The Afflicted (2011) Poster

(2011)

User Reviews

Review this title
22 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
Misery lit writ on film
Leofwine_draca19 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
THE AFFLICTED is an example of the 'misery lit' genre writ on film. It's an indie drama that follows a quartet of siblings as they're subjected to abuse by their religious, crazed mother. Aside from the presence of Jason star Kane Hodder in the cast, this has no horror content and is merely depressing. If you just like seeing people getting abused for the entire running time then you might just enjoy it; otherwise, if you're looking for proper plotting, character development, etc. then I'd recommend checking elsewhere.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Kane Hodder's Breakout Performance?
gavin694228 December 2012
A story of incomprehensible abuse delivered by an explosively violent mother of four. Journey through the mind of a child that experiences a living hell, defined and defended by the twisted religious beliefs of her mother.

Leslie Easterbrook is a crazy mother, a role she takes to heart, and had it not been in an otherwise disposable movie, she would have been receiving wide praise for her performance here. She is, we see, a consummate professional.

It is nice to see Kane Hodder without a mask (or even gloves to hide the burns) and some decent lines. His acting is never fully appreciated, and this film is a good example of his ability to shine. If only his role was bigger.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not for the faint-hearted, very depressing but well done.
johannes2000-129 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This is a pretty harsh movie to watch. It's about a totally deranged mother who abuses and batters all of her children in some religious mental haze, up to killing some of them. It's apparently based on true events and it's painful to see how many by-standers (a low-life preacher and a school-teacher) fail to see what is really happening and let the situation deteriorate right under their noses. It's also heart-breaking to see how the children cannot stand-up to their mother, all the time you think: come-on, give her a smack, push her away, but that's just how children are intimidated and are locked-up in this child-parent trap where going against your parent is a non-issue. They even stoop to being part in the abuse on each other, forced by their mother, just to win a little shred of her appreciation. The acting is fine, especially Leslie Easterbrook as the mother is doing a great job but the young girls are equally convincing. My only reservation concerns the "message" or the moral if you will, of this movie. It's pitch-dark and there is no happy ending, it leaves you totally depressed. As an account of a true story that's probably due to the raw facts, but you so much would have liked to see that it had ended differently.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Mommy Dearest Part 2 & JASON is your Dad ???
guestar5724 March 2012
Warning: Spoilers
THE AFFLICTED, A Mother's Love Has It's Limits.

Starring : Leslie Easterbrook and Kane Hodder.

Pretty amazing film about a dysfunctional family to an extreme of violent proportions.

The mother,Leslie Easterbrook, Is cruelly perfect in this role : Shades of 'Mommy Dearest & Jason's mom from Friday The 13th'.

Kane Hodder has a wild role as the HELPLESS ? father/husband who is catalyst to plot.

This film has such intense scary moments, It could be Brain Damage biggest release to date.

This critic felt that the child characters could have changed their demise and yet When the brother did what he did,Oh We get it now….
6 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
This Could Have Been Done Better.
payasoingenioso19 October 2020
How do none of these GROWN children restrain their trash mother?

Meanwhile, restraint would not have been my choice.

The son is a WHOLE failure.

There is NO character development.

This movie is loosely based on a true story from the 80s, and the real children covered for their trash mother as well. I can only imagine them growing up to be abusive adults.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
It took discipline to watch about half of this
deadbull-9517130 October 2020
Warning: Spoilers
I can see where if your in the "right mood".......... like your a guy that just got dumped and screwed over by some woman so badly that he now has a permanent psychotic hatred for the fairer sex.....but you'd also have to be drunk on some cheap awful garbage and be holding a loaded gun .....not knowing if you want to use it on yourself or walk into a crowded movie theatre. In that sort of mood for that sort of person, this film might even be a tonic. It is grotesque and overacted.....but it made me curious enough to look up the case it's based on, which apparently, according to a living victim.....was even uglier and crazier of the movie. There are a zillion "True Story" cases put to film, And a near infinity of "horror" fictions.........The great book that produced the grand-daddy of true crime films (and books).....that in fact (except for the jarring sound track) is "In Cold Blood"....the remakes are wretched but the original is a classic I think and epitomizes how good a true crime movie can be. There are plenty of more modern examples but I don't feel like second guessing other people's taste. And there many movies that are horrible...bad writing, lousy acting, crazy editing etc....that I really just like.........I just feel pretty strongly that there are lot of better ways to waste your time then this one
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible movie
polednick1 February 2021
The movie claims to be about a real crime. In a way it is...but most parts are just fictional. And sadly everything about this movie is bad. Bad acting, bad script. Don't watch this filth!!!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
I have gotten nothing but pure disgust from watching this film
Thrill_KillZ11 April 2012
I really should have known exactly what kind of things were to go down in this film, and for the most part I did. I love horror thriller's of all kinds but this film fell between the crack's of genre's in a way. You know that there will be an offensive abusive mother doing horrible & abusive things to her children, except for the son who is shadowed in the background in a lot of the scenes as for his reasons as for how he acted they never really explain.He doesn't even get a line.

Well as the film begins the normal & balanced father walked out on the family(and I don't blame him a bit as the film progresses) and this completely ruins the already abusive alcoholic mother. As to what follows, the things the mother says & does are just offensive to watch, even though you already know to expect the worst from her. There was nothing interesting, exciting, entertaining or fulfilling about this film, it just leaves you disgusted period! I highly recommend avoiding this waste of film & what will be a waste of your time. 2.5/10
19 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Very well acted but flawed horror film.
Corpus_Vile10 May 2011
Maggie (A great, if slightly manic performance from Leslie Easterbrook, aka Callahan from Police Academy!) is a god fearing Christian woman, married to Hank (A nicely done cameo from Kane Hodder). When their marriage fails, due to Maggie's uncompromising fire and brimstone style views, Maggie becomes bitter, resentful and beset with financial woes. Taking to the drink, she begins endlessly watching the public access TV show of the Cowboy Preacher (JD Hart), who comes to visit at times. Spare the rod and spoil the child, the family must stick together, is what the cowboy preaches from Maggie's TV.

As the financial difficulties worsen, Maggie begins to fancy she can converse with God, and that her children should pull together, and chip in anyway they can. If that means doing things they normally wouldn't do, then so be it. And if any dissent ensues, well, Maggie is more than willing to dispense her own quite vicious brand of discipline, because spare the rod, and spoil the child, after all...

The Afflicted is a well shot and well acted horror, with good performances all around, from a nice cameo from Hodder to an excellent (if again, slightly ott) performance from Easterbrook.

It's also pretty grim, with a bleak tone, and will probably inevitably draw comparisons with The Girl Next Door. However, my main beef with this was that it requires serious suspension of disbelief, and I'm actually wondering if it really is based on a true story as it claims or if this is just a marketing ploy, the way Wolf Creek was supposedly based on a true story, when in reality it was simply loosely influenced by a number of true life cases.

The kids, who are all between 17 and 18, one of them a guy, have ample opportunity throughout the film (at least by default anyway) to either escape, report or even overpower Easterbrook, yet don't. This detracts from any tension, and makes it hard to take the whole thing seriously. Most if not all of the supporting characters outside the family are stereotypical rednecks, and towards the end, you're just kinda waiting for things to finish.

The Afflicted isn't precisely a bad film, it's more of a flawed one, but overall, I found it neither stand out or substandard. It just failed to leave a lasting impression on me, well made and well acted that it was. 5/10 probably worth a look actually, to make one's own mind up.
24 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Dear potential viewers, don't let low ratings dissuade you!
powell-yendi9 March 2014
From my experience, a lot of the reviewers on IMDb can never be pleased! I have seen amazing movies like "The Afflicted" suffer the wrath of those who want to turn a blind eye to reality.

The subject matter of "The Afflicted" is that of a true story, and this movie is an excellent depiction of what really happens! Unlike many other movies, this movie causes the viewer to actually feel something. Even if those feelings are anger, remorse, and disgust, the movie has still gripped your attention and caused an emotion. Isn't that what makes a movie successful? Not every movie should show lovers dancing in fields or show zoo animals bonding with humans. A happily ever after ending does not constitute an excellent movie.

America needs to grow up! A true story of bad parenting should be rated higher than Toy Story! This movie reminds us to be more aware of our surroundings instead of watching "feel-good movies" that are dumbing us down! Hollywood has spoiled us with movies of redemption, and victory, and above all else, fantasy.
17 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Wish I could rate it more. Story is great...execution is weak
kperakis25 June 2019
I really did love the story. I do not know if it was based on or inspired by true events,but I found it great. However, the acting of all the "grown-ups" in the film was disappointing to say the least. For me, it ruined the whole experience! I think it is a nice film to watch,which held however the potential of being much better!
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Move over Mommie Dearest!
carmelahayslett10 January 2013
I really liked this film! Don't get me wrong... it's not enjoyable or an easy film to watch but I highly respect how disturbing and depressing this film was. I originally wanted to watch it on Netflix because I saw Leslie Easterbrook is in it (I'm a big fan) and what I found was a riveting, well-performed thriller. Some elements of the film were a bit hard to believe but all in all I wasn't disappointed. If anyone gives this movie a lousy rating just for being disturbing than they don't understand that it was supposed to be disturbing. This isn't a happy family film. In fact, it's a hopeless film all the way through. There's no playing with emotions here. This is a heartless story about a human monster.
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Overall well done
dswiftoc8 March 2014
Pretty enjoyable movie overall. The story is interesting enough and the cinematography is actually pretty good overall, especially considering the budget. The acting is well above average in this budget range, Kane Hodder makes an interesting appearance in essentially a cameo role, it would of been nice to expand more on the back story and give him more screen time but that might of been a decision made for budget reasons. The Good Overall acting - Leslie Easterbrook was really good when she wasn't way over the top, all in all a real solid performance the type that should bring her a lot more opportunities. J.D. Hart was fantastic, again some of the script called for him to be over the top but he really did a great job. Michele Grey and Sims Holland both did a great job with very challenging rolls, I expect to see more work from them in the future. Cinematography - overall very good, some real nice shots, most of the film is visually interesting. Some of the hand-held was a bit to choppy for my taste, but that's a taste issues more than anything else, overall great job. Story - the story itself is interesting. The Not so Good Nothing that will ruin the movie experience but a couple glaring problems. The Whys - why they didn't take action sooner or attempt to do something will baffle you, you might even find yourself yelling instructions at the TV as I did. More pre-production time ironing out the whys would of gone a long way. More back story - so we care more, are more invested in the characters and have a better idea of what caused everything. Again this may of been a matter of the budget restraints with some of the actors and time to shoot. All in all a good movie, a pleasant Netflix find for me. Might not be something you would watch more than once but definitely worth your time the first time around.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What an awful performance and filming and writing
gulfshoresscraps18 July 2019
A bad horribly done movie. I can't believe it's even advertised to watch. It's so horrible. The story deserved better writing and better acting. I can believe this kind of garbage is on the air.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Whatever mother says......
pecosa-357-98896729 April 2012
It took me about 45 minutes into the movie before I realized that this movie was very loosely based on the life of Theresa Knorr and the horrors she inflicted upon her children. I read the true crime book "Whatever mother says" a few years ago and that was hands down the most awful real life story I have ever read in my life. This movie does not even begin to come close to the book. After watching this horrible effort of a movie, I realized that the unspeakable acts of Theresa Knorr cannot be turned into a good movie. If you want the know the real story, you should read the book. It is completely different, apart from a few of the horrors shown in the movie, but the book is actually a hundred times worse and more painful. Read it to educate yourself in the world of true crime, but be prepared for a disgusting ride into reality.
26 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Too many loop holes
sweetie_u_9914 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
So, the cast, acting and set up of the movie was good. That's why I rate it a 4. I think the cast deserve credit for that. But the story left me frustrated. It says it is based on a true story but it is hard to believe that four teenagers would not fight back, particularly when one of their siblings was dying in the bathroom. They had plenty of opportunities to call the police, when the mother was asleep and particularly when the mum went to the preacher's house!? It would have been a bit more believable if they had experienced this level of abuse since they were kids and thus experienced learned helplessness but that was not the case. It is also very suspicious that a school counselor would dismiss a young persons' claim of abuse, never mind calling the abuser and allowing her to hear her daughters accusations. This would be a massive breach in confidentiality, even for a minor where there's provisions on keeping confidentiality as best practice. The other thing that I am quite surprised about is that no one seems to have thought of what seems obvious to me. Has anyone looked at whether it was the preacher who killed them? Did he get investigated by police? If this was the true story it seems more plausible that he had an affair with the mother and pinned the whole thing on the Mum and children? Particularly given he was there at the scene where the son reportedly got rid of the body and the daughter reportedly killed everyone including herself. Was this not considered? Anywho, that's my view. Overall, cast deserve credit but story has too many suspicious loop holes.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
This movie p-ed me off on so many levels.
fracpa11 May 2013
Warning: Spoilers
That was about all it did. Made me mad. I seriously fast forwarded after Carla was killed because I just wanted to see the mom beat. But during the movie, I didn't understand how 4 teenagers wouldn't fight back more. At least after Cathy was shot. I feel like natural instinct would be to do everything to save your sister. And they were all old enough to realize that there is no way she could take down even 2 of them if they stuck together. It was overall a decent movie acting and plot, but it just makes you mad and sick. Child abuse is disgusting. The movie definitely portrayed it well, I just think the whole situation is kind of far-stretched. I'm sure it has happened, it just seems to me that it would be more likely of younger children or children who grew up with it. The movie made it seem like she had a sudden change so the kids knew the difference. Also, if a kid goes to a guidance counselor bawling, they don't take the parents word lol
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
True story of terrible circumstances that was superbly acted!
kinto-7516713 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was superbly acted. Easterbrook was a shining star and greatly supported by strong performances from Hartsoe and Holland. I've found that people that give this movie poor ratings do not know it is based on the true story of Theresa Knorr. So, they judge the "plot" which is actually a very good depiction of some of the horrors that took place for the real-life children she tortured and murdered, Suesan and Sheila. I am familiar with the case and did not know there was a movie about it. Early on in the film I thought...hmmm, this sounds like Theresa Knorr's story. It was done well enough that I instantly knew. And, as I said, was well acted considering the content. It is hard to watch. That is because it is a hard story to hear, but one that needs to be told. Child abuse and poor mental health are significant health crises in America. Don't judge this movie as a "horror story" with a poor or unbelievable plot. Don't tarnish the memories of those poor children that suffered and died by the hands of their mother by doing that. Instead, view this film as a wake-up call for what goes on behind closed doors. Bless Theresa's surviving children. I'm not sure who of her sons remain. Her youngest daughter, Terry, survived her wrath, but has since passed away. You might need a little break from peopling after watching this movie, but it is worth it.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Will never watch again
heartshapedbones20 January 2013
My dear friend Kayla challenged me with this movie and I accepted. I don't regret watching it, but it truly is a disgusting movie. The things that "Mother" Maggie does are beyond horrific and unimaginable. The children fear her- no...no, it's beyond fear. They're in sheer terror. I'm disgusted with the fact that these kinds of movies intrigue me, but this one was far too much for my psyche. If you can, please try to avoid watching this. The things that are depicted in this film are unbelievably cruel. I was even on the verge of tears at one part. And that was only in one of the beginning scenes. So all in all, I give the movie 2 stars. Sorry but, the acting was the only thing I really liked.
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
So bad, I did not bother to watch the end.....
marywithrow5558 June 2014
Probley could have been made with a $100.00 and your phone camera. I seriously would not waste your time and money. Another "follow me around,shaky video tape me". (I can not call this a movie). film. The only half way decent part of this was the picture to advertise it. Really. So don't waste your time or money. It truly was not worth my gas to get there. Probley could have been made with a $100.00 and your phone camera. I seriously would not waste your time and money. Another "follow me around and shaky video tape me". (I can not call this a movie). film. The only half way decent part of this was the picture to advertise it. Really. So don't waste your time or money. It truly was not worth my gas to get there.
5 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pure trash Good actors deserve better than this
markfromindy-559725 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
loosely based ( and I mean very loosely) on Theresa Knorr's story, this film is just a depressing , idiot plot mess. There are several times during the movie the children have opportunities to fight back, and even overpower the abusive mother. But they never do, because if that happened the story would be over. Characters do things in this cat box of a film JUST BECAUSE the writer wanted them to. The resolution of the story also feels tacked on. The writer/ director spends lot of time showing the girls being tortured, killed and even raped, but the resolution happens in the very last 10 minutes of this thing. I want the hour and 23 minutes of my life back that was wasted watching this.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The writer changed the facts to make it less interesting?!?
taralee-7140126 December 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I could not say enough bad things about this garbage movie. Those who think it is good in a disturbing kind of way obviously do not know the true story of Theresa Knorr. This is an extremely dumbed-down, half-assed version of it. Initially I was excited to see that there was a movie based on the Cold Case Files episode Mommy's Rules. I was immediately disappointed. Right off the bat, the acting was REALLY bad. I literally thought I was watching a Lifetime movie, but that assumption died during the unnecessarily long scenes of the daughters being pimped out, and the totally random strip joint scene. This also led me to believe that the writer is a sweaty, gross seemingly wanting to entertain himself a bit. Eww. Secondly, and more importantly, this movie strays from the facts BIG TIME, which isn't that uncommon, but sadly, he actually portrayed it as LESS disturbing and intriguing then the real story! One example of this is that the first daughter to die was handcuffed under the table in a diaper where the family was forced to eat their meals until she was near death.. Nevermind the fact that she, not the 2nd daughter, was the one to be burnt...and burnt ALIVE no less! Were these facts too interesting to leave as is?!?! That's just one example. The whole thing's a mess.The ending itself in real life is much more original and interesting, but alas, it seems like the writer just ran out of time ( or maybe realized it was a crap movie anyway) and slapped in a cliche murder-suicide ending (adding in the creepy preacher who never even existed) and called it a day. I wish I had never watched this, and instead remembered the very well done documentary done by Cold Case Files. It contains crime scene photographs and interviews by those involved including the youngest daughter the narrator of the movie) who, by the way survived until middle-age. She was a high school dropout and yet told the true story a thousand times better than this horrible movie.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed