Logorama (2009) Poster

(2009)

User Reviews

Review this title
23 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
A bitter-sweet satire of our commercial world
nate8785 February 2010
Logorama is a simple satire but one that does well to capitulate almost a century of corporate culture. It's brought to life by segments of colorfully animated rotor-style 3D animation which punctuates the style of logos with cell-shading. The film's lack of a coherent story is in itself a nod to brainless blockbuster entertainment as it is filled with a number of over-the-top action movie nuances. In light of this, the short has some entertainment in the form of crude comedy and action, but this is all some-what diluted by the shear intended chaos of the film.

In the end, the film did a decent job of pointing a not-so subtle finger at the potential of social decline due to an inundation of consumer culture that feeds on the one thing it promotes.
46 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
If I were a betting man, I'd put all my money on LOGORAMA.
MartinHafer19 February 2010
Warning: Spoilers
The last several years, I have gone to special showings of the Oscar-nominated shorts--both live action and animated. I am very fortunate that I live in an area where they have these showings. I am predicting here BEFORE the Oscars are announced that I think LOGORAMA is the odds-on favorite to win out of the five nominees. While I have a few minor misgivings about it, it was an incredible film and is among the most creative and amazing shorts I've ever seen. However, this film is actually my second favorite of the shorts and I still am pulling for THE OLD LADY AND THE REAPER, but it's the sort of film that's unlikely to win. Plus, I have found that if a short is my favorite, then it's bound to lose!!

If you are looking for a short with a deep story or that makes a lot of sense, then do NOT watch LOGORAMA. It will probably make your brain hurt if you try to make too much sense out of it. However, it is one of the most stunning films visually and the concept is just brilliant. It consists of a magical land where everything is logos--advertising signs and figures used throughout the world. Here, the AOL man, Bic pen man, Bob's Big Boy and many others live and the buildings, wall, etc. are all advertising logos. And, interestingly enough, Ronald McDonald is an evil psychotic!! This, however, is not the reason that this film was shown last after a special warning appeared on the screen indicating this last film was not appropriate for children. It's because the film is very violent and the language is amazingly harsh. Little kids might be traumatized to see the characters acting in a very R-rated manner!

I really wish, however, that they'd shown the movie in French with subtitles--as I assume the version I saw was dubbed into English since the film was made in France. If there is no French version or if you know how I can find it, let me know.

Aside from a relatively weak narrative and language that could have been toned down a bit to make this a better film for a wider audience, this is a brilliant film and I respect the great job they did. As I said, I won't be surprised if it's picked and can easily live with this result...as I had a great time viewing it.

By the way, for all you "Futurama" fans out there, look carefully--there is a logo for Slurm Cola during this film!! Pretty clever!

UPDATE (3/7/10)--well I picked this one correctly. Too bad I wasn't so talented when it came to Best Live Action Short! I was really wrong there!
19 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good Morning Life Warning: Spoilers
Shorts like "Logorama" are the perfect example of how to use product placement in a funny and creative manner.

What starts like a surreal parody of crime films eventually turns into something that one would expect from an apocalyptic disaster movie, and the most incredibly thing of this is that it works very well, being actually more exciting (and also, more entertaining) than anything made by filmmakers like Michael Bay or Roland Emmerich.

While the animation from this short isn't really that impressive (Don't get me wrong, the animation is decent, but not incredible, and it merely serves as a vehicle for the clever plot) is the brilliance of the script from this short what makes it a worth-watching experience, having an impressive use of logos and corporate mascots in a way which never fails to surprise and amuse.

I think that the Academy Award that it got was more than well deserved.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Clever, stylist and satirical – all in an engaging, smart and fun way
bob the moo21 February 2011
In a city made completely of corporate logos and branding, two cops shoot the breeze until they spot a fugitive from justice and give chase leading to a cataclysmic conclusion.

Whether or not it is intended as a commentary on the nature of American "culture" (and I think it is), this is a remarkably well made short film that mixes clever ideas with a real understanding of the genre that they are using as a vehicle to their satire. To deal with the surface first – this film is very clever in the way it utilises brands and logos in every aspect of the world it creates. Not all of them will be recognisable but the design of them will make them unmistakable as brands even if the names escape you. It is startling how many you will recognise and, while some have complained that the film is little more than a game of "spot the brand", I did think that the high hit-rate was perhaps part of the point and it was a point well made.

If the film was only a cleverly use series of logos then perhaps this may have been a valid point, but the short goes onto to spoof American movies and culture by delivering all this in the middle of a high-octane crime thriller where everything goes up to 11 and, if it can be destroyed in glorious Technicolor, then it is. It gets this spot on and shows a real understanding of the genre. OK the Tarantino-esque chat is a little obvious but past this the direction and framing of the shots and "camera" movements could all be taken straight out of many blockbuster action movies – movies perhaps that are accused of product-placement with their cars, watches, drinks etc etc. In this way the film actually engages beyond "spot the logo" and "isn't America morally bankrupt?" because it delivers an exciting action short with plenty of movement and style.

I really was surprised by how enjoyable it was. I would have liked it to have had a bit more teeth in regards the satirical aspect to it but this part still did just about work for me. Beyond it though I can understand why some did see it as all style and logos because the logos are used really well and the style is genre-perfect. A very clever short film that deserves credit for not wallowing in the smartness of its idea or for being snide or acerbic in its commentary.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Clever and ultimately humorous depiction on a small planet in the Galaxy
calin-radulescu20 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Bringing together all things that make run the much maligned global economy, Logorama is comprised of satirical characters, every single one representative of a well known brand and, of course, borrowing some of its traits / values. Making fun, intelligently none the less, of what we have come to recognize as (social) values is always a public draw, as you might imagine. Also having a moral to story is a plus, and it's probably what makes this movie so good and so appreciated.

What needs to be said is that the authors of this short film are French, I don't know how much they have come in contact with American Society, but their depiction of it is very accurate, even if at times hyperbolic. The script is constructed as that of a box office hit, complete with a villain (Ronald McDonald), tough cops (Michelin characters that make you think, image wise, of donuts eating police officers), and is somewhat chaotic, but I see it as an irony to the recipe of block busters grossing billions of $. The ending to the film - the earthquake followed by the "apocalypse of petrol" - make it seem like a very intuitive prediction (the film was made in 2009) of what has happened this year (Haiti + Balkan Petroleum). With the characters being profit motivated, walking clichés, violent and blood thirsty, the aftermath - destruction, disasters - is easy to anticipate, although sad.

And what the story amounts to, a Noah's Arch type of apocalypse, is very well put into perspective by the zoom-out end: we're just a dot in the Milky Way Galaxy.. Insert Registered mark logo here, of course..

When it's all said and done, the movie is well made, accessible to all ages and a great run of humorous inter-texts.

Calin Radulescu @ Shorts Up Romania, June 2010
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Logorama -My first Oscar prediction!
fpd-675-8645807 March 2010
I honestly felt the Wallace and Gromit short would win, although I felt Logorama hit a lot of social buttons for me. A touch of Tarantino and the visual dreck of our Corporate world turned on its ear. It was base, and crude, and oh so American. This is a wonderful poke at the 'freedom fries' period of consumption in this glorious nation of visual icons constantly being force fed to anyone living in consumer society. Brilliant color,fast pacing,clever to the nth degree. Leave it to French artists to hold the mirror up for all of us to see. Some will not want to watch, and if they do may not get it. Not being trained in the cyber style of animation, I was very impressed with the short. Kinematograph was deserving of more than just a mention, but with 32 entries I can't imagine having to select from the field. Runaway was a lovely poke at society as well. If the animated shorts are available to you, run-don't walk - and experience all of them. 'I'm lovin' it' means much more for me now.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
This is a good sign. Logorama is pretty interesting and intense movie. That's what I call branding!
ironhorse_iv11 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I appreciate how well done this French made piece was executed, and love the way, it looks. The movie is visually beautiful to watch. Directed by François Alaux, Hervé de Crécy & Ludovic Houplain, the movie had at least, two thousand logos and symbols that made up this huge computer animation world of Los Angeles. It really shows that a film about animation logos can be made right. 2012's Foodfight & Branded should had honestly, look at this film as an example, on how to do, their film justice when they were producing their own films. Still, the movie isn't without faults. While, the movie has plenty of action and humor, the movie lacks a good solid story. It seem like they were cramming way too much visual things to look at, without thinking, once how to make a film out of it. The movie create three-stories that are going on. One is the story of two cops (Voiced by Bob Stephenson and Sherman Augustus) chasing down a fugitive (Also by Bob Stephenson) from justice. The other story is about two children (voiced by Joel Michaely & Matt Winston) trip to the zoo, and the last is a story of a waitress (Voiced by Aja Evans) trying not to get sexual harass from a customer (Voiced by famous director, David Fincher of 1995's Se7en fame). All of the character do intercut, but none of the characters are truly that develop in this 16 minute movie. The plot seem to jump around, way too much and felt unsure of itself on what the story is about. Make sure you have an overall goal or point to your story. There needs to be a reason for telling the story. Half of the time, I'm watching it, I'm trying to figure out what the film is trying to say with its satire tone. Is corporations destroying America? Is God angry at how corporations replace him? The movie seem to have hidden messages about greed, religion, environment and others. The movie even had metaphors for Katrina disaster, the raiding of the Middle East for oil, and others. There were so many brilliant references from start to finish. Liked how the Michelin Men, were chosen because of their perception as tough, while as a caricature of American policemen due to the long held notion of them being overweight. I like how Weight Watchers bringing down McDonalds and Ronald McDonald crashed into the American Cancer Society! Whether or not, the film is intended as a social commentary is up to question. Still, you can see that the film is trying to show something. They should had keep the main plot simple, in my opinion. If there is too much going on, the general population won't get it. Think accessibility, not complexity. Have one character with one story arch. Another thing that people might not like about the film is how offensive it is, it does conveys a very narrow-minded view of America. The whole Quentin Tarantino type dialogue is a trip and works to make these characters into human like, but none of the corporations here are put into a good light. Why is every logo characters in the film, made in negative stereotype? Honestly, the over the top gay stereotype of Mr. Clean was just awful and probably anger a lot of gay people. The whole idea of Bob's Big Boy and Haribo Boy as idiotic punks is just wrong. Last, Mr. Pringles sexual assaulting somebody isn't what I call, great P.R. The worst beat down was McDonalds as Ronald McDonald is portray as a psychopath criminal. Ever since, then. McDonald's less and less, use the character in its own ads. The company just wants to communicate less and less through him. The only logo that seems to be presented in alright light is the Esso Girl. It wouldn't be no surprise if any of the companies that had their logo used, try to threatened legal action against the film, because how they were portray or how the film use their logo without their permission. The film makers probably relying on Fair Use for legal cover. I know, some of the companies were pretty please, to see their logotype in the film. I like how the film also use, movie, music and television logos as Easter eggs such as The Buy N Large "BnL" logo from 2008's Wall-E, the Slurm logo from the TV Series, Futurama, and Pink Floyd on the Wall, album cover. There are too many to count. The short movie also had some great license music choices. The opening track to Dean Martin "Good Morning Life" really set the mood. The closing track, The Ink Spots "I don't want to send the world on fire", show how chaotic, it had become. The voice acting is alright. I love Aja Evans, southern accent as the Esso Girl. I don't think the movie is appropriate for children as the movie is full of violent and harsh language. So, don't mistake this movie for a Disney or Pixar short. Overall: Logorama is a must-have for any designer, student, marketing professionals, and anyone interested in contemporary culture. I'm glad, it won Academy Award for Best Animated Short Film at the 82nd Academy Awards. A great bitter-sweet satire of our commercial world.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I'm f*****g loving it!
sashank_kini-14 September 2011
I am not a brand conscious person; for me, as long as the beverage tastes yummy, I don't care if Subway has made it or McDonalds. But for most people, brands do matter. A friend of mine won't wear shoes unless they are Reebok's or Nike's. My father bought an Apple I- Pad and an I-Touch for the family. I myself, though not too fastidious about brands, prefer buying Playstations rather X-box or Wii. For the corporate sectors, having a brand-name gives them an edge over others. In India, after all these years, Parle G remains extremely reasonable and popular among biscuits because of the homely brand name. I love 'Dark Fantasy' biscuits over 'Hide N' Seek' ones, but the latter is more recognized in the market. Horlicks noodles are tastier than Maggi noodles, I feel but my sister refuses to touch anything but Maggi. In short, Brand is Grand.

On the first viewing, many would be disoriented by the hype that Logorama has received. Even I was bemused, since the short is profane, violent, dispassionate and also a bit sexist. Pringles Hot and Sweet taps the Esso lady's butt and also passes crude remarks in the beginning. Ronald is a completely berserk Joker meets Alex from Clockwork Orange. Mr. Clean has been reduced to an effeminate zoo-keeper, while the famed Leo the Lion has been reduced to a big p***y. But I made a mistake of watching this right after reviewing Geri's Game, a luminous Pixar effort. Now you get why I was not crazy for this the first time. But watching it again today, I got an entirely different perception of the movie. Logorama was not made to sermonize, it was created to entertain and acknowledge the supremacy and influence of brands over modern man.

USA is probably more loaded with brands considering the market economy that it has adopted. The film is over-loaded with brands, with brand names on animals, apples, birds, buildings, cars, CDs, earthquake cracks, guns, hats, human beings, hoardings, motorbikes, roads, signage, tiles, tables, walkie-talkies, windows and even Orange juice! The principal characters include two puffy, fast-food loving officers, a nefarious Ronald McDonald, an Esso waitress and two bratty kids. The officers are to apprehend Ronald McDonald, who is an inveterate criminal who causes collateral damage to the city.

The animation is well-defined, with special attention paid only to the characters and things that matter, just like an advertisement. Some would complain that the environment is shoddily done, but Logorama does not intend to be Pixar; its only intention is to satirize the modernized society. Ronald is the most clearly drawn character, with dark and menacing eyes and voice and a foul, impulsive behavior. The two snotty children are spoilt, impish and materialistic, mooning in front of the lion and using cuss words. Much like the children of today. When one of the guys lies on the grass with the lady after an adventure, I thought it would have been a good idea to hand him a hand-held console to show how indifferent and self-involved today's children are.

The two fat officers begin a random conversation about zoos, thus linking the two children with the story. One of the officers sounds like Morgan Freeman from Nurse Betty or Samuel Jackson from Pulp Fiction and the other like John Travolta from PF, except these are cops. When the second cop goes to buy a snack and look at all the available options, there's a 'Yum!' sign behind the cop as his mouth waters. There are various other innovative ad references, including the surprising Nickelodeon logo, the hard-to-notice Xbox logo and the wittily used Viao logo.

The plot itself is cheesy and reminiscent of a 80s exploitation film, with the vulgar tone, the inane lines, the potty humor and the objectification of women by Pringles men! But everything adds to the zaniness that this movie is. The mindless action and the deus ex machina both are great references to the current fad among many teenagers, who have no liking for meaningful films.

The music in the film has probably been inspired by Stanley Kubrick's Dr Strangelove and is very mild and intentionally paradoxical compared to the rest of the film. It may be a reference to those goody-goody ads and films showing how perfect everyone's life is.

Logorama is a cogent short effectively conveyed in its convenient sixteen minutes. Just one advice- do not go for this after watching a Pixar film, or you'll be shocked and offended! My rating: 8.5/10
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Unbelievably clever visual experience
jimjo12168 March 2010
LOGORAMA brings to life a world built out of familiar logos. Hundreds of logos and mascots are used, and they include examples from software companies, shopping centers, restaurants, sports teams, movies, and any number of other products, agencies, and corporations. It's a lot of fun watching all of these familiar logos used so creatively. They fill the screen and zip by without calling attention to themselves. Watching LOGORAMA is like a game of "How Many Logos Can You Name?" To fully appreciate this animated short, one needs to freeze-frame each part and check out all the details.

I cannot imagine how much work it must have been filling this virtual city with all of those brands. Each logo fits in in some logical way. Boxy logos, for example, are often used as buildings, while pedestrians are made from the yellow AOL Instant Messenger guy or the Bic pen guy. Cops are Michelin men. The zoo includes the MGM lion and the Linux penguin. Hundreds and hundreds of everyday logos are used and they are used so cleverly that it nearly boggles the mind. As new logos reveal themselves, the viewer is awestruck. "Aw, man! No way!"

It's that cool.

The plot is secondary, but includes chase scenes, gunfire, and natural disasters. It's action-packed. The dialogue is laced with profanity and the cartoon has a mature (PG-13?) edge.

LOGORAMA doesn't seem to have any deep symbolic meaning. It's just a fun way to kind of comment on how many different corporate logos people are familiar with nowadays. Our everyday lives are flooded with these images on TV, in newspaper ads, on the street, etc. This film takes these well-known images and has fun with them.

I think it's great fun to see all of the familiar logos and images, but the profanity seems a little unnecessary and off-putting and the low-budget voice cast could be better. (Just my opinion.) Still the visual experience is well worth it and the details in this short warrant repeat viewings and freeze-frame inspection.

How many logos can YOU name?
13 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Visually impressive and incredibly twisted little short which begs for repeated viewing.
llltdesq27 January 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This won the Oscar for Animated Short. There will be spoilers ahead:

This is a semi-deranged bit of madness. I find myself wondering what various executives of some of the companies which still exist think about various characters and incidents taking place in this short (particularly McDonald's). Let's face it, it isn't every day an iconic figure goes off the rails as spectacularly as the clown does here. He's one "Top of the world, Ma!" away from Cody Jarrett territory.

There's a lot to like about this short. It's visually stunning to look at and every time I watch it, I notice quite a few things along the edges I didn't see before (at six times so far, I'm still noticing stuff for the first time).

The choice of music is fascinating. They start with a peppy song sung by Dean Martin and end with the Ink Spots. The underscoring is effective and fitting.

You'll see appearances by Mr. Clean, the Jolly Green Giant, The Pringles guy(s), your favorite M&Ms, Mr. Peanut and other trademarks (some of which may have caused various lawyers some sleepless nights). The language is colorful and definitely the kind of thing you'd find in a Scorsese or Tarantino film rather than the average animated short. This not meant for children in any way, shape or form.

Blink and you'll probably miss something. Not for all tastes, but it's fast-paced, entertaining and funny in a disturbed, chuckle with a gasp and a drop of blood at the corner of your mouth kind of way. Available on a Blu-Ray/DVD combo release from Shorts International (which is itself a very good compilation of Academy Award winning shorts, live action and animation). Logorama is well worth watching and most recommended.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Spot The Logo
tieman6416 December 2010
Warning: Spoilers
"I have always believed that writing advertisements is the second most profitable form of writing. The first, of course, is ransom notes." – Philip Dusenberry

"Advertising is legalised lying." – H. G. Wells

"Logorama" is a short film which takes place in an "over-marketed" world in which nearly everything is constructed from corporate brand images. Capitalism's commodification and advertising's proliferation taken to grotesque extremes, the film also satires big budget Hollywood action movies, whilst homaging fare like Altman's "Short Cut's", "Blade Runner", "Falling Down", disaster movies and Tarantino's "Pulp Fiction". As post-modernism is the logic of late capitalism, it's no surprise that virtually everything in this film is a ripped from somewhere else.

The plot is simple, and involves police forces tracking down a deranged Ronald McDonald, who has recently committed a robbery and kidnapping. As the film unfolds, we're treated to some expertly mounted action scenes (with excellent virtual camera work), the overriding point being that big corporations, oil conglomerates and brand heavy businesses are not only run by sleazy people, but completely wrecking the world.

When its not critiquing corporations and when Ronald McDonald isn't shooting up the place with a machine-gun, the film makes some subtle jokes. Most of these are noticeable only with re-watches, but some of the more blatant ones include Ronald McDonald tripped by a Weight Watchers billboard, an IBM building collapsing such that its catchphrase loses an "s" to read "Solutions for a mall planet" and a sequence in which Enron, K-Mart, and Freddie Mac - all of which have been marred by scandal, bankruptcy, and government bailouts - fall during an earthquake. A later scene featuring several logotypes drowning in oil even includes Phillips 66, Chrysler, and a "W", from the George W. Bush reelection campaign of 2004.

Though the film critiques consumption, Americanocentrism, mindless entertainment, corporate branding, cultural imperialism, globalisation and capitalism's rampant reification, it's ultimately a very limp work of satire. Functioning more as product placement, "Logorama" adopts the tactics of and revels in exactly that which it damns. It's as stupid and crass as the action movies it parodies and as reliant on gimmickry and the novelty value of symbols as the brands it tries to mock. The notion that having characters cursing somehow taints these corporations is also naive (Most of the logos on the screen are not portrayed in a negative light. They are just there.), as modern advertising now works despite being annoying. The ads of today – think internet pop-ups, IMDb banners and spam – do not seek to ingratiate themselves with the consumer, only to get their name out there, in the public's consciousness, by whatever means necessary. The ad, in other words, no longer advertises a product, but the ad itself. That the companies whose logos appear in this film have not blocked the release of "Logorama" is merely an indication of how comfortable they all are with the current state of things, and how ineffectual such small acts of protest really are.

Then there's the fact that H5, the company that produced "Logorama", is itself a well known French company which works in music video, advertising and packaging, servicing such brands as Audi and Cartier. With that in mind, consider the way discussions relating to "Logorama" always degenerate into a game of "spot the logo" or "spot the brand". This effectively reverses the usual operation of advertising. The ad is no longer pushed upon the consumer, but the consumer is actively searching for the ad and rewarding himself for spotting it. Creepy.

7.5/10 – Plays better as an Ellroy/Chandler styled cop movie than a satire. Worth one viewing.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Smart funny Tarantino-esquire take on the ubiquity of logos.
john_mclane_yippee-ki-ya21 November 2010
François Alaux, Hervé de Crécy and Ludovic Houplain apply an extensive use of symbolism in their short film Logorama (2009) to explore the realist idea of mass consumerism in a negative light. The characters, their surroundings, and every last object in the film are all anthropomorphised and become an embodiment of the persistent and unrelenting commercials we see in our everyday life. Far from being simply a chaotic incorporation of advertisements, Logorama is a witty and hyperbolic social commentary on the ubiquity of advertising and its energetic show of entrepreneurial images and metaphors make it a superb work of realism. By launching a barrage of countless brand logos at the viewer, Logorama makes us take notice of our solely consumerist generation. The choice of logos was decided by several different aspects. The heroes of the short, several Bibendi (or the Michelin Men), were chosen because of their perception as tough and being able to withstand hazards, it was also owing to their rotund appearance acting as a caricature of American policemen due to the long held notion of them being overweight. Ronald McDonald was chosen to be the villain because of the perception of clowns being fear-provoking; this is also an instance of major influencing the minor, as the Joker from Batman was part of the inspiration for this choice. One can easily see the contrasting characteristics of each company being incorporated into their characters; the Michelin Men who help with road hazards and ensure you make it on your way are shown in a better light than Ronald McDonald, the mascot for a company whose unhealthy and fatty food cause heart disease. Furthermore, by subverting the usual wholesome image of Ronald McDonald, the creators are emphasising the evils of commercialising and brand overuse. The menacingly ominous appearance of him at the end of the credits, after the viewer has seen him supposedly die, accentuates the idea of no escape from major companies and their icons; the indestructible symbols of the manufacturing supremacy; a very realist idea. Other, more trivial, characters were chosen for their graphic outward appearance such as Julius Pringles, the mascot for the Pringles potato snacks, being all the van drivers in the film as people associate them with moustaches. Mr Clean is portrayed as a flamboyantly camp stereotype, attributable to his appearance; the earring, the tight trousers, the muscular arms shown bulging through his tight white top and his shaved head. Other icons chosen include the Big Boy and Haribo mascots which do not fit the identity that their company and the general public have given them and have a completely different nature than the one they are associated with shown through their filthy language and misbehaviour. This is echoed in several of the other icons and works because of the viewers' knowledge of the companies they are known for, for instance the Esso girl smoking. By pitting corporations against one another, Logorama demonstrates how they are fighting off the competition; this is shown when Ronald McDonald destroys the Pizza Hut restaurant and when he is shown killing other logos such as Mr. Peanut or the Michelin man in a Maurice Binder barrel homage shot. This symbolism portrays a very real situation; this depiction of what these companies iconic logos will do to survive shows the desperate or harsh lengths the companies will go to in order to stay on top and bankrupt one another. By bouncing the companies off each other Logorama also shows the predicament of the onslaught of consumer culture feeding off one another and itself; an instance being when Ronald McDonald is flung from his Grease 2 bicycle when driving into a Weightwatchers sign. A company like Weightwatchers would have less demand without fast food restaurants like the one Ronald stands for. Next, the pace of the film is very rushed, with each key event taking seconds to happen, this can be seen to symbolise the speed of our everyday lives, the speed of commercial breaks on television, and the speed with which companies bring out new products and advertisements.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
"I Don't Want To Set The World On Fire"
aarosedi31 October 2018
It's no mean feat incorporating all those different logos, essentially laborious fruits of graphic design artists, giving those creations their proverbial 15 minutes by creating this hodgepodge that pays homage to the Hollywood staple of action-adventure romp, cop-buddy movies, and most of all, those disaster flicks that depicts a series of misfortunes that hit a fictionalized version of Tinseltown all happening in a span of a day with a pair of bungling Michelin mascots seen covering their police beat.

Though this 2D animation can be considered rough on the edges, it befits the aesthetic conceit of making it look like a collage awash with pop culture images with a soundtrack and musical score that succinctly captures the broad array of moods explored throughout. It is a severely violent animated catastro-vaganza that's never short on both visual and ironic humor.

All flash, not much substance; a sort of an inbred love-child of pop and postmodernist art. This 16-minute-plus film addresses the disdain felts towards the by-products of American brand of capitalism, everything that can be considered as unhealthy, garish, flamboyant, and ostentatious, and who better tackle that than the French, the people who pride themselves as having introduced the cinematic medium to the world. And by using Los Angeles as the setting for the film, home of the most prominent cinema and television industry in the whole world and dumping all those global capitalist brands and appropriated corporate mascots such as the ubiquitous McDonald's clown embodying the angst of somebody who feels more and more estranged by the fast pace of the ever-expanding universe he's in, it accomplishes in becoming a sheer escapist fantasy that's ridicules something, but it's certain that no one can ever feel slighted by such a gesture.

My rating: A-flat.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
quick, hilarious, unique action-packed satire
framptonhollis24 June 2018
'Logorama' is an Oscar-winning short comedy that cleverly satirizes extreme corporate-and-consumerism by creating a universe built upon various logos and products and inserting within this universe a largely parodic action-movie-plot. It all leads to disaster and catastrophe and has a largely cynical smile on its lips throughout, sarcastically shoving in the viewer's face dozens upon dozens of consumerist products and logos that are inserted into the film in all sorts of clever little ways. Technically, it isn't perfect (the voice acting is mostly at least okay, but for some reason its recording doesn't exactly always fit the environment of the film, it definitely sounds like it was recorded separately, which a lot of animated films are able to disguise, if any of what I just said makes any sense), but the animation very well fits the story, style, and concept, and the writing is witty and hilarious. It's so entertaining the flaws are almost completely overshadowed and what lies before us is a superb satirical comedy that only runs at around 17 minutes.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Blade Runner" meets "Idiocracy"
lee_eisenberg25 March 2016
2009's winner of Best Animated Short is a biting satire on crass consumerism. H5's "Logorama" depicts a city - probably LA - that is essentially one giant product placement. Every object in the city is either a corporate logo or a corporate mascot. So when a high-speed chase (for Ronald McDonald) starts, it's up to all the representations of commercialism to help stop the guy. The short reminded me of Ridley Scott's "Blade Runner" (in the sense that there's nothing but advertising everywhere) and Mike Judge's "Idiocracy" (wherein the world is full of stupid people and the stars on the US flag are replaced with the Carl's Jr. logo). There was also a hint of John Carpenter's "They Live" (in which a man discovers a pair of sunglasses that enable him to see the true messages of commercialism). But more than anything, it's a clever cartoon, reminding the viewer of how commercialism inundates our lives every day.

Worth seeing.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
richly inventive piece of satire
myriamlenys15 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
"Logorama" is a spoof, and a very good spoof at that, of at least two kind of movies : on one hand the more violent kind of crime and hostage drama, on the other hand the disaster movie. However, it is primarily a sharp-toothed satire on the visual pollution of our Western cities - what am I saying, on the visual pollution of our Western lives, which get buried under an avalanche of publicity, corporate logos and product placement.

By the way, don't expect this little movie to end on a happy note : it pretty much implies that Mankind will happily export this kind of egregious ugliness to other planets, even other dimensions. Space, the final frontier, just panting for the chance to get buried under mind-boggling layers of greed, crassness and impudence...

I stand in awe of the daring of the various makers of the movie - from a legal point of view, I can only suppose that they've either got b*lls of iron or excellent lawyers. Or they might have excellent lawyers with b*lls of iron, that's a possibility too.

Richly deserved the awards thrown in its direction, plus a few other ones it should have obtained.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Logorama (2009) [Animation, Short] François Alaux, Hervé de Crécy, Ludovic Houplain
dpolwatte8 December 2018
Logorama is a homage to american cinema and culture combined with violence, comedy, vulgar language and sex.

A whole new experience for marketers and film goers.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A for effort
Horst_In_Translation12 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
The 2009 movie "Logorama" is a perfect example for how a creative idea and execution can already be enough to achieve an Academy Award, one of the highest honors in the world of movies. This 16-minute movie managed to beat Nick Park's newest Wallace&Gromit adventure and 3 other pretty decent animated short films. I guess my personal choice would have been "Lady and the Reaper". But "Logorama" is very well-done too. Admittedly, there is nothing particularly new about the story, but this is all about the animation or I should probably be more specific and say it is about the way how they included hundreds (thousands?) of brands here. A truly creative effort and I applaud the filmmakers for this. These brands really make the story too as all the protagonists represent certain enterprises, mostly McDonald of course with Ronald McDonald playing a Joker-like villain here. Did this film set my world on fire (in a positive sense)? Probably not, but still I enjoyed it a lot and it is certainly one of the most unique animated short films of the new millennium. The three people behind this work are from France actually and made another popular short film based on a very famous video game afterward. I will check this one out soon too and wonder if we ever get a full feature animated movie from them. I certainly would be interested in watching it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
All action, All fun
megadiego3 February 2010
That pretty much wraps it up: "All action, All fun" This is the kind of film you should watch if you really want to have 15 minutes silly sarcastic boy-toy fun. Lots of action, wild animals, guns, fast cars, some rude boys and lots of explosions (rush hour, rambo, cops styled) in a world fully made out of logos.

You wont learn any positive message in any way, maybe no message at all. Its just a cool action/persecution story with extremely funny animations, but then you might just spend 15 min on an entertaining story than wasting 1.4hrs in an ultra positive badly forced like Pixar's Up.

Then, even if you don't like it you would have wasted that much time
11 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Is this an artistic short or a vehicle of advertising?
Gordon-114 February 2010
This Oscar nominated short animation is about an American city composed of logos, that gets destroyed in a chaos of man-made and natural disasters.

"Logorama" may be viewed as innovative and entertaining as it incorporates so many brands and logos in the film. it may help to connect with the viewers as people and backgrounds are already familiar. However, I argue that "Logorama" could be a vehicle marketing, serving to advertise hundreds of brands in a space of 16 minutes. Most of the logos are on the screen for no apparent reason, and adds no storyline or depth to the plot. The logos are there just for the sake of being there. The inundation of unsubtle product placement and in your face advertising makes me wonder whether artistic merits are still prevalent in the short. I am hesitant to praise this short in a positive manner.
25 out of 148 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The most creative animated film I've ever seen
djkwikdkr3 September 2014
It's clear to see a lot of thought was put into making this film, like a photography company logos being used as a scope. I'm really into brands and corporate identity and it was great to see all my favourite companies included somehow. The story did kind of take a radical turn but it was entertaining throughout, I just wish it was longer!

I'm not sure how I came across film but I'm happy I did. The plot opens up a familiar but strange world to the viewer. Its use bright colour creates a level of juvenile cartoon but its very much an adult film with its explicit content.

The writer does a great job of changing mascots aimed for good behaviour in our real world to bad rebellious protagonist in this world. Pay close attention to characters like Ronald McDonald and the Haribo Kid.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A nice short filled with logos
MihaiSorinToma20 October 2017
In a world where everything is made out of logos, the McDonald's clown steals a truck full of weapons and is being followed by Michelin officers. But just after he takes hostages and injures civilians, a major earthquake strikes their city bringing chaos and destruction. It's not much of a story but the way they made that world full of logos is as impressive as it is funny. I really liked their idea and the way it was presented through its action sequences but the plot itself was disappointing. Still, it's pretty good for a quarter hour full of logos!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
I Expected A Lot More Considering It Won The Oscar
Theo Robertson10 March 2014
An interesting concept of mixing animation with political satire , so interesting in fact that it won an Oscar as best animated short and has come in for a lot of praise on this page . It's good but perhaps not as good as many people are claiming . The problem I had the novelty of having a cityscape composed of American corporate logos is a good one but beyond that there's absolutely no other reason for it to exist and the film doesn't seem to know what to do with the concept except to let the audience shout out " Hey I know that reference " It is of course a French animated short and it was the French themselves who invented post modernist cinematic culture so you're able to pick it the references that the two cops are channeling a certain sequence from PULP FICTION and that the crazy villain is based on Andy Robinson's Scorpio from DIRTY HARRY . There might also be a comment there about product placement but if it's the fact that everything has corporate logo then it's far too overdone to be effective satire . Perhaps one could also have wished to have seen it in the original tongue as it might have missed something in translation
0 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed