Division III: Football's Finest (2011) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Not Just For Hardcore Dick Fans
Sparky7323 February 2012
Division II: Football's Finest pulls off a minor miracle given the budget, which according to Marshall Cook, ran to hundreds of thousands rather than millions. Avoiding the cheese of Friday Night Lights, it gives a gag-filled twist to the age old come-from-behind sports movie in the form of berserk coach Rick Vice, played by comic madman Andy Dick, and his assistant coach, played by hilarious scene-stealer Paul Henderson. The duo stand out amid a fine cast, thanks to some creative swearing, inspired improvisation and good old fashioned physical violence.

Writers Marshall Cook, Paul Henderson and Andy Dick playfully subvert lots of sports film clichés while sticking to a well-loved formula. The football scenes are beautifully shot, and it's laugh-out-loud funny. The endlessly quotable dialogue and Andy Dick's insane turn make it an instant cult classic.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
This movie was non-stop funny...
amazingrobie29 January 2013
For such a low rating I was expecting something terrible, but what I got was side splitting humor...literally choked with funny dialogue and situations. The fact that it's a football movie and I hate sports, yet I loved every minute of it speaks volumes to me. I don't think that Andy Dick gets enough work in Hollywood, because without his delivery, I can see the dialogue falling flat and not being anywhere near as humorous. I loved the movie 'Jack & Jill' with Adam Sandler, so if you didn't like that, chances are you won't like this either, but seriously, I laughed from beginning to end. The coffee cup with an image of Hitler that had the text 'FAIL' on it was some of the detail that made me laugh sooo much. More comedy writers/directors should pay attention to the small gags because it's that sort of thing that pays off upon repeat viewings for the slower viewers. If you don't find the movie that's fine, humor is subjective, as is beauty, and I'm glad everyone has different views otherwise we'd all be chasing after the same things. Enjoy this one if you can.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
If you like a good comedy, this movie is a MUST SEE!
alloftheabovex318 November 2011
I gave this movie a solid 10 stars for a couple reasons. The movie is downright off the wall funny. I thoroughly enjoyed Andy Dick's acting. He did an absolutely amazing job with this. Marshall Cook - who in my opinion doesn't get enough credit - did an incredible job with this movie. Not only did he direct, produce and edit this movie, he was one of the main characters. Being an actor/director on a film is not an easy task, but Cook did and awesome job! Many do not know this, but the movie was shot in 20 days and for less then a quarter of a million dollars. Some may think that as a result, the movie would be crumby, but I can assure you it is the exact opposite. I highly recommend this movie! As for the down side is that the didn't have enough time to develop some points of the plot, but it isn't hard to follow at all.

Go see this movie!
13 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
An amazing storyline showcasing the madcap exploits of an underdog Div.III football program and it's new head coach.
Gary Flank14 January 2012
For being a low budget film this movie, surprisingly had several big name stars in it. Most notably Andy Dick,Will Sasso,Adam Corolla, and the always amazing Sally Kirkland. Any true fan of college sports and zany comedies will find enjoyment here. From the over the top antics of the ragtag teammates to the actual actors running the plays while filming the actual games. The movie is one of the better college comedies I have seen as of late and I highly recommend it to all. The crude head coach as written and played by Andy Dick could not have been topped by anyone else, he shines in this undertaking. I find my self still chuckling at his one liners and antics days after watching this movie. I can't wait to add this hidden gem to my DVD collection,and watch this again!
7 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Sport's comedy at it's finest! (Contain Spoiler)
whatsup-lizard16 December 2012
Warning: Spoilers
This review contains a spoiler. This movie was very funny. It had me lol throughout the movie. I cannot think of too many sport films that are funny like "Division III: Football's Finest." I can definitely see myself watching this movie again. The coach is funny and the players are terrified of his tactics to coach the team. The coach is crazy, but what other choice does the Division 3 school have. The schools football program is in jeopardy, so they either go big or lose the media attention that the school needs to be successful. The movie seems to be centered around comedy, but I can see how it also focuses on the main idea for the team to win many important games. He needed help and he eventually got it through a determined defensive or offensive coordinator.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
I'm not a fan of Dick but this movie had me craving more!!!
kingofsoloman6 September 2013
Let's be perfectly clear about this movie, it is a Division III movie just like the school they play for. However this is one of the funniest movies I have ever seen in my life. Andy Dick shines as the lunatic coach and carries this movie on his back. His lines alone make this movie worth seeing. He embodies every football coach cliché ever thought of and takes them beyond reality but in the most realistic way. The rest of the cast drop clever one liners and hit all their marks in probably one of the most unexpected comedy classic movies ever created. You might not ever see any of these actors again in a movie but they can rest assured knowing that they made a great one that should be considered as a cult classic movie!!!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Fantastic
mccarthychristine843 November 2011
One of the best comedy's I've seen in a while. Good from the beginning to the end. Great cast and acting. Needs to be better promoted. Not over the top, but offensive enough keep you laughing throughout the entire movie. By far funnier than the big Hollywood comedies. I highly encourage those with a sense of humor to check out this movie. Football fans will dig it as well. I'm still laughing almost 24 hours after watching the movie. Can't wait for the DVD release. Definitely purchasing this movie. An original refreshing movie, its about time. Long and short, check it out, what do you have to lose, you won't be disappointed.
8 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Loved it!
Tom O'Malley14 January 2012
I'm a huge Andy Dick fan so you can imagine my excitement to hear of this movie. My expectations we actually quite low because I assumed it would be one of those high school spoof type films. But no, it's hilarious! Andy Dick is brilliant and the rest of the cast is spot on. I found the writing and storyline to be unique and wonderfully smart. Although the characters are goofy and spend a majority of the film as parodies of themselves, you actually grow attached to them. Once the end credits hit the screen, I wanted more! Highly recommended -- must see for any fan of comedy, football, Andy Dick or entertainment in general!
5 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
No need for thought, just watch and laugh
rmwilliams-189221 March 2018
There's no debate, this movie is insanely stupid. But that's what makes it hilarious. Before watching, you know what you're getting into, so why watch if this is not your style of comedy? Stupid humor is taking the world by storm, and this movie is a testament to how funny it can be. No need to think about it, just watch and laugh. This type of movie is meant to entertain, and to entertain only. There is no need to include underlying themes and messages, that is far beyond the scope of a movie like this. And frankly, I don't want all my movies to have some deeper meaning. Sometimes I just want to kick back, relax, and crack up at a funny movie without thinking about it. When I do, this movie is my movie of choice. Don't miss out on this fun-filled and absurdly hilarious comedy!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Just Horrible
wavemancali22 January 2012
Andy Dick in a simply awful role. I'm not an Andy Dick hater, I liked him in News Radio but he was simply unbearable in this movie.

Will Sasso and Adam Corolla had slightly amusing roles but the rest of the background MadTV actors (Mo Collins, Debra Wilson, Bryan Callen) were forgettable at best.

The male and female leads (Marshall Cook and Alison Haislip) believe it or not actually seemed realistic. Everyday people incapable of putting in a great acting performance that no one would want to see in a movie.

The only reason I actually finished watching the movie after 20 minutes was to be able to actually say I watched it completely before giving it a 1 star review.
4 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Just a completely bad movie
bloodroses7512 November 2014
It's football season again, so I looked online to see what is recommended besides the usual top movies to get my seasonal football movie fix.This one was listed as one of the 25 best. Boy were they wrong. The movie is supposed to be a comedy, but all the comedy bits were just idiotic. This is Andy Dick at his worst. They cast him to be this crazy football coach who physically abuses his players every other scene; like chasing the players on a bike; poking them with the first down marker. How is this supposed to be considered funny? At least they got the crazy part right in hiring Andy Dick to play the role. The movie even tries to copy the formulas that other movies use to do well; but fails at that as well. At least with the other movies, you were left with a feel good feeling at the end; not a 'whatever, you just wasted my time' feeling like this one does. If you need a fix to watch a football movie this season, re-watch one of the greats instead. At least you'll having a satisfying feeling afterwords.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
What a waste of - well, everything
Tomlonso23 February 2015
Unless for some reason you really, really want to see Andy Dick naked, there is no reason to watch this movie. The worst part about it is that I can't un-see it. The best part . . . well, I must have missed that.

And it comes so close. So many of the jokes are almost there, but like a pass that slips through the receiver's hands, they never connect. The jokes that do connect are at best mildly amusing with punchlines telegraphed yards before delivery.

The concept has a lot of promise. Psycho coach in a Division III football program that is on its last legs. Should have, could have worked. It's easy to understand why people signed on to do the movie. What is less clear is why they aren't suing to keep it under wraps.

Watch "Major League" instead. It's essentially the same movie but without the naked Dick.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Surprisingly funny.. BUT... Not over the top
unitedcba19 January 2012
Division III: Football's Finest (2011) ~umR ☛ 5/10 Director: Marshall Cook Stars: Andy Dick, Marshall Cook and Bryan Callen 98 min - Comedy | Romance | Sport

Surprisingly funny...Not over the top, but offensive enough keep you laughing throughout the entire movie. Good acting and flawless direction is also an impressive part of this little movie. However, the story doesn't have anything special so that this movie can enter the category of "good" movies. Totally predictable and dr are no surprises at all. The only aspect which will keep you in this movie is the acting and some of the funny scenes in it. To conclude, this is the kind of movie which you can watch and easily forgotten. Totally avoidable...unless you are a HUGE fan of rugby/footfall or Andy Dick .

To read more reviews visit: https://www.facebook.com/unitedcbaMR
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
One of the Funniest Movie Ever Made!
shominy-491-65235521 July 2013
We totally agree with IMDb user amazingrobie. We are not sports fans at all and have not been particularly thrilled with any of the sports movies we've seen through the years, until this one, which we nicknamed "GET SOME!" We rented it, practically died laughing from beginning to end, then had to buy it and have watched it at least three more times! (A word of warning: Do not eat/drink while watching this movie!) Every aspect of Andy Dick's character (Coach Rick Vice), including his goatee, clothes, squeaky knee brace, accent, eye rolling, creative foul language, bicycle throwing, twisted logic, and the torture he puts the players through - is absolutely hilarious! We were literally crying from laughter throughout this movie, and that is very, very rare for us. There are so many quotable lines in this movie that we say almost on a daily basis! We have loved Andy Dick in many movies (including the great "Danny Roane: First-Time Director" and superb "Rock Slyde") and, of course, "Newsradio," and, as a guest star on TV shows, he is a scene stealer, but this is our favorite part he has ever played! The writing and directing and editing are genius! And Paul Henderson is hilarious as Coach Vice's assistant! (BTW, don't miss the gag reel on the DVD - you'll be in tears again from laughing, especially the scene outside with Andy and Paul!) This film deserves more than 10 stars! "GET SOME!"
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Editing 101: This Film Shines
The pacing of this film is just brilliant and I have to say the editors are probably just as much to thank as the writers, actors or directors. Perhaps even more so.

Andy Dick and Greg Fitzsimmons shine as always but you can sorta tell they were allowed to go off-script as much as they wanted. Someone in the editing room knew exactly when to cut the scenes without letting things drag out.

I'm a little shocked the ratings here on IMDb aren't a tad higher. I really enjoyed this film and I'm not one to watch sports related films in general. In my opinion it's a laugh-a-minute riot. Juvenile? Yes, but that's what I was expecting from a comedy centered around college football.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
not as horrible as i thought
When i attempt to review a movie, i often feel it's necessary to observe my (at the moment) state of mind. It was a 'do nothing' Sunday afternoon, and i was too lazy to mow the yard. My run-in with this coin flipper was purely by accident, but after 20 min or so, i warmed up to the idea that i was too lazy to locate the missing remote. I was somewhat surprised that i would finish the entire 1:39. I would suggest a few warm-up beers before giving this film your undivided attention, because even by "Andy Dick" standards, his character is hard to watch. Don't expect too much, and you might throw a chuckle. Doesn't surprise me that it took only 3 weeks to make this movie, so the production cost was an obvious issue. How's about if i just raise my thumb slightly for this non-Oscar winning reel.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews