Shattered Lives (Video 2009) Poster

(2009 Video)

User Reviews

Review this title
20 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
The only thing shattered was my dreams of a good movie...
Youcanmakeabettermovie23 December 2009
Warning: Spoilers
This movie starts out great with a bunch of people getting killed by someone wearing what looks like a Stormtrooper mask. That turned out to be the highlight of the movie. There is one brief scene of violence halfway through and clips of the opening massacre are replayed at the end (stick with your strengths, I guess). The rest of the movie is an incredibly boring story about a young girl who won't be confused with Dakota Fanning anytime soon. Her mom is having an affair and is unhappy in her marriage. Yawn, this is more like a Lifetime drama than a horror movie. Two of the girl's toy clowns appear full-size to her and tell her to do evil things in distorted voices. Let's just say the movie's half over before she even picks up a knife... If you have to see this, watch the opening scene then hit Eject. You'll thank me later.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
wastage of time
secret_in_ur_eyes26 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
i just saw this movie as this movie is listed as horror, but its a crap, there was some collage girl whos father is killed in a car accident by some of her collage mates and she seeks revenge on them by killing them one by one with axe, no one made any noise, but she left one girl unkilled (don't know why) though the other girl was screaming at the girl she left unkilled but she didn't paid attention to where she is pointing to, then there another story goes about a little blonde girl (i don't know why she was blonde because her parents were having brown hair) her mom is dissatisfied with her dad and had an extra marital affair,when rachael is alone, two of her clown comes to life and talk to her and they suggest rachael to tell her dad that her mom is having affair , she tells her dad and her dad tels her mom to leave home within one hour, then he find some blood on the floor but he thinks that its her little girl's mess and when he comes to know that his little girl killed her mom, there was no expression on his face , it seems like nothing happened at all, no police comes. the sound quality is too poor, its seems like a home made movie, even they are better so, don't waste your 1hour,24 minutes in watching this crap, rather watch some cartoon movie(it will be much interesting in comparison to this movie)
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This was the most terrible movie I have EVER seen.
Elixis15 January 2010
This was the most terrible movie I have EVER seen. Im serious. The acting was terrible. The plot was bad. Scenes went on for nothing. Oh and the sound was pathetic. it would go loud and then low constantly and I don't just mean in loud scenes, just bad audio period. The beginning of the movie is pretty much the end. Then it cuts to the story of a little girl and her so called reasons for why she is messed up. Once you realize what's going on it is quite easy to figure out the story. The mom is pathetic and I think that is the only thing that gave this movie any value, the fact that the mom is so terrible that you have no sympathy for her at all. I won't go into detail as it would spoil the movie, however it doesn't matter because it's not even worth watching. Save yourselves, don't bother with this movie it's SO bad.

If I met this director i'd tell him to quit film making and find a new career!!
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Do not watch - Worst Movie possible
justforfun096818 January 2010
The Worst Movie ever. Don't waste your money. It's not even worth renting. I regret it. The cover looks like an eye catcher but once you see the previews that this DVD shows you should realize how bad the movie will be. Let's just say it was turned off in the first 20 minutes of how bad the movie really is. I should have read the review here first to not waste my money. I've even called blockbuster asking for a credit and that they should definitely remove it from their shelves. Don't get me wrong, I love all types of movies but this does not qualify as such. I hope they didn't spend to much money making it. The person who wrote it, directed it, produced it, starred in it, etc. should have spent the money and time elsewhere.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Creepy CLOWNS !!!!
jacob-hillenta1 May 2012
Warning: Spoilers
If you have a phobia about clowns, beware.... this film has some of the most creepy clowns I have ever seen ! It will really get under your skin. Overall, this is a very good low budget horror film, with a mood that is very unsettling. The film has David lynch influences all over it. The clowns are creepy and effective.... not shown too much, and not shown too little. They have just the right amount of screen time, a feat hard to balance in a horror film (belive me, I've tried). There is more going in Shattered Lives, then most generic b - movie horror films. The fact that the film was made for 70,000, and obviously shot on 35MM is hard to believe. However if that is true, I respect this film even more so. The director mentioned a Shattered Lives 2 in a recent interview (this is what prompted me to write on this board), and I for one would love to see more of these clown characters.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A grim story of a family gone FUBAR
shattering_glass4728 December 2009
You can't spell Shattered Lives with hate , hatred , shatter , sad , and lie . These words , slowly emerging during the opening , pretty much sums up this movie(maybe abit) . The movie opens with blood and gore , making you ax , why ? SL is a mix movie , drama-horror . It has a low-budget feel to it based on my instincts . Not horror-drama , drama is emphasized . It tells of a family gone wrong in two stages , from the main character perspective . When she's young and when she's older(teen) .

Let's start from young . You have a little girl in soon-to-be troubled family . She's a cute little thing and delivers good performance . There will be some horror aspect in terms of demon clowns . They are creepy , scary , and their dialogues are flowery . Then we have the father and mother , average acting . It doesn't take very long for everything to spiral into oblivion ( due to lies) , so the pacing isn't so bad except some family-talks(boring imo) . Silence is well-used to create a depressing atmosphere , you can feel the tension .

The 2nd stage , MC gets older . This 2nd half didn't seem pretty good , maybe due to lack of demon clowns . Tho they do appear .The story wasn't quite strong in this one . This part is allocated from revenge(hatred) . From there , the opening of the movie will make sense .

At the end , you will be served with a grim ending , where everything pretty much shatters apart .

An enjoyable drama mixed with horror movie , an above-average movie .
7 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
a very good low budget horror film
kmecronin311 January 2010
This is a very good low budget horror film. the mood is unsettling, kinda like a David lynch film. The clowns are creepy and effective. There is more going on this film, then just your generic b-movie horror film of teenagers being killed off one by one. I was highly entertained. I looked up the budget on this film, it was something like 70,000 ! and they shot on 35mm. films looks great visually, not sure to credit the director or DP on that one? someone needs to give these filmmakers a real budget, and see what they can come up with.... perhaps a Shattered Lives 2 is on the horizon? I loved the clown characters, and feel there is much more story behind them, where they come from? what motivates them. etc.
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
At least the studio name gets it right: NO ONE CARES
bob_meg14 June 2011
Actually though, I really hate bashing films like Shattered Lives.

The amount of effort, money, time, coordination, and heart that it takes to make a film --- and Carl Lindburgh did virtually everything here --- attests to the fact that he took this effort seriously. It's got to mean something to him....why does it mean so little to us?

Many reasons, actually. Shattered Lives is a good example of a neat "idea" that should never have found its way into a script-writing program. It opens with a (by now) standard montage of a psycho killer in a gas mask hacking up a room full of half-drunk, stoned kids. This might mean something if there was ever any real exposition between the killer (whose identity is obvious from reading any brief summary of the film, unfortunately) and the victims. There are a few, very quick exchanges between the kids and the killer about midway through the movie, but they don't add any kind of clear picture about possible motivations. I understand you don't need any motivation to kill someone if you're a psycho, but there's no suspense or scares to fill that gap. It's like LIndburgh made this movie to say "See, isn't it neat I can make a movie. I can turn the camera on and point it!"

This brings us to the heart of the movie, and the relationship between a little girl named Rachel and her two toy clowns who come to life whenever she's alone with them. The clowns are a problem. They are neither creepy or coherent and their behavior seems to deliberately ape the behavior of many of the ancillary characters in "Twin Peaks," especially the film "Fire Walk with Me." But whereas Lynch's inventions are very multi-dimensional and cryptic --- they're INTERESTING --- these clowns are a drag. They make insipid pantomimes, talk in ridiculous rhyming stanzas, and worse yet, their dialog is slowed down and distorted to the point that it is hard if not impossible to decipher.

In addition, there are some jaw-droppingly bad technical gaffes, the worst of which is a scene where....I kid you not....the aspect ratio changes 2 or 3 times for absolutely NO REASON. It's in a simple dialogue scene. Did someone's license to Windows DVD Maker expire?

It's a real mess, all in all. It starts from a place that you're sure you've figured out, goes on to a LONG sequence that is obvious where it's headed, then leaves you at some place you don't want to be.

Lindburgh needs to take a break from watching movies and dig up an original idea, following that with a screen writing class. Shattered Lives has nothing to offer and is a joke even by the standards of Student Film.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Where to start
halo_wc5 July 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Well I made an account on here just to put a review of this film, if you can call this a film. At first I thought net-flicks had a deal with some college to show their sh*t. When I say this movie is sh*t, please take into account that I have have seen plenty of made for t.v. movies from sci-fi channel.

To start with the movie sound was so bad I had to restart my box-x cause I couldn't believe that the sound would just cut in and out for no reason. The dialog of the movie was horrible, not to mention the presentation. Just the way the scenes jumped from one another, different camera shots, and the pointless three second clips; I can only conclude that this was a project being graded on random film techniques.

To keep this short, the worst part of the movie was the clowns. The fake finger nails kept them from doing anything but waving their hands the whole movie. There was a 5 minute scene where they 'danced' in a circle, and that was their highlight of the movie.

Words can not describe the horrible taste left in my mouth.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
What a weird film
srlanasales11 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
SPOILER ALERT !!!!

What a weird but wonderfully fun film this is. A very Lynchian approach to a narrative, which is a good thing in my book. Anytime you have the balls to show a little girl stab her mother in a film, well that's indie filmmaking at it's finest. No major horror film would have it's studio allow this. Just random crazy stuff here.

check it out !
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Utter dreck and not even worthwhile
kannibalcorpsegrinder30 December 2014
Following the death of her grandparents, a woman's quest for revenge on the guilty party assumes a similar role that she undertook as a youngster when demonic clowns appeared to her in order to kill and has it continue on her new role.

This was an utterly dreadful and completely worthless effort. About the only thing that needs to be watched is the opening massacre of the college students which contains some rather nice stalking, a few decent kills and a burst of energy that's completely missing from the rest of the film. That it has the nerve to replay this exact sequence at the end says it all about the quality of the rest of the movie for it couldn't be bothered to try anything else. The flaws here are numerous in both quantity and execution, the most egregious of all is the fact that the demonic clowns at the heart of the story are so completely uninteresting and non-threatening that they're a joke to be considered creepy, given lame design work that's completely cliché alongside computerized speaking voices that are obviously distorted human voices instead of truly demonic-sounding beings that really ruins their overall effectiveness with all the time we have to spend on these weak supposed-villains. On top of that, they're thrust into such a completely uninteresting story that even if they had been creepy it would've been hard to take the rest of the film seriously as this plays off more like a fifth-rate Lifetime channel affair concerning an adulterous mother and her clueless husband who are thrust into exaggeratedly overlong scenes that go on forever to clue us into her mental disorder that ends up beating us so over-the-top with that message it loses the impact and just becomes tedious to sit through. Lastly, the whole movie is rendered near unwatchable by the low-budget on display which causes the audio numerous problems of dropping in-and-out of the scene, never giving this anything to do so it just feels boring and is loaded with so many camera tricks and angles that try to convince us something's happening but ultimately highlights the futility of what's going on. Overall there's so little to offer here it's not worthwhile.

Rated R: Graphic Language, Graphic Violence, Brief Nudity and a sex scene.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Tedious, pretentious uninteresting ...
cafm25 April 2014
I purchased Shattered Lives because I am in the middle of doctoral research on evil children in film and had no other way of watching it to check out the narrative to determine its appropriateness. After collecting over 300 titles of varying standards, I'm now down to the bottom of the proverbial barrel with this hackneyed shot-on-video student film. There are some really dreadful evil child films out there, such as Robert Voskanian's 1977 Z-grader, The Child, but this film is way more tedious with its overlong scenes and crawling pace, sloppy editing, trite dialogue and uneven soundtrack. A few reviewers have highlighted the poor performances of the actors and most of them do indeed feel very staged and self-conscious, but I'm going to leave these poor souls alone considering the substandard material they had to work with, written by the wannabe director cum producer cum editor Carl Lindberg, who is yet to produce anything of any substance and seems obsessed with emulating Donnie Darko for some inexplicable reason. Finally, a very bloody and contrived multiple murder sequence that opens and closes the film is rendered uninteresting because of its outlandish scenario so that this too devolves into pure tedium. I'm usually quite patient and forgiving with films but I found myself sighing and fast forwarding through meaningless scenes that went for too long, such as an awkward dance performed by two dwarfs dressed as harlequin dolls, endlessly circling each other for about six minutes - sounds intriguing but it's not.

My advice? There are too many really solid shot-on-video horror films flooding the market these days to justify wasting your time fast forwarding through this lifeless morass.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This movie was ruined by the budget
Steve1232120 April 2011
Unfortunately, I can not recommend this film. If there were more money invested into the technical and casting aspects of the movie, I have a feeling it would have been a great movie. However, an awful mess of poor acting, miserable (emphasis on the miserable) audio mixing, and poor direction earn this film a 1. The storyline is quite predictable, however you can't help but feel sorry for Rachel. Yes, the "dolls" are creepy, however the negative aspects described above greatly outweigh any potential there could have been with them (especially the trite robot voices). The only reason I watched past the 15 minute mark was out of sheer morbid curiosity.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Unexpected Gem
neomaul26 August 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I was pleasantly surprised by this horror movie, I was expecting traditional B movie crap...but this movie had a nice balance of horror and drama. I thought the actors were pretty well cast too...except the little girl. The movie would have been even stronger with someone else cast in her role. The clowns were pretty cool too and I liked some of the effects done so well on a low budget title. I would have liked to see more of the clowns, the movie seemed to explore their origins but it never fully explained them in detail. I think another movie featuring more of the clowns would be an interesting concept. I haven't heard that much about this film or if another one would be in the works.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Watch this movie
rchasemack14 January 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was real good. I liked it a lot. It had some people in it, they talked to each other, and then they did stuff that was important to them for personal reasons. I was eating White Castle while I watched this movie. My friend and I watched this movie together. We liked this movie. There was a man, and a girl who was blonde and then she wasn't and then she was older. Her mommy had brown hair and so did her daddy but she was blonde when she was little and then she grew up and had brown hair like her mommy and daddy. She had some dolls. Her mommy didn't love her and didn't love her daddy and my friend and I were eating White Castle and we didn't expect that! The White Castles, that is. A man brought us White Castles. There were some midget clowns.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
wow
laura-faraway7412 August 2012
I was really impressed by this film-- not just because the writer did more work than I've ever seen in a writer do in a film, but because the script and acting was very touching and believable as well. The demons (great performances!!!!) were what grabbed me in the trailer-- the line about the knives made me laugh at first... also it seemed very creepy, too. I am a huge fan of thrillers and watch many of them. (The only film I've ever been involved in creating was a silly fake scary movie my dad created when we were kids, but like I said, I'm an avid watcher.) When I saw the trailer I knew it wasn't going to be full of special effects and on a major budget but I knew it was going to be worth watching. It did not disappoint. It was so intricate it was believable-- it just drew me in. I can't say that about very many films at all. Super duper impressed! (also this is the first time I've bothered to write a review for IMDb, The only thing closest to a review I'd done is review Freeway quite closely & edit a couple very small details on wiki.)
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Love this movie
nynatalia5 August 2010
Warning: Spoilers
One word, clowns! Always thought they were scary, and this film takes it to a whole new level. The film is wonderfully creepy, and unsettling. The film is deeper then our average horror movie, and I for one appreciated the complexity of how the characters in the film unravel. The film is a strange hybrid, swaying from a drama, to horror, and back to drama. There are also moments of dark comedy. I suspect some fans of straight up slasher films may not appreciate these subtleties, but given the right audience, someone with a open mind, the film can be taken in on a deeper level. This is a good film, so check it out.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
If you need a cure for insomnia, this is it.
jinsilver4 August 2010
How this was released beyond a school film department I have no idea, but it has some of the worst acting, sound mixing, music, and editing I've seen in years, and this from someone who loves low-budget schlock as much as art film. Stuck it out to the bitter end: Poignant scenes came off as trite and repetitive, the robo-drawl clowns were far more irritating than creepy, and the delivery was often given with all the passion of a middle school play. Technically and artistically, the film is a complete bomb. With any luck, this is Lindbergh's last film.

I even ended up putting my grocery list together during the incredibly long fake emo scenes toward the end. It sounded like a LiveJournal read aloud, there was just nothing of substance to grip on to.

The height of tackiness is when the director shills his own movies in the reviews! A Carl L. was the only 5-star on Blockbuster, and a lucas_smidth whose only other high rating was for another Carl Lindbergh film just happened to be the highest rater here.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
a GOOD low budget horror film
dmode249916 July 2010
this is a very underrated film. it's not a standard horror film by any means, and I think that's where it gets misunderstood. for example, you have the standard moment in the beginning of the film (the killer wears a gas mask! which I'm surprised aren't used more in this genre) where someone gets killed (nothing special so far)..... but then the film also shows the same scene at the end of the film, but now having watched the film, we see what leads up to the event, and we see it in a new perspective. i.e. seeing a horror movie from the "monsters" point of view. Also, you got to love little clown midgets, that sounds weird, but are wonderfully creepy in a Tim Burton kind of way. highly recommended.
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed