A World Without (2021) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
it is bad
onmyway916 October 2021
Its not even worth a review, but since there are none at the moment maybe i can save you the time and tell you its bad in every aspect, the story, the acting and all and all, don't waste your time.
20 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Story is Flat
ferdy-feisal17 October 2021
The story was a bit confusing at first, what to bring in this film. Romance or friendship. I don't know where to focus. Midway through romance films and stories of long-standing friendships begin to fade with less tense thrillers. Until the final round, the thriller was lacking, as if in a hurry to conclude all the scenes in this film.

The visualizations are sometimes sweet, sometimes dark in a dystopian style. Confusing the visuals. Nia Dinata is great for having stories that are out of the box and daring to raise issues that might become controversial, such as, polygamy to anti-dating before marriage at the age of 17.

For the main character, Amanda Rawless is good enough to lead the audience to follow the storyline.

Maizura, somewhat lacking in emotion, was too forced to get into a sudden conflict.

Only one that is proud of, namely Asmara Abigail, for being a character who managed to provide the most emotional and comedic elements in this film. The whole story is flat.

Don't expect too much, but if you want to watch the Out of the Box story, that's fine...
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Unfocus Story, Very Bad Dialogue, and Awkward Actors
eunikeketania19 October 2021
From the first 8 minutes, I already confused with the message of this movie. I get it that the writer wanted to bring some social issues in Indonesia, but it's just too much to make the story connected. The dialogue is shallow and completely terrible. Even some popular actors in this movie aren't enough to make this movie a good one. There's no chemistry between the actors who play as a couple, they look so awkward between each other. The costume selection also very bad, the students have to wear a colorful yet weird gown, well maybe this movie is on a tight budget. And what's more unbelieveable is Nia Dinata made this one and she failed. Yeah It's totally a failed movie.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It is bad
tyaratriadistie20 October 2021
I was confused at first is it the acting was actually awkward or is it intended, but throughout the movie I knew it was actually awkward, not good at all. The dialouge sounds weird and not natural and the plot is confusing. Read the article about the meaning of this movie but not at all captured in the movie, women empowerment, future world etc like has no connection at all. And after watching this movie I felt like I've wasted my time and it doesnt add any value or knowledge to myself. Very disappointing.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The world without.. acting?
suaroi20 October 2021
Never once i written a review before but this one steals my attention. The intention of the movie is good, raising several social issues in Indonesia. But i feel like all of the actors are really awkward with their acting and each orther. Idk its intentional or not - There is zero chemistry between all of them. Their dialogue itself is weird and too stiff, its like forced acting. Story writing is bad - its too fast and the ending was blunt. Yet still dont know the purpose of this movie...
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Yes... It is bad
linanurdianalina18 October 2021
I'm all about girl power etc movie.. But the good one. Actually I keep Expecting something gore like Rumah Dara about this cult... Or something like black magic psycho cult leader who demanding virgin blood.. I don't know.. it's a cringe movie.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Begins intriguingly but quickly devolves into muddled terrain
Sir_AmirSyarif30 October 2021
Nia Dinata's 'A World Without' begins intriguingly but quickly devolves into muddled terrain as it tries to explain itself, making it one of those films that want to appear as if it has big ideas, but isn't quite sure how to handle them and gradually runs out of things to say. The actors try their best but can't cover up such poor writing.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Disappointing
reddishskies22 October 2021
I didn't really wanna watch it at first. But after seeing the Ad. Several times on YouTube, I decided to watch it.

From the first 5-10 minutes, I already knew that it's gonna waste my time.

The storyline, the conflict, etc. Were ..... It's hard to explain.

It's messy.

As if it's not planned thoroughly.

I'm disappointed.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just Watch Live Dating Show
AJx9128 November 2021
This was so pointless, especially considering all of the sitcom dating shows we have. A World Without didn't have a single redeeming quality about it, I honestly wanted to give it a zero.

Want to watch a Dating Show? Look no further than Too Hot To Handle; for all your laughs, giggles, romance, character development, questioning of moral values, sexiness, and drama.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
It is almost like they intended to be this bad
citaernanda-9718426 October 2021
Awkward dialogues and many MANY plot holes were getting worse as the movie went. Is it sarcasm towards no-dating-campaign? Or women empowerment? Futuristic education? The actors surprisingly (because they known for good acting) failed to bring whatever purpose they intended to highlight in this movie. I'm so sorry but I hope next time they invest more in a good writer, prop master, and production designer.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed