Caught Inside (2010) Poster

(2010)

User Reviews

Review this title
21 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Very believable and nifty little Aussie thriller.
cadeland200211 June 2010
I saw this on the first public screening so there were cast and crew there and the mood in the room of the general public in attendance was very supportive which made it for a very enjoyable experience on the whole.

Though Ben Oxenbould's performance is the stand out for me, the rest of the cast are also incredibly good and deserve much praise. What I liked most about this film was the believability of the characters, even the villain is someone you can imagine existing (and in school days I'm sure some of us met one or two people who were destined to turn out like the villain!). I very much enjoyed how characters acted in a such realistic manner. One of the male characters is completely de-masculinised throughout the villains reign and unable to protect the other characters, or his girlfriend, which was quite innovative and just screamed of authenticity. Too many films are full of testosterone fuelled 5 minute fight scenes, where as this films fights were clumsy and awkward, as they would be in real life.

The 'hero' of the piece (I can't remember the names properly but the brown haired fit looking guy who starts a romance with Sam) is written very well in not being too tough either, he's masculine, and brave, but he's no Vin Diesel, he's just a human trapped in a desperate situation doing the best he can.

My only criticism is that perhaps it took too long to get to the meaty part of the film when the villain takes control of the boat. The last movie of this type I saw was Donkeypunch, and though that was good in a popcorn movie kinda way, 'Caught Inside' is ahead of a lot of thrillers is the completely believable behaviour and realistic and natural dialogue, which in turn makes for some quite edge of your seat moments.

As an indie Australian film the cast and crew have done incredibly well in pulling together this enjoyable and tense little film and I'd definitely be proud to see it go overseas and do the indie festival circuits.
21 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Review By Frank Hatherley of Screen Daily
paul-408821 June 2010
This small-scale, lost –at-sea-with-a-maniac thriller made it's mark in the 'Freak Me Out' genre section of the Sydney Film Festival. A self-funded independent production, it's the confident debut feature from established commercials and short film director, Blaiklock.

This handsomely shot movie looks set to punch beyond its weight There's a yacht-load of good actors – especially the 'Monster' and the 'Damsel In Distress character – and the tense situation is well established with the breathless climax delivering plenty of thrills, though perhaps not as much blood and gore as modern genre fans have come to expect. With Darclight signed as world sales agent and interest coming from international festivals, this handsomely shot movie looks set to punch beyond its weight.

The Hedonist, a beautiful ocean-going yacht, heads for the Maldives Islands in the equatorial Indian Ocean with a party of six Australians on a 12-day chartered cruise of renowned surfing sites at remote islands. The captain (Peter Phelps) reminds them that on board he is the dictator The women holidaymakers are the only non-surfers: practical Alex (Leeanna Walsman) is making a video documentary of the cruise; glamorous Sam (Daisy Betts) is escaping a bad online experience where her privately videoed striptease was leaked to MySpace and scored over a million hits. Standing out from the men is Buill (Ben Oxenbould), a mighty-muscled, lank-haired misfit, at first apparently sweet-natured and helpful, but soon revealed as a sociopath and stalker with a volcanic temper.

Oxenbould is terrific as the King Kong of this island paradise, and Betts is nicely equivocal as the potential victim who sometimes enjoys employing her sexual attraction. A climactic meal scene where the fearsomely calm Bull serves up an uncooked fish is particularly powerful. The actors clearly do their own surfing in some rousing on-and-under-the-waves sequences
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Ben Oxenbould is a standout in this well crafted suspense thriller ....
JOHN_REID2 December 2011
Caught Inside is a taught psychological thriller set on a Surfing Safari in the Maldives with a thought provoking script that revolves around a central character who is not unlike Max Cady from Cape Fear.

Director Adam Blaiklock and the crew spent a month or so in the Maldives filming Caught Inside. From the outset a requirement was that the actors were all competent surfers and the surfing scenes are all shot with realism. The story is cleverly and quietly developed with moments of real suspense and surprise that make the audience gasp.

Ben Oxenbould plays Bull, at first glance popular with his peers, a larrikin who can charm anyone when he wants to. However we soon learn that he has a dark side. He has issues with women and anyone who disagrees with him and his disturbing sociopathic tendencies cannot be hidden in the confined spaces of the vessel.

He uses his strength as an intimidation to others but, interestingly, never takes on the Captain played by Peter Phelps. It is not clear whether this is due to some past incident, his respect for authority or the fact that the skipper might be stronger than him but anyone else who crosses his path is fair game.

Despite the fact that the Captain laid out the ground rules at the beginning of the trip, it becomes evident that the cruise participants are on their own – miles from anywhere. No one can help. This plays into Bull's hands as his manic tendencies become obvious. There are subtle hints that he has shown this type of behaviour before and he becomes more and more menacing and unhinged as the film progresses.

Caught Inside was filmed with a tight budget but it does demonstrate how important it is to base a movie on a great script. The film essentially revolves around Bull and Ben Oxenbould is truly exceptional in the role. He has been known as a comic actor with his performances in Comedy Inc but this film provides him with an opportunity to display a real talent for a complex character role.

In some ways the other actors are incidental to Bull but they are generally all very competent.

It is disappointing that Caught Inside hasn't reached a wider audience. The sad reality these days is that it is very difficult to get wide distribution without major stars and studio backing. Independent film makers face an up hill battle to get their films screened in cinemas.

Highly recommended.
21 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A proper cinema experience...
rorytoomey17 June 2010
Cards on the table: the director and co-writer of this film are two of my oldest and dearest friends. I attended the world premier screening at the Sydney Film Festival with some trepidation. What if it's awful? Will it be a quaint little Aussie indie flick? What do I say after the film if I hate it? Thankfully, right from the portentous dismembering of fish during the opening titles, I knew I had none of these issues to deal with. Caught Inside is a beautifully made film and a well crafted story featuring believable, fallible, human players. The performances drive the narrative with skill and energy. Bull's menacing presence is carried from the outset with supreme confidence by Ben Oxenbould in a potentially award winning performance. The story is nuanced and the script allows the characters and tension to develop towards an 'edge of seat' climax. I will happily send friends to see this film, not on the proviso of supporting my friends' project, but on the promise of witnessing an excellent piece of cinema. Well written, well shot, well lit, well cast, well acted.

May it travel far.
12 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Unrealistic
xgraeme1 September 2020
Quite unrealistic that 4 unbound people couldn't figure out a way to jump one pretty much unarmed man.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Psychological thriller on the high seas
Wuchakk30 July 2013
"Caught Inside" (2010) is an Australian psychological thriller about a group of surfers who sail to a remote island paradise for vacation. A couple of women join the expedition at the last moment and a series of events turns the holiday into a torturous adventure.

What I liked about this film, aside from the professional fimmaking and paradisical locations (Maldives), was the realism of the story and characters. The film skirts the borders of the slasher genre and I'm sure it was tempting for the writers to have someone morph into Jason Voorhees, but they wisely resisted.

***SPOILER ALERT***

Someone complained about how unbelievable it was at one point when a group of four or five from the expedition "cowardly" put up with the psycho's tormenting antics when he doesn't even have a weapon. But this is where the film shines as a PSYCHOLOGICAL thriller. Bull, the psycho, had gained the upper hand by this point in the story. The others are literally afraid of him and fearing for their lives. They're also in shock since this was supposed to be a paradise surfing vacation. The blond guy with short hair tried to scrap with Bull a couple of times and was easily humbled, not to mention beat up. It's a mental thing. Bull is the king of the mountain at this juncture -- "king" by brute force and arrogance alone. One of the girls, Sam, is anticipating getting raped and who knows what else. The teen dude doesn't know what to do, since he was Bull's little buddy, but now he sees what a total psycho he is. So they're all afraid and considering their options. No doubt they're thinking of ganging up on him, but they simply don't have it in them at this moment, so they endure his tormenting antics. They're also waiting for the right opportunity when their chances of success are best.

I didn't find this unbelievable at all; in fact, I found it very realistic.

***END SPOILER***

If you like films like the excellent "Dead Calm" (1989), be sure to check out "Caught Inside." It's not as good, but it comes respectfully close.

By the way, the Australian accents are thick so I recommend using the subtitles.

The film runs 93 minutes.

GRADE: B+
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Incredibly Stupid
rainbowfascistparty22 September 2020
There are some really terrible films on Amazon Prime, but this is definitely one of the worst. 90 minutes of pure idiocy.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Bully on a boat
willydrama26 June 2012
Surfers head out to catch some waves and a power struggle unfolds on a sailing boat. That's the premise of this feature film, which would have benefited from some extra editing. Ben Oxenbould does a great job as your typical testosterone filled Aussie dickhead, who, much like the screenwriter of this movie, seems to be losing the plot quite often. Sam, the female lead who gets a kick out of manipulating people, seems to be equally creepy as Bull (Oxenbould) but the film only threads down this path very lightly. The other characters are pretty one dimensional and the focus stays on Bull, who's up there with other great on-screen sociopaths. The low budget can't be blamed for a missed Oscar opportunity but rather the way the story is presented to the viewer.

Recommended for that holiday trip with friends and foes.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Strong Aussie thriller
Woodyanders31 July 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Crazed raging psycho Bull (a genuinely scary, intense, and convincing performance by Ben Oxenbould) terrorizes a handful of surfers on a yacht. Director Adam Blaiklock, who also co-wrote the engrossing script with Joe Velikovsky and Matt Tomaszewski, relates the gripping story at a brisk place, firmly grounds the premise in a credible everyday world, draws the believable characters with real depth, and gradually builds the suspense to a nerve-wracking fever pitch in the harrowing last third. The fine acting by the bang-up cast keeps this movie afloat: Daisy Betts as the feisty Sam, Sam Lyndon as the easygoing Rob, Simon Lyndon as the wimpy Toobs, Leeanna Walsman as the concerned Alex, Harry Cook as likable lunk Archie, and Peter Phelps as the no-nonsense Skipper Joe. Moreover, this picture acquires an extra potent edge and impact from the fact that everything that occurs is within the realm of possibility; the plot unfolds in a realistic and plausible, yet not entirely predictable and thus surprising manner. Damian Wyvill's bright widescreen cinematography provides a sumptuous shiny look and offers lots of breathtaking shots of the gorgeous ocean. Tom Schutzinger's spare score is both subtle and effective. A seaworthy item.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Manky Movie
omendata14 October 2020
This story has been done to death but as Aussie movies rarely disappoint I was sure we might have something interesting to watch but ohhhh how wrong I was.

For a start you can hardly hear or understand much of what is happening as the sound control is awful, I actually had to turn up the graphics equaliser voice section on my surround sound amp so that I might be able to make the vocals out a bit better but even so the mumbling acting was not something my amp was going to cure.

Boring story (nothing much happens not even a shark appears or anything of interest) with a dreadful "bad guy" who was about as badass as a toasted crumpet, lacklustre acting from all involved and a complete mess of a movie - Give this one a bodyswerve or you may have as boring an evening last night as I did!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A bit boring story of an area-closed community.
mkrjmn29 November 2011
A plot is simple.

Surfers went in open sea to enjoy waves while spending some time on a ship.

There is a sex-game here.

Lustful noise irritates the less advantaged on a ship naturally.

To restore a social justice by way and logic too often happened in a real life, strong male made advances to a willing female.

She refused to submit.

He insisted and actions followed.

A bit boring story of behavioural patterns different people exhibit in a space closed.
10 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Actors Do Their Best
MelbaMan113 April 2018
Couldn't watch last 20 minutes when everything becomes anti-climactic. Potentially good plot becomes implausible. Pity because setting and acting are good. Main problem is our credulity at group's incompetence or their pacifity when confronted with main character's villainy. I'd have loved to support this more as the actors do their best in a unique setting but the script let them down. Comparable to the much better Dead Calm.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Taunt! What A Sleeper!
samkan20 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
What might appear to be a low-budget surfer-dude movie with sex, skin and stupid plot turns out to be a well-scripted, tightly told and well acted suspense film with plenty of sexual tension and a truly disturbing portrait of "the-killer-among-us". Best thing about CAUGHT INSIDE is it's in every respect believable. One walks away from the film truly suspicious that, beneath a thin veneer of humanity in some of us, scratch the surface and/or tweak the circumstances, we're simply packs of animals divided into the dominant and the submissive. There's hardly a moment of fluff, padding; e.g., even the surfing clips are minimal. This flick is further proof that hard work, not necessarily gobs of money, pays off. Like to see more from the makers.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
caught in storytelling
petit7610 July 2012
Warning: Spoilers
At first glance I was thinking I would watch a good movie without referring to the reviews so I bit the bullet and laid down on my couch to see this movie on Netflix. I have to tell I was waiting all through the first 20 minutes to see what this movie could be about( I am just being sarcastic). I think the director just started off on the wrong foot by inputting unnecessarily long conversations of the cast which did not add up to the story of this movie. Bunch of people meet up to embark on a journey of surfing so they rent a boat and pack that small boat to cruise off to somewhere they can catch the best undulations and waves to do some surfing. They are pretty much acquaintances except for a guy named Bull and he is a total freak beating another surfer telling him to yield the wave he needs. He beats him in the water and off the water on the shore. The entire premise of the movie is actually based on the renderings given by the screenplay artist and the director so they use the guy to beat an innocent stranger just surfing in the area so everyone can see who the bad guy of the movie is . I think it would be very hard for the audience to see who the bad guy was going to be unless he beat the stranger surfer !!/Nothing adds up to the story. The guy named Bull is a great surfer and a womanizer character who has an eye on another guy's girl friend and he does everything possible to entice her. He follows the girl while she is sunbathing at the beach and he stealthily approaches her and spread the sunscreen on the girl's back pretending he is the girl's boy friend . Girl named Sam thinks the guy over her body is her boyfriend then she realizes he is not her boyfriend who is spreading the sunscreen on her back. She screams and throws a temper tantrum and her boy friend comes to the scene and the action kicks off. The captain of the boat rushes to the beach to intervene the scuffle between the bad guy and the good guy and warns the bad guy of what repercussions he would be having if he goes on doing what he tried to do. The bad guy refuses the accusations and throws the girl under the bus claiming she wanted him to spread the sunscreen on her back. Then they embark back on the boat then the bad guy goes to the room of the molested girl to apologize for what he had done but the molested girl opens up the polished and newly painted door of the room and squeezes the bottle of hairspray in Bulls' eyes, next the scuffle and unrest increase to where the captain of the boat takes the bad guy back the island's shore to warn him for the last time and tells him to spend the rest of the night on the shore by himself. Bull goes overboard and cusses out the people on the boat off the shore of the island. He waits there till the sunrise and swims back to the boat and takes the control of the boat leaving the captain and other two crews around looking for him to take him back to the boat.I am really tired of typing for a movie i hated watching .. Anyway If you have time to waste go ahead and watch it. If life is important and minutes of life can be evaluated to do other things than watching a dreary movie avoid this movie. If i could rate it 0 out of 10 I could. Evren Buyruk, USA
3 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
True to Life but Not Fun
dansview18 February 2018
Yes it's true. Almost everywhere, in every conceivable scenario, the "alpha" person either dominates naturally or gets frustrated if they can't. This scene plays itself out a billion times a day all over the world.

It's even true that sadism is a factor when the situation gets out of control. You will see this in Junior High and forever after. Add to the mixture jealous over a girl and the battle is on.

But I'm not sure you will enjoy watching it, without some other elements at play.

I'm not a fan of plots showcasing evil. It's like watching the aftermath of a gruesome accident on the freeway, instead of just looking straight ahead. Do you really want to do it?

Also, did anyone notice that the bully is way older than the rest? Doesn't he understand that that may contribute to why he isn't first choice?

The setting and photography are good. But there's not much going on here.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Well made but quite psychotic.
paulclaassen20 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The acting was very natural and believable. I enjoyed the setting on the yacht and how friction became tension and escalated to much worse from there. The biggest message the film conveyed (to me) was to be very weary of women who sexually taunt men and then blow things out of proportion when the guy makes a move. Sam (Daisy Betts) was clearly eyeing Bull (Ben Oxenbould) but then made out with Rob (Sam Lyndon) because he made a move before Bull could. When Bull finally made a move, she rejected him in the worst possible way - even when he later very calmly wanted to apologize.

I'm not saying I didn't enjoy the film; in fact I enjoyed it very much! The film became quite psychotic, though, and even became difficult to watch because it was done so well, and because Ben Oxenbould stole the show as Bull.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Deeper than it seems
danthepoetman18 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Deeper or maybe brighter than it first seems. This one is a sarcastic view on our values today. We have 4 male characters and 2 females on a big yatch, plus the crew, which is evacuated along the way. The plot centers around a young woman, immediately portrayed as being a "tease". One of the male characters is a brutal bully, overly strong physically, despite being short, who's desperately attracted to her, and finally looses it to terrify the rest of them. What gets him to that point, is an event in which he rubs the woman's back with sun lotion as she thinks it's instead her new flame. She then pretends to have been "violated" by this gesture and the bully is momentarely excluded from the boat. Two others of the male characters are unable to stop him afterward, being shown to us as "metrosexuals", apparently sportsmanlike males but too weak and/or fearful to react! The second female character then seems to reject her boyfriend, one of these two guys, for not being able to properly defend her! The fourth and last of the males is somewhat of a helpless geek, and is incapable of doing anything either against the bully. And there you have a very unflattering portrait of young people today! Women overly sensitive and men unable to defend them! It's not exactly fun or entertaining. There is an element of suspence. But it's only after watching the whole thing that many of the viewers will get the meaning, as I did. All in all I'm glad I've seen it. It presents itself as a thriller, but poses some questions about our present values in society. An enjoyable little flick in the end...
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Unexpectedly epic
ravenclaw_girlrules16 September 2020
Not sure why this has such terrible ratings...this is a perfect example of why I don't trust IMDB ratings.

This movie was epic! It offers a wonderful portrait of a villain...quite like Creep or Creep 2. It has a badass female protag who is capable of saving herself. It has a couple that teams up to fight the villain at the climax. It has some pretty sweet surfing scenes and is a commentary against slut shaming.

  • 2 stars for portrayal of minorities/native islander people, overacting by the villain at certain points, and a weak start that made me think this was going to be a B movie.


The cinematography is beautiful, especially Sam sitting on the anchor while the dolphins swim below. Whoever did the camera work and lighting for this really deserves an award. Ending scene was so memorable and the music was well-chosen. Every actor got super into their roles - you could see the trauma and terror in their faces.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Absorbing
fmwongmd11 September 2020
Well acted, beautifully photographed movie with great characterization by Ben Oxenbould.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
You're an animal
nogodnomasters14 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
6 young adults charter a boat to a remote island. Alex (Leeanna Walsman) and her boyfriend Toobs (Simon Lyndon). Sam (Daisy Betts) comes along as a friend to Alex. Rob (Sam Lyndon), Archie (Harry Cook) and Bull (Ben Oxenbould) round out the surfers. The captain is Skipper Joe (Peter Phelps).

Sam shows a preference to Rob to the dismay and rage of Bull. Bull's inappropriate high testosterone conduct lands him a "time out" by himself on Gilligan's Island while the rest of the party remains on the boat. Bull plans and then takes his revenge as this turns into an abduction film. Ben Oxenbould plays the role of Bull very well. He could well be on his way to being the Australian "David Hess" of abduction terror. Outside of Bull's character, the film really doesn't take off.

F-bombs, sex, no nudity.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not my taste but better toward end
vchimpanzee23 July 2015
In Australia, a group of young people meet at an airport and head to a boat called Hedonist. Some want to surf and others want to fish. One of the guys makes a comment that there weren't supposed to be any girls, but Alex came with her boyfriend (he wouldn't leave her behind) and Alex brought Sam.

For a while everyone has a good time. There are several visits to islands and some good waves for surfing. Alex has a video camera, and Sam looks good in a bikini. Sam does seem intelligent, however, as she knows what to do when someone needs first aid, and she is referred to as "computer girl". I don't recall why.

The trouble begins when two of the guys are interested in Sam. Eventually, as a result of escalating animosity, the one guy actually goes ballistic and the rest of the group may be in danger.

There's not much here for me. With the accents and so many cases where the sound went out while the speaker's mouth was blurred or covered, I couldn't figure out what was going on a lot of the time. The ocean scenery is pretty. Sam gets to "swim" with dolphins although she is hanging on to the anchor and not really in the water. I mentioned Sam looks good, and she has a nice smile and nice personality, at least until the incident. At one point there is a pretty rainbow which is kind of low in the sky.

Still, the performance of a certain actor is worth seeing. I don't know his name anyway, but I think it's better to keep everyone guessing about who goes crazy. He's really quite good, for the material, and even funny in a dark way. It's a pretty good thriller once things get out of hand about halfway through.

Normally, we are assured no animals are harmed. I wondered how such a thing would be possible when numerous fish are being processed after catching early in the movie, and fishing and eating fish are part of the adventure. We are shown the message where the assurances about animal action normally go: "Fish were harmed and eaten." Good. I don't see how it could have been done any other way.

If you enjoy seeing guys have a good time and occasionally argue and then get into fights, maybe this is for you. It wasn't really for me.
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed