group of seven insanely good-looking teens, all armed with quick wits and iphones, go to the same salt water lake to chill out.

Then, when bikini meets shark teeth, there can only be one winner. Okay, so the sharks are all (surprise surprise) water-based, but don't worry, our human heroes find every excuse possible to end up in the water.

So, there you have it. If you like your B-movies bloodthirsty and don't take things too seriously, you'll enjoy this (think Piranha 3D or Cabin Fever). Some other reviews have said the special effects looked cheap and there wasn't enough of the sharks. I found the FX okay and the sharks were hardly given any real dialogue to learn, so give them a break, okay?

http://thewrongtreemoviereviews.blogspot.co.uk/
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Can't even take a second look at the formulaic, horror blueprint
StevePulaski3 September 2011
Even the most eventful, exciting, and thrilling scenes in Shark Night 3D aren't done properly thanks to poorly executed CGI, pitiful acting, a lack of logic, and not to mention, the biggest problem of all, the film's rating. Ultimately this wants to do three things; bank off the 3D gimmick, be a Piranha-inspired film, and try and give cheesy, exploitation fun. The only thing it manages to pull off successfully is be a gimmick-sponsored, loathsome horror film.

The rating is the biggest problem. I can tell from certain scenes like when the characters are angry and when the shark attacks they wanted to show more. It was cut down most likely to get teens younger than eighteen to spend money and go alone. This will obviously increase ticket sales, and get more teens involved. It was a mistake for this to be a PG-13 horror film, when clearly, it could've been a very bloody, very thrilling piece of new-horror. Instead it wimps out, but will most likely earn an "Unrated Director's Cut" stamp on the DVD release.

The plot: A group of College kids go down to one of the girls' lakehouses where they encounter a group of hungry sharks. Of course by this lake there is no cell reception, and the person behind this wonderful place didn't decide to install a landline in case, you know, someone was hurt or injured. Not to mention, there is not one park patrol or janitor in this whole woods. Or people just randomly hiking. In order for this film to work, logic and common sense need to be excluded.

So, one person gets his arm bitten off, and is said by the oh-so bright medical student that he has only about two hours, but he manages to make it well through the night with enough energy to wrestle another shark in the water with one arm. The group also encounter unsettling rednecks who live on the lake and two wind up going on a boat with them no questions asked.

The remainder of the film is composed of lukewarm 3D effects, loud riffs, computer animated sharks, teen screams, and in-comprehendable PG-13 shark clips. All of which edited and executed in a "we're-gonna-show-it-but-we're-not" sort of form. One of the rednecks is portrayed somewhat effectively by Joshua Leonard, who you may know as the ski-cap sporting teenager in The Blair Witch Project. Now he plays a shark crazed maniac who wants to bank off of people's expense. The thought is sickening to say the least.

I will say the 3D is mixed. I was hoping since this is directed by David R. Ellis he would use the same 3D company used to make The Final Destination leap off the screen, but he didn't. Some scenes in 3D are actually effective, but unlike The Final Destination, they fail to actually leap off the screen.

The pluses in Shark Night 3D are just little perks that don't make the film worth seeing at all. Some decent music is played, Sara Paxton does what she can with what she has, and the underwater cinematography and first person view are the only things working in the film's favor. There is also a lovely music video after the credits with all the actors and actresses rapping aimlessly about how shark attacks and shark safety. Someone ought to remind them they shouldn't be with us now.

If you're looking for suspense, keep walking folks, Shark Night 3D is a big fan of just BOOM and it happens sort of action. Nothing is built up to seem even scarier, and there is not even the slightest indication when something is about to happen. I would rather be still, interested, and worried than just jump quickly only to roll my eyes at what I just did.

David R. Ellis directed Final Destination 2 with plenty of suspense, but neglected to shift it over to the fourth installment or this. He was also the man behind the camera on Snakes on a Plane. I can't tell if Shark Night 3D wants to be a satire on creatures like that film, or if it wants to be a serious take on the genre of the underwater beast. But its rating, its lack of logic, and its execution prevent it from achieving either status.

And also, no modern horror film is complete without a helpless animal treated like meat in one scene in the film. Shark Night 3D is no exception to the formula.

Starring: Sara Paxton, Dustin Milligan, and Joshua Leonard. Directed by: David R. Ellis.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Remember "Jaws 3-D"? Lighting strikes twice and not in a good way.
a_chinn21 April 2020
I'm always amazed when a shark movie can be so dull. There are a few okay action sequences, but shark movies are about suspense. It's supposed to be fun scenes involving people yelling "Get out of the water!" or "Hurry up! Get back in the boat!" And things like that. This one seemed more like a PG-13 slasher film with a bunch of teens partying on the bayou and running afoul locals in shark infested waters. I suppose the action wasn't terrible, but it also wasn't all that interesting. Meh.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
I think the R rating should've been used here
jabarker817 February 2019
My biggest complaint about this movie is the weird editing. There are moments where the scene will literally cut to itself. But it's everything you'd expect from a shark movie. I've also heard that the biggest problem with this movie is its lack of an R rating. I think it should've gotten the R rating because it could've shown some T&A, more blood, and more profanity. David R. Ellis made the Final Destination series, and those were rated R. What happened here?
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Humdrum Shark Party
TwistedContent24 February 2021
"Shark Night" is one of the two late David R. Ellis's movies I hadn't seen yet, his best includes "Final Destination 2", "Cellular" and he also gave us the you-know-why iconic "Snakes on a Plane". However, he also made a movie called "Asylum" which is one of the very rare movies I rated 1/10. But, as I aim to purposefully watch another bad movie (last one was "Howling 2"), I'm prepped and ready for just about anything.

After a quite cheap, metal music banging intro, and one lackluster shark kill where there's already a continuity error, we get right down to brass tacks with clichés of a teenage horror. Everyone gets introduced as they're getting together for a "lit" weekend, get on a road, stop at a gas station with a creepy clerk - the usual. Lots of time is spent on empty horror-less adventures, or young people doing what young people do when partying at a lake. When everything has started to feel too aimless, the shark/s turns up lurking, but it never quite delivers the expected fun, for some time we ever barely see the shark, always via shaky cam and fast cutting, never in satisfying detail, never atmospheric. And when they do appear more and often near the end, it is still far from atmospheric. When dealing with the evils of this beast, characters sometimes make mighty odd decisions, making it harder to feel along them much. After shark has joined the fun, arrive the previously met slightly weird locals, threading the plot by the book. Predictable fates and resolutions are expected, as is gory fun and tense atmosphere, but almost none of the latter makes its way to us. There are, however, couple interesting, though silly plot turns, like the twist of shark(s) having cameras strapped around them. As it turns out, some of the locals have a real fascination with sharks. If anything, this took away the magic of a solid shark horror, where the monster is the villain, and even has discernable characteristics. The various beasts of "Shark Night" are void of any kind of soul.

"Shark Night 3D" is far from the worst entry in the entire shark horror niche, but it is also a very lacking, not good enough to grip you, not bad enough to be described pleasantly whacky. My rating: 4/10.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed