YERT: Your Environmental Road Trip (2011) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Journey of 3 friends to view important environmental issues and creative responses
janaia19 June 2012
"YERT - Your Environmental Road Trip" is an entire environmental film festival wrapped up in an absorbing and entertaining, fast-paced two-hour documentary that's both personal and planetary. Friends Mark, Julie and Ben pack themselves into a Prius to tour all 50 states in 52 weeks while aiming for near-zero garbage.

We view environmental problems like Appalachian mountaintop removal, Alaska permafrost melt, and post-Katrina wetlands habitat destruction, southwest water depletion. We meet problem-solvers like Wes Jackson restoring perennial prairie grasses, farmer Joel Salatin cycling animals through pasture to build soil, and Will Allen growing plants and fish to feed the city.

This well-produced overview of important environmental issues and sampler of creative responses is optimistic without being pollyanna. We loved it. Smiles amid the serious stuff and the inspiring innovators.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Good potential ruined by one bad decision
Robert13 July 2014
YERT had the potential to be a very engaging personal journey for the three characters and the audience. Although some of the restrictions they self-imposed were arbitrary or even nonsensical, it showed that they were really trying to question the things that most of us do every day without thinking. I was enthusiastic about their journey until . . . they casually announced that Julie was pregnant. And it wasn't something they had intended, but more like "Whoops! We thought that couldn't happen!" Newsflash: women are likely to get pregnant when engaging in sexual intercourse, if they are not using birth control.

It's not the fact that she got pregnant that's the issue, but that the road trip was intended to highlight the things one can do to lessen one's impact on the environment. And what is the single most environmentally destructive decision a person can make? To have a baby. Seriously.

A study done in 2009 at Oregon State University shows that the environmental impact of *not* having a child in America is about 20 times greater than the impact of doing a whole host of environmentally-friendly things like recycling, driving a hybrid, using CFLs for lighting, etc., over the course of your entire lifetime. In other words, despite everything else that Julie and Ben may ever do that's pro-environment, by having a child, they've more than counteracted them all just by bringing another little American into existence. Is this ever even mentioned? Nope. It's as if these three environmentalists were totally oblivious to the impact of reproducing.

No, I'm not suggesting that humans should let themselves die off. But I *am* suggesting that anyone who truly wants to lessen their impact on the environment should think very seriously about the effects of their becoming a parent upon the environment. The fact that Ben and Julie were just casually treating it like a whim or something they lucked into, is galling. They had the opportunity to set an example and they blew it, big time.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely Inspiring!!!
Jamieawhitlock5 October 2012
I absolutely love this film. I am a high school science teacher and I use this film to teach human impact for my ecology unit. It is wonderful because it shows the reality of things happening all around us while being positive. I feel it is unique to this topic because so many films give the doom and gloom feel. For young people, we need to educate and INSPIRE!! I have had 15 year old students cry, get angry, and get excited all from watching this film! Buy it, share it and educate with it- it is truly powerful!!! Wish I could go on a YERT 2 and would love a follow up on some of the amazing people met throughout the film!! Don't waste another minute......you have to watch this film!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent
Janet-Pinkston17 August 2012
Freshest, most original media treatment of any topic I've seen in many a year. Loved the idea, the framework, the pacing, the brains, the humor, and most of all, the good will. It's "Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure" meets "Save the Planet." Ben, Julie and Mark have managed to bust through the rhetoric to create something magical in the form of YERT. They say what needs to be said and then move on to the next leg of the adventure. How much we could all learn from this simple technique. But something simple, and also high-quality, is rare indeed. May God bless these young idealists in all their camera-slinging travels. Can't wait to see what's next.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Review: "YERT"
Bill_Arceneaux7 August 2012
At this moment (of writing), I am drinking some sugar free mix out of a used Powerade bottle. Normally, I would just dump the bottle into the recycling can and wait until the 2nd or 4th Saturday of the month to bring it to the local recycling center. But tonight, I have cut out the middle man and recycled something myself.

"YERT: Your Environmental Road Trip" features three individuals who put shame to my Earth saving attempt. See, they spent a year on the road, going through all 50 states of this country, documenting people and organizations dedicated to ecological progress and anything/everything green. Along the way, they cut down on their personal trash, gauged electricity use and lived out of a hybrid - man do I feel lazy.

The trio's road trip is very enlightening, and at times emotional. At one point, they visit a man who has lost his family and friends due to his unwillingness to allow coal companies to work on his land. If they were to do so, the results would be quite drastic; removal of soil that prevents forests from coming back, black drinking water, cancer and other illnesses for residents, etc. The C in coal stands for "clean"? Doesn't look like it. For this man to continue living on his land is a last stand and a statement that far too FEW of us are making.

But, luckily, there are MANY in this country that are showing us a future worth fighting for. Like the guy who makes products out of trash. Or the company that builds Earth Ships - life supporting, carbon zero housing. How about the Solar Roadways project, that looks to change the electrical grid by making roads that collect solar energy? And community currencies like Berk Shares and Ithaca Hours? These are but a few of the exciting things going on RIGHT NOW in America. "YERT" is at its best when covering these little known gems.

So, should I feel bad that I've only contributed little while this trio has done and exposed so much? Probably not. "YERT" is not looking to shame you, but rather to inspire you. If that inspiration leads you to reusing plastic bottles, wasting less water or riding your bike more often, then all the better. No need to become a hippie overnight. Now, with your permission, I'd like to finish my drink.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
YERT is an inspiration to all who are concerned about the environment but have no clue what to do about it, personally.
patricia_m_demarco25 June 2012
Join the antics of three friends who start a year long journey originally in honor of Rachel Carson, and end up with a new child, a lot of stories, and many practical illustrations of people empowered to take action! This film just makes everyone want to try the game- all my garbage for a whole year in one box? Really? You should see the effect this has on people from so many dimensions. The humorous approach and the very personal story links us to the effort and draws us in. The characters the YERT-ians encounter along the way are so interesting and also inspiring. You come away from this film feeling ready to do just whatever you can, and knowing several places to start right away with your own journey. Everyone should see this film!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
outstanding. positive, humorous. effective. entertaining.
ryanaomedia25 June 2012
I can't speak highly enough of not only the YERT film, but their entire production. They walk the talk. They spent the many years they produced this film, living the smaller footprint lives they lived while filming their journey. I've known them for over 4.5 years since I met them at the Green Festival (i'm briefly in that segment of this film! :) I was in the process at the time I met them of embarking on my own very similar environmental road trip film (by bicycle) to visit 100 sustainable communities (www.withinreachmovie.com). I have forever been inspired by their effort to hold on to the trash they produce. In fact I have lived with a bunch of our trash since my partner decided to do the same thing to build a house with someday! :) All in all their use of humor instead of fear has been so refreshing and the most effective tool to keep me (and hopefully others) not only interested in saving the planet, but inspired. See this film for it's great flow, diverse range of topics that cover the entire range of environmental solutions, and for it's pure entertainment. ~ Ryan Mlynarczyk, Director "Within Reach" movie, Co-Owner Reach Within Productions (www.reachwithinproductions.com)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Entertaining and Informative.....
Brian Sims19 June 2012
I am fortunate enough to own a copy of this film and to know the film makers! All I can say is the adventure experienced, the people involved, and the content covered are great. This film will make you laugh, cry, and everything in between. It highlights many great people and great ideas current to our society. Some of the ideas seem so simple you ask yourself "Why haven't we or why aren't we doing this now?" There are some very eye opening interviews and some of the content is not easy to stomach, but it gives one hope that people do care and that they can make a difference. It is definitely worth a watch. Enjoy with friends and family, or with complete strangers! I give it a THUMBS UP!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed