Atom the Amazing Zombie Killer (2012) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
A true TROMA film in spirit and execution.
brymoo11 April 2013
ATOM THE AMAZING ZOMBIE KILLER is a true return to those days when you picked up some fun/whacked out films at the video store just to see what it was.That's how a lot of us discovered Troma films. You either got into them and enjoyed their whacked out sensibilities or you thought they were too stupid too keep watching. Those of us that fall into the former camp can embrace this film as a Troma film we'd never heard of. Great intro w/faux "adjust your tracking set-up" that will probably have you ejecting the tape to see if it's damaged or fast forwarding to avoid the" bad spots". If anyone says they don't make them like that anymore (and, who besides Troma ever really did?),you can point them to this film and be assured that this will become a guilty pleasure they'll either be embarrassed to admit they've seen,or tell you not to recommend films to them anymore.Highly recommended to all Tromaddicts.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This movie rocks...and bowls!
arvideo7 May 2012
These days the Zombie genre is getting a little tiresome. Everywhere you look it seems there's some goofball with a video camera and a gallon of fake blood, thinking he's gonna be the next Romero or Fulcci. But unlike those two, most of these folks will be rehashing the same tired old "dead rising, let's kill em with (insert powertool/sports equipment of your choice here). The fine folks at Bizjack Flemco (Richard Taylor & Zack Beins) seem to know this, and have turned the zombie genre on it's head with their latest feature, "Atom the Amazing Zombie Killer". They crafted a little story that no one (to my knowledge) has thought of before. They follow the golden rule of low-budget filmmaking to a T. Namely "There are no rules". But beyond that, using only the resources available to them and what they know, they crafted a movie around that, as well as turning their primary weakness (low budget) into a strength. If you're a fan of zombies, but think they've been kind of unimaginative lately, definitely check this movie out.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Lots of laughs and lots of blood, this movie bowls a strike every time.
pwethi156911 June 2012
I watched a screening of this movie at the Albuquerque Comic Expo on June 12th of 2012, at this time it was only the second showing to the public. There were probably around 45 to 50 people in the theater at the time and none of us really knew what we were in for. I had talked with a couple of the guys who had put this movie together before the screening and as I was walking to the showing room a few minutes before the show with my teenage kids I ran into the special effects guy. He said "you guys better come to my show or I am going to tackle you and drag you in". We assured him that was where we were going. People came in and sat down for the movie as the producers, directors and actors gave us a brief synopsis of the movie. They said it was highly influenced by some of the most popular Troma films so that we would have an idea of what we could expect.

I have to say that within the first few minutes I knew I would not get up and walk out. The jokes started right off and were consistent throughout the film and made a point to make lite of the whole zombie movie craze that is going on right now.

Lloyd Kaufman made a hilarious cameo appearance and I have to say the sound track was top-notch using some of the local Denver area talent.

I recommend this film to anyone who likes tongue-in cheek humor with a lot of gore. I laughed out loud through the whole film. And without giving away anything, I have to say I thought I had seen it all until I saw the birthing scene, that alone is worth the price of the DVD. Can't wait until it comes out I will definitely buy this for my collection.

Great Job Guys!! Hope that you make more of these.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Cult Classic in the making!
mandiyo71918 July 2012
All around excellent film! Action, laughs, twists, what else can you ask for? Better than Con Air. I went to the 2nd screening at Starfest 2012 and once again at an actual movie theater for another screening. It gets better every time I watch it. The laughs are hilarious and the gore and effects are awesome. An original "Zombie" movie in a long time that's worth watching. Atom the Amazing Zombie Killer is an exciting roller coaster ride from beginning to end and has the tradition of retro horror and independent modernism that can be viewed by MATURE audiences only and loved by the masses. This film is Cult Classic in the making and should be watched by everyone.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sickening... Disturbing... Absolutely Vile... A Must Have For Any Collection!
disdane14 June 2012
Giving a strong head-nod to classics such as "The Toxic Avenger"; "Atom the Amazing Zombie Killer" has turned the dead zombie genre back into the undead. It is a heartwarming and stomach churning story of love, lust, bowling, true friendship, and used car sponsorship.

Meticulously crafted by Bizjack Flemco (Richard Taylor & Zack Beins) who have nothing to declare except their genius; "Atom the Amazing Zombie Killer" is the first film in all my years of Troma-Love to make me nearly physically ill. (Don't get me wrong it was not for lack of trying) And after nearly half a decade of walking that line between bad/bad and good/bad they have emerged victorious with the first "Tempestuously/Bad" Film. In the world of Troma films and zombie flicks "Atom the Amazing Zombie Killer" is the train-wreck Mona Lisa. You cant look away its too intoxicating.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Review of Atom the Amazing Zombie Killer from
blacktrigrams2 May 2012
Warning: Spoilers
How would I describe Atom the Amazing Zombie Killer in one word? Well that word would be "awful" as in awfully amazing. Zombie movies are usually gruesome, violent, and generally over the top in multiple ways and Atom the Amazing Zombie Killer does not disappoint. The movies plot is not what you would expect from a typical zombie movie and that is one of the movies strongest selling points. It throws you a plot curve ball that I for one applaud do to the fact that some many Zombie movies just copy other plots and Atom the Amazing Zombie Killer stands above the heap for originality. The make up effects are spot on for a zombie movie and some are even more gruesome and unexpected than even your average zombie fan would expect. It is a horror comedy fans wet dream in a sense that you get all the violence you want and plenty of over the top comedic antics. The dialogue humor is both crude and clever using both pop culture references and unique script writing to tell jokes and throw out gross commentary about the characters and overall story. The cast is great and chemistry is felt all over as the characters show both an enormous sense of togetherness and an impressive amount of overwhelming hatred for each other. Even the brief appearances of local Radio DJ's from KBPI 106.7 bring a sense of local flavor for the movies small town setting. The editing of the movie was pretty straight forward and felt kind of linear at times but really work for the films progressive story. The visual effects, animation, and sound design were on par with that of some professional films and added to the overall look and feel of the movie. I for one am also happy as this movie was an Final Cut Pro edit and as a fellow FCP user I am glad to see the program being used to create unique and amazing films. I also want to point out the movies title song "Atom the Amazing Zombie Killer" by the Radioactive Chicken Heads is an incredibly addictive song that has almost a "Scotty doesn't know" kind of appeal. This movie is a triumph of independent film making and a great example of what can be done with a small budget and a large amount of creativity and talent.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
perfectly troma-esque, a GREAT time with a smart twist!
ms-omen7316 July 2014
Richard and Zack have much to be proud of with this their first feature length offering. Atom the Amazing Zombie Killer is a fun splatter filled horror comedy that literally made my watching companion dry heave just a little, that alone is a huge compliment to this style of film. It is completely in your face unpretentious gore, sex and cheesy laugh driven experience, that is an obvious nod to the Troma films I loved growing up. They even have the King of Troma, Lloyd Kaufman, starring in a pivotal albeit small cameo role of Atoms grandfather.

The story itself revolves around Atom, who being the bowling stud of the community has incurred the wrath of bad boy and fellow competitive bowler Dario. They battle for supremacy of the lanes, and family honor, with their respective teams, unaware that doom lay just around the corner. Our hero Atom seems not to be able to get a break, his nymphomaniac girlfriend plays him, his team is on the wrong side of the bowling alleys owner, and then top it all off with the fact that no matter where Atom goes hes surrounded by the undead. And all the poor guy really wants is to watch a good horror flick and take his team to the bowling nationals in Hawaii, I mean really we can all relate!

I loved this indie film. It is what it says it is, but it also isn't, and believe me I realize how crazy this sounds, but I promise when you watch the film you will have an ah ha moment and know exactly what I'm talking about. Its imaginative in a very clever unexpected way, that in itself is extremely refreshing especially in the ever popular world if Zombies. Add the over the top gore effects, creative kill scenes, ever present T&A, and laugh out loud comedy with some really rocking tunes and you've got a great excuse to flop down in front of the tube with that special someone in your life, that you too want to make heave, just a little!

HeatherOmen TheHorrorNation.net
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good times for everyone, bring the kids!
wille-231 September 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Especially if your kids are into hilarious, adult-themed, over-the-top, gross out humor. This movie has plenty of that, so pack your kids in your purse and take 'em to the next showing you can find.

The hero, or villain depending on how you look at it, let's call him the protagonist, would, indeed, be an amazing zombie killer were there any zombies to kill. He is, in fact, just an amazing killer, for now. However, the fact that there are no zombies in the movie just adds to the comedy and charm of the film. Also, the blood and dismemberment effects are fantastic. Atom the Amazing Zombie Killer could easily become a Troma classic. The B-movie has come a long way since, Blood Feast (Herschell Gordon Lewis, 1963).

Definitely see it if you get the chance.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great
sharknoodles25 April 2012
This is really great movie. It takes the zombie genre and puts a new and cool take on it. You can tell that the filmmakers were passionate about this movie. It catches you right from the beginning with its awesome theme song and continually draws you in more. It has some really cool zombie kills and two of the best I have ever seen. Not only does it have zombies it also has some cool bowling scenes in it. If you love movies like "Chillerama" you will definitely enjoy the hell out of this movie. If you love zombie movies this one you must see again and again. I instantly loved this movie and it was really cool seeing this movie at midnight with an audience of horror fans. Everybody in the audience had a blast watching this movie and you will too. Now go see it.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Atom the Amazing Crowd Pleaser!
yakov-101 April 2014
Atom the Amazing Zombie Killer is a film that gets better and better as it goes along, leaving you with that happy feeling 80 minutes later, that feeling of being rewarded for the time you spent watching it, that high you get from a movie that was much better than you expected going in.

One thing that makes ATOM THE AMAZING ZOMBIE KILLER unique and far above other zombie gore flicks: The film is solidly scripted and totally original. Not merely a rambling schlock and gore fest, like so many in this genre, but truly a complex script with really believable characters and rewarding surprises and twists. Everything is set up properly, and then paid off. The great writing is what gives this film its dignity and lovable-ness. You know that the filmmakers respect the audience and aren't just trying to sloppily package 80 minutes of tits and blood. This is a real proper, solid comedy deserving of a $100 million dollar Hollywood remake any day now.

As for the blood and gore that this film delights in: In the world Atom inhabits, the police are thankfully always 2 steps behind the killer, the victims never run fast enough, and body parts rip apart with oh so much ease...making for an excellent festival of gore, blood and death and ridiculous silliness. Each kill is done in a unique fashion, with its own humor. The writers of this film clearly thought long and hard how to make each death unique, ironic, and humorous - and memorable. You'll cringe and laugh and puke all at the same time....after the film, you and your friends can discuss your favorite moments, because as I said, each death in this film is its own work of art.

My only negative criticism: The opening scene in the bowling alley is the one spot where I got worried and probably the only part of the film that might turn people off if they're not used to low budget independent films. So, have patience here, the best is yet to come! In this first - and only truly problematic - scene, which is at a bowling alley, there are oddly no extras. It seems too quiet, too much like it is being filmed after hours. And also in this same scene, the two rival bowling teams are almost never together in the same shot, clearly having been filmed separately on different days. But once you get past this snag, which is the result of a low budget and probably also the scheduling problems of the actors...from then on, you are in good shape: from here on, the movie build and builds, like the ascent of a roller coaster.

By the 30 minute mark, the roller coaster peaks and then you're in for 50 minutes of loops and drops that will have you screaming! Expect lots of subtle gags too and background jokes and colorful props. It's not only a wild roller coaster, it's also got a bit of the old classic merry go round.

I can't say more, because any further information might be a spoiler. So, as Troma's Lloyd Kaufman (who makes a cameo) would say: Let's watch!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Zombies, bowling leagues, and guts!
gjohnston11326 July 2013
I saw this in Denver for a double feature night (Midget Zombie Takeover was the second film), and Atom blew the other film out of the water! While the film was a little amateur (the Zombies were a little lame), the jokes were hilarious, fresh, and the absurdity of the film was nicely executed (bowling rivalry AND a Zombie apocalypse?). Oh yeah, Atom's girlfriend is sex- crazed. The sex scenes are pretty raunchy but funny at the same time!

My rating may be a little generous, but as a fan of all things zombie I support it! I also support low-budget films - this is one that for a small budget does a lot.

A must see if you like Zombies!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
~~~~~
toxieever12 December 2012
Atom the Amazing Zombie Killer revolves around Atom, a horror loving, hopeless romantic bowling champion and his friends. During a bowling match against their mortal enemies, The Slashers, they inadvertently get banned from the bowling ally, therefore ruining their chances of going to the Bowling Championship in Hawaii. To make matters worse, Atom's psychotic nympho girlfriend ends the relationship, despite his enduring attempt to win her back(in one hell of a gross out scene). After taking a bump on the noggin, things go completely wrong. I won't go into any more detail involving the plot as I don't want to spoil it, you will have to watch it for yourself.

This amazing film has it all, tons of incredible death scenes filled with gore, awesome one liners, crude toilet humor, and BOOBS. The filmmakers are big fans of Troma Entertainment(Troma president Lloyd Kaufman even has a cameo!) and that is evident throughout the film. Directors Richard Taylor and Zack Beins absolutely nailed it.

The entire film is well acted, even better than many direct to video releases I have seen. Despite being a microbudget film, the quality of the screen image was stellar. While many low budget movies have a poor picture, this is not the case with Atom. Colors were crisp and clean and there was virtually no blur at all. Perhaps the best quality of this film is the originality of the story. This could be one of the top 5 most original zombie movies I have ever seen. Hollywood could really take some lessons on creativity from Bizjack Flemco Productions.

While I tried to find some things that could use improvement, I simply don't think it needed any change. This is just about perfect the way it is.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Bloody Good Time
cherrivee10 October 2012
Movies like this are what Hollywood is missing right now. "Atom" is a perfect example of how great storytelling and creativity trump budget any day of the week. A unique story with lots of heart, Atom gives you a dynamic protagonist to root for, heartbreak, a douchey villain, all against the backdrop of a bowling alley. Drench in gratuitous blood and guts, add in some nudity, a decapitation here and there, and you've got a perfect storm. This indie horror comedy is not to miss, especially by fans of Troma films and the like. You won't regret a single one of the 80 gory minutes of cinematic gold that Bizjack/Flemco serves up. Lobby your local art-house theater for this film to be screened! Its a must see, and as my review title suggests, a bloody good time for all!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I've been waiting since '08 to see this!
obsicle11 May 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I think it was the fall of '08 when BizJack/Flemco first announced the movie. I was excited! My favorite movie of theirs is Ghettoman... year after year the need to see this film kept getting stronger and stronger.. then i finally see it aaaaaaaand........... IT'S FRIGGIN' AMAZING!! It has everything you want in a film! I honestly can't think of anything that i didn't like about the movie.... i just wish i was a little bit longer.. like say an epic 3 hour flick! haha but then again... how could you not love every minute of this when you're a FanBoy of Richard Taylor & Zack Beins? I'd recommend this movie to just about anyone.. unless you have a weak stomach, of course.. there is A LOT of blood and guts.. and even POO! :D oh, and the soundtrack is also amazing.. lots of good bands and the movie score by Tim Johnson.. he does great work.. i'd recommend checking him out, too
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
atom the amazing zombie killer
morrisseyaudio11 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Atom the Amazing Zombie Killer is hilarious!!! if you are the kind of horror fan that likes crude dick and fart jokes, then this is your movie. its very troma-esque and the laughs do not stop. Richard Taylor and his crew are very creative with the music, the animation, and of course the special effects and make up. the cast is brilliant as they share witty and clever dialogue. the story was unique and simple. its funny, the movie almost comes off as clean and wholesome, uh except for the bouncing titties, stereotypes of racial and sexual nature, and lets not forget gore, but hey thats what makes a kick ass film, am i right? i for one cannot wait to see this film distributed and shared at film fests. this is one of the best independent zombie comedies i have ever seen or ever will see. rock n' bowl!!!

mike morrissey
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Atom" is Amazing
brian-pempus1 November 2012
This film is awesome! I saw it at its Las Vegas premier and had an absolute blast.

At just about 80 minutes in length, "Atom the Amazing Zombie Killer" moves by at a brisk pace and never has a dull moment. The film is loaded with hilarious zombie humor and memorable kills.

The script was superb, and many of the performances were excellent.

The movie, in my opinion, is in the same vein as Peter Jackson's "Dead Alive" -- in terms of gore. However, Atom has so much more than that! The film also incorporates a bowling theme, which is maintained throughout the entire story and delivers one awesome payoff at the end! Fans of bowling movies would definitely get a kick out of Atom the Amazing Zombie Killer, even if they don't normally watch horror movies.

Other incredible sequences of the movie featured police officers trying to solve the "crimes." Jazz Copeland was amazing as the chief of police.

I was lucky to have the opportunity to meet the filmmakers after the show, and they were equally as awesome. I look forward to their future projects -- and also being able to watch Atom again.

By the way, I can't get the theme song out of my head!!!!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed