9/11: Life Under Attack (TV Movie 2021) Poster

(2021 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
7 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
The tragic events seen from the bystanders point of view...
paul_haakonsen11 September 2021
Sitting down on September 11th 2021 to watch the documentary "9/11: Life Under Attack" was sort of an emotional thing, so it turned out.

Now, I am not an American and had no relation to the events that transpired 20 years ago, aside from it being a catastrophe and of course knowing that lots of people suffered from those terrorist actions. But having been alive during that time and remembering very well where I was and what I was doing when the news flooded in, of course there is some connection to the past as it is a part of the world history.

I have seen a couple of documentaries about the events already, but I have to say that this 2021 documentary from director Karen Edwards was one that struck hard. Why? Well, because this shows the events as the unfolded from the every man's point of view, as we see it from private records and such.

What hit the hardest, pardon the pun, was the sound of the impact when the fire fighters were in the lobby and you could hear the sound of what could possibly by the sound of jumpers hitting the ground. That was really something that went straight in and it was a sound that is not easily forgotten.

Of course, while well familiar with the events that transpired that day, I feel that "9/11: Life Under Attack" brings a more personal approach to the events, given the recordings used, the emotions captured and the sense of being there yourself.

If you enjoy documentaries and have an interest in the events of 9/11, then you most certainly should sit down to watch "9/11: Life Under Attack". This is documentary done right.

My rating of "9/11: Life Under Attack" lands on an eight out of ten stars.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
its just amazing...
ops-5253512 September 2021
And still just as adrenalinefilled and heartbreaking as it was back then. Well stitched together documentary of mix pro and amateur video. I believe there should be even more to catch up on. I will remember these moments for the rest of my life. Its like a seasonal flu, it comes every year at 9/11. Do watch and reminice states the grumpy old man.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10. Good editing of raw footage from amateurs and news crews on the ground
random-7077811 September 2021
I've seen most of the coverage of 9/11 attack, especially New York. In my opinion the work by the two French brothers, while mostly centered on FDNY, is the most comprehensive in terms of luck in being in the right place, and post event editing and narrative. Falling Man, is another that should not be missed since it is so troublingly poignant, and one can not watch it without considering what we the viewer might be forced to do in the same situation. Nat. Geo. And Nova have great work on how the buildings fell which either will convince the conspiracy theorists or leave them wallowing in their nonsense.

There is also some great work on the disfunction between the US air traffic control and the pentagon, as well of course the shocking incompetence of the CIA and FBI in ignoring the dozen of red flags going back to the 1990s (and experts say they are even more politicized and bigger bureaucratic messes today).

"Life under Attack" is a great addition, assembling a sizable amount of raw footage shot by amateur bystanders woven in with more professional raw footage from news crews. I recommend it.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A solid 9/11 documentary
Jeremy_Urquhart28 September 2021
I keep thinking I've seen all the 9/11 footage there is, but then new documentaries keep proving me that wrong. This is worth watching for some (potentially) new footage and viewpoints alone, although there is still a lot of familiar shots throughout.

Most affecting moment might have been a newsreader commenting on how hard the plane collision replay was to watch, because now, all these years later, I've been so desensitised from seeing the collisions so many times. I assume others would feel the same in regards to being desensitised, and it drives home the idea of how different things would have been before that day.

Presentation wise this does a solid but not quite amazing job at constructing a narrative out of almost just amateur footage. It's not the best 9/11 documentary out there, but it's a pretty good one.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A powerful experience
parkerbcn19 September 2021
Whilst not a technically groundbreaking documentary, the importance and power of the mostly new images of what regular people shot with their cameras on 9/11 is the closest you'll get to having been in New York on that day and shows the side that this kind of events tend to not show: the one of the regular people trapped in them. The only thing that it can't really transmit is the fear of not knowing what was going to happen next (that the ones that we saw it live, even in the TV news, will never forget), because everybody now knows how events unfolded. A must see.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Incredible documentary
animusastralis13 September 2021
This is how proper documentary should be done: no interviews, no commentaries from politicians, CIA or news anchors. It contains only raw footage filmed by New Yorkers. This film really conveys the horror and the uncertainty of the whole situation, it's certainly the best documentary about 9/11 I've ever seen.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Outstanding Documentary Making
jl197413 September 2021
This is how to do a documentary - 20 years on & this film really captures the essence & magnitude of what happened that day. The filming is RSW, with a mixture of personal & professional clips.

One of the best documentaries I've ever seen.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed