Escape the Undertaker (2021) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
20 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Fun to play with kids
jdodd6667 October 2021
I'm a WWE fan and didn't go into this expecting an Marvel level movie.

Cheesy kid orientated fun my kids loved it .
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good movie if you aren't sober
BallerinaPig697 October 2021
If you aren't sober you can have an amazing time watching this.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Horror Trap!
ferdy-feisal5 October 2021
Feels a clown... It doesn't feel the horror. The Undertaker and The New Day definitely an entertain combination! Honestly I expected nothing less. Had a fun time with this one.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Nice
pabrob8 October 2021
It is not as bad as some critics say, as a wrestling fan I can assure you that it is not the best I have seen but it is enjoyable enough like watching a good episode of Smack Down or Raw, I think people are very hard on the bass scores, or maybe it's people who have never seen wrestling and don't understand the hype and attitudes of wrestlers. I got carried away and enjoyed it for those 30 minutes.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A piece of Halloween candy for the fans
angeliqueyork24 October 2021
Definitely not an Oscar contender, but it wasn't meant to be. It's just a little silly fun with a few characters wrestling fans know and love. Make your own choices through this 30 minute romp and you'll probably beat The Undertaker at his game. Don't take it seriously - just have a good time.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Freaking entertaining
czombosistvan13 October 2021
Seriously, what did you expect from this? Its wrestling, its adventure fit for the whole family. So what else would you expet? It is short, it is compact, it is refreshing. Switch your mind of and enjoy. I loved it. Bring more of it!
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fun
cusopp5 October 2021
This was my first interactive video. It was actually pretty fun, and I couldn't stop laughing.

I grew up watching wrestling with my grandfather, even though I don't watch anymore today, I still jump at anything that brings out the Undertaker or Stone Cold Steve Austin.
9 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Interactive
jackrebbeck6 October 2021
Best interactive show thus far. Cheers New Day and Undertaker.
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Cheap
mxbgwzkr5 October 2021
This was good on paper , sadly it resembled a 90s kids tv show , with the same effects , almost as hammy as the actual wrestling.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Undertaker is enough
yibpersonal5 October 2021
For me when the undertaker is there. It's more than enough. I don't care about the movie . Undertaker no1 legend of wrestling all time . Seeing him is enough to watch the movie . Anyway the movie is good for young audiance and they they are the target audiance here . So it's really good.
11 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It's dead and not in kayfabe
rob177520065 October 2021
The sports side of wrestling is gone. Terrible actors doing terrible corny material.
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's for kids Not that bad
kenny021187 October 2021
If you are a WWE fan it's funny. Definitely made for kids. Only people who may be offended is Christians it's a little occult.

Was fun once.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
New Day are super funny!
alexandertsankov14 October 2021
You don't have to watch this as some movie classics like The Green Mile... It is made for fun and that's why is interactive. Kids loved it (yes it is made for kids audience, fans and it is made to be funny) Looking forward to see other movies with this guys!!!
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Meh
Movi3DO7 October 2021
After Bandersnatch, Netflix partners with WWE to make another attempt at making an experimental Interactive movie. The basic plot is The New Day trying to get the The Undertaker's urn without getting their souls taken.

Undertaker in his prime was the best thing ever. Back when I was still a big WWE fan, whenever his theme came up, I felt some kind of chills down my spine. He was such a menace and everyone is excited about him. I still remembered trying to do many of his iconic poses and pretending to do the Tombstone Piledriver and Chokeslam.

Of course, now the Undertaker is very old, and it's clear that he was in no shape to wrestle. Nowadays, whenever he returns to WWE, I know that WWE must be desperate for some fan hype. Unfortunately, this was reflected in this interactive movie. It hurt to see him looking so old and not menacing at all.

This was also due to the horrible editing and cheap look of the movie. They tried very hard to limit the fighting, and instead making the scenes looked lame and disorienting. Also, the acting from the New Day members and Undertaker himself were pretty bad and unconvincing. Guess they need to work more on their promo speeches.

The interactive aspect was simple and not creative enough. There's rarely any scenario that make me struggle to choose between options. This is mostly due to the straightforward and boring storyline. In Bandersnatch, the plot was very good, so the options were tougher to choose.

Overall, I know that this is more of an experiment, but I had little enjoyment out of it despite being a fan of WWE. 4/10.
3 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst thing I've ever seen
evrimkeklikci8 October 2021
It literally hurt my eyes and ears to watch this. Yea yea it's for kids they say. Sorry but no! Kids shouldn't watch such a violent thing. The idea of interactive movies was fun, first one was even good but Bear Grylls thingy and this one painfull to see. Like they specifically think on how to screw up a concept!
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Avoid the Undertaker!
magic.hb6 October 2021
If you seek entertainment in captivating interactive stories, you'd better get yourself a Telltale-game - e.g. "The Walking Dead", respectively especially that one. Within you'll get intriguing decision options embedded in a well scripted plot, that at least skillfully suggests to evolve the way it does, because you decide and behave the way you do. Really quite interesting and worthwhile!

"Escape the Undertaker" unfortunately totally fails to reach that on all imaginable levels. Story, plot and dialogues: Simply dull (euphemism). Acting: Pathetic. Technical execution: Below average. The whole thing seems to be made for one reason only: to present "something interactive" again.

A bloody pity!
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
This shouldn't exist
roondogbb13 October 2021
If anyone is a wrestling fan by any measure, they'll know who the Undertaker is. He is on the mount Rushmore of his fans and peers alike. He had a career spanning in the WWF/WWE from late 1990 to nearly 2020. Almost 30 years. He spanned different eras. The New generation era, The Attitude era, Ruthless Aggression and the p.g era. Through each he was the one constant the one gimmick who's core never changed apart from slight alterations. There was a respect for his character. Not breaking "Kayfabe" The Wrestlemania streak 20+ wins. Yet like every thing in the WWE they like to to hot shot it eventually and crap on the legacy. (Vince isn't a wrestling fan and purisit as much as he is a hollywood wannabe) and I feel this is where this movie comes from. Vince McMahon licensing off one of his most prized intellectual properties in the Undertaker character and putting it in what is through and through a B rate movie. Anything the WWE touches movie wise is usually B or C rate. That's not to say many wrestlers from the WWF haven't made it big in Hollywood. Look at the rock, Batista, the late roddy piper..... this movie however is a cheap Halloween/wwe cash grab and I want nothing to do with it. I have too many fond memories of watching The undertaker during my childhood and teenage years and 20s to see it reach this point. Anyway. Avoid at all cost. Undertaker was never a good speaker as it happened so his acting skills are ehh.. Go see the films where wrestlers who can actually perform and are in film that have zero to do with their characters.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What the heck is this?
sweetpraveen9 October 2021
Dumb and B grade 31 mins film. Don't waste your time. Don't know why Netflix sponsored this movie.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Strictly for under 10 years old
kumarziggler7 October 2021
As a lifelong wwe fan..I find this movie such a lackluster. I don't know maybe new day fans under 10 years might enjoy this interactive movie . There is certainly nothing for older fans.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad
joppiesausboys25 October 2021
If you want to watch an actual good interactive movie go watch bandersnatch. The acting in this movie is very bad, and the plot doesn't make any sense at all. Avoid this.

Have a nice day.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed