Score: A Hockey Musical (2010) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
13 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
An embarrassment.
Matt_Layden26 February 2011
Farley Gordon, whom I kept confusing with Charlie Gordon from Flower for Algernon, is one of the most skilled hockey player ever to grace the rink. The trouble is that his parents are against team sports and it takes some convincing for him to get on a team. He dazzles everyone with his stick work and constant scoring technique.

Blah...I'm bored typing out the plot to the film already. Score: A Hockey Musical is a poor mix of bad writing and misguided talent. It's a sad attempt at being patriotic and cute. Blending the nation's favourite sport with song and dance numbers is walking a thin ice, to make matters worse the songs and lyrics are terrible. None of the songs are memorable and every single one sounds exactly the same. This is a feature production and it was outdone by a television show about vampires and demons ten years earlier.

Canadian actor Stephen McHattie shows up at the beginning and recruits the young kid. The character is made to seem like he is important and will be involved somewhat later on in the film. Nope, the character almost disappears other than some random appearance here and there for show. Maybe McHattie figured out what kind of film he was in and quickly tried to get out. The inclusion of Nelly Furtado is a joke and was just a way to help get more Canadian funds in the mix. Look everyone, we got a big Canadian singer in our musical, that means Telefilm can feed us more money.

The romance between the two lead characters is weak and uneven. Not once did I ever buy these two would fall in love, let alone were best friends since infancy. Separate, the actors do well enough, together they drown each other out. Bad chemistry leads to a boring and uninteresting film. The conflict on the ice is mostly about fighting and the hesitation that Gordon has to it. The team doesn't have an enemy team, though we are made to believe the first team they play will make some kind of appearance again. The team never seems to loose either, which makes us wonder where is the real conflict? Do I care if the kid doesn't want to fight? You have a hockey film here with no hockey. Where is the excitement? The drama? The thrills? Everything a hockey movie should have, it's missing here. Hockey takes a major backseat to the musical.

The musical numbers, as I stated before are boring, uninteresting and never catchy. Some of the lyrics are vomit worthy," Hockey without fighting is like Kraft Dinner without cheese/ It's still pasta, but the palate it won't please." Uhh.....what? These songs needed to be reworked over again before they made it past the script stage. The final game, is again, an afterthought to the last song of the film. If the film had concentrated a bit more on hockey and added some dramatic elements to it, it would have been a moderate success, instead of an utter failure.

As a Canadian and an aspiring Canadian filmmaker, films like this are not only an embarrassment, but it makes things harder for us. The film is jam packed with Canadian content to help get the funding needed. I get that, but please, make a good film. It all starts at the script stage and this is where the film should have stayed. I can only dream of the film I could have made with my film school colleagues, if I were given a fraction of the budget this had. The film looks great, but it's because of a film like this that we are more known for documentaries . Name some Canadian filmmakers that didn't go over to the states and make a career. Paul Gross is the most notable one, some small fare people like Don McKellar are nice but he is not a house hold name. Paul Gross is even a stretch. If you want to bring some kind of film industry to Canada from the States (which has sucked away most of our talent) then you have to stop making films like this.

This film claims to be a comedy, but it's not funny. It has comedic, dramatic and musical beats...it misses them all. This is a plea to those who produced this film, contact me. This is an open plea, give me a fraction of this budget and I'll give you a better movie. Sorry, but the truth hurts.
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Incredible. Incredibly bad.
Zorana Nastasic23 December 2016
I don't know how to account for the two stars. I guess the camera was stable and the audio was clear. I didn't see the microphone so that's a good thing.

This is not a film. This is an embarrassment. The music is so poor it's really embarrassing.

I'm not a big fan of musicals, but the Jungle Book, Moulin Rouge, Chicago were entertaining. They had good songs, the music is great (especially the Jungle Book), great lyrics and a good story.

This has none of those ingredients. The music is elevator music quality. The lyrics sound like they're written by a 12-year-old who's impressed with rhyming Venus and penis.

For some reason this film is advertising for other films or attempting to appeal/pander to the audience by referring to other films. Why mention the Notebook? The Notebook or any half-decent film would not give a shout-out to some Canadian films, so why do you do it in your films?

The rhymes are really poor, rhyming "alone" with "poem." The meter is messed up, there's a lyric about the umbilical chord which was so forced.

In this masterpiece, the boy's family forces a hockey scout to listen to their terrible songs. The director is completely oblivious to that irony.

There's just random Canadian stuff thrown to pander to the extremely small market. His girlfriend has a fragrance allergy. There are random "ehs" thrown in the lyrics. A British musical would not put "innit" in their lyrics, but British filmmakers are professionals and would hire professional writers to write their lyrics. This director felt that he can do it all, write songs, write the screenplay and direct.

If I were him I would make a documentary on how I tried to retrieve and destroy every last copy of this film.

If you are unaware, this was a box office failure. It wasn't a success on any level afterwards. As of speaking it is not available on iTunes anywhere except Ireland. It takes less than 4 rentals/purchases to make it worthwhile keeping it in the iTunes store, so this is not even getting single digit rentals. It has not been released on Bluray. And finally, even pirates are not pirating this thing. It is not worth anything to anyone.

Don't believe me? Go find a copy and watch it. Then come back here and say "you were wrong." Write a review. The problem is that some people give this film 10 stars raising it score to 4.9. 18% have given this film 10 stars, meaning they think this is one of the best films of all time.

I give it two stars and the average is 4.9. Some say 10, some say 1 and I say 2. We can't all be right.

FYI, Mr. Director, Venus is the second closest planet to the sun. Saying (wear a sweater, out there) "it's colder than Venus" doesn't make that much sense. Earth is colder than Venus. Not that you care. You probably wrote this film in 12 hours using a "How to make a film in two weeks and make millions" self-help book.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Delivers on its promises
sgor12 October 2010
I've read a lot of reviews of this film out of its debut at TIFF, most of them negative, contrasting the film with the normal festival fare. And comparatively, no it's not an art house film, deeply layered, full of subtext or sparking deep thought later.

I, however, wasn't expecting that. I was expecting a fun, corny musical about our nation's favourite past-time and that's exactly what I got. It's sweet, it made me laugh aloud several times, and I simply had a very good time watching the film.

Noah Reid played the very likable male lead, Farley. He has a pleasant voice, looked natural on the ice, and nothing in his performance felt forced or fake. I hope to see him again. The best word I can think of to describe Allie MacDonald's girl-next-door character of Eve is winsome. I forgot that Stephen McHattie has done comedy before, so his turn as the owner of a pro-hockey team was surprising in how deft it is. Also enjoyable were Farley's coach and teammates, and George Stroumboulopoulos as the rink announcer.

Really, the only weak link in performance was Olivia Newton-John who seemed too stiff for the character that she was portraying. And despite how great they were individually, there wasn't a lot of chemistry between Farley and Eve.

The songs ran about fifty-fifty. Some were catchy and well-orchestrated. Some felt as though they had been written for an amateur musical.

All-in-all, I think the movie gives you exactly what you expect when you go to see a movie called "Score: A Hockey Musical". It's enjoyable, and charming, and I would recommend it to musical and hockey fans alike.
19 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Yes, it's a hockey musical...
Enchorde8 March 2014
I never thought anybody could dream up the combination of hockey and musical. Someone did, and Score: A Hockey musical is the result. And it is mostly what you can expect of such an unlikely combination. A cheesy, mildly entertaining string of musical numbers and a story without a trace of suspense.

It was rather amusing to see the on ice choreographed dances, hockey players in full gear normally doesn't do that. Some lyrics were quite good as well. Too much, however, was just cheesy and nothing but tedious clichés.

That the love story couldn't produce a spark to save the movies life was the tipping point though. A fun experiment, but don't expect anyone to try anytime soon again. It just doesn't work out.

Score one for conventional stories...
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A dumb idea that's badly executed
Wizard-89 November 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Funded in part by the Canadian government film funding agency Telefilm Canada (which usually has no clue as to what movies would appeal to a mass audience), "Score: A Hockey Musical" was one of the few Canadian movies to get a theatrical release in Canada as large as a Hollywood movie. It was a disaster at the box office, no doubt because of the obvious fact that the premise - a hockey musical - sounded so stupid. So the movie instantly had one strike against it. But after watching the movie, more problems are evident, including:

(1) The central figure of the movie, the sheltered teenager who becomes a big hockey star overnight, is a really bland and colorless individual. In fact, ALL the characters in this movie are shallow.

(2) The central story of the movie is just a bunch of clichés we have seen countless times before, like the hero's female "best friend" who has a crush on him but he doesn't realize it etc. etc. etc.

(3) The songs. ALL of the songs sound completely alike! That's bad enough, but what makes them even worse are the lyrics that sound like they were the first thing that popped into the songwriters' minds instead of being carefully polished, the awkward way the singers jam in extra words in a desperate attempt to say everything they want, plus the fact that none of the cast (except for Olivia Newton-John) is able to sing.

(4) The cinematography. A light-hearted musical should be bright and colorful. Not this movie - it has the Canadian trademark of photography that is dark and murky.

Maybe this would have worked as a two minute coming attractions spoof done for a sketch comedy TV show. But as a feature film, it is deadly. I'm glad I didn't pay to see this movie!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Cheesy and tongue-in-cheek....but FUN!!!
nigel776 November 2011
Have to say some of the reviews on IMDb for Score: A Hockey Musical surprise me.

The film was not written or directed to be an Oscar winning production. Score: A Hockey Musical is what it sets out to be, an over-the-top, tongue-in-cheek, cheesy comedy-musical. There is no need or pretense that the characters need to be more than one dimensional or the plot more robust, as Score is all about FUN!!! And it delivers that in spades.

I saw the film for the first time last night as the closing feature for the 15th Annual Canberra Film Festival. The near capacity audience was in stitches throughout and gave it generous applause at the end.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
More like crashing the net...
Burton_Herschel_125 September 2010
Telefilm's most recent Great White (Northern) Hype is another "Men With Brooms" (didn't they learn the first time?!). Ultra-contrived to match its funders' ideas of 'quirky', it manages to be a comedy almost entirely lacking any actual humour, with just about the shallowest, one- dimensional characters I've seen outside of third-rate TV shows.

As a Canadian, I would very much like for the films made in our country to be of high quality and worthy of taking pride in. Think of the output in the late 80's through the 90's, when we still funded auteur directors and invested in their development, regardless of how much 'commercial' potential their films had - this is how actual cinematic talents like Guy Maddin, Atom Egoyan, Deepa Mehta, Patricia Rozema, Don McKellar and Bruce MacDonald were able to get their start. Now, we're at a point where people in the industry think they've matured/progressed while they're making and promoting films like this one, which turns out, almost unbelievably, to be just as terrible a film as "The Love Guru". Seriously.

What is it going to take for those who are in a position to make decisions as to funding, etc. to realise that trying to pander to domestic audiences through forced, patronising, on-the- nose attempts at 'Canadian content' is never going to result in a film that is as commercially successful as they hope (not to mention that it's never going to result in anything of any actual cinematic or aesthetic quality)? And anyway, if they're really trying to appeal to some genuine, albeit misguided and juvenile, sense of Canadian patriotism, why make one of the main selling points of your film the casting of Olivia Newton-John?
11 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Odd to say the least!
Zoooma21 March 2014
What an odd movie this is. It's like Glee meets hockey... not that I really know what Glee is like because God forbid I watch such a program... but I have an idea. Hockey players dancing and singing. It's a pretty stupid movie but as a hockey fan, I found many of the musical numbers rather funny to watch; I was laughing quite a bit! I'm surprised at myself for thinking that I'd actually consider watching this again someday and that says something about how worthwhile a movie is.

5.6 / 10

--Zoooma, a Kat Pirate Screener!
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
it's a hockey musical
plaidman992 August 2011
For a hockey musical, you get what you get. If you enjoy watching people sing about hockey and their personal problems, then you might enjoy this movie. Some of the songs sound sort of the same, just to warn you.

The performances for the most part, are believable, and the hockey dancing choreography is pretty impressive. The lyrics are hit or miss - you'll probably either really like them or really hate them.

The plot is really obvious - boy likes hockey, struggles with his own philosophy, and falls in love with a girl. You've probably seen movies like that before. If you liked them, you'll like this one too. I did, anyway.

Walter Gretzky and Theo Fleury make cameos.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
So bad, it's good!
kz917-129 January 2018
C'mon it's a musical about hockey!

The synchronized dance routines on skates where fantastic! In the vein of Busby Berkley they were epic.

I still have the ending song stuck in my brain.

Did I mention Olivia Newton John!!

Worth the view - you will laugh again and again!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
who thought this was a good idea?
singlewhitemilkshake15 July 2011
i had to watch this movie. of course i had to. it looked like the most ridiculous film of all time. and you know what? it was. i can't decide if i enjoyed this movie or not. well, no, i didn't enjoy this movie. i have trouble imagining how anyone could. but i did, somewhat, enjoy the experience of watching it. every time i thought it couldn't get sillier, it did. for the entire duration, i had this sad smile on my face, shaking my head and thinking "this is what we opened the TIFF with... no wonder nobody takes Canadian cinema seriously".

its just so awful in every way. it makes me sad that people like hawksley workman and george stroumbolopolous had anything to do with it.

ah well. it was a hockey musical. could it possibly have been good? i don't think so.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
a hockey musical myETVmedia 'sort of' liked
etvltd7 October 2010
"Score: A Hockey Musical" was the gala opener for tiff 2010 festival. A very Canadian film about a sport we are passionate about. The audience greeted the film with cheers and applause.

Score has Canadian camp classic stamped in maple leaves all over it. Well equipped with a sense of humor, this film delves head first in to what it means to be Canadian. The answer will likely not surprise you, however, the journey towards it is enjoyable.

Farley Gordon is a gifted young hockey player who has never participated in an organized hockey game due to his unique parents who have home-schooled him. It takes less than 2 min for Farley to burst in to song, regaling us with his love for hockey in stereotypical Canadian slang. After being discovered, Farley rockets in to hockey stardom but quickly finds that reconciling his love for the game and his Pacifist morality is more challenging than scoring Crosby style goals.

Star cameos appear through out the film, including Walter Gretzky, Nelly Furtado, Hawksley Workman and George Stroumboulopoulos...
1 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It Scores...Strangely.
Python Hyena24 September 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Score: A Hockey Musical (2010): Dir: Michael McGowan / Cast: Noah Reid, Allie MacDonald, Marc Jordan, Olivia Newton-John, Stephen McHattie: Corny yet ambitious musical about not just scoring within the game of hockey, but also scoring in life itself. Noah Reid plays the newest hockey sensation whose position as a passive aggressive is put to the test. His parents brought him up to be uncompetitive but when recruited everything is tested. Director Michael McGowan succeeds largely because the theme of violence in sports is heavy. He takes a risk with this theme in terms of the gender image associated with the sport. The musical numbers are mostly lame but given an edge due too quirky visual elements and locations. Noah Reid does well with the material. He deals with his upbringing as well as his relationship with the girl next door plus the whole rule system of the sport. His handling of violence after being shamed on the ice is effective yet again, somewhat corny. Allie MacDonald plays the girl next door whom has been his friend since childhood. She plays the cello with an Italian instructor. Unfortunately Reid cannot see what viewers, and MacDonald already know. Marc Jordan and Olivia Newton-John play his overbearing religious parents. The two are too weird to take seriously. Jordan has bright glasses that do not compliment him, and although it is nice to hear Newton-John sing, she is hardly doing Grease here. What works is a strong message of fair competition and the ability to score above it all with the ever powerful embrace of a hug. Score: 7 / 10
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed