Just Short of Perfect (2021) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Why use Tall actors ?
shay-6790320 November 2021
The premis is great and acting is decent...

but after the big critisizem The hobbit got for using full height actoes to show smaller people... i would expect they would learn something in the industey

in here they use Leonardo which is 1.8 cm in real life...a very tall person to portrait a small person.

Rather then using actual smaller people is ..i dont want to say racist...but it leaves a lot to be discussed... i think its simply wrong to choose not to use smaller people.

They should be on a show just as much as any other people.

Also at times the cgi and camera angles they use to make him smaller looks very wierd...

despite that huge issue the premise is great and the force prespective they use (camera angles) to make him look short is trully nice.

But they should have used actual small people 100%. That is simply racist to not use a shorter person for that rule.

In 2021 we should be beyond that issue already.
11 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Cute solid movie
eliotmalik23 November 2021
I actually enjoyed this movie. I think it deserved a higher star rating. I'm not usually crazy about movies that are in a different language dubbed into English but this one was worth it. It was a cute story. I think it's worth watching.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good but...
fernandoorafa18 December 2021
The main idea for the script is kinda good if you think we are bringing to light prejudice and stereotypes we may carry even if we assume we are open minded. But, considering it is a remake from a recently Argentinean movie and the silly interpretation of Hassum that is not new, Hassum is just copying american way of doing cinema, this movie only serves as entertainment for Brazilian audience and nothing else. It is a pitty he, after some great hits cannot go further and beyond being more creative at Netflix. He should consider make a movie about his life, about why he decided to become thin.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
You can not win
SelfDestructACowPatT2 December 2021
Warning: Spoilers
I've seen ppl criticise that short actors weren't used but if they were used, a whole bunch of ppl would be like that's offensive. I've Jung read a review on here saying it's racist? WhT? Look up racist you idiot.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Horrible remake of a great movie from 2016...
anynameoriginal9 December 2021
What you really want to watch that has all the charm this movie doesn't (and this movie just manages to copy and mess up the whole vibe) is called."UP FOR LOVE"... Trust me, you will absolutely adore the French original that is in English (at least the version I watched) instead of this. The movie (Up for Love) that shows a perfect gentleman/father with class. I get so tired of movies protraying men in a negative light, but "Up for Love" just hits on all cylinders.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Rude.
geirnj6 December 2021
Liked the most of the movie even if I needed to see the dubbed version.

But I think it was rude to just forget the gay wedding. I guess when straight love happens it's ok to just drop a gay wedding, even in the middle of the ceremony....
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Accuracy of more dwarfs
astaderague30 November 2021
I really liked it, I love Leandro Hassum and Juliana Paes, but the lack of a real short person is really explicit not that it was horrible but if it had been a real short person it would have been 100% and I would have given 10, and beyond but these jokes in the movie are boring, boring and even dull, but I would say you can watch it if you don't have high expectations or if it's a movie for you to watch on Sunday after lunch.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
GREAT CASTING & GOOD DUBBING
djreyes-306705 December 2021
Very cute RomCom. Would love to see this remade in America starring Peter Dinklage and Ally Michalka. Doesn't bother me that they used a regular size person; perhaps in Brazil thay don't have many dwarf actors to choose from. Was the leading lady divorced in real life? It's called ACTING. Leads and supporting casts were all very likeable and movie addressed a social stigma usually ignored: women are supposed to be shorter than their mates. Lastly, it is NOT racist! Enjoyable feel good movie!
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed