Think Like a Man (2012) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
65 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Amazing feel good movie
bynari-126 August 2012
Don't be put off by the low ratings. So far the movie has only been rated 6700 times which isn't really enough for it to shadow the minority ratings.

I suspect there's been a lot of men who aren't into these types of movies that have been forced to watch it with their girlfriends and have then given it low ratings because it definitely leans towards being more of a soppy romantic comedy than a gritty one.

It's definitely not a 'fairy-tale soppy romantic' movie by any means. I would class it as having a realistic amount of soppyness which is what makes it good.

The main cast are pretty diverse in their personalities so most people will be able to relate to someone in the movie, but even if you can't it's got enough comedy/fun in it to keep you entertained.

I think racially this movie is fantastic and it makes a lot of very positive statements. We have a mostly black cast with a very middle class Friends(TV series)'ish feel to them with 2 white guys in the group, 1 of whom has a black girlfriend.

There's a couple of light racially inspired jokes at the expense of one of the white guys in the group which further emphasises that race just isn't and shouldn't be a serious issue in the group.

It's really nice to see a movie like this with a nice intelligent middle-class group of African Americans. Too many movies focus on the gangster element of African American culture these days, so I think this is a really positive and refreshing movie.

I definitely recommend it to everyone except those who are put off by a bit of soppy romance.
32 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
Brilliant movie! Absolutely loved it!
niovi_55528 August 2012
I watched this movie not expecting anything great, taking in consideration its very low IMDb rating. It completely proved me wrong, and it absolutely made my day. It was funny, charming, and full of really great moments. I loved the fact that the movie was following more than one relationship. It has a great storyline. The characters are great, and all the couples in the movie have great chemistry between them. Even though Cedric was the funniest character in the movie, all the others always had something pretty funny to say. I loved seeing Turtle in something else besides Entourage, he's a really great actor. The soundtrack is also amazing. I would definitely recommend this to all my friends.
16 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
Can't believe the rating is so low
mohammed-helal-eng6 May 2012
Friend of mine referred me to this movie to go see with my girl. I saw the rating on IMDb and was hesitant. However, he insisted, so I went for it.

The movie is funny as hell. It may run for two hours but for me and my girl it passed by quickly; there's always something going on keeping you interested or making you laugh.

I don't need to write a detailed review. If you're hesitant, don't be...it's worth it!

PS I'd really give this movie an 8, but I feel like the current rating is way too low.

Another PS: I'm not black!
50 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
Ignore ratings, very good film!
Rizwan Ali14 September 2012
This film is much better than it's rating! Obviously it's not jammed full of amazing special effects and Oscar winning performances but it doesn't pretend to be either. The film is what it is a light hearted, feel good, comedy romance.

Strongly recommend watching if you're feel a little bored or want a movie to kill time with some great laughs provided by Kevin Hart.

The story line is a little predictable but no need to worry because the laughs make up for it. All I can say is just watch the film, you won't be disappointed, I'm certain you will be pleasantly surprised.

Great film 8/10 will be looking out for part 2 :)
17 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
Pleasantly Surprised
Amanda Kitchens19 April 2012
I have seen the previews for this movie & thought it was definitely one to pick up at Redbox, not pay $10 to see. Boy was I wrong. I walked out of the pre-screening pleasantly surprised. Not only is it hilarious from beginning to end, the cast is perfect. Kevin Hart made this movie what it is, he was great. The pairing of the couples couldn't have been more believable. It was above and beyond what I expected going into the theater. Not to mention i've never seen an audience so into a movie, nobody had a bad thing to say about it. I am so glad I got to see this early so I can be sure to let everyone know its worth paying to see. I would probably pay full price to see it again to be honest....DON'T MISS THIS ONE!! It's clear to me the people who rated it 3 stars definitely haven't seen this movie.
31 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
8/10
Predicable but well executed.
gregarious198713 August 2012
There are ups and downs to this flick. The story is interesting and unique. The cast is beautiful, the emotions are spot-on all through the film. Another plus is the humor. Every character has a situation that we can all relate to. A momma's boy, a player, a divorcée... All characters that we have interacted with at one point.

Kevin Hart does an exceptional job and he stands above the rest of the cast. The downer is the last quarter of the movie. It gets too sappy for a dude. The resolutions of the relationships become way too predictable. I mean, it's predictable down to the actual words spoken by the couples.

That aside, this is a movie suitable for a night in with your girl, or a date. It will set your chic in the mood :-) A better than average movie, and still worth your money.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
8/10
The Kevin Hart Show
Catt Jones21 April 2012
I am sure that a lot of folks will think that this is a film to plug Steve Harvey's book, but trust me when I say that the book does not need plugging since it made the best seller list (just wanted to get that off my chest). This is one of those films that I am going to have to watch again because the audience was laughing so loud and long that I fear I missed some of the jokes. That being said ….. Kevin Hart (Cedric) is a fool (in a good way). He had me (and the rest of the audience) cracking up. His comic timing and expressions are priceless. The relationship between Dominic (Michael Ealy) and Lauren (Taraji P Henson) was probably the most honest (compared to the others). I like the reference that they made to For Colored Girls (classic). I have always considered Michael Ealy to be very sexy and he did not disappoint in this film (Yum). Michael (Terrance Jenkins) was a true mama's boy almost to the point of being sickening, but Candace (Regina Hall) did what she had to do to rectify that situation. The longtime relationship between Jeremy (Jerry Ferrara) and Kristen (Gabrielle Union) is one that a lot of couples will be able to relate to. Finally, Zeke (Romany Malco)…. What can I say, there are a bunch of you out there and I am glad that Mya (Meagan Good) stuck to her guns. The only negative thing that I would say about the film is that I am not sure that Alex (Chris Brown) needed to keep popping in on the scenes. It was kind of redundant since the film already had a "playa". Wendy Williams (Gail) and Sherri Shephard (Vicki) had small roles in the film, but it was good to see the talk show hosts represent. I think that a lot of people may see this film as a "chick flick", but I like to think of it as a great date movie. I think that the implied war of the sexes will appeal to all and if nothing else, Kevin Hart will keep you in stitches. This film is well worth the price of a ticket. Put down the book and get out and see this film because this will be the one that they will be talking about next to the water cooler on Monday. I am giving this film a green light.
44 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
2/10
Not my cup of tea...
stuffed-pumpkin7 October 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Watching this, I have a vague feeling that I'm watching a well-written infomercial with good acting. It has sweet moments and some good laughs, but I just can't shake that feeling of watching an infomercial, especially when a character holds up the book while she's referencing it. I'm not African-American and I haven't seen the end of it yet, but I can tell already that I'm just not thrilled with it. There's a lot of common sense-type ideas in it... and I really can't figure out why these women are messing around with men they don't really like or respect in the first place.

But then again, I'm really not a big fan of romantic comedies anymore, so maybe I'm a little biased. Plus, this movie was someone else's pick, not mine. I know that not everybody feels the way I do about this movie.
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
2/10
RTeally Sucked / 1 hour too long!!
skipweo30 April 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Typical 'clown' movie.

Guys are players.

Girls are either ho's, a 'shackee', or a "nice" single mom.

Bros play the ho's.

the ho's play the bros, and they all end up happily ever after.

A 2 hour commercial for Steve Harvey.

Save your money and go see Tyler Perry movies instead!!!! Kevin Hart? - Cool! And for those who say they laughed throughout? - NOT!! And those reviewers who used the term 'racist' - NOT!! This is just one bad / silly movie
19 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
7/10
A quality film in line with Hollywood's traditional romantic comedy formula
WydeOpen19 April 2012
Based off the Steve Harvey bestseller, the film "Think Like A Man"opens with the legendary sound of James Brown singing "It's A Mans World". Anyone familiar with the song knows the true message of the song is in the lyrics; "but it wouldn't be nothing, nothing without a woman or a girl".

That song choice serves as a perfect theme for this conventional romantic comedy that chronicles the timeless war of the sexes. Now I realize that the description "conventional" may come across as negative but that's not my intention entirely. I mean conventional as in "not a Madea" movie. This quality film falls more in line with Hollywood's traditional romantic comedy formula rather than Tyler Perry's "play adapted for film" approach to movie making. There are plenty of laughs interspersed through out romantic conflicts that are resolved without any significant twists or surprises.

The plot revolves around the love lives and relationships of six male friends who fall into very specific roles; the player, the mamas boy, the dreamer, the non-commiter, the happily married man and the happy divorcée.

For the most part these guys are blissfully ignorant of the dissatisfaction that the significant others in their lives silently suffer through.

That is until the women discover and read Steve Harvey's book "Think Like A Man, Act Like A Woman". Acting on the advice of the book, the women manipulate the men into becoming the type of man they each want and getting the relationships they desire. So can the "player" be tamed by the girl who keeps her "cookie" on lock down for at least 90 days? Can the single mom get the "mama's boy" to cut the emotional umbilical cord he shares with his overbearing, over nurturing mother (played pitch perfect by Jennifer Lewis)? And what happens when the fellas realize that they've been "betrayed" by Steve Harvey and then use the book against the ladies like a sports team with knowledge of the opposing teams plays.

Although the majority of the cast is Black, the story (due to Steve Harvey's source material) and the comedy (thanks mostly to Kevin Hart) is broad enough to appeal to almost all audiences unlike some of Tyler Perry's movies which tend to cater  specifically to Black women.

Every actor and actress does an adequate job in their various roles and move the film easily from scene to scene. There are plenty of cameos that make the film fun but Kevin Hart deserves special recognition because he absolutely shines! He redefines the term "scene stealer" by being the most enjoyable character every time he appears on screen.

Although many people will consider this a Black romantic comedy, this film is really too strong to be pigeonholed into that genre.  But if you must classify it as such, then know that this movie breaks Tyler Perry's stronghold and breaks out of the Madea mold of what Black entertainment is.
24 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
5/10
More an Ode to Steve Harvey than a real Movie
TamPalm22 April 2012
Excruciatingly bad. That's my takeaway from this movie. As other critics have stated, this is just one big infomercial for Steve Harvey's book. I will go a step further and say it's a big ol' "that-a-boy" from Steve to himself. Gag me now.

The plot is non-existent. The "movie" is just an array of vignettes that sloppily intersect and form silly lessons from the "great one" (Harvey) about relationships. The characters are just there. There is no real development except the trite, predictable "I see the light now" that brings the manufactured happy endings to each vignette. The writing is HORRIBLE. The production is low-budget. The list goes on of things that make this "movie" forgettable.

However,there are small but significant peeps of light through the otherwise dark cloud that is this ode to Harvey. The all-star cast tries really hard and sometimes succeeds at making this horrible script entertaining. I will highlight Michael Ealy's character as a ray of sunshine. The combination of his looks including those piercing eyes and his acting chops make his character appealing and dreamy, despite his being mismatched with the older-looking Taraji Henson. Gabrielle Union does a decent job with her character and she and her beau have the most interesting, believable story line of the movie. The numerous cameos would be kind of cute if they didn't leave you with the impression that their inclusion is just yet another way for "the great one" to show he is "somebody" and that he "knows people." I digress as I find myself getting back to the negative even in the paragraph I had reserved to show the few positives of the movie.

Bottom line, this is an ego-driven "I love myself" fest of Steve Harvey. I am wholly disappointed in the Rainforest crew who produced it, as I thought they would have grown more in their movie-making than they have apparently. They are still putting out low-budget, poorly-constructed films. It seems the only difference is that they are getting paid more now to do so. It's a shame. They had the opportunity to make this movie a quality movie. It could have been so much more than it was.

You will not regret skipping this movie.
26 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
5/10
Definitely one of the worst films of 2012 so far...
TheQuietStorm28 May 2012
I'm proud of this film's success. Will Packer and Rainforest work hard and they deserve it. But this film is weak on so many levels. Being based on a "self-help" book, this screenplay was crammed with nothing but on-the-nose dialogue that left me bored and fidgety for the most part. Outside of Kevin Hart, there wasn't a single thing funny about this film. Okay, maybe once or twice I laughed but one time it was at something I don't think was meant to be funny (actor Romany Malco singing with his guitar). You can't call a film a comedy where only one character was remotely, or should I say barely humorous. I found more humor in dramas like American Beauty, City Lights, and The Graduate.

This film seemed to just flat-line from beginning to end. When I say flat, I mean literally flat. Nothing happened until the guy-meets-girl moments, and that took a while to get to. Once the relationships started, the weak conflicts seemed to be limited to the superficiality of Steve Harvey's best selling book. No inner conflicts, not even conflict on the extra-personal level.

I could've done without most of the characters which can read like a list of players on a football team. They had no purpose and added nothing to the telling, like the married guy amongst them, Bennett played by Gary Owen. I know a lot of people loved this film. But can anyone seriously say they got to know any of the characters? Also, I had a hard time buying most of the relationships. The worst of them all had to be Jerry Ferrara with Gabrielle Union. It was like having to suspend your disbelief watching them together and that didn't even work for me. I didn't believe they even knew each, let alone them being in a 13 year relationship. At a glance, I would faster believe Union was Ferrara's babysitter or nanny, not her man. It was one big spoof to me.

The next absurd relationship was Regina Hall and the guy from 106 and Park, Terrence Jenkins. I didn't believe he and Hall went to high school at the same time. In fact, she could've passed for his mother as well.

Taraji Henson's relationship with Michael Ealy was also hard to stomach, as I had trouble believing a woman with her success in business wouldn't question Ealy's facade.

I liked the relationship between Meagan Good and Romany Malco but it was so contrived, like everything else about this film.

And the next black film made showing black friends discussing their relationships while trying to play basketball should have little-tree car re-fresheners hanging from theater ceilings for the sake of audiences. Why? Because such expository scenes are a load of steaming crap. Guys don't stand around on the court discussing such things, or play ball while having those kinds of conversations. I know they did it in The Brothers (2001) and it was b.s. then as it still is now.

The telling had no direction, no point-of-view. It could've been anyone or anything's story at any given time, which left me confused and disengaged. I was waiting for the fire hydrant's storyline eventually.

I really wanted to like it, but I couldn't. In the end, I was dissatisfied and utterly annoyed.
23 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
4/10
The date night from hell
Steve Pulaski31 August 2012
Warning: Spoilers
In 2009, entertainer, game show host, and radio personality Steve Harvey released a book called Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man: What Men Really Think About Love, Relationships, Intimacy, and Commitment, and after plugging it on The Oprah Winfrey Show, it quickly climbed to the top of the bestseller's lists and soared in popularity with women everywhere. This sudden surge in demand for a book "exposing" men for what they really are led Harvey to create a follow-up novel called Straight Talk, No Chaser: How to Find, Keep, and Understand a Man, but considering how this film became a surprising box office success, it wouldn't surprise me if we'll be talking about that film in a matter of time.

In my above sentence, I put the word "exposing" in quotations because I am unable to fathom why Harvey's self-help book has gained so much notoriety amongst single women. It seems everything that is discussed in the film about men wanting sex, wanting a looser relationship, and wanting less constraints in a commitment is something most people knew before this book surfaced. Did someone just need to print them and spell them out for people? Did it really need to ostracize men as the soul source of many relationship problems, and continue to feed the idea that all men are cut from the same cloth? I'm not sure, but as a film motivated to take the idea of a self-help book and incorporate its ideology into a film counterpart, it's labored and shockingly uninteresting for the most part.

The film follows the lives of several couples, whose relationships are failing because, of course, it's the males efforts or lack thereof that are soiling the chemistry and the recipe for success. We have Dominic (Michael Ealy) a capable, but unmotivated soul; a trait that his new business executive girlfriend, Lauren (Taraji P. Henson) can definitely change. Michael (Terrence J), a man so attached to his mother that the girlfriend becomes the second priority. His high school crush, Candace (Regina Hall), a single mom as well, whom he recently reconnects with, feels that in order to make a relationship work, she'll need to fix this. Jeremy (Jerry Ferrara) is dating Kristen (Gabrielle Union), who is upset because he is reluctant to pop the question and is very fearful of committing to anything. And who could forget Zeke's (Romany Malco) dilemma? His girlfriend Mya (Meagan Good) puts him on a love lockdown, meaning that since he is known as a player and a complete and total ladies man, that he will be prohibited from sex until ninety days of knowing each other.

It's also an obligation that these pals have a wise-ass best friend who, in this case, is Kevin Hart's Cedric, recently divorced, and frequents many strip clubs. He's definitely the most interesting character here, but look at his competition. Uninteresting males accompanied by equally uninteresting females in a contrived plot serving as extended product placement for a surprise bestseller. Put that on the back of the DVD.

So, it takes the men a little while to piece together why their girlfriends have become vindictive and overcompensating, and soon they realize they have unwillingly become victims to their new passing-phase, which is the self-help novel. They decide to read it and use Harvey's ideology against the women as a defense tactic for themselves. Color me not surprised, but heartbroken. Two wrongs don't make a right, and this is where contrivance triumphs logic, reason, and humanity.

Think Like a Man is also plagued with the most hopelessly unbelievable setup of the year, so far. Even more asinine than our sixteenth president being a cold blooded vampire hunter. As we watch this film, we see women who appear to be compassionate, understanding, and, for the most part, good-natured. One impossibly tries to grasp the idea that these women would become gridlocked to the rules of the genius of Steve Harvey that they'd begin to live their life by his advice and tips. One finds it almost shiveringly absurd that an independent, free-thinking individual would not realize that these ideas of men being motivated by sex and ego, along with requesting the loosest possible rules by women, have existed for the past hundred years and will probably lurk around for another hundred years. I hate to say this, but the film stereotypes men into careless, unfeeling slobs and doesn't leave much redemption for the women. C'mon, this is sitcom stuff.

Think Like a Man was written by Keith Merryman and David A. Newman, who are responsible for penning last year's Friends With Benefits, a comedy I've grown to think less of over time. It was essentially a romantic comedy playing dress-up, acting like it wasn't part of the cliché crowd, but when the layers of dress-clothes came off one by one, by the third act, we saw what was coming and we became disappointed and slightly cheated. Think Like a Man is a little different. It shows up with a questionably quirky premise, offers the disheartening thoughts that women can and will be manipulated by loose-lipped trite composed into a novel, men will continue to accept and receive most blame for failing relationships, and occasionally, we'll be poked in the gut with a zinger by comedian Kevin Hart. To me, it sounds like an overlong date night from hell.

Starring: Michael Ealy, Jerry Ferrara, Meagan Good, Regina Hall, Kevin Hart, Terrence J, Taraji P. Henson, Romany Malco, Gabrielle Union, and Steve Harvey. Directed by: Tim Story.
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
2/10
One of the Worst Movies of the year
Richard Reilly22 April 2012
Talk about overkill. With more than two hours of screen time, this drama looks like it has the potential to buck the Hollywood trend of stuffing too much into a short film. The problem is, they follow the relationships of six friends—from both sides. Trying to show more than ten angles in two hours is simply impossible. Still, they try. In the end, this movie turns into a mess of dialogue that wouldn't have been good even if the storyline was worth it (and it most defiantly wasn't). When you base the entirety of a movie off of stereotypes, the movie should be a comedy. In a drama, stereotypical characters are far too flat for the audience to care about. In the beginning of Think Like A Man, each character is labeled according to how they would be in described in the book. There's "The Player," "Mama's Boy," and much much more. Since there are so many characters on screen, you never get any more depth to these characters. By the end of the movie, you will find yourself hoping that they all end up alone so that movie ends faster. I honestly want to see how long the script is for Think Like a Man. The characters never stop talking—and often talk fast and over each other in order to fit everything in. This might be okay if the screenwriter we decent. Unfortunately, they were nowhere near. I cringed multiple times and found myself in awe that anyone truly believed certain lines would ever actually be uttered by a sane human being. How any of these actors looked at the script and thought it was a good idea is beyond me. This movie is also sellout. Not only is it terrible, but the product placement goes overboard. The men meet in a bar constantly and are always drinking Dos Equis. When they are on the basketball court, they always wear Air Jordan's (They even talk about Air Jordan a couple times as well). They reference a couple Tyler Perry movies for no apparent reason. How do they expect us to care about a movie when it feels like a commercial? Don't see this movie. Please. I laughed once—kind of. The dialogue is bad. The acting is lackluster. Even the idea is terrible. Every few scenes they cut to the author of Act Like A Lady, Think Like A Man so that he can give advice to the women. Every time this happened, I found myself looking around the theatre—simply wondering if anyone else realized that this was a horrible idea. I hope they did. This goes down as one of the worst movies of the year.
22 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
5/10
Not bad; Not great. Kevin Hart made the movie.
Beatrice McClearn22 April 2012
It's not bad, but it's not great either. I personally did not support the book because it was nothing more than a marketing tool used to make Steve Harvey more money. I'm not mad at him, I'm just not in his target market.

If I didn't like movies so much, or reviewing them, I would've passed on this movie too. Surprisingly it was hilarious...thanks to the awesome little short man that goes by the name "Cedric" played by Kevin Hart. Otherwise it was an average movie about women being ruled by a book on relationships and men playing into predetermined roles.

More power to Steve Harvey for turning pages, and heads, but it's not one of my favorite movies to date. It would fit perfectly in a sleepover blockbuster night for single women.
16 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
5/10
But Act Like a Fool
Chris_Pandolfi20 April 2012
Warning: Spoilers
So far as I can tell, the intended purpose of Steve Harvey's book "Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man" was to give women relationship advice from a male perspective, which in turn would help them find the right man. While I have no opinion on his words of wisdom, I do have a thing or two to say about "Think Like a Man," a film that injects Harvey's book into the plot of a romantic comedy. Silly and uninspired, it doesn't analyze his concepts in plausible, satisfying ways; instead, it applies them to manufactured vignettes in which the men are immature brats and the women are conniving and manipulative. There is no truth to any of the characters in this movie. They serve primarily as comedy relief, goofballs we're made to laugh at instead of with.

Taking place in Los Angeles, the film is essentially a series of interconnected subplots, all examining relationships between specific categories of men and women. Steve Harvey makes continuous appearances on television screens in homes and bars with the specific purpose of promoting his book; the women, intrigued, all decide to buy a copy and apply whatever advice they glean to the men in their lives. At first, the men are thrown for a loop. Then one of them catches wind of what their women are doing, leading them to buy the book and attempt to beat them at their own game. And so we must wade through an implausible and childish battle of wits before reaching a conclusion so neatly gift-wrapped that it seems to have transplanted from a third-rate sitcom.

Here's a rundown of the couples featured in this film. There's a real-estate agent named Kristen (Gabrielle Union) and her boyfriend, Jeremy (Jerry Ferrara), who still hasn't popped the question after nine years of being with her. Not only is she eager to motivate him apply for a job he's qualified for, she also wants him to stash his collection of sci-fi memorabilia so that she can redecorate to her heart's content. This would include getting rid of his couch, which has a colorful history to say the least. There's Mya (Meagan Good), who's fed up with one-night stands and decides to try out Harvey's ninety-day plan on her new boyfriend, Zeke (Romany Malco). This will not be easy for him; a smooth talker who knows all the good pickup lines, he's an unapologetic lothario with nothing on his mind apart from sex.

There's a caterer named Dominic (Michael Ealy), who's known for his lofty dreams. His current dream is to be a chef, and indeed, he has a talent for cooking. Into his life enters Lauren (Taraji P. Henson), a powerful executive who wants a man with a six-figure income and his own sense of power. Desperate to impress her, Dominic tells her that he already is a chef and is deciding between two restaurant offers. And then there's Candace (Regina Hall), a single mom and Lauren's best friend. She starts dating a man named Michael (Terrence J), who's domineered by his mother (Jenifer Lewis). Needless to say, no woman is good enough for her son, least of all a single mother. Incidentally, Candace's son, while perhaps a little too inquisitive, gets along splendidly with Michael.

Serving as both narrator and the annoying fifth guy character is Cedric (Kevin Hart), who spends most of the film acting like a fool and mooching off of Zeke. He's in the process of finalizing his divorce from his mostly unseen wife, and claims to be all the better for it. All five guys are friends and spend most of their time either in a bar or on a basketball court, where (you guessed it) they waste much of their energy complaining about the women in their lives. Tagging along is a superfluous man played by comedian Gary Owen, who serves no real purpose other than to be the butt of PG-13-appropriate racial slurs. There's even time for completely unnecessary cameo appearances by NBA players Metta World Peace, Shannon Brown, and Matt Barnes. Former WNBA player Lisa Leslie joins them as they successfully emasculate the main stars in a basketball game.

You know me. I'm usually the first to let a romantic comedy slide, simply because I accept them as nothing more than fantasy. But in this case, something went wrong. "Think Like a Man" regards genuine relationship advice as fodder for a series of inane jokes. The characters are so shallow, it's as if writers Keith Marryman and David A. Newman know absolutely nothing about men or women. For all I know, maybe they truly don't. Whenever Harvey appears on one of the many conveniently placed television sets, he always gives a piece of advice; each one had the potential to be applied to a complex and thought-provoking vignette, one in which the characters have a bit more depth to them. How sad that his book served as the basis for a film that shows no interest in real relationships.

-- Chris Pandolfi (www.atatheaternearyou.net)
14 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
8/10
Started off slow but picked up tremendously towards the middle
Shamontiel Vaughn20 April 2012
Warning: Spoilers
The beginning of the film started off a little rocky to me mainly because the trailers showed so many good joking scenes so when they appeared in the film, I didn't really get to enjoy the laugh. Women complained about men. Men complained about women. I LOVE Kevin Hart and Michael Ealy, and I've just gotten more hip to Romany Malco after hearing him on "The Breakfast Club" (saw "40-Year-Old Virgin" but I couldn't have told you his name by heart up until that interview). And as much as I enjoy watching Taraji Henson act (her hair looked GREAT in the film), respect La La Anthony and Gabrielle Union, Regina Hall was who I wanted to see most on the women's side mainly because she was absolutely hilarious in the Style Magazine interview. Her comedic face and timing are way underrated and not taken advantage of in this film. But with that said, this turned out to be a great film for reasons I didn't expect.

1) I had no idea Morris Chestnut was even in the film. (Spoiler alert: I have been on that Morris-Chestnut-date. It is the WORST so I buried my head reliving it while watching this movie.) 2) Michael Ealy and Taraji Henson had some seriously juicy makeout scenes. They weren't as memorable as the one with Halle Berry in "Their Eyes Were Watching God," but there was definitely tongue action involved. Two hot people in a hot scene made for great "Oooh, look at them!" moments.

3) Kevin Hart (If I need to explain anything past his name, you need to do some comedic research. Everything about Kevin Hart in this movie was great.) And my gawd, his wife...I was NOT expecting her to be in the film either, but those two are almost equally nuts.

4) Jerry Ferrara is someone I didn't know before this film and I probably wouldn't have put him and Gabrielle Union together, but those two were too cute on film. I got the impression he was shorter than her, but those two were the second most fun couple to watch.

5) I was really impressed with Terrence J.'s acting. I saw "Stomp the Yard 2" and thought it was terrible, but in this movie, he did a great job. Jenifer Lewis is going to bring out anybody's personality when she's next to him, but Terrence J. held his own all by himself.

6) The guest appearances from some major stars like Kelly Rowland, Chris Brown and Arielle Kebbel were fun to see. Kelly impressed me with her acting. I already knew Chris Brown was a very good actor. And I'm a HUGE "The Vampire Diaries" fan so anything with Arielle Kebbel in it is going to make me happy to see her. You'll also see some pop-up appearances from other popular comedians like Tony Rock, Bruce Bruce and Luenell.

Steve Harvey wasn't kidding when he said some of everybody was in this film. There are cameos everywhere, but they all make sense. People are really playing parts, not just thrown in to say "look, I'm a celeb and I'm in this movie, too." Fellas will go for the comedy and the beautiful women (love Meagan Good's hair, too). Ladies will go to crack up laughing at Kevin Hart and point out which one of the women they are FROM Steve Harvey's book. Or, they'll applaud the guys for making fun of the book (there are two extreme sets of readers for this book). Either way it goes, it's a great film and I like the way it ended, including that Morris Chestnut date that was too close to home (for me).
14 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
3/10
Pretentious and irritating to watch
KineticSeoul11 October 2014
This is a ensemble romantic comedy, without the comedy or real romance. Everything just seemed so forced and rushed to the point, it just took me out of the whole experience. I just can't see how people in their mid twenties can enjoy a movie such as this. I could understand teens that have altered realities, but this is too much. I don't necessary agree with a lot of the insight and perception on males and females. But at least it tried, and to a certain extent I could somewhat understand it. Even if the one dimensional characters ruins it. But with the running time, I guess they did what they thought was right. The climax was super rushed and just seem to happen out of nowhere. Overall, I thought this movie was pretentious and annoying. And almost not watchable, but since I didn't fall asleep while watching this, I give it a 3.5/10. Well at least it's better than "Grown Ups".

3.5/10
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
8/10
Much better then I expected and one of the few chick-flicks that I really enjoyed. Very funny and good date movie. I say A-
Tony Heck23 August 2012
"There is no such thing as a perfect man." Four male friends think they have it made. The all have great girlfriends who make them happy. Four female friends all think that they have the worst relationship. When Steve Harvey writes a book for women about how they should act the tables in the relationship turn. The men think they find an answer, but like most everything we do that backfires. I have to admit that I am not usually a fan of these types of movies. Without sounding racist I am not a fan of the Tyler Perry movies (even though this isn't one) and this just looked way to girly for me. I can't believe how wrong I was. While the movie is formulaic and predictable it is still very funny and really entertaining. There were a few parts in this that I laughed really hard at and when it was over I couldn't believe how much I enjoyed it. While this is, and should be, considered a chick-flick this is one of the "girl movies" that I liked and I think most men will like it too. Don't base you seeing this or not off of past movies like this. This is much better then I expected. Overall, very funny and much better then I expected. I surprisingly give this an A-...I know.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
A Continuous Laughing Experience!!!!
ahealthydrinkforyou22 April 2012
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was so well written and is unlike any other movie I have ever seen!!! Tim Story & Keith Merryman took their time and looked at many aspects involved in relationships in the 20th century. His writing definitely shows the BALANCE that emerges from a relationship in which one partner supports and encourages the other partner's dreams, and we saw how empowered and motivated it makes the other partner feel to know somebody has your back in your relationship. I liked the way they showed the player continuously playing until he woke up realized this is not a game, this is LIFE!!! ALL of the characters gave different (mature & immature) points of view about their relationships, thus bringing the movie to a whole new level each time something new was revealed. I like the fact that every one's role was diverse in that each of their personalities brought out a real sense of how we actually do think, act, and date in the real world. Some of us may have learned some new ways of thinking and responding to situations we may be in now.

Thank you Tim, Keith, & Steve for using your genius writing and comedic skills to give us a blockbuster comedy that will forever have our eyes and ears open as we become involved in future relationships that may just lead to happiness!!! 5 Stars!!!
9 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
2/10
Just. So. Bad.
djblues-945-1388587 October 2014
Just. So. Bad.

Insulting to both genders on so many levels. Does anyone believe that men (or in this movie's case, boys) sit around a table at a bar discussing their relationships and feelings?

And the women are so shallow and outright stupid it beggars belief that any man would be remotely interested in them, except perhaps for a one- night stand.

I know it's supposed to be a girlie flick and while my wife enjoyed seeing the boys with their shirts off, even she was laughing in all the wrong places.

Appalling movie.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
Hilarious from beginning to end
sociallydisabled29 April 2012
I attended a near-midnight screening of this movie with pretty much the same expectations as I would have for Tyler Perry movies in general. I quite like Tyler Perry movies but this movie is beyond comparison.

Frankly, I've NEVER been to a movie where I laughed from beginning to end. It was HILARIOUS. Kevin Hart is an absolute scene stealer and almost none of the jokes in this movie fell flat. Yes, it does follow the conventional Hollywood romantic comedy formula. And the fact that all these beautiful women would seek romantic advice from a book is a bit contrived. But overall, the ensemble is beautiful and talented and at no point in the movie did it feel lagging.

I was disappointed by the low overall rating on IMDb so I decided to write a review. Perhaps the other voters didn't see the same movie that I did. This is hands down the best romantic comedy I've seen in recent years (emphasis on comedy), with original and unexpected quips. In my humble opinion, this movie should at least have a 7 out of 10. And let me add that I am Asian. Two days before watching this movie I tried watching The Science of Sleep - a movie that was annoying pretentious and frankly disappointing coming from the director of the fabulous Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. That movie is rated a whopping 7.3 on IMDb which I think - pardon my French - is total crap. There is no way that Think Like a Man should be rated lower than this movie, thus Think Like a Man must truly have a higher rating than 7.3!

But definitely, if you enjoy witty and unexpected humor from a romantic comedy, watch this movie because you will not regret it! I think too many people judge movies based on the demographics that they seem to target which is a shame. You might really miss out on a wonderful experience.
8 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
2/10
predictable and unfunny
Lucy Bonette24 July 2016
This is a terrible movie. It's supposed to be funny, but it really isn't. Full of stereotypes (both racial and sexual) and right from the beginning you know how it's going to end.

The acting is very bad, with Wendy Williams as Gail as an absolute low point. The only one doing kind of OK is Steve Harvey, but he pretty much plays himself.

At one point two characters realize they think alike when they correct the waiter on the pronunciation of French culinary term (en crôute) simultaneously. Only, the correction is all wrong! Not relevant to the story, but things like that just make the movie so amateurish.

It's also quite a long movie and scenes on nthe basketball court where the short guys have to play the tall guys could have been left out, as they are totally irrelevant to the story and are not funny either.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
Think like a viewer
rrstrong22 April 2012
Think like a man was a very well written comedic drama that entertains till the end. The cast couldn't have been picked better to bring the story to life. The film's direction kept the scenes and plot lines moving to keep you interested at a comfortable pace with great doses of Kevin Hart. The movie did not have difficult events to understand or high octane thrills to keep you on edge. The dialogue drove the movie onto a smart savvy road of the confusing relationship highway, if that makes any sense. It was very well written and often fresh with well developed characters you enjoy to watch. It is definitely a must see movie of 2012.
8 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
This movie is phenomenal!
superwomanproductions23 April 2012
I hadn't even read Steve Harvey's book, but knew from listening to him on radio that I already agreed with 99% of his views about relationships and "the games" men play if women allow them to. Going into the theater I knew some of it would be predictable as a result. This movie was a nice, shortened version of the book and hits the necessary points in a funny and entertaining way that will open the eyes of both women and men to how we perceive each other in relationships. Almost every type of dating scenario was represented, therefore regardless of age or race, movie goers have something to relate to. If movie goers go in with an open mind they may learn something about themselves or their potential mate. Kevin Hart was in rare form comically and there were heartfelt and realistic performances by the entire cast that I can definitely relate to or know someone (man or woman) who can. I recommend this movie for a first date, so you can find out what you're getting into early. *smile*
7 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews