Chase (TV Series 2010–2011) Poster

(2010–2011)

User Reviews

Review this title
23 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
I like this show!
hendrika-16 December 2010
I really enjoy this show, I don't care what the other reviews say! It's enjoyable, sure it's not anything life changing but it's fun enough, and keeps you guessing. The main characters are likable and you're always rooting for them. Sure there are some other cop shows out there like this, but give this one a shot! Kelli Giddish is great as Annie Frost, I like that this show has a very strong female lead! Cole Hauser is also good! and Jesse Metcalfe does well, I like seeing him in something that isn't like Desperate Housewives or John Tucker Must Die. Amaury Nolasco, and Rose Rollins really round out the team well.

I really hope it doesn't get cancelled!!
21 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Reall Like It
fisherchase29 September 2010
I disagree with all of the other reviews. Most people these days are just down right picky when it comes to their shows. This show is fun to watch. If you honestly enjoy having to watch shows like CSI where they have 10 different show pertaining to every city in the country and solving the same crimes, then by all means watch those shows.

This show is very entertaining and moves at a quick pace.

Most other cop shows on TV are very slow and the investigation portions tend to drag on.

I think Chase is a very exciting show and I look forward to watching it every week.

I hope that this show continues to make it beyond one season

Hopefully this season continues to get better and starts to change peoples view of its quality.
42 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Annie frost is awesome
randy westgate6 October 2010
I love this actress! Annie Frost is not your run of the mill US Marshall diva who needs her makeup and hair done to a tee in every scene. Thank goodness Jerry Bruckheimer still casts women who have surprises under their sleeves. The writers are doing a fantastic job by keeping the story moving at a break neck speed and still add compassion in the b lines. I'm looking forward to watching this show every week. And with Cole Hauser, Jessie Metcalfe, Rose Rollins, and Amaury Nolasco, and not to mention Kelli Giddish, I can't lose. I love the guest stars who really love to be bad and Chase has those guys. if I were an actor, and cast on this show I would want to be the bad guy,because Kelli Giddish would take me down. please give this show a chance to show it's true colors by exposing the soft side, and the dysfunctional side of the cast. I'm a true fan.
23 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Love this show
scotttuckerphotography24 December 2010
I have to admit the show started a little slow. Now, my family is fully engaged. Great cast and good writing has been the key. I like the way the characters are now be coming more complex. Anne Frost is really becoming a charter with passion and heart. I am looking forward to the growth of this cast. Bottem line, the show is just fun to watch! With all the copy cat CSI 1,2,3, NCIS, NCIS LA, Etc, it is nice to add a little Texas twist. I also think it is nice to have a strong leading lady. One the comes across very down to earth without to much ego. My 11 year old likes this show as well and it is one the whole family can really get into.
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Missing Annie Frost
saltydawgpwds26 March 2011
My fifteen year old granddaughter came to live with me in New Hampshire last April. She moved here to New Hampshire from the Houston area so when we saw this series starting we set it up to record. And we were so glad we did as we loved this show. There are so many violent sexual shows on television these days that to find a good easy to watch and understand show was a breath of fresh air. We were very disappointed when we kept looking for it to return. It was a good family show that I could feel comfortable watching with my granddaughter and her cousins when they visit. We would love to have the network bring this show back. We miss Annie Frost!
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Really loving this show !!
EveFR7711 November 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Really loving this show a lot!

It's fast-paced and action-packed. The interactions within the team are also very interesting to watch.

Personally I love the main character of Annie Frost. 6 episodes into the first season I can't wait to see the development of these elements :

Annie and Jimmy's history; cause you can just tell they've known each other for a long time and there's something brooding. Is Annie going to hunt down her own ' fugitive' father? Luke and Daisy , how are they going to react after their one night together? What's Marco's story? Are we going to see more of Ben the Bountyhunter?

Until now I've found every villain fascinating and the chase thrilling. They have had some of the best guest actors playing the villains. I hope this show is going to have a 'long' life on NBC (kinda worried about the low ratings but *fingers crossed*
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Slow start, slow picking up
rinnumber129 September 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I must admit, the only reason I even noticed this show was Cole Hauser. Seeing his face flash across the screen caught my attention, and even then only for a moment. But when I noticed that the show was coming up after The Event, I opted to stick on for a while. The first episode was slow with little depth to the characters. I had a hard time learning the names, only remembering Annie and Jimmy. There was potential for humor, but the writers quickly dropped it and moved on. The bad guy was admittedly an interesting person. I do like how the show creates sympathy for the criminals as well as the victims. And the show did have a lot of action, which kept me awake enough to finish it. It also was enough to get me to turn it on again for the second episode.

I'm glad I gave it a second chance. While there was still not a whole lot of character development, we did learn a little about our heroes. I'm still not sure on some of the names, but I did see the supporting characters more in this episode. There was more humor, though somewhat dry. And once again, the bad guy was the best and most developed character in the whole plot.You almost wanted to sympathize with him more than the good guys and the victims. The episode ended nicely, if somewhat predictable. The 2nd episode was decidedly better than the first. Hopefully, it will continue to improve.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Standard beginning for this show. Is there a future for it?
gpalac22 September 2010
Before seeing this new show I read the reviews that weren't enthusiastic. I saw the cast list and, really, I didn't see anything that I could love at first sight. I'm also confident that not necessarily a great cast will make a show more enjoyable than any other but it helps. It helps a lot. For example if you watched The Forgotten (by CSI producer Jerry Bruckheimer and also producer of this show), maybe you could find Christian Slater as a reference but not much more than that, and it was a very good show. Or The Beast, with Patrick Swayze, and you could find another good surprise there. Good shows with many people not so famous, not so charismatic. And I think that in Chase you have some chance of finding some good moments. Maybe if the show goes well you can connect with the cast. That option lays on good stories for the future. The first one wasn't disappointing. Maybe not great as anybody of us would want to watch, but not disappointing. It's just standard and that's pretty OK. Let's see what happens next.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
My husband and I LOVE Chase
kiredale887 February 2011
My husband and I watched Chase every week; we looked forward to watching it! The show was exciting; it was a family show... no sex or graphic episodes. There is so much junk on TV and so many shows are full of sex. Many times the sex scenes add little to nothing to the story line. The story lines on Chase were easy to follow; the plot moved quickly; there were no dead spots in the show at all, and the characters were realistic. We also enjoyed the fact that Chase was set in Ft. Worth, Texas. Go Texas!!!!!

When I could not find Chase on the TV schedule, I became upset; I have been looking for weeks for a way to let the makers of Chase know that we miss the show and want it to return. PLEASE end the hiatus and return Chase to TV.
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
derivative, implausible, formula waste of time
gs2020 September 2010
I getting so sick of the implausibility of a super female cop who can kick every monstrous evil psycho she runs across when in reality a person like that just doesn't exist and never will........that is probably why, although it is not my cup of tea, the closer is a much more realistic and far and away better show.........brains instead of brawn and if she needs brawn, they follow her around like a well oiled machine...........this show is, on the other hand, summed up in the title of my review...........i'm not even going to waste a lot more words describing how boring and formulaic this show is..........i'm sure it will not last very long anyway..........too bad they wasted their money on so many episodes.......they should have waited to see how it would go.
27 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Duller than watching paint dry
mflatham21 September 2010
Big waste of time. No heart, soul, or any entertainment value I could find. Kelli Giddish was so plastic they should replace her with a Barbie Doll. With a new leading lady it might have a shot but I deleted it from my TIVO during the first commercial. I suppose my biggest disappointment was I found the criminal making his guest appearance the most interesting character. I could not have cared less about the rest of the cast. The lead character Annie Frost left me cold. She runs, she jumps, she stares, but when she's called upon to speak it made me cringe. Her interaction with children was just painful to watch. I would expect this in a B or C rated movie but there are so many great characters on TV these days that I love or love to hate or at least like that I'm surprised they gave her the lead to a show that seemed to have some potential. Ms. Giddish might be fine in another format, maybe a Doctor that has few lines but I felt she brought this one to a stop on a dime halt.
14 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Average
aiturnizzle21 September 2010
I'm a sucker for cop shows so its no surprise this showed up on my radar for the new season. Unfortunately, i am a little disappointed.

The show itself is a little too formulaic; the badass female cop with a ~*super secret dark past*~ and Daddy issues, the new kid who's more square than Spongebob, etc., but it is only the first episode. Hopefully it will pick up over the season and it won't just end up being "another boring cop show".

The lead female scowls a little too much for my liking, but i'm glad to see Amaury Nolasco every week :D I'll definitely watch the next few episodes, but i won't be devastated if i happen to miss it one week.
9 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A Good Show, if Simple
spudhalvorson15 May 2011
I often am surprised when certain shows garner low votes on IMDb, as I definitely feel there are worse than Chase on television.

One commentator added that she felt uncomfortable with many shows on TV due to the level of their sexual content. Sweet lord Americans, is this all you're worried about? After all, Marshall Annie Frost goes through Chase following the crimes of heinous individuals who sometimes shoot entire families (this is not necessarily shown, but is implied in cutaways). Meanwhile Annie tracks down the bad guys, and often, when possible... shoots them dead. So let us sum of the moral compass of this "family show" as another reviewer termed it. Bad guys sometimes do really bad things, so it's a good thing when they die, and even better if you can shoot them.

I do feel the aims and intentionality of the show's protagonists are just, but to worry over the sexual content? Really? By the way, two members of the team are sleeping with each other, and the two main leads, Annie and Jimmy, are growing ever-closer to the detriment of Jimmy's already-strained marriage. So- yeah, no sex, just home-wreckers and morning-after scenes with fornicators. Point being, these are not detractors, per se, but they neither elevate, nor sink the real content; violence should be the truer issue of concern to persons with concern for moral issues. Troglodytes.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Dull, dull, dull
InformationOverLord25 September 2010
I watched this because I had seen "Blue Bloods" the night before and this was the only choice that looked interesting. Big mistake. It was not interesting. The acting was wooden and the characters unbelievable. There did not even seem to be the expected amount of real police "work" going on. They just ran and drove and flew all over chasing the guy. Guess this is why it is called Chase.

It only took a very few minutes to want to turn this off. Good thing I had laundry to do instead.

The villain was the only really compelling character. The actress playing his daughter, Sissy, was also quite good.

My recommendation - give this one a pass. Don't waste the space on your TIVO or PVR
11 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
complete waste of time
martin-867-41921711 October 2010
what a terrible show, lacking content, acting and smoothness. The show would rank amongst amateur or student film productions (actually, some students films are better). They obviously did not take the time or effort and seems likeed they rushed the screenplay to make a quick buck or two.

This show is evidence that producers are lacking the creativity that the industry used to have, and now they have to "borrow" previous ideas ("ie. the fugitive). Granted some remakes or "borrowed" films/shows are far superior to their predecessor, but this is not the case here.

Terrible, waste of time and I suggest you flip the channel.

I give it a 1/10 rating and that is very generous.
10 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Cops as bad as the criminals
jlmww27 January 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I try to watch this show to see locations I recognize, but it gets harder every week because there are so few actual "good guys."

The criminals are scummy and violent, but the US Marshalls aren't much better. They're human enough with each other, but with everyone else, they come across as macho, arrogant, and too quick to use violence of their own. Annie Frost sometimes shows her human side with frightened witnesses or victims, but usually only after she's yelled unnecessarily and shoved her badge down too many throats. In Part 2 of "Narco," Jimmy Godfrey and most of his team were too ready to ignore procedure and break laws to get what they want. And it was ironic to hear Marco Martinez use torture as an example of what made a particular drug lord evil when he was talking to a partner who'd just come from torturing that same drug lord to get information.

Maybe this show appeals to the primitive people who endorse torture as a legitimate tool and who believe in the "whatever it takes to get the job done" approach to law enforcement, but those people should not be encouraged.

A cop show doesn't work if the cops are just as corrupt as the people they're chasing.
4 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Couldn't stand Annie Frost
Mindy12 October 2011
But only without the Annie Frost character. We quit watching because we simply could not stand her. The character acted like she was a one woman show and completely ignored her team's safety. She was constantly putting herself and her team in danger and acted like she knew it all, usually with results that could have resulted in someone being seriously injured. Not that it would have mattered if it had been her. If you watch a show, you want it to be realistic and her grandstanding was horrible. Also, that accent was so horrible and when she would look at a victim's relative and say "I'll get the them", we would laugh out loud. Never the team would find the perpetrator but always "her". What a joke. It just got to the point where we quit watching the show. The rest of the cast was superb and I think they should bring the show back without her and it would work. Make Jimmy the team leader and make the team work together like they do in other Jerry Bruckheimer shows.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Why Chase Failed
ccjuniorgurl0731 January 2012
Warning: Spoilers
A few months ago, I decided to give this show a chance. I lost interest almost immediately and actually stopped watching after only five episodes, so my response may not be the most accurate description, for all I know, the show kicked up after those five episodes, but for me, it already was doomed to fail, and I was not in the least bit surprised when it was canceled. Now, I like procedurals, so my opinion isn't based on the idea that it should have been a more serialized drama. However, there are ways that procedurals can be good, but Chase had too many flaws for that to ever happen.

Flaw #1: The plot structure

The structure itself was nice in that the show wasn't a 'whodunit' kind of show, rather it let you know exactly who was being hunted and even showed scenes with the villain throughout the entire show, which, I'll admit is a nice change from the norm. However, where this failed was the way the supposed villains were written. With the exception of two episodes, the villains were actually written in a good light. They were three dimensional characters that—while they did horrible things—they had a good heart in different ways. The episode that really brought this to light was the fifth episode, "Above the Law." By the end of the episode, I was actually annoyed with the Marshalls for arresting the bad guy. Actually, on more than one occasion, I felt like I was rooting for the bad guy to win, which is not really a tactic a crime procedural should take. Unless, of course the point of the show was to make the bad guys the real heroes of the show, in which case it did a pretty decent job at that.

Flaw #2: Annie Frost

Annie was probably the least likable character on the show, and given the fact that she was actually the main character, that's not a good thing. But probably the biggest problems with Annie was that A.) she was unrealistically good and always seemed to manage to take down the bad guy single-handedly, but B.) She was too reckless. In one episode, for example, her team is in the middle of a shootout with an incredibly dangerous killer. She sees him stop to reload his weapon. Common sense tells me that what she should have done was tell her team to move in, guns drawn and ready to shoot, before he has the chance to finish. If he doesn't, shoot him. Nobody would miss him. But instead, she puts her gun away and charges him to duke it out. It was incredibly reckless and could have gotten herself killed, and in the long run, could very well get her team killed. That is not a character trait you want your lead character to have. And what makes the whole situation is that her partner calls her out on it. But instead of actually listening to him, she accuses him of planning to tell the team about her father, or some other bull crap, I honestly lost interest in that storyline relatively quickly (which is actually the third flaw). Despite the fact that he told her on numerous occasions that his problems weren't about her father and, in fact, about her death wish, she kept going back to her same argument, which just makes her even more unlikeable. It also brings us to;

Flaw #3: Annie's father storyline

The difference between procedurals—and even character driven procedurals—and character dramas is that the fundamental plot of the procedural is to solve the case, whether it be finding a murderer or finding out what's wrong with a medical patient, while a character drama pretty much tells the story of the characters. As such, the dramas can shove a lot of back-story into the characters from the get go and get away with it, they are, after all, the main purpose to the story. With a crime procedural, the audience doesn't have to know everything about the character from the start, but it can be gradually included over time. We know who the characters are, what they do and how they act and as the story goes on, we get better acquainted with the whys: Why they do what they do and why they act the way they act, etc. But with Chase, Annie's back-story with her father is used as a subplot throughout just about every episode (at least the ones I saw) to the point that I didn't care anymore. I didn't know the character enough to be that invested in her back-story, and I didn't even like her enough to care about how bad it was. Quite honestly, the fact that the argument with her partner, Jimmy (played by Cole Hauser who was actually pretty likable in this show), somehow managed to revolve around her father just enforced my problems. It was like the show-runners wanted people to be aware of Annie's daddy issues and wanted us to sympathize with her, but in reality, it just made her look dumb. The whole plot line was so contrived and forced upon us. I actually tried to watch the sixth episode and ended up turning it off after five minutes and never turned it back on, strictly because of this plot point.

Chase, I imagine could have worked, but these major flaws pretty much guaranteed that it wouldn't last.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
If you are looking for a realistic show with likable characters, look elsewhere!
IAN HARLAND6 October 2011
Warning: Spoilers
People have said here, the characters are condescending and arrogant towards the public at large – I would say the same for the people who produce this steaming pile of…. Admittedly I only got as far as episode two – and that was enough! There is no point having a story with a villain who kills people by stabbing them in the neck if you can't show any live blood. Nor can you have a lead character standing over a victim asking for a medic while allowing the person to potentially bleed out - or that is what you would expect would happen in any other show. In another scene where the villain is racing/chasing another car, one shot of the other car shows serious damage to the side of the car, in the next it doesn't.

I'm afraid the characters are just not likable

I really expected more from a production that bears Jerry Bruckheimers name!
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Totally boring and bad acting
ealgarinj12 January 2011
This woman don't know how to act, she must be used as a stunt. The male talking style is really boring. The whole concept of this series is stupid.

I have seen better series being canceled, and the current TV is full of policial series Chase's concept must be reviewed by TV producers, its boring and there is no innovation at all. I mean how many police series are in the air lately? After CSI there are no good policial series in the air.

Kelli Giddish character has no credibility, her "badass" attitude is to false.
2 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Just like every cop
shandilla1 February 2011
Annie Frost is an amazing cop. The things she does are amazing stunts. I can't imagine a single genuine cop doing any of the stunts she pulls. Giving orders to staff to jump and expecting them to leap at the snap of her command, like it would really happen. Talking about cases in public, waving guns around and more. She certainly is hot (maybe a bit scrawny) and can wear boots well, but come on, she ain't no Chuck Norris. The plot lines are totally predictable and rehashed from other shows. The technological feats are totally improbable. A US Marshall running around in a personal car that's a Cadillac? There are just too many stretches from reality.
1 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Kelli Giddish driving this show
SnoopyStyle22 August 2013
US Marshalls track down fugitives. This is traditional police procedural. Good or bad... this is Kelli Giddish's show. She's driving this show. The most notable thing about her is her smaller stature. She doesn't look like somebody who can take down muscle bound criminals. Early on, she has a big fight with a fugitive. Parts of it just look staged. Luckily she has the cop mannerism down. Maybe that's why she'd get Law & Order: SVU later on. This also stars Cole Hauser and Jesse Metcalfe.

The main problem was it never nailed down what the show should look like. It has Kelli Giddish as a tough cop lead and pretty face Jesse Metcalfe. It seems to suggest a light weight cop show, but then they put in all kinds of action. It's certainly not gritty enough to be serious. It needs to be better.
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Chase
jarryd2345626 October 2012
This show is bad but it is a show worth watching.

it offers a enjoyable show that you can watch because it works very well with creating villains. The Creator's had made the criminals interesting enough to have a fun time watching this series. usually a series of this genre will use a lot of generic criminals but this TV show doesn't do that. that is why i had a very fun time watching this instead of normal TV. i would recommend this for people who like prison break or the shield.(though its not as good).

p.s two awesome criminals from this show are - Eduardo 'El Lobo' Lopez - Episode "Repo" - Jack Druggan - Episode "The Comeback Kid"
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews